View Full Version : "The four-way hall of mirrors"

Dan Sarf
19-12-2010, 11:12 AM
An excellent piece about the league reconstruction (IMO) by Aidan Smith...

http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/sos-sports-columnists/Aidan-Smith-Orwellian-reconstruction-revolves.6665478.jp

19-12-2010, 12:50 PM
Brilliant piece. :thumbsup: Should be read by everyone with a view on the reconstruction debate.

But old George [Orwell] was spot-on in 1984 when he wrote: "If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face - forever." If you want a picture of the future, imagine playing St Mirren four times a season - forever.

Repetition, the same old, same old, is killing oor fitba. In recent months I've interviewed two of our brightest midfield talents who've taken flight from Scotland, Charlie Adam and Kevin Thomson, and both spoke of the absolute joy of no longer having to encounter too few teams, too many times. They were referring to the current 12-team SPL,…

And I would say that a winter shutdown would be most useful to the teams who've a) got the money to jet off to warmer climes and b) fancy their tattie as global brands.

While the rest of us shiver - always assuming the winter shutdown doesn't happen during a mild spell - they can be playing glamour friendlies and teaching the locals all about their thrilling rebel/loyal histories.

:agree: The Old Firm are indeed driving these proposals.

19-12-2010, 12:51 PM
An excellent piece about the league reconstruction (IMO) by Aidan Smith...

http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/sos-sports-columnists/Aidan-Smith-Orwellian-reconstruction-revolves.6665478.jp:agree:

rainman
19-12-2010, 01:14 PM
The comments (for once) are worth reading as well.

They give the other side of the coin which has it's points as well.

The truth is, we're all sick of seeing the same teams but substituting the income from 6 home games against Rangers, Celtic and Hearts for games against Dunfermline, Dundee and Raith Rovers will cripple us.

The answer is, there is no right answer. The guys that are attacking McLeish et al have no idea of the figures involved.

Let's be clear about this, we aren't a baw hair away fi being similar to the Irish league.

We're all broke and the standard is pish. Aye it's *****e playing 11 teams, 4 times and then catching them in the cup (when we manage to get past the Morton's and Ayr's) but the reality is, there are only 7 or 8 teams that are able to live off each other self-sufficiently. The rest are *****e. Caley, Hamilton, St Mirren, Killie. First division clubs, punching above their weight. Bringing in 4 more teams with similar infristructure isn't going to help.

Sometimes I think the "16 team league" is romanticised. We're substituting the games we love for another away trip to Raith Rovers and Dunfermline.

***** that.