View Full Version : Derek Adams assistant manager (Confirmed)

Tonez
11-11-2010, 10:30 AM
Is CC's assistant:wink:

11-11-2010, 10:31 AM

source, when ??

Tonez
11-11-2010, 10:33 AM
County Player.:wink:

Adams starts tomo morning.

11-11-2010, 10:33 AM
Is CC's assistant:wink:No going to be much good on the touchline ..think he has or is facing something like an 18 match ban ..:bitchy:

11-11-2010, 10:37 AM
No going to be much good on the touchline ..think he has or is facing something like an 18 match ban ..:bitchy:

What was that for? Must have been bad to merit 18 matches!!!

Not a bad appointment if true IMO, possibly being groomed as a successor should CC move on in 2 or 3 years.

Just a pity he'll have so little influence on matchdays for a while if the ban is right enough.

11-11-2010, 10:37 AM
Thats a good appointment, for working with calderwood and for being primed to replace calderwood in two or three years time. Excellent move if true.

11-11-2010, 10:38 AM
What was that for? Must have been bad to merit 18 matches!!!

Not a bad appointment if true IMO, possibly being groomed as a successor should CC move on in 2 or 3 years.

Just a pity he'll have so little influence on matchdays for a while if the ban is right enough.Link ..

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/sfl/2010/11/09/ross-county-boss-derek-adams-touchline-ban-stretched-to-an-incredible-18-games-86908-22703552/

18 in total but it looks like he has served some ...

11-11-2010, 10:39 AM
Thats a good appointment, for working with calderwood and for being primed to replace calderwood in two or three years time. Excellent move if true.

Doubt this very much. Why exactly would he come here as assistant? Why would Rod agree to someone who spends so much time banned?

11-11-2010, 10:43 AM

A very definite statement to make? - or is the winking smiley a clue?

11-11-2010, 10:45 AM
I would say he would be a decent appointment. Likes passing football and I think a bit of a disciplinarian, also teetotal I remember reading. Wonder if his ban would apply to Hibs or only SFL games.

Mac
11-11-2010, 10:47 AM
I would say he would be a decent appointment. Likes passing football and I think a bit of a disciplinarian, also teetotal I remember reading. Wonder if his ban would apply to Hibs or only SFL games.

Clearly not:wink:

11-11-2010, 10:51 AM

An 18 game ban! - he'll be no good to Ross County that's for sure.

Perhaps Rod has arranged a very generous compensation package for us to take him off their hands.

11-11-2010, 10:54 AM

Maybe not when dealing with himself :greengrin

11-11-2010, 10:58 AM
Doubt this very much. Why exactly would he come here as assistant? Why would Rod agree to someone who spends so much time banned?

Maybe he values learning his trade, and wants to learn to walk before he runs at a bigger club. Ross county to hibs is a big jump remember.

11-11-2010, 10:58 AM
No going to be much good on the touchline ..think he has or is facing something like an 18 match ban ..:bitchy:

Heard that on the radio last night. Hopefully will be used as a baseline for Lennon's (what should be) inevitable ban

11-11-2010, 11:01 AM
I can't see that being true.Not very inspiring. He's not proved to be that smart with this season's results wise so far.Its official ..:wink:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101111/hibernian-name-assistant-manager_2262950_2215844

Its on the Official site

millarco
I can't see that being true.Not very inspiring. He's not proved to be that smart with this season's results wise so far.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101111/hibernian-name-assistant-manager_2262950_2215844

Kerrplunk
11-11-2010, 11:03 AM

Also heard this about an hour ago,decent appointment if true i reckon.

11-11-2010, 11:05 AM
Happy with this and CC's comments on why he was appointed.

11-11-2010, 11:06 AM

Take that all back then!

11-11-2010, 11:07 AM
never realised he is only 35 as well, lots of time for him to keep learning and improving!!

11-11-2010, 11:07 AM
Take that all back then!

11-11-2010, 11:08 AM
I can't see that being true.Not very inspiring. He's not proved to be that smart with this season's results wise so far.

We have managed to get as an assistant a guy who managed a very small club to the Scottish cup final last year while playing some excellent football, personally think that is a very inspiring appointment

Perspective
11-11-2010, 11:09 AM
Don't be surprised if George Adams follows as Director of Football.

Would fit the board's criteria and we need someone to drive the Academy and first-team scouting forward.

M11BMO
11-11-2010, 11:10 AM

Happy with this. :agree:

11-11-2010, 11:10 AM
Welcome to Hibernian Derek.:thumbsup:

ancienthibby
11-11-2010, 11:13 AM
We have managed to get as an assistant a guy who managed a very small club to the Scottish cup final last year while playing some excellent football, personally think that is a very inspiring appointment

To keep that feelgood factor moving forward!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPXCNwBu_t8&feature=related
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 11:15 AM
Certainly seems to be a great appointment, with the probability that he may step if when CC moves on in the future....

Tonez
11-11-2010, 11:15 AM
Take that all back then!

:greengrin:thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 11:20 AM

seems to county fans are surprised and a bit gutted!

http://www.overthebridge.info/viewthread.php?tid=9149

Rossco1875
11-11-2010, 11:22 AM
welcome derek :agree:

Purehibee_MYB
11-11-2010, 11:22 AM
What a great appointment... some people were saying he was up for the big job...so to get him as assistant is brilliant

dirtydirk
11-11-2010, 11:23 AM
Great appointment but I thought he would have held out for the Aberdeen Job

11-11-2010, 11:23 AM
Shown a good eye for a player in his time at Dingwall too.

11-11-2010, 11:27 AM
Brilliant appointment, welcome Derek!!

11-11-2010, 11:27 AM
Do SFL bans apply in the SPL?

11-11-2010, 11:30 AM
A Regulator....or should that be Pancho or Hibs Spain must feel silly now :greengrin

11-11-2010, 11:31 AM

Yeah I think he has maybe sussed that it's a big jump and a spell as assistant may help his growth better, smart move by him if he has I reckon.

11-11-2010, 11:36 AM

Excellent choice as assistant

11-11-2010, 11:39 AM
Brewster to follow as coach?

hibee62
11-11-2010, 11:40 AM

Would imagine he may be likely to be their next manager now...

The Gorf
11-11-2010, 11:41 AM
First time poster.
Welcome to the best Edinburgh club Derek. Great appointment.:thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 11:44 AM
Does anyone else find this strange given that his name gets linked with the No 1 job everytime there is an SPL vacancy?

He was being touted as a name for our manager vacancy just a few weeks ago.

Anyone know if he and CC know each other or is this an RP appointment, presumably rubber stamped by CC?

Interesting appointmnet anyway, will be interesting to see how DA makes the transition from being his own man for a few years to being a No 2 though plenty people have done it.

Maybe Petrie thinking ahead to when CC leaves (which he probably will in 18 months - 3 years either due to him not being "Hibs class" or him doing well and being scooped by someone else) and grooming a successor so that he doesn't have to pay out more compo.

Good move for all concerned and Adams must be thinking he has a good chance of getting the no 1 job if he tucks in and does well.

11-11-2010, 11:48 AM

Would be happy with that but I'm sure it would've been settled and announced by now - CC's comments make it sound like the coaching staff is complete now too.

11-11-2010, 11:52 AM
This is an excellent appointment. A sign of ambition by the board to secure such a Manager under contract as number two.

Excellent.

Hibs On Tour
11-11-2010, 11:52 AM
Perfectly happy with that. Another guy on-board with decent experience and a good track record [albeit relatively short]. Think its great also from the point of view of our hopefully putting some form of longer-term consistency of management staff together and I have to say hats off to the board for this because they will have had to shell out to get him.

:agree: well played Hibs and CC!

11-11-2010, 11:54 AM
Does anyone else find this strange given that his name gets linked with the No 1 job everytime there is an SPL vacancy?

He was being touted as a name for our manager vacancy just a few weeks ago.

Anyone know if he and CC know each other or is this an RP appointment, presumably rubber stamped by CC?

Interesting appointmnet anyway, will be interesting to see how DA makes the transition from being his own man for a few years to being a No 2 though plenty people have done it.

Maybe Petrie thinking ahead to when CC leaves (which he probably will in 18 months - 3 years either due to him not being "Hibs class" or him doing well and being scooped by someone else) and grooming a successor so that he doesn't have to pay out more compo.

Good move for all concerned and Adams must be thinking he has a good chance of getting the no 1 job if he tucks in and does well.

I think it's good for both Derek Adams and Hibs. We get an assistant with a decent pedigree as a manager in his own right, albeit at a lower level.

In return he gets a chance to work at a bigger club and add SPL experience to his CV. If CC does well and moves on Adams is in prime position to take over as manager. Add to that if CC stays long term Adams is arguably in a better position to get another SPL job having worked at Hibs rather than if he had to step up straight form the SFL.

Tonez
11-11-2010, 11:54 AM

Brewster will be new the new gaffer. County knew somebody would come knocking the door for Adams so Brewster will step up now.

11-11-2010, 11:57 AM
John Robertsons might be a choice for County. He stays up in Inverness.

Great appt by Hibs. Derek will know the 1st Division inside out and will know all the good players at this level who he believes can make it at Hibs!!!

This is an excellent appointment. A sign of ambition by the board to secure such a Manager under contract as number two.

Excellent.

I think it's good for both Derek Adams and Hibs. We get an assistant with a decent pedigree as a manager in his own right, albeit at a lower level.

In return he gets a chance to work at a bigger club and add SPL experience to his CV. If CC does well and moves on Adams is in prime position to take over as manager. Add to that if CC stays long term Adams is arguably in a better position to get another SPL job having worked at Hibs rather than if he had to step up straight form the SFL.

On the other hand he may want to stay as assistant if he is offered the opportunity for a Championship or EPL job.

Darth Hibbie
11-11-2010, 11:58 AM
What a great appointment... some people were saying he was up for the big job...so to get him as assistant is brilliant

Certainly can't say we have gone for the cheap option this time in appointing the management team.

Welocome to Hibs Derek

11-11-2010, 11:59 AM
Perfectly happy with that. Another guy on-board with decent experience and a good track record [albeit relatively short]. Think its great also from the point of view of our hopefully putting some form of longer-term consistency of management staff together and I have to say hats off to the board for this because they will have had to shell out to get him.

:agree: well played Hibs and CC!

Cant see that being all that significant although, TBF, I don't know long he had left on is contract or how much he was on.

11-11-2010, 12:08 PM
Very happy with this. Welcome to Hibs Derek. :thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 12:10 PM
Do they know each other from their playing days?

11-11-2010, 12:14 PM

Rodders perhaps knows this and is looking for compensation from Aberdeen, a quick buck if ever I saw one.

11-11-2010, 12:15 PM
Do they know each other from their playing days?

I wondered about that, or maybe took their coaching badges at the same course.

11-11-2010, 12:17 PM
Rodders perhaps knows this and is looking for compensation from Aberdeen, a quick buck if ever I saw one.Think Aberdeen will look no further than Mixu when Mcghee goes ...:agree:

11-11-2010, 12:21 PM
At last...a professional looking, sensible management duo who have shown commitment to take their posts within the club and who don't act the clowns.

Great move. Sonner they start the clear out the better (Ibrox win or not)...:thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 12:24 PM

:agree: superb.

He was even getting quoted for the main job, if I recall.

Left a job as #1 to become our #2 - great news...

Mon the Hibs!:thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 12:24 PM
At last...a professional looking, sensible management duo who have shown commitment to take their posts within the club and who don't act the clowns.

Great move. Sonner they start the clear out the better (Ibrox win or not)...:thumbsup:

Who needs a clear out after last night :duck:

11-11-2010, 12:26 PM
Think Aberdeen will look no further than Mixu when Mcghee goes ...:agree:

Not a bad shout, Kenny, and you may well be right, but I think Mixu would be daft to touch them just now.

He seems to have got Killie playing well and he could do with his reputation being enhanced.

I'd also hope he showed Killie a bit of nloyalty for having faith in him after he flopped here.

Eyes peeled!

11-11-2010, 12:28 PM
Mixu has also been linked with the Finland job.

11-11-2010, 12:29 PM
:agree: superb.

He was even getting quoted for the main job, if I recall.

Left a job as #1 to become our #2 - great news...

Mon the Hibs!:thumbsup:

We now have a number one who's our number 2 and a number 2 who's our number 1.

:dizzy:

11-11-2010, 12:34 PM

And we also have a chairman who is our director of football apparently:greengrin

11-11-2010, 12:34 PM
Excellent news. I certainly never thought we would get him as a number 2. Whilst our results have not been great this season , We are a big club within the SPL and other obviously regard us like that.

Well done CC and Rodders

11-11-2010, 12:35 PM

Unlike at Hearts, where everybody is a number 2.

11-11-2010, 12:38 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_Adams

hiblander
11-11-2010, 12:42 PM
I can confirm as a Dingwall man that Derek Adams has travelled to Hibs for the Assistant Manager position.

Gutted for wee team delighted for the Hibs :bye:

jae
11-11-2010, 12:43 PM
He's got job :greengrin

11-11-2010, 12:44 PM
can he bring Gradyne with him please

M11BMO
11-11-2010, 12:45 PM
I can confirm as a Dingwall man that Derek Adams has travelled to Hibs for the Assistant Manager position.

Gutted for wee team delighted for the Hibs :bye:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?197219-Derek-Adams-assistant-manager-(Confirmed)

EskbankHibby
11-11-2010, 12:47 PM
Pretty pleased with this to be honest.

Could be quite good in terms of uncovering a few lower league gems, Adams will know the lower leagues inside out and Calderwood will have in-depth knowledge of Englands Championship/League 1/League 2.

They both clearly share the same personal discipline with regards to fitness and lifestyle, the pair of them look like they could pull on a jersey and give us an hour on the pitch. Hope all the players take that on board.

paxtonhibby
11-11-2010, 12:48 PM

Bugger,you got there first:greengrin

hiblander
County hopefully will recieve a 6 figure sum for his services...feel this is a step down for Derek, he could easily have got the Dons job in a few weeks time.

Good manager though I'm delighted for the Hibs half of me...he can double up as a ready made replacement when you lot hound out CC.

:bye: Derek Adams thanks for the Scottish Cup humping of the Tic our greatest ever achievement :bye:

The clown isnt that long into a 18 game touchline ban!

Great!

can he bring Gradyne with him please
Why?

11-11-2010, 12:50 PM
Does anyone on this board think that Gordon Strachan will end up at Aberdeen?

Happy with our new number 2 though. Welcome Derek no grudges from the cup last year:wink:

11-11-2010, 12:51 PM
County hopefully will recieve a 6 figure sum for his services...feel this is a step down for Derek, he could easily have got the Dons job in a few weeks time.

Good manager though I'm delighted for the Hibs half of me...he can double up as a ready made replacement when you lot hound out CC.

:bye: Derek Adams thanks for the Scottish Cup humping of the Tic our greatest ever achievement :bye:

As a Hibby you must surely realise that Number 2 at Hibs is a more prestigious position than being Number 1 at Aberdeen.

Excellent appointment.

Great!

You're a fan of his then?

crewetollhibee
11-11-2010, 12:52 PM

Beat me to it !! Welcome Derek you got the better of us last season, hopefully you will go one stage further in the Scottish Cup this season. :wink:

hiblander
11-11-2010, 12:52 PM

Great!

He's had 3 bans this season and was due to appeal against the latest one.... so he could be back in the dug out after this weekend until the appeal panel sets a date.

11-11-2010, 12:53 PM
Adams is someone I'd have been perfectly happy to see as our Manager, let alone assistant.

A great appointment for the club - if anything, I'm even happier with this appointment that I was with CC as manager.

11-11-2010, 12:54 PM

Derek will see the hibs move as a step up then ..:wink:

hiblander
11-11-2010, 12:54 PM
As a Hibby you must surely realise that Number 2 at Hibs is a more prestigious position than being Number 1 at Aberdeen.

Yes and No...the Dons job is crap yes, but no Adams is a former Aberdeen man and has already proved himself as a No 1. There was rumours of him getting the Hibs no1 job before CC up here.

11-11-2010, 12:56 PM
disnae seem to have a high opinion of us!

Bigger things? Hibs ?
Don't think the vast majority of Midlothian football supporters would agree.
Hardly a step up.
Lets just hope County can attract a quality manager, like John Robertson.
And then come back to haunt Hibs again, this time in the Scottish Cup Fina

11-11-2010, 12:56 PM
Happy with this. :agree:

:agree: Glad CC's taken his time and gone for a bit of quality! We'll be climbing up the table in nae time! :thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 12:57 PM
Excellent appointment. Good young coach however needs to sort out his own disciplinary record....18 game touchline ban...WTF.

Will hopefully be a successful partnership.

Welcome aboard DA.

11-11-2010, 01:01 PM

Bigger things? Hibs ?
Hardly a step up.
Lets just hope County can attract a quality manager, like John Robertson.And then come back to haunt Hibs again, this time in the Scottish Cup FinaHe is so fat & ugly he even scares the midges away ..:bye:

Serves a purpose i suppose ..:agree:

hiblander
11-11-2010, 01:08 PM

Bigger things? Hibs ?
Hardly a step up.

Not sure what County you've been supporting over the years (maybe Nairn)...but John Robbo is a big no no for us...think along the lines of other Dingwall sons...like maybe Barry Wilson....made a big mistake with Scott Leitch before Adams he's the real reason the Dons are pish. not McGhee.
:bye:

11-11-2010, 01:10 PM
Delighted with this appointment. :applause:

And as someone with experience as the No. 1, Adams will come with a bit more presence and voice about him than the likes of Tommy Craig and Brian Rice, both of whom seemed to be content to act as silent partners in their respective managerial teams at Hibs.

11-11-2010, 01:11 PM
Not sure what County you've been supporting over the years (maybe Nairn)...but John Robbo is a big no no for us...think along the lines of other Dingwall sons...like maybe Barry Wilson....made a big mistake with Scott Leitch before Adams he's the real reason the Dons are pish. not McGhee.

I was quoting a county fan on the overthebridge site, its not me mate.

11-11-2010, 01:13 PM
I think RickyS was quoting from a County website a comment from one of your lot.

You sure are infatuated with that wavey smiley. :greengrin

11-11-2010, 01:17 PM

:greengrin:hilarious

Good appointment, well done Hibs :agree:

Manxhibs
11-11-2010, 01:22 PM
I think I am actually happier with this appointment than I was with Calderwoods appointment, though I think that was due to being whipped into the Clarke frenzy. Our management team is now as strong as its been in my lifetime and if they can produce results like the one last night, I for one will be over the flipping moon.

hiblander
11-11-2010, 01:26 PM
I think RickyS was quoting from a County website a comment from one of your lot.

You sure are infatuated with that wavey smiley. :greengrin

:bye: Yes this is my cheerio for Derek Adams a son of Dingwall, he was immense as a player for us in 1997, and led us to our greatest result 'humping of the tic' his old man George is on the board here.:bye:

overthebridge is mainly made up of teenage boys who blog from school who cant remember the High.Lge days. needless to say i am not a member.

ac1
11-11-2010, 01:27 PM
Good appointment! :agree:

Surprised that he has taken an assistant position after being no.1 at County but I am pleased with the news.

11-11-2010, 01:27 PM
Bloody hell...Hibs fans shock as everyone happy with appointment :greengrin

11-11-2010, 01:31 PM
Strange appointment to be honest, not one that I saw coming. It's not often that you see a manager leaving his post to become an assistant manager.

I don't believe Calderwood and Adams have been together at a club before so it would be interesting to see how Calderwood first came into contact with him.

I hope it works out and hopefully Adams can bring the right sort of attitude to the club and can help identify talent in the lower leagues, particularly the first division.

11-11-2010, 01:31 PM
Except sambajustice. :greengrin

hiblander
11-11-2010, 01:33 PM

This must be a first for this forum ! I mentioned earlier we have appointed a ready made replacement for No 1. when CC gets hounded out by us all ! :wink:

EskbankHibby
11-11-2010, 01:40 PM
Strange appointment to be honest, not one that I saw coming. It's not often that you see a manager leaving his post to become an assistant manager.

I don't believe Calderwood and Adams have been together at a club before so it would be interesting to see how Calderwood first came into contact with him.

I hope it works out and hopefully Adams can bring the right sort of attitude to the club and can help identify talent in the lower leagues, particularly the first division.

Cupids apparently, look out for Tommy Sheridan coming in as kit man after his 3 stretch.:wink:

11-11-2010, 01:46 PM
Cupids apparently, look out for Tommy Sheridan coming in as kit man after his 3 stretch.:wink:Ouch !! :greengrin

11-11-2010, 01:52 PM
I'm pretty sure McLeish tried to sign Adams during his time at ER.

IIRC Adams was part of the great 2002 'Cull Of The Mothers' alongside the likes of Mark Brown, Andy Dow and one Roberto Martinez.

patlowe
11-11-2010, 01:55 PM
What a brilliant appointment. A manager showing huge potential that can hopefully be groomed for the top job while gaining SPL experience.

It's a funny old game. I'd never felt more apathetic after Sunday. Now between this and last night's result, it seems there is genuine cause for optimism!

11-11-2010, 02:33 PM

Excellent.

Indeed. I'm as happy as I could be about the appointment of an assistant.

Also shows up the 'in the know' posters who claimed that Calderwood hadn't appointed an assistant because Rodders was being a tight arse.

davemcbain
11-11-2010, 02:34 PM
County hopefully will recieve a 6 figure sum for his services...

6 figure sum from Rod Petrie???? £103.78 1/2. (I know they're no longer legal currency, but it's a long time since Rod burrowed in his wallet - bound to be one or two still in there).

Looks a good appointment.

KiddA
11-11-2010, 03:20 PM
Great appointment :thumbsup:

Welcome DA

11-11-2010, 03:20 PM

Bigger things? Hibs ?
Hardly a step up.

the guys a closet yam

11-11-2010, 03:22 PM
chuffed with this :agree:

11-11-2010, 03:22 PM
Indeed. I'm as happy as I could be about the appointment of an assistant.

Also shows up the 'in the know' posters who claimed that Calderwood hadn't appointed an assistant because Rodders was being a tight arse.

Maybe our DOF appointed him. :greengrin

11-11-2010, 03:41 PM
the guys a closet yam

"Bigger things? Hibs ?
Hardly a step up.
And then come back to haunt Hibs again, this time in the Scottish Cup Fina"

Not so much a closet Yam as a complete moron.

Robertson was at ICT, wasn't he? hardly a recommendation for the County job.

And anyone who thinks Blubberbelly's a "quality manager" needs his head examined.

11-11-2010, 04:07 PM
What a nice couple of days its been. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 04:16 PM
Cracking appointment:thumbsup: Wonder if we are maybe setting him up for the managers role one day, still lets hope that day is a very long way away yet:cool2:

Tonez
11-11-2010, 04:17 PM
From what i was told Calderwood picked Adams, not RP.

Adams has served most of his ban, My source thinks he has 4 or 5 games left.

Will be interesting to see if Adams singles out any County players in the Jan window.

11-11-2010, 04:25 PM
No alcohol rule at County I believe. Will go down well in the dressing room if implemented

11-11-2010, 04:29 PM
I mentioned earlier we have appointed a ready made replacement for No 1. when CC gets hounded out by us all ![/B] :wink:
No. :cool2:

I believe the phrase you used in post #77 was 'you lot'.

11-11-2010, 04:32 PM
the guys a closet yam

And not a very clever one - if such a thing ever existed that is.

11-11-2010, 04:33 PM
I'm genuinely pleased, i had a sneaky feeling that he was in the running for the top job...more than likely one of the 105 who threw their name in the hat. Had a tenner on him to get it, can't mind what odds though...should've gone e/w :wink:

Calderwood probably wanted someone with a strong knowledge of the Scottish scene to compliment his knowledge from down South.

Clearly really keen to come to Hibs though to come in as assistant, managed a team of decent calibre a promotion and a cup final.

Final thoughts....only 35...does he have boots and can he play up front :rolleyes:

11-11-2010, 04:45 PM
**** knows why a few people can't understand why he's gone from no.1 at RC to no.2 at Hibs - the day that the Ross County manager's job is a bigger job than assistant at the Cabbage is a very sad day indeed.

Oh, and I think his salary may have just improved a bit along with his career opportunities.

11-11-2010, 04:48 PM
Both Manager and assistant are thoughtful and thought provoking appointments which the vast majority agree is a promising pairing. Hopefully they will be successful and hopefully stick around a wee while if they are. Even if success is not immediate then we should give them realistic time to have a root and branch look at the whole ER(and EM) set up.

11-11-2010, 04:49 PM
A very decent appointment, but nice timing from CC as after last night I'd probably have accepted Fred West, Jimmy Hill, Myra Hyndley or Gary MacKay as assistant.

Well, maybe not the last one.

11-11-2010, 04:53 PM
Excellent. Succession planning. The old Liverpool way.

ancienthibby
11-11-2010, 04:54 PM
Cracking appointment:thumbsup: Wonder if we are maybe setting him up for the managers role one day, still lets hope that day is a very long way away yet:cool2:

I would think that's a given!!

RP (oh and his compliant board) have now finally seen the light - and PLANNED FOR THE FUTURE!!

There is now a clear expectation that CC will do the business over the next 2-3 years and go to an EP side, leaving DA well positioned to take the reigns at ER!!

11-11-2010, 04:58 PM
I would think that's a given!!

RP (oh and his compliant board) have now finally seen the light - and PLANNED FOR THE FUTURE!!

There is now a clear expectation that CC will do the business over the next 2-3 years and go to an EP side, leaving DA well positioned to take the reigns at ER!!

Though cup run aside Ross County they have been pretty poor in the league over the last couple of years.

That said when I've seen them they've been organised and showed a great team spirit and togetherness.

Gardyne would be not a bad wee squad player to bring with him.

Hibi
11-11-2010, 05:07 PM
A very decent appointment, but nice timing from CC as after last night I'd probably have accepted Fred West, Jimmy Hill, Myra Hyndley or Gary MacKay as assistant.

Jeez what have the other three done to deserve being named alongside Gary mackay!

11-11-2010, 05:09 PM
Excellent appointment, Adams is a very good young up and coming manager who's cut his teeth with Ross Co, having a very good cup run and was at one point chasing promotion last year. Due to his inexperience, the time spent as No.2 to Calderwood could be a shrewd pece of business by CCC and also Rod, if C does well he may move on to bigger things down south, leaving the door open for Adams to make the step up. :thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 05:14 PM
Very happy with this news as like many have already have said it appears to be a case of thinking about continuity somewhere down the line as well as bringing in another very good coach.We now have a very good backroom staff in place and the manager and his assistant will both make sure next derby match that our team is not so lacking in fight.

After yesterdays win and today's news I feel at last the grey clouds are starting to depart over Easter Road way. First time in ages I am actually looking forward to the Hibs match at the weekend now!

hiblander
11-11-2010, 05:27 PM
No. :cool2:

I believe the phrase you used in post #77 was 'you lot'.

Yes your right i've never slagged any ER manager, I am clearly the educated, model Hibernian supporter.

I believe it was me posting ages ago telling people to sign Don Cowie and one John Rankin...here's a wee video treat of Derek Adams for the County from 1997...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-5qKvP3-aY

maybe one day Hibs might win in the Highlands.

11-11-2010, 05:29 PM

Hibbie_Cameron
11-11-2010, 05:56 PM
Delighted with this news

West Stand View
11-11-2010, 05:58 PM
Sound appointment with an eye to the future. Potential for him to step up to the top job later. Lets face it if CC does a good job other clubs are bound to come calling.

Riordans Boots
11-11-2010, 06:49 PM
Absolutely delighted to hear this news :agree::thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 07:11 PM
Superb appointment.

Welcome to the Club:greengrin

11-11-2010, 07:12 PM
Great appointment :thumbsup: Was very bewildered that he left his managerial post at County for an assistant job but i am not complaining. :agree:

Mark79
11-11-2010, 07:14 PM
Haven't read all the posts but we have employed an assistant manager at Newcastle as a manager and a manager from Ross county as the assistant. Not moaning just not a very common way to do things.

Happy with the appointment as he will have good experience of utilising the academy.

cad
11-11-2010, 07:17 PM
Welcome to The Glorious Deek happy to have to join us .:agree:

11-11-2010, 07:34 PM
Excellent appointment !!!:top marks
Instant credit to CC for obviously keeping tabs on the scottish scene while he was in geordieland. A very strong management team indeed. :thumbsup:

11-11-2010, 07:38 PM
If you can inject the same enthusiasm into Hibs as you did into your Ross County team which ended what was probably our best chance of lifting the Scottish Cup in many years after an 108 year drought, then...eh...why don't you **** off back to Dingwall, Adams!

Just joking (I think) Deek, welcome to that bed of patience, sweetness and forgiveness that is management at Easter Road.

therealgavmac
11-11-2010, 07:56 PM

11-11-2010, 08:02 PM
If you can inject the same enthusiasm into Hibs as you did into your Ross County team which ended what was probably our best chance of lifting the Scottish Cup in many years after an 108 year drought, then...eh...why don't you **** off back to Dingwall, Adams!

Just joking (I think) Deek, welcome to that bed of patience, sweetness and forgiveness that is management at Easter Road.

If this is Calderwood's choice then that is fair enough. If this is the board ensuring that this manager has a ready made replacement then they may be trying to be too smart and just setting up a conflict situation where it would be in Adams intrest for Calderwood to fail.

11-11-2010, 08:25 PM
If this is Calderwood's choice then that is fair enough. If this is the board ensuring that this manager has a ready made replacement then they may be trying to be too smart and just setting up a conflict situation where it would be in Adams intrest for Calderwood to fail.

twisted way of looking at it. something we will never know i guess

11-11-2010, 08:29 PM
Really good appointment, a guy with a sound knowledge of the league and clearly looking for a career with Hibs which can only be good for the club.

In addition glad the Calderwood has someone to rely on, cant have been easy coming into this league knowing very little and having to shoulder everything himself.

Onwards and upwards I hope.

chorley_fm
11-11-2010, 08:55 PM
Welcome aboard Derek

11-11-2010, 09:08 PM
twisted way of looking at it. something we will never know i guess

We will find out in 18 months when they are a roaring success and Man U come calling. If Adams stays or goes with CC that is :greengrin

Personally I think this is about now and not some sort of succession planning. If they do well it will be as a pair and will probably stick together for their career.

11-11-2010, 09:09 PM
Excellent appointment, and as said he seems to have been put in place as Calderwood's successor. Really excited about the next few weeks now. :agree:

11-11-2010, 09:34 PM

Go and watch Calderwood's interview on Hibs TV, CC explains exactly why he picked Adams.

11-11-2010, 09:43 PM

Why the negativity ?
Do you have "inside info " or are you just making it up as you go along.?
Whatever the reason/ whose choice : to all intents and purposes this is a good appointment .
I for one am more than happy to look on it as a Calderwood /Adams pertnership which will move HFC on to better things.

11-11-2010, 09:52 PM
Hibs have done what Hibs normally so. Went about their business quietly and effectively. Appointing Adams blows a lot theories about Rod out the water but still there are people who appear to be convinced that RP is the devil incarnate and has some sort of agenda other than what's best for Hibs or working with and for his manager. There is nothing that can be said or done to change these peoples opinions.

Why the negativity ?
Whatever the reason/ whose choice : to all intents and purposes this is a good appointment .
I for one am more than happy to look on it as a Calderwood /Adams pertnership which will move HFC on to better things.

down the slope
11-11-2010, 09:55 PM
Anyone hear Calderwoods interview tonight, the gist of it was that he seemed to say that when he saw Adams name on the list he did not think he would get him which might suggest that Adams applied for the job along with a few others by the sound of it.

11-11-2010, 09:58 PM
Appointing Adams blows a lot theories about Rod out the water but still there are people who appear to be convinced that RP is the devil incarnate and has some sort of agenda other than what's best for Hibs or working with and for his manager. There is nothing that can be said or done to change these peoples opinions.
I didn't read that from Sahib's post, at all. Read his first line again.

He's simply pointing out that if Adams is an appointment by the Board designed purely to ensure smooth succession planning in future, then such a scenario could lead to issues in the short-term.

It's an interesting observation, but purely academic as it would seem that CC was in fact instrumental in Adams' selection.

11-11-2010, 10:05 PM
Its not Sahib's post in particular Beej its all the other stuff. A lot of it is probably Yam's on the wind up which is fair enough cos we do it to them but we have just made a good appointment and, as you (and others before you) pointed out this appears to be CC's decision and not, as some are alluding to, Rod Petrie's. Managment teams, where they are successful, tend to remain just that, a management team and when CC is successful I would fully expect that he would look to take Adam's with him to his next appointment. If no-one calls then that is bad for all concerned as it means we have another failure.

I didn't read that from Sahib's post, at all. Read his first line again.

He's simply pointing out that if Adams is an appointment by the Board designed purely to ensure smooth succession planning in future, then such a scenario could lead to issues in the short-term.

It's an interesting observation, but purely academic as it would seem that CC was in fact instrumental in Adams' selection.

11-11-2010, 10:05 PM
Very happy with this, not to mention a little taken aback.

Though the Ibrox result was fantastic one swallow doesnt make a summer and there is a lot of fixing still to be done down ER way. With any luck Derek Adams will be a big help to CC in that department.

Welcome to Hibs Derek and best of luck.

Smiggy 7-0
11-11-2010, 10:06 PM
Good appointment IMHO

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

new malkyhib
11-11-2010, 10:12 PM

:faf::top marks

new malkyhib
11-11-2010, 10:17 PM
No alcohol rule at County I believe. Will go down well in the dressing room if implemented

I know Hibs players like a bevvy, but I think the club will draw a line at them bevvying in the dressing room!:greengrin

11-11-2010, 10:38 PM
I rate Derek Adams and wouldn't have been disappointed if he'd got the top job himself if it weren't for the fact we probably had to go down the more experienced route. Think this is a great appointment and I'm pleased as I feel this could make for a very good team.

11-11-2010, 11:36 PM
Why the negativity ?

How can you accuse me of making it up? I am not stating any facts merely posing the question. I am, perhaps, guilty of unhealthy scepticism. :wink:
I always wondered if Blackley had one eye on Stanton's job when he was assistant, for instance. That again was with out a shred of evidence just my cynical nature. If you were the Hibs management, with a quick to fire policy for any failing team boss, a policy that seems to work but is expensive, would you not be tempted to establish an in house system of promotion, thus saving on time and compensation fees etc.

12-11-2010, 06:49 AM
Succession management should be part of any director's remit. I still cannot understand why football is the only business I know that sacks (or mutually agree to part ways in Hibs' case) the assistant manager at the same time as the manager. The whole point of an assistant manager is to take your place when you are not there.

12-11-2010, 07:20 AM
Superb appointment :thumbsup:

Well done Hibs :top marks

WestSideHibby
12-11-2010, 08:38 AM
Pleased with the appointment. V surprised though as...

The only thing CC mentioned previously when talking about an assistant was that he didn't need someone from Scotland, as he had Evans and Stevenson here to provide expert knowledge on the game up here.

Maybe the first few weeks' results have made him rethink that one.

12-11-2010, 09:54 AM
How can you accuse me of making it up? I am not stating any facts merely posing the question. I am, perhaps, guilty of unhealthy scepticism. :wink:
I always wondered if Blackley had one eye on Stanton's job when he was assistant, for instance. That again was with out a shred of evidence just my cynical nature. If you were the Hibs management, with a quick to fire policy for any failing team boss, a policy that seems to work but is expensive, would you not be tempted to establish an in house system of promotion, thus saving on time and compensation fees etc.

Where do I "accuse you" of anything ?
I merely asked a question and commented on your negativity.
My point was Adams hadn't even sat at his desk and you were putting forward "theories" there might be hidden agenda's .
For goodness sake look on the bright side - there has been enough gloom/doom/rumours over the past months
LETS BE POSITIVE and move on

Tonez
12-11-2010, 12:08 PM
Anyone hear Calderwoods interview tonight, the gist of it was that he seemed to say that when he saw Adams name on the list he did not think he would get him which might suggest that Adams applied for the job along with a few others by the sound of it.

Adams did apply for the job. Calderwood picked him:agree:

12-11-2010, 12:21 PM
I couldn't be happier with the way that Hibs and CC have gone about this appointment - often in football you get 'old pals acts' and jobs for the boys, like Craig Levein's ludicrous appointment of Kenny Black to the Scottish National set up.

Here, CC identified someone who impressed him from afar, and then when they met found that they developed an instant affinity. Sounds ideal to me.

GreenPJ
12-11-2010, 01:01 PM

What list? This sounds to me as if RP had already determined the candidates and then CC had his choice of those

12-11-2010, 01:05 PM
What list? This sounds to me as if RP had already determined the candidates and then CC had his choice of those

List of applicants? :wink:

GreenPJ
12-11-2010, 01:09 PM
;2635495']List of applicants? :wink:

Is it normal to advertise for an assistant's job? I had always presumed that Managers select who they want and the Chairman says no or goes and gets said person.

12-11-2010, 01:47 PM

"The former Nottingham Forest manager admitted the name of Adams was one he had only pencilled into his list of possibilities because of fears the 35-year-old would not be tempted from his role as manager in the Highlands"

Doesn't sound like that to me.

calumb
12-11-2010, 02:02 PM
"The former Nottingham Forest manager admitted the name of Adams was one he had only pencilled into his list of possibilities because of fears the 35-year-old would not be tempted from his role as manager in the Highlands"

Doesn't sound like that to me.

but why would CC have him on a list as he admitted he doesnt well know him from adams.
I think he could be a good appointment but have this nagging fear that CC knew that the people he wanted to work with would not do so for the peanuts on offer so uncle rod provided a list of guys who would, and he was hardly going to admit to any this on a hiberniantv interview now was he.

Darth Hibbie
12-11-2010, 02:08 PM
but why would CC have him on a list as he admitted he doesnt well know him from adams.
I think he could be a good appointment but have this nagging fear that CC knew that the people he wanted to work with would not do so for the peanuts on offer so uncle rod provided a list of guys who would, and he was hardly going to admit to any this on a hiberniantv interview now was he.

Anything to back this up other than a feeling.

From the interview I heard CC said that a few folk he had been speaking to suggested Adams but CC did not think that he would be interested in coming to Hibs as his assistant and was surprised when he said he would be.

12-11-2010, 02:12 PM

****'s sake: -

However, he believes the former Aberdeen and Livingston midfielder - who sprang to his attention with County's run to last season's Scottish Cup final, which took them past Hibs in the last eight - will prove a tremendous addition to his backroom team. "The appointment of my assistant is as exciting as the result was on Wednesday night," said Calderwood of Adams, who starts in the role this morning. "It's a terrific appointment, born out of a bit of homework and a few phone calls between certain people. As I gathered the list of people in my head and on a sheet of paper, it was a name I didn't expect to be there, and there were so many times I thought it just wouldn't happen.

"I wrote down a list of candidates that I would like and ticked them off and crossed them off and that was the one that was probably written in pencil, just because of the job he was doing at Ross County and him being a manager. But it progressed and in the meetings we had we went from zero to 100 in next to no time, in terms of me thinking he would be the perfect addition to the coaching staff. I didn't know him at all before, so it's one on reputation, but also a feeling you get when you meet him in the first instance. That's why it has probably moved so quickly.

The story on the official site also implies that we paid compensation for him.

12-11-2010, 02:13 PM
Regardless of the circumstances, Derek Adams is now Assistant Manager of Hibernian and for that that I'm dead chuffed.

Well played to all those who were involved in his appointment and I don't think for a minute that he would have come to ER unless there was an attractive financial package behind it.

12-11-2010, 02:14 PM

As CC states;

"It's a terrific appointment, born out of a bit of homework and a few phone calls between certain people. As I gathered the list of people in my head and on a sheet of paper, it was a name I didn't expect to be there, and there were so many times I thought it just wouldn't happen.

"I wrote down a list of candidates that I would like and ticked them off and crossed them off and that was the one that was probably written in pencil, just because of the job he was doing at Ross County and him being a manager. But it progressed and in the meetings we had we went from zero to 100 in next to no time, in terms of me thinking he would be the perfect addition to the coaching staff. I didn't know him at all before, so it's one on reputation, but also a feeling you get when you meet him in the first instance. That's why it has probably moved so quickly.

"What I think I've seen is a very ambitious man and thought-provoking whenever I've spoken to him, and I know he'll add to the excellence we've got here in Alistair Stevenson and Gareth Evans, who have been a terrific help to me so far. I think we'll very quickly find a way that the group will work well together. I've always thought the backroom staff, which includes the physios, the chief scout, the masseurs, the kit people, they've got to be as much a team and together, and enjoy coming to work as the players.I think this addition really makes us a powerful unit."

of course he may be lying to cover up for RP.

calumb
12-11-2010, 02:23 PM
sorry for offending anyone, perhaps i am being too cynical, just too used to us doing things on the cheap.
As i said though i think he will be a good appointment and i hope he is.

12-11-2010, 02:37 PM
sorry for offending anyone, perhaps i am being too cynical, just too used to us doing things on the cheap.
As i said though i think he will be a good appointment and i hope he is.

What kind of salary is he on if he is on peanuts and could you let us know how you found this information out?