View Full Version : **Colin Calderwood announced as new Hibernian Manager**

18-10-2010, 04:14 PM
Sky sports news said it IS him

18-10-2010, 04:15 PM
Confirmed as new manager.

So what do people think.

Hibernian FC today announces that Colin Calderwood has been appointed Club Manager with immediate effect on a three year contract.
45 year-old Calderwood leaves Newcastle United where, as Assistant Manager to Chris Hughton, he oversaw a successful season in 2009-10 which resulted in automatic promotion from the Football League Championship and a solid start to this season's campaign in the FA Premier League.
As a player, Calderwood made over 600 appearances in English club football, counting Tottenham Hotspur and Aston Villa amongst his teams.
He also featured 36 times for the Scottish national team playing in the World Cup Finals and the European Championship Finals.
Following his retirement as a player in 2001, Calderwood became Reserve Team Manager at Tottenham Hotspur before being appointed Manager at Northampton Town in 2003.
Success followed, culminating in promotion to Football League One in 2006.Nottingham Forest then secured his services as Manager and once again his team achieved promotion, this time to the Football League Championship in 2008.
Calderwood said: "I have enjoyed my time at Newcastle United immensely; it is a great club with a great support.

"However, I have always wanted to be a Manager again in my own right and I am therefore delighted to be given this opportunity at another huge club, Hibernian.

"This is a well run, stable club with a wonderful tradition and terrific facilities. I'm looking forward to working with the squad and can't wait to get started as we prepare for Saturday's game at Aberdeen."
Hibernian Chairman Rod Petrie said: "Colin has been in the dug out as a Manager in nearly 300 matches.

"He also has a wealth of experience as a player and as an Assistant Manager in the English Premier League.

"He is a winner, having won promotion with three different clubs.He is a leader with real drive and determination to succeed. This makes him an outstanding choice."

18-10-2010, 04:15 PM
Calderwood manager

Mary Hinge
18-10-2010, 04:17 PM
Sky sports news said it IS him

Just had a text from the Club confirming COLIN Calderwood on a three year deal :agree:

18-10-2010, 04:17 PM
I'm going to log off for the week and just see what the team starts to play like.

Can't be ersed with all the crap that will take place between then! As if anyone else was guaranteed success!

18-10-2010, 04:19 PM
The bookies will be delighted :greengrin

HibbyDave
18-10-2010, 04:19 PM
On official site now!

COLIN CALDERWOOD

18-10-2010, 04:20 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101018/colin-calderwood-appointed-manager_2262950_2188620

On official site, had money on Clarke as well.:grr:

Anyway welcome Colin lets hope it works out. :agree:

Calderwood on SSN now.

M11BMO
18-10-2010, 04:21 PM
I'll not knock him until he's had a chance. Remember that these aren't his players...

18-10-2010, 04:22 PM
Not my first choice but welcome big Colin

Welcome Colin and good luck with the Hibees.

Rossco1875
welcome :agree:

He's been quoted in the past and has plenty coaching and managerial experience. He gets my backing and I hope (although I see a minority are mumping already) the backing of the Hibs fans.

Good luck Colin :flag:

ackeygraham
18-10-2010, 04:23 PM
Not who i was looking for, heard Petrie got up to his old tricks again and went back on the deal with Clarke, hence why we've got this long ball merchant in the door.

I've watched his other teams, and it wasn't pretty.

18-10-2010, 04:24 PM
WHY HASN'T GE RE-SIGNED DEEKS YET!

CLADEROOWD OUT NOW!11!1!!1

18-10-2010, 04:25 PM
I won't pretend I wanted Calderwood as manager, but he has been appointed so its time to get behind the new man.

18-10-2010, 04:27 PM
Sick! Do you think we'll find out the stories behind why Clarke didn't get the job? Or if was really in the frame at all?

Rekon it was all just talk and rumour. Could never see him coming near us to big a step down. Like someone else has said, not going to pretend like im happy with the new appointment but will give full support.

18-10-2010, 04:27 PM
Calderwood seems like a decent appointment. I'm glad RP looked outwith the dull SPL choices such as tango, billy reid, derek mcinnes etc. Lets just get behind the man in charge and support him :agree:

sundo1875
18-10-2010, 04:28 PM
Welcome

Welcome! Colin :agree:

I'm about as happy as I was when I heard Hughes got the job. :grr:

I would imagine he will cost us quite alot as you don't get paid peanuts at Newcastle. Frankly I think we could have spent less and gotten a good, proven manager (ie the other Calderwood). Oh well.

I don't see how Petrie can remain as chaiman if this guys flops - very few people would have chosen him.

18-10-2010, 04:29 PM

I'd love to be wrong, but....

18-10-2010, 04:31 PM

How happy were you when Tony Mowbray got the job?

persevere1875
18-10-2010, 04:33 PM
I won't pretend I wanted Calderwood as manager, but he has been appointed so its time to get behind the new man.

Likewise :agree:

TowerHibs
18-10-2010, 04:34 PM
I'm going to log off for the week and just see what the team starts to play like.

Can't be ersed with all the crap that will take place between then! As if anyone else was guaranteed success!

never a truer word said

18-10-2010, 04:35 PM
Sick! Do you think we'll find out the stories behind why Clarke didn't get the job? Or if was really in the frame at all?

Not who i was looking for, heard Petrie got up to his old tricks again and went back on the deal with Clarke, .

I've just been told that Steve Clarke was in Edinburgh over the weekend, but withdrew his interest when the rumours about Strachan started.

18-10-2010, 04:36 PM
Glad all the speculation is over.Not my choice but, hey ho onwards and upwards.Welcome CC.

18-10-2010, 04:36 PM
Any idea of his backroom staff :dunno:

18-10-2010, 04:37 PM
Just texted my mate who played at Northampton under Calderwood...reckons hes a brilliant manager and is a great man, good person skills.

Fingers crossed.

18-10-2010, 04:38 PM
Welcome to the club :thumbsup:

Bring us some wins please

anyone got stats from previous jobs?

cheltenhamhibee
18-10-2010, 04:39 PM
Just texted my mate who played at Northampton under Calderwood...reckons hes a brilliant manager and is a great man, good person skills.

Fingers crossed.

was that mate Andy Kirk ? by any chance

18-10-2010, 04:39 PM
Welcome to the club :thumbsup:

Bring us some wins please

anyone got stats from previous jobs?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Calderwood

JON6207
18-10-2010, 04:41 PM
Team Nat From To Record
P W D L Win %
Northampton Town 9 October 2003 29 May 2006 154 74 40 40 48.05
Nottingham Forest 30 May 2006 26 December 2008 136 57 42 37 41.91
Newcastle United (caretaker) 28 February 2009 31 March 2009 8 1 5 2 12.50

Total 298 132 77 79 44.30

Any idea of his backroom staff :dunno:

Tommy Craig with Alan O'Brien being brought in as a specialised sprint trainer.

You heard it first here.

that sounds a really good idea, Andy.

I think the admins are going to have to break out the hip-boots and shovels to deal with the manure that's going to be settling around the place over the next few days.

There were complaints posted about him ten minutes before the news conference started....

Welcome to Leith and to ER, Mr Calderwood. And the best of British luck to you! :thumbsup:

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

18-10-2010, 04:42 PM

I would imagine he will cost us quite alot as you don't get paid peanuts at Newcastle. Frankly I think we could have spent less and gotten a good, proven manager (ie the other Calderwood). Oh well.

I don't see how Petrie can remain as chaiman if this guys flops - very few people would have chosen him.

You must be kidding, how you can already be doubting / questioning the guy I will never know. Why dont you just get the sack him thread started now!

I would imagine that he would have cost us no more than the budget would allow, when have you ever know RP to chase someone with an open wallet!

Delighted we have the new manager in place and we can start building for the foreseeable future.

TowerHibs
18-10-2010, 04:42 PM
long ball merchant???? So what??? If it gets the team competing and not just passing it along our back 4 and playing football in final third then why not??? As long as he gets the personel in to do it

Anyway, Ian Holloway was a huge hoofball manager, got emptied from Leicester and re-evaluated what kind of manager to play

Give the guy and chance and get behind him!!!!!

18-10-2010, 04:43 PM
Very uninspiring, and a bit disappointed that the rumours were wrong. If this guy fails, then Petrie had to go IMO. I don't think we will see an immediate improvement in performance, but given the right time and money to build his own squad, he could be a good manager for us. Any news on his assistant?

Purehibee_MYB
18-10-2010, 04:44 PM
Not my first choice but good luck to CC

Hibby Kate
18-10-2010, 04:45 PM
Good Luck Colin
Welcome to Hibernian.

At The Edge
18-10-2010, 04:46 PM
Welcome to Hibs Colin, i'll see you at the derby,

18-10-2010, 04:46 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Calderwood

Team Nat From To Record
P W D L Win %
Northampton Town 9 October 2003 29 May 2006 154 74 40 40 48.05
Nottingham Forest 30 May 2006 26 December 2008 136 57 42 37 41.91
Newcastle United (caretaker) 28 February 2009 31 March 2009 8 1 5 2 12.50

Total 298 132 77 79 44.30

promotion with northampton and narrowly missed out with forrest

not too bad actually :hmmm:

18-10-2010, 04:48 PM
FFS lads. This guy is good choice. He has left a EPL club to come to Hibs.

18-10-2010, 04:50 PM
'Mon the CC. - you're the man!

Welcome to Hibs Colin.

Wishing you every success with the mighty Hibees and remember you'll be a legend in your own right when you deliver the Holy Grail in the form of the Scottish Cup.

Here's hoping. Now he's here I'm thinking positively!

Me too:agree:

persevere1875
Man can you believe the negativity and calls for Petrie to go IF and i do mean IF the guy fails, he hasnt even been in the job five minutes let alone taking a training session or named a side and already we've got people Negging him up, Isnt about time we as a collective support stood up to the element of support who constantly want to see the negative side of everything in our club and did something about it, Do these people remember the Hands Off Hibs campaign and the mess we were in then, be glad you still have a club to follow and get a collective grip FFS.

Aubenas
18-10-2010, 04:51 PM
Man can you believe the negativity and calls for Petrie to go IF and i do mean IF the guy fails, he hasnt even been in the job five minutes let alone taking a training session or named a side and already we've got people Negging him up, Isnt about time we as a collective support stood up to the element of support who constantly want to see the negative side of everything in our club and did something about it, Do these people remember the Hands Off Hibs campaign and the mess we were in then, be glad you still have a club to follow and get a collective grip FFS.

:top marks:agree::notworthy::thumbsup:

sundo1875
18-10-2010, 04:52 PM
wonder who his assistant will be

Wee Scottie Dug
18-10-2010, 04:52 PM

Fingers crossed.

Cobblers !!

Sorry couldn't resist:devil:

Welcome to the Club CC ....... wish you all the best .... dont understand the negative reaction from some of our hibs.netters , but thats football and opinions huh!!

GreenPJ
18-10-2010, 04:53 PM

:bye:

Posh Swanny
18-10-2010, 04:54 PM
promotion with northampton and narrowly missed out with forrest

not too bad actually :hmmm:

Narrowly missed out the first time with Forest, but got promoted the year after.

Forest fans never liked him though.

18-10-2010, 04:55 PM
wonder who his assistant will be

Someone called Steve Clarke

Stuarty27
18-10-2010, 04:56 PM
Excellent choice.

Just the man to take this club forward.

18-10-2010, 04:56 PM
Narrowly missed out the first time with Forest, but got promoted the year after.

Forest fans never liked him though.

never saw that, if he gets up the top end of the table you wont hear many complaints from me :agree:

JohnScott
18-10-2010, 04:57 PM
Welcome Colin and good luck. A quick look at hibs.net and you'll see you'll need it! Not even thought of you to be honest but all the best. Still have reservations about taking on a manager who, if successful or not, will be off within two years!!! We never seem to learn.

In the meantime? Get intae the Dons and Arabs and lets fill that new stand for the visit of the Jambo's. :notworthy:

18-10-2010, 04:58 PM
Very positive comments about CC from David Pleat on beeb radio just now. All very encouraging.

18-10-2010, 04:59 PM
Cobblers !!Sorry couldn't resist:devil:

Welcome to the Club CC ....... wish you all the best .... dont understand the negative reaction from some of our hibs.netters , but thats football and opinions huh!!

I liked it. Mind you, I doubt if they make many shoes there now.

18-10-2010, 04:59 PM
Welcome to Hibernian, Colin. I'm pretty chuffed to be honest, he sounds like a winner and a leader. Hopefully he can start changing a few mindsets and get us hard to beat and give us a winning mentality. Let's all get behind him and help us progress as a club.

Colin, you are a winner, we want the Scottish Cup: make it happen :flag:

18-10-2010, 05:00 PM
Just home from work, one foot in the door and the missus says, heard who your new manager is? No!
You're no goanny be happy!!!!! Jimmy Calderwood.

FFS!!! no no no arrrgh **** no.

right, log on and see who else is going to Easter Road to spray the walls wi fake tan spray..... ****. **** ****

eh?
COLIN Calderwood...... whooo hoooo:thumbsup:

:greengrinMade me laugh.Was she winding you up or was it a genuine mistake?

18-10-2010, 05:03 PM
Must admit to feeling a bit deflated at the announcement as was really excited by the prospect of having Clarke & Stark at ER. Suppose that's what happens when you let yourself get carried away with all the speculation.
Having said that - I hope Calderwood proves to be the right man for the job and wish him every success.

18-10-2010, 05:03 PM
Welcome to Hibs, Colin :thumbsup:

I don't know enough about him to say one way or the other how I feel about the appointment, other than to say so long as he finishes third, wins the Scottish Cup, and regularly beats the Yams, he's fine with me.:greengrin

euro Hibby
18-10-2010, 05:05 PM
can't fathom why everyone wasso inot Clarke and Stark ......but anyway its neither he nor there now........welcome to the new man and hope he is better than the last !

18-10-2010, 05:05 PM
Welcome to Hibs, Colin :thumbsup:

I don't know enough about him to say one way or the other how I feel about the appointment, other than to say so long as he finishes third, wins the Scottish Cup, and regularly beats the Yams, he's fine with me.:greengrin

Typical 'lack of ambition' comments from you Matty :greengrin

18-10-2010, 05:06 PM
Welcome to Hibs Colin!

Not the best or worst we could have gotten IMO. Seems to have a pretty decent C.V considering we are only a mid-top table SPL side.

Has my full backing and I hope he and Hibernian do well; if the players give him any of the same crap we've seen far too regularly in the past few years then they should be the ones to go next.

Onwards and upwards.

GraniteCityHibs
18-10-2010, 05:06 PM
Right i'm off! Can't be done wi some of the negative p!sh on here, which now massively outweighs anything positive! Good luck to Colin Calderwood, he'll need it soon enough once the 'i told you he wasn't the right man and i never wanted him anyway!' brigade round on you! Again, good luck and i'll see you at Todders! GGTTH!

18-10-2010, 05:08 PM
I'm pretty impressed that we have been able to get an experienced manager and coach. A guy who has left an assistant manager job at an EPL club to take on a struggling SPL team with a recent history of swift managerial turnaround.

He has been successful elsewhere as manager/coach and was the kind of player who made the most of a fairly limited talent and played against the best in the world on the biggest stage. He will dae for me.

Good luck Colin, your gonnae need it!!

18-10-2010, 05:08 PM

Fingers crossed.

Now that is good news. Second best news I have heard all day.

Best news being my Mrs telling me she felt my new son/daughter kicking!

18-10-2010, 05:10 PM

Even unborn Hibees are excited by the appointment :greengrin

There's a few on here could learn from that :wink:

sevenil
18-10-2010, 05:10 PM
How underwhelming.............pity, an opportunity missed.

18-10-2010, 05:11 PM
Welcome to Hibernian Colin :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 05:11 PM
Just home from work, one foot in the door and the missus says, heard who your new manager is? No!

right, log on and see who else is going to Easter Road to spray the walls wi fake tan spray..... ****. **** ****

eh?

:LOL:

That made me laugh - I'd have been the same.

18-10-2010, 05:12 PM
How underwhelming.............pity, an opportunity missed.

Were you underwhelmed by Mowbray's appointment sevenil?

18-10-2010, 05:13 PM
Typical 'lack of ambition' comments from you Matty :greengrin

I really want the league title, but didn't want to come across as unrealistic.:greengrin

18-10-2010, 05:16 PM
welcome aboard colin!

18-10-2010, 05:18 PM

I really want the league title, but didn't want to come across as unrealistic.:greengrin

That's more like it as it's passage into the Champions League :greengrin

WeAreHibs
18-10-2010, 05:19 PM
Does he have a website?

18-10-2010, 05:20 PM

Wonderful irony! Isn't it!!???

EskbankHibby
18-10-2010, 05:22 PM

It will be another boy Jamie, other .netters should know that Bristolhibby's son has the initials H.I.B.:thumbsup:

Just seen Calderwood at the press conference and thought Tommy Sheridan was sitting beside Petrie, seems the surname Calderwood may be synonamous with a quality tan.

Welcome CC.

Hibee Daz
18-10-2010, 05:23 PM
Good luck Colin, you will need it as patience and confidence are certainly not in abundance at ER right now!
Get your prozac prescription handed in asap Colin, you may well need it soon as the boo boys already seem to be out to get you!:brickwall

Why can't we all just get behind the guy:notworthy:, he wasn't who I wanted either but we all should give him the support he needs to try and help make us successful! He's the new manager of our great club and to slate the guy just because he wasn't who you wanted is out of order.

I Love Lamp
18-10-2010, 05:25 PM
An excellent choice. 3 promotions with no money and a good playing career.

Steve Clarke was never more than an illusion; proof that nature abhors a vacuum even if it ends up filling with s***.

At last someone with some proven success as opposed to a combination of inexperience and incompetence.

And, by the way, people who say he's only had experience in 'lower league football' would do well to recognise that the SPL is lucky if it's any better than League 1. Would Hibs beat Peterborough? Would Dundee Utd have beaten Norwich last year? Have Gordon Strachan's Old Firm Select done anything in the Championship? The only way for Scottish football is up and it needs outside help.

It's about time people woke up!

Dr_Regal
18-10-2010, 05:27 PM
I have been well sucked in by the Steve Clarke nonsense. Whoever made that up on this site, must have had a right laugh.
Having said that, I was pretty unimpressed but could have been alot worst.

Still give the man my support, has more experience than our previous four managers. Good luck Colin.

The Guy has to be given a chance and I will end my exile from Easter Road and support the Manager in his effort to get us back up the league were we belong.

Dr Jimmy
Anyone made up a song with CC & S in it yet?
Welcome to hibs big man.....:-)

Petrie's going nowhere whatever happens with CC, he's got 10% of the club for starters and is best mate with the bloke who has 90%.

I don't care who the manager is if Hibs are winning matches. I feel that Clarke would have provided a huge feel good factor and suggested HUGE ambition from the board (our last two untried managers did alright after all).

However if Clarke told Hibs to get stuffed once he heard the Boro job was coming available then we've saved ourselves some pain down the line.

Clarke certainly was going to be the manager as of this morning so I can only assume that our late approach for Calderwood and his seemingly speedy appointment suggests that something went wrong with Clarke today.

18-10-2010, 05:31 PM
Can't believe some of the reactions on here. CC had a great playing career at the top level and has got three promotions without two pennies to rub together. Give the guy a chance FFS. Welcome to HFC, Colin.

18-10-2010, 05:32 PM

Steve Clarke was never more than an illusion; proof that nature abhors a vacuum even if it ends up filling with s***.

At last someone with some proven success as opposed to a combination of inexperience and incompetence.

And, by the way, people who say he's only had experience in 'lower league football' would do well to recognise that the SPL is lucky if it's any better than League 1. Would Hibs beat Peterborough? Would Dundee Utd have beaten Norwich last year? Have Gordon Strachan's Old Firm Select done anything in the Championship? The only way for Scottish football is up and it needs outside help.

Also he's got a lot of experience in all leagues down south, so a good chance he'll have close contacts and might get a few good signings out of that.

Working at an EPL club will give him experience of how bigger clubs train and operate, so with that + all his own experience at other clubs, I'd imagine he'll have very good knowledge on how to get his teams working in training, and perhaps finally the man to clear out the lazy trouble makers.

I feel content with this appointment, he's well spoken, has played at a good level, winning mentality, good mix of experience, not an ex player or OF lover, so all in all he seems a fine choice.

Hibee_Lisa
18-10-2010, 05:34 PM
Welcome Colin and good luck:thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 05:35 PM
Welcome Colin. Good appointment. Press conferences will be the opposite of Yogi's; you can hardly get a word out of him!

I think he will do well.

18-10-2010, 05:35 PM
Lets actualy back this manager then and see what he can do. So far sounds impressive. All the best Colin. :agree::thumbsup:

shagpile
18-10-2010, 05:38 PM

eh?

You sir, are a very tolerant man. I would have floored my missus if she had given me that news.:grr:

18-10-2010, 05:39 PM

Right i'm off! Can't be done wi some of the negative p!sh on here, which now massively outweighs anything positive! Good luck to Colin Calderwood, he'll need it soon enough once the 'i told you he wasn't the right man and i never wanted him anyway!' brigade round on you! Again, good luck and i'll see you at Todders! GGTTH!

Totally agree, chaps.

CC has experience as a player and as a manager and coach. He comes from the EPL and he has no previous connection with Hibs.

Buncha whining nutters on here tonight.

All the best, CC. Nil carborundum illegitimis! :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 05:42 PM

hey, it's real life. This managerial appointment is a key one that Petrie had to get right.

Scottish football is in a mess, a lot of that is due to the turgid coaching and *tactics* teams play - crowds falling all over the SPL, apathy reigning.

We had a chance to get back to playing great football (a la Mogga). I hope this appointment gets it right.

If it isn't then it is absolutely correct and part of real life that when expectations are high, and someone (RP) makes a judgement call of this nature, then he has to get it right or face the music.

Otherwise, do we just abandon all expectations and roll on the mediocrity sine die?

Here's hoping this is a step in the right direction, I'm always open to be convinced and delighted to be wrong, but my instincts tell me this is a gamble by RP

FifeHib
18-10-2010, 05:45 PM
Welcome Colin. Good appointment. :thumbsup:
I think he will do well.

Bob Box Fish
18-10-2010, 05:47 PM
Welcome on board. Not my first choice but has a decent pedigree thus far.

Will need time to ween out the dross and bring the young lads through.

Billy
18-10-2010, 05:49 PM
A 3 minute plus clip from tonights press conference is on the freeview screen via the front page of the official site.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Home/0,,10290,00.html

18-10-2010, 05:54 PM
To those who wanted Clarke would it make you feel any better to know that hibs interviewed and wanted him but couldn't afford him?

18-10-2010, 05:55 PM
Good luck Colin, no pressure but you HAVE to win your first home game.:greengrin

18-10-2010, 05:57 PM
I have been well sucked in by the Steve Clarke nonsense. Whoever made that up on this site, must have had a right laugh.
Having said that, I was pretty unimpressed but could have been alot worst.

Still give the man my support, has more experience than our previous four managers. Good luck Colin.

Clarke was not made up by anyone.

He was interviewed for the position but turned it down when it came to talking salary, Hibs fell well short of what he was looking for.

18-10-2010, 05:58 PM
Welcome CC :thumbsup:
See ya in Eberdeen :thumbsup:

ps - Naebdy tell Blackpool CC's a lifelong Cellic fan please!

18-10-2010, 05:59 PM
It will be another boy Jamie, other .netters should know that Bristolhibby's son has the initials H.I.B.:thumbsup:

Just seen Calderwood at the press conference and thought Tommy Sheridan was sitting beside Petrie, seems the surname Calderwood may be synonamous with a quality tan.

Welcome CC.

Find out on Friday. My money is on another boy.

18-10-2010, 05:59 PM
To those who wanted Clarke would it make you feel any better to know that hibs interviewed and wanted him but couldn't afford him?

Depends how much he was looking for. The thing I find strange about that is why go to the trouble of applying and going for an interview when you don't know what the going rate is for the job, complete waste of time for everyone if the wages were a big enough obstacle to stop it happening.

Anyhoo, welcome to Hibs Colin, don't let us down now :cool2: Win your first home match and you'll do yourself a huge favour. :greengrin

18-10-2010, 06:06 PM
Stuns me sometimes the negative comments on Hibs.net. We're all entitled to our opinions - here's mine ...............

Cut the guy some slack will you?
Here's a guy, experienced, winning coach with a pretty good CV. Has left a good job in the EPL and come to Hibs. He wants to use his experience and skills to turn our present situation around and build a successful team.
I can understand that some Hibs.netters had set their sights on getting Clarke or Stark, amongst others. They werent successful candidates. Colin Calderwood is our new manager.
Lets everyone get behind him, the coaches and importantly the players......
CC may just be the man to do the job we all have wanted for so long....
Mowbray, Collins, Paatelainen, Hughes, etc/... have all gone.

Its now Calderwood's time - lets get behind him and the boys.

Glory Glory to the Hibees :agree:

18-10-2010, 06:06 PM
WELCOME TO HIBERNIAN COLIN !!!!!!!
im sure colin was a central defender in his playing days,,so hopefully
he will have his own thoughts on how to make hibernian hard to beat
we ALL have to get behind the guy,,,,just remember that CC never signed
any of these players he has just inherited,,,if he can improve their fitness
and instill a winning mentality [a few draws is ok]
wonder who his number 2+3 will be??????

18-10-2010, 06:08 PM
Talk Sport said they are trying to get in touch with Calderwood :agree:

18-10-2010, 06:09 PM
Well done Hibs :faf: Put in charge a man who was considered less than Hughes 18 months ago.

Possibly one of the least inspiring choices we have ever made, in the Blobby category for me. Thank **** I'm living abroad and won't have to be putting up with hoofball and 7000 attendances each week.

With the faintest of connections to Inter Milan my support is being put behind the men from the San Siro, Hibs can seriously **** off with that level of ambition.

18-10-2010, 06:10 PM

He was interviewed for the position but turned it down when it came to talking salary, Hibs fell well short of what he was looking for.

And your source is ?
No stories along that line coming out of EM's today .

18-10-2010, 06:10 PM
Great appointment, must admit i fancied the idea of Clarke, but im more than happy..

Cant believe there people slagging him off already, Hes no2 at newcastle, they get promoted 1st time of asking, dont tell me it was Chris Hughton that masterminded that in his 1st year as manager, Calderwood would have had a big say in what went on. Hes not in the EPL cos hes bad at his job.

So in my eyes the board have to be applauded for this....

Davy Mac
18-10-2010, 06:11 PM
Good appointment IMO.

Definately a step up on Yogi, Mixu, JC etc, looks like the kind of guy who will enjoy /appreciate East Mains and similar to JC in terms of discipline/looking after yourself etc.

Yup, happy with that................until xmas:greengrin

sam armstrong
18-10-2010, 06:13 PM

Don't know why so many wanted Clarke. No managerial experience whatsoever. Let's welcome the new manager and wait and see what happens.

18-10-2010, 06:14 PM
Good luck Colin, no pressure but you HAVE to win your first home game.:greengrin
Very very true

18-10-2010, 06:17 PM

Brilliant mate. :thumbsup:

sam armstrong
18-10-2010, 06:18 PM
Well done Hibs :faf: Put in charge a man who was considered less than Hughes 18 months ago.

Possibly one of the least inspiring choices we have ever made, in the Blobby category for me. Thank **** I'm living abroad and won't have to be putting up with hoofball and 7000 attendances each week.

With the faintest of connections to Inter Milan my support is being put behind the men from the San Siro, Hibs can seriously **** off with that level of ambition.
Thank god you live abroad. I doubt you know anything about Colin Calderwood, and in case you hadn't noticed we have not exactly set the heather on fire recently with well known figures. Good luck to the new man and on the off chance you actually support Hibs then get a grip.

euro Hibby
18-10-2010, 06:18 PM
kick back having a laugh regards the appoiment - they were craping it if we had got Clarke and Zola.

Maybe a good appointment , at least we have not raised the expectations!

18-10-2010, 06:24 PM
Not my first choice by any stretch of the imagination but he desereves a fair crack at the whip and i will get behind him 100%, lets hope everyone does!

Have to admit listening to the press conference I do feel a bit deflated, kinda thought an exciting appointment would have given the whole club a massive lift that it needed but feel this is kinda not the case. Mind he has a tough job ahead, anyone thinking he will change our fortunes overnight with this lot of players needs to rethink.

Good luck Colin, feeling u may need it.

hibeenicol

Bit harsh no? How much do you actually know about the man?
Enjoy the san siro and don't rush back:bye:

I don't care who is in charge if we're attacking in style but my initial feelings are very similar to yours HH.

18-10-2010, 06:27 PM
And your source is ?

What would the players know about it?

Accountants on the other hand....

18-10-2010, 06:29 PM
Stuns me sometimes the negative comments on Hibs.net. We're all entitled to our opinions - here's mine ...............

Cut the guy some slack will you?
Here's a guy, experienced, winning coach with a pretty good CV. Has left a good job in the EPL and come to Hibs. He wants to use his experience and skills to turn our present situation around and build a successful team.
I can understand that some Hibs.netters had set their sights on getting Clarke or Stark, amongst others. They werent successful candidates. Colin Calderwood is our new manager.
Lets everyone get behind him, the coaches and importantly the players......
CC may just be the man to do the job we all have wanted for so long....
Mowbray, Collins, Paatelainen, Hughes, etc/... have all gone.

Its now Calderwood's time - lets get behind him and the boys.

Glory Glory to the Hibees :agree:

I agree with your sentiments about unsuccessful candidates and everyone getting behind CC,the coaches and the players.
The thing I dont get is about all the negativity towards CC.I think I have read about 4 or 5 posts more or less slating him already which I must admit I find quite ridiculous.Then I have read about 4 or 5 posts slating all the negativity about CC.Most people aknowledge that he wasnt their 1st choice but welcome him and wish him every success.Often it has got me down reading some of the negative drivel(IMO)that has been posted but not tonight.Personally I think there has been a positive reaction and his appointment is growing on people.

18-10-2010, 06:31 PM
As has been proven in the past, it just goes to show how many people are actually in the know. I do not tend to listen to 'gossip' and am sure the appointment has been well thought through by the board. We all need to get behind him and give him the time and space to get on with the job.

Welcome to Hibs Colin and all the best :thumbsup:

Lets face it, even Jesus would find it difficult to find a miracle to get this lot playing good football.

18-10-2010, 06:34 PM
Calderwood might just be what we need. I get the impression hes a strict disciplinarian and if he can sort out a dressing room culture that JC , Mixu and Yogi couldnt tame then that might be the best thing thats happened at ER since the CIS Cup final. If he can get them to put in daily double shifts at East Mains thatll be another plus in restoring some fitness and professionalism. And hopefully restore a team spirit which in my opinions been lacking for some time.

All he has to do after that is split the OF and win the Scottish Cup .... job done :thumbsup:

crash
18-10-2010, 06:37 PM
As has been proven in the past, it just goes to show how many people are actually in the know. I do not tend to listen to 'gossip' and am sure the appointment has been well thought through by the board. We all need to get behind him and give him the time and space to get on with the job.

Welcome to Hibs Colin and all the best :thumbsup:

Lets face it, even Jesus would find it difficult to find a miracle to get this lot playing good football.
Who exactly on the board has the necessary football knowledge to make such an appointment? I cant imagine any of them able to conduct a technical football interview.

18-10-2010, 06:39 PM

Away to the San ****in Siro then, you won't be missed at ER with comments like that.

Unbelievable.

18-10-2010, 06:41 PM
Away to the San ****in Siro then, you won't be missed at ER with comments like that.

Unbelievable.

Yeah, Hibs get the assistant manager off one of the biggest clubs in the biggest league in the World, what a disaster :rolleyes:

18-10-2010, 06:41 PM
And your source is ?

Did you seriously expect Hibs to say who else had been interviewed / offered?

Did it come out of East Mains last time round when Colin Calderwood was interviewed?

Did your young rellies not tell you about that one?

persevere1875
18-10-2010, 06:47 PM

Can you just explain to me what you base this informed comment on ? Are we talking about the same uninspired choice that in his first season in managment took Northampton town to the play-offs losing narrowly to penaltys, did the same in his next season, then got them promoted in his third season.

Moved to Notts Forest (who's average home crowd was more than 18,000 incidentally) took them to the play-offs in the first season and got them promoted in the second before moving to Newcastle where as an assistant he helped get them promoted to the premiership.

Now please feel free to correct me if Im wrong, but that record looks fairly inspiring to me, I dont know what exactly you hoped the Hibs board would pull out of the hat or where you think the funding is to capture a manager with a better record, was he my first choice ? No he wasnt but he's a damn site better than many we could have ended up with and comments like yours make me seriously wonder what planet some Hibs fans live on :bye:

18-10-2010, 06:47 PM
Hmmm well spoken to 2 mates who are big Newcastle fans, one wasn't bothered and had little more to say than he wished him and both clubs well.

The other said he hopes he doesn't ****** us up like he did to Forest and that he's been itching to get out of Newcastle since they were relegated, not at all sad to see the back of him.

Personally, I dunno really, what I've heard of his record suggests we may win more often, but apparently not very easy on the eye. Him being interviewed 18 months ago and not getting the job on the strength of his managerial record that now apparently gets him the job (he's only been an assistant since then) worries me a little, as does the story that we only went for him on Friday night. A panicked reaction to Clarke saying no? Could be.

Hopefully he comes good, but after all the rumours of Clarke / Stark, Brito, Le Guen and other, what we seemed to see as 'top drawer' candidates that bit more special than we have been used to, appointing Calderwood is a little deflating.

18-10-2010, 06:50 PM

Oh dear. You don't know anything about Colin Calderwood yet you've written him, and Hibs, off. Clever guy.

By the way, you weren't aware that Hibs didn't get Calderwood last time because we couldn't afford him, were you?

18-10-2010, 06:50 PM
Who exactly on the board has the necessary football knowledge to make such an appointment? I cant imagine any of them able to conduct a technical football interview.

You could say that about any board but who else is going to appoint a new manager ?

HibeeSince85
18-10-2010, 06:57 PM
He's the new gaffer, let's see what happens.

Cant judge him when he hasnt even taken his first taining session.

He's got a bit of presence aboout him and comes across a million times better than Yogi.

You wouldn't want to start a job and before you even show what you can do your judged.

Good luck Colin, make us great again!!!

fife hfc
18-10-2010, 07:01 PM
Good luck Colin. seems a decent appointment to me based on his record at other clubs. When I first heard i was not too excited but having seen his record it certainly makes me feel we have got a decent manager. At least he has no previous Hibs connections.

Ferryhibby
18-10-2010, 07:03 PM

Unbelievable.

well said mate everyones entitled to their opinion but only if its goin to help the team seems there are only people out there that cant wait to slag of the team, players, board etc .I say welcome aboard Colin hes got the ideal opportunity to make a name for himself here if these players dont want to b here for him then they can get lost at the end of the season and he can bring in his own ones then we can judge the guy until then we need to start supporting the team not getting on ntheir backs everytime the make a missed pass.

18-10-2010, 07:03 PM
interview on bbc site: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/9102714.stm

18-10-2010, 07:07 PM
kick back having a laugh regards the appoiment - they were craping it if we had got Clarke and Zola.

Maybe a good appointment , at least we have not raised the expectations!

They'd be crapping it if we had got Mourinho with Ancelotti as assistant too.

You can't seriously have been expecting Clarke AND Zola?

18-10-2010, 07:18 PM
Underwhelmed? Yes, yes I am.

With good reason? No, not when I think about it.

Who the ****** are we to turn down a manager who in 6years has gained 3 promotions with the other three resulting in play-off finishes? Add a further year as assistant with an EPL side and he sounds quite handy.

I think the majority of us got swept away with Steve Clarke hysteria and it became apparent we wanted him and only him. It's clear to see that talks broke down somewhere late in the day. I don't often post 'in the know' comments but I was assured he would be the new man so something's went diddies skywards there.

I would still prefer Clarke but why, I dont know. Is it because he worked under Mourinho? Probably. But then Brian Kidd worked under Fergie for years and he was honking as a boss. Calderwood's been assistant at an EPL club and while there's a gulf in class between Newcastle and Chelsea, I'm sure the gap in player ego as well as tactical set-up to cater for the opposition is much closer.

However, here we are now with a new man ushering in yet another new era; the least we can do is get behind Calderwood and support him 100%. His ambition to get this right is matched only by our hope that he gets it right.

The dust's settled, I'm behind him 100% now. Roll on Saturday.

18-10-2010, 07:20 PM
http://link.brightcove.com/services/...d=640522453001

TrinityHibs
18-10-2010, 07:21 PM
I've skipped over the thread but honestly I've no idea who Colin Calderwood is. To be fair I would have said the same with the Tony Mowbray other than I knew he had played for Celtc.

I've previously been described as not being a football man as I had no idea what planet Yogi was on but seriously Colin best of luck. I think you are going to need it with the bams you have inherited. Get Deeks, Hanlon and Spoony extended as a priority and tell Nish he is oot the team until he quits the fags (that must improve his pace) and learns the offside rule.

In Rod I rust <=== see how I missed the T. Thats only based on the last two managers that have managed to ruin Saturdays for me.

18-10-2010, 07:29 PM

What a total t1t you are, please don't rush back from abroad.
I honestly don't think we could have gotten anyone with a better track record. He has the promotions and play off spots and a championship win as assistant to prove his ability. A lot of people on here are seriously delusional if they honestly thought Clarke was coming. He may be out of football at the moment but he is used to probably in excess of £50k per week not something he would get at Hibs.

Welcome aboard Colin and I wish you every success

18-10-2010, 07:30 PM

HH who were you expecting...Sir Alex, ancellotti, the special one.... we couldnt afford Clarke so we moved on.

Who would you of prefered. I for one am happy with this appointment and we need to give the guy some time. I cannot believe your negativity...the ink isnt even dry on the contract and you are slagging the guy already. get a grip.

I do acknowldge you have an opinion and i respect that but your comments are OTT mate. If you want to go and watch inter then so be it....just dont go slagging the guy off before he has even had a chance.

18-10-2010, 07:32 PM

I would agree with you on one point. Thank **** you are living abroad. Good riddance.

18-10-2010, 07:34 PM
I would agree with you on one point. Thank **** you are living abroad. Good riddance.

18-10-2010, 07:37 PM

So he's a greedy bassa then? :wink:

Riordans Boots
18-10-2010, 07:38 PM
interview on bbc site: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/9102714.stm

I like him already :agree:

Welcome to Hibernian Colin :thumbsup: :flag:

18-10-2010, 07:47 PM
Hmmm well spoken to 2 mates who are big Newcastle fans, one wasn't bothered and had little more to say than he wished him and both clubs well.

The other said he hopes he doesn't ****** us up like he did to Forest and that he's been itching to get out of Newcastle since they were relegated, not at all sad to see the back of him.

Personally, I dunno really, what I've heard of his record suggests we may win more often, but apparently not very easy on the eye. Him being interviewed 18 months ago and not getting the job on the strength of his managerial record that now apparently gets him the job (he's only been an assistant since then) worries me a little, as does the story that we only went for him on Friday night. A panicked reaction to Clarke saying no? Could be.

Hopefully he comes good, but after all the rumours of Clarke / Stark, Brito, Le Guen and other, what we seemed to see as 'top drawer' candidates that bit more special than we have been used to, appointing Calderwood is a little deflating.
well i remember when we signed a certain flying winger from newcastle and their fans were saying they would have rather lost damien duff .:cool2:
WELCOME COLIN CALDERWOOD

Matty_Jack04
18-10-2010, 07:49 PM
I for one am delighted with this!! :thumbsup:

ever since hughes left the club theres been threads begging for no ex player (check) with experience (check) and someone who can take the respect of the squad (check)

calderwood has been with 3 teams and promoted 3 times, who the flock are Northampton Town??? I think this is going to be a shrewd bit of buisness from RP and let me just say if its hooofball that gets us points and gives us a more solid less bullied team then so be it!

Welcome Colin lets get right in about them!! :flag::flag:

18-10-2010, 07:49 PM
How did that CIMB group advertising next to the interview know to put him in their ad?:greengrin

18-10-2010, 07:50 PM
I'll back him and my natural positive thinking is kicking into action. BUT remember he took Forrest down if I'm not mistaken (effectively) From memory not one for flair and excitement..

You are mistaken. He got Forest promoted, not relegated, but they did struggle the next season. But they survived.

18-10-2010, 07:55 PM

Who the ****** are we to turn down a manager who in 6years has gained 3 promotions with the other three resulting in play-off finishes? Add a further year as assistant with an EPL side and he sounds quite handy.

I think the majority of us got swept away with Steve Clarke hysteria and it became apparent we wanted him and only him. It's clear to see that talks broke down somewhere late in the day. I don't often post 'in the know' comments but I was assured he would be the new man so something's went diddies skywards there.

I would still prefer Clarke but why, I dont know. Is it because he worked under Mourinho? Probably. But then Brian Kidd worked under Fergie for years and he was honking as a boss. Calderwood's been assistant at an EPL club and while there's a gulf in class between Newcastle and Chelsea, I'm sure the gap in player ego as well as tactical set-up to cater for the opposition is much closer.

However, here we are now with a new man ushering in yet another new era; the least we can do is get behind Calderwood and support him 100%. His ambition to get this right is matched only by our hope that he gets it right.

:top markshere here . GGTTH

18-10-2010, 07:57 PM
if the tash would do the decent thing and offer the going rate it would be better

you cannot expect anyone to accept a job at an agreed wage and then 24 hours later reduce it by £2k a week and only offer a pittance for a player budget

and wont even pay compensation at a decent level either you dont get top names

clarke and stark would have been great but saturday evening 8.45 pm the deal died and hibs contacted newcastle by fax sunday 14.00 and an interview was agreed for calderwood for monday 11.30 and deal was concluded at 15.05

i got call at 15.10 saying press conference at 17.15 if you wish to attend for the parade of new manager

This from the bounce

HibsAzzurri1875
18-10-2010, 08:03 PM
Not posted for a while as been totally disgruntled after JC walked. Wish the big man all the best and will be cheering him on up at the sheep on sat!

18-10-2010, 08:06 PM

Quietly impressed here, doesn't promise anything wild or that he can't deliver, talks about the fans setting the expectations of success, speaks quietly with confidence, appears to understand that he doesn't need to shout to make himself heard. I don't think he'll suffer fools gladly, and I think I few players will suddenly see their comfort zone disappear when he sets his demands out for them all. I can't see any favourites in the dressing room (as has been alleged about hughes), and possibly will be stronger than collins in dealing with any malcontents.

Wasn't overly impressed when first told, but after reading some of his track record, I'm feeling quite a bit better about it, and I'm certainly intrigued and willing to give him a go (not that theres much choice lol).

At least this is a man who carries no prior baggage of the SPL, indeed no real connection to scottish football at all at this level. Not even mowbray could say that. That means no bitterness directed to and from other clubs, and more importantly a (hopefully) fresh outlook, fresh attitude, and successful tenure.

All the best Colin, you have a group of fans desperate for you to succeed, best of luck :greengrin

18-10-2010, 08:09 PM
Welcome to hibs Colin :thumbsup:

Not one I expected but his record result wise is pretty encouraging. One box he puts a big tick in is managerial experience - something which I had some doubts about over the rumoured appointment of Steve Clarke at a time when I feel we need a steady hand on the tiller - even if it was a possibility which excited me.

One thing which amazes me is the amount of folk straight out the traps with a load of moaning and misery. One thing this proves beyond all doubt is that there's some folk who are not happy unless they're whinging their moaning faces off about something.

Give the guy a chance FFS you bunch of moaning old wimmin :grr::grr::grr:
(No offence intended to moaning old wimmin :wink:)

Matty_Jack04
18-10-2010, 08:10 PM
if the tash would do the decent thing and offer the going rate it would be better

you cannot expect anyone to accept a job at an agreed wage and then 24 hours later reduce it by £2k a week and only offer a pittance for a player budget

clarke and stark would have been great but saturday evening 8.45 pm the deal died and hibs contacted newcastle by fax sunday 14.00 and an interview was agreed for calderwood for monday 11.30 and deal was concluded at 15.05

i got call at 15.10 saying press conference at 17.15 if you wish to attend for the parade of new manager

This from the bounce

who has clarke managed? his experience and all conquering ability we keep hearing done Zola the world of good eh, stark has had a good U21 campaign which resulted in failure and has been about a shedload of first division clubs with ...yes you got it the same end result, stark is nothing but a media built manager a man with freinds in the right places touting his name (duff jimmy ring any bells) NO THANKS.

Calderwood done a job with a small team gaining promotion and getting him the Notts forrest job quite a rise in a short time, which resulted in another promotion, things tourned sour in the championship he lost his job the team stayed up, ask billy davies how the Notts forrest board are for pushing the club to the next level.

To read so many fans dissapointed because the club has hired a man with managerial experience over a respected first team coach and a media w*ore is dire dire stuff

18-10-2010, 08:11 PM

Did we no beat Blackpool of the EPL recently? I recall draws with Blackburn and Bolton also :cool2:

You are WAAAAAAY of the mark with the Clarke comment also

Well said that man!

18-10-2010, 08:14 PM
Im delighted it's CC.

Here's a guy that played almost his whole career with decent clubs in the EPL. 30+ caps for Scotland and played at 2 major finals.

Had success with each club he's been at since moving into management. Started at the bottom and has worked his way up the ladder culminating in promotion to the EPL.

Applied last year and got knocked back. Dd he throw his toys out the pram? No, worked hard and came back a second time - tremendous.

Cheap option? Aye, assistant managers in EPL don't get paid well?

I honestly can't see how we could have got much better. :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 08:16 PM

This from the bounce
Aye great. Calderwood was approached on Friday.

Some people live for the wee bits of info they can try and give out that make Hibs look bad. It's pathetic.

Matty_Jack04
18-10-2010, 08:17 PM
Im delighted it's CC.

Here's a guy that played almost his whole career with decent clubs in the EPL. 30+ caps for Scotland and played at 2 major finals.

Had success with each club he's been at since moving into management. Started at the bottom and has worked his way up the ladder culminating in promotion to the EPL.

Applied last year and got knocked back. Dd he throw his toys out the pram? No, worked hard and came back a second time - tremendous.

Cheap option? Aye, assistant managers in EPL don't get paid well?

I honestly can't see how we could have got much better. :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 08:21 PM
:singing: Colin Calderwood's Green and White Army. :singing:

Yep, that scans o.k. He'll do nicely. :wink:

18-10-2010, 08:25 PM
It's just time to sit back and see what happens!

Short term I'd like to see the team look fitter and work better together, but I'm not expecting miracles this season. I'll be happy with some decent performances in the next few weeks and a win over the Yams :greengrin :agree:

18-10-2010, 08:47 PM
Calderwood seems like a decent appointment. I'm glad RP looked outwith the dull SPL choices such as tango, billy reid, derek mcinnes etc. Lets just get behind the man in charge and support him :agree:

18-10-2010, 08:48 PM
Must admit I was a bit underwhelmed by the appointment. Having listened to his interviews and read a bit about him now thinking, could have been a lot worse.......what did we want in a manager

a Not one of the usual mafia
b No Hibs connection
c Someone different with no Hun/Tim/Hertz connections
d Experience
e A decent track record
f Contacts in England to develop the squad
g Capable of shaking things up

Maybe the only pieces missing from his cv are a track record in developing youngsters (stand to be corrected) and playing football the "Hibs way". But previous managers who wanted to play the "Hibs way" ( Hughes, Mixu, Collins, Sauzee all spring to mind) chased us away from Easter Road.

Maybe a new outlook will help along put us back where we belong.

Good luck Mr C. and to all those who have dissed him without a chance.........go and watch an excuse for football on the other side of the city (or the San Siro in 1 case). You have no place at Easter Road

I Love Lamp
18-10-2010, 08:55 PM
Did we no beat Blackpool of the EPL recently? I recall draws with Blackburn and Bolton also :cool2:

You are WAAAAAAY of the mark with the Clarke comment also

TQM, you are of course right about the results in the friendlies but I honestly don't think that a lot of SPL teams would compete that well in the English leagues (Championship/Lg1) over a whole season. Based on the live action and highlights I watch every week, the pace, fitness and technique is just on a different level. It gives me no pleasure to say it but I don't think that a manager who comes from CC's background is making a step up in quality of play. To be fair, I don't think you're arguing that.

On your second point, I don't doubt the integrity of those who were discussing Clarke but, as soon as I heard the name, I thought 'doubt this'll happen. I'll believe it when I see it'. Audacious moves often fall at the last minute because goodwill can bridge a lot of the gap between the parties but not quite all of it. He was only ever a possibility which might or might not have happened and it is only that possibility which has been lost.

18-10-2010, 09:09 PM
Should say ILL I did agree with your other points - and I think CC will bring in some decent players from dann saff.

Moby
18-10-2010, 09:15 PM
Learned his trade by coaching a Premiership reserve side.
Had considerable success in his first managerial appointment.
Was headhunted by a bigger club.
Achieved promotion with this bigger club.
Assisted in regaining EPL status for Newcastle.
Displays personal ambition by leaving the Premiership to be manager of Hibs.

That CV is worthy of greater remuneration than we are likely to be paying.

He's here for the challenge and to be his own man. I hope his ambition is matched by the board and backed by the fans.

18-10-2010, 09:16 PM

This from the bounce

pi5h

proud_and_green
18-10-2010, 09:17 PM
Very uninspiring, and a bit disappointed that the rumours were wrong. If this guy fails, then Petrie had to go IMO. I don't think we will see an immediate improvement in performance, but given the right time and money to build his own squad, he could be a good manager for us. Any news on his assistant?

Which is it then, uninspired or could be a good manager for us?

I think this sounds like an appointment which ticks all the boxes which we all insisted must be ticked, so for me i think its a good one, but like all managers records it will be time which will actually tell. So let's break a habit of a lifetime and allow time to be the proper judge of CC.

Sometimes, the glass is allowed to be half full!!!!

Well done Hibs and welcome Colin.

C'mon the Cabbage!!!!!

18-10-2010, 11:18 PM
FFS lads. This guy is good choice. He has left a EPL club to come to Hibs.

19-10-2010, 05:39 AM
As previous posters said,

Not an ex hibby, though I would have been happy with one if it was the right choice.
Some real experience, unlike JC, Frank and to a certain degree Yogi. Probs even more than Mowbray.
No affiliations to the Largs mafia.
No one from the managerial Scottish merry go round.
Coming from a club that I would think is on a par with Hibs. Total underachievers.
Will not have to buy into the flair football cr@p and get us a team that wins. personally do not care how we win anymore.
No preconceived ideas.

A hell of a lot more as well. I am a hell of a lot happier and more comfortable with this appointment than I was with any of the previous three.

Good luck son. Just win us some games.

And I should just add, that I too live abroad and I am really looking forward to coming home end of next month and seeing this man's team in action.

GTTH

19-10-2010, 06:15 AM
As previous posters said,

Not an ex hibby, though I would have been happy with one if it was the right choice.
Some real experience, unlike JC, Frank and to a certain degree Yogi. Probs even more than Mowbray.
No affiliations to the Largs mafia.
No one from the managerial Scottish merry go round.
Coming from a club that I would think is on a par with Hibs. Total underachievers.
Will not have to buy into the flair football cr@p and get us a team that wins. personally do not care how we win anymore.
No preconceived ideas.

A hell of a lot more as well. I am a hell of a lot happier and more comfortable with this appointment than I was with any of the previous three.

Good luck son. Just win us some games.

And I should just add, that I too live abroad and I am really looking forward to coming home end of next month and seeing this man's team in action.

GTTH

He ticks all the boxes folk have been wanting the last few weeks and comes with more managerial experiance and achievments than Clark as well

29-08-2011, 04:26 PM

29-08-2011, 05:28 PM

What?

Are you trying to make people look like ********s because they backed the manager ?

29-08-2011, 05:43 PM
Welcome to Hibs CC! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

29-08-2011, 05:54 PM

Almost a year on, I'm still behind him.