View Full Version : Royal wedding - Should the SNP support a public holiday?
23-11-2010, 04:34 PM
People in England, Wales and N Ireland will get a public holiday on 29 April next year, which as you all know, is when a Royal will marry a commoner (or should that be the other way around?)
The Scottish Government is considering the issue.
How should the SNP deal with this little inconvenience?
I think they'll bin their principles and go for the populist option.
23-11-2010, 04:36 PM
People in England, Wales and N Ireland will get a public holiday on 29 April next year, which as you all know, is when a Royal will marry a commoner (or should that be the other way around?)
In an election year? :rolleyes:
Next :greengrin
Leicester Fan
23-11-2010, 05:29 PM
We get 1 so tbh I'm not bothered.:greengrin
ancienthibby
23-11-2010, 05:41 PM
Damned if they do; damned if they don't!!:agree:
It's poor Betty Windsor I pity!!:cool2:
23-11-2010, 05:43 PM
Public/local holiday or bank holiday :confused:
If it's bank then I'm no bothered cos we get English bank hols now :thumbsup:
23-11-2010, 05:43 PM
Holiday confirmed.
Yet another reason to maintain the union. :wink:
23-11-2010, 06:01 PM
I'm surprised they didn't drag the holiday issue out a little longer to deflect the real issue about who's paying for the undoubtedly over-elaborate occasion.
23-11-2010, 06:02 PM
Republicanism is a minority opinion within the SNP, as it is within Labour. Roseanna Cunningham is the only prominent SNP republican I could name off the top of my head.
23-11-2010, 06:05 PM
I'm surprised they didn't drag the holiday issue out a little longer to deflect the real issue about who's paying for the undoubtedly over-elaborate occasion.
What's the calculation of the total cost to the country/countries now then, including a day's lost output?
(Minus the cost of the flowers, though, as I understand the royles are paying for those themselves, the generous souls.)
23-11-2010, 06:20 PM
What's the calculation of the total cost to the country/countries now then, including a day's lost output?
(Minus the cost of the flowers, though, as I understand the royles are paying for those themselves, the generous souls.)
Billions. There was an article on Saturday in the business section of the Times complaining about this point.
UK GDP was $2.674T in 2008 (http://www.google.com/publicdata?ds=wb-wdi&met=ny_gdp_mktp_cd&idim=country:GBR&dl=en&hl=en&q=united+kingdom+gdp); far more is generated on working days, so the difference runs into billions.
23-11-2010, 06:20 PM
Damned if they do; damned if they don't!!:agree:
It's poor Betty Windsor I pity!!:cool2:
Why? Does she have to work that day?
ancienthibby
23-11-2010, 06:23 PM
Why? Does she have to work that day?
She might do, indeed!!
But it's THAT view down the succession line!!:devil:
23-11-2010, 06:28 PM
Republicanism is a minority opinion within the SNP, as it is within Labour. Roseanna Cunningham is the only prominent SNP republican I could name off the top of my head.
True. Salmond has said in the past that an independent Scotland would retain the Queen as head of state.
23-11-2010, 06:36 PM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/scotland/article6619104.ece
2 July 2009
Members of the Scottish Parliament were last night facing embarrassing accusations that they had snubbed the Queen after 48 out of a total of 129 failed to turn up for the celebrations to mark Holyrood's 10th anniversary.
Of the individual parties, 26 out of 47 SNP MSPs were present; Labour had 29 out of 46 there; The Conservatives had 13 out of 16 and the Liberal Democrats 11 out of 16. One of two Green MSPs turned up but the sole independent MSP, Margo Macdonald, did not.
8 / 17 of the Labour absentees were on holiday and did not think a royal visit was important enough for them to interrupt that. One of the LibDem's excuses sounded rather phony as well ("personal reasons").
23-11-2010, 06:51 PM
True. Salmond has said in the past that an independent Scotland would retain the Queen as head of state.
There's another reason to dislike the Yam toad. :greengrin
23-11-2010, 07:53 PM
Fri 22 April - Good Friday
Mon 25 April - Easter Monday
Fri 29 April - Royal Wedding
Mon 2 May - May Day
Great wee run of holidays.
23-11-2010, 07:59 PM
Mon 2 April - May Day
Think I'd have preferred they tag the wedding day on to the Easter weekend. The Thursday or the Tuesday would've been best. Still can't complain at 2 long weekends on the stoat I suppose.
I'd imagine 29/4 will be a good day to get out and about with the kids - lots of places like the zoo, the swiming pool and that will be quiet.
23-11-2010, 08:01 PM
Mon 2 April - May Day
I forgot about May day. That's great news.
I'm booked up to go golfing in Turkey the last week in April so I'll only need to use 3 days holidays, not 5. :thumbsup:
Gawd bless them royals, gawd bless 'em.
23-11-2010, 08:11 PM
Mon 2 April - May Day
Really object to the royles changing the colander about like that. Nae need. :grr:
23-11-2010, 08:45 PM
Really object to the royles changing the colander about like that. Nae need. :grr:
Good spot.
23-11-2010, 09:08 PM
Bloody cut and paste.:grr:
23-11-2010, 09:18 PM
Billions.
Mon 2 April - May Day
Good spot.
That's how they're making up for the day's lost output.
We're having to go back and work an extra month!!!
Sneakit barstards :grr:
23-11-2010, 10:11 PM
Personally I don't think that a public holiday is necessary and at a time when the country is financially knackered, I don't think it makes sense for a large percentage of the nation to be off work.
However, after the decision was made to allow the English, Welsh and Northern Irish a day off, the SNP had no option but to follow suit up here. With something like this, everyone in the whole country has to be treated the same.
I'm glad that they've made the sensible decision.
Mixu62
23-11-2010, 10:23 PM
[QUOTE=FalkirkHibee;2645111]Personally I don't think that the monarchy is necessary and at a time when the country is financially knackered, I don't think it makes sense for a large percentage of the nation to be off work.
I've made a small amendment for you!:devil:
23-11-2010, 10:29 PM
Personally I don't think that a public holiday is necessary and at a time when the country is financially knackered, I don't think it makes sense for a large percentage of the nation to be off work.
However, after the decision was made to allow the English, Welsh and Northern Irish a day off, the SNP had no option but to follow suit up here. With something like this, everyone in the whole country has to be treated the same.
So is it sensible or not? :confused:
23-11-2010, 10:59 PM
It's mental that, in the 21st century, the entire nation downs tools because some guy with teeth, born into the right/wrong family, has decided to marry some random punteress who he met on a Fresher's pub-golf tournament in St Andrew's.
Why can't we get free days off work for folk that actually matter to us (or proper events like the final of the Apprentice)?
23-11-2010, 11:30 PM
The bit I don't get is Tge government say it's a national holiday and the Employers foot the bill for it. What if a company is struggling and can't afford the lost time and extra cash out the door? They wo t honour it that's what. All it will lead to us resentment from their staff. All because some nobody is marrying a somebody and everyone should be celebrating. I tell you what they can stuff their holiday I will be working as normal.
Unless it's a decent day and I might go for a game if golf.
24-11-2010, 08:34 AM
It's mental that, in the 21st century, the entire nation downs tools because some guy with teeth, born into the right/wrong family, has decided to marry some random punteress who he met on a Fresher's pub-golf tournament in St Andrew's.
Why can't we get free days off work for folk that actually matter to us (or proper events like the final of the Apprentice)?
We should get a bank holiday so we can stay up and watch the Superbowl. I'm always shattered at work having stayed up to watch that.
The only wedding I'm likely to watch on this free day off will be a repeat of Charlene and Scott getting married on Neighbours on UK Gold.
24-11-2010, 09:01 AM
Hondootedly!! He's our future monarch, gawd bless you sir (and ma'am).
Hillsidehibby
24-11-2010, 09:02 AM
I can see right through your argument
24-11-2010, 09:04 AM
I can see right through your argument
I was about to say his argument was full of holes, but it's too late now. :boo hoo:
24-11-2010, 11:04 AM
(unfortunately) as pointed out in this thread, the wee fat yam's main agenda is supposed to be delivering Scottish Independence (though I'd question his desire to do this of late, given his absoulte **** up in not capitalising on the SNP's best popularity ratings in year, just after they got in) but putting that aside, the SNP were NEVER claiming to deliver a republic, more's the pity.
They probably, thinking about it, wouldnae mind yon thing given we've got a dubious line to the throne via some anglo-greek-gerries but that's another matter. :devil:
If someone put a paper in front of me the morn saying:
1) Should we ditch the "UK" - Aye or Naw ...
2) And will we ditch Lizzie, big ears and co tae - Aye or Naw
This would not cause any confusion. Mathinks there'd plenty aye/aye's but heyho, thats ****ing democracy for ye...ye never get what ye want :greengrin :devil:
Onyways, I'll take the holiday - its aboot aw the Buck hoose mob have given us over the last few hundred years :bye:
Clowns.
ENDOF
24-11-2010, 11:26 AM
I don't think a big fancy wedding paid for by the taxpayer is appropriate at this time.
Let's just make the Royals redundant - what use are they anyway?
24-11-2010, 11:28 AM
I don't think a big fancy wedding paid for by the taxpayer is appropriate at this time.
Let's just make the Royals redundant - what use are they anyway?
Giving us spurious reasons to have a bank holiday?
Not sure why the SNP wouldn't be for it. They've never claimed to be a republican party.
24-11-2010, 11:36 AM
Exactly the reason why I've volunteered to work that day, though I reckon the whole place will down tools and I won't have a choice but to have the day off anyway.
24-11-2010, 02:10 PM
So is it sensible or not? :confused:
Very good. :wink:
Let me clarify my opinion which is that I don't believe it is necessary for anyone to have a holiday just because a member of the Royal Family is getting married. However, when the decision was made for a public holiday to be held in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, the SNP had to do the same up here because every citizen in the UK should have the same rights and privileges.
Is that a bit more clear? :wink:
MountcastleHibs
24-11-2010, 02:16 PM
Your point's already been answered, but the SNP are not a republican party so which principles would they be binning? They've always maintained that the Queen would be the head of any independent Scottish state.
What annoys me more is that this wedding is only 6 days before the election and will undoubtedly upset election coverage. Put that together with the Uk government putting their referendum forward for electoral reform also on the 5th of May, it's ridiculous.
A nice wee Royal wedding to detract from the troubles we're going through and making us feel all happy about ourselves? I think not. The majority of people don't care, and are only wanting the holiday because it's a day off.
The Royal's think they'll appease the public by paying for security. Oh cheers, but the taxpayer is still saying for everything else. If the royal Family want their wedding, they should pay for it.
Rant over. Sorry I went a bit off topic.
24-11-2010, 02:29 PM
Who will get the day off? Pubs, shops, hospitals, etc will still be open and staffed.
24-11-2010, 04:08 PM
Who will get the day off? Pubs, shops, hospitals, etc will still be open and staffed.
Banks? The taxpayer’s already funding them so what’s another few bob to pay for them to have the day off to watch the wedding they’re paying for as well?!
24-11-2010, 05:10 PM
The Royal's think they'll appease the public by paying for security. Oh cheers, but the taxpayer is still saying for everything else. If the royal Family want their wedding, they should pay for it.
It's the other way about.
24-11-2010, 05:11 PM
Banks? The taxpayer’s already funding them so what’s another few bob to pay for them to have the day off to watch the wedding they’re paying for as well?!
24-11-2010, 07:31 PM
Doesn't matter what way about it is - the taxpayer is paying for all of it (apart from whatever Katie's old man chucks into the hat). The taxpayer funds the wages of these ********s.
24-11-2010, 07:32 PM
Doesn't matter what way about it is - the taxpayer is paying for all of it (apart from whatever Katie's old man chucks into the hat). The taxpayer funds the wages of these ********s.
Indeed.
24-11-2010, 07:35 PM
That was supposed to say arse-holes. Didn't realise it had to be double-barrelled to make the edit!
MountcastleHibs
24-11-2010, 10:00 PM
My bad. Misread the paper this morning haha.
Still not right though!
25-11-2010, 11:17 AM
Agreed. Though if the banks shut, how the **** am ah gonnae withdraw mair than £200 notes and spend it on flags, bunting, plates, cups, fine-china and othetr memorbelia for this fine, ostentatious occassion??? :devil:
Or £200 quids worth of eggs and a REALLY big gutty :greengrin
I support the wee scruffy Ausie who apparently is the most legit in terms of claim to the throne of Scotland. That said, ah supports the Peoples Republic of Scotland theory even mair :devil::devil:
MON THE NATIONALIST REPUBLICANS :thumbsup::thumbsup:
25-11-2010, 08:04 PM
At double time though! :thumbsup: Gawd bless you sir and ma'am.