View Full Version : NHC Smiths of Hawkhill / Sunblest Bakery at Hawkhill

18-11-2010, 07:53 PM
Looking for a picture of the old bakery on Lochend Road which is now flats. Who can forget the smell of baking bread in the second half on a Saturday afternoon back in the old days?!

The Scotsman archives, Scran and Edinphoto.org.uk can come up with pictures of the interior and the staff but nothing of the actual building itself. Can anyone help? :confused:

18-11-2010, 08:10 PM
Used to get the wasted wrappers off the bread and make the shoot in Lochend Park like a missile launching site.
Whoooooooohh ...............................

maindriver44
06-12-2010, 07:29 PM
Looking for a picture of the old bakery on Lochend Road which is now flats. Who can forget the smell of baking bread in the second half on a Saturday afternoon back in the old days?!

The Scotsman archives, Scran and Edinphoto.org.uk can come up with pictures of the interior and the staff but nothing of the actual building itself. Can anyone help? :confused:

Jamsie I have a photo of the bakery,
I used to be a trunker driver for Sunblest,
tell me how to send it to you. cheers,.:xwave

06-12-2010, 08:14 PM
Jamsie I have a photo of the bakery,
I used to be a trunker driver for Sunblest,
tell me how to send it to you. cheers,.:xwave

You have a PM mate :thumbsup:

06-12-2010, 09:24 PM
Used to love that - every Saturday that I went to ER, and more entrenched in my memory is every Sunday on the way to curch down at St James' on Leith Links - used to love that smell, especially as a wee bairn and was a bit gutted to see the big red brick bakery go.

NotoriousLor
06-12-2010, 10:47 PM
Post the picture up when you get it mate, would love to see it as well, my auld man grew up in Lochend and I used to love his stories about the 'free' stuff they used to get out there

maindriver44
07-12-2010, 07:48 PM
You have a PM mate :thumbsup:
James I have sent you the photo without the other
logo on it, and sent you a couple of pics of myself and
Laurie Reilly, we were at a presentation in October, (not sept)
could you put them on site for me, I see somebody else is wanting
a pic of the old bakery, you might want to post that also, cheers.:agree:

maindriver44
09-01-2011, 08:12 PM
James I have sent you the photo without the other
logo on it, and sent you a couple of pics of myself and
Laurie Reilly, we were at a presentation in October, (not sept)
could you put them on site for me, I see somebody else is wanting
a pic of the old bakery, you might want to post that also, cheers.:agree:

Jamsie I have been :ill: no weel, waiting to go to hospital for 4 operations,
so I never did get your reply about posting the pics I sent you, :dunno:
if I can post pics on site, I am just a learner here, but I take it you got them ok.