View Full Version : George Galloway for the Scottish Parliament??

ancienthibby
08-11-2010, 04:33 PM
Would certainly waken up some of the deadwood!

Hibbie_Cameron
08-11-2010, 04:50 PM
Got to agree with you, hope he gets in.

First minister questions would become must watch tv:greengrin

08-11-2010, 05:10 PM
Make him first minister then we'd find out if he really is full of pish.

08-11-2010, 05:40 PM
Pure Panto. waste of a member.

08-11-2010, 06:10 PM
Would certainly waken up some of the deadwood!

Great news ! I can't wait! :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
08-11-2010, 06:14 PM
Arrogant, repellant self-publicist.

His sole method of debate is to bluster with conviction.

The idea of him getting anywhere government up here, frankly, dismays me.

hibsdaft
08-11-2010, 07:03 PM

a typical politician then.

08-11-2010, 08:16 PM
I like George Galloway.

khib70
08-11-2010, 08:56 PM

The idea of him getting anywhere government up here, frankly, dismays me.
Repulsive egotistical bawbag. Well found out down south, and won't get anywhere up here.

This tube and his shady coalition of Trotskyists and Islamists are lost deposit fodder,thank God.

08-11-2010, 11:35 PM
Repulsive egotistical bawbag. Well found out down south, and won't get anywhere up here.

This tube and his shady coalition of Trotskyists and Islamists are lost deposit fodder,thank God.

If he is elected to the Scottish Parliament then there is something fundamentally wrong with either the electoral system or the electorate. That is all.

09-11-2010, 07:46 AM
If he is elected to the Scottish Parliament then there is something fundamentally wrong with either the electoral system or the electorate. That is all.

I like a representative with a penchant for neologisms, and his indefatigability was brammer.

khib70
09-11-2010, 08:16 AM
I like a representative with a penchant for neologisms, and his indefatigability was brammer.
His mangling of the language can be quite amusing, I grant you. But do we really want a representative whose judgement extends to saluting the "indefatigability" of someone who was heavily defeated shortly afterwards?

09-11-2010, 08:24 AM
I like George Galloway.

I dinnae.

09-11-2010, 11:14 AM
I dinnae.

That's admirably to the point.

09-11-2010, 05:32 PM

I like a poster whose indefatigable penchant for neologisms leads him to the use of the word brammer. :greengrin

09-11-2010, 09:29 PM
Make him first minister then we'd find out if he really is full of pish.

We know that already. Does he still think that "the disappearance of the Soviet Union is the biggest catastrophe of my life"?

09-11-2010, 09:31 PM
We know that already. Does he still think that "the disappearance of the Soviet Union is the biggest catastrophe of my life"?

Depends if he said it before or after his Celebrity Big Brother appearance.

09-11-2010, 09:38 PM

09-11-2010, 09:44 PM
I like a poster whose indefatigable penchant for neologisms leads him to the use of the word brammer. :greengrin

Oh you lickspittle.

09-11-2010, 09:59 PM

khib70
10-11-2010, 08:53 AM
Probably. Although the disappearance of his old pal Saddam probably comes close.

He's not likely to get much sympathy from the 400 million odd people for whom the disappearance of the Soviet Union was the beginning of their lives.

I'm surprised he's noticed these things, having spent the last thirty years a fair way up his own rectum.

Expecting Rain
10-11-2010, 10:56 AM
Must admit when George is on question time it is highly entertaining and keeps the others on their toes, irrespective of his views or political persuasions i don`t think he is a fool and he certainly shows a lot of courage in his convictions.

10-11-2010, 10:59 AM
Must admit when George is on question time it is highly entertaining and keeps the others on their toes, irrespective of his views or political persuasions i don`t think he is a fool and he certainly shows a lot of courage in his convictions.

I find Frankie Boyle immensley entertaining. Doesn't mean I want him in Parliament though (I sort of would quite like to see that actually..)

Expecting Rain
10-11-2010, 11:19 AM
I find Frankie Boyle immensley entertaining. Doesn't mean I want him in Parliament though (I sort of would quite like to see that actually..)

I don`t think the Scottish parliment needs George at the moment but politics in general certainly needs more individualistic expression in order to make it more accessable and interesting.

10-11-2010, 01:16 PM
I'd be pleased to see him in Holyrood. I think he'd shake things up a bit.

I don't agree with everything he says but on Palestine, the war on terror etc and a few other things, he's bang on. I'm sure he'd get a lot of votes and stands a pretty good chance of getting in on the list, I reckon.

It can only be a good thing for democracy if you have people who actually have an opinion being elected, than the usual party stooges.

ancienthibby
10-11-2010, 02:57 PM

I don't agree with everything he says but on Palestine, the war on terror etc and a few other things, he's bang on. I'm sure he'd get a lot of votes and stands a pretty good chance of getting in on the list, I reckon.

It can only be a good thing for democracy if you have people who actually have an opinion being elected, than the usual party stooges.

It would be wonderful to see the Labour benches in Holyrood unable to sit down because of their collective brown trousers!!:thumbsup:

10-11-2010, 04:44 PM
Oh you lickspittle.

I honestly wasn't trying to be obsequious.

10-11-2010, 05:48 PM

It would be wonderful to see the Labour benches in Holyrood unable to sit down because of their collective brown trousers!!:thumbsup:

10-11-2010, 07:38 PM
Probably. Although the disappearance of his old pal Saddam probably comes close.

He's not likely to get much sympathy from the 400 million odd people for whom the disappearance of the Soviet Union was the beginning of their lives.

I'm surprised he's noticed these things, having spent the last thirty years a fair way up his own rectum.

Ok that's :tee hee::tee hee:

10-11-2010, 08:20 PM

The man is a unspeakable bawbag, a politician for those of - how can I put these - limited mental capacity, that just want to hear some nice stuff about how the Government is always wrong and wouldn't it be much better if we all earned £8 an hour and Stalin was back in charge.

He's great and impressive blustering - his performance at the US Senate being particularly fine - but if the Scottish population feels compelled to giving this dodo a channel for his laa-laa land bull*****, then - as mentioned before - something, somewhere has gone awfully wrong.

10-11-2010, 08:52 PM

About the only good reason for having him in would be to see him tear up the SNP for erse paper. He's got no time for them and as he would be getting elected on the list he most likely will want to be taking Nat votes.

10-11-2010, 09:08 PM
About the only good reason for having him in would be to see him tear up the SNP for erse paper. He's got no time for them and as he would be getting elected on the list he most likely will want to be taking Nat votes.

Ha ha! As opposed to the fantastic friendship he shares with the Labour Party???

10-11-2010, 09:18 PM

Not sure that would happen. I am sure I read somewhere a quote from him saying that he'd be a candidate with traditional Labour values.

I'm think he has less significant political differences with Scottish Labour than he does with the westminster party political machine.

I don't think he'd be in the business of wanting to do the SNP any favours at all and I suspect he'd probably treat the Tories and LibDems with contempt.

10-11-2010, 09:55 PM
i read his book a while back and i now suspect that he's one of the few politicians that actually says what he genuinely thinks as opposed to following a party doctrine...whether or not you agree with him is another matter but i finished the book thinking that he is one of the good guys and his views deserve a bigger audience.

the indefatiguabilty thing with saddam had a deeper background that the media led us to believe and george had a plausible reason for coming across as a bit of an sycophant with the iraqi topboy.

10-11-2010, 10:02 PM
Anyone know which constituency George Galloway would be likely to stand in?

I really hope it's not mine as I can't think on too many people that I would want less as my MSP than him.

He's far too left-wing for me and as far as international affairs, foreign policy and immigration are concerned, I disagree with him on practically every single issue.

10-11-2010, 10:07 PM

I really hope it's not mine as I can't think on too many people that I would want less as my MSP than him.

He's far too left-wing for me and as far as international affairs, foreign policy and immigration are concerned, I disagree with him on practically every single issue.

He'll probably stand as a list MSP, perhaps in the Weege. That would be his best chance of being elected.

As for the bits in bold....you won't need to worry, they're little to do with Holyrood.

ancienthibby
11-11-2010, 06:08 AM

Galloway effectively launched his campaign through the Daily ******, so it will be a West of Scotland list seat that he'll be looking for.

Long time to go yet, but it would be no surprise if he got in.:greengrin

ancienthibby
11-11-2010, 06:51 AM
Not sure that would happen. I am sure I read somewhere a quote from him saying that he'd be a candidate with traditional Labour values.

I'm think he has less significant political differences with Scottish Labour than he does with the westminster party political machine.

I don't think he'd be in the business of wanting to do the SNP any favours at all and I suspect he'd probably treat the Tories and LibDems with contempt.

The guy is a maverick and unpredictable and I was not really pointing to him supporting one party or the other. Rather, he's likely to show up the opposition vacuum that is the Labour Party of Westminster in Scotland and, if Labour should win the Holyrood election, the puirweegreyman will be completely overshadowed by GG.:greengrin

11-11-2010, 07:12 AM
The guy is a maverick and unpredictable and I was not really pointing to him supporting one party or the other. Rather, he's likely to show up the opposition vacuum that is the Labour Party of Westminster in Scotland and, if Labour should win the Holyrood election, the puirweegreyman will be completely overshadowed by GG.:greengrin

He will certainly have plenty of hot air to fill any vacuum:greengrin
Has he said yet why he now wishes to concentrate on specifically Scottish matters again? And what does he hope to achieve?

11-11-2010, 07:13 AM

I think that pretty much anyone would overshadow Iain Gray but yes, Galloway probably overshadows them all. There are many politicians from all sides who are far more recognisable and dare I say it, credible as well.

12-11-2010, 08:21 PM
GG is back on Talksport, Fridays at 10. :thumbsup:

12-11-2010, 10:20 PM
He'll probably stand as a list MSP, perhaps in the Weege. That would be his best chance of being elected.

As for the bits in bold....you won't need to worry, they're little to do with Holyrood.

Perhaps not but if he is elected as an MSP, it would allow him to have a bigger platform to put forward his views on various subjects.

What I will say is that I respect people who have deeply held beliefs and who aren't frightened to go against the grain by expressing those opinions. It really annoys me when I hear politicians saying something just because they want to go along with their party's policy and you know fine well that a few years down the line, if that policy changes, they'll be saying the exact opposite just to go along with their party.

As much as I can't stand George Galloway and I disagree with practically every single thing that he says, I don't think anyone can accuse him of neglecting his beliefs in order to toe the party line.

New Corrie
12-11-2010, 10:29 PM
At least George will take on the "English haters" and expose them for what they really are. I think it would be a breath of fresh air, maybe someone will finally challenge "big chief jimmy wig, yam fat english hater" and all his arc of prosperity bollocks.

13-11-2010, 07:53 AM
At least George will take on the "English haters" and expose them for what they really are. I think it would be a breath of fresh air, maybe someone will finally challenge "big chief jimmy wig, yam fat english hater" and all his arc of prosperity bollocks.

"Pantomime season starts early on the Holy Ground boards."

13-11-2010, 11:34 AM
Good old George, come tell everyone that independence would "impoverish" us and that sending everything we have to Westminister and being grateful for a small piece of it back is the way to go:agree:.

Unfortunately the Labour hoards will lap that sort of "we cannae dae it" doom and gloom pash.

13-11-2010, 12:58 PM

Are you an SNP member by any chance?

13-11-2010, 12:59 PM
"Pantomime season starts early on the Holy Ground boards."

Yes, but it was quite a nice turn of phrase though.

13-11-2010, 01:09 PM
Good old George, come tell everyone that independence would "impoverish" us and that sending everything we have to Westminister and being grateful for a small piece of it back is the way to go:agree:.

Unfortunately the Labour hoards will lap that sort of "we cannae dae it" doom and gloom pash.

I'm not sure that would be his position. If he gets into parliament on the Glasgow list it will almost certainly be at the price of an SNP seat and in those circumstances and afterward you could see him happily playing to the gallery on nationalist issues. In fact you could see him as quite an effective demagogue leader of the SNP if he were to jump the fence.

If course we could go it alone, but your "sending everything we have to Westminister and being grateful for a small piece of it back is the way to go" line is cobblers. The sums on that do not stack up unless you hack way into public expenditure beyond even what is about to happen over the next four years.

If your view is that we could stand alone through a mixture of increasing taxation and reducing public expenditure to balance the books then fair enough, that's a perfectly respectable line to take but not one that I share.

13-11-2010, 04:35 PM
I'm not sure that would be his position. If he gets into parliament on the Glasgow list it will almost certainly be at the price of an SNP seat and in those circumstances and afterward you could see him happily playing to the gallery on nationalist issues. In fact you could see him as quite an effective demagogue leader of the SNP if he were to jump the fence.

If course we could go it alone, but your "sending everything we have to Westminister and being grateful for a small piece of it back is the way to go" line is cobblers. The sums on that do not stack up unless you hack way into public expenditure beyond even what is about to happen over the next four years.

If your view is that we could stand alone through a mixture of increasing taxation and reducing public expenditure to balance the books then fair enough, that's a perfectly respectable line to take but not one that I share.

I can't see that happening, George is strongly in favour of the Union.

13-11-2010, 06:13 PM
I can't see that happening, George is strongly in favour of the Union.

I think George is rather more strongly in favour of the main chance.

ancienthibby
13-11-2010, 06:28 PM
Are you an SNP member by any chance?

Nope!

Not a member of any political party!

13-11-2010, 09:57 PM
I think George is rather more strongly in favour of the main chance.

I think George is rather more strongly in favour of George!

He would shake it up. It's incredibly dull.

14-11-2010, 07:45 AM
Apparently, he'd be standing for the Respect party. Their constitution previously prevented candidates from standing in Scotland. However, they've changed their rules, so Galloway can have a run at election.