View Full Version : To old to wear G Star ?

08-12-2010, 09:03 PM
I think early 20's is the cut off mark to be walking about with G Star etc in massive letters across your top , jeans or jacket.

My neighbour is a nightmare ! 30 odd years old and still wears all the "cool kids" gear.

I went to Amsterdam with him last year and i was frankly embarrassed by him when we were strolling about the shops.
G Star in massive letters across his hoodied top , some strange stuff with rips and frays going on with his G Star Jeans with the massive RAW written across them and one of those wee poofy leather jackets that look like a small woman should be wearing it.
He's also bald and a wee bit fat and facially challenged:greengrin

Me in my Matalans was mortified.

How do i tell him?

08-12-2010, 09:15 PM
Not a fan of G Star at all really, it's more common than the clap. Some folk put it on and for some reason instantly think they're fashionable. They're not.

I remember speaking to a friend of a friend at a party, he couldn't understand that I didn't like his shirt.

'But it's G Star' he said.

'So?'

'Ehm, it's G Star. It's smart, man'.

He thought his shirt was trendy purely as it had a G Star logo. Deary me. Don't get me wrong, some of the more subtle G Star stuff is actually quite smart. I've a pair of jeans and you wouldn't even know they were G Star. It's the tacky t-shirts and hoodies with a massive 'G STAR' emblazonned across them that are crimes against fashion. They're horrible :agree:

08-12-2010, 09:15 PM
I think early 20's is the cut off mark to be walking about with G Star etc in massive letters across your top , jeans or jacket.

My neighbour is a nightmare ! 30 odd years old and still wears all the "cool kids" gear.

I went to Amsterdam with him last year and i was frankly embarrassed by him when we were strolling about the shops.
G Star in massive letters across his hoodied top , some strange stuff with rips and frays going on with his G Star Jeans with the massive RAW written across them and one of those wee poofy leather jackets that look like a small woman should be wearing it.

How do i tell him?

G-Star isn't cool kids gear, it looks terrible. It doesn't look so bad on hooded tops and t-shirts but any jeans that have writing plastered accross them look totally horrendous.

Andy Bee
08-12-2010, 10:10 PM

How do i tell him?

Tell him to Ebay the threads, put the cash towards a deposit on a Fireblade and have a proper midlife crisis.:agree:

08-12-2010, 10:15 PM
G-Star isn't cool kids gear, it looks terrible. It doesn't look so bad on hooded tops and t-shirts but any jeans that have writing plastered accross them look totally horrendous.

Looks worse on a wee fat balding man :greengrin

I've dropped the odd hint but he thinks he's a cool dude.

09-12-2010, 09:21 AM

Most of the stuff looks awful. It also just screams 'look at me, look at me, i'm cool.'

09-12-2010, 09:30 AM
As much as I have never worn any G-Star I'd rather wear a whole outfit of the stuff than any of that Ed Hardy gear....that's proper expensive crap that looks like it was designed by a kid with psychotic tendancies.

09-12-2010, 09:56 AM
As much as I have never worn any G-Star I'd rather wear a whole outfit of the stuff than any of that Ed Hardy gear....that's proper expensive crap that looks like it was designed by a kid with psychotic tendancies.

It's butal. I used to see a load of folk going about in it and had no idea what it was. Looks like a bad tattoo artist was let loose with folks clothes.

09-12-2010, 11:00 AM
Henleys and Voi are another couple brands being sported by the masses recently. Both as gruesome as eachother.

09-12-2010, 01:51 PM

How do i tell him?
tell him to take up golf and get some proper clothes.

Twiglet
09-12-2010, 04:51 PM
I used to work in a shop on Princes St that sells G Star. We noticed that those who used to buy the Lacoste trackies started to move towards G Star describing it in the same way as "pure smart man". This was only on the menswear though. It put most of the guys I worked with off buying G Star, apart from jeans without the name right across the back. They moved on to Replay and Diesel. I did leave more than 3 years ago, but that has always stuck in my head when it comes to mens G Star.

09-12-2010, 05:09 PM
just seen this thread, was kidding my 12 year old son yesterday that i was going to buy g star jeans, and i got "naw please dinnae dad", so imo its confirmed, this gear is for 12 to late teens, suppose its the same as pods/kickers and a few others when i was a teenager, oh a loved ma pods

09-12-2010, 05:14 PM
I bought a blue G-Star shirt a year ago and i think it's smart, but it's not got a big G-Star logo on it anywhere, you wouldn't know it was G-Star, which prevents that sort of tacky look.:agree:

I still get guys at my school about a year below me yet still the same age, swaggering around in tacky, cheesy G-Star clothing with the logos all over it, acting the hard man etc.. they need to take a good look at themselves.:bitchy:

09-12-2010, 05:48 PM
Henleys and Voi are another couple brands being sported by the masses recently. Both as gruesome as eachother.

neither of which have ever been cool :greengrin

09-12-2010, 06:24 PM
You are never to old for designer gear. I wear my George and Tu stuff all the time.:agree:

09-12-2010, 06:42 PM
neither of which have ever been cool :greengrin
Henleys is just awful - Those jeans with a massive 'HENLEYS plastered over the arse are similar to something some American rap artist would wear. I'd rather be seen out and about in a pair of long johns than be seen in Henleys denim.

As for Voi, from a distance it looks like Lyle and Scott, get closer and you can see it's far from it. Its not nice and looks like a rip-off you'd find being flogged at East Fortune market.

Both stocked, along with Bench and G Star, in Republic. I avoid that place.

09-12-2010, 06:50 PM
As for Voi, from a distance it looks like Lyle and Scott, get closer and you can see it's far from it

Voi is just an Evisu rip off.

09-12-2010, 07:56 PM
I used to work in a shop on Princes St that sells G Star. We noticed that those who used to buy the Lacoste trackies started to move towards G Star describing it in the same way as "pure smart man". This was only on the menswear though. It put most of the guys I worked with off buying G Star, apart from jeans without the name right across the back. They moved on to Replay and Diesel. I did leave more than 3 years ago, but that has always stuck in my head when it comes to mens G Star.

Crikey for a second I thought you were having a pop at lacoste! Their polo shirts are absolute timeless, cannot beat them!

09-12-2010, 07:57 PM
And lyle and Scott is up with gio gio for super chaviness!

09-12-2010, 08:01 PM
Crikey for a second I thought you were having a pop at lacoste! Their polo shirts are absolute timeless, cannot beat them!

Lacoste polo shirts are absolute classics. Also quite a fan of Fred Perry and Ted Baker when it comes to Polo shirts.

09-12-2010, 09:11 PM
just seen this thread, was kidding my 12 year old son yesterday that i was going to buy g star jeans, and i got "naw please dinnae dad", so imo its confirmed, this gear is for 12 to late teens, suppose its the same as pods/kickers and a few others when i was a teenager, oh a loved ma pods

I love my Pods:greengrin
I have a nice brown leather pair !

I also had Pod sandals about 25 years ago . You know the time , Pepe keyrings , kicker tags , Nike cagouls , skin tight jeans and boxer boots:greengrin

09-12-2010, 09:21 PM
And lyle and Scott is up with gio gio for super chaviness!
Unfortunately, the vintage range is. Thankfully both the pricier archive and heritage ranges aren't 'chav wear' at the moment.

Gio Goi's went massively downhill in recent years.

09-12-2010, 09:24 PM

Lacoste polo shirts are absolute classics. Also quite a fan of Fred Perry and Ted Baker when it comes to Polo shirts.

Lacoste are my favourite polo shirts as well although i do like the Paul & Shark ones as well as the classic 60's look of the John Smedley ones

09-12-2010, 09:29 PM
Unfortunately, the vintage range is. Thankfully both the pricier archive and heritage ranges aren't 'chav wear' at the moment.

Gio Goi's went massively downhill in recent years.

gio~goi has never been the same since they re-invented it. In the early 90's they had some pretty cool stuff. Gio Goi, Stussy and Soviet were among my favourites during my raving days in the late 80's early 90's

Twiglet
09-12-2010, 09:30 PM

People who buy Lacoste polo shirts and those who buy the full tracksuit (or several) are very very different.

09-12-2010, 09:33 PM
People who buy Lacoste polo shirts and those who buy the full tracksuit (or several) are very very different.

does that not depend on the age of the buyer though, i had a tachinni tracksuit and thought it was as cools as ****** - mind you it was around 1985 i think :greengrin

Twiglet
09-12-2010, 09:41 PM
does that not depend on the age of the buyer though, i had a tachinni tracksuit and thought it was as cools as ****** - mind you it was around 1985 i think :greengrin

It does. And it does depend on the fashion too. I'm just not really a fan of people wearing a full tracksuit (nowadays) unless they are playing sports.
I'm going to stop now as the hole I'm digging is getting far too deep for me.:greengrin

09-12-2010, 09:42 PM
G-Star, Diesel, Lyle & Scott, Henleys, Gio Goi, Hummel, Junk De Luxe, McKenzie, Luke, Nike cotton jogging bottoms plus others are *** hideous and shouldn't be worn full-stop. By anyone. At any age.

Even Barbour, Adidas Originals, Fila and OTS are heading that way.

09-12-2010, 09:51 PM
G-Star, Diesel, Lyle & Scott, Henleys, Gio Goi, Hummel, Junk De Luxe, McKenzie, Luke, Nike cotton jogging bottoms plus others are *** hideous and shouldn't be worn full-stop. By anyone. At any age.

That's pretty much USC's entire stock holding you've listed :faf:

10-12-2010, 01:36 PM
Have to say I've always liked diesel stuff. That said, I don't really give a toss what others consider to be 'in'. If I like something I'll get it, regardless of the label.

10-12-2010, 02:01 PM
What if the label said I'm a ***** twat heid that loves necrophilia? Really good cut with a tailored fit though!

Godsahibby
10-12-2010, 02:34 PM
Like a lot of labels before it, G-Star has become a victim of its own popularity. It has nade some good clober for a while now but oly in the last few years it has brought out more and more of the ***** big branding across the ass or chest for the people who buy the name.

Ive got a few pairs of G-Star jeans and tops, none of which you would actually know are G-Star.

10-12-2010, 02:52 PM
Have to say I've always liked diesel stuff. That said, I don't really give a toss what others consider to be 'in'. If I like something I'll get it, regardless of the label.

you can never go wrong with Diesel clothes.

i have to admit, i had a lot of G-Star items years ago, but i was wearing them before the current trend caught on..... still wear the jeans though as they are the most comfortable jeans around.

i have a pair of G-Star hi-top trainers too which are pretty sweet. They dont have G-STAR plastered all over them either.

ive been buying a lot of All Saints stuff recently along with my usual Diesel stuff.

10-12-2010, 03:28 PM
you can never go wrong with Diesel clothes.

i have to admit, i had a lot of G-Star items years ago, but i was wearing them before the current trend caught on..... still wear the jeans though as they are the most comfortable jeans around.

i have a pair of G-Star hi-top trainers too which are pretty sweet. They dont have G-STAR plastered all over them either.

ive been buying a lot of All Saints stuff recently along with my usual Diesel stuff.

They are good. I've had a pair for about 6 years. They're the more subtle ones though and unfortunately they don't fit me any more.

Godsahibby
10-12-2010, 03:31 PM
The jean sizes are one of the reasons i get G-Star jeans, Im average height but got really short leags, theyre the only ones that do a size thats right for me.

10-12-2010, 03:31 PM

I get a lot of stuff from All Saints, fits really well I think.

Also loving my Nudie jeans just now, going to get a new pair soon.

10-12-2010, 03:45 PM
I have got G-Star,Lyle & Scott,Superdry,Adidas Orginals and River Island clothes.

I recived my Fila shirt that i recently bought yesterday and i think it's really smart. :agree:

I don't even buy G-Star stuff anymore but i only buy the jeans. Because G-Star is going down the ned route.

10-12-2010, 03:47 PM
I have got G-Star,Lyle & Scott,Superdry,Adidas Orginals and River Island clothes.

I recived my Fila shirt that i recently bought yesterday and i think it's really smart. :agree:

I don't even buy G-Star stuff anymore but i only buy the jeans. Because G-Star is going down the ned route.

I got a grey Fila top.

They are smart, really impressed with it :agree:

10-12-2010, 03:50 PM
I got a grey Fila top.

They are smart, really impressed with it :agree:

Even though i cancelled my order with the hut when pre-ordering Fifa 11. They still sent me the shirt.

10-12-2010, 04:25 PM

i like the adidas originals trainers but they arent as good as the old ones were :agree:

recently picked up a pair of these but havent yet had a chance to wear them due to weather

http://www.snkrs.com/284-1144-thickbox/london-yellow-blue.jpg

in terms of clothes i tend to stick to the same brands that i know i like. CP Company, Stone Island, Paul & Shark, Boss, Ralph Lauren, Fjallraven, Armani Jeans, Lacoste and jeans i tend to get from Austin Reed

10-12-2010, 05:40 PM
What if the label said I'm a ***** twat heid that loves necrophilia? Really good cut with a tailored fit though!

You've seen my t-shirts, then?:greengrin

11-12-2010, 04:39 PM
Why do teens wear baggy jogger bottoms these days, what is worse is they must think they look good. They look like tramps and that they cannot afford a proper pair of trousers. Seems to have a trend for a few years now, when i was younger you wore trackie bottoms to play football, not go up town with.

11-12-2010, 04:41 PM
Why do teens wear baggy jogger bottoms these days, what is worse is they must think they look good. They look like tramps and that they cannot afford a proper pair of trousers. Seems to have a trend for a few years now, when i was younger you wore trackie bottoms to play football, not go up town with.

:agree: and pull your jeans up :grr:

12-12-2010, 05:17 PM

:agree:.. Something i can't stand is people wearing jeans halfway down their arse.

12-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Guy, guys, guys. :bitchy:

:boo hoo:

Teo10
15-12-2010, 08:15 AM
I do have a couple of G-Star items but they are really subtle... I hate seeing all these neds these days with !!!!!G-STAR!!!!! Plastered over every space on their top. I have to admit before the trend caught on their jeans were really good, they still are but they are now starting to appear with their brand all over them. i stopped getting them when that started and have moved onto Levi 504's which IMO are the best jeans around!

15-12-2010, 09:44 AM
On the topic of jeans, my Pretty Green pair arrived yesterday, they're superb.

15-12-2010, 03:42 PM

Bring back the bulge :greengrin

18-12-2010, 11:08 PM

Fila has never been cool.

19-12-2010, 10:15 AM
Fila has never been cool.

that's not quite true, i remember a time in the early to mid eighties when it was :agree:

19-12-2010, 10:39 AM
that's not quite true, i remember a time in the early to mid eighties when it was :agree:

Maybe I should have added 'in my lifetime.' :greengrin