View Full Version : Vince Cable
21-12-2010, 09:11 PM
Should he have got the boot?
Is it right for someone in the cabinet to think they are doing too much too fast:greengrin
21-12-2010, 09:48 PM
Never mind the boot, it's a ******ing bullet the boy needs :agree:
21-12-2010, 09:53 PM
No danger he should have resigned.
He didn't say anything about the weather.
21-12-2010, 10:28 PM
Is it just me, politics aside I just can't listen to him? Makes me :grr:
22-12-2010, 03:32 AM
whilst i'm not in favour of...well...anything the coalition have done thus far, i am well up for sticking it up to murdoch, he is the biggest problem on the planet IMO.
22-12-2010, 06:32 AM
This is a prime example of where a politician should have resigned or been sacked and yet neither has happened. Poor show by Cable, Clegg and Cameron.
22-12-2010, 06:44 AM
This is a prime example of where a politician should have resigned or been sacked and yet neither has happened. Poor show by Cable, Clegg and Cameron.
yep :agree:
I reckon they have been trying to protect the coalition with this move, trouble is I think they might have actually weakened themselves as a result as they look a bit desperate and weak now.
khib70
22-12-2010, 08:07 AM
whilst i'm not in favour of...well...anything the coalition have done thus far, i am well up for sticking it up to murdoch, he is the biggest problem on the planet IMO.
Fair enough, but that's not what he's done. His comments as the minister supposedly heading up an impartial OFCOM investigation, have virtually handed control of BSkyB to the Dirty Digger on a plate.
A not entirely serious, but for me, pretty accurate analysis can be found here :greengrin
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/politics/politics-headlines/vince-cable-fans-looking-like-a-right-bunch-of-twats-201012223380/
22-12-2010, 08:15 AM
Fair enough, but that's not what he's done. His comments as the minister supposedly heading up an impartial OFCOM investigation, have virtually handed control of BSkyB to the Dirty Digger on a plate.
A not entirely serious, but for me, pretty accurate analysis can be found here :greengrin
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/politics/politics-headlines/vince-cable-fans-looking-like-a-right-bunch-of-twats-201012223380/
Funny, and spot on. It has always amazed me how Cable has managed to convince everyone that he had some kind of sixth sense which allowed him to see the financial crisis looming, and he has been barely challenged on this. One of the least talented and most opportunistic politicians we have today. Whilst he should have been sacked I'm quite glad he wasn't as politics is bound to be more entertaining when the Business (apart from Rupert Murdoch bits) Secretary has been as emasculated as he has been. I doubt he'll remain in post for too much longer.
22-12-2010, 08:22 AM
Should he have got the boot?
Is it right for someone in the cabinet to think they are doing too much too fast:greengrin
Yes, to say highly sensitive things like that to complete strangers is gross incompetence.
I think the fact he "has to stay" demonstrates the severe lack of depth in the Lib Dems. They were already exposed by the (more unfortunate) resignation of David Laws, which meant that Danny Alexander was over-promoted to chief secretary and the hapless Michael Moore was made scottish secretary. Hell knows what they would have done if Cable had not been propped up.
22-12-2010, 08:43 AM
Funny, and spot on. It has always amazed me how Cable has managed to convince everyone that he had some kind of sixth sense which allowed him to see the financial crisis looming, and he has been barely challenged on this. One of the least talented and most opportunistic politicians we have today. Whilst he should have been sacked I'm quite glad he wasn't as politics is bound to be more entertaining when the Business (apart from Rupert Murdoch bits) Secretary has been as emasculated as he has been. I doubt he'll remain in post for too much longer.
While I find Cable amusing he has never convinced me of his ability to say anything that makes total sense.
22-12-2010, 09:00 AM
more comments today from other lib dems. It's almost like someone wants to trip them up??
22-12-2010, 10:23 AM
The old boy couldn't resist showing off to a couple of chicks. It's lucky he didn't suggest anything naughty to them!
It's the same kind of self-regard that will see him dancing on TV at the weekend.
Unfortunately I don't think this latest row is enough to bring down the coalition but it makes for entertaining stuff!
22-12-2010, 10:58 AM
I think this is going to be very interesting, if the government now allow murdoch to take over bskyb then it will look like they are favouring him for backing them in the election.
However, if they don't then murdochs lawyers and media empire will quite quickly turn on them.
Hard to see how they can win now, at least when cable was making the decision the tories could say it was nothing to do with them.
22-12-2010, 11:55 AM
Cable is undoubtedly a fool.
However, a more interesting element is the continuing tabloidisation of the Daily Telegraph. Sending 'undercover' reporters in posing as normal consitituents wired up used to be the preserve of the NOTW. It actually links in quite well to the wikileaks debate we were having about whether anyone in the public sphere has the right to private conversation anymore. Its getting to the stage where the media is the final arbiter of whats decent and what isnt, and the implication is politicians are going to be more and more bland and uncontroversial than they already are, and say nothing of interest or importance for fear of a press hounding.
22-12-2010, 11:58 AM
If you haven't already seen it, Google for Andrew Neil's interview with Cable where Neil busts the entire Cable myth. As you allude, if he had been a Labour or Tory politician, he would have been found out a long time ago.
Yes, to say highly sensitive things like that to complete strangers is gross incompetence.
I think the fact he "has to stay" demonstrates the severe lack of depth in the Lib Dems. They were already exposed by the (more unfortunate) resignation of David Laws, which meant that Danny Alexander was over-promoted to chief secretary and the hapless Michael Moore was made scottish secretary. Hell knows what they would have done if Cable had not been propped up.
I reckon if Laws had been cleared by the Standards Commissioner by now, he'd have been brought back and Cable sacked. As you say though, the standard of the Lib Dems is shocking - although Norman Lamb, who is only a PPS, should probably be a Minister, at least. Especially when you consider that politicians of the quality of Lynne Featherstone, Michael Moore and Ed Davey can manage it.
khib70
22-12-2010, 11:59 AM
I think this is going to be very interesting, if the government now allow murdoch to take over bskyb then it will look like they are favouring him for backing them in the election.
However, if they don't then murdochs lawyers and media empire will quite quickly turn on them.
Hard to see how they can win now, at least when cable was making the decision the tories could say it was nothing to do with them.
True
However, the behaviour of the Daily Twlegraph is also very interesting. They published what was basically a bit of banter from the conversation recorded by their undercover reporters yesterday. The really interesting stuff about BSkyB was available to them, but they chose to sit on it. At least until one of their staff got hacked off about it and leaked it to the BBC. Clearly the Telegraph was worried that Cable's indiscretion might make Murdoch's takeover more likely. And of course, the Telegraph's main rival in the quality newspaper market is Murdoch's Times.
See this excellent piece by Robert Peston on the BBC website
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/robertpeston/2010/12/unanswered_questions_about_cab.html
22-12-2010, 12:25 PM
True
However, the behaviour of the Daily Twlegraph is also very interesting. They published what was basically a bit of banter from the conversation recorded by their undercover reporters yesterday. The really interesting stuff about BSkyB was available to them, but they chose to sit on it. At least until one of their staff got hacked off about it and leaked it to the BBC. Clearly the Telegraph was worried that Cable's indiscretion might make Murdoch's takeover more likely. And of course, the Telegraph's main rival in the quality newspaper market is Murdoch's Times.
See this excellent piece by Robert Peston on the BBC website
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/robertpeston/2010/12/unanswered_questions_about_cab.html
Yep they defo didn't want that bit released. How much does that smug prick preston love one of these exclusives though:greengrin I still blame him for the financial crisis:wink:
22-12-2010, 12:50 PM
Yep they defo didn't want that bit released. How much does that smug prick preston love one of these exclusives though:greengrin I still blame him for the financial crisis:wink:
:agree: Almost - but not quite - as much as he loves himself
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/celebrity/robert-peston-transformed-into-pure-energy-200810081310/
22-12-2010, 12:52 PM
Cable has been really sanctimonious in the past. He's also has amazing hindsight. I'm getting a bit of schadenfreude from seeing him taken down a peg or two.
22-12-2010, 01:32 PM
He's a tool.
He is actually holding back the recovery of the banking sector and in many ways the economy by carrying on petty political point scoring and panedering to popular public opinion, no matter how far that actually is from the truth.
The banking commission on the go is almost guaranteeing that the taxpayer will get nothing back for some time.
22-12-2010, 03:06 PM
If Professor/Doctor/RH/Whateverthe****hethinksheis Cable, along with every other ***** genius who HAD the power to do anything about the frigging banking crisis (yet done **** all to stop it in terms of legislation or governance) seen it coming, why are we in this mess???
We are in this mess because our political leaders are too stupid to be bankers and thus creaming in the cash..........hence why, when the spotlight was turned on THEM, our esteemed leaders, they nicely regurgitated the "evil bankers"....the politicians didn't cause this mess but they done **** all to stop it either...whats worse??
Dont get me wrong, the bankers are a shower of greedy *******s - no doubt. THEY ALWAYS WERE THO! It suited the ****ing goverment when RBS and others were raking it in...the tax they collected was massive. When it all went tits up, they turned on them. They COULD have prevented the lot....or at least, helped prevent a good chunk of it with legislation.
As for their expenses - they are no better than the bankers regards lies, opportunisim and the rest.
I mean, FFS...their take was "our wages are too low.........so we'll make it up by LYING and thieving expenses for everything under the sun".
We'd all love to do that. In fact, most of us wouldnt....save for those with the scruples of the proverbial alley cat.
Bankers and politicians. All cants.
Cable - an annoying and petulant little irritating man with a stupid hat and a heid almost as shiny as auld Gorbachev's napper....
Cameron - an equally annoying little turd with **** all to say other than blaming labour labour labour.....
Clegg - the biggest liar of them all..."nope, no rise in fees" - "ahh, sorry students, **** ye's...were raising fees"
ALL BASSAS. Just like labour and most other politicians if the truth be told.
Back on track. Cable compromised his position. He lied. He at best had a serious error in judgement and got caught. Why shouldnt he walk? Annoying wee wideo who is another with Nostradamus like vision on our now ****ed economy but, like the rest, done nothing (And continues to do nothing) to change it hellish much......................
GETTS, one and all.
ENDOF
23-12-2010, 10:35 AM
If Professor/Doctor/RH/Whateverthe****hethinksheis Cable, along with every other ***** genius who HAD the power to do anything about the frigging banking crisis (yet done **** all to stop it in terms of legislation or governance) seen it coming, why are we in this mess???
We are in this mess because our political leaders are too stupid to be bankers and thus creaming in the cash..........hence why, when the spotlight was turned on THEM, our esteemed leaders, they nicely regurgitated the "evil bankers"....the politicians didn't cause this mess but they done **** all to stop it either...whats worse??
Dont get me wrong, the bankers are a shower of greedy *******s - no doubt. THEY ALWAYS WERE THO! It suited the ****ing goverment when RBS and others were raking it in...the tax they collected was massive. When it all went tits up, they turned on them. They COULD have prevented the lot....or at least, helped prevent a good chunk of it with legislation.
As for their expenses - they are no better than the bankers regards lies, opportunisim and the rest.
I mean, FFS...their take was "our wages are too low.........so we'll make it up by LYING and thieving expenses for everything under the sun".
We'd all love to do that. In fact, most of us wouldnt....save for those with the scruples of the proverbial alley cat.
Bankers and politicians. All cants.
Cable - an annoying and petulant little irritating man with a stupid hat and a heid almost as shiny as auld Gorbachev's napper....
Cameron - an equally annoying little turd with **** all to say other than blaming labour labour labour.....
Clegg - the biggest liar of them all..."nope, no rise in fees" - "ahh, sorry students, **** ye's...were raising fees"
ALL BASSAS. Just like labour and most other politicians if the truth be told.
Back on track. Cable compromised his position. He lied. He at best had a serious error in judgement and got caught. Why shouldnt he walk? Annoying wee wideo who is another with Nostradamus like vision on our now ****ed economy but, like the rest, done nothing (And continues to do nothing) to change it hellish much......................
GETTS, one and all.
ENDOF
Exactly. :agree:
23-12-2010, 05:55 PM
Cable's a bl++dy fool. But worse, he has no dignity.
Anyone worth their salt (principles) would walk.
It is IMO naïve to expect harmony within the Cabinet - it is also incredible that Cable sought to talk so candidly and carelessly to strangers about it.
23-12-2010, 06:00 PM
All things being equal, most of us would have expected Cable to go. Ministers have gone for what feels like far less, but just on its own merits it's surely unacceptable to indicate such partiality around what is meant to be an objective process, regardless of the lack of sympathy for Murdoch.
On the surface it would have been an opportunity to sweep David Laws back in, a Tory in Lib Dem clothing.
The problem is that while not sacking him for abusing his ministerial powers is bad, having him on the backbenches, without even a modicum of 'collective responsibility' is even more dangerous for Cameron and Clegg.
They couldn't afford to sack him or let him resign. Politically, it's definitely the right move short-term to keep him, even though the Tory right must be incandescent with Cameron now.
His staying, because it was too big a risk to jettison him, betrays the inherent weakness within the Coalition however, and those faultlines are only going to get wider.
24-12-2010, 07:03 AM
He should have walked but politicians are a different breed that have no scruples or self respect.
The fact he’s a Lib Dem means most of them in the government will be gone the time the next election comes around.
25-12-2010, 06:15 PM
The total bellend is now making a fool of himself on strictly come dancing:rolleyes: