View Full Version : Buckfast

22-11-2010, 08:49 PM
Where can I get this? Is it available in Supermarkets? For a novelty present not for consumption.

22-11-2010, 08:54 PM
Where can I get this? Is it available in Supermarkets? For a novelty present not for consumption.

most corner shops sell it, current prices around £5.50 - £6.00 per bottle.

P.S if you are going to drink it, best be chilled first IMO

22-11-2010, 10:01 PM
most corner shops sell it, current prices around £5.50 - £6.00 per bottle.

P.S if you are going to drink it, best be chilled first IMO

No no no no no. If you're going to drink it....just don't. Tastes horrible.

22-11-2010, 10:31 PM
No no no no no. If you're going to drink it....just don't. Tastes horrible.

go ask a dirty smelly unwashed masonic rodent hun, they like that schemey tipple.

deeks01
23-11-2010, 05:29 AM
buckfast gets a bad press thanks to the ned connection , shame as its actually not bad. An aquired taste though imo.

in answer to the op , try your nearest corner shop. :)

23-11-2010, 07:39 AM

£7.25 in the Spar down here.

23-11-2010, 09:12 AM
go ask a dirty smelly unwashed masonic rodent hun, they like that schemey tipple.

Wrong. In my part of Lanarkshire, Buckfast is the tipple of choice among the Soapdodgers, not the Huns. Huns don't drink muck produced by Catholic monks.
:bitchy:

24-11-2010, 12:52 PM
Wrong. In my part of Lanarkshire, Buckfast is the tipple of choice among the Soapdodgers, not the Huns. Huns don't drink muck produced by Catholic monks.
:bitchy:

Only the minority of Huns (ie thos eof a level who can actually read the label) mount such a protest.

Leicester Fan
24-11-2010, 03:58 PM
What is Buckfast? I don't think we get it down here.

hibeeleicester
24-11-2010, 04:05 PM

wine, high in caffeine, like a jaeger bomb, just not jaeger. :wink:

24-11-2010, 06:13 PM

One of the main explanations for the fact that A+E departments in West Central Scotland are packed most Friday and Saturday nights, either with Buckie fuelled idiots who've been smacked by another Buckie-fuelled idiot, or the victim of a Buckie fuelled idiot who got smacked (or worse) cos said Buckie fuelled idiot thought that he/she "wiz pure looking at me funny/sayin' stuff aboot ma maw"

Oh, and it tastes foul into the bargain.

24-11-2010, 06:21 PM
Only the minority of Huns (ie thos eof a level who can actually read the label) mount such a protest.

No, I can assure you that by far most of the Buckfast in the Caldera goes down Soapdodging throats. Very little bought by the Huns. Hun neds prefer other grotty tipples.

Seven years observation, I tell you. Buckie in the Caldera is for the most part a a tipple for Tims.

24-11-2010, 06:23 PM
Must be El Dorado if still exists for The Huns then!

deeks01
24-11-2010, 06:32 PM
One of the main explanations for the fact that A+E departments in West Central Scotland are packed most Friday and Saturday nights, either with Buckie fuelled idiots who've been smacked by another Buckie-fuelled idiot, or the victim of a Buckie fuelled idiot who got smacked (or worse) cos said Buckie fuelled idiot thought that he/she "wiz pure looking at me funny/sayin' stuff aboot ma maw"

Nothing like tarring every "buckie" drinker with the same brush , eh?!

Not everyone who drinks it is a violent ned and the taste issue is a matter of opinion.

24-11-2010, 11:22 PM

I think it's actually produced in Cornwall if memory serves me right, but completely bypasses the whole of England and finds it's way in to the daily diet of your average West Coast bigot.

24-11-2010, 11:47 PM
I think it's actually produced in Cornwall if memory serves me right, but completely bypasses the whole of England and finds it's way in to the daily diet of your average West east bigot.

Not far away, its actually made in Devon. Buckfastleigh Abbey is not very far from torquay and I visited it once while down on holiday. Can't comment on the tonic wine as I have never tried it but I would definitely associate it more with the east end of Glasgow rather than Govan.

25-11-2010, 01:12 AM
Not actually that bad sometimes:greengrin Quite popular in Dunny.. but thats just cause it gets you ****ed pretty easy ! £7.50 down here, btw

25-11-2010, 04:48 AM
A friend if mine is a hard nosed successful businessman. He was brought up in Belfast and is a season ticket holder at Ibrox. Buckfast is what he drinks. It was his tipple growing up in Belfast and he still drinks it to this day. He does call it wine rather than Buckie yo be fair.
Anyhoo at his wedding at a very posh Edinburgh hotel he asked if they would stock it behind the bar fir his friends and himself to drink. The manager refused. My friend then said he would get some bottles fir the rooms that he, his best man and the whole wedding party had booked for the wedding night so they would be able to nip back and forth for their drinks. The manager caved in and got a few crates in and the wedding went brilliantly. The befast mob just ordered it at the bar like any other drink. It was a very good wedding reception.

25-11-2010, 08:49 AM
Not far away, its actually made in Devon. Buckfastleigh Abbey is not very far from torquay and I visited it once while down on holiday. Can't comment on the tonic wine as I have never tried it but I would definitely associate it more with the east end of Glasgow rather than Govan.I remember going into an off licence near Ibrox and it was doing a roaring trade in half bottles to huns. I asked him why they all bought half bottles, easier to fit in their pockets to keep them going during the game.

25-11-2010, 10:19 AM
Must be El Dorado if still exists for The Huns then!

Strong lager and vodka ice stuff for the Caldera Hun neds, I'd say. But I suspect that the Buckie phenomenon varies from town to town and area to area.

The problem with the stuff is the combination of alcohol and caffeine - the alcohol lowers inhibitions and the caffeine stokes up aggression. Mixing spirits with high-energy drinks like Red Bull has the same effect.

25-11-2010, 10:57 AM

Not everyone who drinks it is a violent ned and the taste issue is a matter of opinion.

Nope it's tastes bogging:wink:

HibeeB
25-11-2010, 11:23 AM

Nope it's tastes bogging:wink:

You be careful there big fellae.

If deeks gets a hold of you, ye'll have to shove yer toothbrush up yer erkie to brush your teeth.

25-11-2010, 11:33 AM
You be careful there big fellae.

If deeks gets a hold of you, ye'll have to shove yer toothbrush up yer erkie to brush your teeth.

Would that just be to live up to the stereotype of a buckie drinker:greengrin

25-11-2010, 11:48 AM
:singing: It is old but it is beautiful
And it's colours they are fine
But it isn't what you're thinking of
It's Buckfast Tonic Wine.

25-11-2010, 11:53 AM

Easy, what I said was that in certain parts of Scotland, people who find themselves in an A+E department on a Friday or Saturday night as a result of an alchohol fuelled incident (whether perpetrator or victim) are quite likely to have got there as a direct result of someone having drunk on Buckfast - either them or the perpetrator.

I did not say that everyone who drinks Buckfast automatically ends up punching someone and ending up in A+E. If you can drink Buckfast, have a good night and remain civil, then more power to your elbow.

It's still rank though :greengrin

Leicester Fan
25-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Not far away, its actually made in Devon. Buckfastleigh Abbey is not very far from torquay and I visited it once while down on holiday. Can't comment on the tonic wine as I have never tried it but I would definitely associate it more with the east end of Glasgow rather than Govan.

I actually drove past that abbey on holiday this year. I had no idea.

25-11-2010, 04:18 PM

Easy, what I said was that in certain parts of Scotland, people who find themselves in an A+E department on a Friday or Saturday night as a result of an alchohol fuelled incident (whether perpetrator or victim) are quite likely to have got there as a direct result of someone having drunk on Buckfast - either them or the perpetrator.

I did not say that everyone who drinks Buckfast automatically ends up punching someone and ending up in A+E. If you can drink Buckfast, have a good night and remain civil, then more power to your elbow.

It's still rank though :greengrin

You don't half talk some s***e :greengrin. Have you seen the price of the stuff now a days. Don't know about Oxford but round my way the Neds and the young teams tend to drink the cheap cider and beers you get from the super markets.
I've had the odd bottle in my time and it's fair to say I didn't go looking for trouble or put anyone in hospital. In fact it kinda mellows me out a bit and if anything makes me a bit chatty. Now vodka, that's a diff story :furious:.

25-11-2010, 04:46 PM
Not actually that bad sometimes:greengrin Quite popular in Dunny.. but thats just cause it gets you ****ed pretty easy ! £7.50 down here, btw
Haddington and Tranent are the same, must be an East Lothian thing :agree:

The young chaps really seem to have a taste for it. You'll see the teens consuming it en mass at the 'halfpipe' or 'the goat' most Friday and Saturday nights. Bought i'd guess from either the Co-operative or one of Haddington's many reputable Asian retailers.

I'll probably be shot down in flames by the snobs on this thread, but Buckfast really isn't as bad as it's reputation would suggest. If you ever find yourself at a house party, mixing it in the biggest cup or glass you can find with Red Bull and White Lightning cider guaruntees you an excellent night :greengrin

25-11-2010, 09:32 PM
Speaking for the oldies, I well remember snaffling a bottle or two of "Old Tawny" wine from the local offie.

That must have been the 60s equivalent of Buckie. It was sweet and strong.

You didn't feel too great the morning after.

25-11-2010, 09:48 PM
A friend if mine is a hard nosed successful businessman. He was brought up in Belfast and is a season ticket holder at Ibrox. Buckfast is what he drinks. It was his tipple growing up in Belfast and he still drinks it to this day. He does call it wine rather than Buckie yo be fair.
Anyhoo at his wedding at a very posh Edinburgh hotel he asked if they would stock it behind the bar fir his friends and himself to drink. The manager refused. My friend then said he would get some bottles fir the rooms that he, his best man and the whole wedding party had booked for the wedding night so they would be able to nip back and forth for their drinks. The manager caved in and got a few crates in and the wedding went brilliantly. The befast mob just ordered it at the bar like any other drink. It was a very good wedding reception.

It's really popular in NI, a lot more so than here.

25-11-2010, 09:54 PM
It does seem to be a Central Belt drink, as it's certainly nae commonly observed up in Dundee or Aberdeen (from my experience anyway).

Maybe the neds just hide better up here...

25-11-2010, 09:57 PM
Riordans Boots - any in your bar?

30-11-2010, 10:03 AM
Picked it up in the Co-Op, cheers for all replies.