View Full Version : Colin Nish
30-11-2010, 02:30 PM
Hartley yes, but apart from those who we couldn't afford to keep, who else has been a real success after leaving Hibs? And who have come back to haunt us?
Colin Stein, many years ago granted, but did he not come back to ER and score a hat-trick against us .. :boo hoo:
Was it not his very first game, i think it was ibrox though?
30-11-2010, 02:35 PM
[QUOTE=LeithenHibby;2650911]
Was it not his very first game, i think it was ibrox though?
It may well have been :wink: I can't remember what I had for my tea :greengrin
I'm gonna have to find out tho :cool2:
30-11-2010, 02:44 PM
[QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;2650926]
It may well have been :wink: I can't remember what I had for my tea :greengrin
I'm gonna have to find out tho :cool2:
My first hero that was sold to one of the bigots. :boo hoo: I'm terrified one of them might come in for Colin? :wink:
30-11-2010, 03:11 PM
So we have Colin Stein and Paul Wright. Obviously, this happens in 20 year cycles, so we better watch out for Nishy's return! :wink:
Anyway, I think the point was how many players come back to haunt Hibs after being punted. Colin Stein, a record signing at the time, hardly counts.
30-11-2010, 03:59 PM
So we have Colin Stein and Paul Wright. Obviously, this happens in 20 year cycles, so we better watch out for Nishy's return! :wink:
Anyway, I think the point was how many players come back to haunt Hibs after being punted. Colin Stein, a record signing at the time, hardly counts.
Granted but it's only a technicality, so for that reason he should count :wink:
30-11-2010, 04:00 PM
Casper :dunno: :greengrin
30-11-2010, 10:37 PM
I agree with Blackpool-at the moment Nish should be last of the entire squad to get a game because his form is through the floor. I'd play Stephens or Galbraith up front before Nish. And I also accept he's had the occasional good game for us in the past, ('Nish fluctuates between genius and village idiot' is a dashing bob quote that i liked)I just cant see where his next good performance is going to come from.
I honestly dont think Nish has been treated any worse by the fans than any other rank rotten performer we've had over the last few years.
Could you define 'rank rotten'? There's been plenty of hopeless players who the Hibs crowd have been very supportive of for various reasons over the years.
Absolutely disgraceful that folk could even think about justifying the abuse Nish has had to put up with at Hibs. I dont care how bad people think he is.
It's also actually laughable to suggest he's as bad as some are making out. A proven SPL track record would factually prove he's capable of playing in the SPL. Plenty of SPL managers also think so- but of course none of them are as knowledgable as the hibs.net lynch mob.
Nish is now playing week in week out how the boo boys want him to. He is capable of good games as well as bad ones but how can anyone operate in the environment he has to and flourish?
MilwaukeeHibee
30-11-2010, 11:22 PM
I would add Stevie Crawford and Craig Brewster. Pars gave us a few batterings with those two during the Blobby years :agree:
01-12-2010, 09:07 AM
Could you define 'rank rotten'? There's been plenty of hopeless players who the Hibs crowd have been very supportive of for various reasons over the years.
Absolutely disgraceful that folk could even think about justifying the abuse Nish has had to put up with at Hibs. I dont care how bad people think he is.
It's also actually laughable to suggest he's as bad as some are making out. A proven SPL track record would factually prove he's capable of playing in the SPL. Plenty of SPL managers also think so- but of course none of them are as knowledgable as the hibs.net lynch mob.
Nish is now playing week in week out how the boo boys want him to. He is capable of good games as well as bad ones but how can anyone operate in the environment he has to and flourish?
I think its laughable that some people cant see how bad he is. Without fail there are always people on here ready to bring his SPL record, previous managers cant be wrong (all these so called managers plying their trade on the rock and role or at smaller clubs these days) etc into the debate just as there are people on here who think he is "Rank Rotten" as was said earlier, which I beleive the majority do see him as being crap.
I also thing thats a poor statement to make, do you honestly believe there are Hibs fans that actually want any of the Hibs players playing garbage???? :bye:
The problem with your last statement is that these so called good games dont happen as often as they should and the dire performances happen almost on a regular basis. Agree tho that the booing etc wont help his confidence and cant do us much good.
borstalboy
01-12-2010, 09:28 AM
I think the attitude and application of some players are a joke. IMO, if I was getting booed or shouted at while playing football then sure as hell I'd be trying my hardest to improve my performances/personal abilities. To me he does not appear to do that (and he's not the only one) and as I have said before he actually tries to play like an off the shoulder type player, why does he not work on the basics like how to control a ball, jump, holding people off etc?! (And before people state maybe he does.....I can't see any improvement on these things from how he played last year and that is why I make this comment).
Maybe we just have too many pre-madonna's/weak hearted players at Hibs............it seems that your not allowed to shout or moan at any player because it might hurt their feelings.
01-12-2010, 09:32 AM
I think the attitude and application of some players are a joke. IMO, if I was getting booed or shouted at while playing football then sure as hell I'd be trying my hardest to improve my performances/personal abilities. To me he does not appear to do that (and he's not the only one) and as I have said before he actually tries to play like an off the shoulder type player, why does he not work on the basics like how to control a ball, jump, holding people off etc?! (And before people state maybe he does.....I can't see any improvement on these things from how he played last year and that is why I make this comment).
Maybe we just have too many pre-madonna's/weak hearted players at Hibs............it seems that your not allowed to shout or moan at any player because it might hurt their feelings.
I agree. The sooner we get back to players raised on music from the days of Slade the better.:agree:
01-12-2010, 09:40 AM
I agree. The sooner we get back to players raised on music from the days of Slade the better.:agree:
How will that help?
Slade were pre-Madonna too...
01-12-2010, 09:41 AM
How will that help?
Slade were pre-Madonna too...
Bugger. That will teach me to be a smartarse. :greengrin
01-12-2010, 09:43 AM
..it seems that your not allowed to shout or moan at any player because it might hurt their feelings.
You're allowed. It's just a destructive thing to do and has no positive purpose apart from giving the shouter some sort of ego trip and pseudo feeling of power.
aberhibsfc
01-12-2010, 09:53 AM
I certainly don't want to tell anyone how to behave at a game but I personally find the stick / applause and cheering when subbed cringeworthy!
Who does a bit booing and who thinks it's a bit OTT?
Whether he is above his level at Hibs is another matter, one which the manager will ultimately decide.
I can't understand how anyone thinks berating someone will inspire their confidence to do better, more likely they would retract into themselves and be to frightened to make a mistake and incur more wrath. End product, low morale and player not producing, albiet at whatever skill level they have.
Anyone who rips into the team might as well cheer on the other team because you are handing the emphasis to them.
Why does there always have to be a boo boy down at ER, it's been going on for quite a while now. Who will people turn on when Nish eventually leaves, there has been murmurings of De Graaf and Miller so it looks like they are being primed.
01-12-2010, 10:05 AM
Of course any potential new signing will be just dying to sign up at Easter Road next month when they see how much support the players get from such magnificent fans.
:bitchy:
borstalboy
01-12-2010, 10:32 AM
You're allowed. It's just a destructive thing to do and has no positive purpose apart from giving the shouter some sort of ego trip and pseudo feeling of power.
I know your allowed :greengrin I made that comment in reflection to other comments made on this topic. However, if a manager gives his players the 'hairdryer' treatment (....they'll all have nice hair do's before marinello tries to be smart)....then they respond. I think that's where a lot of booing and shouting comes from, you want a player to react in a positive way to adverse comments. I do appreciate people have got different personalties, i just feel football's gone rather soft.
01-12-2010, 10:49 AM
Whether he is above his level at Hibs is another matter, one which the manager will ultimately decide.
I can't understand how anyone thinks berating someone will inspire their confidence to do better, more likely they would retract into themselves and be to frightened to make a mistake and incur more wrath. End product, low morale and player not producing, albiet at whatever skill level they have.
Anyone who rips into the team might as well cheer on the other team because you are handing the emphasis to them.
Why does there always have to be a boo boy down at ER, it's been going on for quite a while now. Who will people turn on when Nish eventually leaves, there has been murmurings of De Graaf and Miller so it looks like they are being primed.
Agree with your take !!
Surely this is the manager's decision to " keep him or free him" no one elses .
Anyone care to put up the next name to turn on when/ Nish leaves ?
Again we have dozens of out of work manager'sgiving us the benifit of there vast experience.
by all means pass comment /shout at the player but booing I find comparable with spitting at at a player
01-12-2010, 11:50 AM
Nish scored both the goals at Dundee Utd that got us into Europe last year. People would do well to remember that.
However, unfortunately he's become the target for fans' disappointment at a generally misfiring team.
01-12-2010, 11:57 AM
Nish scored both the goals at Dundee Utd that got us into Europe last year. People would do well to remember that.
However, unfortunately he's become the target for fans' disappointment at a generally misfiring team.
Nonsense, Thats like saying Konte got us into Europe for scoring in the 2-2 game at Motherwell a few years back.
01-12-2010, 11:58 AM
I know your allowed :greengrin I made that comment in reflection to other comments made on this topic. However, if a manager gives his players the 'hairdryer' treatment (....they'll all have nice hair do's before marinello tries to be smart)....then they respond. I think that's where a lot of booing and shouting comes from, you want a player to react in a positive way to adverse comments. I do appreciate people have got different personalties, i just feel football's gone rather soft.
It's OK, I have learnt my lesson. :boo hoo:
01-12-2010, 12:05 PM
I think its laughable that some people cant see how bad he is. Without fail there are always people on here ready to bring his SPL record, previous managers cant be wrong (all these so called managers plying their trade on the rock and role or at smaller clubs these days) etc into the debate just as there are people on here who think he is "Rank Rotten" as was said earlier, which I beleive the majority do see him as being crap.
I also thing thats a poor statement to make, do you honestly believe there are Hibs fans that actually want any of the Hibs players playing garbage???? :bye:
The problem with your last statement is that these so called good games dont happen as often as they should and the dire performances happen almost on a regular basis. Agree tho that the booing etc wont help his confidence and cant do us much good.
Ok, I'll just have to accept that guys like you know more than managers like Mixu, Jefferies, JC and Yogi. Jefferies probably played him more than anyone- you seriously saying that he's a poor manager?
..and yes, I'll also just ignore the fact that he's got a decent goals/assists record in the SPL as once again you know better.
He's not a great player- he's not even a good player, but there's no way he's as bad as SOME fans make out, e.g. on a par with Konte etc.
If you seriously think that some hateful morons aren't glad to see him struggling then you are deluded. You're going on the assumption that fans wouldn't hurt the cause of their team. Let's deal with facts here- spiteful people who are determined to have hate figures in their lives don't care about the adverse effects of abusing scapegoats. So stick yer wavey smiley :wink:
hibee-shtuggie
01-12-2010, 12:22 PM
two goals out of a total six he scored in the league all season. A mediocre return for a striker at best. wether those two goals had come in the second last game or the first is irrelevant. it was the efforts of the team as a whole (especially early season) that got us into europe, not two goals at the end of the season.
01-12-2010, 12:38 PM
two goals out of a total six he scored in the league all season. A mediocre return for a striker at best. wether those two goals had come in the second last game or the first is irrelevant. it was the efforts of the team as a whole (especially early season) that got us into europe, not two goals at the end of the season.
Have we really got to the stage that people will refuse to give him credit for anything? I was pulled up for suggesting that if you read through this thread you would get the impression he has never played a good game for us at all. Nish is no world beater but there is no way he is as bad as the baying mob on here would suggest.
01-12-2010, 01:13 PM
Ok, I'll just have to accept that guys like you know more than managers like Mixu, Jefferies, JC and Yogi. Jefferies probably played him more than anyone- you seriously saying that he's a poor manager?
..and yes, I'll also just ignore the fact that he's got a decent goals/assists record in the SPL as once again you know better.
He's not a great player- he's not even a good player, but there's no way he's as bad as SOME fans make out, e.g. on a par with Konte etc.
If you seriously think that some hateful morons aren't glad to see him struggling then you are deluded. You're going on the assumption that fans wouldn't hurt the cause of their team. Let's deal with facts here- spiteful people who are determined to have hate figures in their lives don't care about the adverse effects of abusing scapegoats. So stick yer wavey smiley :wink:
Consider my wavey smiley well and truley stuck :greengrin. In all honesty im not saying and never have said that he has always been crap, granted he scored alot of goals for Killi and has scored goals for us but its also important to realise players can change, no? At this moment in time amd last season IMO he has been crap. Yeah he scored a few last season and wether it was 5 in his last few games or not, his overall performace last year and this season has been well below the required standard and at no point is this looking like changing IMO.
Im not going on any assumption like you state, I honestly dont believe that any fan goes to the games hoping to see Nish have a nightmare and struggle, why would they? You telling me that if CN was to turn his game around and be a totally different player for us these fans would still turn up and hope he fails? Fans are sick of seeing the same pish from him and I think Saturday was a build up of all his failings over the last couple of seasons, rightly or wrongly (booing etc was wrong IMO but like it or not folk pay their money and will have their opinions heared).
BTW I agree not on a par with Konte..........Amadu was miles better :greengrin
01-12-2010, 02:10 PM
Nonsense, Thats like saying Konte got us into Europe for scoring in the 2-2 game at Motherwell a few years back.
But Konte did get us into Europe:grr:
He also scored against European opposition, which just shows facts can be used to justify anything:greengrin
Now the game is off, what will you do on Saturday now that there is no chance to booooo the big man?
01-12-2010, 06:04 PM
Now the game is off, what will you do on Saturday now that there is no chance to booooo the big man?
I'm going to try and blag a ticket for the Blackpool Man U game, and boo the nearest equivalent to him.
01-12-2010, 06:11 PM
the missus will probably get it tight instead:greengrin
and after that i'll boo her:wink:
Hibee Daz
01-12-2010, 08:40 PM
I'll hire the biggest JCB you can get, go around to Nish's hoose and bury it under a 100 tonnes of snow so that there's no chance he can play next Saturday either!
All that snow should muffle the sound of the boooer's as well, so I will actually be doing the big man a favor!
jackhfc
01-12-2010, 08:57 PM
I'll hire the biggest JCB you can get, go around to Nish's hoose and bury it under a 100 tonnes of snow so that there's no chance he can play next Saturday either!
All that snow should muffle the sound of the boooer's as well, so I will actually be doing the big man a favor!
Taking one for the team :greengrin
01-12-2010, 09:18 PM
I can bring extra snow if you run out.
01-12-2010, 09:31 PM
Six league goals is a mediocre return, nine is a bit better though.
Nish scored 9 league goals for Hibs last season.
01-12-2010, 09:58 PM
All is forgiven then :greengrin pheww
01-12-2010, 10:16 PM
All is forgiven then :greengrin pheww
point being there's no point slagging him for scoring six when he got nine.
he's not good enough, we all know that but folk on here just make things up to make him look worse.
01-12-2010, 10:31 PM
Consider my wavey smiley well and truley stuck :greengrin. In all honesty im not saying and never have said that he has always been crap, granted he scored alot of goals for Killi and has scored goals for us but its also important to realise players can change, no? At this moment in time amd last season IMO he has been crap. Yeah he scored a few last season and wether it was 5 in his last few games or not, his overall performace last year and this season has been well below the required standard and at no point is this looking like changing IMO.
Im not going on any assumption like you state, I honestly dont believe that any fan goes to the games hoping to see Nish have a nightmare and struggle, why would they? You telling me that if CN was to turn his game around and be a totally different player for us these fans would still turn up and hope he fails? Fans are sick of seeing the same pish from him and I think Saturday was a build up of all his failings over the last couple of seasons, rightly or wrongly (booing etc was wrong IMO but like it or not folk pay their money and will have their opinions heared).
BTW I agree not on a par with Konte..........Amadu was miles better :greengrin
Aye aye- we pays oor money etc etc.
As Scoopyboy says- Nish isnt good enough, even at his best he's inconsistent and too hit and miss, but... the abuse he gets is disproportionate and vile.
If fans supported him in the way they supported other mediocre players such as Lewis Stevenson then we'd get more out of him which would help the team. But no, a sizeable minority are only happy when they have a scapegoat to abuse to make their pathetic lives a bit more liveable.
To say that fans go to games willing every player to do well is nonsense. This 'oh we're all Hibees and we all want whats best for the team' is a lovely sentiment but in the real world is just a load of bollox. I hear fans screaming abuse at players after less than a minute in some games.
He's 'crap' at present because he's low on confidence and is fully aware that fans of the club he supports in some cases hate him. Plenty keyboard tough guys think that he just has to try harder when he gets abused by his own, but the truth is he knows he'll never win the fans over.
Whats really funny was the mock indignation of his detractors last year when he had a wee nip back in the press- pathetic, but funny.
02-12-2010, 09:04 AM
The guy smokes FFS. He clearly doesn't try. I can't recall the last game he's been in where he hasn't fallen on his erse, out jumped an opposition player or hasn't gone down from a reasonable challenge from a player half his size which he then has the cheek to complain about.
I'm sorry, but Nish isn't a football player. He's the biggest wage theif at the club and only ever starts playing well when his contract is running out.
I boo him at games. Not just for being sheer Nish, but for clearly showing no effort what so ever.
I will boo him again. :agree:
02-12-2010, 10:45 AM
The guy smokes FFS. He clearly doesn't try. I can't recall the last game he's been in where he hasn't fallen on his erse, out jumped an opposition player or hasn't gone down from a reasonable challenge from a player half his size which he then has the cheek to complain about.
I'm sorry, but Nish isn't a football player. He's the biggest wage theif at the club and only ever starts playing well when his contract is running out.
I boo him at games. Not just for being sheer Nish, but for clearly showing no effort what so ever.
Great you must be polishing your golden supporter halo as we speak........
hibee-shtuggie
02-12-2010, 02:45 PM
That is irrelevant to my point. I am saying wether he scored them early or late on in the season, its the teams efforts all season that got us into europe. i was neither slagging or crediting Nish. Good goals, should have been getting more
02-12-2010, 05:04 PM
That is irrelevant to my point. I am saying wether he scored them early or late on in the season, its the teams efforts all season that got us into europe. i was neither slagging or crediting Nish. Good goals, should have been getting more
If it was irrelevant to your point why mention six goals in the first place?
I take your point regarding nine goals is nine goals whether they are scored one a month or three hat tricks.
I agree should have been getting more but it is worth mentioning he only scored 4 less than Deek across the whole league season.
02-12-2010, 06:41 PM
I take your point regarding nine goals is nine goals whether they are scored one a month or three hat tricks.
I agree should have been getting more but it is worth mentioning he only scored 4 less than Deek across the whole league season.
It is also worth pointing out that our striker scored 4 less goals over the season than our left midfielder.
02-12-2010, 06:46 PM
It is also worth pointing out that our striker scored 4 less goals over the season than our left midfielder.
a helluva lot of strikers scored less than our left midfielder
hibee-shtuggie
03-12-2010, 10:12 AM
fair enough. perhaps shouldn't have mentioned the six goals. was just rying to quash the idea that his two goals at utd got us single handedly into europe.
03-12-2010, 10:31 AM
fair enough. perhaps shouldn't have mentioned the six goals. was just rying to quash the idea that his two goals at utd got us single handedly into europe.
I know what you mean - it's hard to get that point across though.
He scored almost as many goals in the last 2 games as he did for the rest of the season. It kind of falsifies his figures, but on the other hand these kind of stats are over the whole season and 11 was his total for that. 6 for the other 36 games isn’t that good but 5 in 2 is really good.
As well as total goals scored I think how crucial the goals are count as well – the Kris Boyd method of racking up a hat-trick in a 6-1 win is all very well but I think Stokes was much more effective last season – a number of his goals were the winner in a 2-1 win or the equaliser in a 1-1 draw. Banging in the 5th in a 5-0 is good for your stats but doesn’t make that much difference to what the team achieve.
03-12-2010, 11:22 AM
I know what you mean - it's hard to get that point across though.
He scored almost as many goals in the last 2 games as he did for the rest of the season. It kind of falsifies his figures, but on the other hand these kind of stats are over the whole season and 11 was his total for that. 6 for the other 36 games isn’t that good but 5 in 2 is really good.
As well as total goals scored I think how crucial the goals are count as well – the Kris Boyd method of racking up a hat-trick in a 6-1 win is all very well but I think Stokes was much more effective last season – a number of his goals were the winner in a 2-1 win or the equaliser in a 1-1 draw. Banging in the 5th in a 5-0 is good for your stats but doesn’t make that much difference to what the team achieve.
Funny you should mention the cream buns in your explanation. I told them years ago that Johnston was better than McCoist as he bagged the important goals whereas McCoist would net the 3rd 4th and 5th in a home game against the bottom team.
They never wanted to believe me, wonder why?
03-12-2010, 02:53 PM
I don't care if he scores 5 or 15, what he does is end just about every move we ever have which makes us a far less effective team overall.
We've seen in a couple of games what Trakys gives us and how it transformed the whole way we play.
Kyle has done the same for Hearts. It's not about hoofing it up to these guys but you do need a presence up there to play off and keep defenders occupied.
Nish might finish the odd thing now and again but he actively detracts from our effectiveness as a team.
03-12-2010, 03:27 PM
I don't care if he scores 5 or 15, what he does is end just about every move we ever have which makes us a far less effective team overall.
We've seen in a couple of games what Trakys gives us and how it transformed the whole way we play.
Kyle has done the same for Hearts. It's not about hoofing it up to these guys but you do need a presence up there to play off and keep defenders occupied.
Nish might finish the odd thing now and again but he actively detracts from our effectiveness as a team.
:top marks :agree: We could play Graham Smith up front, and i'd bet he would score the odd goal now and then, but be just as useless at everything else.
:top marks :agree: We could play Graham Smith up front, and i'd bet he would score the odd goal now and then, but be just as useless at everything else.Ive read some utter pish on here, that must be up wi the best ...:faf::faf:
Hibee Daz
03-12-2010, 06:13 PM
How do you ken the guy smokes weeman?
03-12-2010, 06:18 PM
Your post tells us a hell of a lot more about you than it does about Colin Nish.
Dirkster23
03-12-2010, 08:53 PM
:top marks :agree: We could play Graham Smith up front, and i'd bet he would score the odd goal now and then, but be just as useless at everything else.
:faf:comedy gold yet again.
03-12-2010, 10:10 PM
Ive read some utter pish on here, that must be up wi the best ...:faf::faf:
:faf:comedy gold yet again.
Glad to be of service.
03-12-2010, 10:16 PM
You must be so proud of yourself, not, do you ever have anything good to say about the Hibs players.:bye:
03-12-2010, 10:24 PM
You must be so proud of yourself, not, do you ever have anything good to say about the Hibs players.:bye:
I think he's terrible, he gives the side very little in effort, goals link up play, or creation. He got slated when we played Kilmarnock at home a few weeks ago, and i stuck up for him, stating he put a good shift in, and helped stop their playmaker, the russian guy who's name escapes me? Although if there is a more frustrating player at easter road, i have yet to see him.
While i agree we shouldn't boo him, we should be able to say what we feel about him here, as we do in the pub or at work.
03-12-2010, 10:39 PM
I think he's terrible, he gives the side very little in effort, goals link up play, or creation. He got slated when we played Kilmarnock at home a few weeks ago, and i stuck up for him, stating he put a good shift in, and helped stop their playmaker, the russian guy who's name escapes me? Although if there is a more frustrating player at easter road, i have yet to see him.
While i agree we shouldn't boo him, we should be able to say what we feel about him here, as we do in the pub or at work.
I think the best thing for all parties would be that the big guy moved on in the January window, he is not going to get the support from the fans when he is playing, but wee have to get behind him if he continues to play for the team, this abuse he gets on the pitch and on here is not my cup of tea.
04-12-2010, 09:43 AM
I think the best thing for all parties would be that the big guy moved on in the January window, he is not going to get the support from the fans when he is playing, but wee have to get behind him if he continues to play for the team, this abuse he gets on the pitch and on here is not my cup of tea.
Its definitely best for Hibs imo that he moves on, we will be the biggest club he ever plays for. Good for him i very much doubt it? Less money, smaller team and possibly out of the SPL. While he's still at the club, i agree he should not be booed.Although when he does eventually go, i wont shed any tears, i'm fed up to the back teeth watching such a poor player playing at easter road.
04-12-2010, 10:02 AM
:agree::agree:
Pooor treatment of one of our players........
04-12-2010, 10:41 AM
The thing is the boo boys will just move on to their next target - there is a bigger problem amongst a section of our so-called support that won't go away by moving a player on.
In fact if Nishy was to move on it would encourage these "supporters" :confused: to carry on with their pathetic hate campaigns.
Dirkster23
04-12-2010, 01:33 PM
The thing is the boo boys will just move on to their next target - there is a bigger problem amongst a section of our so-called support that won't go away by moving a player on.
In fact if Nishy was to move on it would encourage these "supporters" :confused: to carry on with their pathetic hate campaigns.
:top marksthere are people at ER and on here that can't function without a hate figure in their lives.
04-12-2010, 01:37 PM
:top marksthere are people at ER and on here that can't function without a hate figure in their lives.
Is that really true? Maybe these 'people' just think theres nothing wrong with booing their own player when he 'deserves it' in their eyes? and 'hate' doesnt come into it at all.
Also, do you think Hibs are worse than other teams in this respect, and if so, what would you do about it?
Dirkster23
04-12-2010, 02:01 PM
Is that really true? Maybe these 'people' just think theres nothing wrong with booing their own player when he 'deserves it' in their eyes? and 'hate' doesnt come into it at all.
Also, do you think Hibs are worse than other teams in this respect, and if so, what would you do about it?
If you go to games you'll know it's true. Booing players is bad enough but we've got fans shouting at Nish to **** as soon as he steps on the park, booing his name when the teams are announced and worse of all, shouting when he goes down injured that they hope it's something serious :bitchy:
You tell me, how many other Scottish grounds have you heard that type of abuse directed towards one of their own players?
04-12-2010, 02:02 PM
If you go to games you'll know it's true. Booing players is bad enough but we've got fans shouting at Nish to **** as soon as he steps on the park, booing his name when the teams are announced and worse of all, shouting when he goes down injured that they hope it's something serious :bitchy:
You tell me, how many other Scottish grounds have you heard that type of abuse directed towards one of their own players?
Imo it happens everywhere. I don't think the Hibs support is any different. If it was then I'd be more worried.
04-12-2010, 02:03 PM
I don't think hibs are worse than anyone else, to be honest.
I do wonder if the 12th man could act as a counter to the booing by getting the singing section to try and drown the booers out with hibs songs.
04-12-2010, 02:05 PM
Yams did it to kingston and nade, huns to lafferty, celtc to brown, sheep to loads of them...
04-12-2010, 02:07 PM
Yams did it to kingston and nade, huns to lafferty, celtc to brown, sheep to loads of them...
And the sheepies even gobbed on their own manager :bitchy:
Dirkster23
04-12-2010, 02:09 PM
To the same level as Nish receives?!? I'm not aware of the manager or other players of these teams coming out and asking fans to get off a players case and get behind the team like our has.
04-12-2010, 02:15 PM
To the same level as Nish receives?!? I'm not aware of the manager or other players of these teams coming out and asking fans to get off a players case and get behind the team like our has.
It happens and the managers do make comment on it. Mackie at the sheep springs to mind. I do feel the Nish stuff is more vitriolic than the norm though.
04-12-2010, 03:30 PM
What a disgraceful attitude :bitchy:
Seriously, we don't need folk coming along and booing our own as it is of no help whatsoever. Do us all a favour and stay away, eh?
'I will boo him again' - Fud.
04-12-2010, 04:09 PM
What a disgraceful attitude :bitchy:
Seriously, we don't need folk coming along and booing our own as it is of no help whatsoever. Do us all a favour and stay away, eh?
:top marks:top marks
04-12-2010, 04:32 PM
04-12-2010, 06:15 PM
I don't get to many other scottish grounds so i honestly dont know. But i'd be surprised if we were any worse than anyone else. I get to plenty of games, and Ive never heard Hibs shouting at Nish 'to get to ****' as soon as soon as he steps on the park' either. Maybe you've just sat next to a random bam.
If you think its a sizeable minority, even 5%, of the crowd, that is targeting Nish unfairly, youve got to ask why.
Dirkster23
04-12-2010, 07:04 PM
I don't get to many other scottish grounds so i honestly dont know. But i'd be surprised if we were any worse than anyone else. I get to plenty of games, and Ive never heard Hibs shouting at Nish 'to get to ****' as soon as soon as he steps on the park' either. Maybe you've just sat next to a random bam.
If you think its a sizeable minority, even 5%, of the crowd, that is targeting Nish unfairly, youve got to ask why.
Guy at the back of us at the Killie game shouted it as the teams came out. Think it was possibly ICT away that someone else posted they heard the same thing.
I've not got a season ticket this year so i've been in the West upper, FF and east depending on who i've gone with. Maybe i'm just unlucky and the random bam stalks me:dunno:
I think there's two reasons why Nish gets targeted, he's playing poorly and there's a number of knobs that would rather abuse hibs players than support the team.
04-12-2010, 10:14 PM
It's funny how some folk have 'never heard' certain things and it always seems to be the one's justifying the abuse.
I'd go as far as to call you either a liar or someone with selective hearing if you've never heard Nish get abuse at the start of a game. I've heard him get it when warming up as a sub at Tannadice, which was discussed on this forum.
Please will people stop insisting that nobody wants to see a Hibs player playing poorly- it's not true and everyone knows deep down that some knobs need a hate figure as Dirkster 23 correctly states. Yes it happens at other clubs but every support has knobs- it doesnt justify it.
What exactly do you mean by your last sentence by the way? Me and everyone I go to the games with think that Galbraith and Stevenson should be nowhere near the starting 11 for Hibs- do you advocate us shouting vile abuse at them next week? I mean we cant all be wrong can we?
We have a number of sub-standard players at Hibs- for a variety of reasons such as poor judgement and economic factors. Hopefully the next batch CC bring in will be better. In the meantime we have 2 choices- encourage the average players to do as well as they can or shout abuse at them.
04-12-2010, 10:44 PM
It's funny how some folk have 'never heard' certain things and it always seems to be the one's justifying the abuse.
I'd go as far as to call you either a liar or someone with selective hearing if you've never heard Nish get abuse at the start of a game. I've heard him get it when warming up as a sub at Tannadice, which was discussed on this forum.
Please will people stop insisting that nobody wants to see a Hibs player playing poorly- it's not true and everyone knows deep down that some knobs need a hate figure as Dirkster 23 correctly states. Yes it happens at other clubs but every support has knobs- it doesnt justify it.
What exactly do you mean by your last sentence by the way? Me and everyone I go to the games with think that Galbraith and Stevenson should be nowhere near the starting 11 for Hibs- do you advocate us shouting vile abuse at them next week? I mean we cant all be wrong can we?
We have a number of sub-standard players at Hibs- for a variety of reasons such as poor judgement and economic factors. Hopefully the next batch CC bring in will be better. In the meantime we have 2 choices- encourage the average players to do as well as they can or shout abuse at them.
What a weirdly aggressive tone you're taking:confused:
1. Im not 'justifying abuse'.
2. Im not a liar.
3. I think you're wrong-Hibs fans dont want to see Hibs players play poorly. Thats just a bizarre comment.
4. I dont believe 'Hibs fans need a hate figure' either. 'Everyone knows it? Really? How do you know 'everyone' knows this?
5. My last paragraph was asking a question, it doesnt 'mean' anything hidden in particular, it certainly doesnt mean i think you should be abusing Galbraith or Stevenson, where you got that from i have no idea.
The Nish-baiting at the ground seems to have resulted in a 'leave the poor laddie alone' hysteria on this messageboard, where we're supposed to pretend he's not totally substandard as a player. Both attitudes are as stupid as each other.
04-12-2010, 11:14 PM
2. Im not a liar.
3. I think you're wrong-Hibs fans dont want to see Hibs players play poorly. Thats just a bizarre comment.
4. I dont believe 'Hibs fans need a hate figure' either. 'Everyone knows it? Really? How do you know 'everyone' knows this?
5. My last paragraph was asking a question, it doesnt 'mean' anything hidden in particular, it certainly doesnt mean i think you should be abusing Galbraith or Stevenson, where you got that from i have no idea.
The Nish-baiting at the ground seems to have resulted in a 'leave the poor laddie alone' hysteria on this messageboard, where we're supposed to pretend he's not totally substandard as a player. Both attitudes are as stupid as each other.
Him being a sub-standard player has nothing to do with it- thats been acknowledged by most on here that are simply making the point that some ****-bags on the terraces have gone way over the top. 'Leave the poor laddie alone' is not the tone of most people complaining about the abuse- you're just making that up.
We have lots of sub-standard players at ER and some of them have done less for the club than Nish and have poorer track records. I'm fully aware that you dont think I should be abusing Galbraith or Stevenson and after all, despite them looking way short of 'Hibs class', their faces 'fit' with the fans, which is fine of course bar the hypocrisy.
If you want to keep believing Hibs fans dont need hate figures and scapegoats then fine. Maybe I should have said 'anyone with eyes and ears knows it'. Many many fans and ex-players would agree with me I suspect.
05-12-2010, 08:56 AM
I dont know one Hibs fan who wants us to do badly, or any Hibs player to do badly. Does anyone know of a hibs fans who does?:confused:
Expecting Rain
05-12-2010, 09:15 AM
The Colin Nish situation has become a joke, there has always been a pantomime aspect to football, one minute you`re a hero, the next minute you`re a villian, if he started putting himself about like a centre forward should and apply some of the basic requirements attributed to his position then everything would change, i don`t shout at players when i am at the game neither do i cheer them off when they get subbed but come on, there would be no atmosphere at games if we all had to sit there politely shaking our heads when something goes wrong.
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 09:29 AM
I dont know one Hibs fan who wants us to do badly, or any Hibs player to do badly. Does anyone know of a hibs fans who does?:confused:
I'm pretty sure in Yogi's final months you suggested there were people on here that would be happy to see us get beat if it would hasten his departure (no, i'm not trawling through your posts to try and find it!).
05-12-2010, 09:45 AM
I'm pretty sure in Yogi's final months you suggested there were people on here that would be happy to see us get beat if it would hasten his departure (no, i'm not trawling through your posts to try and find it!).
Well you better trawl through my posts, as i never said that at all.
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 09:55 AM
Well you better trawl through my posts, as i never said that at all.
I'll leave trawling through other people's post to you. I'm happy that my memory's not letting me down.
When you declared you wouldn't be back until Mixu was sacked, were you really hoping he'd turn things around and be a success or that we'd get beat and he'd get punted?
Without advocating abuse, although no player would want to play badly, the work ethic and lifestyle choices in some are poor. When you watch the successful teams, no matter how famous and brilliant the players are, they work their socks off, how many hibs players can, hand on heart, say they have the same commitment.
They are also professional sportsmen, who are in a short career & yet the stories of the drinking culture of footballers, has gone on forever. It is bad enough when top players abuse their bodies, when sport is their profession, let alone those that have to work harder at their own natural ability & we also have players that smoke, again, they are short changing themselves & the people who pay to watch them.
Some will say that they are entitled to live their life as they see fit & yes they do, however, we all have to make sacrificies to earn a crust, examples, some people have to get up at 3am, to get to work, others get home at 1am, some work 12 hour shifts, those are some of the sacrificies people have to make and normally for a lot less money than the privilided few, it makes not abusing your body and/or a high work ethic, seem like a small price to pay for the rewards of being a professional footballer. I bet the world is full of ex-footballers thinking "if only".
05-12-2010, 10:12 AM
I'll leave trawling through other people's post to you. I'm happy that my memory's not letting me down.
When you declared you wouldn't be back until Mixu was sacked, were you really hoping he'd turn things around and be a success or that we'd get beat and he'd get punted?
Your memory is pickled.:bitchy:Of course i wanted him to turn things round? :confused: And when i said i wouldn't be back, it was because the numbers had dwindled down to one, me. And i was fed up taking 12-13 hours traveling on my own to get to the game, and spending £100 on petrol and entrance was making it tough. Yet my boycott lasted about a month.
05-12-2010, 10:27 AM
2. Im not a liar.
I agree with that. If there are people on here that think that these type of fans dont exist they are kidding themselves. I think they turn up give certain players 10 mins and then get the boos out. The 10 mins for the avoidance of doubt is a token gesture.
I have said it before that this board has a tendency to get quieter when we are winning, more of a complaints board at times, with some having little to nothing to say if we are winning.
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 10:40 AM
Your memory is pickled.:bitchy:Of course i wanted him to turn things round? :confused: And when i said i wouldn't be back, it was because the numbers had dwindled down to one, me. And i was fed up taking 12-13 hours traveling on my own to get to the game, and spending £100 on petrol and entrance was making it tough. Yet my boycott lasted about a month.
Why would you call it a boycott if your only reason for not going to games were financial. A boycott's a form of protest, what were you protesting about? Mixu being in charge :wink:
05-12-2010, 10:47 AM
You finding this topic a bit uncomfortable?
I've seen folk post on here they hoped Hibs would lose a game. I've also seen folk appear far happier when things are going badly.
I'll say no more on this but you're kidding yourself if you think all Hibs fans turn up solely to support the team. Absolutely laughable to suggest some social inadequates dont need hate figures in their lives.
05-12-2010, 10:52 AM
I've seen folk post on here they hoped Hibs would lose a game. I've also seen folk appear far happier when things are going badly.
I'll say no more on this but you're kidding yourself if you think all Hibs fans turn up solely to support the team. Absolutely laughable to suggest some social inadequates dont need hate figures in their lives.
But why do their hate figures have to be in green? I know f a about psychology but is that not the reason some people feel the need to sing about mercer every week? I'd much rather we kept our hate for all things maroon, dead or alive, than abuse our own.
Expecting Rain
05-12-2010, 10:56 AM
I don`t believe in shouting abuse and don`t condone it but you are equally inaccurate if you are suggesting that people who support Hibs turn up wanting to see them fail, your description of social inadequates is offensive.
05-12-2010, 11:01 AM
Why would you call it a boycott if your only reason for not going to games were financial. A boycott's a form of protest, what were you protesting about? Mixu being in charge :wink:
I know its difficult, but read the post again. Only reason. :faf:
I have got to the stage, at different periods, where things have got that bad that I couldn't care less about the hibs results. Given the amount of passion I had/have for the club & the lengths that I went through to watch hibs, it was quite something that I would ever feel like that.
With all the will in the world, I'm not accepting full responsibility for what I feel or felt, the guardians of our club have to be answerable as to why passionate fans, such as me, are reduced to such indifference.
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 11:09 AM
I know its difficult, but read the post again. Only reason. :faf:
First sign your getting rattled when the :faf: appears BH :agree:
You decided to boycott hibs games because nobody else was coming up and it cost a fair bit of cash? By your own admission it was a boycott, what were you protesting about? what change did you hope to effect by your boycott?
You stopped coming to games because you wanted Mixu sacked- FACT :agree:
05-12-2010, 11:10 AM
Why would i find this subject uncomfortable? As i said, i dont know any hibs fan who wants us to lose, does anybody know these people? I have seen the odd post with folk saying they wanted us to lose if it meant our manager was sacked, although i think everyone who goes to the game, goes there hoping we win.
I also dont see anyone happier when we lose, in fact imo its the opposite?:confused:
As for anyone needing hate figures, i dont see that either. :confused:
05-12-2010, 11:13 AM
First sign your getting rattled when the :faf: appears BH :agree:
You decided to boycott hibs games because nobody else was coming up and it cost a fair bit of cash? By your own admission it was a boycott, what were you protesting about? what change did you hope to effect by your boycott?
You stopped coming to games because you wanted Mixu sacked- FACT :agree:
I stopped coming for a number of things, 1 I wanted mixu out.2 i didnt think the time and effort was worth what i was watching. 3 it was boring coming up on my own. and 4 the cost
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 11:23 AM
I stopped coming for a number of things, 1 I wanted mixu out.2 i didnt think the time and effort was worth what i was watching. 3 it was boring coming up on my own. and 4 the cost
And that was only going to happen if the team weren't winning :wink:
05-12-2010, 11:27 AM
And that was only going to happen if the team weren't winning :wink:
Well we are not winning now.
Dirkster23
05-12-2010, 12:20 PM
Well we are not winning now.
Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!