View Full Version : Was it right to send this guy back to jail?

21-12-2010, 07:47 AM
What will be achieved?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-manchester-12047686

21-12-2010, 09:00 AM
He has shown a long and continuing disregard for society, the law and his family.
No loss to anyone that he's off the streets.

21-12-2010, 09:12 AM
Jings, all that time in jail and he's still managed to have 5 bairns.

21-12-2010, 09:25 AM
Not enough information to make a judgement on really.

It sounds like he did want to change things around and in that instance if this was just a slip up as opposed to a full scale relapse then I think jail is wrong.

However if it was a full scale relapse which would have had him back committing crime again soon then jail is probably correct.

21-12-2010, 09:35 AM
I think this is another example of the law on drugs doing more harm than good. The guy can't have any complaints because he knew the rules, but they are stupid rules.

21-12-2010, 09:55 AM
His burgling career is most probably a result of his drug taking. Big assumtion but hell mend him. Everyone deserves a second chance but he has blown it.
Off with his head.

23-12-2010, 08:50 PM
The guy had a choice - stay clean and stay out of jail. On the face of it, it seems fairly straightforward. As much as I can read into it, he was only out of jail on the proviso that certain conditions were met.

His choice was to breach the conditions - he can have no complaint about being sent back daaaaaahhhn.

24-12-2010, 11:41 AM
The guy had a choice - stay clean and stay out of jail. On the face of it, it seems fairly straightforward. As much as I can read into it, he was only out of jail on the proviso that certain conditions were met.

His choice was to breach the conditions - he can have no complaint about being sent back daaaaaahhhn.

George Best had a choice. Stay off the sauce or die.

Fairly straightforward too.

I think I'm making a point here! :rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 04:34 PM
George Best had a choice. Stay off the sauce or die.

Fairly straightforward too.

I think I'm making a point here! :rolleyes:

George Best made his choice though. I get that people become addicted and that it's easy to say from the outside that they shouldn't do it.

Ultimately though, I am not someone who subscribes to the point of view that people are unable to change their habits otherwise nobody would be able to do it.

Alcoholics can stop drinking, smokers give up smoking, drug users stop taking drugs. Ultimately this guy didn't want to give up drugs. He knew what would happen if he took them, made an informed choice, and has consequences to face for it. I've no sympathy for him.

30-12-2010, 10:50 PM
What will be achieved?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-manchester-12047686

It will let people know that breaching bail conditions has consequences :confused:

Pretty simple I would've thought.

30-12-2010, 11:01 PM
I think this is another example of the law on drugs doing more harm than good. The guy can't have any complaints because he knew the rules, but they are stupid rules.

Aye :agree:

This is why we've nae space for real *******s such as murderers and pervs.

I am NOT suggesting he isn't punished and/or take the punishment he deserves for breaking bail. But, locking him up is possibly no the answer. But, I dinny have the answer...what I do know is, this law and these rules dont work either. :agree:

Sumner
31-12-2010, 03:35 PM
Jail, and throw away the key.

31-12-2010, 04:01 PM

It's a breach of bail. Whether it was for drug taking or something else is irrelevant.

Had he completed his time on conditions, and THEN been found smoking a joint or whatever, then it's pretty unlikely he'd have gone to jail.

I am also sure I read elsewhere on this story that one of his conditions was that he wasn't to have contact with his partner (or ex-partner, mother of the kids) but he went to her house anyway.

Breach of conditions = recall to prison.