View Full Version : The Sartorial Learnings of Mr Calderwood.

WellingtonHibby
15-11-2010, 01:20 PM
Mowbray, Mixu, Collins and Yogi all sported a very natty suit, sweater and tie combo whilst in the dugout at Easter Road, Calderwood in his press conference followed along similar lines. However in the past couple of games he has resorted to "Hibernian branded leisure wear"

- Do we have our first Tracksuit manager at ER for sometime?

- Does it make a difference? An abandonement of the refined sartorial elegance that once personified "Hibs Class" in favour of a "sleeves-up,-theres-work-to-be-done" mentality?

cam75
15-11-2010, 01:28 PM
I like he is involved in the warm ups etc before games!:thumbsup:

15-11-2010, 01:33 PM
I expect it's part of his contract, he has to promote Hibs branded stuff in the lead-up to Christmas. You watch, he'll be wearing the Puma Hoodie next week.

15-11-2010, 01:47 PM
Personally find it unacceptable that the manager of Hibernian doesn't wear a suit.

15-11-2010, 01:50 PM
I prefer manager's who wear suits.. but maybe that has been our dowfall all along.. maybe we need a tracksuit manager to change the culture:greengrin

WeAreHibs
15-11-2010, 01:51 PM
I like the managers to be suited but, if they keep winning, he can wear a Peppa Pig outfit with the arse cut out as far as I care.

I reserve the right to distance myself from any claims of a fetish for the above leisure wear.

cam75
15-11-2010, 01:53 PM
Lets keep the suit for next may:agree::agree::agree:
If he keeps getting the points i dont care what he wears.:thumbsup:

15-11-2010, 02:12 PM
I like the managers to be suited but, if they keep winning, he can wear a Peppa Pig outfit with the arse cut out as far as I care.

I reserve the right to distance myself from any claims of a fetish for the above leisure wear.

You can disclaim as much as you like, it's your brain that thought up that image!!

Anyway, it's CC we're talking about, NOT CCBlooms!

15-11-2010, 02:44 PM
Personally find it unacceptable that the manager of Hibernian doesn't wear a suit.

I was that disgusted the day John Collins wore a tracksuit at Fir Park against Gretna, I never went back.

15-11-2010, 03:05 PM

Yeah, dead right.

CC doesn't have the class of John Hughes.... :rolleyes:

proud_and_green
15-11-2010, 03:14 PM
M daughter was incensed that CC wasn't wearing a suit on Saturday. I thonk the manager should wear a suit. By all means trackie for the warm up then a quick change into the suit for the start of the game.

That said, if the results keep coming, he can wear a leopard skin leotard and hang upside down from the roof of the dug out while singing george formby songs!!

scott7_0(Prague)
15-11-2010, 03:22 PM
Is this the level of complaint us Hibs fans have now....... Jesus. All i care about is 3point are won each league game, he could be in his birthday suit for all i care.

15-11-2010, 03:24 PM
He had a suit on versus Dundee United. Not sure about the match agains the Huns but he wore a trackie against Aberdeen. I'd rather see him in a suit but I couldn't care less if he wears a tracksuit.

15-11-2010, 03:28 PM
Whether it's a question of comfort, psychology or simply saving time, I'd rather he concentrate on the team/match than how he looks.

15-11-2010, 03:28 PM
I don't mind the trackies approach from CC. Ready for action and all that!

15-11-2010, 03:46 PM
I don't mind the trackies approach from CC. Ready for action and all that!

15-11-2010, 03:51 PM
This is a guy that will have went his whole career in 'casual' attire...what exactly is changing it going to do?? I love hibs fans :)

15-11-2010, 04:03 PM
Mowbray, Mixu, Collins and Yogi all sported a very natty suit, sweater and tie combo whilst in the dugout at Easter Road, Calderwood in his press conference followed along similar lines. However in the past couple of games he has resorted to "Hibernian branded leisure wear"

- Do we have our first Tracksuit manager at ER for sometime?

- Does it make a difference? An abandonement of the refined sartorial elegance that once personified "Hibs Class" in favour of a "sleeves-up,-theres-work-to-be-done" mentality?He can turn up like http://www.fotothing.com/thumbs/326/32673beeefec8f7ef98bd66f0ca72c0d.jpg if he wants, I only care how he gets the team playing and the results.

15-11-2010, 04:04 PM
I think it looks smarter in a suit but if he and/or the players are more comfortable with the training gear then go for it. All that matters is Hibs back playing football and winning.

WellingtonHibby
15-11-2010, 04:07 PM
Is this the level of complaint us Hibs fans have now....... Jesus. All i care about is 3point are won each league game, he could be in his birthday suit for all i care.

Whimsical musings rather than complaint, old boy. I couldnt care a jiffy if he wore a tutu and kept the results coming. My preference, would be fo a sharp Suit that marks as a cut above the fat man in a puffa jacket across the road, but each to his own!

15-11-2010, 04:08 PM
Is this thread for real or is it some sort of wind up went wrong? The guy is manager of Hibs and can wear whatever he feels most comfortable wearing to work!

Oh and good days must be here again if this is the topic of discussion!

15-11-2010, 04:11 PM
Is this thread for real or is it some sort of wind up went wrong? The guy is manager of Hibs and can wear whatever he feels most comfortable wearing to work!

Even an RRevolution reversible velour hoody?

15-11-2010, 04:17 PM
He can turn up like http://www.fotothing.com/thumbs/326/32673beeefec8f7ef98bd66f0ca72c0d.jpg if he wants, I only care how he gets the team playing and the results.

There was absolutely nae need to take a picture of me steamin', never mind post it up here. :grr:

15-11-2010, 04:21 PM

It is obviously for real. Management priorities are as follows:

Be Hibs class.
Dress Hibs class.
Get results.

If Yogi had worn trackies more he would have been out the door much sooner. If Mixu looked better in a suit he would have been given more time. You see?

Collins tenure shows what happens if you take team talks in a loin cloth...

15-11-2010, 04:22 PM
;2638532']There was absolutely nae need to take a picture of me steamin', never mind post it up here. :grr:Sorry

WellingtonHibby
15-11-2010, 04:24 PM
It is obviously for real. Management priorities are as follows:

Be Hibs class.
Dress Hibs class.
Get results.

If Yogi had worn trackies more he would have been out the door much sooner. If Mixu looked better in a suit he would have been given more time. You see?

Collins tenure shows what happens if you take team talks in a loin cloth...

Come on now,

You cant do #1 without already doing #2.......:wink:

15-11-2010, 05:03 PM
Jesus does it really matter?

Maybe if it was a cup final then yea fair enough a suit..but as long as we are winning who gives a flying ****?:confused:

15-11-2010, 05:27 PM

Maybe if it was a cup final then yea fair enough a suit..but as long as we are winning who gives a flying ****?:confused:

:top marks Utterly cringeworthy, this old fashioned respect for a man wearing a suit. Yogi wore a suit most weeks.

15-11-2010, 05:55 PM
Ye Martin O'Neil never wore a suit and he's such a crap manager eh!

15-11-2010, 06:09 PM
Could wear a plastic bag and he would still look a hundred times classier than FJK:greengrin

15-11-2010, 06:17 PM
Leave CC to the coaching in whatever clothing he deems fit.

Leave the style and sophistication to Dashing Bob S.

15-11-2010, 06:40 PM
Anybody who thinks it doesn't matter how a Hibernian manager should dress ought to take a good long look at themselves in the mirror. The reason you have no sex life, have menial if any employment, and an ever decreasing circle of friends will soon become apparent.

Style isn't a matter of life and death; it's far more important than that.

ancienthibby
15-11-2010, 06:43 PM

Cool the blasphemy, Essex!!

15-11-2010, 06:45 PM
Anybody who thinks it doesn't matter how a Hibernian manager should dress ought to take a good long look at themselves in the mirror. The reason you have no sex life, have menial if any employment, and an ever decreasing circle of friends will soon become apparent.

Thanks for the heads up - I always thought it was because my [BLANK] or [BLANKS] is only 2" long. :blushie:

15-11-2010, 06:47 PM

Who cares as long as points are getting put on the board :thumbsup:

BTW he wore a suit at Pittodrie and against hearts IIRC and now the tracksuit is on maybe the results are changing :agree:

15-11-2010, 06:48 PM
Thanks for the heads up - I always thought it was because my [BLANK] or [BLANKS] is only 2" long. :blushie:

I personally guarantee that has nothing to do with it.

15-11-2010, 06:49 PM
I personally guarantee that has nothing to do with it.

But I work as a male escort. :boo hoo:

15-11-2010, 06:50 PM
Don't care what he wears as long as weplay well and pick up points.
He must shave though.

15-11-2010, 06:53 PM

I was that disgusted the day John Collins wore a tracksuit at Fir Park against Gretna, I never went back.

M daughter was incensed that CC wasn't wearing a suit on Saturday. I thonk the manager should wear a suit. By all means trackie for the warm up then a quick change into the suit for the start of the game.

That said, if the results keep coming, he can wear a leopard skin leotard and hang upside down from the roof of the dug out while singing george formby songs!!

:fishin:

at least I hope so :rolleyes:

15-11-2010, 06:57 PM
But I work as a male escort. :boo hoo:

You're due me a refund, Mr Floppy :grr:

Haven't really thought this insult through given that I've simultaneously outed myself as someone who buys gay sex :boo hoo:

15-11-2010, 07:03 PM
You're due me a refund, Mr Floppy :grr:

Haven't really thought this insult through given that I've simultaneously outed myself as someone who buys gay sex :boo hoo:

Kin of like the guy from Granton who ram raided Argos in his own car?

15-11-2010, 08:38 PM
I think he should wear a baseball cap ala Tony Pulis:wink:, i read a newspaper piece on chris Hughton at newcastle who always wore a trackie, his dad had a word with him about wearing a suit, they promptly were beaten next game, dont know if he reverted back for the last game though?

15-11-2010, 08:44 PM

Exactly. Some on here will moan about anything. Pathetic :bitchy:

proud_and_green
15-11-2010, 09:15 PM
exactly. Some on here will moan about anything. Pathetic :bitchy:

qed!!!

16-11-2010, 08:44 AM
Oh FFS, why does ANYONE need to wear a suit to watch a football match anyway!?

As long as CC doesn't look like Jefferies and Brown in their manky tracksuits I'll be happy.

16-11-2010, 09:13 AM
Oh FFS, why does ANYONE need to wear a suit to watch a football match anyway!?

As long as CC doesn't look like Jefferies and Brown in their manky tracksuits I'll be happy.

:agree: u forgot booby williamson

Hillsidehibby
16-11-2010, 10:53 AM
I think we all should wear a suit to the games.

Overcoat and bunnet when it gets a bit parky.

16-11-2010, 12:34 PM
Only on .net could you have a thread with over 40 replies discussing wether or not the manager can wear a suit. Give it a rest ffs.

Hank Schrader
16-11-2010, 12:49 PM
Only on .net could you have a thread with over 40 replies discussing wether or not the manager can wear a suit. Give it a rest ffs.

Just to point a couple of things out to you;

1) You contributed towards the thread already at post 13 so should you be giving it a rest too, ffs?

2) The thread is supposed to be tongue in cheek.

NeilOrrSquareBa
16-11-2010, 12:58 PM
My mother was telling me the other day how disappointed she was that Cc didn't wear a suit on Saturday. "After all Son." She said. "Suits maketh the man".

"That said, if the results keep coming, he can polish his johnson in a piece of clingfilm when standing in the dugout (facing West) for all I care". And with that she was gone!

WellingtonHibby
16-11-2010, 02:09 PM
Just to point a couple of things out to you;

1) You contributed towards the thread already at post 13 so should you be giving it a rest too, ffs?

2) The thread is supposed to be tongue in cheek.

hallelujah!!:thumbsup:

Sergy Pie
16-11-2010, 02:16 PM
Maybe he could please both camps and wear a shirt, tie, suit jacket with tracksuit bottoms? Maybe have a smart shoe on one foot and a football boot on the other?

I hope I've not opened another can of worms in whether it should be a molded boot or studs.

WellingtonHibby
16-11-2010, 02:31 PM
Maybe he could please both camps and wear a shirt, tie, suit jacket with tracksuit bottoms? Maybe have a smart shoe on one foot and a football boot on the other?

I hope I've not opened another can of worms in whether it should be a molded boot or studs.

its all astro in the technical area, so moulders, if not the man is a fool and one would then be led to question all his managerial decisions. :grr:

16-11-2010, 02:42 PM
Does he have a decent web-site?

16-11-2010, 04:20 PM
Does he have a decent web-site?

If not, i could maybe point him in the right direction of a few i like?:slipper::wink:

TheMentalHibees
16-11-2010, 06:00 PM
I'd prefer he dressed in a Borat style mankini.

proud_and_green
16-11-2010, 10:12 PM
My mother was telling me the other day how disappointed she was that Cc didn't wear a suit on Saturday. "After all Son." She said. "Suits maketh the man".

"That said, if the results keep coming, he can polish his johnson in a piece of clingfilm when standing in the dugout (facing West) for all I care". And with that she was gone!

Oi!!! Just cos you change the character, a few words and what CC can do doesn't mean its not plagiarism!!!:grr::wink:

Aubenas
16-11-2010, 10:19 PM
Clearly all the financial mismanagement and penny pinching at the club means that there is no money for a trip to Slaters. Once again, peripheral nonsense like stands and training centres comes before what the fans really want to see - a suit in the dug out.
Petrie :grr:

16-11-2010, 10:23 PM
Re the thread title should it not be ' sartorial leaning ' anyway ? ;pedantic smiley;

16-11-2010, 10:34 PM

I simply cannot comprehend with this having occurred and think you must be making it up.

16-11-2010, 10:35 PM
Clearly all the financial mismanagement and penny pinching at the club means that there is no money for a trip to Slaters. Once again, peripheral nonsense like stands and training centres comes before what the fans really want to see - a suit in the dug out.
Petrie :grr:

TrickyNicky
16-11-2010, 10:48 PM
Let's have a few opinions on dress styles for our manager then !

A link or a piccy, maybe even one of those Karl Lagerfeld interpretive drawings done in a ladies eyeshadow.

Mibbe he could change it up each week.

The sumo suit , when opposite Fat Jim.
The Paddington Bear outfit against Motherwell.
Three piece suit with fob-watch and cane whenst facing Walter Smith ( maybe even a monocle )
Eminem's tracksuit and chains when up against Neil Lennon.

17-11-2010, 01:47 PM
Just wear the trackies until we lose again, switch to the suit until we lose again and so on and so forth.

Septimus
17-11-2010, 02:06 PM
Football has never been the same since the days when you could look out over massed flat caps with a miasma of sweet tobacco smoke drifting above them and a faint small of urine from the empty cans lobbed overhead and trampled underfoot. Alas these things are gone forever. Somehow I feel that the magic has left the game now and that may well be the reason.

Wear what you like CC but that tie last night was awful.

18-11-2010, 11:31 AM
Let's have a few opinions on dress styles for our manager then !

A link or a piccy, maybe even one of those Karl Lagerfeld interpretive drawings done in a ladies eyeshadow.

Mibbe he could change it up each week.

The sumo suit , when opposite Fat Jim.
The Paddington Bear outfit against Motherwell.
Three piece suit with fob-watch and cane whenst facing Walter Smith ( maybe even a monocle )
Eminem's tracksuit and chains when up against Neil Lennon.

:faf: :top marks

18-11-2010, 12:55 PM
He can turn up like http://www.fotothing.com/thumbs/326/32673beeefec8f7ef98bd66f0ca72c0d.jpg if he wants, I only care how he gets the team playing and the results.

:confused: Why would he want to look like HibbyAndy???

18-11-2010, 01:06 PM
****in rinto tinto mental radgeness. OK, here it is.

As long as he doesny wear a rangers top or anything maroon, he can wear whatever the **** he likes when we turn over the huns 3-0 at hunbrox and follow that with a 2-1 return from 1-0 doon against Motherwell.

And for yer infooooomashionnnn, a trackSUIT is still a "suit" :grr: :greengrin

Bichrist.....it's really ALL now been moaned aboot. Everything from Petries ****ing mouser to the managers clathes....accent, choice of team, arrogance/lack of arrogance...............Its nae wonder the joab was turned doon by Alex Ferguson for fear of no being successful enough :devil:

MON THE CALDERWOOD, TRACKSUITS AND AW YA BASS :thumbsup: