View Full Version : Match Updates Czech Republic 1 Scotland 0

08-10-2010, 05:49 PM
Come on Harry Potter and the boys :greengrin

Good looking Stadium they are playing in....a result here and we will be beleiving in miracles

08-10-2010, 06:03 PM
A 4-6???????

What the ******ing hell is that?????

So we can look forward to a 0-0 at best by Potter's game plan?

Great to have timidly surrendered before kick off eh

08-10-2010, 06:03 PM
Interesting formation..I assume that they are strong at CH and the formation is set up to drag them out wide :rolleyes:

08-10-2010, 06:05 PM
Can anyone PM me 'somewhere' to watch the game. Outside the UK that is...I see it's on BBC iplayer but I can't get it :grr:

08-10-2010, 06:07 PM
Can anyone PM me 'somewhere' to watch the game. Outside the UK that is...I see it's on BBC iplayer but I can't get it :grr:

Try www.********* (http://www.*********)

You'll find a stream there :agree:

Edit: Here's your options: http://www.*********/broadcast.php?matchid=89946&part=sports

08-10-2010, 06:11 PM
Monster sized Tartan army with some right belters in the crowd :greengrin

Prague will be missing some beer after this....

08-10-2010, 06:15 PM
Don't think I've ever seen a Scotland team line up in this way, not one striker. :confused:

08-10-2010, 06:16 PM
A 4-6???????

What the ******ing hell is that?????

So we can look forward to a 0-0 at best by Potter's game plan?

Great to have timidly surrendered before kick off eh

WTF...1-4-6

Gaun yersel Harry ya ****in dumplin :bye:

08-10-2010, 06:17 PM
Where is Steve Fletcher?

08-10-2010, 06:18 PM
Come on the Czech Republic get it rite up the haggis munchers :greengrin

deeks01
08-10-2010, 06:29 PM
always thought the old saying that certain games are a cure for insomnia was a myth..... but I am genuinely struggling to keep my eyes open and I've only been up for 6 hours :( WTF?!

08-10-2010, 06:31 PM
Don't think I've ever seen a Scotland team line up in this way, not one striker. :confused:

Its actually 4-2-4.......but playing very deep

08-10-2010, 06:33 PM

Ahh so 4 up front, that's better :wink:

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 06:35 PM

pants :cool2:

08-10-2010, 06:37 PM
It was shown as 1-4-1-5-0 and described as a 4-6. Interesting. Cannae help but think that formation has been over thought however ..

08-10-2010, 06:38 PM
Ahh so 4 up front, that's better :wink:

I said 4-2-4...said nothing of 4 up front :greengrin

08-10-2010, 06:39 PM
I said 4-2-4...said nothing of 4 up front :greengrin

So it's really 4-2-4-0 :agree:

08-10-2010, 06:45 PM
Wasn't long ago levein was a tactical genius on here. Though I suppose talking down Scotland now beats talking down Hibs?

08-10-2010, 06:45 PM
That wasn't a bad break but 11 men behind the ball 30 yards from our own goal? Jeezus.

08-10-2010, 06:54 PM
That summed this ridiculous system up for me right there, Naismith wins possession barely past our own box, breaks, but there's nobody to pass too ahead of him.

Taxi for Levein if he doesn't change this at half time frankly. Utterly unimaginable levels of stupidity in this 'game plan.'

08-10-2010, 06:57 PM
Weir acting like a bloody animal again. Disgrace of a footballer.

08-10-2010, 06:58 PM
What is it with Weir and throats?

08-10-2010, 06:59 PM
We are set up not to concede and hit on the break. What do you expect?
If he pulls off a draw or better good on him. If we were to try and go gun ho without the necessary talent we would be gubbed. Mon the Yam bastrit.

08-10-2010, 06:59 PM
Weir acting like a bloody animal again. Disgrace of a footballer.:top marks
He makes me ****ing sick.

08-10-2010, 07:00 PM
Weir acting like a bloody animal again. Disgrace of a footballer.

08-10-2010, 07:04 PM
What an embarrassing performance thus far. Czech Republic are nowhere near the team they used to be, so to play 0 forwards is quite frankly pathetic. Let's get a couple of attack minded players on and actually give it a ****ing go. Have some dignity Levein.

08-10-2010, 07:05 PM
Highlight of the night so far, is John Collins in the studio, immaculate as ever ! :love ya!:

08-10-2010, 07:06 PM
What an embarrassing performance thus far. Czech Republic are nowhere near the team they used to be, so to play 0 forwards is quite frankly pathetic. Let's get a couple of attack minded players on and actually give it a ****ing go. Have some dignity Levein.
Gallant losers again?

Exactly. It wasnt that long ago we beat them (with levien in charge as well). Thought we could build on that

We are set up not to concede and hit on the break. What do you expect?
If he pulls off a draw or better good on him. If we were to try and go gun ho without the necessary talent we would be gubbed. Mon the Yam bastrit.

But we can't hit them on the break as there's simply nobody there! It's get possession and hit it forward for a throw in.

You'd think it was rugby!

08-10-2010, 07:07 PM

The only other team I've seen playing no-one up front were San Marino. Is that where we're at now?

Oh and hearts did it as well under Shabby last season...

08-10-2010, 07:08 PM
Big JC is clearly raging at this eye bleeding system :wink:

08-10-2010, 07:09 PM
The only other team I've seen playing no-one up front were San Marino. Is that where we're at now?

As said on the BBC, Rubin Kazan did it effectively against Barcelona a couple of weeks ago.

Why are people complaining about sitting at 0-0 at half time against the Czechs?

08-10-2010, 07:10 PM
But we can't hit them on the break as there's simply nobody there! It's get possession and hit it forward for a throw in.

You'd think it was rugby!
Thats the problem. Instead of keeping possession we are just lumping it forward. Keep hold of the thing and pass to feet. Breaking from the midfield instead of lumping it up we have width but no big striker to hold it up. We have done it a couple of times. Keep it on the deck and keep possession.

08-10-2010, 07:11 PM
As said on the BBC, Rubin Kazan did it effectively against Barcelona a couple of weeks ago.

Do you really think the Czechs are that much better than us though?

08-10-2010, 07:13 PM
I'd get Whitty aff - red coming otherwise! And we need a striker on.

08-10-2010, 07:14 PM
Highlight of the night so far, is John Collins in the studio, immaculate as ever ! :love ya!:

Hey what about Pat???.

:idea: JC and Pat Nevin, our new management team.

4-6-0? How bad was that:grr:. Get that Yam f*d to ******.

08-10-2010, 07:14 PM

I hope for the good of the game that Scotland get nothing out of this match.
The sooner managers like Levein are driven out the game the better.
I stuck it out for half an hour and switched over to the darts.

08-10-2010, 07:15 PM

Why are people complaining about sitting at 0-0 at half time against the Czechs?

Interesting system. Our 6 across the middle are not up to the task.They do not have enough energy. We should be driving up the field on the flanks and full of industry in the middle. We do not have any of that and as such the system is not really working for Scotland (no goals against, but a tad fortunate).

We are giving them far too much respect as they are a poor side.

Whittaker off before he is sent off, a fitter player in front of the back 4 (Not a game to bring Caldwell in on considering he has not payed)

He should now go with at least 1 up front which should give him similar tactics to where it is now but with more attacking options. He should really go 2 up, because I really think they are poor.

HibeeMG
08-10-2010, 07:17 PM
Yep, a 6-2-2-0 formation is the future Levein.

Does he not realise that we've actually got some handy players?

Yes, let's be honest, most of them play for far superior clubs than say, West Brom or Rangers or QPR.

Is dem red tears on Bobby's cheeks or is dat blood?

08-10-2010, 07:20 PM
This is rather hilarious..

4-6-0...

Only a Hun or a diet Hun could come up with this fantastically attack minded formation...

It's not Spain or Brazil we're playing it's the Czech Republic!! This mob got beat at home from Sporting Kaunas..

Laughing stock of international football!!

Cheers Harry :faf:

Arch Stanton
08-10-2010, 07:21 PM

Over the years they have been a much stronger footballing country than us - they might be going through a poor patch but we have hardly been turning it on either.

The idea that we could easily win this game by having a couple of strikers on is simplistic - so far so good as far as I can see.

08-10-2010, 07:22 PM
Hal Time Thoughts !!
Yet another" Harry Potter" game plan gone down the pan !!
Thought Paul Harley J.C. and Pat Nevin's take on the first half was 100% correct :thumbsup:

I noted the following.
Midfield seem unable to play short quick balls and on the odd occasion they do there is no one moving to take the return : on top of that they seem to lack the abilit to control the balwhen it is passed
Back four are playing "Hoof Ball" staright out the HP/DUtd Fc manual .
Almost 100% rhe ball was returned straight away. .
After about 25 minutes steam wa coming out of Garry Caldwell's a...e !
Feel heart sorry for Whittaker being played at LB - has to tackle with his right foot which is always going to be clumsy.

Just cannot see where/how we aregoing to get a result against what is , in allreality, nothing more than a hard working side

:brickwall
Do we not have a songle wide player who can hold the ball and run at a defence ?

08-10-2010, 07:22 PM
Come on Harry Potter and the boys :greengrin

Good looking Stadium they are playing in....a result here and we will be beleiving in miracles

There will be no miracles here.

HibsMax
08-10-2010, 07:23 PM
What a joke. I would rather be handed an ass spanking loss while trying to win the game than struggle for a draw. If you play for a draw the best you can hope for is a draw, and you still might lose. You might get a win but it would have to be a goal that comes out of nothing. How can you win if you don't have anyone attacking?

cheltenhamhibee
08-10-2010, 07:24 PM
this is like watchin paint dry !!!

08-10-2010, 07:24 PM
The Czechs are a side in turmoil, lacking confidence, suffering recent defeats.

What we are doing here, is giving them all the time in the world to play, keep the ball, build their confidence, get their fans back on side.

Hell at this rate if they beat us it'll be enough to spark off their campaign!!

We should have went here with the intention of killing off the Czechs. We beat them at Hampden, so we are lined up here like this? I could just about accept such tactics next time out against Spain, but this is madness for a game we need to win, but more importantly, need the Czechs to lose.

08-10-2010, 07:27 PM
Why is Steven Fletcher not even on the bench? Is he injured? :confused:

08-10-2010, 07:28 PM
So wtf we going to line up like against the Spanish? 10-0-0 :grr:.
This team will score against us tonight so what do we do then, come on get a striker on the pitch.

08-10-2010, 07:29 PM
There will be no miracles here.

Lets have a pint on it :greengrin

0-0 would be a good result...a win fantastic....a bit like Hibs at the moment...can't be too fusssy about how (if) its acheived

Czech's are pish! This game is there for the taking, unfortunately we don't want to take it! :grr:

"The Czechs have qualified for ever Euro Championship since 96."

Yes, they are better than us!

08-10-2010, 07:30 PM
So wtf we going to line up like against the Spanish? 10-0-0 :grr:.
This team will score against us tonight so what do we do then, come on get a striker on the pitch.
If they score then change it. See what they are made of.
Lets not forget this side need to win this.

Arch Stanton
08-10-2010, 07:30 PM
The Czechs are a side in turmoil, lacking confidence, suffering recent defeats.

What we are doing here, is giving them all the time in the world to play, keep the ball, build their confidence, get their fans back on side.

Hell at this rate if they beat us it'll be enough to spark off their campaign!!

We should have went here with the intention of killing off the Czechs. We beat them at Hampden, so we are lined up here like this? I could just about accept such tactics next time out against Spain, but this is madness for a game we need to win, but more importantly, need the Czechs to lose.

Playing with fewer midfield players will give them less time on the ball?

Did you really think that post through?

08-10-2010, 07:31 PM
Why is Steven Fletcher not even on the bench? Is he injured? :confused:

Bump..

08-10-2010, 07:31 PM
Roman Bebnob on

08-10-2010, 07:33 PM
Its just a matter of time.

Reminds me of Perth.

We will lose a goal and there will be no way back.

cheltenhamhibee
08-10-2010, 07:34 PM
ffs this is doin ma heid in !!! when we spain they'll absolutely destroy us

08-10-2010, 07:34 PM
Its just a matter of time.

Reminds me of Perth.

We will lose a goal and there will be no way back.

Looking like it scoops the scots are looking tired now.

Hanging on for grim death. :agree:

08-10-2010, 07:35 PM
thats how its meant to be with the full backs pushing up....much better

HibsMax
08-10-2010, 07:36 PM
What aggravates me is that if the Czechs score then Scotland is then on the backfoot and needs to change their tactics. In other words, we play all game for a draw, trying to keep a clean sheet then they score and THEN we need to go on the offensive to get something from the game. And if the Czechs score, they'll start to play defensive making it even more difficult for us to get anything. No guts, no glory.

08-10-2010, 07:37 PM
that save - much as it pains me - was world class

08-10-2010, 07:37 PM
Great save from the beast.

08-10-2010, 07:38 PM
Great save by the cheating hun bass.

08-10-2010, 07:40 PM
I don't get why everyone is moaning. Yes its a shocking game but if Scotland draw 0-0 then is a fantastic result. Football is about results and 0-0 is a result for this average Scottish side.

08-10-2010, 07:41 PM
If they score then change it. See what they are made of.
Lets not forget this side need to win this.

It's not a case of if it's a case of when. What do we do if they score with 5 mins to go? Sure they need to win but we are making them look better than they are. The right team tonight would have beat this mob.

Game over

TheEastTerrace
**** off Potter and your anti-football pesh :grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

cheltenhamhibee
now what the f*** is that fud goin to do ?

It's been coming, what's Potter gonna do know, :grr:

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 07:42 PM
now we will see what potters made of :confused:

Riordans Boots

Totally :thumbsup:

Aw *****e the Czecs just scored :bitchy:

I don't get why everyone is moaning. Yes its a shocking game but if Scotland draw 0-0 then is a fantastic result. Football is about results and 0-0 is a result for this average Scottish side.

:bye:

It's not a case of if it's a case of when. What do we do if they score with 5 mins to go? Sure they need to win but we are making them look better than they are. The right team tonight would have beat this mob.
What makes you say that?
Thats it ****ed now. Ironically from a bog standard corner.
20 mins to earn yer bred Levein.

:duck::duck:

hibbytam
Now for plan b

There was a plan a?

08-10-2010, 07:43 PM
He might be a Hun ****, but that was a phenomenal save.

F***ing told you :grr:. So what do we do know? Lucky thing is we got 20 mins to go. Even if we pull it back I've had enough and that Yam t**t can get tae.

Its a joke

As long as we're of the mindset that 0-0 is something to aim for then we'll never progress. It's painful watching.

How does a 6-4-0 formation cope with going 1-0 down?

08-10-2010, 07:44 PM
Playing with fewer midfield players will give them less time on the ball?

Did you really think that post through?

We've got ten ******ing defenders at the moment, time on the ball = time them having the ball, we've given them loads because we just give the bloody thing away rather than attack. Had we been playing a game that encouraged us to actually attack (hell even a 4-5-1) they'd have had the ball less and had less chance against us, rather than this defend, get the ball, humph it up the field back to the Czechs 'system.'

And inevitably, they've scored.

Taxi for Levein.

HibsMax

I can't speak for everyone but I'll tell you why I'm moaning. First of all, 0-0 would be a good result but it's not a result, it's a latest score. If it ends up 0-0 then I will be happy with that. I would be much happier to see the team fight for a win though. My concern is that by playing for a draw you are likely to get a draw or a loss....very unlikely to get a win. If you play for a draw and lose a goal you have to change the entire shape of the game and if you only have 10 minutes left, what then? Much better to go for the win in my humble opinion.

:bye:

Its nights like these when you wish Smeltz was Scottish :wink::greengrin

Was going to say this reminds me of watching Hibs under Mixu but it is actually worse than that. Lets hope there is a plan B but that goal had been coming for a long time.

08-10-2010, 07:45 PM
Its nights like these when you wish Smeltz was Scottish :wink::greengrin

08-10-2010, 07:46 PM
Well Harry Potter what magic you going to cojour up now:grr:

08-10-2010, 07:47 PM
Was going to say this reminds me of watching Hibs under Mixu but it is actually worse than that. Lets hope there is a plan B but that goal had been coming for a long time.

That was 5-0-5 wasn't it? :wink:

Is he waiting until they score another before making any changes? Clown. :bitchy:

As long as we're of the mindset that 0-0 is something to aim for then we'll never progress. It's painful watching.

How does a 6-4-0 formation cope with going 1-0 down?

It doesn't playing like we are.

It should have been changed, it has to be changed, but still after 74 mins no change...could leave it too late!

What makes you say that?

Czech Republic 0 Lithuania 1. That's what makes me say that.

08-10-2010, 07:48 PM
I can't speak for everyone but I'll tell you why I'm moaning. First of all, 0-0 would be a good result but it's not a result, it's a latest score. If it ends up 0-0 then I will be happy with that. I would be much happier to see the team fight for a win though. My concern is that by playing for a draw you are likely to get a draw or a loss....very unlikely to get a win. If you play for a draw and lose a goal you have to change the entire shape of the game and if you only have 10 minutes left, what then? Much better to go for the win in my humble opinion.

I don't think Scotland have the players to go for the win though, I don't mean to sound negative but the best result Scotland would have got tonight is 0-0. IMO.

08-10-2010, 07:49 PM
Czech Republic 0 Lithuania 1. That's what makes me say that.

A game that the Czechs dominated.
Well potters made the changes we all wanted. Lets see what the czechs are made of.,:rolleyes:

08-10-2010, 07:50 PM
I predict Kenny Miller will get once chance, and miss.

calamitus
http://i811.photobucket.com/albums/zz40/calamitus/cryingblood.jpg

Is he waiting until they score another before making any changes? Clown. :bitchy:
You have to wait till the ball goes out of play. :wink:

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 07:51 PM
That Dorrans felly is playing well for the Czechs:grr:

vahibbie
08-10-2010, 07:52 PM
A game that the Czechs dominated.
Well potters made the changes we all wanted. Lets see what the czechs are made of.,:rolleyes:

and, let's ee what the Scots are made of:rolleyes:

08-10-2010, 07:53 PM
and, let's ee what the Scots are made of:rolleyes:
:agree::greengrin

HibeeMG
I don't think Scotland have the players to go for the win though, I don't mean to sound negative but the best result Scotland would have got tonight is 0-0. IMO.

I don't agree with that at all.

They have Rosicky and Cech. We have Fletcher, Dorrans, Morrison, Hutton all playing EPL.

I always thought it was about entertainment.

What is the point on qualifying for a tournament if your too scared to play football??? :dunno:

cheltenhamhibee
08-10-2010, 07:54 PM
its no just the ref thats no happy havin iwelumo in the box !!!!

08-10-2010, 07:54 PM
Darren Fletcher - PISH.

08-10-2010, 07:55 PM

What is the point on qualifying for a tournament if your too scared to play football??? :dunno:
Sorry Bud its all about qualifying then see what happens.

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 07:56 PM
Barry Robson- now were talkin :rolleyes:

vahibbie
08-10-2010, 07:57 PM

Where have you been:confused:
I wish it was so....but it's no

08-10-2010, 07:57 PM
Sorry Bud its all about qualifying then see what happens.

So you would be happy with the new Hibs manager coming and playing the same formation?

Or would you be slightly hacked off because you just shelled out 20 bob to make your eyes bleed?

08-10-2010, 07:59 PM

I think you're right. Scotland are embarrassingly bad and if this is the best we can do then we wouldn't enhance the finals and the sooner we are eliminated the better.

08-10-2010, 07:59 PM
Sorry if this has been covered, is Steven Fletcher injured or benched?

08-10-2010, 08:00 PM
So you would be happy with the new Hibs manager coming and playing the same formation?

Or would you be slightly hacked off because you just shelled out 20 bob to make your eyes bleed?
Totally different this is a handfull of qualifying games for a tournament. I would be ****in livid if Hibs set up like this day to day.

If Hibs were to set up like this all the way to a Scottish Cup win with every round going to penalties would you be upset?

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 08:01 PM
I wonder if Yogis rubbing his hands :greengrin

HibeeMG
I think you're right. Scotland are embarrassingly bad and if this is the best we can do then we wouldn't enhance the finals and the sooner we are eliminated the better.

But this isn't the best we can do. It's very much like Hibs. The manager is making them play less than the sum of their parts when it should be the other way around.

vahibbie

AH....it's was entertainment when it was 20 bob a game.
At 22 quid it's just *****e:wink:

08-10-2010, 08:02 PM

Pretty much so. Scotland haven't scored away from home for more than 2 years.

08-10-2010, 08:02 PM
Has Kenny Miller touched the ball?

08-10-2010, 08:03 PM

He isn't on the bench, I asked earlier if he was injured but no-one seems to know the answer? Utterly crazy if he has been left out and isn't injured when Iwelumo is on the park.

Has Kenny Miller touched the ball?
Aye he put it out for a throw in.

vahibbie
Pretty much so. Scotland haven't scored away from home for more than 2 years.

Neither have I :boo hoo::wink:

08-10-2010, 08:04 PM
Totally different this is a handfull of qualifying games for a tournament. I would be ****in livid if Hibs set up like this day to day.

If Hibs were to set up like this all the way to a Scottish Cup win with every round going to penalties would you be upset?

Good point well presented, probably not.

But this isn't the best we can do. It's very much like Hibs. The manager is making them play less than the sum of their parts when it should be the other way around.

Levein should be hung drawn and quartered, for making Scotland play this way tonight.

Astonishing formation for 75 minutes. Scotland could have beaten this side by 1 or 2 goals, given the right set up.

HibsMax
My point is that if you don't go for a win you're already half-beaten.

08-10-2010, 08:05 PM

I agree. If we're not willing to try and win games in the qualifiers, is there any point in trying to qualify. It's the same when Scottish clubs fall over themselves to "qualify for Europe" as if it's some sort of achievement then play like deer caught in the headlights when they get there.

If Hibs played a 4-6-0 formation against anyone, I'd be spitting feathers. But for some reason it's OK for Scotland to do it.

Well, all it's getting from me is a "f***ing boo!"

08-10-2010, 08:05 PM
He isn't on the bench, I asked earlier if he was injured but no-one seems to know the answer? Utterly crazy if he has been left out and isn't injured when Iwelumo is on the park.

That is exactly what i was thinking. :bitchy:

08-10-2010, 08:06 PM
Levein should be hung drawn and quartered, for making Scotland play this way tonight.

Astonishing formation for 75 minutes. Scotland could have beaten this side by 1 or 2 goals, given the right set up.

It was always going to be that way, Levein doesn't like skilful players, McFadden was slaughtered after the last game, Maloney on the bench, Riordan not in the squad. Pish poor.

Only surrise was he never brought Berra on up front ala Kevin McKenna.

08-10-2010, 08:06 PM

Isnt amazing how they have not stuck 5 past us since we went to a more positive formation?

Why was it left til the 75th minute?

Riordans Boots
08-10-2010, 08:07 PM
Harry is a f ecken baffoon :grr::grr:

08-10-2010, 08:08 PM
Isnt amazing how they have not stuck 5 past us since we went to a more positive formation?

We showed them when we did change though.

Neither have I :boo hoo::wink:

I'm sure you've got a better chance than Scotland. :greengrin

vahibbie
BOOOOOOOOOOOO.
Wonder if we can get Harry Potter sacked......by mutual consent:wink:

08-10-2010, 08:09 PM
I'm sure you've got a better chance than Scotland. :greengrin

You seen him? :greengrin

One of the worst performances yet. PISH.

We showed them when we did change though.

He gave us 15 minutes to try and grab a goal?! The man's a tit.

08-10-2010, 08:10 PM
Levein has taken a big white towel into that game, thrown it into the ring and handed the Czech's 2nd spot!

Not fair on the players, the fans or the Nation. One of the most astonishing line ups I have ever witnessed.

The players did not have a clue how to play that system!

Tit!

cheltenhamhibee
08-10-2010, 08:10 PM
one word summary = PISH

08-10-2010, 08:11 PM
And I thought Yogi's position was untenable.

The 2 most embarrassing Scotland performances ever, one after the other - sack this buffoon before it gets worse :grr:

08-10-2010, 08:11 PM
I agree. If we're not willing to try and win games in the qualifiers, is there any point in trying to qualify. It's the same when Scottish clubs fall over themselves to "qualify for Europe" as if it's some sort of achievement then play like deer caught in the headlights when they get there.

If Hibs played a 4-6-0 formation against anyone, I'd be spitting feathers. But for some reason it's OK for Scotland to do it.

Well, all it's getting from me is a "f***ing boo!"

I'd walk out tbh if Hibs ever played that way. :bitchy:

Wasn't it Potter that had a big tirade at Billy Reid for sticking 6 in midfield a couple of times when Hamilton played the Arabs? Hypocrite.

vahibbie
08-10-2010, 08:12 PM

Cheeky *******:greengrin

I'm saving myself:wink:

He gave us 15 minutes to try and grab a goal?! The man's a tit.
He gave them 75 to try and score. They did from a bog standard corner that we failed to defend. Fact is we hardly had an attempt at goal when we did change.
We havent scored away from home for years. What makes you think we could have tonight? We are poor so we tried to play to our strengths. It worked for 75mins.

BenjiOscar
Idiot manager, idiot formation. Feel sorry for those who spent money to go to Prague. What next? 6-4-0 formation????? Perhaps bore our opponents to death? What's the point??

08-10-2010, 08:13 PM
John Collins next please. :agree:

PapillonVert
08-10-2010, 08:13 PM

Once a defender......

He won't have Riordan in the team because he "can't defend". Potter won't be happy until he has 11 defenders on the pitch.

God, how depressing the Scottish team is at the moment.

08-10-2010, 08:14 PM
The Czech Republic will never have an easier game. It was impossible for them to lose the match and only a matter of time till they scored. If we had got anything from that it would have been a shocking injustice. Well done Czech Republic.

Bobo
08-10-2010, 08:14 PM
What a disgusting pile of *****e, Potter should get his jotters for that!!

No football, no pace, no tactics, no creativity, no fight and no entertainment. Our leagues and national team are p!ss poor no wonder the Scottish game is a laughing stock!

That was like watching Hibs over the past two and a half years and how we've suffered under the ineptitude of the last two clueless diddies to manage our club.

euro Hibby
08-10-2010, 08:15 PM
and if Scotland had snatched a draw youi'd all be saying that Potters selection was vindicated. Thay was dross.

And the twat was happy with that system as well! What a clown.

They were a poor side and we played with no forwards. Even a 4 5 1 would have been negative against them!!

1 goal away from it working perfectly, what a negative negative man!

He gave them 75 to try and score. They did from a bog standard corner that we failed to defend. Fact is we hardly had an attempt at goal when we did change.
We havent scored away from home for years. What makes you think we could have tonight? We are poor so we tried to play to our strengths. It worked for 75mins.

We had 15 minutes to try - when they were on top. If we had tred earlier it might well have been different.

I find it disappointing that so many folk seem to have accepted we're a diddy team. I don't think we're at the level of San Marino, Faroe Islands etc yet.

After watching that dross for 90 mins, i'm starting to think is it worth it even if we did make the Tournament.. Because if thats how we're playing against teams like the Czech's then it would be the same against any of the teams that make the finals and what is the point? FFS what happenend to have a go?

Yes i understand you can't go out all guns blazing but that was shocking and i can't remember a Inernational team going out without an out and out striker and playing a 4-6-0

Football these days is going down the pan it really is.. or should i say the Scottish team is so far away to have bottle and go for it that's its unreal.

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 08:16 PM
Its ok though " were trying a different formation against Spain" :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

1-10 anyone.

The Czech Republic will never have an easier game. It was impossible for them to lose the match and only a matter of time till they scored. If we had got anything from that it would have been a shocking injustice. Well done Czech Republic.
I agree well done the Czechs but if we had got a point it would have been well won and surely fully deserved. :confused:

It doesn't matter. This guy has more chance of scoring than Scotland. :greengrin

08-10-2010, 08:17 PM

But this is the poorest Czech side yet - Bednar coming on, he can't get near the West Brom first team.

They are 37th in the World....what'll happen when we're away to Spain?!? If that clown's still in charge - which I doubt.

08-10-2010, 08:18 PM
We had 15 minutes to try - when they were on top. If we had tred earlier it might well have been different.

I find it disappointing that so many folk seem to have accepted we're a diddy team. I don't think we're at the level of San Marino, Faroe Islands etc yet.
It could also resulted in a 4 or 5 nil drubbing. We will never know will we?

08-10-2010, 08:18 PM
I agree well done the Czechs but if we had got a point it would have been well won and surely fully deserved. :confused:

Levein would've dined out on it - just like the magical fightback against the mighty Liechtienstein.

vahibbie
08-10-2010, 08:19 PM
Its ok though " were trying a different formation against Spain" :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

1-10 anyone.

That should limit Spain to only 3 or 4 goals.
No a bad result :wink:

08-10-2010, 08:20 PM
I'm glad Harry Potters plan failed. Football should never be played like that. If all teams played that way no one would watch it. He is guilty of crimes against football. That really could make your eyes bleed.

Unfortunately not.

It could've been a pumping - unlikely given that the Czech Republic aren't what they once were - but instead of trying to win we played for a draw and failed.

Imagine picking a team with no striker!

HibeeMG
Aaaaarrrrgggghhhh. I just want to smack him in the puss!

'It would have been fantastic if we'd got a result'. We did. It was 1-0.

'Those other formations always win don't they?'. No, you're right. It gives you a better chance of achieving a positive result. At least all three possibilities are open to you.

Didn't Scotland used to be known for heart and passion? That way of playing rips it out of us.

BazzaHiby
08-10-2010, 08:21 PM
Craig Levein is a rookie manager at this level, and it shows! That was far too defensive - Berwick Rangers might forgo a front line playing an SPL team, but not Scotland against this current Czech side.:grr:

08-10-2010, 08:22 PM
But this is the poorest Czech side yet - Bednar coming on, he can't get near the West Brom first team.

They are 37th in the World....what'll happen when we're away to Spain?!? If that clown's still in charge - which I doubt.
Are they? Where are we again in the world rankings?
Potter has said it was tactics for this game. He has already said it will change for the Spain game.
Look I am no Potter fan but he had a plan and to be fair he almost executed it.
A point tonight would have almost put the Czechs out. As it stands we need to beat them at Hampden. If they are so poor we should take at least 4 off them so why is everyone so down?:rolleyes:

08-10-2010, 08:23 PM
I only saw the second half but that was absolutely horrendous stuff there tonight.

Any team that sets out to play a 4-6-0 formation deserves to lose because, to me, that is not football. There is playing defensively and then there's the way Scotland played tonight.

I could just about understand playing that way against the likes of Spain but to have that formation against the Czech Republic, who are a good side but are by no means any great shakes, is not on.

Hopefully Levein doesn't have long to go.

There is absolutely no danger that Scotland will be going to Euro 2012, based on the last two matches, and I don't suppose Tuesday night will be any better.

Just want to add that Darren Fletcher's performance was yet again absolutely abysmal - what happens to this guy when he pulls on a Scotland strip?

That was like watching Hibs over the past two and a half years and how we've suffered under the ineptitude of the last two clueless diddies to manage our club.

At least Hibs over the last two years with Fletch, Deeks and Stokes have had an attacking presence. Hibs have never gone with nobody upfront, no matter how badly we've played.

emmjayfox
Im just glad hes a jambo.

08-10-2010, 08:27 PM
I feel sorry for the punters spending their well earned cash traveling to watch that excuse for football.

08-10-2010, 08:28 PM
Getting results isn't worth that. Going for a draw almost certainly gets you a defeat. Horrible stuff.

hibbytam
08-10-2010, 08:29 PM
Just want to add that Darren Fletcher's performance was yet again absolutely abysmal - what happens to this guy when he pulls on a Scotland strip?

He gets played out of position.....

08-10-2010, 08:30 PM

If we went 4-0 down fighting then it's better than going 1-0 down with a whimper because you were aiming for 0-0.

HibsMax
08-10-2010, 08:32 PM
If they are so poor we should take at least 4 off them so why is everyone so down?:rolleyes:
Because they didn't play for a win. They played for a draw. When you play that defensively, as soon as you lose a goal you have to completely change your game, you're chasing them and have to start attacking but rather than having 90 minutes to attack, you only have 10 or 15. Doesn't make any sense.

1-10 anyone.

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

SurferRosa
That wisnae Spain we were playin 2nite, it wiz a team that wiz there 2 at least have a go at, but that useless yam ******* and his negative tactics have cost us points 2nite. I know he had players missing, but come on, those tactics were a ****in disgrace. :grr:

08-10-2010, 08:33 PM
I feel sorry for the punters spending their well earned cash traveling to watch that excuse for football.

I'm guessing most of those who travel to see Scotland play away go for the bevvy more than anything else.

He gets played out of position.....

Out of position or not a guy that plays for Man U should be putting in better performances than that, not his first non existing game! I wonder how much it's the dross beside him that draggs him down to their level!

Lets have a pint on it :greengrin

0-0 would be a good result...a win fantastic....a bit like Hibs at the moment...can't be too fusssy about how (if) its acheived

After watching that i need 10 pints. :greengrin

Bobo
08-10-2010, 08:34 PM
At least Hibs over the last two years with Fletch, Deeks and Stokes have had an attacking presence. Hibs have never gone with nobody upfront, no matter how badly we've played.

Yeh but I was referring more to just how bad the formation, tactics and lack of passion can kill a team because you have a diddy in charge.

The last two managers at ER have been clueless in the extreme and Potter has obviously been schooled to the same level of incompetence.

08-10-2010, 08:34 PM
After watching that i need 10 pints. :greengrin

What about the 2nd half, 10 Vodkas? :greengrin

08-10-2010, 08:35 PM
If we went 4-0 down fighting then it's better than going 1-0 down with a whimper because you were aiming for 0-0.

You think? We havent scored away from home for years. This was pre Levein.
If we had been beaten 4-0 tonight this thread would be about how pish we are and same old same old Scotland.GTF
As I say if the Czechs are so poor we will beat them at Hampden and all will be well.

08-10-2010, 08:36 PM

With that attitude we may as well not bloody bother.

I'd rather see us attempt to play and lose a couple more goals than that. Smith and McLeish showed you could keep it tight away from home and still have a go when the opportunity came up. This was a travesty and I really have to wonder what was going through Levein's head.

08-10-2010, 08:38 PM
Because they didn't play for a win. They played for a draw. When you play that defensively, as soon as you lose a goal you have to completely change your game, you're chasing them and have to start attacking but rather than having 90 minutes to attack, you only have 10 or 15. Doesn't make any sense.
I hear ya. I think folks dont realise just how average we really are though. I keep hearing how they were there for the taking. We will see at Hampden. If they are and we win then all is well we should finish above them.

emmjayfox
08-10-2010, 08:40 PM
That reminded me of the Alex miller era.

08-10-2010, 08:40 PM
Well done Craig Levein.

Pick Jamie Mackay for his recent great form - 8 goals in 10 games as a striker.

Then play him at right midfield in the renowned 4-6-0 formation.

Genius.

08-10-2010, 08:41 PM

Left sitting in the stand.

08-10-2010, 08:41 PM

I'd rather see us attempt to play and lose a couple more goals than that. Smith and McLeish showed you could keep it tight away from home and still have a go when the opportunity came up. This was a travesty and I really have to wonder what was going through Levein's head.

Exactly. If Levein thinks we've sunk to San Marino's level then he should walk.

No other team in the World plays like that, it was disgraceful and that buffoon of a manager should refund every Tartan Army member who travelled from his own pocket!!!

08-10-2010, 08:43 PM
First of all, 0-0 would be a good result but it's not a result, it's a latest score.

I just want to say that is about the best thing I've ever heard about football tactics.

08-10-2010, 08:44 PM
I hear ya. I think folks dont realise just how average we really are though. I keep hearing how they were there for the taking. We will see at Hampden. If they are and we win then all is well we should finish above them.

If we're average, does that mean the average team now plays 4-6-0 as well?

Wales wouldn't play 4-6-0 if the played Brazil. I'm sure Northern Ireland wouldn't either.

It's embarassing.

08-10-2010, 08:44 PM

No of course we should bother but the tactics afforded us chances tonight. Its not like we never threatened. Hoofing it up the park was not the plan. Maybe we dont even have the players to play that system tonight either. We really are ****ed at this level.

08-10-2010, 08:46 PM

Wales wouldn't play 4-6-0 if the played Brazil. I'm sure Northern Ireland wouldn't either.

It's embarassing.
Its not embarassing. Wales are better than us and arguably so are Norn Ireland.
Average was being kind.:wink:

08-10-2010, 08:47 PM
In reality how far have we come in the last 10 years, not 1 step!!!!!! We are a disgrace as a national team, I agree we dont have a great personnel to pick from but something seriously has to be done about this. For me the national team from the idiots in their suits at the SFA to the current manager are so inepth of ideas / inovativness, it is scary. We continue to pick the same core of under achieving has beens that didnt performe 2-3 years ago and still arnt now. I dont have the answer, but part of me wishes we done away with the majority of the first team brought through the U21's and said hey go out there for the next 2-3 years we are expecting nothing from you, no pressure just develope together and see where that takes us. I for 1 would take a few years of knowing these lads are developing and any bit of success would be a bonus, and seeing them develop as a team would be so refreshing. :grr: Rant over!

All IMO of course :greengrin

euro Hibby
08-10-2010, 08:49 PM
read potter was happy with the system but will change it for Spain........

08-10-2010, 08:49 PM
No of course we should bother but the tactics afforded us chances tonight. Its not like we never threatened. Hoofing it up the park was not the plan. Maybe we dont even have the players to play that system tonight either. We really are ****ed at this level.

Agreed. But a couple of results elsewhere (Estonia winning away in Serbia, NI holding Italy in a very good 0-0 in Belfast. Don't know a whole lot about Armenia but they beat Slovakia. Lithuania won against the Czechs and are 0-0 HT in Spain....) indicate that there might be a bit of scope if you know what you are doing.
Our performance tonight was desperate. Just desperate. And pointless.

08-10-2010, 08:50 PM

You're talking us down, we're not good but we're no San Marino either.

Davy Mac
08-10-2010, 08:50 PM
Sorry, I've not read the thread but I get the jist.

What did I just watch just now? That was absolutely murder.

Honestly, when was the last time us Hibbies watched anything that remotely constitutes as a game of fitba?

Levein, you even had the nous to defend your tactics, I have never ever ever ever ever ever watched a team play without a striker.

You're off your ****in heid man, how on earth have we sunk this low, fair play to the tartan army for spending the money but for goodness sake Levein have a word with yourself.

Dire stuff.

08-10-2010, 08:51 PM
I'm guessing most of those who travel to see Scotland play away go for the bevvy more than anything else.

What with our mediocre team and ridiculous tartan army, we must be the laughing stock of World football.

08-10-2010, 08:52 PM
Its not embarassing. Wales are better than us and arguably so are Norn Ireland.Average was being kind.:wink:

We will find out soon enough....

08-10-2010, 08:53 PM
Are they? Where are we again in the world rankings?
Potter has said it was tactics for this game. He has already said it will change for the Spain game.
Look I am no Potter fan but he had a plan and to be fair he almost executed it.
A point tonight would have almost put the Czechs out. As it stands we need to beat them at Hampden. If they are so poor we should take at least 4 off them so why is everyone so down?:rolleyes:

They arent poor but they certainly arent a team we should be playing with no forward against. What is the point of playing good footballers like Dorrans, Morrison, Fletcher, Naismith and not having a forward to give them something to hit and play off. Mackie is a forward and should have been played in his right position. The number of times we had the ball and then tried to play a ridiculous short pass when it should have been played longer.

It was tortuous to watch and in reality we should have lost 3 or 4 nil against a team we should be competing against.

08-10-2010, 08:54 PM
Agreed. But a couple of results elsewhere (Estonia winning away in Serbia, NI holding Italy in a very good 0-0 in Belfast. Don't know a whole lot about Armenia but they beat Slovakia. Lithuania won against the Czechs and are 0-0 HT in Spain....) indicate that there might be a bit of scope if you know what you are doing.

Why do we keep deffering whats going on on our own doorstep to other countires who have either got better or are getting worse, this does nothing to take away from the fact we are a laughing stock. Its an embarrasement watching us go play a qualifier against a teeam not much better than us and going 4-6-0, honest I still cant quite believe it! When we went 1 down it was like panick stations, throw on millar, iwumwhatever his name is, its murder!

08-10-2010, 08:55 PM
You're talking us down, we're not good but we're no San Marino either.
Fair Point DH. I just dont get the all we had to do was turn up with a striker (Miller for the most cries) and we would have won the game. I dont think the tactics were so wrong but we failed to defend a bog standard corner to get beaten. A point would have been a result in my book we only differ in the way we should have gone about getting it.
Bring on the Spaniards!!! I'm out.

Left sitting in the stand.

Words fail me :bitchy:

Wonder if Estonia played a 460 against Serbia who are better than Czech.

08-10-2010, 08:56 PM

Oh please. Can we stop this 'we just arnae good enough' nonsense.

How exactly are we not? On paper, who did they have that is head and shoulders above who we have? Cech aside? Maybe Rosicky.

We have plenty players with Premiership experience, members of this squad beat France home and away, drew with Italy and thumped the Ukraine at Hampden. With the RIGHT system and tactics I refuse to believe this woe is me crap that is steadily infecting the national team, chiefly Levein it would seem. No we didn't have the players to play that formation, nobody does because nobody should ever attempt such a pathetic system.

There were a number of breaks in the first half that quickly fizzled into nothing as there was nobody further forward. The Smith or McLeish era 4-5-1 system would have at least offered something.

Tonight should really mark the end of Levein's job. He's pretty much indicated tonight that he thinks we had no chance of winning there, just as he appeared terrified of the mighty Liechtenstein last time out. He is the one that isn't good enough, we have players more than capable of beating the Czech's and qualifying for tournaments. I wonder what formation Northern Ireland were using against Italy tonight? I bet it wasn't 4 bloody 6 0.

08-10-2010, 08:57 PM
That was dire stuff. Agree with the comments re looking for a draw usually ends up in defeat.

We have potentially have a better squad than he is selecting - and potentially therefore better formations/options as a result.

The Beeb pundits were not happy, most here not happy - but imagine taking holidays and spending yer savings to go and see that! :grr:

We've blown this campaign already ffs!

Davy Mac
08-10-2010, 08:59 PM

How exactly are we not? On paper, who did they have that is head and shoulders above we have? Cech aside? Maybe Rosicky.

We have plenty players with Premiership experience, members of this squad beat France home and away, drew with Italy and thumped the Ukraine at Hampden. With the RIGHT system and tactics I refuse to believe this woe is me crap that is steadily infecting the national team, chiefly Levein it would seem. No we didn't have the players to play that formation, nobody does because nobody should ever attempt such a pathetic system.

There were a number of breaks in the first half that quickly fizzled into nothing as there was nobody further forward. The Smith or McLeish era 4-5-1 system would have at least offered something.

Tonight should really mark the end of Levein's job. He's pretty much indicated tonight that he thinks we had no chance of winning there, just as he appeared terrified of the mighty Liechtenstein last time out. He is the one that isn't good enough, we have players more than capable of beating the Czech's and qualifying for tournaments. I wonder what formation Northern Ireland were using against Italy tonight? I bet it wasn't 4 bloody 6 0.

Definately.

Does not inspire at all, apart from still seeing Levein as a jambo twat did I see Kenny Black as well? If i did then he's a Jambo twat as well.

Levein out.......:bye:

08-10-2010, 09:01 PM
Like watching Dundee United at Ibrox or Parkhead - absolutely shocking tactics.

FFS I'd rather we lost having a right good go as someone close to Hibs used to say :wink:

08-10-2010, 09:02 PM
Definately.

Does not inspire at all, apart from still seeing Levein as a jambo twat did I see Kenny Black as well? If i did then he's a Jambo twat as well.

Levein out.......:bye:

You did :faf::faf:, wheres wee robbo when you need him to take the strikers eh I mean wingers as part of a 6 :greengrin

alex74
08-10-2010, 09:05 PM
What about the 2nd half, 10 Vodkas? :greengringd idea av had 10 brahma watching that pish on the vodi and coke to forget that noncence a thot a was at er lol

King Paddy
never thought Harry Potter could be as negative as tonights set up and ultimate result. What's this 4-6 nonsense, rather get beat 3-2 and have a go than this defensive rubbish. :grr::grr:

You did :faf::faf:, wheres wee robbo when you need him to take the strikers eh I mean wingers as part of a 6 :greengrin

Its a wonder the useless muppet never drafted in Neil Berry as well.

I'm sure the players will be inspired by Kenny Black's input....jeezo :boo hoo:

How exactly are we not? On paper, who did they have that is head and shoulders above who we have? Cech aside? Maybe Rosicky.

By looking at their starting XI, it looks as if they played a 5-3-2 tonight. They definitely played two strikers in Warren Feeney and David Healy. I wonder if Scotland would have played two strikers if we had played Italy at Hampden tonight.

08-10-2010, 09:06 PM

FFS I'd rather we lost having a right good go as someone close to Hibs used to say :wink:

08-10-2010, 09:10 PM
Its a wonder the useless muppet never drafted in Neil Berry as well.

I'm sure the players will be inspired by Kenny Black's input....jeezo :boo hoo:

I bet half the English contingent asked Craig who never mind Peter and Kenny who aswell :greengrin

Mind big Elvis would have had that defence sorted from that corner :taxi

alex74
08-10-2010, 09:12 PM

There were a number of breaks in the first half that quickly fizzled into nothing as there was nobody further forward. The Smith or MicLeish era 4-5-1 system would have at least offered something.

Tonight should really mark the end of Levein's job. He's pretty much indicated tonight that he thinks we had no chance of winning there, just as he appeared terrified of the mighty Liechtenstein last time out. He is the one that isn't good enough, we have players more than capable of beating the Czech's and qualifying for tournaments. I wonder what formation Northern Ireland were using against Italy tonight? I bet it wasn't 4 bloody 6 0.i agree m8 were no as bad as people make out they were no that good to play a formation like that yogi for scotland lol

alex74
08-10-2010, 09:16 PM

It's embarassing.
do u think albion hibs will be having a laugh tonight

08-10-2010, 10:06 PM
Other than the back 9 who defended fantastically for most of the match.......Scotland were Honking and lucky to get beat 1-0

:grr::grr::grr:

08-10-2010, 11:04 PM

Based on when he used to say that, he probably thinks Scotland did give it a right good go there! :rolleyes:

Thigh ar la
08-10-2010, 11:05 PM

100% agree with that post! That was a turgid turgid display of non football.. A couple of other points to mention that relate to Levein is Caldwell´s selection. he was seen wanting at the goal and the McGregor save. No wonder cos he´s not fit and he´s pish.. Worse still because he actually thinks he is good.
Levein has lost us any chance now because we have now had at least 3 points dropped ie could have got a win in Lithuania and a draw tonight had we at least attempted to compete. turgid Jambo rubbish like when they tried to qualify for the champions league. Boring and depressing!:grr:

Wing Half
08-10-2010, 11:17 PM
It was dire.

Spudster
08-10-2010, 11:36 PM
When we went 1 down it was like panick stations, throw on millar, iwumwhatever his name is, its murder!
Panic would've been a good thing. In reality it was almost 10 minutes of shrugging shoulders then "throw on the big lad"

09-10-2010, 12:00 AM
I love Scotland and I am proud to be Scottish.

But I love football too and I would rather see us crushed by a better team than play the sort of ultra negative rubbish I saw tonight.

FFS .... We are supposed to be a proud nation who are up for a battle when required. That tonight was cowards football against a team we should have been able to take on. Nae wonder we were playing in yellow, how appropriate.

Better to go down fighting trying to make a game of it than to set up in a formation that screams to the opposition that we dont think we are as good as them and are afraid to try to make a game of it.

Bring back Roxburgh and Brown ..... At least under them I wasnt ashamed to be a Scotland fan.

When the hell did we lose our balls !!!

09-10-2010, 12:48 AM
Absolute nonsense from Levein. There's a reason 4-6-0 has never been tried and tonight proves that.

Total *****. Also, I may be pissed and my response may reflect this sentiment. I have had to spellcheck my post numerous times. :wink:

Good night.

NaeTechnoHibby
09-10-2010, 01:32 AM
I was working so I was on BBC sports updates live ... that was turgid... so I feel so sorry for you who went/watched it :boo hoo:

I could quote loads of post, but didnae tae save bandwith :agree:, however we didnae like Burley "because he was too attacking, and we dinnae have the players for that"..... now we have the ultra, ultra negative Levein...............................

I didnae think it was right to get rid of GB (yes I am a bonified Hibby :agree: ) but I thought he needed time.

Unfortunately we have a pure and utter negative merchant, with no attcking 6'2" feet battering rams that he would normally like in his teams :bitchy:

This result will put us out of the draw IMO ..........................

Unless he has a HUGE change..................:bitchy:

Cannae see it myself :boo hoo:

09-10-2010, 01:44 AM
Dear Harry Potter,

A word of advice start Iwelumo in the next game, he will at least give us something to hit up front, if we ever get up there.

Signed another Ecosse Fan who wasted the evening in the boozer!

09-10-2010, 04:16 AM
A shocking formation what was Harry Potter thinking :confused:

that game was there for the winning if only we had 2 up front

hibee4life1983
09-10-2010, 06:03 AM
Im in disbelive,
How can a just team lose a game like that, no grace, no skill no good.

Im starting a thread, pished or no!!

hibee4life1983
09-10-2010, 06:29 AM
Wtf, i said b4 the game to my best and 13 year season ticket m8 it would be 1-0 against us.
I was right, but, i was not proud.

The team played with no spirit or determenation.
With the exception of a few, harry p tried to play a defensive game, fact.

Why not attack, just because im a hibby and scotland play, since uncle walt, and if the players can play, hoofba' then why should i even give my all and watch drivell,

And i will stick to that.

The real problem lies with the sfa/spl whatever there call, teams living without ther means have a clock ticking. what the've got and the board imo, realise this.
It will not happen in my lifetime(unless the **** or the tattie munchers get ther fiist)
Steve clarke 4 me.

Ther is no reason to not get right behind our team, H I B E R N I A N.

09-10-2010, 06:29 AM
I really have to wonder what was going through Levein's head.

"I wish I had more big, physical players to pick from."

Turnip
09-10-2010, 06:54 AM
Watched that, embarrassed 2 b Scottish. Just go Levein, just go

09-10-2010, 06:59 AM
Woeful.

09-10-2010, 07:13 AM
Anti-football...........not something I ever want to see again.

No attempts at goal at all :bitchy:

09-10-2010, 07:15 AM
Thank ****** football prevailed and the Czechs won.

We were on the verge of celebrating a glorious 0-0 result! :yawn:

Did we even have a shot on target?

Absolute dire stuff!

09-10-2010, 08:25 AM
Doesn't it just roll off the tongue.................... Andorra, Liechtenstein, San Marino........Scotland.

HenryMonk
09-10-2010, 08:34 AM
I love Scotland and I am proud to be Scottish.

But I love football too and I would rather see us crushed by a better team than play the sort of ultra negative rubbish I saw tonight.

FFS .... We are supposed to be a proud nation who are up for a battle when required. That tonight was cowards football against a team we should have been able to take on. Nae wonder we were playing in yellow, how appropriate.

Better to go down fighting trying to make a game of it than to set up in a formation that screams to the opposition that we dont think we are as good as them and are afraid to try to make a game of it.

Bring back Roxburgh and Brown ..... At least under them I wasnt ashamed to be a Scotland fan.

When the hell did we lose our balls !!!

yellow !! excatly!!

even lithuania played 442 against spain!

am i correct in asking...did bertie voghts get sluttered in scots press for playing negative football?

thank god i was pished lastnight and fell asleep

09-10-2010, 09:35 AM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::smug::applause::na na::big grin:

09-10-2010, 09:35 AM
Raging after that crap last night.

Levien even defended his choice.

I'd rather see my teams have a 'go' and lose, than to play the most negative football I've ever seen by any team ever!

I wonder what my colleagues watching thought of that :bitchy:

DREADFUL stuff Levein, why don't you reimburse our money from that pish

09-10-2010, 09:41 AM
Spain are going to absolutely destroy Potter's mob.

HenryMonk
09-10-2010, 10:16 AM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::smug::applause::na na::big grin:

you'll no be laughing when liverpool get relegated!!

tony
09-10-2010, 10:30 AM
Absolute nonsense from Levein. There's a reason 4-6-0 has never been tried and tonight proves that.

Total *****. Also, I may be pissed and my response may reflect this sentiment. I have had to spellcheck my post numerous times. :wink:

Good night.

I'm glad you enjoyed your drink and I'm sure you needed it. Hope the heids no too sore this morning. 4-6-0 was first promoted by the Brazilians a while back and recognised six non defenders who were skilful, interchangeable and fluid. It was a recognition that the game was getting faster and players were getter fitter and were much more multipurpose than in the past. Crucially, good but essentially one dimesional players like Michael Owen were being overtaken by players like Rooney, Villa, Henry who offered much wider set of skills. A lot of people argued that Man Utd a season or so back were essentially 4-6-0. Of course what happens is that lesser managers with lesser players look at systems that are potentially flexible and then turn them into the inflexible and utterly defensive.

I do not for one second buy into the 'we're crap, so lets park the bus', so beloved by our manager. Arguing apart - and we always argue about the worth of players - we have players like Riordan, Maloney, Adam etc (that'll be man of the match at anfield Adam, a player the English I know rave about), who are at a very basic level decent football players. The kind of players you think most teams would want to build around, rather than being blamed for not being huge and fast enough.

The system last night was rotten, anti football at its worst. And we have a manager who thinks thats ok. We might not get hammered by Spain, and that will be a justification to some that Levein's philosophy is one to be followed. I think last nights tactics were, and should be, a sacking offence.

09-10-2010, 10:49 AM
Beyond dire last night. Totally embarrassing to watch Scotland play a 4-6-0 v an average international team. Levein then has the nerve to defend his tactics :bitchy:

I love Hibs and Scotland but also love football and in the face of the anti-football I witnessed last night, I found myself actually hoping the Czechs would score.

I'm going on Tuesday and predict 0-3 Spain. Who knows what bizarre tactics that yam fud will use and as for Kenny Black, the biggest midden ever to have played football in Scotland, being anywhere near the setup :grr:

09-10-2010, 11:20 AM
Somebody called me outrageous recently because I said that I hoped Scotland got beat by the Czechs and Spain

This was purely because that I thought HP was a clown and not up to the job and getting beat in these two games would hasten his departure and we may get somebody in with a bit backbone

I think last night proved my point

Last night was probably one of Scotlands lows in international football :bitchy:

09-10-2010, 11:20 AM
**** off Potter :grr:

that is all

09-10-2010, 11:24 AM
**** off Potter :grr:

that is all

All that's needed

09-10-2010, 11:29 AM
t

Last night was probably one of Scotlands lows in international football :bitchy:

:agree: Living down here as i do, it was really annoying that the English were laughing at how we were set up, and how we actually played last night.:boo hoo: It took at least 10 pints of tetleys bitter for me to get over it.:greengrin

Hibee Daz
09-10-2010, 12:47 PM
Hello fellow Hibby's,

I'm going to try and not be too negative in my first post on .net.
I thought that the few times we did venture forward last night that we looked dangerous and that the Cech's where there for the taking.
Yes they are still a very good side but they are no world beaters by any means, they're not blessed with quite so many technically gifted player's these day's, but still Harry friggin Potter tried to shut up shop and failed miserably!
I just want to know why he set up like this?
In his post match interview he said that his formation and tactics worked for 70mins, well, all I thought his tactics achieved was to put us on the rack before the inevitable.

What is it with Scotland manager's who think that we're good enough to defend for 90mins, why do they seriously overestimate our defensive capability's and underestimate our attacking ability?:rolleyes:

One last point,IMO Potter will end up ruing his decision to constantly over look Deek as well, because we will probably only get one or two chances against the Spaniards and they might only be set-pieces, so to leave out the best free-kick taker in Scotland is just madness!

Good luck to Scotland for Tuesday anyway and to the U21's for Monday, I'll be down at ER cheering them on to victory.

09-10-2010, 01:23 PM
I'm going on Tuesday and predict 0-3 Spain. Who knows what bizarre tactics that yam fud will use and as for Kenny Black, the biggest midden ever to have played football in Scotland, being anywhere near the setup :grr:

incredible that this nomark tw@t is ANYWHERE near the national setup:bitchy:

09-10-2010, 01:42 PM
That was embarassing! 4-6-0 what a ****in joke - absolutely no need to go to these lengths against a team like the Czecks - notice that Northern Ireland for example managed a very respectable 0-0 at home to Italy last night - playing 4-4-2!

I was behind HP's appointment but now find it embarassing to admit it - Scotland are becoming the epitome of "anti-football" and his continuing determined ignorance of such few flair players as we have in Scotland such as Riordan tells it's own story.

GTF Levein you ******ed dullard jambo fud! :grr::grr::grr:

alex74
09-10-2010, 02:07 PM
Dear Harry Potter,

A word of advice start Iwelumo in the next game, he will at least give us something to hit up front, if we ever get up there.

Signed another Ecosse Fan who wasted the evening in the boozer!iwelumo and nish how about that partnership:yawn:

09-10-2010, 05:21 PM
iwelumo and nish how about that partnership:yawn:

Give it a bash - could it be any less successful than what was attempted last night!!

I would like to Iwelumo get a chance, along with players like Charlie Adam, I dont agree with putting Caldwell in there. Adam has been great for B'Pool this year and deserves a shot. Iwelumo will at least give a bit of height up front, rather than the punt up with the ball coming back quicker than it went away.

I think the back four did well, I would be tempted to play whitaker in front of Hutton and bring in someone new to the left back slot.

The most frustrating thing about last night was the Czech team looked like nothing to be afraid off, I think if we had gone there with a view to attacking them we were far more likely to get a something from the game - holding out for 90mins against any team is going to be difficult.

alex74
09-10-2010, 06:14 PM
Give it a bash - could it be any less successful than what was attempted last night!!

I would like to Iwelumo get a chance, along with players like Charlie Adam, I dont agree with putting Caldwell in there. Adam has been great for B'Pool this year and deserves a shot. Iwelumo will at least give a bit of height up front, rather than the punt up with the ball coming back quicker than it went away.

I think the back four did well, I would be tempted to play whitaker in front of Hutton and bring in someone new to the left back slot.

The most frustrating thing about last night was the Czech team looked like nothing to be afraid off, I think if we had gone there with a view to attacking them we were far more likely to get a something from the game - holding out for 90mins against any team is going to be difficult.agree its about time adam was giving a chance didnt even get on the bench what does he have to do also why no give barry robson a start alongside him as darren fletcher was a passenger again lastnight only time a heard his name was when he got an injury in 5mins

09-10-2010, 06:34 PM
iwelumo and nish how about that partnership:yawn:

Better than nobody up front.

09-10-2010, 06:39 PM
agree its about time adam was giving a chance didnt even get on the bench what does he have to do also why no give barry robson a start alongside him as darren fletcher was a passenger again lastnight only time a heard his name was when he got an injury in 5mins

Fletcher is a play breaker, not a play maker. Thats what he should be doing.

09-10-2010, 06:56 PM

The most frustrating thing about last night was the Czech team looked like nothing to be afraid off, I think if we had gone there with a view to attacking them we were far more likely to get a something from the game - holding out for 90mins against any team is going to be difficult.

Cannae argue with any of that :agree:

Seems we've a manager who did ok with Hertz, bombed it a bit down south, did ok with DUtd and then drafted in ex Hearts coach Peter Houston along with ex Hearts player and failed Airdrie manager Kenny Black. Truth is that the team off the park is as pish as the team on it :grr: