5 London
Britain's least miserable cities
1 Southampton
2 Nottingham
3 Edinburgh
4 Liverpool
5 Leeds
Not a surprise really :agree:
http://www.walletpop.co.uk/2010/11/01/the-most-miserable-places-to-live-in-the-uk/
01-11-2010, 05:37 PM
Bet Newcastle wasn't miserable last night
01-11-2010, 05:42 PM
Liverpool the 4th least miserable city in the UK?
Who are they kidding?
The Liverpuddle-glums never stop moaning about their lousy lives. :rolleyes:
01-11-2010, 06:16 PM
Liverpool the 4th least miserable city in the UK?
Who are they kidding?
The Liverpuddle-glums never stop moaning about their lousy lives. :rolleyes:
I've no particular pro-Liverpool axe to grind, but I do think they get badly treated by the media and in popular culture. Yes, there might be a pronounced tragedy/drama queen tendency in the culture, but I've always found it a very friendly and relaxed city to go out for a drink in.
The problem is that, as with all cities where the inhabitants take civic pride beyond the realms of reason and mythologise their home town, this just makes the visitor all the more determined to resist its charms.
Liverpool isn't a special chosen place of unique (if often suffering) individuals that it's often self-portrayed as, neither is a rat's nest of scrounging, hustling feral dole-moles. It's an agreeable and friendly post-industrial English city, boasting a club which once punched massively and commendably above its weight in the footballing world, but now no longer does or will again. it boasts some great pubs - check out the magnificent Philharmonic, one of Britain's most maginificent Victorian bars.
01-11-2010, 06:18 PM
Of all the cities I have been in the UK, Liverpool does have the fittest birds imo
01-11-2010, 06:32 PM
Britain's most miserable cities
1 Glasgow
2 Newcastle
3 Sheffield
4 Cardiff
5 London
1 Southampton
2 Nottingham
3 Edinburgh
4 Liverpool
5 Leeds
http://www.walletpop.co.uk/2010/11/01/the-most-miserable-places-to-live-in-the-uk/
I've worked in the Weedge for 5 years and I've yet to see/ hear any example of the famous Glesgae humour.
Sumner
01-11-2010, 06:42 PM
The Weeg is a miserable bigot-laden crime-ridden pile?
Whatever next? Bears defecating in woodland areas you say? :hmmm:
01-11-2010, 06:49 PM
I loathe Glasgow
01-11-2010, 06:50 PM
Well, as a person born and brought up in Leith, I'm surprising even myself to spring to the defense of Glasgow. When my son and daughter went to Uni there, I got to know the place better and with my daughter now living there I visit Glasgow often. I still prefer Edinburgh but I think Glasgow has a lot going for it and it's a damn sight better than a lot of 'miserable' hellholes on these shores.
01-11-2010, 06:54 PM
Well, as a person born and brought up in Leith, I'm surprising even myself to spring to the defense of Glasgow. When my son and daughter went to Uni there, I got to know the place better and with my daughter now living there I visit Glasgow often. I still prefer Edinburgh but I think Glasgow has a lot going for it and it's a damn sight better than a lot of 'miserable' hellholes on these shores.
Completely agree Jim, I used to despise the place but see when you spend more time there outwith the football snobbery then its a damn good place to be.
deeks01
01-11-2010, 07:18 PM
think they may have got glasgow and edinburgh mixed up here ;) weegie-land is many things but miserable isn't actually one of them whereas edinburgh...
01-11-2010, 07:25 PM
think they may have got glasgow and edinburgh mixed up here ;) weegie-land is many things but miserable isn't actually one of them whereas edinburgh...
Come in, you'll have hud yer tea :wink:
delbert
01-11-2010, 07:25 PM
GLASGOW - 40 miles west down the M8 as far as location goes, and 250 years back in time as far as social attitide and culture goes, Doctor Who disnae need a Tardis to do time travel, just go through to a rantic game !!
01-11-2010, 07:26 PM
Britain's most miserable cities
1 Glasgow
2 Newcastle
3 Sheffield
4 Cardiff
5 London
1 Southampton
2 Nottingham
3 Edinburgh
4 Liverpool
5 Leeds
Live?! It is bad enough visiting for a few hours a handful of times a year!
01-11-2010, 07:31 PM
Of all the cities I have been in the UK, Liverpool does have the fittest birds imo
Until they say something and your ears start to bleed.... :wink:
01-11-2010, 07:32 PM
Until they say something and your ears start to bleed.... :wink:
Easy solution to that ;-)
HibeePaj
01-11-2010, 08:09 PM
From Musselburgh but i stay in Glasgow for college.... and to be honest, dont have any problems with the place at all,, i might not rate it better than the capital but would definately recommend it to anyone thinking about moving here for uni etc.
weather-wise today though..... buuuh :rolleyes:
01-11-2010, 08:20 PM
Ahhhh, the lumpen anti-Glasgow pish (which I can never tell if it's genuine or not) is coming through to the fore here.
I lived there for 4 years as a student, and go through there regularly - when home - to see friends and the g/friend. It gets better gigs and has clubs that Edinburgh can't hold a candle to, and its cheaper. Yes, the weather is grim, and architecturally - except the West End - it has little of interest. To go to Ibrox and Parkhead twice a year then conclude "Aye, Glasgow's a hole" would be like going to Gorgie and deepest, darkest Niddrie and then writing your review of Edinburgh.
01-11-2010, 09:36 PM
Ahhhh, the lumpen anti-Glasgow pish (which I can never tell if it's genuine or not) is coming through to the fore here.
I lived there for 4 years as a student, and go through there regularly - when home - to see friends and the g/friend. It gets better gigs and has clubs that Edinburgh can't hold a candle to, and its cheaper. Yes, the weather is grim, and architecturally - except the West End - it has little of interest. To go to Ibrox and Parkhead twice a year then conclude "Aye, Glasgow's a hole" would be like going to Gorgie and deepest, darkest Niddrie and then writing your review of Edinburgh.
Glasgow is a big city unlike Edinburgh which is really just a big town.
01-11-2010, 10:52 PM
I lived in Leeds for 3 years, moved back to Edinburgh in July this year, dunno how it makes it into the least miserable list. I wouldn't have been surprised to see it in the most miserable list.
A city where it takes you about a year to get your head round the awful one way system, where some of the council estates (see Beaston) make Niddrie look like a decent holiday resort and where racism seems to be accepted as the norm throughout.
Needless to say, I'm glad to be back.
02-11-2010, 03:28 AM
Glasgow is quite a small city really.
02-11-2010, 05:16 AM
Living between the two, maybe I have a more balanced judgement.:greengrin
Glasgow, full of stinking buckieswillinghubcapstealingsoapdodgingsmellybarst ewards. However, for shopping is ten times better than Edinburgh, some nice architecture (just staying in the City Centres), some absolute slums even after regeneration. Not a clue about nightlife as I am way way past all that although the times I do have drink there I find them quite amenable but not as funny as they like to think they are. Plenty comedians for sure, but certainly not very amusing. However, that brings up the question of miserability. They probably don't feel miserable so will feel they should not be so lowly. Some good restaurants.
Embra, half full of buckieswillinghubcapstealingsoapdodgingsmellybarst ewards. Roads are a nightmare, shopping is mince. Beautiful buildings all around. Again, not a clue about nightlife but my children seem to prefer the pubic triangle rather than go to the Weedge. Samo fantastic restaurants. My football team plays there (well, nearly). Any time I go for a drink there I find people amenable and not trying to be smart ass comedians.
Think Embra wins.
Now Liver****inpool. After Brum must be the worst accent in the world. Beautiful young lady I met down there many many years ago in the old Seaman's Mission Saturday night disco extravaganza, gorgeous, until that gob was opened. No way could I take that home to meet Mum. Next I knew I woke up in hospital. Long walk from Liverpool to Birkenhead at 3 in the morning.
02-11-2010, 08:11 AM
I don't like glasgow, I hate the weedgie accent it really annoys me, especially if it is on the tv or radio. I don't do clubbing or gigs so I think I am quite justified in my opinion that Edinburgh is far better than glasgow to live in.
Also, Edinburgh has never had to be the european city of culture, an award that is only given to cities that have a distinct lack of culture:greengrin
02-11-2010, 08:37 AM
Glasgow is quite a small city really.
In world terms, you're right.
However, it's the third largest in the UK.
Edinburgh is 7th.
02-11-2010, 08:49 AM
Surprised at Nottingham's favourable result. I found it a violent place in the evenings and nothing special during daylight hours.
Glasgow is a gloomy place. Dark and depressing. It's like a different country.
These surveys are garbage though eh?
02-11-2010, 09:18 AM
Surprised at Nottingham's favourable result. I found it a violent place in the evenings and nothing special during daylight hours.
Glasgow is a gloomy place. Dark and depressing. It's like a different country.
These surveys are garbage though eh?
I agree about Nottingham, but isn't this survey, as rubbish as it is, about how happy folk are, rather than quality of life?
Hillsidehibby
02-11-2010, 09:20 AM
I worked in Glasgow for many years and find the people very amiable and friendly.
Quite like the Glasgow patter as well.
Woe betide you if you say the slightest remark against it though!
02-11-2010, 10:06 AM
I've no particular pro-Liverpool axe to grind, but I do think they get badly treated by the media and in popular culture. Yes, there might be a pronounced tragedy/drama queen tendency in the culture, but I've always found it a very friendly and relaxed city to go out for a drink in.
The problem is that, as with all cities where the inhabitants take civic pride beyond the realms of reason and mythologise their home town, this just makes the visitor all the more determined to resist its charms.
Liverpool isn't a special chosen place of unique (if often suffering) individuals that it's often self-portrayed as, neither is a rat's nest of scrounging, hustling feral dole-moles. It's an agreeable and friendly post-industrial English city, boasting a club which once punched massively and commendably above its weight in the footballing world, but now no longer does or will again. it boasts some great pubs - check out the magnificent Philharmonic, one of Britain's most maginificent Victorian bars.
I'm absolutely sure you're right, Bob. These "most cheerful/most miserable/most cheesy/most whatever" polls are all rubbish anyway.
But if you listen to the media, ethnic Liverpool seems to have consisted for decades of John Lennon, Paul McCartney (miserable sods both), Derek Hatton (crook), Cilla Black and Jimmy Tarbuck (haemorrhoids), and Stevie Gerrard (whingeing miserable haemorrhoidal plook). And a multiplicity of whining wee skinheads complaining about the demise of their once-great football team.
They need an new image download, methinks.... :cool2:
I may actually visit the place one day.... :devil:
02-11-2010, 11:16 AM
I live in Glasgow now and i quite like it.
Having been brought up in Edinburgh i obvisouly prefer edinburgh.
Glasgow has its share of narrowminded bigots but it also has plenty of decent people too. I think the main reason its more apparent is that there are many hideous areas very close to the city centre and that the GOOD and BAD areas are pretty mixed in glasgow there is no clear separation like in edinburgh or some other cities i have been to.
Depressing wise places i have been to that are worse than glasgow:
****dee
Leeds
Bradford
Nottingham
Birmingham
Everywhere else seems 50/50 but i certainly have no desire to ever live in a middle england city.
02-11-2010, 12:28 PM
What a ringing endorsement...:greengrin
02-11-2010, 12:40 PM
What a ringing endorsement...:greengrin
Haha, aye well i think the only people that LOVE it were born here. Can definately see why this place tops so many miserable lists!
02-11-2010, 01:14 PM
Have lived in Edinburgh now for 18 years and apart from the moaning jocks on here who go on about everything anti Liverpool from the accent to the percption of self pity, Stevie Gerraaaaaaaaaaaaaard, poverty, unemployment, hub caps, car radio's, skinheads, shell suits and der like if you know wha I mean laa............I think it's great. :greengrin
Oh and one last thing, Liverpool never ever ever ever punched above their weight! They were the superheavyweights of their time.
02-11-2010, 01:55 PM
Having been brought up in Edinburgh i obvisouly prefer edinburgh.
Glasgow has its share of narrowminded bigots but it also has plenty of decent people too. I think the main reason its more apparent is that there are many hideous areas very close to the city centre and that the GOOD and BAD areas are pretty mixed in glasgow there is no clear separation like in edinburgh or some other cities i have been to.
Depressing wise places i have been to that are worse than glasgow:
****dee
Leeds
Bradford
Nottingham
Birmingham
Everywhere else seems 50/50 but i certainly have no desire to ever live in a middle england city.
Absolute toilet of a place - the city centre has no redeeming features - the Opera Hall apart - so god knows what the rougher estates on the edges have to offer.
02-11-2010, 02:34 PM
I'm surprised the Scottish media haven't picked up on this story. They were full of it when Glasgow was named the cheeriest and we were named the glummest.
LiverpoolHibs
02-11-2010, 02:40 PM
Haha, aye well i think the only people that LOVE it were born here. Can definately see why this place tops so many miserable lists!
I wasn't born in Glasgow, but I love it. I also love Edinburgh, they're both fantastic cities in very different ways. God knows why so many people spend such a lot of time running one of the two down.
Although I also love Newcastle, so maybe I'm just attracted to miserablism...
02-11-2010, 05:19 PM
Absolute toilet of a place - the city centre has no redeeming features - the Opera Hall apart - so god knows what the rougher estates on the edges have to offer.
right up there with coventry!!
03-11-2010, 08:12 AM
Where did Stirling come?
03-11-2010, 09:21 AM
In world terms, you're right.
However, it's the third largest in the UK.
Edinburgh is 7th.
Would have thought London, Birmingham and Manchester were bigger? Manchester bigger than Glasgow :confused:
I was thinking worldwide when I said it though.
_hucks_
03-11-2010, 10:27 AM
Would have thought London, Birmingham and Manchester were bigger? Manchester bigger than Glasgow :confused:
I was thinking worldwide when I said it though.
Manchester metropolitan area is huge, but the city itself (assuming the city to be the metropolitan area) actually has a population a similar size to Edinburgh.
03-11-2010, 12:32 PM
waaaaaan :bitchy::bitchy:
weaaaaaans :bitchy::bitchy:
by ra way :bitchy::bitchy:
:taxi for glesga :agree:
Radges
03-11-2010, 02:17 PM
Where did Stirling come?
That's no' a real city! :grr::na na:
ancienthibby
03-11-2010, 02:42 PM
That's no' a real city! :grr::na na:
Hoi, Watch it, Bairn!!
Stirling is a big city - ALL the SIGNS SAY SO!!
For a FALKIRK BAIRN, A big city would be DENNY!!! :faf::faf::faf:
03-11-2010, 02:50 PM
Hoi, Watch it, Bairn!!
Why does Stirling (near Tillicoultry) have a Falkirk postcode then? :devil:
03-11-2010, 02:53 PM
Hoi, Watch it, Bairn!!
:tee hee: "Stirling's a big city", it's not even a big town!
If Stirling's going to be classed as a city here, I reserve the right to call Falkirk the same thing. :wink:
03-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Calm down boys, it's obvious.....Falkirk and Stirling are both rubbish little villages.
ancienthibby
03-11-2010, 02:56 PM
Because that's where the sorting office is (low level work is allocated to Falkirk!!):faf::faf::faf:
03-11-2010, 02:57 PM
Exactly. Every single place in the Forth Valley area (Falkirk, Stirling and Clackmannanshire council areas) have "FK" postal codes.
Face it Stirling people, Falkirk is the hub of the Forth Valley region. :bye::devil::take that
ancienthibby
03-11-2010, 02:58 PM
:tee hee: "Stirling's a big city", it's not even a big town!
If Stirling's going to be classed as a city here, I reserve the right to call Falkirk the same thing. :wink:
It's classed as a city everywhere, since it's OFFISHUL!!:greengrin
ancienthibby
03-11-2010, 03:27 PM
To return to the main topic, I think Glasgow is a great city, albeit with one notable caveat!!:greengrin
I worked there for most of the 80's (can you kids remember that??) and it was a fabulous place to be!!:agree:
The ONLY blight on the city then and now remains the shocking sectarianism constantly perpetated from Ipox Park!!:grr:
03-11-2010, 03:31 PM
Stirling (near Tillicoultry)
:greengrin Anyone know which is bigger - the furniture store or the "city"? :dunno:
ancienthibby
03-11-2010, 03:36 PM
:greengrin Anyone know which is bigger - the furniture store or the "city"? :dunno:
The furniture store!!:agree::agree::agree:
More people visit the place every day than live in the town!!:wink::wink::wink:
03-11-2010, 09:08 PM
To return to the main topic, I think Glasgow is a great city, albeit with one notable caveat!!:greengrin
I worked there for most of the 80's (can you kids remember that??) and it was a fabulous place to be!!:agree:
The ONLY blight on the city then and now remains the shocking sectarianism constantly perpetated from Ipox Park!!:grr:
I'd argue in every big city, including Glasgow, that drugs abuse is biggest social blight.
04-11-2010, 08:25 AM
I'd argue in every big city, including Glasgow, that drugs abuse is biggest social blight.
Is it though? Or is it a misconception that cities are awash with drugs. I would say that drugs are a much bigger issue in rural communities, where the problems can genuinely impact on a much higher percentage of the total population.
04-11-2010, 08:30 AM
Queen Betty decided Stirling was a city. Stirlingshire, not Falkirkshire. The only satisfaction Falkirk can take is the fact they managed to get the postcodes and then took FK1 for themselves:faf: Ask yourself as well, now I know Stirling is not brilliant, but shops!!!!! Man, Fawkurk is falling to pieces! And Ancient, you lay off Denny man!!!! Might be a carbuncle, but it is our carbuncle, anyway I am in Dennyloanhead not Denny :greengrin
04-11-2010, 05:40 PM
Nowhere else you can think of?
05-11-2010, 07:38 AM
I think Glasgow is a great city, with friendly people, great night life, and of course the shopping is first class. Edinburgh used to be excellent for shopping, however you just need to look at Princes Street, to see how far we have fallen behind other places. What went wrong ? :bitchy:
05-11-2010, 12:05 PM
I'm quite offended and confused how a vibrant city like Cardiff ended up in the most miserable places.
I think this survey reeks of *****.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
17-11-2010, 12:30 PM
How do you figure that one out? Pretty sure population of Glasgow is less than 100,000 more than Edinburgh, and it is falling (while Edinburgh's is rising)
17-11-2010, 12:47 PM
How do you figure that one out? Pretty sure population of Glasgow is less than 100,000 more than Edinburgh, and it is falling (while Edinburgh's is rising)
It's took you over two weeks to reply to Hibs0666 post and that's the best you can come up with? It's not even correct!
Back to the drawing board for you Southside, me thinks...:greengrin