View Full Version : mercer song

stuart
04-11-2010, 10:18 PM
we should sing the mercer song :agree:

tell all the hearts you no

04-11-2010, 10:22 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:I10Rt_mVTyCFXM:http://i3.bebo.com/045a/8/mediuml/2008/03/03/17/5753143693a7055869394ml.jpg = http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:H5rmzvpFe515jM:http://www.sedgwick.org/na/families/robert1613/4/1/1/3/4113S-king-sally-grave.jpg = http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:5AQt8sjhhGWEcM:http://blogs.phoenixnewtimes.com/valleyfever/beer%20glass.jpg

04-11-2010, 10:29 PM
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:I10Rt_mVTyCFXM:http://i3.bebo.com/045a/8/mediuml/2008/03/03/17/5753143693a7055869394ml.jpg = http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:H5rmzvpFe515jM:http://www.sedgwick.org/na/families/robert1613/4/1/1/3/4113S-king-sally-grave.jpg = http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:5AQt8sjhhGWEcM:http://blogs.phoenixnewtimes.com/valleyfever/beer%20glass.jpg

AK86
04-11-2010, 11:03 PM
The dead should be left alone in peace and respect

but in this case

tell all the ****s you know..............

he's deid:agree:

Archie70
04-11-2010, 11:22 PM
IMHO to sing about a dead human being is in extremely bad taste and something I could never condone...............

However, he wasn't a human being he was a low life, double crossing two faced ***** bag, who tried to shut down our club. Let us never forget that fact. He tried to shut us down, close us down, no more Hibs, no Sauzee, no CIS cup, no Brown & Thomson, no 6-2, no Skol cup, no last minute O'Connor, no De La Cruz double, no Riordan pen, no..... the list goes on.

He tried to close us down!

Sing whatever song you want, it's fine by me!

McHibby
04-11-2010, 11:22 PM

Brilliant! Made me laugh out loud :thumbsup:

05-11-2010, 12:05 AM

genuinely roflcoptered there

05-11-2010, 12:06 AM
I'll give it a miss, thanks.

cheltenhamhibee
05-11-2010, 02:01 AM
I'll give it a miss, thanks.

i think i'm with you on this for the time being, however wi a few sherbets inside me at the loch inn might change my opinion !!! lol :thumbsup:

05-11-2010, 04:42 AM
He's deid

gorgie_harp
05-11-2010, 05:13 AM
And he won't be home for tea.:wink::flag::flag::flag:

05-11-2010, 06:02 AM
You are all disgusting individuals!!!!!!

But not as disgusting as mercer was.... He's deid!!!

05-11-2010, 06:06 AM
I have to say that I find this all a bit distasteful. I see no need to mention that fat tory *******s name any where near our great club. He was a fat ****ing failure, doesn't deserve a song:wink:

05-11-2010, 06:18 AM

genuinely roflcoptered there

http://www.roflcopter.net/roflcopter.gif

05-11-2010, 06:36 AM

http://www.roflcopter.net/roflcopter.gif

Funniest thread ever IMO! :greengrin

05-11-2010, 10:38 AM
Tell all the Hearts you know:agree:

Edinburgh Green
05-11-2010, 10:54 AM
Win lose or draw, mercer won't be home for tea!

05-11-2010, 10:56 AM
TELL ALL THE HEARTS YOU KNOW

http://i51.tinypic.com/34hb72t.jpg

Storar
05-11-2010, 11:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8_Pw0qXqUs

HE'S DEID!

Baker9
05-11-2010, 11:13 AM
On behalf of all decent, drug-free Hibs supporters with reasonable IQs and a mature perspective on life, please leave your primitive chants in the gutter where they belong. Sing them in your own homes and not in our beautiful stadium.

gorgie_harp
05-11-2010, 11:17 AM
On behalf of all decent, drug-free Hibs supporters with reasonable IQs and a mature perspective on life, please leave your primitive chants in the gutter where they belong. Sing them in your own homes and not in our beautiful stadium.

:yawn::boo hoo:

05-11-2010, 11:19 AM

I'm all those things and still habe no objection to the song.

It's actually a reasonable and mature attitude to decide you will feel no differently about someone when they are dead than you did when they were alive.

Respect is earned and for me you don't earn it by dying.

05-11-2010, 11:20 AM

With most other dead people i'd agree with you, not on this occasion though lets not forget what that **** tried to to our wonderful club.

He's deid!

05-11-2010, 11:21 AM
On behalf of all decent, drug-free Hibs supporters with reasonable IQs and a mature perspective on life, please leave your primitive chants in the gutter where they belong. Sing them in your own homes and not in our beautiful stadium.aye, whatever :blah::blah:

http://www.bigtomatocompany.com/pictures/extra/Cmug-goody-two-shoes.jpg

Emerald
05-11-2010, 11:27 AM
Although I loathed the man, I don't think we should lower ourselves to their level with these sort of chants. Leave this in the gutter where it belongs. There are better ways of getting behind our team. :agree:

05-11-2010, 11:36 AM
Wallace Mercer, 6 Feet Under:notworthy:

HES DEEEEEID!:greengrin

05-11-2010, 11:36 AM

You've got no life.

A bit like Mercer. HE'S DEID!

05-11-2010, 11:48 AM
No, I don't generally have a go at dead people.

If he was in the same category as Hitler/Saddam Hussian/Stalin then perhaps but since mass genocide wasn't on his agenda, no thanks, I'll be giving it a miss.

Edit: Most of the comments trying to justify the singing of the Wallace Mercer song on this thread don't even make sense. Nobody is saying that we are to respect him, just not act a bit like a fud and disrepect him now that he's dead - and people on here go on about Celtic and Rangers fans spouting bile............

05-11-2010, 12:09 PM
On behalf of all decent, drug-free Hibs supporters with reasonable IQs and a mature perspective on life, please leave your primitive chants in the gutter where they belong. Sing them in your own homes and not in our beautiful stadium.I almost agree with you but not in his case.

He's deid and we're no.

05-11-2010, 12:09 PM

HE'S DEID!

Top ****ing drawer!!!

05-11-2010, 01:15 PM
No, I don't generally have a go at dead people.

If he was in the same category as Hitler/Saddam Hussian/Stalin then perhaps but since mass genocide wasn't on his agenda, no thanks, I'll be giving it a miss.

Edit: Most of the comments trying to justify the singing of the Wallace Mercer song on this thread don't even make sense. Nobody is saying that we are to respect him, just not act a bit like a fud and disrepect him now that he's dead - and people on here go on about Celtic and Rangers fans spouting bile............

Sorry, but it's you not making sense.

I assume when he was alive you had no objection to him being sung against?

So, by that measure you are advocating a change from him being disrespected to not being disrespected just due to him being dead.

I've yet to hear any sort of valid reason as to why being dead changes the way that you should think or act about that person.

Skanko79
05-11-2010, 02:04 PM

The mercer one is mild compared to some other songs ive heard being sung.

Man City fans have numerous songs and have even released an album of songs dedicated to hating man united and the munich air disaster.

I'll be singing it none the less. the guy was a tool and wont ever be home for his scran.

Miller33
05-11-2010, 02:15 PM

Get a grip, uberfan.com

HE'S NO LONGER HERE, SO LETS HAVE A BEER!

05-11-2010, 02:37 PM

HE'S DEID!:thumbsup:

05-11-2010, 02:49 PM

Yea, ok, whatever

Anyway I like songs about violence and death :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10qLYy6hiFQ

05-11-2010, 02:55 PM
Its not for me sorry

05-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Chill out everyone.

He's no longer here, so lets have a beer.

05-11-2010, 02:57 PM

So, by that measure you are advocating a change from him being disrespected to not being disrespected just due to him being dead.

I've yet to hear any sort of valid reason as to why being dead changes the way that you should think or act about that person.

Be honest though Andy, that's not what the song is. The song is actually revelling in someone's death, which goes way beyond respect or disrespect for a living person.

Tin Hat on here but I personally can't see the difference between this and the kind of stuff sung by the bigot brothers.

I now await the insults, as someone who's dared to disagree with the majority.

05-11-2010, 02:57 PM
Chill out everyone.

He's no longer here, so lets have a beer.:cheers:

05-11-2010, 03:00 PM
Be honest though Andy, that's not what the song is. The song is actually revelling in someone's death, which goes way beyond respect or disrespect for a living person.

Tin Hat on here but I personally can't see the difference between this and the kind of stuff sung by the bigot brothers.

No insults from me Keekaboo

It's about opinions and debate

And your 100 % entitled to yours :agree:

05-11-2010, 03:13 PM
Hope auld Nick is banging the fat ,smug tory barsteward :jamboclow on a daily basis.
DEID:lolyam:

05-11-2010, 03:24 PM
better song.......

wallace mercer died in pain,
died in pain,
wallace mercer died in pain,
you hearts b******s!

Send him up to die again,
die again,
die again,
send him up to die again,
you hearts b******s!

think we should all sing this on behalf of our wonderful club :wink::devil:

I am not from the era of Mercer times so i do not feel the hate you guys clearly do, but that is one great song :greengrin

05-11-2010, 03:25 PM

Why is that? Personally I'll be more upset by people having a go at my while I'm here than when people celebrate my death.

We didn't like him when he was here, he's now not and that's something people are pleased about.

Maybe some have issues about dying that are more important than how we treat people while they are here?

persevere1875
05-11-2010, 03:36 PM

Personally i believe every one has the right to question whether or not this particular song is in taste or not so i certainly wouldnt question your right to suggest this song is in bad taste.

That said in the words of Father Ted.........**** um !!! :wink:

05-11-2010, 03:41 PM
I remember this day well http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=hibs+fans+in+roseburn+singing +wallace+mercer+is+dead&aq=f

This was filmed by someone across the road and went on for about 30 minutes.:agree:

05-11-2010, 04:13 PM

Bit yammish? LTYF?

I'm drug free btw, doesnt stop me from singing it

"tell all the hearts you know..." :party:

Rory89
05-11-2010, 04:14 PM
This thread disgusts me, I'm ashamed to be a Hibby right now. How old are some of you? Losing a family member is a horrible feeling and every time we sing this song not only are we disrespecting the man himself but we're deeply offending his family. Some of you need to learn where the boundaries are between football banter and deeply personal offensive bile. Every last one of you posting that rubbish should have a long look at yourselves, bunch of animals the lot of you.

Just kidding, Wallace Mercer, six feet under.

AK86
05-11-2010, 04:48 PM
To all the folk saying the song is in bad taste

THE GUY TRIED TO KILL OUR CLUB
IF HE HAD GOT HIS WAY HE WOULD HAVE WIPED OUT 115YEARS OF HISTORY BECAUSE HE WAS A SELFISH BASSA

05-11-2010, 04:59 PM

IF HE HAD GOT HIS WAY HE WOULD HAVE WIPED OUT 115YEARS OF HISTORY BECAUSE HE WAS A SELFISH BASSA
Exactly what I think.

05-11-2010, 05:02 PM

:notworthy: Wallace Mercer 6 feet Under :notworthy: Wallace Mercer 6 feet Under :notworthy:

05-11-2010, 05:24 PM

:notworthy: Wallace Mercer 6" Under :notworthy: Wallace Mercer 6" Under :notworthy:

Why only 6 inches?

05-11-2010, 05:28 PM
aside from the beautful mercer song..

Faithless- Insomnia before the game would be great to pump the fans out, always play it at hampden and its good to get the crowd going..

Then play sunshine on leith with anfield-esque flags above the heads and the whole ground in chorus.

Could send shivers down the spine and that will translate onto the pitch.

05-11-2010, 05:37 PM
Why only 6 inches?

Fixed it for you :wink:

05-11-2010, 05:42 PM
I'm obviously in the minority on here however this song disgusts me.

I'm from the generation that lived through all this and I despise as much as everyone else what he tried to do but celebrating the fact he has died :confused:

I'm not asking anyone to respect him or indeed to like him but he was a human being with a family just like the rest of us - family who may well get to read some of the bile that gets posted like this.

I'll be singing my head of like the rest of us on Sunday but if that song starts up you'll no hear me (and many others) joining in.

This has nothing to do with taking moral high ground - there's idiots on either side who are just as bad as each other.

Its about common decency.

05-11-2010, 05:45 PM
Why only 6 inches?

You sound like the wife :boo hoo:

05-11-2010, 05:49 PM
To chuck in my tuppence worth, he tried to kill us as a club.

He died first......your move, Wallace.

And to those who suggest we're offending his family, they offended us earlier this year by defiantly advocating the fat welt's attempt to eradicate us from the history books. Even now, 20 years on.

We rose like a Phoenix from the ashes, I'd be surprised if he turned into ash given that sheeeeite doesnae burn.

*** him.

Erin go bragh.

05-11-2010, 05:56 PM
Fixed it for you :wink:

Ok, just wondered if you had more intimate knowledge of the man...:wink:

05-11-2010, 06:10 PM
Ok, just wondered if you had more intimate knowledge of the man...:wink:

No Intimate Knowledge,but when i was working for an edinburgh photocopier company,i was sent down the east coast to install a fax machine (believe it or not),on seeing the fat tory ******* as he opened the door,i about turned,phoned my boss,told him i wasnt well,and went home.
Needless to say i ended up with a written warning for not installing the fax machine.
My boss knew who bought the fax,and this is why they sent me,the rest o the lads were p!ssing themselves laughing,taking bets between them to see if i would do it or not.

05-11-2010, 06:12 PM
You sound like the wife :boo hoo:

Yeah, she said. :greengrin

05-11-2010, 06:13 PM

I'm from the generation that lived through all this and I despise as much as everyone else what he tried to do but celebrating the fact he has died :confused:

I'm not asking anyone to respect him or indeed to like him but he was a human being with a family just like the rest of us - family who may well get to read some of the bile that gets posted like this.

I'll be singing my head of like the rest of us on Sunday but if that song starts up you'll no hear me (and many others) joining in.

This has nothing to do with taking moral high ground - there's idiots on either side who are just as bad as each other.

I'm with you. :top marks

Looking at the video that was posted, and from previous derbies, it's (generally) younger fans who sing it.... maybe us oldies, who were there and who might still hate the memory of what happened, have grown old, boring and, dare I say it, respectful?

05-11-2010, 06:17 PM

I'm with you. :top marks

I agree too. For me it's not a question of respect or disrespect for Mercer, more that I have too much self respect to sing that song.

05-11-2010, 07:01 PM
While this debate is sure to rage on for a little while yet, I suggest we kick back with a beer and play a little game of "where's wallace"

05-11-2010, 07:05 PM
Ah is this a trick? ye cannae fool us hibees fans, he is 6 feet under in that sand pit eh?

05-11-2010, 07:08 PM
Is he dying in the corner?

05-11-2010, 07:12 PM
he's in the candy floss que :greengrin

05-11-2010, 07:17 PM
we should sing the mercer song :agree:

tell all the hearts you no

LTYF

Probably the worst taste post I have seen this year and clearly from a yam. Get this juvenile yam launched please

05-11-2010, 07:18 PM

:top marks Pure genius and illustrates beautifully why you'll never stop people, particularly youngsters who like to shock, from singing that song. Personally I don't care for it myself and never sing it but I'm not offended by others doing so. It's their choice.

05-11-2010, 07:19 PM
Found him :agree:

05-11-2010, 07:22 PM
While this debate is sure to rage on for a little while yet, I suggest we kick back with a beer and play a little game of "where's wallace"

thats quality. Couldnt find him till he was pointed out tho

05-11-2010, 07:23 PM
Found him :agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/wallace.jpg

05-11-2010, 07:24 PM
:tee hee:the joke was on me though :idiot: there's already a tombstone in the pic :greengrin

05-11-2010, 07:30 PM
Although I loathed the man, I don't think we should lower ourselves to their level with these sort of chants. Leave this in the gutter where it belongs. There are better ways of getting behind our team. :agree:

:agree: despised him and what he stood for, was around at the time when he failed, have plenty memories of giving him stick but think we should be above this particular song, he is dead, it tells a lot of neutral observers that we are not much better than the unwashed and some of their hateful songs. Private loathing and quiet satisfaction at his failure and where they are now is enough for me thanks.

05-11-2010, 07:37 PM

I assume that you've been to a funeral before.........

Would you stand up in the middle of the service and tell everyone what a dick the guy was?

Even though you had no problem in telling him and everyone else what a tosspot her was whilst still here........think about it.

This is football ffs; if you think a human life is less important then go join one of the bigot brothers.

I mean yea, I have no problem in saying that Wallace Mercer was a tit that tried to kill one of the things I love most in my life but I'll pass on celebrating and singing about the guys death, thank you very much.

05-11-2010, 07:41 PM

:agree: Its a massively well worn path this one, said plenty bad things about the man myself and still think them but for me I actually dont think it shows us in a particularly great light if we continue to express it in this way.

The guy failed to do what his money grabbing capitalist instincts made him try, never gave a **** about football, look how things went down their way after this property speculation went horribly wrong.

His legacy for me on this one is that he looked a bit of an arse who was outmanouvered by fans he massively underestimated, and a different kind of businessman who cared about more than money.

Inersting how our clubs have fared since.

05-11-2010, 07:43 PM
Why are people comparing us to the old firm? It's nothing to do with them, they've never had to deal with the situation we did.

See it for what it is, justified hatred of a sc*mbag who tried to end us to suit his own agenda.

Rot in hell you piece of filth.

05-11-2010, 07:47 PM
I assume that you've been to a funeral before.........

Would you stand up in the middle of the service and tell everyone what a dick the guy was?

Even though you had no problem in telling him and everyone else what a tosspot her was whilst still here........think about it.

This is football ffs; if you think a human life is less important then go join one of the bigot brothers.

I mean yea, I have no problem in saying that Wallace Mercer was a tit that tried to kill one of the things I love most in my life but I'll pass on celebrating and singing about the guys death, thank you very much.

Why on earth would I go to the funeral of someone who I thought was a dick?

And yes, if I called him a dick when alive he'd now just be a dead dick.

Death seems to have a strange effect on some!

05-11-2010, 07:48 PM
Why are people comparing us to the old firm? It's nothing to do with them, they've never had to deal with the situation we did.

See it for what it is, justified hatred of a sc*mbag who tried to end us to suit his own agenda.

Rot in hell you piece of filth.

Why? Because of comments like "Rot in hell you piece of filth."

TrinityHibs
05-11-2010, 07:51 PM
I have not read the thread after page 1 so if this has been dealt with I apologise.

In the past I have worked for both STF and Mercer. If you ask me who was/is the better man I would say STF for a host of reasons. However Mercer does have a family and I really have an issue about revelling in someones death.

I was at a funeral today of a great guy. His family were there and while I could smile at the stories I struggled with the personal family grief.

I think we become less when we personalise abuse. Yes we upset the Hertz supporters (Not just the nutters) but what is gained. The sensible guys say thats out of order and its hard to argue.

The reality is Wallace Mercer is dead and cannot have any influence on Hibs. In fact Hibs are so different to when Waldo was about that he is of no consequence to Hibs.

I have had a drink and will continue to do so for sometime tonight thinking about a friend and his family. Singing the Mercer is dead song does not make me feel like a Hibernian supporter. Its a wind up for the oppostion and will not encourage the team in any way. Sorry guys but grow up and get some decent songs that we can all sing.

Greenblood70
05-11-2010, 08:18 PM
I despised the fat, odious ****** when he was alive and I'm not going to change that just cos he's deid.

Tosser in life and death imo.

(I always find the way the ****bos rewrite history on Mercer amusing. They hated him almost as much as we did at one stage when he was raping their club on renting parts of the stadium from him).

05-11-2010, 08:53 PM
Hopefully these young bams who never lived through the nightmare that sing this song will pass it on to their kids so they can hate him too. For generations to come his name should be held in contempt. :agree:

05-11-2010, 09:07 PM

Love it! :cheers:

05-11-2010, 09:19 PM
And to those who suggest we're offending his family, they offended us earlier this year by defiantly advocating the fat welt's attempt to eradicate us from the history books. Even now, 20 years on.

Absolutely. I remember their stance all too well. **** the lot of them.

05-11-2010, 09:31 PM
I have not read the thread after page 1 so if this has been dealt with I apologise.

In the past I have worked for both STF and Mercer. If you ask me who was/is the better man I would say STF for a host of reasons. However Mercer does have a family and I really have an issue about revelling in someones death.

I was at a funeral today of a great guy. His family were there and while I could smile at the stories I struggled with the personal family grief.

I think we become less when we personalise abuse. Yes we upset the Hertz supporters (Not just the nutters) but what is gained. The sensible guys say thats out of order and its hard to argue.

The reality is Wallace Mercer is dead and cannot have any influence on Hibs. In fact Hibs are so different to when Waldo was about that he is of no consequence to Hibs.

I have had a drink and will continue to do so for sometime tonight thinking about a friend and his family. Singing the Mercer is dead song does not make me feel like a Hibernian supporter. Its a wind up for the oppostion and will not encourage the team in any way. Sorry guys but grow up and get some decent songs that we can all sing.

I think there's a big difference though. I remember at the time hating the guy and wishing him dead. I've rarely felt so much hate towards another person in my life. The feeling never left me. When he died, I rejoiced. I think many others feel the same way. The memories of June 1990 will last forever. That's why we'll never forget what Mercer did and why many of us will continue to rejoice in his passing. He was not a great guy in the slightest.

05-11-2010, 10:58 PM

Rory89
06-11-2010, 03:10 AM
Jambo not taking the news well:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrSy9r0-lMg

08-11-2010, 11:56 AM
Why on earth would I go to the funeral of someone who I thought was a dick?

And yes, if I called him a dick when alive he'd now just be a dead dick.

Death seems to have a strange effect on some!

I did say think about it.............:rolleyes:

There is a big difference in thinking someone is a tit even in death and publically singing about it -the hypothetical funeral situation was simply an example of the principle I'm trying to convey here.

What was that about death having a strange effect on people :blah:

09-11-2010, 09:05 AM
This is just the same thing as Sid Vicious walking through the Paris Jewish quarter with a swastika armband. Funny when you're 18 and never experienced death, but as you get older not something that amuses you any more.