View Full Version : Car warranty advice required

16-11-2010, 09:14 AM
Bought a new 60 plate Nissan 3 weeks ago and yesterday found about 8 inch crack on my windscreen but no chip or impact point. It looks to me that it is a fault with the car / windscreen. Arnold Clark have said they are not going to fix it under the warranty and ill just have to go through my insurance.

This doesn't seem right to me that they won't fix this despite there being no obvious reason why this crack appeared.

Anyone had any similar issues or got any advice?

16-11-2010, 09:20 AM
Bought a new 60 plate Nissan 3 weeks ago and yesterday found about 8 inch crack on my windscreen but no chip or impact point. It looks to me that it is a fault with the car / windscreen. Arnold Clark have said they are not going to fix it under the warranty and ill just have to go through my insurance.

This doesn't seem right to me that they won't fix this despite there being no obvious reason why this crack appeared.

I'm no expert and not wanting to sound like a prick but surely windscreens just wouldn't crack themselves? Is it not more likely there's been some impact without you realising it?

I can sympothise with Arnold Clark in this one, if there appears to be some physical damage to the car they couldn't just take your word for it that nothings happened, they've got to draw the line somewhere.

16-11-2010, 09:33 AM
I'd kick up a massive stink..

You've just spent a fortune on a new car, they should be doing everything they can to keep you happy..

Then again it is Arnold Clarke we're talking about :rolleyes:

16-11-2010, 09:38 AM

Anyone had any similar issues or got any advice?Somebody been using water from the kettle to defrost the windscreen?:wink:

16-11-2010, 09:39 AM
The crack is completely smooth with no chip, impact point, scuff marks or anything elsr that might indicate it had been struck by anything.

Just bern on the phone with their sales manager trying to ser what they can do and they have now agreed to pay 50% towards replacement windscreen but only as a 'goodwill gesture.' They are adamant it is not covered by warranty. Has left a sour taste and certainly put me off Arnold Clarke.

16-11-2010, 09:41 AM
Somebody been using water from the kettle to defrost the windscreen?:wink:

Crack appeared on Sunday and hadn't been frosty for the week before that so hadn't had to clear the windows at all.

16-11-2010, 09:52 AM
Crack appeared on Sunday and hadn't been frosty for the week before that so hadn't had to clear the windows at all.That's the kind of thing they will be thinking. I agree they should replace it as it's just as likely to be a damaged windsreen fitted in the factory.

16-11-2010, 10:15 AM
Thing is, from the dealers point of view, if the windscreen was fine when you took delivery how can they liable?

I'd class it a bit like a puncture, bad luck. Getting 50% off is a bonus imo.

16-11-2010, 11:23 AM
Has anyone ever been able to claim for anything on a car warranty?

Any one I've seen practically excludes everything from being 'claimable'. All moving parts (so practically everything) plus a whole other heap load of stuff. I think the only thing you can claim for is the car chassis rusting.

16-11-2010, 11:36 AM
I got new shocks and a steering rack on a year old 3 series

16-11-2010, 11:57 AM
I wouldn’t trust Arnold Clark any more than a Nigerian email.

There are just too many stories going about regarding very poor customer relations once cars have been bought from them. IIRC Arnold Clark were one of the first UK companies to have its own anti-website on the web, run by dissatisfied customers, although I cant remember the address.

As if this wasn’t bad enough I have recently heard of an absolutely diabolical instance of the way they are prepared to treat their own staff which even had me utterly shocked – and its very difficult to shock me with anything other than a taser. :shocked:

16-11-2010, 12:32 PM
Having a little knowledge of this through a relative, Arnold Clark are the most complained about company in the UK. Not just car companies, but all companies.

16-11-2010, 12:34 PM

I got a new engine, two and a half years into the warranty. Though not through Arnold Clark, from whom I originally bought the car second-hand. Vauxhall sorted it through a local dealer. Possible to enquire about the windscreen direct with the manufacturer? :dunno:

16-11-2010, 01:14 PM
I got a new engine, two and a half years into the warranty. Though not through Arnold Clark, from whom I originally bought the car second-hand. Vauxhall sorted it through a local dealer.
Possible to enquire about the windscreen direct with the manufacturer? :dunno:

Have now agreed to go halfers with arnold clarl on the insurance excess of 70 quid and autoglass coming on Friday to fit new windscreen. Now that you mention it, though, I might just approach nissan direct, not that I fancy my chances.

16-11-2010, 01:23 PM
Go to Nissan and if they don't play ball ask for an independent assessment of the damage.

16-11-2010, 02:20 PM

Any one I've seen practically excludes everything from being 'claimable'. All moving parts (so practically everything) plus a whole other heap load of stuff. I think the only thing you can claim for is the car chassis rusting.
I've had a few suspension claims, a gear box, a fuel tank and quite a few arguments. These things are just not built to do the mileage a taxi does but they still sell you them with a 3 year unlimited mileage warranty.

17-11-2010, 11:42 AM
Wee update. Nissan got back to me basically saying they will not do anything cos windscreens are considered much like any wear or tear items eg tyres, brakes etc. Insurance excess it is then.

17-11-2010, 07:42 PM
Wee update. Nissan got back to me basically saying they will not do anything cos windscreens are considered much like any wear or tear items eg tyres, brakes etc. Insurance excess it is then.

Strange logic. Tyres and brakes are actually getting continually worn by fricting against things that are harder than they are. Windscreens are only fricting against the wind - unless a stone/bird etc hit the screen, this logic would seem to lead to the conclusion that Nissan's windscreens are not as tough as the wind!

18-11-2010, 07:55 AM

It's a bit late for you now but my advice would be to avoid Arnold Clark whenever possible. Rip-off merchants of the highest order.

My missus bought a Peugeot from them and requested factory-fitted parking sensors. The car was ordered and delivered without sensors. After calling Mrs B a liar when she said that the sensors had been requested, they eventually agreed to fit them at their workshop free of charge (only after Mrs B had to threaten to cancel the purchase and produced documented evidence of the order).

Anyway, within a year, the sensors started playing up so Mrs B phoned Arnold Clark, only to be told that they don't fit sensors at the workshop and as they weren't factory-fitted sensors, the sensors were not included in the warranty. Yet again, Mrs B was called 'mistaken' numerous times. After weeks of hassle, phone calls, much swearing and escalated complaints, they agreed to fix the sensors.

In addition, their servicing is piss poor and over-priced.

It might be worthwhile doing a few Google searches to see if Nissan windscreens mysteriously cracking is a common problem though.

18-11-2010, 10:15 AM
It's a bit late for you now but my advice would be to avoid Arnold Clark whenever possible. Rip-off merchants of the highest order.

My missus bought a Peugeot from them and requested factory-fitted parking sensors. The car was ordered and delivered without sensors. After calling Mrs B a liar when she said that the sensors had been requested, they eventually agreed to fit them at their workshop free of charge (only after Mrs B had to threaten to cancel the purchase and produced documented evidence of the order).

Anyway, within a year, the sensors started playing up so Mrs B phoned Arnold Clark, only to be told that they don't fit sensors at the workshop and as they weren't factory-fitted sensors, the sensors were not included in the warranty. Yet again, Mrs B was called 'mistaken' numerous times. After weeks of hassle, phone calls, much swearing and escalated complaints, they agreed to fix the sensors.

It might be worthwhile doing a few Google searches to see if Nissan windscreens mysteriously cracking is a common problem though.

Thanks beefster. Yeh, a bit late now but I won't be using arnold clark next time and I certainly wouldn't recommend them to anyone. As per normal, during the sale they couldn't have been more helpful but as soon as I sign the contract they couldnae gie a flying one.

19-11-2010, 11:58 PM

Never heard a good word said about Arnold Clark other than in their radio adverts:cool2:

They treat you with contempt after they've got their paws on your cash:agree:

discman
20-11-2010, 09:57 PM
Never heard a good word said about Arnold Clark other than in their radio adverts:cool2:

My daughter bought new car had to take it back 8 times,service is unbelievabley kack, staff get paid peanuts,management take crass to new level,horrible,horrrible place ,avoid like the plague :grr: apart from that..................:cool2:

20-11-2010, 10:12 PM

I took one of their cars out on a test drive last week. Loved the car but given the make (Alfa) I wanted to make sure the service history was spot on. The service book was apparently missing but when I said I was walking away it mysteriously turned up. No wonder they tried to hide it, delivery inspection stamp was there, then nowt. Avoid.

21-11-2010, 12:31 AM
My daughter bought new car had to take it back 8 times,service is unbelievabley kack, staff get paid peanuts,management take crass to new level,horrible,horrrible place ,avoid like the plague :grr: apart from that..................:cool2:

Trust me..

They don't.

Gaz
22-11-2010, 01:13 PM
sorry to burst the bubble here i have bought my last 4 cars from arnold clark and have never had any bother with them. Infact i bought a new one last week and the missus bought 1 at the weekend they even had the nice touch to remember our 2 wee girls and had 2 pink ballons waiting for them when we went to pick up the car. I know its not much but i thought it was a nice touch.

23-11-2010, 06:55 AM
sorry to burst the bubble here i have bought my last 4 cars from arnold clark and have never had any bother with them. Infact i bought a new one last week and the missus bought 1 at the weekend they even had the nice touch to remember our 2 wee girls and had 2 pink ballons waiting for them when we went to pick up the car. I know its not much but i thought it was a nice touch.

Even a blind squirrel finds a nut now and then :wink: