View Full Version : Golf - Woods is back!

04-12-2010, 08:34 PM
-15 and four ahead of McDowell in the Chevron.

Tiger will be re-instated as World No. 1 with a victory tomorrow!

05-12-2010, 09:30 AM
We could do without the over lavish praise that is heaped on Tiger by the Sky Sports commentators. They seem to be indulging themselves in a Tiger love in and it makes me boak at times.

The Chevron Challenge comprises a small field of invited players which is played on a course that Tiger knows inside out and if Lee Westwood happens to win the Sun City event in South Africa then imo he should certainly retain his number one spot.

The World golf rankings are almost as confusing as the FIFA rankings!

05-12-2010, 04:26 PM
We could do without the over lavish praise that is heaped on Tiger by the Sky Sports commentators. They seem to be indulging themselves in a Tiger love in and it makes me boak at times.

The Chevron Challenge comprises a small field of invited players which is played on a course that Tiger knows inside out and if Lee Westwood happens to win the Sun City event in South Africa then imo he should certainly retain his number one spot.

The World golf rankings are almost as confusing as the FIFA rankings!

Well done Lee Westwood

05-12-2010, 08:54 PM
Woods imploding :greengrin

4 shot overnight lead gone .. McDowell now leads by 2 after he birdies par 5 and Woods has a double bogey! :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 08:57 PM
G-Mc 2 ahead with 5 to play .. McDowell then pushes waaaaay right and playing provisional - good viewing!

05-12-2010, 09:06 PM
McDowell about to bogey.. Its getting tense!

05-12-2010, 09:11 PM
-16 McDowell (14)
-15 Woods (14)

Mon the G-Mc :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 09:32 PM
Woods pulls miles left on approach to 16 .. G-Mc from 123yds to 5 feet and it's looking good for Westwood to stay world #1.

05-12-2010, 09:34 PM
Great commentary TQM - cheers mate :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 09:35 PM
Great commentary TQM - cheers mate :thumbsup:

You're welcome G :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 09:38 PM
McDowell misses birdie and still leads by 1 with 2 to play ..

05-12-2010, 09:39 PM
You're welcome G :thumbsup:

How'd you think its gonna go mate? I fancy a play-off.

05-12-2010, 09:41 PM
How'd you think its gonna go mate? I fancy a play-off.

Could be a play-off but Woods is so erratic, I fancy G-Mc

05-12-2010, 09:44 PM
Could be a play-off but Woods is so erratic, I fancy G-Mc

I've cursed him - G-Mc hooks into long greenside grass and Woods is 10-12 for birdie.

05-12-2010, 09:46 PM
I've cursed him - G-Mc hooks into long greenside grass and Woods is 10-12 for birdie.

You certainly have G - Woods could have a lead going to 18! Great stuff :agree:

05-12-2010, 09:49 PM
Great stuff :agree:

G-Mc back to the tee? Or 9th tee for approach?

05-12-2010, 09:51 PM

G-Mc back to the tee? Or 9th tee for approach?

Hard to believe what we're watching mate!

05-12-2010, 09:53 PM
Hard to believe what we're watching mate!

He's put it to 6 feet - amazing! :agree:

05-12-2010, 09:55 PM
Woods par 3, and G-Mc bogey 4 .. On to 18 with both -15

05-12-2010, 09:56 PM
Back to level at -15

One of you is bad enough G!

05-12-2010, 09:58 PM
Back to level at -15

One of you is bad enough G!

Just talking to mysel' S - we all do it :wink:

Go G-Mc :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 10:00 PM
Just talking to mysel' S - we all do it :wink:

Go G-Mc :thumbsup:

Mostly when there's naebody else around to talk to :greengrin

Must be nice being able to have a 4-ball with yourself right enough :wink:

05-12-2010, 10:02 PM
Mostly when there's naebody else around to talk to :greengrin

Must be nice being able to have a 4-ball with yourself right enough :wink:

I like to play with myself - but that's another story..

Woods to a yard - superb!

05-12-2010, 10:03 PM
What a SENSATIONAL approach by Woods - here's hoping he plays next season the way he's finished up this season (from the Ryder Cup onwards).

Getting back to his brilliant best.

05-12-2010, 10:04 PM
I like to play with myself - but that's another story..

Woods to a yard - superb!

You been on the sauce tonight or summin'? :greengrin

05-12-2010, 10:06 PM
You been on the sauce tonight or summin'? :greengrin

Not a drop :greengrin

BIG interview on Wednesday - and a bit wired :wink:

05-12-2010, 10:07 PM
GO G-Mc - what a putt!!! :thumbsup:

05-12-2010, 10:07 PM
Not a drop :greengrin

BIG interview on Wednesday - and a bit wired :wink:

What a putt from McDowell :thumbsup:

Changing jobs or trying to secure funding for something?

Some snow heading your way in the next 10 minutes or so by the way :wink:

05-12-2010, 10:09 PM
New job - at prestigous Uni :wink:

Tell me your kidding about snow! Is it heavy?

05-12-2010, 10:11 PM
Aye, getting a wee bit heavier now - shouldn't do much in the way of damage.

Is said Uni still a local drive for you? :wink:

05-12-2010, 10:12 PM
Aye, getting a wee bit heavier now - shouldn't do much in the way of damage.

Is said Uni still a local drive for you? :wink:

Yes - still a local drive .. Many drives at the town's many golf courses :wink:

05-12-2010, 10:14 PM
Very good! Best of luck - shame it's not a principal position, as you'd get free membership to the R&A club, as well as free membership to the courses :wink:

Would be nice to have a contact in position at a lucrative academic institution :greengrin

05-12-2010, 10:18 PM
Cheers S!

Now back to the golf .. McDowell to nick it on 2nd play-off hole

05-12-2010, 10:23 PM
If they dinnae finish it on the first playoff hole, I'll catch the result on the ESPN website tomorrow morning :greengrin

Falling asleep here as it is!

05-12-2010, 10:26 PM
Would you believe that?! GMac should win it with that :greengrin

05-12-2010, 10:28 PM
G-Mc .. Golfer of the Year! :thumbsup:

Hibbie_Cameron
05-12-2010, 10:28 PM
Would you believe that?! GMac should win it with that :greengrin

Superb:thumbsup:

Two fantastic putts

05-12-2010, 10:30 PM
Superb:thumbsup:

Two fantastic putts

Awesome :agree:

Taming the Tiger on his own patch! SUPERB G-Mc :thumbsup:

Hibbie_Cameron
05-12-2010, 10:37 PM
Awesome :agree:

Taming the Tiger on his own patch! SUPERB G-Mc :thumbsup:

When Woods hit that 2nd on the 18th it was game over, that makes the G-Mac win all the better

05-12-2010, 10:52 PM
Aye - wee Nor'n Ireland battler - never gives up! Top man!

06-12-2010, 07:21 AM
Brilliant TQM. Made me laugh.
Well done G Mac .:)

the Tiger has been lying injured in the corner for months now and came out snarling. G Mac gave it a slap and bloddied it's nose. Will it wimper off back to the corner? Be interesting to see.

06-12-2010, 08:54 AM
Mark Roe and David Livingston will be crying into their soup! They've not exactly provided an impartial commentary over the last 4 days and their bias towards Tiger was cringeworthy to say the least.

Tiger's on course behaviour still leaves a lot to be desired and the fact that he played poorly and failed to break par in the last round proves that he's still a lot of work to do.

Guys like Rory McIlroy and Matteo Manassero are likely to dominate the game in the next few years and imo Tiger will not be the force he once was.

Lee Westwood's performance in South Africa proved that he's worthy of his World number 1 ranking and all in all yesterday was a brilliant day for TV golf addicts.

southfieldhibby
06-12-2010, 10:46 AM
-15 and four ahead of McDowell in the Chevron.

Tiger will be re-instated as World No. 1 with a victory tomorrow!

The Nedbank was a World Ranking event too, and more worthy than the Chevron considering the size of the field, so even if Woods had won, Westwood would have stayed numero uno with his victory.

With regards to Woods, he's certainly improving, but he'll never dominate like he used to, he's just not as intimidating to opponents as he used to be and his swing isnt as reliable.As for his caddie, he's a bell end.See he removed his bib before Gmac putted on the 72nd hole, very presumptious and good to see him being made to look a knob.