View Full Version : Has Simon Cowell killed musical creation?

11-11-2010, 01:50 AM
The music I like primarily, angry young men writing about their formative years and presenting it with guitars, seems to have died a death.
There's been nothing since 2007. Bands like the pigeon detectives, the view and the arctic monkeys seem to have just fallen out of favour with the masses for some reason...these were the top selling bands of that year, yet they have all released new music and they have all faded away.

I think this "grime" scene has replaced it. This time it's angry young black men who feel they have a voice. Truth is people like tineh tempah (who I love) are just regurgitating the breakbeat sounds that their big brothers laid down 18 years ago. It's as original as Oasis doing the Beatles.

Todays charts are full of Simon Cowells acts which are built on a game show...and the rest of the chart acts are built on the same materialistic concept. You're either singing about getting rich quick or you actually have got rich quick.

I have hope that there will be another View or Arctics but what's the incentive when you're up against it and there's no money at the end of the tunnel?

11-11-2010, 08:19 AM
He has almost killed it, but people will kick back and proper music will come round again. The thing I was wondering was though, are music companies just not signing proper bands just now, because they must still be out there?

11-11-2010, 08:26 AM
The death of the guitar band has been predicted for decades now. It's cyclical though isn't it, a few lean years then several groups appear out of nowhere. Same as it ever was...............as somebody once sang.

11-11-2010, 08:30 AM
I have no such fears.

Creativity, particularly musical, comes from rebellion. Rock n roll was a protest against the big bands and bobby-soxers, punk was rebellion against prog-rock, and the 90's guitar bands against the 80's electronica. There are many more examples, I'm sure.

Yes, it might be bland just now, but disaffection is growing, and that's where the new stuff will happen. As long as 6 Music is around, as long as the likes of Tom Ravenscroft fly the flag of his dad, there will be room for innovation.

11-11-2010, 03:52 PM
I find this OP strange.

With the internet there is access to a much wider range of music pretty much instantly than there has ever been before.

Charts are only there to reflect what is selling the most, what sells the most depends on the demographics of those buying it, it certainly doesn't represent the 'health' of music as a whole.

As stated in the OP the artic monkeys etc are still producing music, if you like it go and get it..I wouldn't worry if it is in the charts or not!

As for Cowell, he's just a face of a music industry that has manipulated the market for years...before it was faceless execs at EMI, Sony etc now it's Cowell but just like Pete Waterman they may be succesful in making 'hits' and getting songs in the charts but they in no way prevent 'real' music from being made.

And as for new music regurgitating the sounds of the past...is this argument not made every generation??

HibsMax
11-11-2010, 05:29 PM
Music survived Stock, Aitken and Waterman so I think the phoenix will rise again.

11-11-2010, 08:14 PM
As has been posted, I think the internet has revolutionised music as it has given bands/individuals an outlet for their work.

Internet radio is superb and I bow down before Spotify and Youtube for giving access to all sorts of wonderful 'tunes'.

Having said all that, the sooner X Factor is killed off the better.

11-11-2010, 08:24 PM
Who the hell buys chart music? Seriously when was the last time U bought a single? Hell I hardly ever buy music. In fact a few of the bands Im into give their stuff away for free, yes free.

HibsMax
11-11-2010, 09:08 PM
Who the hell buys chart music? Seriously when was the last time U bought a single? Hell I hardly ever buy music. In fact a few of the bands Im into give their stuff away for free, yes free.

Good point. I mostly listen to satellite radio when in the car and CDs when I am at home. I don't buy singles, just albums.

11-11-2010, 10:21 PM
Tbh I pretty much just listen to The Brian Jonestown Massacre. Not everyones cup of tea I agree but IMO some of the best music I have ever listened to. Plus 16+ albums worth of stuff and He's been uploading demos for his new stuff to youtube.

Imagine Simon Cowell giving away free stuff eh.

Green Mikey
12-11-2010, 11:23 AM
The music I like primarily, angry young men writing about their formative years and presenting it with guitars, seems to have died a death.
There's been nothing since 2007. Bands like the pigeon detectives, the view and the arctic monkeys seem to have just fallen out of favour with the masses for some reason...these were the top selling bands of that year, yet they have all released new music and they have all faded away.

I think this "grime" scene has replaced it. This time it's angry young black men who feel they have a voice. Truth is people like tineh tempah (who I love) are just regurgitating the breakbeat sounds that their big brothers laid down 18 years ago. It's as original as Oasis doing the Beatles.

Todays charts are full of Simon Cowells acts which are built on a game show...and the rest of the chart acts are built on the same materialistic concept. You're either singing about getting rich quick or you actually have got rich quick.

I have hope that there will be another View or Arctics but what's the incentive when you're up against it and there's no money at the end of the tunnel?

The View, Pigeon Detectives and Artic Monkeys aexist on the commercial end of the guitar music spectrum, they represent the very few guitar bands actually make it into the charts. If you look to places other than the charts you will find that the guitar/indie/alternative music scene is thriving.

As SiMar said the charts are a measure of what music sells the most not what music is actually being made. The internet, downloading (legal or otherwise) and Spotify has opened up such a large amount of music to me that I have no interest in the charts and have no need for them.

I would recomend these two websites as a starting place for finding out about good non-chart music.

http://drownedinsound.com/

http://pitchfork.com/

12-11-2010, 12:00 PM

Ahh, Mister LostDug...good to hear from ye.

Aws the bawbag Cowell has killed is the expectations and dreams of the muppets he represents but that was aw pish, fake and plastic music anyway.

The music ye seek, is oot there trust me. There's bands a plenty firing oot great music every day of the week. There's also plenty ***** bands firing out even ****ter music. But, thats life. The point is tho, bad musicians and bad venues, dirty wee ****ty pubs with crap transistor amps and dodgy fake copy guitars aside, the MUSIC, the songs and the message and POINT is aw real.

Ye just need to get yersel doon the town one crappy wet, Tuesday night. Pick a ****hole of a bar and see some real music. The downsides are above. The upsides is, ye see real music, as the Almighty above intended before some greedy music producer ******* artificialised it and turned into what is commonly known as "Shiit". Seek it, they have built it, ye must come.

Consider the venues at which you pass all the time....anywhere with a 13a plug, a few lights, a beer tap and a "live music" licence and you'll find those angry young men with guitars....x every major city and town across the country mate.

Alternatively, seek yer pleasure on yon t'internet. MySpace is veritably full of teh stuff.

This consultation and free advice will cost you £2389045734857 or, a tin of Tennents Super and signed picture of Pamela Anderson in the buff ...bargain, at half the price :greengrin

ENDOF

12-11-2010, 12:04 PM
The death of the guitar band has been predicted for decades now. It's cyclical though isn't it, a few lean years then several groups appear out of nowhere. Same as it ever was...............as somebody once sang.

Rumours of the death of guitar music have been greatly exaggerated since some twat at Decca told John Lennon "guitar music was on the way" out in 1962 and also told the Beatles they "have no future in show business".

Hmm. Bet Decca are delighted they told them to **** off now eh :devil:

ENDOF :thumbsup:

Twa Cairpets
12-11-2010, 03:06 PM
Alll Cowell and co have done is commercialise what appeals to the mass populace.

And thats not a bad thing in and of itself. To rubbish everything that has ever come out of the X-Factor as commercial pap is ridiculous. Just because it doesnt appeal to you doesnt mean it is inherently valueless or in some way malignant.

This year, the lad Matt Cardle has an exceptional voice - and thats a talent that would almost certainly not have been unearthed and given a platform had it not been for the show. Lots of it is very clearly aimed at teen girls - The indefatigably annoying Jedward, for example or the boy who won it last year, but that doesnt mean that Leona Lewis, for instance, doesnt have a good voice.

The type of bands you like im sure are out there - they may not be commercial as succesful as previously, but that is as much, as has been said elsewhere, down to the way music is sold now.

13-11-2010, 08:14 AM
If he has killed it he should swing. I'd happily do the job myself and I'd have a good night's sleep after it.

13-11-2010, 08:28 AM
Alll Cowell and co have done is commercialise what appeals to the mass populace.

And thats not a bad thing in and of itself. To rubbish everything that has ever come out of the X-Factor as commercial pap is ridiculous. Just because it doesnt appeal to you doesnt mean it is inherently valueless or in some way malignant.

This year, the lad Matt Cardle has an exceptional voice - and thats a talent that would almost certainly not have been unearthed and given a platform had it not been for the show. Lots of it is very clearly aimed at teen girls - The indefatigably annoying Jedward, for example or the boy who won it last year, but that doesnt mean that Leona Lewis, for instance, doesnt have a good voice.

The type of bands you like im sure are out there - they may not be commercial as succesful as previously, but that is as much, as has been said elsewhere, down to the way music is sold now.

Such a great word ! :greengrin

13-11-2010, 09:26 AM
Let's face it, the charts are not what they used to be. Getting "Number One" is no longer such a big thing, and it's by no means any stamp of quality. That said, I hate Simon Cowell, I hate the X Factor, I hate Alexandra Burke, I hate the fact she destroyed "Hallelujah" in the name of "music". But then, I remember the only people who really like plastic rubbish like JLS, the Spice Girls, Take That etc are usually daft teenagers. I then also remember the music industry has been this way for years now ever since the first manufactured bands appeared, early 90's easily.

Mixu62
14-11-2010, 10:56 PM
Slightly off-topic but I saw a good article recently blaming the spread of free/cheap music on-line as a contributary cause of the death of original or experimental music. Record companies can no longer afford to take a risk on developing new acts, or new sounds and so what you get is more and more of the same. Battle of the blands they called it. Intersting point of view that those who blamed the corporate nobodies for killing music are themselves partly to blame. don't think Simon Cowell is to solely to blame, but he's another nail in the coffin.

17-11-2010, 02:21 AM
sorry but i dont get all this stuff about the x factor killing off music, out of all the people who go on this show how many of them do you actually hear about and how many of them have music in the charts? maybe a half dozen at most. there are plenty of ways for people to listen to the type of music they are into so why moan about the x factor or simon cowell? how is this show any different to having an open audition?

17-11-2010, 02:51 AM
I am sure I heard DCThomsons " The Broons" were in the album charts!!!!!! Yup Music ain't what it used to be.
I am pretty sure Cowell can't be blamed fir it either.

17-11-2010, 07:13 AM
]I am sure I heard DCThomsons " The Broons" were in the album charts!!!!!![/B] Yup Music ain't what it used to be.
I am pretty sure Cowell can't be blamed fir it either.

I can't wait to see Maggie Broon live.

18-11-2010, 12:02 PM
...but that doesnt mean that Leona Lewis, for instance, doesnt have a good voice.

Perhaps. She didn'y need to use it to ruin two ****ing great songs namely, Stop Crying Your Heart Out and Run. Bichrist, if they were deid, messrs Gallagher and Lightbody would be turning in their graves.

Actually, on hearing her rendition of those songs, they might very well wish they were temporarily unable to hear for the three minutes of over produced pash that was her "cover" of the songs.

That said, I would :greengrin

27-11-2010, 01:07 AM
Cowell isn't to blame. He's just an entrepreneur spoon-feeding the bemused masses who never go out, or at least never anywhere interesting, the same sort of bland trash they've always listened too, but with a more effective global marketing machine at his disposal.

Good music is always going to be out there, people just have to work a little harder to find it. And that might not be a bad thing.

Devon Hibee
27-11-2010, 07:12 AM
Personally I can not stand X Factor and all that egotistical idiots that call themselves judges on there too. However, its all about supply and demand and as much as I hate the show it does cater to a very large audience and has produced a lot of singers that have had some success (some more than others) over the last 6 years.

My blame lies with the wishy washy, bland music scene that dominates bands at the moment...step forward Scouting for Girls.:bitchy:

27-11-2010, 08:06 AM

It's as original as Oasis doing the Beatles.

Isn't this a wee bit limiting in terms of scope?-As to Cowell, who cares! There's so much other great music out there that has nothing to do with guitars or angry young men: does that put it all in the same bracket as Cowell, i.e. worthless or - should you perhaps widen your horizons? Are you - by any chance - an angry young man in a guitar band?:greengrin

Anyway, Slade did the Beatles better than Oasis in my view! :agree:

Green Mikey
27-11-2010, 09:01 AM
Cowell isn't to blame. He's just an entrepreneur spoon-feeding the bemused masses who never go out, or at least never anywhere interesting, the same sort of bland trash they've always listened too, but with a more effective global marketing machine at his disposal.

Good music is always going to be out there, people just have to work a little harder to find it. And that might not be a bad thing.

I don't think that good non-chart music is harder to find these days, actually I think the complete opposite. The internet has opened up the alternative music scene to a global audience through review a variety of sources such as review sites, youtube, myspace and downloading. Good music is easier to find these days and I think that is a good thing:wink:

27-11-2010, 11:47 AM
Simply put, YES.

27-11-2010, 11:53 AM
I can't wait to see Maggie Broon live.

I've heard she's a bit one-dimensional.