View Full Version : Scotland U21s (playoff v Iceland)

Riordans Boots
04-10-2010, 10:28 AM
Hanlon and Wotherspoon have been selected :thumbsup::thumbsup:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101003/hibernian-duo-earn-u21-call-up_2262950_2173876

delbert
04-10-2010, 03:24 PM
It must break Harry Potter's *****in' heart to have to let Stark pick Hibs players !!

04-10-2010, 03:26 PM
It must break Harry Potter's *****in' heart to have to let Stark pick Hibs players !!

:greengrin:greengrin

Lendo
04-10-2010, 03:45 PM
Tickets are only £5 if you get them now, or £8 on the gate. Should be a good game, but Iceland have turned over a few teams lately.

whereswallace?
04-10-2010, 03:49 PM
Tickets are only £5 if you get them now, or £8 on the gate. Should be a good game, but Iceland have turned over a few teams lately.

And have included i think,7 players that played for the senior team in their last game.Including Eggert Jonsson.Although there are no rules against this,its blatant cheating if you ask me.

Craigyno1
04-10-2010, 06:27 PM

Its only £5 for the FF Lower which is a family area. Got my tickets for the East Stand on Saturday, which are £8.

Twiglet
04-10-2010, 07:33 PM
Got my ticket for the east too. Unreserved seating so free for all. Are many people here going?

Really looking forward to being in our shiny new east stand for the first time (just above the tunnel for Hibs normally)

04-10-2010, 07:35 PM
if you are wanting to buy tickets for the west stand they dont bother going down to easter road as they aint selling them:grr: i spent 50mins today going to the ticket office for the girl to turn round and say that arent selling them and i would be as well just paying on the gate on monday night!:bitchy:

04-10-2010, 07:46 PM
Is the game in Iceland on the box? Bloody well should be!

04-10-2010, 07:57 PM
Is the game in Iceland on the box? Bloody well should be!

Sky Sports 4. :agree:

Edit - that's the game at ER. Don't know about Iceland

05-10-2010, 10:01 AM
if you are wanting to buy tickets for the west stand they dont bother going down to easter road as they aint selling them:grr: i spent 50mins today going to the ticket office for the girl to turn round and say that arent selling them and i would be as well just paying on the gate on monday night!:bitchy:

Got my ticket for the east too. Unreserved seating so free for all. Are many people here going?

Really looking forward to being in our shiny new east stand for the first time (just above the tunnel for Hibs normally)

Given these two quotes, who is selling tickets and how do you get them in advance?

I am defo going and was going to go to ER to get them, assuming Hibs were selling them.

05-10-2010, 10:48 AM
They are selling tickets for east and famous five stands at the hibs ticket office

05-10-2010, 10:55 AM
I'll be going.

Hopefully it will be the first time in months that I'll have been to Easter Road and not heard any booing. :thumbsup:

Although, having saying that, we really should try and make Hanlon and Wotherspoon really feel at home. :greengrin

05-10-2010, 12:53 PM
I'll be going.

Hopefully it will be the first time in months that I'll have been to Easter Road and not heard any booing. :thumbsup:

Although, having saying that, we really should try and make Hanlon and Wotherspoon really feel at home. :greengrin

:thumbsup:.. just back from ER with my tickets for the game that will be the best game at ER this season so far... :wink:

ClewsHibs
05-10-2010, 01:56 PM
What size of crowd can we expect at ER? :saltireflag:big grin:

05-10-2010, 02:15 PM
What size of crowd can we expect at ER? :saltireflag:big grin:

Not sure hope we could get double figures but the SFA have done sweet FA to advertise this game. Its a qualifier for the European Championships, it should be in every paper everyday in a hope to get a big crowd in.

Hibbie_Cameron
05-10-2010, 04:49 PM
Ill be there.

Football will take up half my time next week:greengrin

hibeenicol
06-10-2010, 04:29 PM
Got my ticket, really looking forward to it. Does anyone know if tomorrows game is going to be on the tele? I can't find it anywhere.

sunshine1875
06-10-2010, 04:37 PM
Looks like there will be a Hibs fan in both teams. Paul Hanlon and Alfred Finnbogason - ex-Hutchie Vale boy and spent 18 months in Edinburgh and his Dad was smart enough to take him to watch Hibs.

http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Onetime-Hutchie-kid-plots-Scots39.6567830.jp

06-10-2010, 08:09 PM
Does anyone know if there will be any sort of atmosphere at the game? In the East or something?:rolleyes:

Lmc2105
07-10-2010, 12:31 PM
is the game on TV tonight?

18/03/07
07-10-2010, 01:40 PM
is the game on TV tonight?
Thursdays game not on tv,Mondays game is on sky sports 4

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 07:19 PM
Scotland just scored !:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Ollie Reed
07-10-2010, 07:19 PM
Just scored to lead Iceland 1-0 ater 20 mins, not sure of the scorer as yet.

07-10-2010, 07:23 PM

how you following the game?

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Murphy the scorer

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 07:24 PM
how you following the game?

Bet365 commentry

sunshine1875
07-10-2010, 07:24 PM

It was Murphy.

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 07:25 PM
Starting XI for Under-21s in Reyjkavik: Martin; Caddis; Scobbie; Wilson; Hanlon; Arfield; Wotherspoon; McGinn; Maguire; Murphy; Bannan
Subs: Gallacher; Perry; Marr; Goodwillie; Griffiths; Templeton; Shinnie

HibeeMG
07-10-2010, 07:32 PM
Not sure hope we could get double figures but the SFA have done sweet FA to advertise this game. Its a qualifier for the European Championships, it should be in every paper everyday in a hope to get a big crowd in.

Surely we'll get more than 99 people turning up!

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 07:33 PM
1-1 :grr:

Ollie Reed
07-10-2010, 07:34 PM
1-1.

07-10-2010, 07:36 PM
1-1 :grr:

IFONLY
07-10-2010, 07:43 PM
Surely we'll get more than 99 people turning up!

Surely you mean 9

HibeeMG
07-10-2010, 07:50 PM
Surely you mean 9

Yeah, I had a wee think about that.

If we should get double figures as the poster says then he would be delighted at getting 100.

Depends which way you look at it. Good spot though.

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Half Time 1-1

alex74
07-10-2010, 08:09 PM
1-1 :grr:does away goals come into it

07-10-2010, 08:17 PM
does away goals come into it

Craigyno1
07-10-2010, 08:35 PM
2-1 to Iceland :grr:

07-10-2010, 08:35 PM
2-1 Iceland :grr::grr:

07-10-2010, 08:37 PM
this team beat Germany..so no mugs...

Kevvy1875
07-10-2010, 08:38 PM
2-1 Iceland :grr::grr:

Not a disaster by any means....away goal could be all important.

Germany u21s getting rammed 4-1 in Iceland puts this in perspective for me:)

07-10-2010, 08:49 PM
2-1 Iceland FT

07-10-2010, 08:51 PM
Remember, Iceland drafted in full internationalists for this game.

They're desparate to qualify for what they say would be their first ever "major finals".

Decent result for us.

ClewsHibs
07-10-2010, 08:51 PM
Wotherspoon to score the winning penalty on monday :greengrin

07-10-2010, 08:53 PM
2-1 Iceland FT

Tie very much alive, should be good crowd on Monday night.

Really looking forward to it.

07-10-2010, 08:54 PM

Really looking forward to it.:agree:

:saltireflag

07-10-2010, 09:08 PM
is it pay at the gate monday? like to go along:agree:

07-10-2010, 09:10 PM
is it pay at the gate monday? like to go along:agree:

There is a cash turnstile (s).

Tickets for East and North on sale at ER.

08-10-2010, 05:17 AM
I'll be there! Tickets bought.

Advertising has been poor.

08-10-2010, 07:43 AM
Great result for the laddies.

I'll be there as the Wee Scotland team come to the wee teams Biggest Stadium in Edinburgh.

Mon the Hi.....Scots

Billy
08-10-2010, 09:31 AM
I'll be there! Tickets bought.

Advertising has been poor.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101007/easter-road-to-stage-finale_2262950_2178181

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101005/scotland-v-iceland-mascot-competition_2262950_2175506

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101004/advance-ticket-sales_2262950_2174653

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101003/hibernian-duo-earn-u21-call-up_2262950_2173876

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100929/hanlon-up-for-iceland_2262950_2169622

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100924/uefa-under-21-championship-play-off_2262950_2163893

Arch Stanton
08-10-2010, 09:41 AM

Really looking forward to it.

Should be a good atmosphere

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSq5gCztPp0

08-10-2010, 10:54 AM
Everything points to a cracking night at ER :cool2:

Looking forward to this one....

09-10-2010, 10:40 AM

:saltireflagTickets bought :thumbsup:

'mon the wee Scots :saltireflag

09-10-2010, 10:48 AM
Tickets bought :thumbsup:

'mon the wee Scots :saltireflag

Me too. Forget last night and get along on Monday!

09-10-2010, 01:39 PM
Team staying at the Marriott, training at Riccarton today and EM tomorrow.

Hibee Daz
09-10-2010, 03:44 PM
I'll be there with ma laddie, we're looking forward to it as it promises to be quite an exciting and entertaining match.:saltireflag

I'm hoping wee Spoony gets on the score sheet as well to give his confidence a much needed boost!:pray:

10-10-2010, 10:51 AM
Can you still pay at the gate in the East aswell?

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 11:34 AM
Hope the boys can pull it off, should be a cracking atmosphere, maybe get a full easter road for the first time since the upgrade, the lads deserve a full capacity. Wotherspoon to score winner.

Father Reilly
10-10-2010, 12:15 PM
:aok: £8 to get in! If only I could see my beloved Hibs for the same amount...sigh!:boo hoo:

10-10-2010, 08:05 PM
Can you still pay at the gate in the East aswell?

Riordans Boots
11-10-2010, 07:38 AM
:saltireflag:saltireflagMon Hanlon and Wortherspoon - do us proud boys :saltireflag:saltireflag

Sky Sports 4 7.30pm KO 7.45pm

Green_one
11-10-2010, 01:13 PM
Get yourselves along to ER. Show the rest that its a great venue.

I shall be there in my Scotland pants.

I will be booing the Jambo turncoat.

2-0 Scotland

Hibbie_Cameron
11-10-2010, 01:20 PM
Really looking forward to this tonight:thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 01:40 PM
Really looking forward to this tonight:thumbsup:

Me too.

I hope Hibs haven't blundered by only opening the East and North.

Guy came into my work delivering and said he phoned up far 40 seats together and was told no way. They would have to split into smaller groups. I think he was taking a Boys Club.

Could be huge Qs for walk ups. Hope Hibs have contingency plan in place to open up more.

I know a lot of guys who are going that I wouldn't have expected to go.

11-10-2010, 02:22 PM
I thought all stands were to be open for PATG, but that advance tickets could only be bought for the east and FF?

11-10-2010, 02:27 PM
Sitting in the East with my brother and my dad. Should be good TBH ! :saltireflag

Craigyno1
11-10-2010, 02:27 PM
I thought all stands were to be open for PATG, but that advance tickets could only be bought for the east and FF?

The SFA website makes a big thing about the match being at the 20,400 seater stadium and being ideal for this match. I'm sure at least the West will be open, maybe not the South. The interview with David Wotherspoon talks about the last U21 game against Croatia at ER having about 12,000 there. The areas that have had advance tickets sales (East & FF Lower) only hold about 8500-9000 (roughly), so Im sure thats not the only areas to be open tonight.

11-10-2010, 05:26 PM
get there early, I can see tomorrows threads already, ONLY 2 F,N TURNSTILES OPEN:grr::grr::grr::grr:
Seems quite alot of folk coming from all over Scotland for this..

smack
11-10-2010, 05:48 PM
Me too.

I hope Hibs haven't blundered by only opening the East and North.

Guy came into my work delivering and said he phoned up far 40 seats together and was told no way. They would have to split into smaller groups. I think he was taking a Boys Club.

Could be huge Qs for walk ups. Hope Hibs have contingency plan in place to open up more.

I know a lot of guys who are going that I wouldn't have expected to go.

I think you'll find the guy is talking crap. The tickets being sold do not specify where your seat is. You can sit anywhere.

11-10-2010, 06:00 PM

there calling levien a hobo over on keekback

just_joe
11-10-2010, 06:22 PM
anyone know the startin line up ?

11-10-2010, 06:32 PM
Live from Easter Park.

11-10-2010, 06:44 PM
Live from Easter Park.

I saw that too :grr:

Great turnout and our ground really does look stunning, getting a lot of praise :top marks

ancienthibby
11-10-2010, 06:44 PM
anyone know the startin line up ?

Coutts in for Arfield!

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101011/scotland-under-21-v-iceland-under-21_2262950_2181411

11-10-2010, 06:47 PM
Spoony playing right centre midfield :thumbsup:

and Hanlon right centre back :thumbsup:

Mon the Hibsland :flag::saltireflag

11-10-2010, 06:51 PM
As aside, Id love to see Wotherspoon play CM for Hibs more often

11-10-2010, 07:00 PM
I've just been reading this bloody thread thinking it was for the second game and thinking ****, we got beat 2-1 again. :faf:

11-10-2010, 07:01 PM
The stadium really does look fantastic tonight. Also noticable is that the cladding has been completed in the South East corner, unsure who has bought it though.

11-10-2010, 07:04 PM
Ian Crocker just mentioned the strong rumour of Billy Stark teaming up with Steve Clarke for the vacant Hibs job. He must look at Hibs.net. :greengrin

11-10-2010, 07:07 PM
Ian Crocker just mentioned the strong rumour of Billy Stark teaming up with Steve Clarke for the vacant Hibs job. He must look at Hibs.net. :greengrin

Ken. A noticed that :greengrin

11-10-2010, 07:10 PM
Really enjoyed Crockers commentary of the 6-2 game each time it gets an airing!

11-10-2010, 07:14 PM
Barry Bannan is a player I'd love to see at Easter Road. Not a chance, but he looks absolutely sensational!

Our U21 team has a few encouraging assets for the future: Wilson, Caddis, Wotherspoon, Maguire, Bannan and Murphy all look very tidy players - I'm assuming Goodwillie is also on the bench tonight?

11-10-2010, 07:17 PM
Scotland look good going forward, but a bit shakey at the back. Keeper looks dodgy aswell.

11-10-2010, 07:20 PM
What a great game of football. :thumbsup::top marks

11-10-2010, 07:21 PM
Is it on the radio? See its on BBC but dont get that here :-(

11-10-2010, 07:23 PM
Barry Bannan is a player I'd love to see at Easter Road. Not a chance, but he looks absolutely sensational!

Our U21 team has a few encouraging assets for the future: Wilson, Caddis, Wotherspoon, Maguire, Bannan and Murphy all look very tidy players - I'm assuming Goodwillie is also on the bench tonight?

Bannan is absolute quality. He's at Villa eh?

patlowe
11-10-2010, 07:23 PM
Not that this team deserves to be compared to the mess that is the current full setup but it's great to see a Scotland side in an attacking formation with players that look comfortable on the ball.

11-10-2010, 07:25 PM
Scotland look good going forward, but a bit shakey at the back. Keeper looks dodgy aswell.

To left sided/minded ch doesn't help i think

11-10-2010, 07:27 PM
Are Hanlon and Wotherspoon running up the wings?

11-10-2010, 07:30 PM
Are Hanlon and Wotherspoon running up the wings?

Hanlon is centre half. Looks pretty comfortable.

Spoony has played in right centre mid, right mid, left centre mid and left midfield so far :greengrin

11-10-2010, 07:32 PM
found it live on de net..:thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 07:33 PM

Spoony has played in right centre mid, right mid, left centre mid and left midfield so far :greengrin

Hanlon does look comfortable with his defending, he needs to sharpen up his distribution though, its been a little sloppy on a few occasions, giving the ball away too cheaply for me.

houston1875
11-10-2010, 07:34 PM
found it live on de net..:thumbsup:

Pm me were u found it bud

Greenblood70
11-10-2010, 07:35 PM
Really enjoyed that first half..great to see a Scotland team showing a bit of skill and invention.

Bannan does indeed look a prospect, he reminds me a bit of someone but I can't quite put my finger on it..

11-10-2010, 07:36 PM
Someone tell me ive not just had my faith restored in our national game watching that first half performance, id rather watch that than the big team any day of the week :top marks:top marks

euro Hibby
11-10-2010, 07:37 PM
good entertaining game - could go either way , would like to see Forrest get a shot but Ok so far

11-10-2010, 07:37 PM
i'm at the game. Was going go start a chant of 'are you watching craig levein'. Team is a joy to watch.

11-10-2010, 07:40 PM
Good first half. At least they are trying. I watched the under 16s last week and they were decent also. Harry potter will strangle the life out of them with his ugly football

11-10-2010, 07:45 PM
Someone tell me ive not just had my faith restored in our national game watching that first half performance, id rather watch that than the big team any day of the week :top marks:top marks

M pal just text me the exact same :agree:

11-10-2010, 07:53 PM

Thanks - both seem to be doing well.

11-10-2010, 07:57 PM
How many times has Caddis given the ball away

11-10-2010, 08:03 PM
M pal just text me the exact same :agree:

For me they actually look techniclly better and play with far more urgency than the big team, looks very promising :agree:

Hands off Harry Potter, do not touch :greengrin

DaveSo
11-10-2010, 08:04 PM
Any word on the size of the crowd ?

11-10-2010, 08:04 PM
For me they actually look techniclly better and play with far more urgency than the big team, looks very promising :agree:

Hands off Harry Potter, do not touch :greengrin

Potter would ruin them :agree:

11-10-2010, 08:06 PM
Just turned this on.

How good does the new Easter Road look under those floodlights with a pretty full East Stand! :cool2:

11-10-2010, 08:07 PM
Just turned this on.

How good does the new Easter Road look under those floodlights with a pretty full East Stand! :cool2:

If we score you will ken :wink:

ClewsHibs
11-10-2010, 08:10 PM

very good for a U21 game, the east looks the same as a hibs game but no sure about the other stands

11-10-2010, 08:11 PM
Really enjoyed that first half..great to see a Scotland team showing a bit of skill and invention.

Bannan does indeed look a prospect, he reminds me a bit of someone but I can't quite put my finger on it..

jinky?

11-10-2010, 08:12 PM
Just turned this on.

Looks quality, for some reason im starting to sence a bit of a feelgood factor coming on, next step in my theropy a quality appointment announced this week and im back on the wagon :greengrin

11-10-2010, 08:13 PM
What's the score?

11-10-2010, 08:14 PM
What's the score?

zip zip

11-10-2010, 08:14 PM
I'd take McGuire off and stick Goodwillie on. McGuire has done ok but looks knackered now.

Goodwillie is a better player anyway IMO.

11-10-2010, 08:15 PM
zip zip

1 nil iceland :grr:

ClewsHibs
11-10-2010, 08:15 PM
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr: 0-1

11-10-2010, 08:16 PM
Starks nae plan B :boo hoo:

Maybe he has? lol

ClewsHibs
half way line goalllllllll!!!!!!!! 1-1

WHAT A GOAL :thumbsup:

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr: 0-1

1 all haha a belter

I'd take McGuire off and stick Goodwillie on. McGuire has done ok but looks knackered now.

Goodwillie is a better player anyway IMO.

Ooops.:cool2:

11-10-2010, 08:17 PM
1 all haha a belter

Maguire from the half way line straight from the kick off haha :greengrin:greengrin

ClewsHibs
11-10-2010, 08:17 PM
scotland playing so much better now, listen to the crowd

11-10-2010, 08:18 PM
Chris Maguire :top marks

11-10-2010, 08:19 PM
Two cracking goals. Great skill from the icelandic player and maguire straight from the kick off.

11-10-2010, 08:21 PM
Two cracking goals. Great skill from the icelandic player and maguire straight from the kick off.

2 1 iceland :grr:

Waw :boo hoo:

3 cracking goals in as many minutes 2-1 Iceland.

what a good game of football

Amazing when two teams attack!! Are you watching Levein.

Scottish defence tonight need to close them down quicker!!! But three cracking goals tonight

11-10-2010, 08:22 PM
3 totally cracking goals, moneys worth all round me thinks

Well seen he is worth £7m. What a player

ClewsHibs
I hate icelaaaaand

patlowe
11-10-2010, 08:24 PM
You have to say that Bannan and Murphy have completely fallen out of it in the second half and Iceland have shown their class. No shame in the Scotland performance tonight, just not enough in the end. Plenty to be positive about.

11-10-2010, 08:24 PM
Well seen he is worth £7m. What a player

Exactly mate, wonder if that will seem like a snip in a couple of years time.

11-10-2010, 08:25 PM
what a good game of football

Amazing when two teams attack!! Are you watching Levein.

Scottish defence tonight need to close them down quicker!!! But three cracking goals tonight

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks

'Mon the Hibs
11-10-2010, 08:27 PM
Bit of an aside here, but did anyone see the Iceland player blow an invisible trumpet at 78 mins, 52 secs :greengrin

and still we cant get a home win at ER :boo hoo::grr: :taxi for stark :boo hoo:

Bit of an aside here, but did anyone see the Iceland player blow an invisible trumpet at 78 mins, 52 secs :greengrin

:agree::faf:

WarringtonHibee
11-10-2010, 08:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8H-FsW78Di8

11-10-2010, 08:29 PM
If we had ditched the strikers and put them in midfield this would never have happened :confused:

11-10-2010, 08:29 PM
and still we cant get a home win at ER :boo hoo::grr: :taxi for stark :boo hoo:

Aye pick up Mr Clarke on the way and turn right back around :greengrin

11-10-2010, 08:30 PM
looked a bit of a dive by the yamboid there

11-10-2010, 08:30 PM
Yam fud has been on the park for 2 minutes and is already cheating. Shock.

11-10-2010, 08:31 PM
Diving hearts twat.

looked a bit of a dive by the yamboid there

How Andy Walker can condone that!!! :bitchy:

The Jambos are past masters at the cheating dive. :rolleyes:

11-10-2010, 08:32 PM
Templeton booked for diving. Typical yam

JE89
Typical Yam. Diving wee tit

Aye pick up Mr Clarke on the way and turn right back around :greengrin

wonder if he's had a wee look at his future gaffers office :greengrin

How many times has Caddis given the ball away

Are you joking? I thought he has looked very tidy all evening. :confused:

11-10-2010, 08:33 PM

Pretty sure i heard them say 12000 ????

Pretty good turnout.

11-10-2010, 08:37 PM

How Andy Walker can condone that!!! :bitchy:

been listening to the radio commentary and watching on the net dave :wink:

I hate icelaaaaand

Top class! Haha!

Pretty sure i heard them say 12000 ????

Pretty good turnout.

12,320 :agree:

11-10-2010, 08:38 PM
I actually posted on another thread earlier the lack of goals scored from outside the box these days and how the game has got so boring, 30 shots at goal between the teams tonight, thats what im talking about :agree:

Twiglet
11-10-2010, 08:41 PM
Does anyone know who our number 9 was? He was so greedy on the ball so much of the time. It was driving me nuts!

Our goal was brilliant though!

11-10-2010, 08:42 PM
Does anyone know who our number 9 was? He was so greedy on the ball so much of the time. It was driving me nuts!

Chris Maguire

11-10-2010, 08:44 PM
Proud of the boys tonight, Levein are you watching?

Looked classy, played football, had skill, everything we have been crying out for. If we do get Stark on the management team it can only be good after seeing that team he put out tonight, a real footballing team.

On a side note... ground looked amazing tonight. With the cameras on the west looking onto the east the ground looks massive, almost looks like parkhead on the tv. :top marks

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 08:45 PM
Why do you have to spoil a good post by mentioning that place:grr:

11-10-2010, 08:46 PM

Dont think so :confused:

Proud of the boys tonight, Levein are you watching?

Looked classy, played football, had skill, everything we have been crying out for. If we do get Stark on the management team it can only be good after seeing that team he put out tonight, a real footballing team.

On a side note... ground looked amazing tonight. With the cameras on the west looking onto the east the ground looks massive, almost looks like parkhead on the tv. :top marks

How big does the pitch look aswell, looking top quality arena :greengrin

euro Hibby
stark might be fine but lets not forget that team has some talent..

11-10-2010, 08:47 PM

Why not?

11-10-2010, 08:48 PM

richard gordon says so :agree:

11-10-2010, 08:51 PM

I thought maguire was brilliant.

I'd take him at hibs in a heartbeat.

His goal was unbelieveable

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 08:53 PM
Ian Crocker said 12,000 a few times :agree:

11-10-2010, 08:53 PM
I thought maguire was brilliant.

I'd take him at hibs in a heartbeat.

His goal was unbelieveable

I'll second that. Been saying that for a while.

11-10-2010, 08:54 PM
Why not?

Fair enough folks...But i thought their were gaps everywhere :confused:

Dont get me wrong im not being wide..Just thought their were gaps mega behind either goals and never heard alot of singing..Maybe the tv is confusing..Quite willing to be told other wise tho :agree:

Thot Scotland were outstanding tonight..But beat by a 7 million striker.

11-10-2010, 08:55 PM
Another glorious failure?

11-10-2010, 08:58 PM
Fair enough folks...But i thought their were gaps everywhere :confused:

Dont get me wrong im not being wide..Just thought their were gaps mega behind either goals and never heard alot of singing..Maybe the tv is confusing..Quite willing to be told other wise tho :agree:

Thot Scotland were outstanding tonight..But beat by a 7 million striker.

Maybe, however the stadium now holds over 20k remember so even with 12k inside it there will still be big gaps everywhere. :greengrin:cool2:

11-10-2010, 09:00 PM
Another glorious failure?

To fail in that manner, I would take that every day of the week :agree:, take note Harry

11-10-2010, 09:01 PM
Maybe, however the stadium now holds over 20k remember so even with 12k inside it there will still be big gaps everywhere. :greengrin:cool2:

Never thought of it like that :greengrin

Like a said quite willing to be put right :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Really enjoyed that game tonight :agree: Just a wee shame the result never matched the teams effort and every single one of them that put in a ton plus effort.

alex74
11-10-2010, 09:05 PM
To fail in that manner, I would take that every day of the week :agree:, take note Harrydoes anyone know who the boy bannon plays for he looks the part

11-10-2010, 09:07 PM
does anyone know who the boy bannon plays for he looks the part

aston villa.

Is he related to Eamonn Bannon?

11-10-2010, 09:07 PM
Are you joking? I thought he has looked very tidy all evening. :confused:

No he lost his man for the first goal and he constantly punted the ball to no one. Andy Walker kept talking him up. But I thought he was Scotlands worst player.

11-10-2010, 09:08 PM
does anyone know who the boy bannon plays for he looks the part

Barry Bannan - Aston Villa.

No relation to Eamonn.

11-10-2010, 09:12 PM
I agree lucky...re Caddis. Wilson on the other hand looks as if he could play for the full team now.

11-10-2010, 09:15 PM
Was in east and one of stewards told us it was full and both west and famous five were maybe half full each

Excellent game, great atmosphere and two good footballing sides. Best game I've seen at Easter road in months.

Thought the fans were good too, clapping the Icelandic anthem and there players at end of game .

That's what football is all about

11-10-2010, 09:17 PM
Really good game and an enjoyable evening full stop for my first visit to the East stand as usually a resident in the West.

I feel Stark could maybe have freshened things up at 1-1 as the midfield looked like it had run itself into the ground but I envisage a fair few of the 21's playing for the full team in years to come. Would also take McGuire in a hearbeat at Hibs.

11-10-2010, 09:21 PM
Out of interest where are u21 games normally played and how many fans turn up ?

11-10-2010, 09:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8H-FsW78Di8

I used to get pissed off when people tried that at amateur level. I used to moan like **** and say what's the ****ing point. There was one guy who used to try it every time and I was moaning because I knew he was going to do it and the prick scored. :grr:

Great goal by Maguire.

alex74
11-10-2010, 09:23 PM
I agree lucky...re Caddis. Wilson on the other hand looks as if he could play for the full team now.
does anyone know if maguire is one of the aberdeen players out of contract at the end of season if so what do u think of him griffiths and deeko as our new strikeforce next season

alex74
11-10-2010, 09:26 PM
I used to get pissed off when people tried that at amateur level. I used to moan like **** and say what's the ****ing point. There was one guy who used to try it every time and I was moaning because I knew he was going to do it and the prick scored. :grr:

Great goal by Maguire.what was his name

11-10-2010, 09:27 PM
Just back, and got to say, that is the best game of football I have seen at ER for a very long time. Both side really went for it, and the quality of the goals was worth the admission price alone.

Anybody else see the topless guy at the south end of the west lower having a 1 man party at halftime:faf:

11-10-2010, 09:30 PM
does anyone know if maguire is one of the aberdeen players out of contract at the end of season if so what do u think of him griffiths and deeko as our new strikeforce next season

Apparently he is, would take him at Easter Road :agree:

Manxhibs
11-10-2010, 09:30 PM
I thought the lads showed some real fight and actual quality. They unfortunately came up against a team of more experienced players who managed to sneak through. All the goals tonight were superb

11-10-2010, 09:32 PM
Just back, and got to say, that is the best game of football I have seen at ER for a very long time. Both side really went for it, and the quality of the goals was worth the admission price alone.

100% agree. Fantastic entertainment. Totally alien concept to our current national manager and even our own previous manager.

11-10-2010, 09:33 PM

Anybody else see the topless guy at the south end of the west lower having a 1 man party at halftime:faf:

Like you really enjoyed the game. Scotland were fanastic in the 1st half and just couldn't get the goal.
The Icelandic team were bigger and stronger but Scotland were technically better.

Riordans Boots
11-10-2010, 09:35 PM

12,320 :agree: http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101011/scotland-1-iceland-2_2262950_2181411

11-10-2010, 09:37 PM
If Stark does get the No 2 job at Hibs, that could help us cherry pick some of the under 21 talent for us! Especially Griffiths & Maguire!

11-10-2010, 09:37 PM
Great game, great crowd and as Paul says above, great entertainment :agree:

11-10-2010, 09:40 PM
12,320 :agree: http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101011/scotland-1-iceland-2_2262950_2181411

11-10-2010, 09:41 PM
Very good performance, most importantly the Wotherspoon had the best performance I have seen from him for sometime at Easter Road.

Iceland had a few really good players in there, but Scotland played very well, a little unfortunate not to get the first goal.

Well done boys.

Marty-Hibee
11-10-2010, 09:46 PM
Must say i'm pretty gutted my paper aeroplane landing on the pitch hasn't got a mention at all!

Good game though, 3 absolute stonking goals. Should have capitalised more on the first half. Shame for the boys

11-10-2010, 09:49 PM
Loads of kids at the game tonight. Hopefully they come along to football on a regular basis.

11-10-2010, 09:50 PM
what was his name

A boy called Lee. Used to play for a team ran by Alan McKay (now Tollcross Thistle manager).

11-10-2010, 10:08 PM
I've just been reading this bloody thread thinking it was for the second game and thinking ****, we got beat 2-1 again. :faf:

We did :grr:

Twiglet
11-10-2010, 10:27 PM
Chris Maguire

Hee hee! I managed to slag off and talk up the same player in the same breath.

My thing about maguire is that he was too greedy at times, there would be obvious passes and he chose to try and go with it himself.

That said, the overall performance tonight makes the future look good for Scottish football.

All in all a good game tonight.

smack
11-10-2010, 10:35 PM
Enjoyable game with 3 cracking goals. Pity we couldn't have held it at 1-1 a bit longer as it could have been an exciting finish. Icelands 2nd goal killed us off.

Great to watch football at a sensible price as well. 1 adult and 4 kids - only £13. :thumbsup:

Hibbie_Cameron
11-10-2010, 10:40 PM
Best game i have been to in a long long time.

There goalscorer only recently moved from Reading to Hoffenheim for £7 million so hardly a disgrace losing out to that quality.

Barry Bannan was simply fantastic in the first half, what a player he could be.

Maguires goal was outstanding. I knew it was going in as soon as he hit in:top marks

broonie27
11-10-2010, 10:43 PM
Tin hat on here but we were just beaten by a nation with a population smaller than Edinburgh. Why is everyone so pleased with the performance :tin hat:?

11-10-2010, 10:44 PM

Anybody else see the topless guy at the south end of the west lower having a 1 man party at halftime:faf:Great evenings entertainment :thumbsup: well worth the 8 quid :agree:

Were you watching Potter ya clown? :grr:

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 10:47 PM
Tin hat on here but we were just beaten by a nation with a population smaller than Edinburgh. Why is everyone so pleased with the performance :tin hat:?Size of the nation matters not a jot..you got eleven more experienced players on the park, than we did, we gave them a good game...nuff said :agree:

11-10-2010, 10:53 PM
Tin hat on here but we were just beaten by a nation with a population smaller than Edinburgh. Why is everyone so pleased with the performance :tin hat:?

Iceland took care of Germany's U21's in their Group and their team tonight was packed with full internationals. Scotland played them of the park for 60 mins and it was a superb game to watch. Certainly a disappointing result but if every game was like that every week, easter road would be packed to the rafters.

11-10-2010, 10:55 PM

Because it was a very good performance.

We played good passing football, scored a wonder goal and showed endeavour, passion and heart.

11-10-2010, 10:58 PM
Because it was a very good performance.

We played good passing football, scored a wonder goal and showed endeavour, passion and heart.

Danny Wilson, Bannan and Maguire stood out for me.

They were a decent side though - I thought the Icelandic number four, big stocky guy with a mullet playing in the Matty Jack role was superb.

benrocky
11-10-2010, 11:01 PM

What an ignorant barsteward you are:bye:

11-10-2010, 11:17 PM

There goalscorer only recently moved from Reading to Hoffenheim for £7 million so hardly a disgrace losing out to that quality.

Maguires goal was outstanding. I knew it was going in as soon as he hit in:top marks

Really enjoyed tonight's game, and there have been very few occasions I've walked away from Easter Road able to say that in recent years, excellent entertainment.

Loopz
11-10-2010, 11:20 PM
broonie has a point. Although it was pleasing to see a Scottish team willing to play football, we also lost 2 very poor goals by standing off and allowing shots on our goal. With a bit more composure / better decision making, we should also have scored in the first half which would have made a huge difference. To celebrate failure by saying the performance was encouraging is very Scottish (but only in my own humble and HIBS used to it opinion).

11-10-2010, 11:58 PM

bit strong naw ?

12-10-2010, 12:22 AM

Pot kettle and all that. The guy only asked a question that is relatively balanced and pertinent. It's just as well I am not an Admin or you would be getting the wavy smiley yerself.

broonie27
12-10-2010, 12:35 AM

mate, there's only one person here who's ignorant and it's not me.

I asked a valid question and loads of people have come on and answered me with well worded polite answers ..... except one.

broonie27
12-10-2010, 12:49 AM
Size of the nation matters not a jot..you got eleven more experienced players on the park, than we did, we gave them a good game...nuff said :agree:

I think size of nation is quite important. I realise it's not quite the same but if San Marino beat England at any level there would be public outcry, so why should we be comfortable with being beaten by a team more than a tenth our size. Having said that if Iceland out-qualified Germany then can't be too bad.

Fair enough a good few of the Iceland team were full internationals but they are still by definition all under 21 years of age so their experience would be quite limited. Scotland had Hanlon, Wotherspoon, Caddis, Murphy, Templeton and Maguire in their ranks so I think we there is enough experience in there to match Iceland, no?

1875godsgift
12-10-2010, 12:59 AM
To be fair the performance was very encouraging, and its good to see Hibs boys playing well!
On the downside however, I think that your post is {a} completely pointless and {b} confrontational.

broonie27
12-10-2010, 01:29 AM
To be fair the performance was very encouraging, and its good to see Hibs boys playing well!
On the downside however, I think that your post is {a} completely pointless and {b} confrontational.

Why is it pointless to ask fellow football fans a question regarding expectation and perception?

Hardly confrontational mate. A simple question. :confused:

12-10-2010, 01:43 AM
Why is it pointless to ask fellow football fans a question regarding expectation and perception?

Hardly confrontational mate. A simple question. :confused:

He is quoting Benrockys post buddy not yours.:)

broonie27
12-10-2010, 02:00 AM

He is quoting Benrockys post buddy not yours.:)

doh, my apology :doh:

12-10-2010, 06:07 AM
I liked the look of our number 6, Coutts I think his name was. Plays for Preston.

Looked a solid midfielder.

All in all I think we should be encouraged by the game last night.

I would take every one of the players who played last night at Hibs except for maybe scobbie and Martin.

Hibee Daz
12-10-2010, 07:01 AM

Aye, wee Bannan is some player alright, Our No10 wasn't bad as well they kept the Icelanders on their toes by switching wings, thoroughly entertaining!:thumbsup:

12-10-2010, 07:18 AM

I think I'm right in saying Hanlon and Wotherspoon can play in the next under 21 tournament as well.

Daniel Wilson too so we could have the nucleus of another good team.

Callum Booth may well come in at left back.

12-10-2010, 07:22 AM
mate, there's only one person here who's ignorant and it's not me.

I asked a valid question and loads of people have come on and answered me with well worded polite answers ..... except one.

:agree: While it was a great game, and a great performance from us, we did lose. The question that needs asked is, how can a country so small as Iceland produce so many decent players at that age? What are they doing thats so different to what we are doing? :dunno:

Lendo
12-10-2010, 07:34 AM
Barry Bannan - Aston Villa.

No relation to Eamonn.

Man of the Match for me, thought he looked fantastic, worked his socks off and held the ball up well. His first touch was just unbelievable.

12-10-2010, 07:39 AM
:agree: While it was a great game, and a great performance from us, we did lose. The question that needs asked is, how can a country so small as Iceland produce so many decent players at that age? What are they doing thats so different to what we are doing? :dunno:

The same the rest of the world is doing that we are not doing - teaching technique, skills, controlling the ball, passing the ball, tactical awareness, lifestyle issues re physical conditioning and nutrition, the benefits of practice, practice, practice, etc, etc...

12-10-2010, 07:50 AM
Aye, wee Bannan is some player alright, Our No10 wasn't bad as well they kept the Icelanders on their toes by switching wings, thoroughly entertaining!:thumbsup:

No:10 was jamie murphy of motherwell. he was playing upfront.

another player id take at hibs in a heartbeat.

it was wotherspoon who kept switching sides with bannan.

12-10-2010, 08:11 AM

For a start, a lot of the players who played for Iceland last night have had some experience of playing for the full side. Whilst it's probably a bit easier to get a game for the full Iceland team than it is to play for the full Scotland team, based on last night's match, I think there's several players who should, at the very least, be involved in the full Scotland squad. However, out of the whole squad last night, none of them have ever received a call up for the full squad, never mind played any games for them.

12-10-2010, 08:12 AM

I wonder how much of it has to do with these guys being given the oportunity to play for the senior team from a very early age. This surly must develop them quicker, all be it I agree they have to be potentially good enough but you wont find out unless you give them a chance. In Scotland its almost unheard of that we promote the U21's into the full team, last night I think they had 7 players with 1st team experience.

12-10-2010, 08:17 AM
For a start, a lot of the players who played for Iceland last night have had some experience of playing for the full side. Whilst it's probably a bit easier to get a game for the full Iceland team than it is to play for the full Scotland team, based on last night's match, I think there's several players who should, at the very least, be involved in the full Scotland squad. However, out of the whole squad last night, none of them have ever received a call up for the full squad, never mind played any games for them.

Pretty much what I just said. I agree that it is probably easier to get a game for iceland but should it be? We have a core of consistant under achieving players for the national team yet we seem to cast our net far and wide in an attempt to find someone with a hint of a Scottish relative rather than devolpe and nurture the guys on our doorstep who on last nights performance are technically very good with the hunger and passion to go with it. Give them a chance to prove themselves and restore some pride back in our national team :agree:

12-10-2010, 08:21 AM

It all starts and ends in belief. I think in this country it is a embedded cultural thing that probably starts around primary 1 or 2. It also manifests itself through being the little brother nation to England in the UK.

I see it in wee kids playing football at the age of 9 as well as in senior players. The other issues raised about practice, technique, drive, ambition etc are also factors. But I do think there is a deeper cultural issue in this country. It doesn't just affect our footballers either.

12-10-2010, 08:23 AM
Pretty much what I just said. I agree that it is probably easier to get a game for iceland but should it be? We have a core of consistant under achieving players for the national team yet we seem to cast our net far and wide in an attempt to find someone with a hint of a Scottish relative rather than devolpe and nurture the guys on our doorstep who on last nights performance are technically very good with the hunger and passion to go with it. Give them a chance to prove themselves and restore some pride back in our national team :agree:

As much as i agree with the sentiments, IMO for them to play for the national team they would have to be performing consistantly at club level before they're considered and off the top of my head i can't think of too many that played last night that are regulars for there club.

Berti Vogts tried playing youbgsters because there was nobody else and it wasn't exactly a success.

12-10-2010, 08:32 AM

I totally agree. Personally I would rather see Barry Bannan playing for Scotland than some of the players that are currently Scotland regulars. Although he did fade a bit in the second half, the guy was exciting, had great trickery and he had a brilliant range of passing as well. For me, the kind of stuff that he did in the first half last night is what football's all about and it's why people pay to get in. Although it has its place, I don't want to pay to watch ten men stand on the 18 yard box for 90 minutes and head and hoof balls away all night.

I would also be giving Chris Maguire an opportunity at first team level, based on last night as well, because I was really impressed by him. His workrate was superb all night, he showed some really good control and his goal showed fantastic vision. He might not be a candidate for being a regular starter for the full squad at the moment, but I certainly think someone like him would benefit from some exposure to the first team.

12-10-2010, 08:32 AM

:agree: And how are they so big??? Having kind of made wee Bjork my Icelandic stereotype I was under the impression they were all crazy wee midgets :confused::confused::confused:
How wrong can a body be :bitchy:

12-10-2010, 08:38 AM
As much as i agree with the sentiments, IMO for them to play for the national team they would have to be performing consistantly at club level before they're considered and off the top of my head i can't think of too many that played last night that are regulars for there club.

Berti Vogts tried playing youbgsters because there was nobody else and it wasn't exactly a success.

Yeah thats a good point and I can see exactly where your coming from, but to be fair you could look at a number of people picked for the National team that IMO dont merit it, Cauldwell for a start, not played for months yet picked, Naismith back into the Rangers team for a couple of games and hes back in is another example, when guys like Goodwilly, Murphy, Brannan, Caddis, for me all playing regularly and playing well for their clubs cant even get anywher near the set up is a bit disapointing. All in my opinin of course :greengrin

12-10-2010, 08:54 AM
Yeah thats a good point and I can see exactly where your coming from, but to be fair you could look at a number of people picked for the National team that IMO dont merit it, Cauldwell for a start, not played for months yet picked, Naismith back into the Rangers team for a couple of games and hes back in is another example, when guys like Goodwilly, Murphy, Brannan, Caddis, for me all playing regularly and playing well for their clubs cant even get anywher near the set up is a bit disapointing. All in my opinin of course :greengrin

How did i know Caldwells name would be brought up in response :greengrin

I think there's a difference with someone like caldwell, don't get me wrong he wouldn't be in my team, but he is someone who was a regular with celtic, now in the premiership and also has experience of international football so there's less of a gamble there.

Caddis is playing in the 3rd tier of english football (i think) and couldn't make the breakthrough with celtic so he's got a bit proving of hiomself to do yet, Goodwillie has been excellent whenever i've seen him but he couldn't get his game last night and you'd think the likes of potter would know him better than anyone, Murphy has only been on the scene five minutes and i've no idea who brannan is, sorry :greengrin

Not sure if he gets his game regularly for preston but if the guy in midfield last night is playing every week then i'd consider giving him a shout as i thought he looked an excellent player and appeared to have the physical attributes as well.

With regards to the deeper routed problem about why these countries can produce players we can't IMO it's all down to lifestyle, i know all the usual cliches come out about grass roots and technique and things like that but every time i hear about young scottish teams going abroad they're winning tournaments so at that age we seem to do ok, the problem seems to come when they make the next step up to professional players and the only logical explanation i can think of is that it's down to poor lifestyle choices and being more interested in being billy big baws rather than knuckling down and making the most of what they've got. How you go about fixing that i've absolutely no idea

GreenPJ
12-10-2010, 09:07 AM
Lots of reasons to be positive about last night. I thought the defence was good, Wilson is a class act, Caddis was superb, Hanlon did a good job and Scobie was far better than I ever gave him credit for.

The two central midfielders were extremely hard working and were looking to make telling passes even if they didn't always come off. Wotherspoon I thought did well but tired and I would have changed him earlier. Bannan is just a joy to watch and a traditional Scottish winger of old - long may he keep that and hopefully we will get to see him in the premiership and the big Scotland team and some point in the not too distant future.

Up front I was amazed at the running and first touch. Both Maguire and Murhpy in the first half ran the channels, took on very competent centre halfs and created opportunities. Murphy tired in the second half but Maguire got even better, his first touch was David Murphy like.

Huge credit has to go to Stark for getting them trying to play football the right way and attractive to watch.

12-10-2010, 09:14 AM
How did i know Caldwells name would be brought up in response :greengrin

I think there's a difference with someone like caldwell, don't get me wrong he wouldn't be in my team, but he is someone who was a regular with celtic, now in the premiership and also has experience of international football so there's less of a gamble there.

Caddis is playing in the 3rd tier of english football (i think) and couldn't make the breakthrough with celtic so he's got a bit proving of hiomself to do yet, Goodwillie has been excellent whenever i've seen him but he couldn't get his game last night and you'd think the likes of potter would know him better than anyone, Murphy has only been on the scene five minutes and i've no idea who brannan is, sorry :greengrin

Not sure if he gets his game regularly for preston but if the guy in midfield last night is playing every week then i'd consider giving him a shout as i thought he looked an excellent player and appeared to have the physical attributes as well.

With regards to the deeper routed problem about why these countries can produce players we can't IMO it's all down to lifestyle, i know all the usual cliches come out about grass roots and technique and things like that but every time i hear about young scottish teams going abroad they're winning tournaments so at that age we seem to do ok, the problem seems to come when they make the next step up to professional players and the only logical explanation i can think of is that it's down to poor lifestyle choices and being more interested in being billy big baws rather than knuckling down and making the most of what they've got. How you go about fixing that i've absolutely no idea

Cause you agree its bizarre he got called up lol :greengrin. I agree with what you are saying and agree from Potters view of it, it is less of a gamble (His fitness aside coming back from an injury) but for me its the bit in bold thats exactly the problem, these guys with international experience for Scotland IMO are taking us no where, are we any further developed than we were a couple of years back, I dont think so. Its guys like him, Mcculloch, Weir, Iwumllo to name a few that are not the future of our national side. I think we need to start building for the future in a way where we maybe take the hit for a couple of years whilst blodding some of the aformentioned younger players and see where it takes us?

It just seems to me that everytime theres an international game there is always a different name in the squad with Scottish roots of some sort, but the U21 guys are getting overlooked every time, whats that going to do for our / their developement.

12-10-2010, 09:24 AM
Cause you agree its bizarre he got called up lol :greengrin. I agree with what you are saying and agree from Potters view of it, it is less of a gamble (His fitness aside coming back from an injury) but for me its the bit in bold thats exactly the problem, these guys with international experience for Scotland IMO are taking us no where, are we any further developed than we were a couple of years back, I dont think so. Its guys like him, Mcculloch, Weir, Iwumllo to name a few that are not the future of our national side. I think we need to start building for the future in a way where we maybe take the hit for a couple of years whilst blodding some of the aformentioned younger players and see where it takes us?

It just seems to me that everytime theres an international game there is always a different name in the squad with Scottish roots of some sort, but the U21 guys are getting overlooked every time, whats that going to do for our / their developement.

I sort of agree with you, i can't stand bringing in these English folk who would never in a million years consider themselves to be Scottish just to paper over the cracks, i just don't think that throwing in under 21's before they've proven themselves is the answer, the only excetion to that is if they've got real potential to be a big star and the only person in the under 21's like that just now is Wilson.

The players you mention were part of the squad that beat france, ukraine and ran italy so close recently and thats the sort of level potters got to be looking to reach, we can't afford to have anymore years of transition as we'll drop further down the seedings.

If these young guys are going to be the future of the national team they need to prove they're the best at club level rather than getting a free ticket to the national team because we're not very good just now.

12-10-2010, 09:35 AM
I sort of agree with you, i can't stand bringing in these English folk who would never in a million years consider themselves to be Scottish just to paper over the cracks, i just don't think that throwing in under 21's before they've proven themselves is the answer, the only excetion to that is if they've got real potential to be a big star and the only person in the under 21's like that just now is Wilson.

The players you mention were part of the squad that beat france, ukraine and ran italy so close recently and thats the sort of level potters got to be looking to reach, we can't afford to have anymore years of transition as we'll drop further down the seedings.

If these young guys are going to be the future of the national team they need to prove they're the best at club level rather than getting a free ticket to the national team because we're not very good just now.

Again I agree with that, no point in throwing guys in for the sake of it but how will they get to prove themselves at that level if not given the chance. It doesnt seem to stop other Nations throwing in youngsters who have potential, look at England with Adam Johnson he moved from Boro and within no time he was given a chance in the international team because he has potential, also when given the oportunity he is thriving. I do agree tho its unfair to compare the calibre of players we may have to guys playing in the premiership but you can only p**s with the c(*k youve got as the saying goes and thes guys are the best youth we have to offer so give them a chance, bleed them in. You know it makes sence :greengrin

12-10-2010, 09:36 AM

P.S thats exactly why they should be given a chance :greengrin

12-10-2010, 10:02 AM
Again I agree with that, no point in throwing guys in for the sake of it but how will they get to prove themselves at that level if not given the chance. It doesnt seem to stop other Nations throwing in youngsters who have potential, look at England with Adam Johnson he moved from Boro and within no time he was given a chance in the international team because he has potential, also when given the oportunity he is thriving. I do agree tho its unfair to compare the calibre of players we may have to guys playing in the premiership but you can only p**s with the c(*k youve got as the saying goes and thes guys are the best youth we have to offer so give them a chance, bleed them in. You know it makes sence :greengrin

They get to prove themselves at club level, that's what adam johsons done at club level. Look at davie weir for example, he's 40 years old and still getting his game but who is really knocking on the door thats more deserving of a place? Nobody, i'm all for replacing the old guard if someone younger is performing better but not just for the sake of it, call ups should be awarded on merit of club form, not by default IMO.

12-10-2010, 12:05 PM
I liked the look of our number 6, Coutts I think his name was. Plays for Preston.

Looked a solid midfielder.

All in all I think we should be encouraged by the game last night.

I would take every one of the players who played last night at Hibs except for maybe scobbie and Martin.

Agreed, think it shows decent signs and some promising young players. Lets just hope they dont all disappear off the the old firm basement and as a result never progress as players.

I though the number 6 looked reasonable in the first half, but poor in the second, and was probably a bit guilty for the run which allowed their second goal.

All in all a good performance, and probably the best game of football I have seen at ER for a while - at a fraction of the cost!

12-10-2010, 02:19 PM
Hanlon and Wotherspoon have been selected :thumbsup::thumbsup:

heres the goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VI-tvDC-xJ4

12-10-2010, 02:43 PM
heres the goal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VI-tvDC-xJ4

Had heard it was good :greengrin That is just great confidence and even more ability to do that with little more than a step to get power...if it was a Brasilian or Beckham....we would be watching it for the next 10 years