View Full Version : Match Updates *** Dundee Utd 1 vs Hibs 0 ***
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:04 PM
dont know if we were unlucky, result wise, every time Sportsound went to tannadice it was because Utd were attacking or shooting,(apart from the pen)?
Mibbe I missed the Hibs attacks or shots?
zero atempts on target with the exception of the pen. 2 off target.
The team really need to take it on the chin and focus on the derby now cause we MUST beat they *****!
8 points 10 games is john hughes the worst thing that has ever happened to us
He had 8 points from 8 games. CC has 0 points from 2 games. :devil:
30-10-2010, 04:05 PM
Anyhoos, onwards and upwards, bring on the YAMS.:agree:
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:06 PM
we need nish back for next week as had ZERO goal threat today
zero atempts on target with the exception of the pen. 2 off target.
That can't be right I can remember the radio saying Riordan forced (an albeit too easy save) and their keeper saving a Bamba header off hand :confused:
aye very good. why is it that removed like you always have to bring up the old manager. its supposed to be about looking forward and supporting the new man
Guess from the venom in your posts you wouldn't recognise tounge in cheek sarcasm(hence the devil smilie).
Tone down the language and insults OK
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:09 PM
Guess from the venom in your posts you wouldn't recognise tounge in cheek sarcasm(hence the devil smilie).
Tone down the language and insults OK
aye - just cant be bothered wi folk that decide its great to wind folk up when we are all hurting at watchin that pish every week
30-10-2010, 04:13 PM
aye - just cant be bothered wi folk that decide its great to wind folk up when we are all hurting at watchin that pish every week
Aye we are all hurting. Wisnae winding anyone up .
All arguing aside it was a genuine question. Has Calderwood ever been in a relegation dogfight either as a player or a manager?
We sure as hell need battlers and scrappers now.
30-10-2010, 04:14 PM
We are doomed for the derby.
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:15 PM
All arguing aside it was a genuine question. Has Calderwood ever been in a relegation dogfight either as a player or a manager?
problem is i dont think we have those players. bamba will hide when it gets tough. miller has hidden since last year, deeks is hiding - simply not good enough
30-10-2010, 04:16 PM
Our best battler and scrapper is John Rankin. How bloody scary is that?:boo hoo:
KiddA
30-10-2010, 04:17 PM
Very poor. Was anybody confident we'd score the penalty? I wasn't, regardless of who was gonna take it. We have NOBODY who I'd feel confident of scoring from the penalty spot and that includes Riordan.
I fear the Yams will take us to pieces next week. :boo hoo:
Very true, I said to the wife before Rankin ran up to take it that he would miss then he missed an even easier chance with the rebound. Then I said Hibs will loose the game now. All too predictable with Hibs just now and something really has to give. If I was Rodders I would pay some players off and release them now and bring in players that care :agree: otherwise we will get relegated.
Players like Hogg Nish and Rankin do not deserve a wage and in any other job they would get paid off for poor performance FACT and maybe this would send a message to some of the other under performing players in the squad.
No matter what though no player likes to be released but if we don't do something now it will be 1st division football again next year.
Its time for Rod to take some risks money wise or we will loose more money in the long run.
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:18 PM
my earlier post - pish was swapped for rubbish was just discussed on bbc1
typical hibs pish!!!! when oh when will this bunch of players actually start to perform again??
this is the same lot that were flying start of last year.
cant just be the manager to blame......
the panel have said that they need to be better and get a better team spirit and that they are good players that need to do better
30-10-2010, 04:18 PM
problem is i dont think we have those players. bamba will hide when it gets tough. miller has hidden since last year, deeks is hiding - simply not good enough
Got to hope Duffy and Zemamma make a difference when they come back, but agree we need some dig in that midfield and nobody hiding.
davehiby
30-10-2010, 04:19 PM
He had 8 points from 8 games. CC has 0 points from 2 games. :devil:
or is that 8 from possible 24 points against 0 from possible 6 points :dizzy:
KiddA
30-10-2010, 04:20 PM
we need nish back for next week as had ZERO goal threat today
we have ZERO goal threat when Nish plays so what chance have we got
30-10-2010, 04:20 PM
the panel have said that they need to be better and get a better team spirit and that they are good players that need to do better
Einsteins the lot of them eh. :bitchy:
Tollhouse Hibee
30-10-2010, 04:21 PM
we have ZERO goal threat when Nish plays so what chance have we got
nish was probably the best we had last week.
30-10-2010, 04:24 PM
nish was probably the best we had last week.
And there we have it in a nutshell just why we are in the position we are. Our best chance of a goal is Nish, and our best scrapper in the midfield is Rankin.:boo hoo:
30-10-2010, 04:25 PM
We have very little in that department, that has been obvious since January.
We have more talented players man for man than most of the teams in the league however collectively I would put us bottom of the league for fight, drive, passion etc.
ionahibby
30-10-2010, 04:26 PM
CC interview on radio scotland '' the players are massively dissapointed''
Sorry i don't believe that they don't give a flying **** :grr:
30-10-2010, 04:27 PM
I'm always reluctant to make any comments about a game I didn't actually see for myself, but from the commentary on Hibs TV I got the impression that it was a much better performance than last week.
Survival is the name of the game this season and I've a feeling it will be a much changed squad for the start of next season.
Emerald
30-10-2010, 04:35 PM
I'm always reluctant to make any comments about a game I didn't actually see for myself, but from the commentary on Hibs TV I got the impression that it was a much better performance than last week.
Survival is the name of the game this season and I've a feeling it will be a much changed squad for the start of next season.
The trouble is we need to get some value for the £400 season tickets for this season. How can you say survival is the name of the game this season? We MUST be able to aim above St Mirren, Accies, Calley Thistle, Kilmaronck, Motherwell, St Johnstone at the very least, we should be competing with the rest for Europe EVERY season. The under achievement of Hibs on the park is beyond belief, so much so that we've come to expect it!!!!!!!!!!:bitchy:
30-10-2010, 04:35 PM
Much, much better than last week, but for me today, there was just to much sideways passing. That Pernis got the MOM for the home side says loads. Fairly soild at the back, but trying to match United in the midfield, we are simply far too wee and you can't coach that into players. I think we would have got on better today with a proper two up front, but we fought to get the ball back when we didn't have it. Once again, Miller looks like he could do with a rest.
30-10-2010, 04:37 PM
The trouble is we need to get some value for the £400 season tickets for this season. How can you say survival is the name of the game this season? We MUST be able to aim above St Mirren, Accies, Calley Thistle, Kilmaronck, Motherwell, St Johnstone at the very least, we should be competing with the rest for Europe EVERY season. The under achievement of Hibs on the park is beyond belief, so much so that we've come to expect it!!!!!!!!!!:bitchy:
Because I'm a realist.
30-10-2010, 04:42 PM
Because I'm a realist.
Sadly you are right, with this squad survival is the aim this season. There is nothing to suggest we are any better than Hamilton, Killie, St Mirren, St Johnstone etc and that is really depressing.
SneakersO'Toole
30-10-2010, 04:43 PM
Much, much better than last week, but for me today, there was just to much sideways passing. That Pernis got the MOM for the home side says loads. Fairly soild at the back, but trying to match United in the midfield, we are simply far too wee and you can't coach that into players. I think we would have got on better today with a proper two up front, but we fought to get the ball back when we didn't have it. Once again, Miller looks like he could do with a rest.
Miller doesn't need a rest, he needs his contract terminated.
How Hibs fans can think he is worth a new contract is unbelievable.
30-10-2010, 04:46 PM
He's not the player he was when he first signed for us that's for sure.
30-10-2010, 04:51 PM
What he did today, [as ever?] was to make himself available to get the ball and then either lose it or keep a hold of it for too long and get himself into trouble. Most of the pushing and prompting today came from Hart and Grounds so that is half the battle. The engine room needs taken to bits and re-built though.
30-10-2010, 04:52 PM
You get no points from being unlucky.
I am sorry but to miss a penalty at 0-0 is not unlucky, it is plain *****.
Missing a penalty is never good - just ask Deeks how he felt last 3 times he has done so :rolleyes:
30-10-2010, 05:02 PM
Missing a penalty is never good - just ask Deeks how he felt last 3 times he has done so :rolleyes:
Left footers shouldn't take penalties.
End of.
paxtonhibby
30-10-2010, 05:03 PM
Sadly you are right, with this squad survival is the aim this season. There is nothing to suggest we are any better than Hamilton, Killie, St Mirren, St Johnstone etc and that is really depressing.
It is depressing because having seen all the teams at ER this season WE are the weakest and a relegation scrap looks likely,and when you are in one the last player you need in your team is the likes of Liam "chicken hearted" Miller
30-10-2010, 05:05 PM
End of.
Aren't Celtic trying to prove that left footers don't get penalties in the first place..:hmmm:
30-10-2010, 05:07 PM
Aren't Celtic trying to prove that left footers don't get penalties in the first place..:hmmm:
You have a point sir.
30-10-2010, 05:07 PM
End of.
But Deeks is right footed :confused:
30-10-2010, 05:08 PM
A lot better today. Decent shape, good fight but we are missing quality up front.
Are most of the people moaning again judging by the radio?
We'll be fine if we keep playing that way.
30-10-2010, 05:08 PM
But Deeks is right footed :confused:
But Deeks has scored pens for the club.
No need to be confused.
30-10-2010, 05:15 PM
A lot better today. Decent shape, good fight but we are missing quality up front.
Are most of the people moaning again judging by the radio?
We'll be fine if we keep playing that way.
Lacking quality as a general observation. Today's performance was night and day in comparison to last week though and despite comng away empty handed I was encouraged by that 90 minutes.
30-10-2010, 05:16 PM
But Deeks has scored pens for the club.
No need to be confused.
But surley Rankin should keep taking them until / if he misses 3 in a row
:stirrer:
aberhibsfc
30-10-2010, 05:19 PM
Maybe instead of 'Choosing to sell Players' the board will sanction investment in the team, that's why the club exists and we follow them after all.
It's nice having a training academy, new stand but it's time the board became more interested in the integral than infrastructure.
Queue we don't want to be like Hearts, blah blah blah.
I don't want us to be like Hearts either but surely we shouldn't be competing for players that are more suited to bottom six if Premier league at all.
30-10-2010, 05:30 PM
But surley Rankin should keep taking them until / if he misses 3 in a row
:stirrer:
You seem to be obsessed with Deeks and penalties.
My comment was I don't like left footed players taking penalties.
30-10-2010, 05:39 PM
10 pages of drivel from people not at the game.....
Rankin is a dick, so and so not good enough, typical Hibs:grr::grr:
To put the record straight we were really unfortunate today as we played miles better than of late..... Don't let that stop the doom & gloomers tonight though
hibeenicol
30-10-2010, 05:42 PM
To put the record straight we were really unfortunate today as we played miles better than of late..... Don't let that stop the doom & gloomers tonight though
:agree: I wasn't at the game today but was told we were unlucky not to come away with points from it.
Also got told the penalty was well struck and it was a good save from the the keeper.
Roll on the derby:thumbsup:
30-10-2010, 05:45 PM
You seem to be obsessed with Deeks and penalties.
My comment was I don't like left footed players taking penalties.
You also pointed out that Deeks HAD scored penalties for the club...its fair to point out he has failed with his last 3.
I've no obsession only a desire for any player to be able to be the regular taker and scorer for the club
30-10-2010, 05:45 PM
Exactly. I expected to come on and read a lot of positive stuff about such a contrast after only a week.
We looked solid, we chased and fought and we created chances.
A win would have been deserved had we got it. United barely had a sniff first half.
If we had anyone at all that could have played with Deeks we'd have won that quite easily.
30-10-2010, 05:48 PM
Exactly. I expected to come on and read a lot of positive stuff about such a contrast after only a week.
A win would have been deserved had we got it. United barely had a sniff first half.
If we had anyone at all that could have played with Deeks we'd have won that quite easily.
The positives from today were clear to see Andy, we looked like a unit.... The changes made in a week are heartening...... Much better performance, just needed to get the goal......
30-10-2010, 05:49 PM
:agree: I wasn't at the game today but was told we were unlucky not to come away with points from it.
Also got told the penalty was well struck and it was a good save from the the keeper.
Roll on the derby:thumbsup:
After today I am looking forward to derby, home match, fans behind team, and more of the same effort and endeavour as today.....
30-10-2010, 05:54 PM
The positives from today were clear to see Andy, we looked like a unit.... The changes made in a week are heartening...... Much better performance, just needed to get the goal......
After today I am looking forward to derby, home match, fans behind team, and more of the same effort and endeavour as today.....
Good to get some perspective put on the thread and the result. Couldn't make it to Dundee today but will be sitting down to tune in to Alba in a while to watch what happened.
There are too many folk wade in with the rage on here sometimes, so thanks for putting a sense check on the thread.:thumbsup:
30-10-2010, 05:54 PM
How did Grounds and Hart look today lads ? Good to see Hart back in, but was a wee bit uneasy about Grounds after Perth.
Where did he play De Graaf also ?
Sounds like he has them working hard. Love to hear that as it's been a season too long waiting for proper work rate and closing down.
Heartened to hear that the players showed real effort and commitment.
30-10-2010, 05:57 PM
How did Grounds and Hart look today lads ? Good to see Hart back in, but was a wee bit uneasy about Grounds after Perth.
Where did he play De Graaf also ?
Sounds like he has them working hard. Love to hear that as it's been a season too long waiting for proper work rate and closing down.
Heartened to hear that the players showed real effort and commitment.
Team looked better with full backs as full backs. Thought Hart had a great game, as did Lewis Stevenson on left side of midfield. De Graaf played through centre of midfield and looked much better.....
30-10-2010, 05:59 PM
How did Miller play?
30-10-2010, 06:00 PM
Played miles better today. We actually played the ball wide which was a nice change. Of course if I was in Browns shoes when Goodwillie was coming through I'd have taken one for the team and made sure I got something, whether it was the ball, or Goodwillie. I can see Improvement.
hibeenicol
30-10-2010, 06:02 PM
Hopefully Baldy I hope we can start giving Their players more abuse than we give our own.
30-10-2010, 06:07 PM
Miles better today. :agree:
Looked like a team and actually used the wings, De Graaf had a good game as did Stevenson on the left wing. Felt Galbraith was our biggest threat today and he had a good game.
Seriously short in attacking options though, Looking forward to having Duffy back.
The only negatives for me were defending cross balls, set pieces and that one blip at the end which cost us. Miller still didn't impose himself as much as he could have IMO.
Oh and the sooner Stacky is back the better IMO.
Capt Mainwaring
30-10-2010, 06:17 PM
Definite improvement today - Calderwood's influence starting to show. All four of the back four playing in their best position. De Graff had a good game and Galbraith gave good width.
Pity that the options up front were limited, but we deserved a point today.
Main thing was the more organised look of the team, and the workrate shown by the players.
Light at the end of the tunnel
30-10-2010, 06:22 PM
How did Miller play?
Okay really. Sat in front of the back for with rankin and de graaf ahead of him and Lewis and Danny wide.
30-10-2010, 06:23 PM
Definite improvement today - Calderwood's influence starting to show. A four of the back four playing in their best position. De Graff had a good game and Galbraith gave good width.
Pity that the options up front were limited, but we deserved a point today.
Main thing was the more organised look of the team, and the workrate shown by the players.
Light at the end of the tunnel
Totally agree Captain.
Well balanced team, a bit unlucky not to get a point, the man of the match was Pernis says a lot.
Passing was mostly good and crisp, if they lost the ball they did their best to get it back.
CC on the edge of the pitch shouting instructions most of the game.
And finally, the fans stood and clapped the team at the end :top marks
30-10-2010, 06:34 PM
Totally agree Captain.
Well balanced team, a bit unlucky not to get a point, the man of the match was Pernis says a lot.
Passing was mostly good and crisp, if they lost the ball they did their best to get it back.
CC on the edge of the pitch shouting instructions most of the game.
And finally, the fans stood and clapped the team at the end :top marks
Long may this continue.:agree:
30-10-2010, 06:42 PM
Played miles better today. We actually played the ball wide which was a nice change. Of course if I was in Browns shoes when Goodwillie was coming through I'd have taken one for the team and made sure I got something, whether it was the ball, or Goodwillie. I can see Improvement.
Agreed, he should have taken anything and everything, if need be he should have got himself outside the box and taken the red card.
30-10-2010, 07:34 PM
I take it we were unlucky today?
30-10-2010, 07:44 PM
I take it we were unlucky today?
At least a point, and I do mean at least!
30-10-2010, 07:48 PM
We were lucky not to be one down in the first half though. Did Lewis actually know anything about the one that hit him on the line?
At The Edge
30-10-2010, 07:54 PM
yep defo better today, although are the Dundee Utd fans the most boring ever?
The team had loads of positives today, and got to agree with the :top marks for the supporters at the end, nice to see folk around me applauding the team off the park, the players i think will appreciate that.
another week of CC training and we will be looking like a team thats set up well and has a plan of action for 90 mins.
30-10-2010, 08:19 PM
We were lucky not to be one down in the first half though. Did Lewis actually know anything about the one that hit him on the line?
Dont know, you would have to ask him. But is that not the point of having someone on the line?
30-10-2010, 08:25 PM
Yes, but from what I saw it hit him at speed and could have gone anywhere. In my book that is a bit of good luck. Him heading or kicking it away is a bit different imo.
30-10-2010, 08:29 PM
Yes, but from what I saw it hit him at speed and could have gone anywhere. In my book that is a bit of good luck. Him heading or kicking it away is a bit different imo.
Dont tell me we got lucky? :devil:
30-10-2010, 08:30 PM
IMO that is exactly why you have a guy on the post.
Riordan had a chance before that which he should have made more of, first half was a deserved draw, but on balance of 2nd half we deserved more.
30-10-2010, 08:38 PM
But at that speed it had to hit him. Will need to see the highlights to see if he moved towards the ball.
Think we deserved a point, but agree Riordan should have scored. Pen was the killer, if that had been put away am sure we would have went on to win.
30-10-2010, 08:39 PM
30-10-2010, 08:49 PM
But at that speed it had to hit him. Will need to see the highlights to see if he moved towards the ball.
Think we deserved a point, but agree Riordan should have scored. Pen was the killer, if that had been put away am sure we would have went on to win.
Agreed, or at least a point. The pen save lifted them and the crowd massively. We need a penalty taker, I am sure at training tomorrow morning they can start sorting through who it will be. For Riordan being as good a striker as he is I cant believe the cant handle a pen, would add at least 5 goals a season to his tally.
But regardless we cant keeping missing pens, each of the two missed this season have had a huge effect on our points this season.
Hope Calderwood's subs are more effective in future!
30-10-2010, 09:06 PM
Grounds was good IMHO.
Hart was poor first half but got better as the good went on..
30-10-2010, 09:08 PM
*game not 'good'
30-10-2010, 09:10 PM
*game not 'good'
Garry your f ecking wrecked the night eh :greengrin
30-10-2010, 09:18 PM
*game not 'good'
:redindian: Game not good. Game ok. Ball went forward quick. Striker have shot on goal. Ball stay out. Support not happy but not sad.