View Full Version : Tommy Sheridan/ TS and Billy Davies

11-10-2010, 02:25 PM
Anyone think he didn't go to a swinger's club with his father-in-law? I am not surprised by anything coming out at the trial, after hearing from sources in the Crown Office and the SSP, at the time of his original law suit.

I notice he's trying to pull the same trick out of the hat he did the last time, by sacking his legal team. I wonder if his great skill as an orator will get him through again, or whether the jury might look at the evidence differently this time.

Tragic story the way Tommy has blown the chance of a real socialist alternative in Scotland, since breaking up the original band.

11-10-2010, 02:59 PM
Anyone think he didn't go to a swinger's club with his father-in-law? I am not surprised by anything coming out at the trial, after hearing from sources in the Crown Office and the SSP, at the time of his original law suit.

I notice he's trying to pull the same trick out of the hat he did the last time, by sacking his legal team. I wonder if his great skill as an orator will get him through again, or whether the jury might look at the evidence differently this time.

Tragic story the way Tommy has blown the chance of a real socialist alternative in Scotland, since breaking up the original band.

The part in bold rings particularly true for me. The left is so fragmented in Scotland and the UK that it's little wonder it is so woefully under represented in government.

Of the top of my head i can name Socialist Labour, Solidarity, SSP, Communist Party of Great Britain, British Workers Party, Respect and the Social Democratic Party as left to extreme left parties and i'm sure there are plenty more that i'm missing. That's far too many parties chasing far few votes IMO, especially as it's likely the differences between some of these parties are more likely to be personalities rather than huge political differences.

I always liked Sheridan, even if my socialist views were diluted somewhat when i left full time education however there is no doubt he is lying in this case. Even then whilst i understand that justice should prevail and so on and so forth a part of me still wants to see him win the case just to get one over Murdoch and the horrendous newspaper that is the News of the World.

11-10-2010, 03:00 PM
TBH whether he did lie or not I would still like to see him win, ****ing hate the news of the world, in fact pretty much hate all tabloids.

Sheridan has been a prat though and definitely got to big for his boots, however I can't help but think that perhaps some of his old friends like fox are not being entirely truthful in all of this as well though. I remember when it all happened and he left the party that a lot of them seemed to be queuing up to stick the knife in. Might just be the way the press represented it though.

11-10-2010, 03:15 PM
Sacking his legal team merely reinforces my view that his ego is bigger than Ben Nevis

11-10-2010, 03:27 PM
What's the deal with this guy and what is he accused of? Going to a swingers club, who cares if that's what he's upto?

11-10-2010, 03:48 PM
What's the deal with this guy and what is he accused of? Going to a swingers club, who cares if that's what he's upto?

He's accused of perjury. When the News of the World published the allegation he denied it, sued for defamation and won damages.

As there's a trial on I suspect the Admins will be closing the thread soon as m'learned friends may be getting twitchy - contempt of court etc so I won't discuss the details further.

Darth Hibbie
11-10-2010, 03:53 PM
He's accused of perjury. When the News of the World published the allegation he denied it, sued for defamation and won damages.

As there's a trial on I suspect the Admins will be closing the thread soon as m'learned friends may be getting twitchy - contempt of court etc so I won't discuss the details further.

I think they will let it carry on seeing as its in the news anyway. You would have to be a witness in the trial discussing it before it was contempt of court.

FWIW I detest the NOW but would prefer to see Sheridan locked up for a very long time.

11-10-2010, 04:15 PM
Sacking his legal team merely reinforces my view that his ego is bigger than Ben Nevis

It's been often said that a man who represents himself in court has a fool for a client.

Big head, big mouth, massive waste of skin. Nothing but a Weegie wide man on the make, IMO.

11-10-2010, 05:37 PM
TBH whether he did lie or not I would still like to see him win, ****ing hate the news of the world, in fact pretty much hate all tabloids.

Sheridan has been a prat though and definitely got to big for his boots, however I can't help but think that perhaps some of his old friends like fox are not being entirely truthful in all of this as well though. I remember when it all happened and he left the party that a lot of them seemed to be queuing up to stick the knife in. Might just be the way the press represented it though.

I spoke to a girl from the CPS at the time of the libel action and she said it is very unusual for News International to defend an action. She said, even when they are 95% certain they will win, they tend to settle out of court.

Re. Colin Fox, the story he is telling now, is the same one I heard around the time of the original case.

The girl from the CPS told me that juries are often swung by personalities, even when the evidence is staring them in the face. I just think this time Tommy has thought, "it worked for me before so I'll give it another go". Significant that both his legal teams appear to have found it difficult to accept his instructions.

No big deal at all. However, I suspect for Mrs. Sheridan it has been. My sources told me that Tommy was confronted by his colleagues and asked just to own up, as the story would soon be forgotten.

I don't think his wife would ever accept the truth, especially since her father was also implicated. It looks like Tommy has gotten into a mess to keep the woman he loves - IMO.

erin-go-bragh87
11-10-2010, 06:02 PM
I spoke to a girl from the CPS at the time of the libel action and she said it is very unusual for News International to defend an action. She said, even when they are 95% certain they will win, they tend to settle out of court.

Re. Colin Fox, the story he is telling now, is the same one I heard around the time of the original case.

The girl from the CPS told me that juries are often swung by personalities, even when the evidence is staring them in the face. I just think this time Tommy has thought, "it worked for me before so I'll give it another go". Significant that both his legal teams appear to have found it difficult to accept his instructions.

No big deal at all. However, I suspect for Mrs. Sheridan it has been. My sources told me that Tommy was confronted by his colleagues and asked just to own up, as the story would soon be forgotten.

I don't think his wife would ever accept the truth, especially since her father was also implicated. It looks like Tommy has gotten into a mess to keep the woman he loves - IMO.

IMO its not as romantic as that, it was always about his reputation, he probably made a fair few quid out of the lies he told the first time round to win the original case and now hes digging a bigger hole by backtracking and trying to win this one with strange tactics such as sacking his legal team. The transcripts from the party meeting where he admitted it all were priceless. Allegedly....

12-10-2010, 06:50 AM
IMHO The NOTW, and the Polis know he is guilty. TS knows also IMHO. Proving it is another matter. Personally, I'll pash masel' if they nail him.

tony higgins
13-10-2010, 09:01 AM
Wouldn,t be the end of the world for TS to get the jail from a political point of view.
I,ll be happy take a small wager from my local bookmaker on TS getting elected to parliament at some point in the future should he do time.

khib70
13-10-2010, 12:47 PM
Wouldn,t be the end of the world for TS to get the jail from a political point of view.
I,ll be happy take a small wager from my local bookmaker on TS getting elected to parliament at some point in the future should he do time.
If he doesn't do time, I swear I'll do time :grr:

13-10-2010, 02:02 PM
It's been often said that a man who represents himself in court has a fool for a client.

Big head, big mouth, massive waste of skin. Nothing but a Weegie wide man on the make, IMO.

I turned up at court expecting to defend myself, aged 18 and with no legal background at all. I didnt believe I needed representation as I hadn't done anything wrong. Defended myself when someone attacked me. Judge told me to get a lawyer and postponed it. Turned up on the re-arranged date and the case was dropped before I even went into the court room, as I hadnt done anything wrong! I could have told them that myself the first time!!

13-10-2010, 03:08 PM
I turned up at court expecting to defend myself, aged 18 and with no legal background at all. I didnt believe I needed representation as I hadn't done anything wrong. Defended myself when someone attacked me. Judge told me to get a lawyer and postponed it. Turned up on the re-arranged date and the case was dropped before I even went into the court room, as I hadnt done anything wrong! I could have told them that myself the first time!!They don't really care about the truth when it comes to trial, it's all about the law and procedure. I represented myself in court, after I was refused legal aid and refused to pay what was in effect £1000 fine before I even started, it all turned out ok as case was dropped after prosecution witnesses were shown to be telling lies. Not a pleasant experience and certainly a job for the professionals if it ever happens again.

14-10-2010, 12:52 PM
I turned up at court expecting to defend myself, aged 18 and with no legal background at all. I didnt believe I needed representation as I hadn't done anything wrong. Defended myself when someone attacked me. Judge told me to get a lawyer and postponed it. Turned up on the re-arranged date and the case was dropped before I even went into the court room, as I hadnt done anything wrong! I could have told them that myself the first time!!

Aye, but the law is an ass, and you don't know what might have happened if the case had gone ahead the first time. You might still be doing time... :rolleyes:

17-10-2010, 07:33 AM
Tommy Sheridan will be found guilty the only question left is the time he will spend in prison.

I worked for many years in Edinburgh Castle as a guide and the amount of time this idiot appeared when V.I.P visitors were entertained in the great hall and all you could hear were Tommy and his mutts shouting about an independent Scotland when in fact lining his own pockets was what this guy is all about.

And to sack his legal team and defend himself tells you his ego is out of control and will also get his wife sent down.

17-10-2010, 08:09 AM
Tommy Sheridan will be found guilty the only question left is the time he will spend in prison.

I worked for many years in Edinburgh Castle as a guide and the amount of time this idiot appeared when V.I.P visitors were entertained in the great hall and all you could hear were Tommy and his mutts shouting about an independent Scotland when in fact lining his own pockets was what this guy is all about.

And to sack his legal team and defend himself tells you his ego is out of control and will also get his wife sent down.

Can you prove this? It's just that Tommy may be a wee bit short of cash soon, and he's not shy about suing people. :greengrin

17-10-2010, 08:59 AM
Can you prove this? It's just that Tommy may be a wee bit short of cash soon, and he's not shy about suing people. :greengrin

:whistle:

17-10-2010, 09:23 AM

How does this tie in with Tommy giving half his salary back to the SSP ? :confused:

hibsdaft
17-10-2010, 12:41 PM
when in fact lining his own pockets was what this guy is all about. .

you can say what you like about TS i would agree with plenty of it frankly after this debacle, but thats rubbish.

17-10-2010, 07:20 PM
I came across Tommy Sheridan at an anti-water privatisation meeting in Leith Community Centre where he came across as passionate, well informed and articulate.

Having had professional dealings with him a few years later, it seemed to me that while he believed in "the cause" of an independent socialist Scotland which cared for all its citizens, on a 1 to 1 basis he was an odd, intense character who seemed overly self-centered. A difference between what he espoused and how he acted.

My own personal belief is that he is definitely guilty of perjury but that he's on trial as the powers that be are keen to put him in his place. After all, how many trials have witnesses who lie on oath but are not pursued for perjury afterwards?

Dirkster23
17-10-2010, 07:24 PM
[QUOTE=Bishop Hibee;2609349]I came across Tommy Sheridan at an anti-water privatisation meeting in Leith Community Centre where he came across as passionate, well informed and articulate.

Having had professional dealings with him a few years later, it seemed to me that while he believed in "the cause" of an independent socialist Scotland which cared for all its citizens, on a 1 to 1 basis he was an odd, intense character who seemed overly self-centered. A difference between what he espoused and how he acted.

My own personal belief is that he is definitely guilty of perjury but that he's on trial as the powers that be are keen to put him in his place. After all, how many trials have witnesses who lie on oath but are not pursued for perjury afterwards?

/QUOTE]

I take it you were at the swingers club that night too :greengrin

hibsdaft
17-10-2010, 10:15 PM
I came across Tommy Sheridan at an anti-water privatisation meeting in Leith Community Centre where he came across as passionate, well informed and articulate.

interesting post and i agree 100% with your final paragraph.

lol @ Neil F :greengrin

18-10-2010, 08:53 AM

I think the fact that Tommy was given substantial damages as a result of the last trial, takes any perjury out of the minor leagues. It's a very similair situation to the one Lord Archole was in a few years back.

18-10-2010, 11:39 AM
I think the fact that Tommy was given substantial damages as a result of the last trial, takes any perjury out of the minor leagues. It's a very similair situation to the one Lord Archole was in a few years back.

:agree: & Jonathan Aitken too. Interesting that each of Sheridan, Archer and Aitken were all politicians, and they (politicians generally) wonder why the public doesn't trust them.

19-10-2010, 08:51 AM
Andy Coulson has been called to give evidence as a defence witness. This could be interesting. :greengrin

http://www.sheridantrial.blogspot.com/

19-10-2010, 12:00 PM
you can say what you like about TS i would agree with plenty of it frankly after this debacle, but thats rubbish.

TS is a politician and I have seen enough his antics close up so please spare me the poor tommy rubbish and to get his wife involved in his lies :bitchy:

erin-go-bragh87
19-10-2010, 02:06 PM
[QUOTE=I take it you were at the swingers club that night too :greengrin[/QUOTE]

Someone had to................:wink:

19-10-2010, 02:53 PM
The drama that this has turned into it is quite clear he is preparing to write a book about it whilst he spends a year or two in a minimum security facility which will no doubt sell by the bucketload and make him some more money once he is released.

magpie1892
19-10-2010, 05:32 PM
The drama that this has turned into it is quite clear he is preparing to write a book about it whilst he spends a year or two in a minimum security facility which will no doubt sell by the bucketload and make him some more money once he is released.

Unlikely. If he's found guilty of perjury (which he will be) then we already have the full story in the public domain. The Scottish NOTW might even do a wee 16-page recap, so you can catch up for a quid.

He won't write a book admitting he lied about the whole thing anyhow and a denial would go on a sheet of A4.

19-10-2010, 05:59 PM
I take it you were at the swingers club that night too :greengrin

:shhhsh!: :greengrin

Had to laugh at the latest witness Katrine Trolle when she was quoted calling the carpet in the swingers club "minging". I think she had a bit more to worry about than that!

19-10-2010, 06:52 PM
Rosie Kane has shown him up imo. He's going down for a wee while anyway. The Dutch burd (Katrine Troll) just stuck the knife into his wife too.

You could have driven an articulated lorry into that mouth when she came out of the court in Edinburgh for the first trial. She couldnae believe it.

And the jury won't believe her man:bye:

20-10-2010, 06:38 AM
I would give his missus one. Does she swing?

20-10-2010, 03:57 PM

Aye but how many gain £200k out of those lies?

20-10-2010, 10:37 PM
Aye but how many gain £200k out of those lies?

Should prosecution for perjury only follow if the party found not guilty in the initial case has gained financially?

If so how much? £5,000? £50,000?

Also he's not been found guilty yet!

21-10-2010, 05:33 PM
Should prosecution for perjury only follow if the party found not guilty in the initial case has gained financially?

I think it's all about cause and effect. If TS has lied to gain £200k it is the same as defrauding Murdoch (spit) and co. of £200k.

If a teller at a bank orchestrated such a fraud, you would expect them to go down. If the teller defrauded the bank of £5k it might not be as serious.

If I am stopped with a quarter ounce of cannabis, I probably get treated more leniently than if I am stopped with a ton. It's all about how serious the offence is.

If Tommy is guilty of perjury (assuming everybody giving evidence in the trial isn't lying), then he has committed a serious crime.

Of course, it is possible that the entire executive of the SSP have an agenda against Tommy and they are so twisted they want to stitch him up and send him to jail.

At the end of the day, I don't think Rosie Kane and Colin Fox are liars.

21-10-2010, 07:26 PM
I think it's all about cause and effect. If TS has lied to gain £200k it is the same as defrauding Murdoch (spit) and co. of £200k.

If a teller at a bank orchestrated such a fraud, you would expect them to go down. If the teller defrauded the bank of £5k it might not be as serious.

If I am stopped with a quarter ounce of cannabis, I probably get treated more leniently than if I am stopped with a ton. It's all about how serious the offence is.

If Tommy is guilty of perjury (assuming everybody giving evidence in the trial isn't lying), then he has committed a serious crime.

Of course, it is possible that the entire executive of the SSP have an agenda against Tommy and they are so twisted they want to stitch him up and send him to jail.

At the end of the day, I don't think Rosie Kane and Colin Fox are liars.

Sheridan didn't know what he was going to get financially at the end of the last trial. It was the jury who awarded him maximum damages of £200,000. May have been better for him if he'd been awarded 10K.

It does seem unlikely that Kane and Fox are both lying but stranger things have happened.

The section on Sheridan's wiki page regarding the original and current trials, although wiki can be unreliable, makes fascinating reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommy_Sheridan

I wonder if he'll take the matter further if he is found not guilty of perjury.

tony higgins
22-10-2010, 02:40 AM

So i wasn,t alone in thinking this.
Only in my case, it was pre him becoming the poll tax guy and minor celeb.
To this day the word that springs to mind is "rocket".

22-10-2010, 08:12 AM
So i wasn,t alone in thinking this.
Only in my case, it was pre him becoming the poll tax guy and minor celeb.
To this day the word that springs to mind is "rocket".

Agree with this. Have met him a couple of times. Give him a mike and an audience and he's a relatively eloquent and convincing speaker. Away from that arena, he seems to live in TommyUniverse in which everything revolves around him. He has a bit of an entourage which is little more than a personality cult with a small number of fairly insignificant, self-convinced followers.

What I don't really get my head round in all of this is that if it was indeed the case that he'd been to the club, why not just say so and be done with it? In other words, handle the consequences of his actions.

I'd imagine by now it would be pretty much be forgotten apart from the occasional jesting that most "disgraced" politicians get over in time.

22-10-2010, 08:28 AM
Sheridan didn't know what he was going to get financially at the end of the last trial. It was the jury who awarded him maximum damages of £200,000. May have been better for him if he'd been awarded 10K.

It does seem unlikely that Kane and Fox are both lying but stranger things have happened.

The section on Sheridan's wiki page regarding the original and current trials, although wiki can be unreliable, makes fascinating reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommy_Sheridan

I wonder if he'll take the matter further if he is found not guilty of perjury.

It's not just CF and RK though is it? There's the hooker, there's pretty much the whole executive of the SSP, there's the people from the NOTW (remember they rarely get involved in litigation).

Agree with this. Have met him a couple of times. Give him a mike and an audience and he's a relatively eloquent and convincing speaker. Away from that arena, he seems to live in TommyUniverse in which everything revolves around him. He has a bit of an entourage which is little more than a personality cult with a small number of fairly insignificant, self-convinced followers.

What I don't really get my head round in all of this is that if it was indeed the case that he'd been to the club, why not just say so and be done with it? In other words, handle the consequences of his actions.

I'd imagine by now it would be pretty much be forgotten apart from the occasional jesting that most "disgraced" politicians get over in time.

Maybe his missus would have been very upset if allegations like these were true? Remember it's not just her husband but her father that was named.

Or maybe the guy is just plain deluded about what he can and can't get away with.

22-10-2010, 08:43 AM
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;2614081]It's not just CF and RK though is it? There's the hooker, there's pretty much the whole executive of the SSP, there's the people from the NOTW (remember they rarely get involved in litigation).

What about the cases of phone hacking? The News of the World is facing numerous claims for damages and legal fees due to their illegal activities. George Galloway has a case which has been lodged at the High Court, estimated to be £300,000 or more.

22-10-2010, 08:53 AM
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;2614081]It's not just CF and RK though is it? There's the hooker, there's pretty much the whole executive of the SSP, there's the people from the NOTW (remember they rarely get involved in litigation).

What about the cases of phone hacking? The News of the World is facing numerous claims for damages and legal fees due to their illegal activities. George Galloway has a case which has been lodged at the High Court, estimated to be £300,000 or more.

Don't know anything about the case, but it will be interesting to see whether it ever goes to trial. What I'm saying is that they only go to court when they think they are guaranteed to win.

22-10-2010, 09:09 AM

Where did I say prosecution for perjury should only follow financial gain???

I don't get you indignation here, it seems quite clear to me that if someone who gains £200k by <allegedly> lying in court then it is a perfectly reasonable course of action to call them to account.

You can't say 'ahh but not everyone who lies faces a perjury trial so why should Tommy' that's a total non argument....which taken to it's logical conclusion would mean you could just as well say that for any crime so why bother with a criminal justice system at all?

22-10-2010, 09:47 AM
[QUOTE=Betty Boop;2614102]

Don't know anything about the case, but it will be interesting to see whether it ever goes to trial. What I'm saying is that they only go to court when they think they are guaranteed to win.

Yes, you are right of course. They settled with Max Clifford and Gordon Taylor out of court, they received £1 million and £700,000. Chris Tarrant, Sienna Miller, John Presscott and Brian Paddick have all raised lawsuits against the NOW for phone hacking.

22-10-2010, 11:12 AM
Where did I say prosecution for perjury should only follow financial gain???

I don't get you indignation here, it seems quite clear to me that if someone who gains £200k by <allegedly> lying in court then it is a perfectly reasonable course of action to call them to account.

You can't say 'ahh but not everyone who lies faces a perjury trial so why should Tommy' that's a total non argument....which taken to it's logical conclusion would mean you could just as well say that for any crime so why bother with a criminal justice system at all?

From wikipaedia:

The costs of the case up to the point where Sheridan was indicted had reached a minimum of £1.5 million.[35]

That alone is good reason to prosecute him, if someone is alleged to have cost the state that much money, they should have a chance to defend thereself.

22-10-2010, 12:11 PM
From wikipaedia:

"The costs of the case up to the point where Sheridan was indicted had reached a minimum of £1.5 million."

That alone is good reason to prosecute him, if someone is alleged to have cost the state that much money, they should have a chance to defend thereself.

Public money? That's enough to justify this prosecution. :agree:

tony higgins
22-10-2010, 03:53 PM

He might have got away with it in a main stream party but the SSP.................

We,re talking the comrades here, left wing women and whole lot of petty jealousies.

Here,s Tommy from a working class background, still with working class mates from the scheme and the mates are still talking about birds, beer and footie.
Along comes the poll tax and Tommy all of a sudden has a bit of the limelight.
A marxist version of your man, John Smeaton, only electable, which Smeaton wasn,t.
Next thing you know Tommy is in a tux attending the big hotel nights with footie players and boxers.
And then there,s the burds...............

Can hardly go back to the comrades and say he had a grab at a few ripe wenches and the odd boiler.

Tommy the guy i met all those years ago wouldn,t change a thing.

haagsehibby
27-10-2010, 12:46 PM
From the court reporting it seems pretty clear cut. I think most witnesses in a perjury trial would be very careful about perjuring themselves.

27-10-2010, 01:32 PM
Yup it's not looknig good for Tommy...sure he will portray any defeat as the establishment against the worker but I don't think many will fall for it!

27-10-2010, 01:49 PM
He should have admitted it in the first place and used it.
The Scottish Socialist Party, the party that actually parties. It would have been a winner.:agree:

23-12-2010, 06:31 PM
Heard on BBC news he was involved in a bit of " group hanky-panky " that involved to quote the newsreader a " famous Scottish football personality ".

The BBC say they are not going to reveal the name of the person so its obviously known.

Anyone got any ideas ? :greengrin

23-12-2010, 06:33 PM
Heard on BBC news he was involved in a bit of " group hanky-panky " that involved to quote the newsreader a " famous Scottish football personality ".

The BBC say they are not going to reveal the name of the person so its obviously known.

Anyone got any ideas ? :greengrin

My totally uninformed guess is Chic Young. He just looks the sort.:agree:

23-12-2010, 06:37 PM
Super Arshehole:devil:

My totally uninformed guess is Chic Young. He just looks the sort.:agree:

The word "personality" rules this out.

Any bets on how long it will be before the Admin pr*cks close this? :greengrin

Calvin
Gary Clark was involved, not sure if he's a "famous personality" though.

littleplum
Not sure how much the mods would like us to say on this. I'll restrict myself to saying he is apparently currently managing in England...

23-12-2010, 06:39 PM
I got the feeling it will be someone of the Celtic persuasion .

OstKurve Hibs
23-12-2010, 06:41 PM
My money is on allan mcgregor!

Mark79
23-12-2010, 06:43 PM
Craig thomson or Graham Rix?

23-12-2010, 06:51 PM
Rodders? :dunno:

23-12-2010, 06:52 PM

He needs more than 3 ffs!!

Stonewall
23-12-2010, 06:54 PM

If the 'tache fits...

gringojoe
23-12-2010, 06:59 PM
There is no way it could be Gary Mackay he is far to busy showing off his medals as Hearts legend.

23-12-2010, 07:24 PM
There is no way it could be Gary Mackay he is far to busy showing off his medals as Hearts legend.

Hmmm.... those ears would be something to hold on to.

23-12-2010, 07:30 PM
Craig Broon:dunno:

23-12-2010, 07:40 PM
Not sure how much the mods would like us to say on this. I'll restrict myself to saying he is apparently currently managing in England...

Could it be the sort of guy who held up a banner on his farewell performance in the Bundesliga that said, "thank yous fans"? Hope not, because the answer might be too easy to work out, and you know what those admin pr!cks are like. :greengrin

23-12-2010, 07:46 PM

Could it be the sort of guy who held up a banner on his farewell performance in the Bundesliga that said, "thank yous fans"? Hope not, because the answer might be too easy to work out, and you know what those admin pr!cks are like. :greengrin

23-12-2010, 07:47 PM

Not Alan McInally???? :cool2:

23-12-2010, 07:55 PM
Paul Lambert :wink:

23-12-2010, 08:06 PM

Funny you should mention that, I taugh English in a school in Germany and was asked to tell a group of pupils about Scotland and Scottish people they may be familiar with. I told them about Travis, Franz Ferdinand, Sean Connery and loads of kids knew Paul Lambert from his time with Dortmund whom I had a picture of with the aforementioned banner. It was slightly awkward as a Scot trying to teach them English that I had to spend a while telling them why his banner (in English after a good while in Germany) shouldn't have said "Thank's". Not sure telling them he's from Bellshill would be a good enough explanation for them.

Murdo MacLeod would never.

Paul Lambert :wink:

Always got through a lot of 'dirty work' in the 'engine room':cool2:

23-12-2010, 08:17 PM
The laddie has just come up with a good shout - A certain MBE, pally wi Sue Barker and Hazel Irvine (alledgedly)

Maybes Rosie Kane will be running a book on it...

dirtydirk
23-12-2010, 08:17 PM
I got told this person is a current player and the word personality really doesnt fit.

23-12-2010, 08:18 PM
http://i985.photobucket.com/albums/ae335/naka25/45053614.jpg

This is doing the rounds on a couple of other forums apparently.

No idea of it's authenticity

23-12-2010, 08:24 PM
Have to say that it comes as an almighty surprise to me that for once on hibs.net, Colin Nish hasn't got the blame.

Are we finally turning a corner here?:greengrin

23-12-2010, 08:36 PM
Have to say that it comes as an almighty surprise to me that for once on hibs.net, Colin Nish hasn't got the blame.

Are we finally turning a corner here?:greengrin

Colin Nish is not at fault for this though. :agree:

RODDERS!!! :grr:

23-12-2010, 08:48 PM
I got told this person is a currant player and the word personality really doesnt fit.

So he plays for the Huns? :confused:

23-12-2010, 08:55 PM

They are best mates since childhood so there must be a chance.

23-12-2010, 09:12 PM
Tommy Sheridan's new song:

Oh I'm the King of the Swingers, used to rule the SSP, unzipped my flies and told some lies, then got done for perjury!

Riordans Boots
23-12-2010, 09:53 PM

Oh I'm the King of the Swingers, used to rule the SSP, unzipped my flies and told some lies, then got done for perjury!

And - Disney are to make a film about TS :agree:

The Lion **** :greengrin

23-12-2010, 10:08 PM
And - Disney are to make a film about TS :agree:

The Lion **** :greengrin

Well that can't be true as I heard it was The Fockers.

moggie
23-12-2010, 10:39 PM

spot on it would seem.:thumbsup:

23-12-2010, 10:41 PM
I'm no' a Billy (Liar) Ahm a Tim.....?

23-12-2010, 10:43 PM
I heard the 'other' bloke aka well known footbal personality is SPanish and used to played for Rangers...Macho Nobo

tony higgins
24-12-2010, 07:15 AM
The party's over............................

24-12-2010, 07:33 AM

:faf::faf:

i'm now going to be humming that all day...:rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 07:34 AM

24-12-2010, 07:39 AM
Now I'm the king of the swingers
Oh, the jungle VIP
I've reached the top and had to stop
And that's what botherin' me
I wanna be a man, mancub
And stroll right into town
And be just like the other men
I'm tired of monkeyin' around!

Oh, oobee doo
I wanna be like you
I wanna walk like you
Talk like you, too
You'll see it's true
An ape like me
Can learn to be humen too

Gee, cousin Louie
You're doin' real good

Now here's your part of the deal, cuz
Lay the secret on me of man's red fire

But I don't know how to make fire

Now don't try to kid me, mancub
I made a deal with you
What I desire is man's red fire
To make my dream come true
Give me the secret, mancub
Clue me what to do
Give me the power of man's red flower
So I can be like you

You!
I wanna be like you
I wanna talk like you
Walk like you, too
You'll see it's true
Someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like you
Can learn to be
Like someone like me!

24-12-2010, 07:41 AM
Oh, the jungle VIP
I wanna be a man, mancub

Oh, oobee doo
I wanna be like you
I wanna walk like you
Talk like you, too
You'll see it's true
An ape like me

Gee, cousin Louie
You're doin' real good

I made a deal with you
Clue me what to do
So I can be like you

You!
I wanna be like you
I wanna talk like you
Walk like you, too
You'll see it's true
Someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like you
Can learn to be
Like someone like me!

Could rewrite all of it..i'll start

Oh, the sex club VIP

24-12-2010, 07:41 AM
Oh, the jungle VIP
I wanna be a man, mancub

Oh, oobee doo
I wanna be like you
I wanna walk like you
Talk like you, too
You'll see it's true
An ape like me

Gee, cousin Louie
You're doin' real good

I made a deal with you
Clue me what to do
So I can be like you

You!
I wanna be like you
I wanna talk like you
Walk like you, too
You'll see it's true
Someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like me
Can learn to be
Like someone like you
Can learn to be
Like someone like me!

That's one of my all time favourite songs. :agree:

24-12-2010, 07:45 AM
Can't see anybody getting near Colin Nish's *rse as it's always planted firmly on the turf.

24-12-2010, 09:11 AM

Whoever wrote The Jungle Book is surely " Celtc Minded"? I sense a conspiracy.

Seen Tommy Sheridan described as a Pollock Man. Think that must be a typo.

24-12-2010, 10:59 AM

Thank you fan's. :agree:

147lothian
24-12-2010, 02:26 PM
When I think of this sleezy sunbed weegie anus i say thankfully we don't have to hear his self appointed clap trap any more, I hope he looks like a dried prune when he see's the light of day:bye:

24-12-2010, 03:29 PM
I don't think Tommy Sheridan will have any problems in finding 3 in a bed sex sessions where he's going.

24-12-2010, 04:00 PM
I don't think Tommy Sheridan will have any problems in finding 3 in a bed sex sessions where he's going.Aye ...solidarity, clenched fists & comradeship all in one go ..:paranoid::no way:

fiolex1
24-12-2010, 04:01 PM
Fat Jim know's

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 04:19 PM
I feel sorry for his wee lass who aint gonne see her daddy for between 3/5 years I'd say.

Shame on Murdoch and his cronies for what turned into a pesecussion of a man with an inflated ego.

I wish they would put their resources into things that might be more in the public interest.

How much money came out the public purse is the question i'd be asking.

By the way, i watched the tape. How anyone can say without doubt that was Tommy is beyond me.

24-12-2010, 04:27 PM
I feel sorry for his wee lass who aint gonne see her daddy for between 3/5 years I'd say.

Shame on Murdoch and his cronies for what turned into a pesecussion of a man with an inflated ego.

I wish they would put their resources into things that might be more in the public interest.

By the way, i watched the tape. How anyone can say without doubt that was Tommy is beyond me.

That wee lass is lucky its not both parents going to the big hoose IMHO.

How anyone can recall where they were months previous and on many occasions - as Mrs S did as she provided alibis left, right and centre is beyond me.

It couldnae be him lying it was the umpteen others!

Good ruidance to him :bye:

24-12-2010, 04:30 PM
Anyone got a link to a Forest Fans' site? I want tae see what they're making of the wee hun's involvement.

Ireallywasthere
24-12-2010, 04:32 PM

He certainly has an ego ! However, if he had just held his hands up to it, big deal, he visited a swingers club. Twice in 10 years or so. Neither trial would have taken place and saved the public purse millions. The socialist party would have survived without him. Selfish egotistical git

24-12-2010, 04:33 PM

I too can't abide Murdoch or anything he stands for -
However Tommy S was given the chance to plead guilty to ONE CHARGE with all charges dropped against his wife.but his inflated ego wouldn't allow him to take that line :rolleyes:
He could possibly have received a "suspended sentence " and walked away
So TS himself helped enormously to wrack up the costs .

Not a great deal of sympathy for him

24-12-2010, 04:38 PM

The only person answerable to the wee lass is Tommy Sheridan.

He could have held his hands up when the NOTW printed the original story, instead he fought and won a case that he knew was unjust.

I feel sorry for his daughter too, she'll be heartbroken by it all, but it's her dad that is at fault here, not the NOTW and not the prosecution.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 04:40 PM

How anyone can recall where they were months previous and on many occasions - as Mrs S did as she provided alibis left, right and centre is beyond me.

:agree: She defo lied her arse off too. I just wonder what she had to gain apart from the 200 grand :devil:

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 04:46 PM
The only person answerable to the wee lass is Tommy Sheridan.

He could have held his hands up when the NOTW printed the original story, instead he fought and won a case that he knew was unjust.

I feel sorry for his daughter too, she'll be heartbroken by it all, but it's her dad that is at fault here, not the NOTW and not the prosecution.

Agree with all that, I'd just like to see the NOTW put their resources into things that may be a wee bit more in the public interest.

Tommy Sheridan is a washed up politician, who cares if he visits sex clubs or not?

Reasons I don't buy news papers anymore!:rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 04:48 PM
:agree: She defo lied her arse off too. I just wonder what she had to gain apart from the 200 grand :devil:

I just read the Record story, which says that Tommy would often turn up at the house of (insert name of alleged bit on the side) with miniatures of alcohol.

This wouldn't be the same miniatures that Gail was accused of stealing from the planes, would it? :rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 04:50 PM
Agree with all that, I'd just like to see the NOTW put their resources into things that may be a wee bit more in the public interest.

:

2 reasons:-

1. scandal sells.

2. no one should take on the media, unless they are very very sure of their case.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 05:18 PM

1. scandal sells.

2. no one should take on the media, unless they are very very sure of their case.

I :agree:. I just don't buy it anymore, pure and utter made up lies most of the time.:rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 05:24 PM

1. scandal sells.

I feel sorry for the folks that a) can't get a hospital bed, b) are being laid off because of cutbacks c) are facing foreclosure on their homes, because £5m of taxpayers money was spent proving a guy lied about going to a swingers club.
What's this world coming to?

And who really won? Who made lots of money?
Work that one out for yourselves. :grr:

Black Kyle
24-12-2010, 05:29 PM

Mr Sheridan is responsible for splitting the left vote in Scotland. I think the SSP walk away from this with a bit of dignity. Instead of being a minority party again, they could and should have been part of a coalition government right now. The fact that they are not is unforgiveable.

My money would be on the football personality being someone with connections to the green side of the Bigot Brothers.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 05:33 PM
I feel sorry for the folks that a) can't get a hospital bed, b) are being laid off because of cutbacks c) are facing foreclosure on their homes, because £5m of taxpayers money was spent proving a guy lied about going to a swingers club.

At last, someone who can read between the lines. :top marks

24-12-2010, 05:40 PM

Not sure I agree with you. The people who "made lots of money".... presumably you mean those in the justice system? They would have made that money anyway. The police and prosecutors are on salaries. If they weren't on the TS case, they would have been working on another case.

The public money that was spent on this case, scandalous as it was, would have been spent elsewhere in the justice system. Not on health or education.

24-12-2010, 05:49 PM

Absolutely agree with you. If only Sheridan had pleaded guilty or not brought the libel case in the first place, we could have saved all that cash.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 05:52 PM
Not sure I agree with you. The people who "made lots of money".... presumably you mean those in the justice system? They would have made that money anyway. The police and prosecutors are on salaries. If they weren't on the TS case, they would have been working on another case.

The public money that was spent on this case, scandalous as it was, would have been spent elsewhere in the justice system. Not on health or education.

The News papers made the money!! :rolleyes:

24-12-2010, 05:56 PM
The News papers made the money!! :rolleyes:

More money than they would have had the trial not happened? Wouldn't have thought so. However, if you have the circulation figures....

And the NOTW is still £200k, plus costs, down on the first trial... albeit likely to be recovered. And the £200k paid for the tape, and the money paid to the witnesses.

That's a lot of papers.

<rolling your eyes back to you> ;0)

Leicester Fan
24-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Aye ...solidarity, clenched fists & comradeship all in one go ..:paranoid::no way:

:greengrin:top marks

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 06:03 PM
More money than they would have had the trial not happened? plenty more and free advertising wek on week that would be worth millions!!

And the NOTW is still £200k, plus costs, down on the first trial... albeit likely to be recovered. And the £200k paid for the tape, and the money paid to the witnesses.

That's a lot of papers.

<rolling your eyes back to you> ;0) :greengrin:wink::thumbsup:

24-12-2010, 06:08 PM
Absolutely agree with you. If only Sheridan had pleaded guilty or not brought the libel case in the first place, we could have saved all that cash.

Again, I don't get this "saved...cash". The cash would've been spent anyway, on something else within the justice system.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 06:18 PM
Again, I don't get this "saved...cash". The cash would've been spent anyway, on something else within the justice system.

Absolute rubbish, this has been an added cost using up extra man hours to investigate.

Take this case away and the justice system would be at least a million pounds better off.

24-12-2010, 06:21 PM
Absolute rubbish, this has been an added cost using up extra man hours to investigate.

Take this case away and the justice system would be at least a million pounds better off.

But the extra man hours would have been spent on other cases. The justice system is overloaded anyway, so there would have been no shortage of things to do, including overtime.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 06:29 PM
But the extra man hours would have been spent on other cases. The justice system is overloaded anyway, so there would have been no shortage of things to do, including overtime.

You have detectives spending hour upon hour interviewing the sheridans,those guys alone could have been used elsewhere, and that's just for starters.

Take away the Sheridan case and the public purse is better off right away, regardless of whether they would have spent the moneyon other things or not.

Also the time it took from day one of the trial til it ended.

The other trials that are held up because of that.

24-12-2010, 06:38 PM
You have detectives spending hour upon hour interviewing the sheridans,those guys alone could have been used elsewhere, and that's just for starters.

Take away the Sheridan case and the public purse is better off right away, regardless of whether they would have spent the moneyon other things or not.

Also the time it took from day one of the trial til it ended.

The other trials that are held up because of that.

Indeed. And that is the only effect on the justice system.

They only have x hours in a year, and £y. They spend that money. If the TS situation hadn't happened, they would have spent that money on another one. One that would have otherwise happened later.

It's only a time saving. Not a money saving.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 06:41 PM
Indeed. And that is the only effect on the justice system.

They only have x hours in a year, and £y. They spend that money. If the TS situation hadn't happened, they would have spent that money on another one. One that would have otherwise happened later.

It's only a time saving. Not a money saving.

Yes it is and for a more deserving case.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 06:43 PM
That's like saying, if your gas and electric were to go up then it doesn't matter because you would just spend it anyway??:greengrin:wink:

24-12-2010, 06:47 PM
Yes it is and for a more deserving case.

Not disagreeing with that bit. But you're arguing that there has been an additional cost to the public.

An example:-

PC A is employed by L and B, £30 k pa. He has just spent 18 months on the TS case. Cost to the public, £45k.

Had he not been on that case, he might have been on a different 5-6 cases. Cost to the public, still £45k.

Those other cases have been put back, yes, and they may well be more deserving of his time.... and that is frustrating.

BUT there is no additional cost.

24-12-2010, 06:47 PM
A sleazy, pompous egotistical buffoon gets crushed by a reactionary, grubby, seedy, fascist stroke mag that will make a fortune from this. Our joke of a legal system is undermined further by facilitating this nonsense, and yes, the biggest joke, we pay for it.

Result for the Murdoch empire and defeat for everyone else - although we can 'laugh' because some vain flatulent oaf has been sent to jail.

A hollow, expensive laugh and one most of us can do without.

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 07:02 PM
Not disagreeing with that bit. But you're arguing that there has been an additional cost to the public.

An example:-

PC A is employed by L and B, £30 k pa. He has just spent 18 months on the TS case. Cost to the public, £45k.

Had he not been on that case, he might have been on a different 5-6 cases. Cost to the public, still £45k.

Those other cases have been put back, yes, and they may well be more deserving of his time.... and that is frustrating.

BUT there is no additional cost.

Ok EXAMPLE...Detective using brain power catches theif- no more house thefts- no more man hours needed to catch him. Doesn't happen- he's too bust interviewing Gail Sheridan.

EXAMPLE-Detective using brain power figures out who's been doing all the serial killing in Edinburgh....no more murder victims....no more man hours needed for that case..Doesn't happen he's too busy interviewing Gail Sheridan.

Trial was cancelled quite a few times tooo because of XYZ reason, cost to the public purse again

24-12-2010, 07:04 PM
Ok EXAMPLE...Detective using brain power catches theif- no more house thefts- no more man hours needed to catch him. Doesn't happen- he's too bust interviewing Gail Sheridan.

EXAMPLE-Detective using brain power figures out who's been doing all the serial killing in edinburgh....no more murder victims....no more man hours needed for that case..Doesn't happen he's too busy interviewing Gail Sheridan.

:na na::na na::na na::na na::greengrin

Extra cost? :cool2:

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 07:12 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;2667550]Extra cost? :cool2:[/QUOT

Everytime a case goes to trial it's extra cost to the public purse.

Imagine we had no criminals in the world, imagine we no longer needed the court system. The costs we normally spend on the justice system could be spent on things that could go a long way in helping a number of different deserving cases.

Oh and my wife would be out a job :wink:

24-12-2010, 07:15 PM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;2667550]Extra cost? :cool2:[/QUOT

Everytime a case goes to trial it's extra cost to the public purse.

Imagine we had no criminals in the world, imagine we no longer needed the court system. The costs we normally spend on the justice system could be spent on things that could go a long way in helping a number of different deserving cases.

Oh and my wife would be out a job :wink:

<slapping forehead> You're starting to sound like one of my less clever clients. If it weren't Christmas, I'd be nominating you for a seat on the H**rts board....

However, I'm not that cruel :greengrin

Littlest Hobo
24-12-2010, 07:20 PM
[QUOTE=GREEN SKYE;2667557]

<slapping forehead> You're starting to sound like one of my less clever clients. If it weren't Christmas, I'd be nominating you for a seat on the H**rts board....

However, I'm not that cruel :greengrin

Giving your mind a wee treat there but hey I know I'm right and that keeps me happy. :bye:

Merry Xmas:greengrin

24-12-2010, 07:33 PM
Moved this to the Holy Ground forum as the discussion was not particularly relevant to Hibs/football and was being discussed at length in the HG forum.

24-12-2010, 07:35 PM
I have no time for Sheridan's ego or his politics but I find it ridiculous that he's going away for years for this. If he'd lied in court allowed somebody to get away with murder then fair enough, but it was all about some seedy story in a grubby Murdoch rag. How about we start jailing News of world journalists every time they lie...then maybe we'd see some benefit to society

24-12-2010, 07:40 PM
I have no time for Sheridan's ego or his politics but I find it ridiculous that he's going away for years for this. If he'd lied in court allowed somebody to get away with murder then fair enough, but it was all about some seedy story in a grubby Murdoch rag. How about we start jailing News of world journalists every time they lie...then maybe we'd see some benefit to society

Why be so narrow?

Just shoot em anyway. :greengrin

24-12-2010, 07:53 PM

In principle I can agree with you
However at the end of the day he , Sheridan , lied for financial gain and put the character of all of those who testified truthfully in doubt .
You then start to go down the road of defamation of character etc etc.

Bottom line was he thought he was "smarter than the average bear" when in fact he was simply an overblown egotist .

Think his true character is shown up when you compare him with UCS's Jimmy " there will be no bevying" Reid - there was a real man of the people :thumbsup:

25-12-2010, 11:55 AM
A sleazy, pompous egotistical buffoon gets crushed by a reactionary, grubby, seedy, fascist stroke mag that will make a fortune from this. Our joke of a legal system is undermined further by facilitating this nonsense, and yes, the biggest joke, we pay for it.

Result for the Murdoch empire and defeat for everyone else - although we can 'laugh' because some vain flatulent oaf has been sent to jail.

A hollow, expensive laugh and one most of us can do without.

Oh yes. In a nutshell:top marks

25-12-2010, 12:15 PM

Another perspective...

Sheridan "stole" £200k. What would the tariff be for defrauding that amount from a company/bank etc?

The "theft" is exacerbated by the fact that he swore an oath to tell the truth in order to do it. The tariff for perjury is up to 10 years.

He didn't have swear an oath to tell the truth because he didn't have to be in court in the first place.

He wasn't lying to defend himself against criminal prosecution.

It was his choice to spend taxpayers money to take action against the NOTW.

And it was all lies from him.