View Full Version : Songs written by people you never realised

31-12-2010, 09:16 AM
How many times have you heard a song that you thought, hold on, how is he/she singing that, that was twenty years before it was writtent by xxx

Example, today on last fm I was treated to "Always on my mind" being sung by johnny Cash and Willie Nelson. I thought hold on, the pet shop boys didn't do this until the 80's or something. So I done some digging on wikipedia and found out it was written by three country music guys and has since been covered by over 300 artists.

Other songs that spring to mind are

Knockin on heavens door - Written by Bob Dylan(Still my favourite version) and covered by Eric Clapton, Guns and Roses and many more.

Anyone got any other good ones?

31-12-2010, 09:33 AM
How many times have you heard a song that you thought, hold on, how is he/she singing that, that was twenty years before it was writtent by xxx

Example, today on last fm I was treated to "Always on my mind" being sung by johnny Cash and Willie Nelson. I thought hold on, the pet shop boys didn't do this until the 80's or something. So I done some digging on wikipedia and found out it was written by three country music guys and has since been covered by over 300 artists.

Other songs that spring to mind are

Knockin on heavens door - Written by Bob Dylan(Still my favourite version) and covered by Eric Clapton, Guns and Roses and many more.

Anyone got any other good ones?

I suppose the one that takes a lot of people by surprise is that Neil Diamond wrote Red Red Wine, which was eventually slaughtered by UB40.

31-12-2010, 09:55 AM
I suppose the one that takes a lot of people by surprise is that Neil Diamond wrote Red Red Wine, which was eventually slaughtered by UB40.

There you go, never knew that one either.

31-12-2010, 10:11 AM
'He's Gonna Step On You Again' by John Kongos. Until a couple of years ago, I assumed that it was a Happy Mondays original. Having said that, the Mondays' version is way better.

Not the same thing but most folk think that 'Killer' is a Seal song and Adamski, who was the main man behind it, gets forgotten.

31-12-2010, 11:15 AM

He also wrote I'm a Believer for the Monkees. Unfortunately, he didn't write Daydream Believer for them :greengrin

Alec Splode
31-12-2010, 11:16 AM
Roberta Flack's classic "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face"; made famous in Clint Eastwwood', "Play Misty For Me" was written by Kirsty McColl's dad Ewan,...a Scots socialist folk singer !!!

Status Quo's .."Rockin' All Over The World"...was written by John Fogerty of Creedence Clearwater Revival !

"Stars on 45" disco trash was directed by Jaap Eggermont, the man behind Golden Earring and the fabulous "Radar Love".

Barman Stanton
31-12-2010, 11:27 AM
That big Coolio hit 'Gangsters Paradise' was originally on Stevie Wonders amazing 'Songs in the Key of Life' as Pastime Paradise. Of course the Stevie version is much better!

31-12-2010, 11:30 AM
I'm sure everyone knows that "I Will Always Love You" was originally written and performed by Dolly Parton.

Calvin
31-12-2010, 11:58 AM
Not songs or people I like but I find it quirky that 'It's Raining Men' was written by Paul Shaffer.

31-12-2010, 12:14 PM
Stairway to heaven, get ready for this now, was not written by rolf harris, but actually some band called Led Zeppelin in 1971.

Seriously it's true.

31-12-2010, 12:27 PM
Manic Monday by the Bangles was written by Prince ,as was Sinead O'Connor's Nothing Compares to You(I think!).

Aubenas
31-12-2010, 12:30 PM
'Smile (though your heart is breaking)' written by Charlie Chaplin

31-12-2010, 01:22 PM
Most of oasis' songs were originally written by the beatles. :greengrin

31-12-2010, 01:31 PM
Most of oasis' songs were originally written by the beatles. :greengrin

Couldn't have chosen much better song writers, those manc lads are no as daft as they look:wink:

31-12-2010, 01:43 PM
Roberta Flack's classic "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face"; made famous in Clint Eastwwood', "Play Misty For Me" was written by Kirsty McColl's dad Ewan,...a Scots socialist folk singer !!!

As was Dirty Old Town.

31-12-2010, 01:50 PM
Actor Hugh Fraser (not mega famous but a face you'll know as he's been in loads of things - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hugh_Fraser_%28actor%29)

... co-wrote the theme tune for Rainbow.

31-12-2010, 02:29 PM
Angels by Robie Williams was written by an Irishman called Ray Heffernan.

The story goes that they met in a pub in Dublin had a few beers and went back to the guys flat. He let William hear a few songs he had been working on, Williams liked one called 'An Angel instead' phoned Louis Walsh who organised studio time to make a recording. When Hefferman heard it on an album he got in touch and signed a waver of any rights to the song for £7500.

31-12-2010, 03:14 PM

The story goes that they met in a pub in Dublin had a few beers and went back to the guys flat. He let William hear a few songs he had been working on, Williams liked one called 'An Angel instead' phoned Louis Walsh who organised studio time to make a recording. When Hefferman heard it on an album he got in touch and signed a waver of any rights to the song for £7500.

Lifted straight from wikipedia..

Would be stretching things to say Heffernan wrote the song..

Alec Splode
31-12-2010, 03:49 PM
The Beach Boys "Never Learn Not to Love" was written by Charles Manson.

31-12-2010, 04:43 PM
This Night by Billy Joel was co-written by Beethoven

31-12-2010, 04:48 PM
The Living Years by Mike & the Mechanics was co-written by B A Robertson

The Bee Gees wrote lots for other people including Chain Reaction (Diana Ross), Islands in the Stream (Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers), Heartbreaker (Dionne Warwick) and Woman in Love (Barbra Streisand)

31-12-2010, 05:14 PM
Turnbulls Tornadoes (1973) .... listen to the intro and verse then listen to John Lennon (Happy Xmas - War Is Over .. which was 1971) ... uncanny :cool2: ................I keep telling everyone Lennon was a Hibs fan or, was the Tornadoes songwriter a Lennon fan :greengrin

31-12-2010, 05:30 PM
Lifted straight from wikipedia..

Would be stretching things to say Heffernan wrote the song..

Not from Wikipedia. From an old copy of Q magazine dealing with the very same topic as this thread. May have been lifted from there onto Wikipedia i suppose.:confused:

chorley_fm
31-12-2010, 05:33 PM

I think Neil Diamond wrote quite a few songs

31-12-2010, 05:40 PM
You'll Never Walk Alone wasn't written by Gerry Marsden or some wee nyaff from the East End of Glasgow.

Aubenas
31-12-2010, 06:02 PM
Turnbulls Tornadoes & Happy Christmas War is over both use a well known American folk tune - Skewball or Stewball about a racehorse. Don't think Lennon ever claimed the tune. Can't remember what it said on the Tornadoes' record, though Sheila (Mrs Tom) Hart wrote the lyric

01-01-2011, 07:57 PM
Turnbulls Tornadoes & Happy Christmas War is over both use a well known American folk tune - Skewball or Stewball about a racehorse. Don't think Lennon ever claimed the tune. Can't remember what it said on the Tornadoes' record, though Sheila (Mrs Tom) Hart wrote the lyric

I think my thinking aboot Lennon being a Hibby is more accurate :aok: :na na: :greengrin

01-01-2011, 08:32 PM
Slight tangent but I didn't realise until recently that Divine Comedy wrote the Father Ted theme tune.

Also, the title song for the kids TV show "Engy Benjy" is written and performed by Clint Boon, Lead singer of the inspiral carpets.

There you go.:greengrin

02-01-2011, 10:44 AM
I think my thinking aboot Lennon being a Hibby is more accurate :aok: :na na: :greengrin

It's hard to think that the teenage Lennon, on his annual holiday in Ednburgh's Ormidale Terrace, didn't give a passing thought to Hibs. Except for the fact that he had no interest in football whatsoever.

02-01-2011, 04:00 PM
Remember being mildly surprised when I first heard that Cathy Dennis wrote "Can't Get You Out of My Head" for Kylie.

A quick search reveals Dennis has writing or co-writing credits for a string of hits including "I Kissed A Girl" by Katie Perry; "Toxic" by Britney Spears; "About You Now" by Sugababes and most of S Club 7's back catalogue.

She's certainly stepped out of her brother Shaun's shadow now :agree:

Classic X Factor ballad and big hit for Celine Dion, "All By Myself" was originally written and performed by some bloke called Eric Carmen but a big chunk of the melody is directly lifted from Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto, which was written around the turn of the twentieth century.

02-01-2011, 05:47 PM
Remember being mildly surprised when I first heard that Cathy Dennis wrote "Can't Get You Out of My Head" for Kylie.

A quick search reveals Dennis has writing or co-writing credits for a string of hits including "I Kissed A Girl" by Katie Perry; "Toxic" by Britney Spears; "About You Now" by Sugababes and most of S Club 7's back catalogue.

Classic X Factor ballad and big hit for Celine Dion, "All By Myself" was originally written and performed by some bloke called Eric Carmen but a big chunk of the melody is directly lifted from Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto, which was written around the turn of the twentieth century.

Of course, with a father like Jackie, none of the Dennis clan was ever going to be short of inspiration. :agree:

02-01-2011, 06:04 PM

Is there any more depressing song in the world? Imagine yourself after the derby, hungover in Robertson's, surrounded by celebrating Yams when this comes on the jukebox.

02-01-2011, 06:11 PM
You'll Never Walk Alone wasn't written by Gerry Marsden or some wee nyaff from the East End of Glasgow.

Rodgers and Hammerstein. :agree:

"Though your dreams be tossed and blown" always struck me as a particuarly interesting line. :cool2:

discman
02-01-2011, 06:33 PM

Dont agree atall and kinda surprised you thought that given your fondness for Ska,anyway each to their own,but check out Tony Tribe version think it may be more to your liking.

Blinded by the Light, Manfred Manns Earth Band
Because the Night, Patty Smith
Fire, Pointer Sisters

All writtten by Springsteen :greengrin

woodythehibee
02-01-2011, 09:47 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPJZz86Wdgk

green leaves
02-01-2011, 11:30 PM
Greensleeves was written by Henry 8th.

03-01-2011, 02:00 AM
Bit off topic but I learned the other day that Charles Manson, the infamous nutjob recorded a album before brainwashing folk into killing.

03-01-2011, 02:19 AM
Bit off topic but I learned the other day that Charles Manson, the infamous nutjob recorded a album before brainwashing folk into killing.

He was well known for his music ambitions and connections. He was friendly with one of the Beach Boys (Carl Wilson, I think) and Terry Melcher, the son of Doris Day.

03-01-2011, 06:23 AM

Dont agree atall and kinda surprised you thought that given your fondness for Ska,anyway each to their own,but check out Tony Tribe version think it may be more to your liking.

Fire, Pointer Sisters

Wasn' this a co-write?

03-01-2011, 06:25 AM
Greensleeves was written by Henry 8th.

Just a myth - it's Elizabethan in origin.

Caversham Green
03-01-2011, 08:57 AM

Not so Mr Aye. It was actually The Warsaw Concerto, written in the style of Rachmaninov by Richard Addison (I think) for the film Dangerous Moonlight.

Along the same lines:

A Whiter Shade of Pale by Procul Harem is based on a Bach's orchestral suite
Altogether Now by the Farm uses Pachelbel's Canon as its main melody
Joybringer by Manfred Mann's Earth Band is based on Jupiter from Holst's Planet Suite

03-01-2011, 09:03 AM

Fire, Pointer Sisters

I'm comparing UB40 to Tony Tribe, great song, but UB40 get on my nipples.

NaeTechnoHibby
03-01-2011, 09:28 PM
That song by Toploader "Dancing in the moonlight" got me mad......... I even phoned the Forth 1/2 thingy on a Saturday to say that it was by someone else :rolleyes:

They couldnae find it then but it's now attributed to King Harvest:rolleyes:

Not the name I remember though :cool2:

I thought I was going mad at the time though or had "special" powers :rolleyes:

Prof. Shaggy
04-01-2011, 12:34 AM
That song by Toploader "Dancing in the moonlight" got me mad......... I even phoned the Forth 1/2 thingy on a Saturday to say that it was by someone else :rolleyes:

They couldnae find it then but it's now attributed to King Harvest:rolleyes:

Not the name I remember though :cool2:

I thought I was going mad at the time though or had "special" powers :rolleyes:

Not Billy Joel?

'pparently not.

Calvin
04-01-2011, 01:52 AM
The Letterman guy?

The very same.

mglancy23
04-01-2011, 11:06 AM
Johnny Cash Hurt is a cover of a Nine inch nails song.

great video if you have not seen it before http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clq01TXQR0s

04-01-2011, 12:55 PM
George Harrison's "My Sweet Lord" was originally written for the Chiffons, and was called "He's So Fine". George certainly didn't know this and claimed the writing credit for himself.

04-01-2011, 05:09 PM
The intro to Strawberry Switchblades "Thoughts of yesterday"
Is shamelessly taken from Wagners "Lohengrin" ( not the boy from x factor but the one hitler was partial to)

05-01-2011, 09:32 PM
Not so Mr Aye. It was actually The Warsaw Concerto, written in the style of Rachmaninov by Richard Addison (I think) for the film Dangerous Moonlight.

Along the same lines:

A Whiter Shade of Pale by Procul Harem is based on a Bach's orchestral suite
Altogether Now by the Farm uses Pachelbel's Canon as its main melody
Joybringer by Manfred Mann's Earth Band is based on Jupiter from Holst's Planet Suite

Surely not CG?

The Addinsell piece is in a broadly similar style (overblown Romantic melodic :greengrin) but the "All By Myself" melody is note-for-note Rachmaninov?

I wasn't familiar with "Joybringer" previous to your post but having heard it now, what a riff :thumbsup:. I blame John Williams and "Classical Gas" myself :greengrin

Caversham Green
06-01-2011, 08:03 AM
Surely not CG?

The Addinsell piece is in a broadly similar style (overblown Romantic melodic :greengrin) but the "All By Myself" melody is note-for-note Rachmaninov?

I wasn't familiar with "Joybringer" previous to your post but having heard it now, what a riff :thumbsup:. I blame John Williams and "Classical Gas" myself :greengrin

Aye it was. Listen to the Warsaw Concerto and you can hear the melody straight away - Rachmaninov's piano concerto has bits that sound a bit like it but are not the exact tune.

Incidentally, I believe the producers of 'Dangerous Moonlight' actually tried to commission big Sergei himself to write the music, but ended up with the other bloke (Addinsell? I knew it was something like that) and specified that it should be in the style of Rachmaninov, so it really is something of a pastiche.

Edit: Here it is - the "All By Myself" tune starts at about 1.50. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPLWQInP1lo&feature=related

_hucks_
06-01-2011, 11:16 AM
The Champions League Anthem is an adaptation of Handel's 'Zadok the Priest'

al bundy
07-01-2011, 01:54 PM

must be the same eric carmen that sang 'hungry eyes' from dirty dancing

WeAreHibs
08-01-2011, 08:58 AM
'He's Gonna Step On You Again' by John Kongos. Until a couple of years ago, I assumed that it was a Happy Mondays original. Having said that, the Mondays' version is way better.

Not the same thing but most folk think that 'Killer' is a Seal song and Adamski, who was the main man behind it, gets forgotten.

Yeah but Seal wrote the lyrics which was why it was remixed and released again as Seal. One of my fav tunes, infact, Seal is one of my fav artists.

08-01-2011, 10:42 AM
Of course everyone knows that Bitter Sweet Symphony,by the Verve, includes a sample of a Stones song. They also probably know that The Verve had to give all their rights to the song to the Stones as a result of a court case.

But who knows that the song was not recorded by The Stones, but by The Andrew Oldham Orchestra?

This and loads of other samples and originals here: http://www.whosampled.com/sample/view/108/The%20Verve-Bitter%20Sweet%20Symphony_The%20Andrew%20Oldham%20 Orchestra-The%20Last%20Time/

08-01-2011, 01:18 PM
There a lot of people posting on this thread who urgently need to get out more.... :rolleyes:

20-05-2011, 07:03 PM
Aye it was. Listen to the Warsaw Concerto and you can hear the melody straight away - Rachmaninov's piano concerto has bits that sound a bit like it but are not the exact tune.

Incidentally, I believe the producers of 'Dangerous Moonlight' actually tried to commission big Sergei himself to write the music, but ended up with the other bloke (Addinsell? I knew it was something like that) and specified that it should be in the style of Rachmaninov, so it really is something of a pastiche.

Edit: Here it is - the "All By Myself" tune starts at about 1.50. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPLWQInP1lo&feature=related

Had forgotten about this thread and finally got back to it.

See what you mean about the melody at 1:50 CG - different rhythm but the same melodic progression of 'All By Myself's chorus. Thanks for that - it's good to learn something new :thumbsup:

The bit I think where Rachmaninov's piece is directly lifted is in the piano leading into the chorus of the pop song. Straight steal, no doubt, though it's only a couple of bars.

Critical point was stated earlier - overblown Romantic period stuff. Time to dig out the frilly lace shirts :greengrin

21-05-2011, 07:42 AM
'The First Cut Is The Deepest' was written by Yusuf Islam, (formerly known as Cat Stevens.

21-05-2011, 10:00 AM
Wasn' this a co-write?

'Twas indeed.