View Full Version : NHC Barcelona 5 v 0 Real Madrid (merged)

23-11-2010, 08:34 PM
Something to look forward to!

Barcelona vs Real Madrid: Monday 29th November, 7.30pm - Sky Sports 1:

23-11-2010, 08:35 PM
I hope Barca stuff them. :agree:

23-11-2010, 08:37 PM
Going to be ONE hell of a game i reckon.

Forget the EPL this is for me the best most exciting league in the world not that Andy Gray would agree. Funny how Spain, who are the current European AND World Cup holders had just two players in the WC squad outside of their home league (Torres and Fabregas).

Should be a great one.

23-11-2010, 08:38 PM

Forget the EPL this is for me the best most exciting league in the world not that Andy Gray would agree. Funny how Spain, who are the current European AND World Cup holders had just two players in the WC squad outside of their home league (Torres and Fabregas).

Should be a great one.

Pepe Reina

23-11-2010, 08:40 PM
Pepe Reina

Ok three :wink: but still hardly any!

And he didnt play a game so it doesnt really count IMO. Though i suppose Fabregas did play that killer pass but you get my drift of how the EPL is arselicked far to much! :greengrin

23-11-2010, 08:41 PM

And he didnt play a game so it doesnt really count IMO. Though i suppose Fabregas did play that killer pass but you get my drift of how the EPL is arselicked far to much! :greengrin

I'm sure you mentioned squad

Sloppy
23-11-2010, 08:47 PM
david silva

23-11-2010, 08:48 PM
Good shout, Scott. I've been looking forward to this.

Two really good teams.

Barcelona are unbelievably technically gifted, patient and confident. Their first touch, movement and awareness is a joy to watch. Barca almost never just fire a cross into the box in the hope that someone might get on the end of it. Never!

Real are a bit more direct, although not overly, and while they can pass and move too, they will occasionally fire crosses in and it sometimes works.

Both teams always make themselves available so you won't see either midfield running away from the ball when one of their team mates has it, as so often happens in Scotland.

If ever a game should live up to expectations, this must be it.

23-11-2010, 08:50 PM
david silva

Sure he was a Valencia player when the squads were submitted.

Should be a great one.

Highest quality - probably yes. Most exciting - nope. It's rapidly becoming an SPL-esque two horse race. Barca helped themselves to eight away from home at the weekend FFS.

I like watching Spanish football for the technique and the astonishing array of talent, but there are much more exciting leagues. For my money the Bundesliga has the best balance of quality, unpredictablity and excitement.

Ha Ho He, Hertha BSC... (back in the Bundesliga before you know it.)

The EPL is arselicked so much by their own media.

As is the La Liga.

23-11-2010, 11:13 PM
Cannae wait! :agree:

CallumHibs07
23-11-2010, 11:36 PM
I hope Real stuff Barca and I'm quite confident they'll do it. Barca are only half the team they are when they are without messi so if he is kept quiet Real should be comfortable.

GB6
23-11-2010, 11:40 PM
I hope Real stuff Barca and I'm quite confident they'll do it. Barca are only half the team they are when they are without messi so if he is kept quiet Real should be comfortable.

ronaldo.
:kettle:

23-11-2010, 11:43 PM
Do you realise how hard it is to stop him though. My money will be on Barca and Messi will show Ronaldo up again.

24-11-2010, 02:16 AM
Mon Real!!

24-11-2010, 02:24 AM
Do you realise how hard it is to stop him though. My money will be on Barca and Messi will show Ronaldo up again.

The chosen one managed to play tactics tokeep him quiet the last time one of his teams played Barca. I reckon it will be a one sided 1-0 win to Barca.

24-11-2010, 02:50 AM
Messi has already hit 22goals this season! In all competitions yes but **** me!

24-11-2010, 07:19 AM
Hope Barca win.

24-11-2010, 07:28 AM

Simples! :wink:

24-11-2010, 09:30 AM

Maybe they could resort to trying to injure him like they did a couple of seasons back. 6 tackles in the first 20 minutes that all involved raking studs down the back of the ankle and stamping movements. The wee man had the last laugh though when he popped up with the winner.

Anyway i'm ridiculously excited about this game because.......I'm going. :thumbsup: First time at this fixture and i can't wait. Visca el Barca!

24-11-2010, 09:56 AM
Maybe they could resort to trying to injure him like they did a couple of seasons back. 6 tackles in the first 20 minutes that all involved raking studs down the back of the ankle and stamping movements. The wee man had the last laugh though when he popped up with the winner.

Anyway i'm ridiculously excited about this game because.......I'm going. :thumbsup: First time at this fixture and i can't wait. Visca el Barca!

You lucky, lucky person. Enjoy.:thumbsup:

24-11-2010, 10:27 AM

And was also on the winning side of a 6-2 win iirc, there is just no way to stop the laddie, kick him? he gets back up and skins you again, stand off him? he runs rings around you, he is a genius :thumbsup:

Cmon Barca:greengrin

Sloppy
24-11-2010, 04:56 PM
Sure he was a Valencia player when the squads were submitted.
oh yeah my bad!

24-11-2010, 07:28 PM
Cannae wait, will be on heck of a game. Hope Barca thrash them :thumbsup:

25-11-2010, 01:29 PM
I hope Barca hammer them! It's a joy to watch Messi, Iniesta and Xavi who have to be three of the top 5 players in the world. Watching their goals from last night has me looking forward to monday's game already! Vizca el barca!

29-11-2010, 11:34 AM
What do people think? I'm not sure where to start, might just sit back and hope for a Classico.

29-11-2010, 11:44 AM
ive done 3.2 each team and a 3.3 draw

Seanair
29-11-2010, 11:49 AM
What do people think? I'm not sure where to start, might just sit back and hope for a Classico.

As a Barca supporter, I can't help feeling that RM might be just too strong tonight (Higuain's returning to the team, etc).

But being a Hibs supporter I'm always pessimistic about my team's chance of winning!

PS CC should sit the Hibs players in front of the SKY screen tonight and point out to our players that when a colleague has the ball, instead of running AWAY from said colleague, someone should run into position NEAR him so that he has someone to pass TO. Something that Barca have perfected. No one in our squad will ever be a Barca player but the principle's the same wherever you play.:grr:

29-11-2010, 11:49 AM
Whats the odds on Messi outclassing Ronaldo........again?

29-11-2010, 11:53 AM
Madrid are just over 5/2 on Betfair which is quite tempting as its not a price we'll see again for a while. Ronaldo yet to score v Barca in his career. Im tying myself in knots trying to decide what to do.

29-11-2010, 11:59 AM
Madrid are just over 5/2 on Betfair which is quite tempting as its not a price we'll see again for a while. Ronaldo yet to score v Barca in his career. Im tying myself in knots trying to decide what to do.

On the flip side Barca are 6/5 on BF when will you see that price Barca at home :wink::wink::wink:

29-11-2010, 12:17 PM

Me tae, Totally undecided :agree:

Might just put a bet on under 2 goals kinda bet.

29-11-2010, 12:19 PM
On the flip side Barca are 6/5 on BF when will you see that price Barca at home :wink::wink::wink:

:agree: I've just put 5 Grand on Barca..............

V buttons that is!!! Well I'm not that daft. :greengrin

29-11-2010, 02:00 PM
I hope Barca rip them apart and win comfertably.
I don't think they will, but you never know.

I hope Messi runs the show and shows the world that he's a lot better than the posing diving runt that is Ronaldo.

As for a bet, can see it being 1-1 or 1-0 either way... Jose's teams are always capable of spoiling big games, let's hope they have a go and make it a brilliant game.

'mon the Barca

29-11-2010, 02:24 PM

Does anyone know if the ref's a Pape or a Proddy ? :rolleyes:

29-11-2010, 02:46 PM
2-0 to the spanish hibs..... Villa to score 1st.

40/1 @ hills. :thumbsup:

sammy7
29-11-2010, 03:39 PM
Undecided on this game. i can see it being 3-2 or something, a game with goals. i wish you could do a double on messi and ronaldo both scoring at any time, but cant! :bitchy:

hibeenicol
29-11-2010, 03:51 PM
Undecided on this game. i can see it being 3-2 or something, a game with goals. i wish you could do a double on messi and ronaldo both scoring at any time, but cant! :bitchy:

With hills your getting 3/1 for this bet it's one of their specials. Think i'll go for a messi hat-trick.

TheGreenMan
29-11-2010, 04:35 PM

Skybet also offer the 'Both players to Score' (anytime) market :agree:

Messi & Ronaldo - 3/1
Messi & Higuain - 6/1
Messi & Villa - 11/2
Villa & Higuain - 8/1

Good luck :thumbsup:

CalgaryHibs
29-11-2010, 05:39 PM
As a Barca fan I'm not sure what to expect tonite so I"ll say 2-1 for Barca Di Maria and 2 for Messi n the second half.
Vamos BARCA!!

29-11-2010, 05:45 PM
I've put on 4 different bets..

2-1 Barca Messi to score first
1-0 Real Ronaldo to score
Villa to score first
HT: Draw FT: Barca

Unfortunately there wasn't any sheets so i don't have a clue what the odds are.:rolleyes:

TheGreenMan
29-11-2010, 05:48 PM
I've went for a 'safe option' of;

Messi To Score Anytime £10 @ 2.12 on Betfair

Plus;

Scorecast: £2 Messi 1st goal & Barca 3-1 Madrid @ 60/1 on Betfair.

Vamos Messi!! :greengrin

Juice-Terry
29-11-2010, 06:38 PM
Messi to score first and 2-1 to Barca. £10 pays £260.
Messi to score first and 2-1 to Real M. £10 pays £760.

Both with Bet365.

29-11-2010, 07:02 PM
Might be a dodgy shout, but I reckon if Benzema starts, he will score. He's popped up with a few on the road recently and looked in great nick against the English. 8/1 First goal and 11/4 anytime. I'd wait to see the line-ups first though. Can't wait for this match :greengrin

29-11-2010, 07:12 PM
Messi to score anytime is about 1.90 on Bet24.

The man's on fire at the moment and near even money looks a steal.

I didn't notice the post above. Betfair's odds are even better.

29-11-2010, 07:28 PM
Might be a dodgy shout, but I reckon if Benzema starts, he will score. He's popped up with a few on the road recently and looked in great nick against the English. 8/1 First goal and 11/4 anytime. I'd wait to see the line-ups first though. Can't wait for this match :greengrin

Benzema starts.

29-11-2010, 07:47 PM

Ended up going with 10er @ 8.2 Villa 1st scorer &10er @ 2.8 to score on Betfair

29-11-2010, 07:55 PM
£10 ew on the Benz!

29-11-2010, 08:02 PM
About to kick off:greengrin
Amazing stat-of the 23 balon d'or shortlisted players, 10 are playing in this game.

29-11-2010, 08:07 PM
Have a tenner on Barca to win with under 10 corners and under 4 cards @ 25/1

And a tenner on Barca to win with over 12 corners and under 4 cards @ 28/1

Both with Hills. :thumbsup:

29-11-2010, 08:07 PM
Messi just hit the post with great attempt.

29-11-2010, 08:11 PM
Was in the process of typing.......Got £10 on Villa first goalscorer and 3-2 Barca and £10 on Villa to score at anytime and Barca to win.

Well one down one to go!

29-11-2010, 08:13 PM
Cracking game so far, Barca are all over them

29-11-2010, 08:13 PM
1-0 Barcelona, Xavi.

29-11-2010, 08:14 PM
good guys 1-0 up:thumbsup:

29-11-2010, 08:20 PM
2-0, Pedro.

Fantastic goal after about 30 consecutive passes.

Beautiful football. :agree:

29-11-2010, 08:20 PM
Barcelona 2-0 Real Madrid - Pedro.

28 passes in the run up to the goal - sensational :agree:

29-11-2010, 08:25 PM
Real joy to watch Barca play like this.

It's like a different sport from watching the SPL. :greengrin

29-11-2010, 08:27 PM
Real joy to watch Barca play like this.

It's like a different sport from watching the SPL. :greengrin

:agree: It's hard to believe that what we watched on Saturday at Easter Road and what we're watching just now is actually the same sport.

29-11-2010, 08:28 PM
almost rankin-like passing and movement in the barca midfield...majestic.

29-11-2010, 08:29 PM
Shoulda been three if Pedro'd squared it!

Xavi, Iniesta and Messi orchestrating some gorgeous football

29-11-2010, 08:31 PM
It's like a different sport from every league in Europe, let alone the SPL!

Barcelona are on a different level right now - utterly breathtaking passing, movement and creation :agree:

29-11-2010, 08:33 PM
Loving the needle too :agree:

29-11-2010, 08:34 PM
Loving the needle too :agree:

Quality rammy :greengrin

29-11-2010, 08:35 PM
Have a tenner on Barca to win with under 10 corners and under 4 cards @ 25/1

And a tenner on Barca to win with over 12 corners and under 4 cards @ 28/1

Both with Hills. :thumbsup:

That bloody f anny Ronaldo causing a scene and getting the Ref to use 2 cards. :grr:

Aw naw that's 3 now.

29-11-2010, 08:35 PM
Guardiola should have been sent to the stand there. Total overreaction by the Barcelona players.

Graeme Smith got booked for doing something quite similar a few weeks ago.

29-11-2010, 08:37 PM
4th card now scuppered my bet. :grr:

29-11-2010, 08:37 PM
That bloody f anny Ronaldo causing a scene and getting the Ref to use 2 cards. :grr:

Aw naw that's 3 now.

And another one!

29-11-2010, 08:43 PM
4th card now scuppered my bet. :grr:

No consolation but I think your 4 cards element is going to be well off the mark. I can see a couple of players walking before this is finished.

29-11-2010, 08:43 PM
Guardiola should have been sent to the stand there. Total overreaction by the Barcelona players.

Barca and Graeme Smith in the same passage - seen it aw noo! :greengrin

29-11-2010, 08:47 PM
Messi booked for diving.

Carvalho should probably have been sent off for an elbow on Messi.

29-11-2010, 08:50 PM
2-0, half time.

Brilliant half of football by Barcelona. I don't think Real Madrid really know what is happening.

The build up play leading up to that second goal was outstanding.

Dirkster23
29-11-2010, 08:51 PM

What for? not handing the ball to Ronaldo?

29-11-2010, 08:54 PM

Complete and utter nonsense. Over-reaction, yes, but what did Guardiola do??

If that was Drogba pushing Sir Alex Ferguson, you'd have been screaming for a noose :agree:

29-11-2010, 08:54 PM
Quality game even the refs a league above anything we see. He lets the game flow and gives advantage. What price Real to do a spurs?

bathhibby
29-11-2010, 08:57 PM
Watching the game in a Casino in Portsmouth with 4 Catelonians and they are going mental
Been told to calm down but I must admit if the Cabs played this way you'd have to bat me on the nut to calm me down
Real have no class cheating basas

29-11-2010, 08:57 PM
It's like a different sport from every league in Europe, let alone the SPL!

Barcelona are on a different level right now - utterly breathtaking passing, movement and creation :agree:

but they have a midfield of midgets :rolleyes:

Crisp, short passing into feet - it's so easy on the eye, and every single player is happy to take the pass at anytime and they always have an option once they do get it. On one hand it's a simple concept, but they are one hell of a team at executing quite beautiful football.

I'm glad they're winning and I hope they can score a couple more :thumbsup:

Hibi
29-11-2010, 08:59 PM
Did anyone hear the commentator mention barca's record of being unbeaten against real for 21 years, or is that the drink talking?

29-11-2010, 09:00 PM
almost rankin-like passing and movement in the barca midfield...majestic.

:yawn::yawn::yawn:

Another pointless bit of Hibs bashing for no reason.............

29-11-2010, 09:01 PM
Did anyone hear the commentator mention barca's record of being unbeaten against real for 21 years, or is that the drink talking?

yes, in the past, at the Nou Camp.

The way they can play, I wouldn't be surprised if this team win the la liga every year until they're all in there 30s. And champs league at least every 2nd year.

TheGreenMan
29-11-2010, 09:01 PM
Quality game even the refs a league above anything we see. He lets the game flow and gives advantage. What price Real to do a spurs?

45/1 on Betfair :wink:

TheGreenMan
29-11-2010, 09:05 PM
Would love Barca to go on and do them 4 or 5 with Messi getting on the score sheet :agree:

29-11-2010, 09:10 PM
I'd bet 4-1 personally

29-11-2010, 09:10 PM
I'd bet 4-1 personally

I just don't see where a Real Madrid goal is going to come from...

Should have been 3-0 :agree:

29-11-2010, 09:13 PM
Despite being incredibly skillful, Barca work so hard to get the ball back again when they lose it.

29-11-2010, 09:14 PM
What for? not handing the ball to Ronaldo?

Correct.

Complete and utter nonsense. Over-reaction, yes, but what did Guardiola do??

If that was Drogba pushing Sir Alex Ferguson, you'd have been screaming for a noose :agree:

Guardiola caused the whole thing by holding the ball away from Ronaldo so that he couldn't get the play started quickly.

As I've said already, Graeme Smith did something similar to that a few weeks ago whilst he was sitting on the bench and he was shown a yellow card. Since managers can't be shown yellow cards, Guardiola should have been sent to the stand.

That's 3-0, Villa.

Game over.

Barcelona 3-0 Real Madrid - David Villa

Stunning pass from Messi :agree:

Sick Boy
3-0 - Villa. Another great move.:thumbsup:

29-11-2010, 09:15 PM
Game over :greengrin

Hope u didnae put too much on that 45/1 'lucky' :wink:

29-11-2010, 09:15 PM
The looks on the Real players faces say it all.

They know they're going to get a chasing tonight now.

HibeeMcGinn1
29-11-2010, 09:16 PM
Scary

4-0, Villa.

This could be quite embarrassing tonight.

Again - what an absolutely sublime pass from Messi

Barcelona 4-0 Real Madrid

35 minutes to go :thumbsup:

29-11-2010, 09:17 PM
what a fantastic goal.

29-11-2010, 09:17 PM
We want more :thumbsup:

surely 1 goal for Messi to come :thumbsup:

29-11-2010, 09:18 PM
surely 1 goal for Messi to come :thumbsup:

And a hat-trick for David Villa :wink:

29-11-2010, 09:19 PM
Suddenly our 6-0 defeat to Barcelona a couple of years ago doesn't look too bad. :greengrin

29-11-2010, 09:22 PM
More shots of C. Ronaldo and Mourinho please, that is the sad gathering the world wants to gloat over.

Was Real hooking Marcelo for Arbeloa tantamount to Mourinho admitting he got his team wrong?

29-11-2010, 09:22 PM
Would 6 or 7 spell curtains for the special one?

29-11-2010, 09:29 PM
500E for a ticket tonight on the streets - but this is priceless football :agree:

29-11-2010, 09:30 PM
Carvalho should be aff ffs!

29-11-2010, 09:31 PM
Barca are making Real look like Hibs!

Green forever
29-11-2010, 09:33 PM
Not much to do with the game but who is doing the side commentary, it's Terry something but doesn't sound like Terry Venables.

29-11-2010, 09:34 PM
Real have lost the plot.

fife hfc
29-11-2010, 09:34 PM
This ref is awful! He books Messi for Carvalho elbowing him in the face and then the same player blatantly handles the ball to deny barca the chance of a fifth. Real are just kicking anything that moves and one of the barca players could get injured at this rate.

29-11-2010, 09:35 PM
Real should be down 2 men at least ..

Bojan for Villa - here comes no. 5

29-11-2010, 09:36 PM
Lol - jinxed him :greengrin

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-11-2010, 09:37 PM
Why isn't Benji playing for Real ? :greengrin

29-11-2010, 09:39 PM
Not much to do with the game but who is doing the side commentary, it's Terry something but doesn't sound like Terry Venables.

Terry Gibson, ex-Man Utd

bathhibby
29-11-2010, 09:41 PM
What's up with the boy Kaka ?

29-11-2010, 09:44 PM
I reckon Barca have cooled it a bit because their sheer brilliance and total domination could frustrate Real so much that the Barca players safety is a concern.

29-11-2010, 09:44 PM
What's up with the boy Kaka ?

He had knee surgery in August and faces four month out, so he might be back next month.

29-11-2010, 09:50 PM
5-0, excellent.

29-11-2010, 09:51 PM
No less than barca deserve

fife hfc
29-11-2010, 09:53 PM
I reckon Barca have cooled it a bit because their sheer brilliance and total domination could frustrate Real so much that the Barca players safety is a concern.

Ramos obviously still got too frustrated. Real have been **** tonight and deserve the hammering.

29-11-2010, 09:54 PM
All ending very nasty.

Ramos sent off for tackle on Messi.

Barcelona 5-0 Real Madrid, full time.

Very good performance by Barcelona and if they hadn't taken pity on Real a bit, it could easily have been 7 or 8 tonight.

29-11-2010, 09:54 PM
Ramos off - disgraceful footballer who's temper gets in the way of his football, yet again.

Combined with Arbeloa, Carvalho and Ronaldo, it's an absolute delight to see this shower of thugs beaten by some of the most admirable football I've seen!

29-11-2010, 09:55 PM
A night of utter shame for Real.

29-11-2010, 09:55 PM
Is it any comfort to us to know that over 90 minutes in the past we have beaten both these sides.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

29-11-2010, 09:59 PM
Yes, but at least 30/40 years ago!!!

29-11-2010, 10:00 PM
oh dear they don't like it up them (big high 5 for mourinho) :tee hee:

Dirkster23
29-11-2010, 10:01 PM
Correct.

Guardiola caused the whole thing by holding the ball away from Ronaldo so that he couldn't get the play started quickly.

As I've said already, Graeme Smith did something similar to that a few weeks ago whilst he was sitting on the bench and he was shown a yellow card. Since managers can't be shown yellow cards, Guardiola should have been sent to the stand.

That's 3-0, Villa.

Game over.

Don't talk nonsense. Since when has there been a duty on the opposition manager to get the ball quickly to a player of another team so they can take a quick throw in? Smith was booked for letting the ball roll between his legs and not letting the opposition player in to get it, two completely different things. All Guardiola did was hold the ball at arms length and drop it

Barca were in a different class tonight and Real couldn'y get near the ball at times. Glad they went on to get a 5th and hammer it home :agree:

Real have been **** tonight

I completely disagree with that - Barca were just (once again) on a completely different planet.

It wouldn;t have mattered who they played tonight, they'd have battered them.

Yes, but at least 30/40 years ago!!!

Now then dinnae go spoiling ma own wee feel good factor:greengrin

Dirkster23
29-11-2010, 10:02 PM
Despite being incredibly skillful, Barca work so hard to get the ball back again when they lose it.

:agree: amazing players but give their all for the team.

29-11-2010, 10:09 PM
Real did well to escape with 5 - that was a class apart from Barca. On their game Barca are on a different level from anything else out there.

McKenzie
29-11-2010, 10:09 PM
beautiful team, beautiful players, different class from anything else in football at times :top marks

29-11-2010, 10:10 PM
That was the best performance I've ever witnessed from any football team tonight..

Barca are genuinely a joy to watch, absolutely beautifull!

Easily the greatest football side in my generation..

Unbelievable :top marks

29-11-2010, 10:11 PM
Might be the best performance I've seen from any team. Barca were incredible.

29-11-2010, 10:11 PM
:agree: amazing players but give their all for the team.

Exactly.. Not like the bunch of thugs that were playing in white tonight..

£80M for Ronaldo who once again bottled it against Barcelona...

Seanair
29-11-2010, 10:12 PM
As a Barca supporter, I can't help feeling that RM might be just too strong tonight (Higuain's returning to the team, etc).

But being a Hibs supporter I'm always pessimistic about my team's chance of winning!

PS CC should sit the Hibs players in front of the SKY screen tonight and point out to our players that when a colleague has the ball, instead of running AWAY from said colleague, someone should run into position NEAR him so that he has someone to pass TO. Something that Barca have perfected. No one in our squad will ever be a Barca player but the principle's the same wherever you play.:grr:

I guess I was a tad too pessimistic! Best team in the world, not just their passing and their goal-scoring but their work-rate and the way they press to win back the ball. A lesson for all footballers at whatever level.:thumbsup:l

29-11-2010, 10:13 PM
The Barca passing & movement is different class.
I had the pleasure to be at Hampden to watch the Spain game, when you see it live the amount of movement off the ball is amazing!

Ronald Koeman summed it up saying that it wasn't only the skill on the ball that took Real apart. It was the Barce running off the ball that was tying them in knots.

EPL best in the world?!

Nah..

La Liga wins that hands down nae bother..

29-11-2010, 10:16 PM
Ronald Koeman summed it up saying that it wasn't only the skill on the ball that took Real apart. It was the Barce running off the ball that was tying them in knots.

Not a bad judge that boy! :-)

29-11-2010, 10:17 PM
EPL best in the world?!

Nah..

100% correct, EPL never has been nor never will be best in the world, even when I was on holiday earlier on this year the hotel room had sat TV and there was live Argentinian league games on and some of the football was breath taking

29-11-2010, 10:18 PM
Barcelona. Wow. That's all.

EskbankHibby
29-11-2010, 10:23 PM
Just put 20 quid on Barca to win the champions league, brilliant tonight, no team can match them when they turn it on.

29-11-2010, 10:23 PM
Barcelona are terrible, Once again they get lucky in a game :bitchy:

:wink: Mon' the Barca

29-11-2010, 10:28 PM
Anybody watch the Leicester v Forest game?

29-11-2010, 10:28 PM
£3 on Villa to score 2 or more at 13/2

Returned 20odd quid :greengrin

29-11-2010, 10:30 PM
EPL best in the world?!

Nah..

Hardly. Same 2 teams every year competing for the title.

McKenzie
29-11-2010, 10:37 PM
'cos there is a massive amount of teams competing in En*gl@nd every year :confused:

29-11-2010, 10:37 PM
Stunning football. But the lesson for everyone else is their workrate of the ball. It looked like they had about 15 players on the park

29-11-2010, 10:39 PM

A sunny SPL?

Even the self styled third forces are analogous (Valencia and Hertz)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1269284/MARTIN-SAMUEL-Forget-halo-blessed-Barcelona-tainted-greed.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/mar/28/barcelona-real-madrid-spain

29-11-2010, 10:40 PM
Speechless all night. That is all.

29-11-2010, 10:41 PM
Reminded me of beating Motherwell 6-1 at Fir Park.

29-11-2010, 10:41 PM
Stunning football. But the lesson for everyone else is their workrate of the ball. It looked like they had about 15 players on the park

Spot on. All fantastic ball players, but they work like hell to get the ball back when they do lose possession.

Awesome watching. That really was the beautiful game.

29-11-2010, 10:54 PM
What a team. Summed up in the last minute when Ramos couldn't even get close enough to Messi to boot him in the shins. Looked like he kicked Diarra's back :hilarious

Barcelona = :applause:

29-11-2010, 11:04 PM
'cos there is a massive amount of teams competing in En*gl@nd every year :confused:

I don't remember saying that the EPL was the best league in the world. I just don't think La Liga is.

GhostofBolivar
29-11-2010, 11:07 PM
Suddenly our 6-0 defeat to Barcelona a couple of years ago doesn't look too bad. :greengrin

That stopped looking bad when 3 of that side started the last World Cup final for Spain.

29-11-2010, 11:18 PM
I hope Barca stuff them. :agree:

cam75
29-11-2010, 11:31 PM
That was sheeps to the wolves 5-0 pure class :agree:

29-11-2010, 11:51 PM
Can someone provide me the line ups of when Barca played Hibs at Murryfield that day.

I was there in the East Stand and remember most of the game but not all the players who were on the field.

Thanks

'Mon the Hibs
29-11-2010, 11:58 PM
2 things...

Brian Kerr, with his unseen off the ball work, inspired Barcelona to where they are today.

Expected Champions League winners, Yams of Midlothian, are better than both these team. Champions League don;t you know :wink:

Barcelona..... :thumbsup::not worth
Messi..... :thumbsup::not worth:top marks:thumbsup::not worth:top marks

30-11-2010, 12:01 AM
Don't talk nonsense. Since when has there been a duty on the opposition manager to get the ball quickly to a player of another team so they can take a quick throw in? Smith was booked for letting the ball roll between his legs and not letting the opposition player in to get it, two completely different things. All Guardiola did was hold the ball at arms length and drop it

Barca were in a different class tonight and Real couldn'y get near the ball at times. Glad they went on to get a 5th and hammer it home :agree:

Guardiola didn't have a duty to get the ball back quickly for Madrid so that they could take a quick throw-in. However he did have a duty not to deliberately delay Madrid from getting the ball back, so that they could take a quick throw-in.

As soon as he picked the ball up and it became apparent which Madrid player was going to take the throw-in (Ronaldo), he should have handed the ball to that player straight away. He failed to do that and he should have been dealt with by the referee.

EPL best in the world?!

Nah..

32 goals were scored in La Liga this weekend, as opposed to 41 in the Premiership and all the teams scored in the EPL as well (five sides in La Liga failed to score this weekend).

I would admit that Spain has the best and most attractive club side in the world by quite some distance, but in terms of competitiveness, I don't think Spain comes anywhere near to England.

Only two teams have a realistic chance of winning La Liga, Valencia in 3rd place last season finished 25 points behind Real Madrid in 2nd. In England, there is Manchester Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City and Tottenham who all have a realistic chance at winning the title this season. Also, Arsenal, who finished 3rd last season, ended up just 10 points behind Manchester Utd in 2nd.

GhostofBolivar
30-11-2010, 12:04 AM
Can someone provide me the line ups of when Barca played Hibs at Murryfield that day.

I was there in the East Stand and remember most of the game but not all the players who were on the field.

Thanks

Best I recall, Barca's starting line up was:

Valdes

Dani Alves
Pique
Gabi Milito
[can't remember who played LB]

Busquets
Crosas
[someone else. Might've been Yaya Toure, maybe Keita, maybe someone not as good as them]

Messi
Henry
Gudjohnsen

Pedro, Eto'o, Jeffren, Seydou Keita, Yaya Toure, Bojan and Hleb all played in the second half.

So, yeah, 9 guys who played tonight.

30-11-2010, 12:05 AM

Thanks

Can't remember the teams but the goal scorers for Barcelona were, in order. Gudjohnsen, Messi, Gudjohnsen, Pedro, Bojan and Toure. Only one goal worse than Real. :thumbsup:

30-11-2010, 12:10 AM

Thanks

Valdes (Pinto)
Corcoles
Marquez (Caceres)
Pique
Alves (Abraham)
Vazquez (Crosas) (Keita)
Pedro (Hleb)
Messi (Jeffren)
Sergio (Toure)
Gudjohnsen (Eto'o)
Henry (Bojan)

30-11-2010, 09:52 AM
Barcelona are as close to a second team that I have. I hate Real they sum up what is wrong with football.

The Republic 5 - 0 Empire

Viva la Barca

30-11-2010, 10:15 AM
32 goals were scored in La Liga this weekend, as opposed to 41 in the Premiership and all the teams scored in the EPL as well (five sides in La Liga failed to score this weekend).

I would admit that Spain has the best and most attractive club side in the world by quite some distance, but in terms of competitiveness, I don't think Spain comes anywhere near to England.

Only two teams have a realistic chance of winning La Liga, Valencia in 3rd place last season finished 25 points behind Real Madrid in 2nd. In England, there is Manchester Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City and Tottenham who all have a realistic chance at winning the title this season. Also, Arsenal, who finished 3rd last season, ended up just 10 points behind Manchester Utd in 2nd.

I knew you'd be along to defend all thing related to Manure..

The EPL is painfully dull in comparison to La Liga..

The Manchester Derby a few weeks ago was pathetic! Most timid derby I've ever seen, laughable!!

Outside of the top usual top 4 plus any other 2 teams that hit form that season, the rest if the teams are gash and boring as hell..

I've been to a fair few EPL games and it's one of those misconceptions that the standard is so much higher than elsewhere, it's not, mid table clashes can be just as dull out league can..

I'm sure that If Hamilton v Motherwell had 30k + fans at the game it'd appear to be better than what it really is..

30-11-2010, 10:21 AM

The Manchester Derby a few weeks ago was pathetic! Most timid derby I've ever seen, laughable!!

Outside of the top usual top 4 plus any other 2 teams that hit form that season, the rest if the teams are gash and boring as hell..

I've been to a fair few EPL games and it's one of those misconceptions that the standard is so much higher than elsewhere, it's not, mid table clashes can be just as dull out league can..

I'm sure that If Hamilton v Motherwell had 30k + fans at the game it'd appear to be better than what it really is..

Give me Getafe vs Osasuna ahead of Wigan vs Bolton any day of the week :agree:

30-11-2010, 10:22 AM

and the money that so many average players make is incredible in England.

I like the EPL, and actually the Championship too, the football is a bit blood and thunder but it's certainly not got the quality many would make us to believe.
Too many teams fill there teams with hammer throwers and play percentage football. There is an excitement to it all though somehow. Crowds are part of the reason and the general 'built up' pressure and attention the media in UK creates.

The real skill shown by most of the Spanish teams is a joy to watch.

Barca last night were outstanding, none of the English teams at the top of their game could even dream of playing like that. We always hear how amazing Arsenal are when on their game..... ahem, didn't they get pumped by Barca last season. 5-1 going on 20.

30-11-2010, 10:33 AM
good to see Madrid put in their place!

Green_one
30-11-2010, 10:40 AM
You have to seriously ask yourself though whether Barca could deal with Nish.

I also cannot see them putting 5 past our defenders.

One squiggler from Rankin and they would be struggling.

The noise from the West stand would frighten the life out of them.

Cannot even get anyone to sponsor their shirts. Their debt is worse than Hearts.

Get some perspective chaps. Hibs still rule. :notworthy:

Dirkster23
30-11-2010, 10:43 AM
[QUOTE=FalkirkHibee;2650587]Guardiola didn't have a duty to get the ball back quickly for Madrid so that they could take a quick throw-in. However he did have a duty not to deliberately delay Madrid from getting the ball back, so that they could take a quick throw-in.

As soon as he picked the ball up and it became apparent which Madrid player was going to take the throw-in (Ronaldo), he should have handed the ball to that player straight away. He failed to do that and he should have been dealt with by the referee.

He should have handed the ball to Ronaldo so he could take a quick throw in that may harm his team? All he did was drop the ball. If he'd held it behind his back or thrown it away i could see your arguement.

The ref wasn't shy at giving out cards last night but didn't see any need to deal with Guardiola.

If Ref's were to get that petty we'd be watching 7 a-side games with both managers in the stands most weeks :rolleyes:

30-11-2010, 11:38 AM
You have to seriously ask yourself though whether Barca could deal with Nish.

I also cannot see them putting 5 past our defenders.

One squiggler from Rankin and they would be struggling.

The noise from the West stand would frighten the life out of them.

Cannot even get anyone to sponsor their shirts. Their debt is worse than Hearts.

Get some perspective chaps. Hibs still rule. :notworthy:

I just aboot pished ma breeks!! :faf::faf:

Especially the bits in bold! :faf::faf:

30-11-2010, 07:22 PM
Guardiola didn't have a duty to get the ball back quickly for Madrid so that they could take a quick throw-in. However he did have a duty not to deliberately delay Madrid from getting the ball back, so that they could take a quick throw-in.

As soon as he picked the ball up and it became apparent which Madrid player was going to take the throw-in (Ronaldo), he should have handed the ball to that player straight away. 1) He failed to do that and he should have been dealt with by the referee.

I would admit that Spain has the best and most attractive club side in the world by quite some distance, 2) but in terms of competitiveness, I don't think Spain comes anywhere near to England.
Only two teams have a realistic chance of winning La Liga, Valencia in 3rd place last season finished 25 points behind Real Madrid in 2nd. In England, there is Manchester Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City and Tottenham who all have a realistic chance at winning the title this season.

Also, Arsenal, who finished 3rd last season, ended up just 10 points behind Manchester Utd in 2nd.

1)
Bollox.
The referee was probably gobsmacked that this cheating ba'bag had got out of Puyol's back pocket long enough to make a twat of himself. Again.

2)
:yawn:
I love my English football, really I do and I love it so much more now that Ronaldo's left it, but how can you split ManUre and Chelski's recent success from what Barca and Real achieved over the same period? Other than the fact that Barca do it so much better and most probably cheaper?Have you ever been to a La Liga game?
I watched a mid-table Atletico v Sevilla at the Vicente Calderon a few seasons ago. I was unlucky enough to catch Bolton v WBA the same season at the Reebok. I know which was best.

01-12-2010, 04:38 AM
Pretty stuff from Barca, but they would probably struggle visiting places like Paisley and Inverness. The Hibs experience shows that pure class in itself is no guarantee of success.

Munson7
01-12-2010, 06:47 PM

Has anyone ever seen a more ridiculous post than this?!?

This guy must know close to nothing about football.

01-12-2010, 07:01 PM
Just back from Barcelona. Was a bit of a mission getting home but for the quality of the game it was so, so worth it.

As a few on here might know, i'm a big Barcelona fan having lived there for nearly a year. In that time i was a regular at Camp Nou but never got the chance to attend a Madrid game. This was my first experience of the fixture and it was worth the wait.

Got into the ground about 40 minutes before kick off and the atmosphere was slowly building until about 15 minutes before kick off when the Catalan national anthem was played then the Barcelona hymn. The noise from the fans was relentless throughout, it was like a carnival as opposed to a football match.

The games itself was, as everyone will have seen, breathtaking. I know there are those on here who love their football from the 50s, 60s and 70s but in my lifetime that was the single best performance i have ever seen, either live or on TV. Every Barca player was sublime, this is by far and away the best football team of this generation. The fact that 9 out of the 11 players who finished the game for Barca graduated from the academy says everything aout how that club is run. The team on the park cost a third of what Madrids team cost yet looked aout 20 times better.

This is a fixture i would recommend to every football fan, if you ever get the chance to go then make sure you go.:thumbsup:

Munson7
01-12-2010, 07:13 PM

So because there were more goals in England last weekend (I'm pretty sure it was a record high) you use that in your argument for the EPL being stronger? The week before there were 38 goals in Spain compared to 34 in England so was La Liga stronger than the EPL a week and a half ago?

Also there have been 4 different teams in the last ten years that have won La Liga as opposed to only 3 teams in England in the last 15 years, fair enough the last two or three years it has only been between Barca and Real Madrid but this Barca team is quite possibly the greatest team of all time, and Real were a very good team a couple years ago but have spent roughly 350 million in the last two years, how do you expect the rest to keep up with that?

01-12-2010, 07:22 PM
So because there were more goals in England last weekend (I'm pretty sure it was a record high) you use that in your argument for the EPL being stronger? The week before there were 38 goals in Spain compared to 34 in England so was La Liga stronger than the EPL a week and a half ago?

Also there have been 4 different teams in the last ten years that have won La Liga as opposed to only 3 teams in England in the last 15 years, fair enough the last two or three years it has only been between Barca and Real Madrid but this Barca team is quite possibly the greatest team of all time, and Real were a very good team a couple years ago but have spent roughly 350 million in the last two years, how do you expect the rest to keep up with that?

On another thread same poster batters on about settling down to watch mounds of DVDs featuring some specialist Man U type domination.
Seems that 'competitiveness' is selective depending on the mood you are in.

Baffling to think that anyone can compare anything in England or anywhere else to what happened in Barcelona on Monday night. And Pretty Boy was there as well....:sick:

01-12-2010, 09:53 PM
On another thread same poster batters on about settling down to watch mounds of DVDs featuring some specialist Man U type domination.
Seems that 'competitiveness' is selective depending on the mood you are in.

Baffling to think that anyone can compare anything in England or anywhere else to what happened in Barcelona on Monday night. And Pretty Boy was there as well....:sick:

I think if you go back and actually read my posts in this thread, you'll see that I commented on how well Barcelona played the other night. They played football that was as close to perfection as you could probably hope to get.

I also said that they were the best, and most attractive, club side in the world.

Having said that, I prefer to watch English football to Spanish football but I did enjoy watching Barcelona on Monday night.