zola and clarke

18-10-2010, 03:07 PM
Colin Calderwood..

Defo

Dr_Regal
18-10-2010, 03:10 PM
Here we go!!!!

This better be good. The end of the Bullcrap is upon us.

Please be Clarke

McHibby
18-10-2010, 03:11 PM
I'm really excited :greengrin

Right, better get this dog out for a walk and be back in the hoose for quarter past five!

18-10-2010, 03:13 PM
I'm really excited :greengrin

Right, better get this dog out for a walk and be back in the hoose for quarter past five!

So this wouldn't be a good time to schedule site maintenance then?? :greengrin

18-10-2010, 03:14 PM
I think calderwood given how much his name is appearing around the place today.

Not unhappy at his appointment:agree:

aberhibsfc
Yep, just heard same from a journo.

Petrie has played a blinder with the guessing game, plenty speculation but no-one has a clue who it's going to be.

I hope it is Clarke, seems to have a reputation for developing young players, that coupled with an inside knowledge of young English talent.

Just hope whoever it is get some backing in the Jan window, also that he can re-sign players e.g. Riordan.

Will be good to have the waiting over, and the new man, whoever he is should get our full support.

18-10-2010, 03:17 PM
tango man ?

18-10-2010, 03:18 PM
tango man ?

:greengrin no chance

18-10-2010, 03:19 PM
so is the news conference on bbc scotland 92-95fm?

18-10-2010, 03:20 PM
tango man ?

It's Colin Calderwood who's name seems to be getting thrown around as the final choice for manager. So no it's not the tango man, if it was the tango man that was appointed, I would be giving up my season ticket

18-10-2010, 03:21 PM
Will this be online in any fashion?

Secondly, Calderwood was interviewed last time too? So he lost out to Hughes but is now getting it? Hmmm...

Can't say I'm as excited at this prospect as I would have been at Clarke and Stark together!

18-10-2010, 03:30 PM
Will this be online in any fashion?

Secondly, Calderwood was interviewed last time too? So he lost out to Hughes but is now getting it? Hmmm...

Can't say I'm as excited at this prospect as I would have been at Clarke and Stark together!

has proved himself further more after promotion with newcastle...
promoting three teams aint no easy ride :agree:

18-10-2010, 03:30 PM
If its jimmy calderwood im getting a gun.

18-10-2010, 03:32 PM

Gies a shot after you mate!!!

Velma Dinkley
18-10-2010, 03:35 PM
I heard that it will be Paul Daley with Neil Barnes as assistant.

Prawn Sandwich
18-10-2010, 03:35 PM
BBC Scotland reporting they "understand" it's Colin Calderwood.

18-10-2010, 03:36 PM
Brian McCoughlin just been on over telephone to near enough confirm its Colin Calderwood. :yawn:

18-10-2010, 03:36 PM
has proved himself further more after promotion with newcastle...
promoting three teams back to back aint no easy ride :agree:

I just got an email from my mate who is a Scunthorpe fan and he said that Calderwood wasnt much liked at Forrest and he took 3 seasons to get thm promoted from league 1 which is a joke for a club that size, not to sure if his stats are correct tho taking his word for it.

A bit of a let down but hey he will get my full support should it be him

Manxhibs
18-10-2010, 03:37 PM
Though it's been frustrating that we have had no concrete knowledge of who the manager will be, I am very impressed at how well the board have kept things out of the media. Please be Clarke

18-10-2010, 03:37 PM
Gies a shot after you mate!!!

to shoot tangoman with i hope !

euro Hibby
18-10-2010, 03:40 PM
Its 6.40 here in Italy and we have already seen the press conference so we know who the new manager is !

18-10-2010, 03:44 PM
Anyone heard if the Press Conference will be live on a radio station - BBC Scotland perhaps?

18-10-2010, 03:48 PM

If it's Jimmy Calderwood the Tasche's Tasche will be adorning the wall above my fireplace by 17:25

18-10-2010, 03:56 PM
Strachan's left Middelsborough it seems - BBC! Hope it's not him!

Gus Fring
18-10-2010, 03:57 PM
It's 100% Colin Calderwood. Just heard from someone who works at ER

18-10-2010, 03:59 PM
Strachan'S left Middeslborugh it seems - BBC! Hope it's not him!

I'd take Strachan over Calderwood. Least he's had a degree of success.

18-10-2010, 04:01 PM
BBC suggesting it's Calderwood http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/9102714.stm

18-10-2010, 04:02 PM
I'd take Strachan over Calderwood. Least he's had a degree of success.

SKY SPORTS CONFIRMED IT IS CALDERWOOD. how they do that before the conference I don't know:confused:

SSN saying he IS manager

SSN Confirm its Colin Calderwood.

aberhibsfc
18-10-2010, 04:03 PM
Oh well............:rolleyes:

Zondervan
18-10-2010, 04:05 PM
Anyone heard if the Press Conference will be live on a radio station - BBC Scotland perhaps?

I will be trying here at 5.15...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/bbc_radio_scotland

18-10-2010, 04:05 PM
Deffo Colin Calderwood. Sky sports just said and due to be formally announced at 5.15

18-10-2010, 04:06 PM
To repeat what I said on the PM board - SO many proven names reportedly after the job and they go with a guy that got a couple lower division clubs promoted this one time?

Not on. Not on at all. :bitchy:

Sky Sports announced Colin Calderwood resigned at Newcastle and to be announced as Hibs manager at 5.15

Oh well............:rolleyes:

You seem deflated?

18-10-2010, 04:07 PM
I will be trying here at 5.15...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/bbc_radio_scotland

Thanks I'll give it a go! Not sure if *.net will be around much longer??

18-10-2010, 04:07 PM
SKY SPORTS CONFIRMED IT IS CALDERWOOD. how they do that before the conference I don't know:confused:

Because they will have press release that has a time release on it.....so they are going early with a wee flyer. :greengrin

18-10-2010, 04:10 PM
This is one of these appointments that you know will not work out. You saw it with blobby and you will see it with Calderwood.

Christ I'd rather have the Tangoman.

emmjayfox
18-10-2010, 04:10 PM
What an anti climax thats been. For some reason im a bit dissapointed, i was hoping for Clarke.

Purehibee_MYB
18-10-2010, 04:11 PM
Would much rather it was Clarke!!

But will back Calderwood if it is

225-EasterRd
18-10-2010, 04:11 PM
wikipedia saying its colin calderwood

18-10-2010, 04:12 PM
Calderwood confirmed 5minutes early.

18-10-2010, 04:12 PM
wikipedia saying its colin calderwood

It probably will be him but you do know that ANYONE could put that up on Wikipedia!? :wink:

18-10-2010, 04:14 PM
Because they will have press release that has a time release on it.....so they are going early with a wee flyer. :greengrin

does not look like its going to be live then

Newcastle confirm Calderwoods exit.

Greenblood70
Bit disappointed its not Clarke tbh, I know a Forest fan who was less than complimentary about Calderwood but I'll put that to one side, its a clean slate and everyone needs to get behind him.

ionahibby
18-10-2010, 04:15 PM
Can't say im thrilled tbh and it stinks of cheapness from petrie if it is colin calderwood but i suppose he deserves a chance to show if he is capable!

18-10-2010, 04:16 PM
LIVE: http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/203462-live-hibernian-unveil-new-manager/

To repeat what I said on the PM board - SO many proven names reportedly after the job and they go with a guy that got a couple lower division clubs promoted this one time?

What an anti climax thats been. For some reason im a bit dissapointed, i was hoping for Clarke.

Very much so, we've heard chat about Clarke, Stark, Brito, Le Guen etc etc etc a long with various other guys with Premership experience, all of them sounding like a different, better sort of candidate than we have had in years.

And then at the end of it all we get a guy who was beaten to the job by Yogi last time. Had we not heard of the others I might have been happy, had this not gone on for so long that it seems pretty likely that we just missed out on one of the aforemention targets I might be happy.

Can't say I'm thrilled by this appointment, nor is it one that will likely have people pouring back through the turnstiles, but we shall see.

It probably will be him but you do know that ANYONE could put that up on Wikipedia!? :wink:

but not anyone can put it on the official site and its been their for a few minutes now :wink:

18-10-2010, 04:17 PM

I agree with you but the key word there is 'reportedly' unless you know for sure there were big names in then how can you say?

euro Hibby
if true left a good job at newcastle to come to Hibs............would you have ! ?

have to agree.

Petrie's biggest gamble yet.

7000 crowds by Feb if we get hoofball, it really is time for all SPL teams to start entertaining the fans with good quality football.

Calderwood has much to prove in that respect

erin go hibee
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101018/colin-calderwood-appointed-manager_2262950_2188620 its official! colin calderwood is the man, lets all get behind him now!

LIVE: http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/203462-live-hibernian-unveil-new-manager/

That's a classic !!

Ta muchly.

GreenPJ
18-10-2010, 04:18 PM
He has no previous association to the club
He has experience
He is unlikely to attract the attention of the old firm so we may have a 3/4 year stable period
He has spent most of his career down south and so should have good contacts
He appears to be a disciplinarian
He is not Jimmy

If Clarkes name had never been mentioned this would have been viewed with more positive reaction I think.

Its him with RP.

Thanks for the link!

Calderwood - I can see him on screen!!

Purehibee_MYB
Defo Colin

HIBERNIAN 1875
Colin Calderwood, just been confirmed by Rod. :agree:

18-10-2010, 04:19 PM
From Wikipedia:

currently the manager of Italian club Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.).

Erm. Ok then.

18-10-2010, 04:20 PM
He has experience
He is unlikely to attract the attention of the old firm so we may have a 3/4 year stable period
He is not Jimmy

If Clarkes name had never been mentioned this would have been viewed with more positive reaction I think.

Aye but that's like saying you were perfectly happy with your girlfriend till you found out Megan Fox was after you!

18-10-2010, 04:21 PM
"Colin has been in the dug out as a Manager in nearly 300 matches.
"He also has a wealth of experience as a player and as an Assistant Manager in the English Premier League.

"He is a winner, having won promotion with three different clubs.He is a leader with real drive and determination to succeed. This makes him an outstanding choice."

Doesn't sound too shabby. Let's just get behind him.

18-10-2010, 04:23 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101018/colin-calderwood-appointed-manager_2262950_2188620

On SSN now

Hibeemac
18-10-2010, 04:24 PM
Calderwood - a mundane boring manager who has been binned from his last 2 jobs and made outrageous comments over Phil O'Donnells passing - arrogant and igorant man who will get no support from this Hibee

18-10-2010, 04:25 PM
[/I][/I]

Doesn't sound too shabby. Let's just get behind him.

Completely deflated by this appointment, BUT he has to get ALL our support....

:hnet::hnet:

18-10-2010, 04:25 PM
Calderwood - a mundane boring manager who has been binned from his last 2 jobs and made outrageous comments over Phil O'Donnells passing - arrogant and igorant man who will get no support from this Hibee

aye nice first post sniff sniff :rolleyes:

18-10-2010, 04:27 PM

In what sense is appointing a premiership assistant manager the cheap option?

Surely a cheap option would have been someone that we wouldn't have had to pay compensation for?

he wasn't binned from newcastle and if he was binned by Northampton it was a bit strange that he then made the step up to the forest job :confused:

Bye.

Purehibee_MYB

Nice and positive comment...glad to see you've given him a chance.

Spudster
18-10-2010, 04:28 PM
Calderwood - made outrageous comments over Phil O'Donnells passing
What?

18-10-2010, 04:28 PM

He'll never sleep tonight.

Away back to your nursery school in Gorgie .

discman
18-10-2010, 04:29 PM
Colin Calderwood, just been confirmed by Rod. :agree:

calderwood said he was contacted on friday and that it all moved very quickly,so was he second choice as a consequence of SC bumping us? :cool2:

18-10-2010, 04:30 PM
calderwood said he was contacted on friday and that it all moved very quickly,so was he second choice as a consequence of SC bumping us? :cool2:

Certainly looks like that.

Lincoln Green
18-10-2010, 04:30 PM
Really disappointed with this appointment. This guy plays hoofball which will never be accepted by the Hibs faithful.

He was grim at Forest and they were so pleased to get shot of him. I know Northampton fans who were not sad to see the back of him as well.

:boo hoo:

18-10-2010, 04:31 PM
He has experience
He is not Jimmy

I would say that those are six positive reasons to welcome the guy.

We didn't want a former player - CC isn't a former player.

We wanted someone who knows the game - I'd say he probably does. He's played at all levels, and been involved in coaching and managing for seven(?) years

He's on a 3-year contract with option to extend - so we can have a stable period if things go reasonably and we want to.

As you say - plenty knowledge of the game down south, and he's played and worked with a lot of very good players.

And hopefully he can instil a bit of discipline in the club.

But then, this is Hibs, and we're NEVER happy; we always want the thing we can't have.

18-10-2010, 04:31 PM
Really disappointed with this appointment. This guy plays hoofball which will never be accepted by the Hibs faithful.

He was grim at Forest and they were so pleased to get shot of him. I know Northampton fans who were not sad to see the back of him as well.

Come back Yogi Hughes....

18-10-2010, 04:32 PM

Yes good one.

Its the left arrow at the top of your screen mate, used to go back, press that a few times and im sure youll navigate your way back to kickback.com.....

He may be arrogant and ignorant but hey, least he aint one of you manky lot.

Now ATSIPISK. im sure you will be aware of what that means being a dirty lithuanian.

TA TA.

18-10-2010, 04:33 PM

Were both clubs in a better position when he left them than when he took over them?

Cannae get my head round the ridiculous reaction on here

Good evening, Mr Jambo. :lolyam:

And goodbye. :bye:

Oranje39
He has experience
He is not Jimmy

18-10-2010, 04:34 PM
I would say that those are six positive reasons to welcome the guy.

We didn't want a former player - CC isn't a former player.

We wanted someone who knows the game - I'd say he probably does. He's played at all levels, and been involved in coaching and managing for seven(?) years

He's on a 3-year contract with option to extend - so we can have a stable period if things go reasonably and we want to.

As you say - plenty knowledge of the game down south, and he's played and worked with a lot of very good players.

And hopefully he can instil a bit of discipline in the club.

But then, this is Hibs, and we're NEVER happy; we always want the thing we can't have.

like fancyin your mates bird?

18-10-2010, 04:35 PM
Were both clubs in a better position when he left them than when he took over them?

Cannae get my head round the ridiculous reaction on here

I think they were.

But let's not let facts get in the way of a good whine. :bitchy:

I really think we need to get the Secret Police to do a purge of this board; the stink of Yam's getting to be a tad overpowering.

:jamboak:

18-10-2010, 04:39 PM
I think they were.

But let's not let facts get in the way of a good whine. :bitchy:

I really think we need to get the Secret Police to do a purge of this board; the stink of Yam's getting to be a tad overpowering.

:jamboak:

There's a few definate hibs fans that are being ridiculous drama queens as well to be fair so it's not all undercover jamboids

18-10-2010, 04:40 PM
How deflating is that??
He was eventually binned by Forrest for being a dull and mundane manager.
Hope the story behind Clarke not getting it comes out :grr:

Mowbray was binned from Celtic. We loved him.

18-10-2010, 04:42 PM

Outrageous?

No he didn't, he said that he thought a minute silence/tribute wasn't appropriate given that o'donnel played in Scotland and his team were playing in England. And it was something that should be done closer to home.

On that particular occasion I thing he was wrong but I agree that the football world has them too often.

Anyway shut up ya plum, Calderwood should be given the same opportunity as all our other managers were and I think he'll be a good appointment. He won't turn us into world beaters but he'll certainly steady the ship an clear out the deadwood. Something that yogi should have done and he may have still been here had he done it!

Mili Tant
18-10-2010, 04:42 PM
Certainly not a cheap option. I'll be very interested to see who his assistant is.

Manxhibs
18-10-2010, 04:46 PM
In fairness Newcastle play some decent stuff and he must have had summit to do with how they play. Hopefully he has an eye for defenders to build a platform for our attack, which he will need to strengthen.

18-10-2010, 04:48 PM

**** off ya dick

18-10-2010, 04:48 PM
Would have preferred him over Yogi last time, so he gets my backing ( not that he will give a shecht about that likesay)

18-10-2010, 04:51 PM

http://www.westafricanfoods.com.au/_tentacle/files/images/cache/site_product_large_Ayoola_Poundo_Yam.JPG

This place is reekin' of Yam tonight.

The obsession never ends.

18-10-2010, 04:53 PM
have to agree.

7000 crowds by Feb if we get hoofball, it really is time for all SPL teams to start entertaining the fans with good quality football.

weve had hoofball for about 8 months! 3/4 passes in defence then long and high towards nish.anybody who thiks we've played any actual football is :crazy:.:bitchy:
too many deluded flair fitba idealists who must have been sitting with a blindfold on for the last 30 years with a few exeptions.
Lets start with a manager who can at least make us resemble a team with some organisation/hunger before we worry about some mythical samba nonsense.give the guy a chance ffs.has clarke even been a manager in his own right ?

Sioux
18-10-2010, 04:58 PM
weve had hoofball for about 8 months! 3/4 passes in defence then long and high towards nish.anybody who thiks we've played any actual football is :crazy:.:bitchy:
too many deluded flair fitba idealists who must have been sitting with a blindfold on for the last 30 years with a few exeptions.
Lets start with a manager who can at least make us resemble a team with some organisation/hunger before we worry about some mythical samba nonsense.give the guy a chance ffs.has clarke even been a manager in his own right ?

Correct! This flair fitba thing's one of the biggest myths of all time.

18-10-2010, 04:59 PM

I see you hadn't ever posted before sharing this nugget of wisdom. Gonnae do us all a favour and never post again

18-10-2010, 05:00 PM
have to agree.

But we have around 10000 season ticket holders? No?

18-10-2010, 05:01 PM
I see you hadn't ever posted before sharing this nugget of wisdom. Gonnae do us all a favour and never post again

I see he's gone offline. No doubt to the pink palace to gloat to his girlfriends how he "pure wound they Hobos up". By posting once and scarpering. What a hero.

18-10-2010, 05:02 PM
I see he's gone offline. No doubt to the pink palace to gloat to his girlfriends how he "pure wound they Hobos up". By posting once and scarpering. What a hero.

Must have been his turn for the brain cell today :greengrin

blindsummit
18-10-2010, 05:04 PM
Must have been his turn for the brain cell today :greengrin

he had a brain cell?? I never noticed it :greengrin

18-10-2010, 05:05 PM
he had a brain cell?? I never noticed it :greengrin

He only borrowed it, so "had" would be correct.

18-10-2010, 05:08 PM

sniff sniff

:bye:

Anyways, welcome to Hibernian FC Colin :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 05:10 PM
Colin Calderwood..

Defo

Defo

18-10-2010, 07:04 PM
Correct! This flair fitba thing's one of the biggest myths of all time.

Aaaaaaaaatchooo :cool2: