PDA

View Full Version : Hibs on Twitter and Facebook?

3pm
07-10-2010, 12:29 PM
I don't really know what they do so you'll need to excuse my ignorance.

Do Hibs 'use' them? Could they use them and how would they do this? Is the official webiste enough?

Just curious, as I say I have limited knowledge on such matters so just wonder if we are missing a trick here?!

SlickShoes
07-10-2010, 12:31 PM
They are missing a trick - twitter news updates daily would be good, as would match updates. Hibs.net do some match updates but they are sporadic at best.

facebook - dont see why they shouldnt get a page and have fans, anything that gets the club out there is surely good?

Future17
07-10-2010, 12:36 PM
I'd imagine it's a outlay versus gain equation.

I'm guessing someone would have to be employed to moderate the posts made on these sites in some way which would require a salary to be paid.

On the flip side, what does the club get out of it? From my understanding, you can't choose your own adverts to display on Facebook/Twitter so no marketing revenue.

Having said that, I think Aberdeen might be thinking about setting up their own Facebook page::greengrin

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-11492047

Beefster
07-10-2010, 03:11 PM
I'd imagine it's a outlay versus gain equation.

I'm guessing someone would have to be employed to moderate the posts made on these sites in some way which would require a salary to be paid.

On the flip side, what does the club get out of it? From my understanding, you can't choose your own adverts to display on Facebook/Twitter so no marketing revenue.

I would think that they could give the task of updating Facebook and Twitter to a current employee. It would take about 15-20 minutes a day.