View Full Version : Michael Hart

09-11-2010, 09:34 AM
I've not seen any posts about this yet so apologies if I've missed them.

Apart from running ineffectively (and slowly) alongside Templeton, without even an attempt at a tackle for the first goal, and then going to sleep and standing off his man at the second, did he do anything else notable during the game?

Folk are so keen to jump on the backs of their usual targets they miss the blindingly obvious.

35 seconds and 2 mins 25. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/9165253.stm)

I wouldn't be surprised if MH is dropped tomorrow and Chris Hogg comes in.

09-11-2010, 09:40 AM
Hart is a million times better than hogg at right back. in fact, christie brown its better than hogg at right back.

I've lot of time for hogg but he doesn't warrant a place in the defence just now on his form over the last season or so.

09-11-2010, 09:42 AM
Even his throw-in at 1:45 nearly cost us a goal!

We'd be better with Weatherspoon there.

I don't want Hogg anywhere near the team, but I'd put up with him at CH.

09-11-2010, 09:44 AM

Apart from running ineffectively (and slowly) alongside Templeton, without even an attempt at a tackle for the first goal, and then going to sleep and standing off his man at the second, did he do anything else notable during the game?

Folk are so keen to jump on the backs of their usual targets they miss the blindingly obvious.

35 seconds and 2 mins 25. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/9165253.stm)

Both as bad as each other? but i agree about Sunday.

How about the Liam Miller escort before he gives up completely for the first!!
Do you think he'll still be playing?

09-11-2010, 09:45 AM

Got to be said I was amazed by how poorly he played given I think he has done ok in the other games he has played. I think Miller and Galbraith were equally culpable for the first goal only compounded by Bamba allowing the guy inside when even u10 teams are taught to show a forward out. A truly kamikaze goal at a stage we were doing ok.

Second goal was as bad especially Hart who should have took control and cleared the ball. In saying that no way would I put Hogg in for him as actually think Hart is a decent full back and hope it was a one off.

09-11-2010, 09:47 AM
Just when my mood was lifting someone goes and mentions Chris Hogg at right back :bitchy::boo hoo:

Anne Widdecombe would be more mobile.

09-11-2010, 10:04 AM
Hart's been a major disappointment. I was happy to see him sign for us but he's yet another who seems to have lost any pace he had. He's nothing more than a mid to bottom SPL player.

09-11-2010, 10:05 AM
Hart's been a major disappointment. I was happy to see him sign for us but he's yet another who seems to have lost any pace he had. He's nothing more than a mid to bottom SPL player.

Said that during the early part of the match on Sunday myself! :agree:

09-11-2010, 01:06 PM
Hart was absolutely shocking on sunday and had Hogg played the same part in the yams goals as hart did we'd have a 7 page slaughtering thread.

09-11-2010, 01:14 PM
It's still fairly early days I suppose ( he's been out injured since he arrived) but I've got admit I'm more than a bit disappointed with his form so far.

I remember the guy from his Aberdeen days when he was a brilliant full back with bags of pace but injuries seem to have taken their toll as he looks a bit of a carthorse right now.

09-11-2010, 01:16 PM
I've been disappointed by what I've seen of Hart. A poor signing thus far.

09-11-2010, 01:25 PM

As others have stated there would be a 7 page thread for Hogg if he played like that, perhaps it's not just the Refs that need to take a look at themselves .. :rolleyes:

We have a new manager and I feel everyone should get a clean slate!! Hogg included... I couldn't make the game as my younger son was playing but we did manage to see it on the box.. Typical dad giving son the do's & don'ts of defending. Has to be said the MH and SB were nowhere to be seen on BOTH occasions.. Very poor defending indeed.. I'd give Hogg a run :cool2:

09-11-2010, 02:16 PM
I don't agree that Hart is a bad signing, and I think he's acquited himself quite well in the games he's played, apart from the Hearts game. And just to be controversial I would have blamed Hanlon for the second goal, not him.

09-11-2010, 02:43 PM
I don't agree that Hart is a bad signing, and I think he's acquited himself quite well in the games he's played, apart from the Hearts game.

I think that as well though he was awful on Sunday pretty much from the first minute, sclaffing the ball out the park etc. Maybe he isnt quite up to speed yet after his hamstring problems certainly hope he can get back up to speed soon. Talk of Hogg replacing him at right back is a few steps too far IMO.

09-11-2010, 02:50 PM
I don't agree that Hart is a bad signing, and I think he's acquited himself quite well in the games he's played, apart from the Hearts game. And just to be controversial I would have blamed Hanlon for the second goal, not him.

Hanlon has to shoulder some of the blame, but Hart was woeful defending at thier 2nd goal. If I was going to blame someone (and I am) then it's Hart. He's slow, not just in terms of pace but slow in his reaction time. That's been evident since the game against Maribor, and I said so at the time. That said he's not a terrible player by any means and there are much bigger problems to address with the team than the RB situation.

09-11-2010, 02:53 PM
Had a poor game against Hearts but then who didn't?

I'd have him at right back before Hogg all day long

09-11-2010, 02:55 PM

Totally.

09-11-2010, 03:16 PM
Totally.

Yep...no doubt about that.

09-11-2010, 03:23 PM
Hanlon has to shoulder some of the blame, but Hart was woeful defending at thier 2nd goal. If I was going to blame someone (and I am) then it's Hart. He's slow, not just in terms of pace but slow in his reaction time. That's been evident since the game against Maribor, and I said so at the time. That said he's not a terrible player by any means and there are much bigger problems to address with the team than the RB situation.

No he doesn't :confused: He had his man and had to cover for Bamba and Hart who were both in no-mans-land ... :cool2:

09-11-2010, 04:24 PM
hes poor. i cant remember seeing him make a decent tackle or take the ball past someone and put a decent cross in yet.

09-11-2010, 04:36 PM
Got to be said I was amazed by how poorly he played given I think he has done ok in the other games he has played. I think Miller and Galbraith were equally culpable for the first goal only compounded by Bamba allowing the guy inside when even u10 teams are taught to show a forward out. A truly kamikaze goal at a stage we were doing ok.

Second goal was as bad especially Hart who should have took control and cleared the ball. In saying that no way would I put Hogg in for him as actually think Hart is a decent full back and hope it was a one off.

Second goal Bamba equally as culpable as Kyle gets a free header with Bamba 3 or 4 yards away

09-11-2010, 04:37 PM
when is mccann due back?

09-11-2010, 04:43 PM
No he doesn't :confused: He had his man and had to cover for Bamba and Hart who were both in no-mans-land ... :cool2:

Yip. Hanlon had moved over because Bamba had gone walkabout. Hanlon then moved towards Templeton as Hart was completely floundering and that left Elliott open. I watched Hart for a wee while nipping at Hanlon and it was totally unwarranted. IMHO.

09-11-2010, 04:50 PM
Yip. Hanlon had moved over because Bamba had gone walkabout. Hanlon then moved towards Templeton as Hart was completely floundering and that left Elliott open. I watched Hart for a wee while nipping at Hanlon and it was totally unwarranted. IMHO.

Bamba had gone walkabout? Granted he wasn't nearly close enough to Kyle but he hadn't gone walkabout, he was chasing Kyles shadow, neither Templeton or Elliot was "his man".

Hanlons should have been watching Elliot but it's more his lack of conviction in getting into Templeton, when he had to cover for Harts lack of defending in the situation, that I think means he has to take some of the responsibility for them getting the 2nd goal. Has to be far more aggresive and pro-active in that situation. Much like the 5 of them who let Templeton saunter past them for the 1st.

09-11-2010, 04:55 PM
Templeton was by Hart who was wrongside. Hanlon was exactly where he should have been at that point. Hanlon moved towards Templeton and it was more a nick than a pass, but that left Elliott free. He finished well unfortunately.
Hart (and Bamba) are senior pro's and should have done better. Not seen enough of Grounds to pass judgement yet.

I cant for the life of me understand why Templeton wasnt cut in half 10 yards outside the box. I believe it was six players he "sauntered" past. Messi my arse.

Bamba had gone walkabout? Granted he wasn't nearly close enough to Kyle but he hadn't gone walkabout, he was chasing Kyles shadow, neither Templeton or Elliot was "his man".

Hanlons should have been watching Elliot but it's more his lack of conviction in getting into Templeton, when he had to cover for Harts lack of defending in the situation, that I think means he has to take some of the responsibility for them getting the 2nd goal. Has to be far more aggresive and pro-active in that situation. Much like the 5 of them who let Templeton saunter past them for the 1st.

09-11-2010, 04:57 PM
hes poor. i cant remember seeing him make a decent tackle or take the ball past someone and put a decent cross in yet.

You need to watch him more closely then :wink:

son of haggart
09-11-2010, 05:03 PM
Templeton was by Hart who was wrongside. Hanlon was exactly where he should have been at that point. Hanlon moved towards Templeton and it was more a nick than a pass, but that left Elliott free. He finished well unfortunately.
Hart (and Bamba) are senior pro's and should have done better. Not seen enough of Grounds to pass judgement yet.

I cant for the life of me understand why Templeton wasnt cut in half 10 yards outside the box. I believe it was six players he "sauntered" past. Messi my arse.

He's no Messi for sure, but he has done this sort of run 4 or 5 times this season. He has a low centre of gravity and quick feet - like his dad Henry Templeton who older fans may remember.

He's quite hard to tackle, but a more defensively savvy team would have blocked him for a foul..

09-11-2010, 05:05 PM
when is mccann due back?
January.

09-11-2010, 05:11 PM
You need to watch him more closely then :wink:

maybe so.when did either of these things happen?

Long suffering
09-11-2010, 06:04 PM
I honestly really dont understand the critism of hart, I honestly think he has proven himself to be a very solid good addition to the team. Aside for the fact that he has lost a yard of pace and perhaps he could offer more going forward, people should look at his defensive contributions. I have rarely evr seen him beaten and as adefender hes been as good as i expected. Maybe its just me however :greengrin

09-11-2010, 06:07 PM
Hart was appalling on Sunday

09-11-2010, 07:30 PM
I honestly really dont understand the critism of hart, I honestly think he has proven himself to be a very solid good addition to the team. Aside for the fact that he has lost a yard of pace and perhaps he could offer more going forward, people should look at his defensive contributions. I have rarely evr seen him beaten and as adefender hes been as good as i expected. Maybe its just me however :greengrin

I wasnt really having a go at Hart but more defending Hanlon (or trying to).

The bottom line is we were very poor as a unit on Sunday.

09-11-2010, 08:04 PM
He's nothing more than a mid to bottom SPL player.

If hes that good why is he playng for us:confused:

Ferryhibby
09-11-2010, 08:13 PM
I see hes taken over the roll of spokesman from rankin and previously brian kerr all who dont do it on the pitch but have loads to say

jonny
09-11-2010, 08:20 PM

It's not just you. I agree. I've been to most games this season home and away and reckon Hart has been one of our better performers over the piece.
No defending his performance on Sunday but thats the first time I've seen him play second best to a winger so far.
Good player IMO.

09-11-2010, 10:00 PM

Hanlon didnt do much wrong at the 2nd goal - Hanlon was the spare man at the back - when Hart switched off allowing Templeton to get the ball, Hanlon did as he should have and shuffled over towards him.

The fact that the ball ended up with Elliott was Grounds' fault as Grounds completely switched off and allowed Elliott to just wander in unmarked.

09-11-2010, 11:01 PM
Hanlon didnt do much wrong at the 2nd goal - Hanlon was the spare man at the back - when Hart switched off allowing Templeton to get the ball, Hanlon did as he should have and shuffled over towards him.

The fact that the ball ended up with Elliott was Grounds' fault as Grounds completely switched off and allowed Elliott to just wander in unmarked.

I think we have pretty much covered it now ... :cool2:

That's the back four all to blame .. :greengrin

09-11-2010, 11:06 PM

I am not sure if that means he has joined the right club or possibly one to lowly for his abilities.

09-11-2010, 11:49 PM
I think we have pretty much covered it now ... :cool2:

That's the back four all to blame .. :greengrin

All of them, apart from Hanlon

AuldManDisguise
10-11-2010, 01:15 AM

Perfectly adequate right back for this league. Feel he's not getting enough cover from up ahead and maybe having to cover for the CHs at times.

I think he has a part to play in our revival. :thumbsup:

10-11-2010, 06:56 AM
He's poor and was just as bad at Tannadeechee!

Get McCann back! :grr:

10-11-2010, 01:24 PM
I disagree with the majority, I don't think that Hart has the qualities we need for that position. In fact I'd go as far as saying he is the softest right back we have had for a while, and maybe the least talented. IMO he is one of the problems, but it is easier to say who isn't one of the problems these days as they all seem to be weak.

10-11-2010, 01:26 PM
I am not sure if that means he has joined the right club or possibly one to lowly for his abilities.

I think what it means is that players like him and of his standard is the reason why we are in this position.

crash
18-12-2010, 06:33 PM
It's not just you. I agree. I've been to most games this season home and away and reckon Hart has been one of our better performers over the piece.
No defending his performance on Sunday but thats the first time I've seen him play second best to a winger so far.
Good player IMO.

Where you at Killie today. Never got close to his opponent, stands off and lets the crosses come in, resulting in another two goals lost. Right Back is a real weakness which other teams have exploited. I hope CC addresses this in January.

18-12-2010, 07:54 PM
It depends what you want. Hart is usually solid, but has no pace and won't overlap like modern fullback usually is asked to. I'd like a new signing in there, even to give us a more attacking option.

18-12-2010, 07:59 PM
Where you at Killie today. Never got close to his opponent, stands off and lets the crosses come in, resulting in another two goals lost. Right Back is a real weakness which other teams have exploited. I hope CC addresses this in January.

For 3 years.

18-12-2010, 08:19 PM
For 3 years.

and the rest!

Cabbage1875
18-12-2010, 10:04 PM
Michael Hart was absolutely torrid today. Closely followed by his full back colleague Jonathan Grounds who is a terrible footballer. His distribution very rarely finds a green jersey and his defending is woeful at best.

Really concerned by our current predicament and I feel that the next two games will shape our season.

delbert
18-12-2010, 10:41 PM
Mate, our season already has a shape - ever seen a pear ?

18-12-2010, 11:36 PM
Hart looked scared to run on the frosty parks of the pitch...which sadly was his territory :boo hoo:

cad
19-12-2010, 09:13 AM
I thought Hart was very good bit of business for Hibs sadly he isn't up to much along with the rest .
Ive come to the conclusion, that if anybody with a bit of pedigree is even interested in coming to Hibs we should avoid him like the plague ,as its been proven over the last few years we've been sold more pups than Doffos, the amount of cash we spend on dross is scary .

Brads Laing
19-12-2010, 10:29 AM
There have been a lot of people on this website quick to jump on the back of Hart, but the real problem is that we have no right midfielder. How can Hart find a pass when there is no-one to pass to. We have had this problem for years now and thats what needs to be sorted, not right back.

19-12-2010, 10:41 AM
Michael Hart is pish. No debate required - pure pish.

If anyone cannae see this they need specs!

Cabbage1875
19-12-2010, 11:36 AM
There have been a lot of people on this website quick to jump on the back of Hart, but the real problem is that we have no right midfielder. How can Hart find a pass when there is no-one to pass to. We have had this problem for years now and thats what needs to be sorted, not right back.

You definitely have a point regarding the shape of the team in wide areas especially but Michael Hart is just so slow, struggles to find team mates with passes and I believe that teams are actually targeting him as a weak link.

cad
19-12-2010, 12:16 PM

You may have a point on the out ball , but its his defending, players waltzing past him if as hes not theyre positional sense leaves an awful lot to be desired ,
all in all a bad buy IMO .
TBH I dont rate any of our squad , just very average SPL players ,give Deek a better engine and hes long gone.

Littlest Hobo
19-12-2010, 01:01 PM
Just saw the goals, Hart and Murray were awful. :boo hoo:

19-12-2010, 04:40 PM

:agree: buy if Nish goes in the transfer window as some are suggesting we will need a replacement target ? :offski:

19-12-2010, 11:02 PM
What the hell was he eating down at Preston?? Lead pies with coal shavings?? He certainly runs like he's carrying some massive weight. Slower then a proverbial week in jail, and he used to be rapid at Aberdeen.

Losing his man so very spectacularly for Killie's 1st goal was amateur stuff. Thing is, he's the only - thereotically - specialist RB we have.

I'd sooner we dosed up James May on ketamine and put him at RB than playing Hogg there, so we're stuck with Hart for the time being I guess.

19-12-2010, 11:04 PM
No wonder Preston let Hart leave. He is nowhere near as good as he was during his Aberdeen days. I remember he had a tremendous amount of pace during his time at Aberdeen and was one of the only players that could keep up with Sproule for 90 mins. Sadly it looks as if he has lost that pace due to a terrible injury he picked up during his time down south.

19-12-2010, 11:07 PM
No wonder Preston let Hart leave. He is nowhere near as good as he was during his Aberdeen days. I remember he had a tremendous amount of pace during his time at Aberdeen and was one of the only players that could keep up with Sproule for 90 mins. Sadly it looks as if he has lost that pace due to a terrible injury he picked up during his time down south.

Can Kevin McCann seriously be a worse bet than this numpty?

19-12-2010, 11:31 PM
I think Hart and Dickoh are equally culpable for both goals and Murray stops running for their 2nd as well!

Again, really shocking, basic defensive errors that would embarass a Sunday amateur team.

I though Calderwood was going to make us a harder team to beat - i doubt it on this evidence!

20-12-2010, 09:44 AM
McCann must be better than Hart surely....?

Skanko79
20-12-2010, 09:48 AM
I would love to find the thread where i was lambasted for slating this chump when he signed. guys a complete and utter diddy, always has been, always will be. No pace, no vision, always late for challenges, always out of position. Hope Caldo gets shot of him.