View Full Version : Things that make you think of Hibs

JIm
22-11-2010, 02:38 PM
Guys

I'm working on a wee project and was looking for some help. I need to come up with 15 items that when discussed make you think about Hibs. I thought about going down the player route but to difficult with the number of great players that have represented the club. The easy ones that sprung to mind straigh away were.

1. The Famous Five
2. Turnbulls Tornadoes
3. Harp Ship and Castle

What comes to mind for you? Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers:thumbsup:

Riordans Boots
22-11-2010, 02:43 PM
Guys

I'm working on a wee project and was looking for some help. I need to come up with 15 items that when discussed make you think about Hibs. I thought about going down the player route but to difficult with the number of great players that have represented the club. The easy ones that sprung to mind straigh away were.

1. The Famous Five
2. Turnbulls Tornadoes
3. Harp Ship and Castle

What comes to mind for you? Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers:thumbsup:

Derek Riordan = Legend :agree: 99 Hibs goals ....

22-11-2010, 02:45 PM
The late Mr Kenny McLean and Hands Off Hibs.

TrinityHibs
22-11-2010, 02:47 PM
Sunshine on Leith:singing:

HibeeMassive
22-11-2010, 03:07 PM
The number 7 ... :wink:

hibbybrian
22-11-2010, 03:08 PM
Cabbage

Colour of the grass

22-11-2010, 03:18 PM
Pegs

M11BMO
22-11-2010, 03:20 PM
Proclaimers

turn and burn
22-11-2010, 03:23 PM
former east stand - the bounce

22-11-2010, 03:31 PM
Thinking back to the time when slapping the barrier above the old turnstyles at the East on the way out,went from being on shoulders, to a lifty up, to a jump and then managing it on your own... to then providing the shoulders.

22-11-2010, 03:36 PM
Giovanni's chip shop - I always used to go there on the way to the game.

22-11-2010, 03:38 PM
David Essex singing " Gonna make you a star"

Reminds me of walking over the top of the old 3 mile high terracing in the 70's on the way into the game.

ivan03
22-11-2010, 03:38 PM
teenage kicks

22-11-2010, 03:50 PM
teenage kicks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNsmiqmaEWo

JoeTortolanoFanClub
22-11-2010, 04:03 PM
1. Sunshine on Leith.
2. Green shirts with white sleeves.
3. The numbers 0 and 7. :greengrin

22-11-2010, 04:03 PM
Got to be sunshine on leith for me.

22-11-2010, 04:10 PM
I always think off Hibs when i'm on a 2 day bender on George Street. Usually because half our 1st team are in the same bars.:wink:

22-11-2010, 04:12 PM
Hibs:

The Famous Five
The Proclaimers
Derek Riordan
Le Legend
Top class training complex
Latapy's goal
6-2/7-0
0-3 Ibrox
CIS Cup 2007

Hearts:

Get out of debt" adverts
Convicted sex offenders
Dancing Clum
Booked for being ugly
Pink poofy stadium
Riccarton (when booked)
10 men couldne carry...

22-11-2010, 06:06 PM
reading hibs.net forum posts

22-11-2010, 07:07 PM
Arthur's Seat, The Artisan Bar, Abbeyhill Colonies, anything by Irvine Welsh.

22-11-2010, 07:19 PM
When I`m 3 up with 4 to play in a golf tie and I get beat at the last. :boo hoo:

22-11-2010, 08:14 PM
I was on a work course a couple of years back and the facilitator told us to shut our eyes and imagine three live of or live emerging. Much to my shame, instead of the wife and kids, a massive hibs badge was the first thing that came into my mind. Oops!

22-11-2010, 08:25 PM
Turn by Travis. Song played at the end of the programme when it was 3-0 at the PBS in 99.

22-11-2010, 08:42 PM
Easter (Road)
The Number Seven
Cabbage
Ribs
Any mention of Albion (Road)
Romans/Latin (as in the name Hibernian)
Clocks when the time is six minutes to any hour at all.
Sunshine
Spanish Airliners (Iberia only needs three more letters to equal footballing bliss - well in my dreams anyway)
Ireland - the home of our founders

22-11-2010, 08:44 PM
The colour green and Leith.

22-11-2010, 08:45 PM
When I go to the cupboard for a mug for my coffee and have to decide which Hibs one to use.

22-11-2010, 08:46 PM
Arthur's Seat

Thats it for me too. The sun sinking behind Arthurs Seat and the Crags viewed from the old east terrace.

22-11-2010, 08:56 PM
Albert Kidd

calumb
22-11-2010, 10:01 PM
Deep Heat, the old stand used to stink of the stuff when i used to be taken there as a nipper in the early 80's

22-11-2010, 10:11 PM
1) The "big step" on the old east terracing
2) The slope
3) Slapping the lintel of the gates going out
4) Bobby Duncan's Napoli goal
5) The humour of the guy that put up the halftime scores at the south east corner.
6) 1 Albion Place - the house where my Dad was born
7) is a magic no. ........ say nae mair

oregonhibby
22-11-2010, 10:33 PM
Begbie
The Pink News
Sporting Lisbon
The glow of floodlights as you approached the game.
Bag of chips and a vimpto in my dad's Ford Cortina Mk1
Swapping football cards at school
Take to the Floor
Arthur Montford
Bob Crampsie
Walking from one end of the ground to the other
European teams
Eddie Turnbull

22-11-2010, 10:39 PM
- John Gibson
- Grant Stott
- The Proclaimers
- Margo MacDonald
- Dougray Scott
- Ewan McGregor
- Robert Carlyle
- Fish
- ET
- Pat Nevin
- Alex Arthur
- Abi Titmuss
- Lily Allen

El Gubbz
22-11-2010, 10:44 PM
When I serve a customer and the price comes to £18.75 thats always pretty sweet:thumbsup:

22-11-2010, 10:46 PM
1. Making love to beautiful women.
2. Italian tailoring.
3. Fine wines.

Hearts:

1. Blackpool's Hun ex
2. Shell suits
3. Flat Tennents Lager

Hibby D
22-11-2010, 10:55 PM
Driving past Lawrie Reilly's house every morning on my way to work :cool2:

Saturdays :wink:

22-11-2010, 11:04 PM
The 15 items that I associate with the Hibs would be:
1 St Pat's church and the memorial at the entrance to Canon Hannan
2 The Cowgate
3 The 3 Making of Hibernian books
4 Walking down Easter Road
5 St Mary's Street Halls
6 Memories of Mercer's attempted takeover
7 Sunshine on Leith
8 The photo of Rob Jones in snow shower after he'd scored in the Final v Killie
9 Meeting up with auld pals after the game
10 The pre season trip to Dublin a few years back
11 The smell of Deep Heat (in the old enclosure)
12 The back page of the News
13 The old Hibs supporters club on Carlton Terrace
14 The fanatics in the old North Stand
15 Memories of 50+ years (painful and sweet)

McHibby
23-11-2010, 12:29 AM
"Gold" by Spandau Ballet

Cycling home from work, I go past a street called "Stanton Way" it always makes me think of Hibs

hibby67
23-11-2010, 05:42 AM
THE NO 14 BUS.......:agree:

23-11-2010, 07:51 AM
Beleive it or not MARRIAGE and Planes

I was married Dec 99 and left my marriage reception half way through to go to watch HIBS v SC*M at the local boozer next door. Just imagine the barman's face when me the bride and about 30 wedding guests all in wedding atire walked in to a pub in Portsmouth and asked for the Scottish football to be put on.
Now imagine his face when we were three nil up and I was dancing on one of the pub tables with the wife.
What a day only down side was I was not at the game. If I told you I had a ticket and was seriously thinking about going would you beleive me.

As for the planes flew back from the Falkland islands round about 8 years ago to go to Easter Road to watch Hibs Dunfermline in a nil nil draw and then had to fly all the way back again straight after.

23-11-2010, 08:54 AM
Scotlands failings
Albert Kidd
Erich Scheaedler
sex with ugly women
The number 7
Hibernian Bank Dublin
Hibernation
Brazil
Trainspotting
Acid House
Fat guys in tight football tops
Gay folk
Half a bottle of whisky
Sunshine on Leith
Scottish Cup

23-11-2010, 10:24 AM
THE NO 14 BUS.......:agree:

What about the 26 bus? or Greggs?

M11BMO
23-11-2010, 10:57 AM
Calor Gas always reminds me of there Green and Purple away top we had.

hibby67
23-11-2010, 11:04 AM
What about the 26 bus? or Greggs?

The NO 26 BUS never went to West Granton

23-11-2010, 11:09 AM
The NO 26 BUS never went to West Granton

Aye but its the bus that a certain Mr Cruyff tends to get :greengrin

23-11-2010, 11:29 AM
Seing a Hearts reminds me why I suppport Hibs :greengrin