View Full Version : NHC Pardew Toon Bound

Hibbie_Cameron
07-12-2010, 10:02 PM
Heres the latest from the beeb:

BBC Sport understands that Pardew was in talks with Newcastle about taking over at St James' Park as long as 10 days ago.

It is believed Pardew became close friends with Newcastle owner Mike Ashley and director Derek Llambias when all three were familiar faces at an exclusive London casino where Llambias was managing director.

This must be some sort of joke:grr:

08-12-2010, 07:48 AM
Pardew already been given the nod apparently.

08-12-2010, 08:05 AM
Bad move Newcastle, always had a wee soft spot for them. Ashley is quite the ****.

08-12-2010, 10:25 AM
Pardew set to be appointed, sheer lunacy.

I felt sorry for him when he was told that for the sake of his family's safety he should not attend games at a club where he'd ploughed in £100M of his own money - but does he actually want to be a hate figure?!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/9267960.stm

08-12-2010, 10:29 AM
Pardew set to be appointed, sheer lunacy.
That won't go down well wi the fans!!

marleyhib
08-12-2010, 12:35 PM

Sorry if already posted.

Seems like a complete farce to me.

Hibee Daz
08-12-2010, 12:48 PM
I hope he is, so that he can start making a shop front of it immediately against the mighty Pool this weekend! :wink:

aberhibsfc
08-12-2010, 01:40 PM
He's an alright manager but can't believe this was their master plan.

CH pulled them out the dodo and was 11th in the league, he had been operating for two months without an assistant (which was probably deliberate) they looked keen to dispatch him after the Sunderland game but this would be difficult given the dismantling of their fierce rivals. I am sure CH could have done better but could have done a lot worse too.

Newcastle are a massive club with a fantastic fanbase, it's a shame that their Chairman was not as prestigous. He seems to have a touch of the Mad Vlad. If only they had gotten a fax machine rather than Dennis Wise maybe things would be alright. I still can't believe they put that short ass in charge of Keegan.

08-12-2010, 01:47 PM

Sorry if already posted.

Seems like a complete farce to me.

'Paw Broon Toon 'boond', has a better ring to it, no?

08-12-2010, 01:54 PM
'Paw Broon Toon 'boond', has a better ring to it, no?

Doon at noon

08-12-2010, 02:00 PM
Laughable appointment is this not the guy who failed at Charlton, West Ham and Southampton.

aberhibsfc
08-12-2010, 02:57 PM
Laughable appointment is this not the guy who failed at Charlton, West Ham and Southampton.

Yeah, he was meant to be a big deal but never really delivered. He's not the worst but he is not the calibre of manager that should be at the Toon, never mind ousting someone for him.

hibeemarley
08-12-2010, 03:15 PM
I stuck £25 on jol to be next boss.

What a fanny I am!

That appointment makes nae sense

BryanV
08-12-2010, 03:17 PM
Apparently Derek Llambas, the chairman of Newcastle, is good friends with Pardew. Idiocy.

08-12-2010, 03:18 PM
Out of the same top drawer as Graham Rix.

magpie1892
08-12-2010, 03:40 PM
Was listening to views from commentators/journalists from the North East and they are dumfounded.
I find it hard to grasp how a guy who obviously must be quite astute can get things like this so wrong.Giving Wise a job up there caused all sort of problems too. They were saying there are strong rumours saying the're planning a mass walk out after five mins on Saturday....

Ashley's doing it on purpose. There's no other rational explanation for a good number of his actions. Like the vast majority of season ticket holders (yes, someone is going in my stead while exiled in the desert) I had no real issue with Hughton's removal, based on the assumption that the replacement would be superior.

Trade in your '08 Ford Focus for a '03 Fiesta? Sure, whatever.

08-12-2010, 03:44 PM
i would have thought the top target would have been Martin O'Neil!

he's exactly the type of manager newcastle have been crying out for for years!

magpie1892
08-12-2010, 03:50 PM
i would have thought the top target would have been Martin O'Neil!

he's exactly the type of manager newcastle have been crying out for for years!

He's an utter dick (this is subjective, as I had a couple of unpleasant run-ins with him when he was at the Declans) but yes, a very solid manager.

But he left Villa because they wouldn't spend (among other things) so never likely to sign up for tighter purse-strings and continual interference on Barrack Road.

BryanV
08-12-2010, 06:38 PM
Ashley's doing it on purpose. There's no other rational explanation for a good number of his actions. Like the vast majority of season ticket holders (yes, someone is going in my stead while exiled in the desert) I had no real issue with Hughton's removal, based on the assumption that the replacement would be superior.

Trade in your '08 Ford Focus for a '03 Fiesta? Sure, whatever.

See, to me that is part of the problem with Newcastle United supporters. Promotion, mid table and a hammering of local rivals but you have no problem with his removal because you might get someone better....

09-12-2010, 10:31 AM
5 and half year deal :confused::confused:

09-12-2010, 10:34 AM
Really a bad move by Newcastle.

09-12-2010, 10:34 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/9267960.stm :wtf: thats a deal and a half :bitchy:

09-12-2010, 11:35 AM

Unbelievable, what's the rationale behind that - because they think that one of the big four will come calling in the next couple of years? Or a big foreign club?

Looks like Ashley has guaranteed that his mate will get paid for a long time regardless of what happens on the park.

09-12-2010, 11:56 AM

5 and a half months would be more realistic

09-12-2010, 12:11 PM
Apparently Derek Llambas, the chairman of Newcastle, is good friends with Pardew. Idiocy.

and Ashley - they're members of the same casino and good pals (according to TalkSPORT)

09-12-2010, 12:12 PM
I just don't get Newcastle.

I feel sorry for their fans because they seem like Hibs fans in a lot of ways, all they want is to watch some decent football, put together a decent league campaign and maybe win a trophy or 2 every now and then.

But it seems the people that run the club are invariably absolute fuds. This goes back beyond Mike Ashley taking control. The way they treated Bobby Robson was appaling after everything he had done for the club. This latest scenario is just farcical. Sack a promotion winning manager who has worked with minimal funds and replace him with a guy still dining out on 2 half decent seasons with West Ham 5 or 6 years ago.

M11BMO
09-12-2010, 12:29 PM
Confused.com :bitchy:

Apparently in a local Newcastle Newspaper, Pardew only recieved 2% backing in a poll of who the fans wanted as the next manager.

Houghton won't struggle getting another job IMO. What more did the board want from him with little resources? Some cracking results that none would have expected in their first season back in the PL. Hammer their local rivals 5-1. Beat Arsenal 1-0. Knock the holders out the Carling Cup. Draw with Chelsea at home. Beat villa 6-0.

09-12-2010, 12:40 PM
He's an utter dick (this is subjective, as I had a couple of unpleasant run-ins with him when he was at the Declans) but yes, a very solid manager.

But he left Villa because they wouldn't spend (among other things) so never likely to sign up for tighter purse-strings and continual interference on Barrack Road.

I agree with you about O'Neill. The owner at Villa, Lerner, had every right to say there was no more money to be spent on players considering the amount he'd already given to O'Neill for players, for no return. I reckon it got to a point where he realised throwing money at the club wasn't going to break them into the Champions League places, so what was the point?

Back on point though, poor decison from Mike Ashley. A 5 and a half year deal will just mean that he's due a massive compo payment when they sack him in 6 months time.

09-12-2010, 01:25 PM
hope they go down big club my ass

09-12-2010, 01:56 PM
Feel sorry for the fans. I would be fuming if I was a Newcastle supporter.

M11BMO
09-12-2010, 02:12 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/9273388.stm

More like the other managers are bemused by the boards decision to sack Houghton and replace him with you!!