View Full Version : Who signed Ray Wilkins?

Lucky_Jim
01-12-2010, 12:28 PM
Anyone able to settle a bet between a mate and me please....

Which Hibs manager signed Ray Wilkins as a player (in 1997 I think)?

I reckon it's Duff Jimmy, my mate says Lex Miller.

Jim

01-12-2010, 12:33 PM
Miller.

01-12-2010, 12:33 PM
I think Duff Jimmy was to blame for that yin :rolleyes:

ChilliEater
01-12-2010, 12:34 PM
Pretty sure it was Lexo.

Mark79
01-12-2010, 12:36 PM
Miller.

01-12-2010, 12:38 PM
Defo Lexo, it was his final signing.

01-12-2010, 12:42 PM
Defo Lexo, it was his final signing.

Dr Jimmy
01-12-2010, 12:43 PM
Sorry mate, it was defo Miller and Crombe was still chairman.

Lucky_Jim
01-12-2010, 01:07 PM
Cheers Lad. I guess my mate's got to be right on something just once in his life...clearly he's a big Wilkins/Miller fan ;-)

No surprised it was Miller's last signing....it's a sackable offence alone! Desperate measure.

01-12-2010, 01:10 PM
I remember a 4-0 League Cup defeat at Ibrox where Wilkins applauded the huns while being substituted, completely ignoring the Miller Must Go chants from the small band of Hibs fans!

Walter
01-12-2010, 02:01 PM
I thought it was jocky scott

Owain_1987
01-12-2010, 02:10 PM
I thought it was Jim Duffy also am going have to find out now. Still not really sure who signed him but guess it was maybe Duffy who got rid of him which is my I am thinking it was Duffy who signed him. In another note I see Alex Miller was manger in Sweden this year for a whole four mouths at AIK he must of done a great job!

scotiaf
01-12-2010, 02:28 PM
Im pretty sure it was miller

Infact i'm sure a few weeks before he signed he was quoted saying

" we could do with a ray wilkins style player "

roll forward a few weeks and wilkins was sporting his dads calor sponsored hibs top with the stripey sleeves in the evening news

01-12-2010, 02:31 PM
Definitely Alex Miller.

Wilkins made his debut on my Wedding day and got man of the match. Hearts got beat at Ibrox same day and had 4 men sent off, both these things got mentioned in wedding speech especially for my Jambo best man:greengrin

01-12-2010, 02:31 PM
Im pretty sure it was miller

Infact i'm sure a few weeks before he signed he was quoted saying

" we could do with a ray wilkins style player "

roll forward a few weeks and wilkins was sporting his dads calor sponsored hibs top with the stripey sleeves in the evening news

Given his history easier say who hasn't signed him!
tWas lexo in above known in the US as "jumping the shark"

ginger_rice
01-12-2010, 05:05 PM
I honestly couldn't see what Wilkins brought to Hibs certainly not as a player, perhaps if we'd signed him 20 years earlier than we did. Pretty obvious he still considered himself a Hun too could never forgive him for that applause.

As an aside apart from Andy Millen would Wilkins have been the oldest outfield player to play in the Scottish Premier League?

01-12-2010, 05:12 PM
As an aside apart from Andy Millen would Wilkins have been the oldest outfield player to play in the Scottish Premier League?

Brewster mibbe?

01-12-2010, 05:36 PM
100% sure it was Auld Lexo - don't think Wilkins even played under Duffy IIRC.

01-12-2010, 05:39 PM
Sure it was Miller. Did we have a sell on clause? Look where he ended up :greengrin

01-12-2010, 05:43 PM
I remember a 4-0 League Cup defeat at Ibrox where Wilkins applauded the huns while being substituted, completely ignoring the Miller Must Go chants from the small band of Hibs fans!
i thought that was ER ?
i think i have a faint memory of him clapping the dunbar end:confused:

01-12-2010, 05:58 PM
Definately Miller.

Terrible signing too - he was woeful.

Wee bald overweight 40 year old playing for Hibs - embarressing!:boo hoo:

Dr Jimmy
01-12-2010, 05:59 PM
I thought it was Jim Duffy also am going have to find out now. Still not really sure who signed him but guess it was maybe Duffy who got rid of him which is my I am thinking it was Duffy who signed him. In another note I see Alex Miller was manger in Sweden this year for a whole four mouths at AIK he must of done a great job!

http://thehiblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/wilkins140996.jpg

This should clear it up, if you can read the text it says Miller.

heidtheba
01-12-2010, 06:10 PM

Did he not applaud them in what (I think) was his last game for us against Rangers at ER?

01-12-2010, 06:16 PM

Absolutely correct. We were all going daft at Wilkins for that. Joke of a signing from Mogadon who was a busted flush by then.

01-12-2010, 06:22 PM
Absolutely correct. We were all going daft at Wilkins for that. Joke of a signing from Mogadon who was a busted flush by then.
sure it was easter road ?:confused:

01-12-2010, 06:24 PM
Miller signed and did Scott not empty him as soon as he temperarily took over?

Greenblood70
01-12-2010, 06:28 PM
:agree: miller. I mind we lost the week before or something and Miller was in the paper quoted as saying we need an old head in midfield "like Ray Wilkins was". All of a sudden it was announced a few days later that the geriatric ex hun had actually signed!!! It was the last act of a desperate man who knew his time at Hibs was coming to an end, I was still absolutely raging at the time mind.

BigKev
01-12-2010, 06:39 PM

I'm with you. Was definitely Ibrox. We beat them at ER a couple of weeks later IIRC. He might have done it then as well though.

Greenblood70
01-12-2010, 06:42 PM
I'm with you. Was definitely Ibrox. We beat them at ER a couple of weeks later IIRC. He might have done it then as well though.

Think that might have been Jocky the Jannys first game in charge (the one at ER)..Laudrop miseed a pen I think.

01-12-2010, 06:44 PM
Two hun applauding episodes from the hairless & hopeless one, one at Ibrox and one at Easter Road.

Aubenas
01-12-2010, 07:51 PM
Ooops. Read the headline below as COMB ushers in a new age! :tee hee:

vein
01-12-2010, 08:18 PM
sure it was easter road ?:confused:

Wasnt at the league cup game as far as I remember but he definitley applauded the Huns that were in the old main stand as he went off at Easter Road and completley ignored the Hibs fans.

jae
01-12-2010, 10:00 PM
Think that might have been Jocky the Jannys first game in charge (the one at ER)..Laudrop miseed a pen I think.

Laudrope missed the penalty twice. it was retaken for encroachment. My Daughter was the mascot that day and Wilkins passed the ball back and forward to her before the start of the game. Maybe not our best ever player but thought that was a nice gesture.

King Paddy
01-12-2010, 10:15 PM
defo Alex Miller, out of sheer desperation as he was as slow as a tortoise.

Mixu62
01-12-2010, 10:16 PM
I thought it was jocky scott

Nah, Wilkins couldn't teckle.