View Full Version : NHC Player Drives Car At Ref

24-11-2010, 04:49 PM
Just seen this on Sky Sports News :bitchy:

http://www.newsguardian.co.uk/news/footballer_jailed_for_driving_car_at_ref_1_2782217

Sorry if already covered.

Twa Cairpets
24-11-2010, 04:54 PM
Just seen this on Sky Sports News :bitchy:

http://www.newsguardian.co.uk/news/footballer_jailed_for_driving_car_at_ref_1_2782217

Sorry if already covered.

I saw a player drive a car towards a ref when I played in the Maybury League about twenty years ago. It was on Portobello no.1 - one of the most astonishing things Ive ever seen

HibeePaj
24-11-2010, 04:58 PM
iv heard a wee rumour Celtic are interested in him

24-11-2010, 07:22 PM
Sunday fitba is full o bams like this

24-11-2010, 09:05 PM
I saw a player drive a car towards a ref when I played in the Maybury League about twenty years ago. It was on Portobello no.1 - one of the most astonishing things Ive ever seen

Was it a wee blue Fiat Panda?

24-11-2010, 10:09 PM

certainly happened during a Carrick Hearts game IIRC , sure it was at Union Park.

24-11-2010, 10:54 PM

I was there that day! Bizarre to say the least!

Seem to recall he was sent off but didn't quite agree with the ref! :-)

IFONLY
25-11-2010, 09:41 AM
certainly happened during a Carrick Hearts game IIRC , sure it was at Union Park.

Certainly did happen there, remember it well.

25-11-2010, 11:46 AM
Seemed like a lovely chap when he walked into the courthouse. Even had the audacity to spit out his chewing gum and volley it at reporters.

Nice man. :bye:

DCI Gene Hunt
25-11-2010, 11:46 AM
Was it Neil Lennon? :stirrer:

Seriously, what a radge :rolleyes:

G

Twa Cairpets
25-11-2010, 01:13 PM
Was it a wee blue Fiat Panda?

I seem to recall it was a blue car, but couldnt tell you the make. We were walking back after playing on the far away pitch and just saw the aftermath and got the full story from the teams afterwards.

25-11-2010, 03:09 PM
I'm surprised a ref was never run over by one of these little numbers ...

http://itsyourdiary.co.uk/blogdo/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/Invacar1.jpg

Seemed like they used to sit at the side of pretty much every football pitch in Scotland at one point .. and being within spitting distance of the referee it would only have needed a bit of throttle to take one out!