View Full Version : What the bookies say (merged)

cwilliamson85
04-10-2010, 09:15 AM
With being at work we are not allowed on bookies sites.

Who is the bookies favourite to take the hot seta at ER? And at what odds?

04-10-2010, 11:27 AM
McBookie:

Jimmy Calderwood 4/1
Derek Adams 5/1
Michael O'Neill 6/1
Gus McPherson 7/1
Tony Mowbray 8/1
Mark Venus 10/1
Alan Pardew 14/1
Pat Fenlon 14/1
Paul Ince 16/1
Stuart McCall 16/1
Henrick Larsson 18/1
Ian Dowie 18/1
Mike Newell 20/1
Csaba Laszlo 25/1

WestEndHibee
04-10-2010, 11:28 AM
McBookies have set these:

Odds on the next permanent Hibs manager: Jimmy Calderwood (4/1), Derek Adams (5/1), Michael O’Neill (6/1), Gus MacPherson (7/1), Tony Mowbray (8/1), Mark Venus (10/1), Alan Pardew, Pat Fenlon (both 14/1), Stuart McCall, Paul Ince (both 16/1), Iain Dowie, Henrik Larsson (both 18/1), Mike Newell (20/1), Csaba Laszlo (25/1).

liking the cheeky add of csaba at the end there :thumbsup:

Mogga or Adams for me!

04-10-2010, 11:30 AM
McBookie:

Jimmy Calderwood 4/1
Derek Adams 5/1
Michael O'Neill 6/1
Gus McPherson 7/1
Tony Mowbray 8/1
Mark Venus 10/1
Alan Pardew 14/1
Pat Fenlon 14/1
Paul Ince 16/1
Stuart McCall 16/1
Henrick Larsson 18/1
Ian Dowie 18/1
Mike Newell 20/1
Csaba Laszlo 25/1

From that list can anyone really extract a proven, successful, decent, interesting and inspiring manager???

Struggling a bit myself. One or two could do "a job" ..... lots are clearly there for a giraffe.

If that's our options boys, we're ****ed....lets hope, we think out the box a bit.

04-10-2010, 11:32 AM
From that list can anyone really extract a proven, successful, decent, interesting and inspiring manager???

Struggling a bit myself. One or two could do "a job" ..... lots are clearly there for a giraffe.

If that's our options boys, we're ****ed....lets hope, we think out the box a bit.

What about Elmo from Sesame Street?

04-10-2010, 11:34 AM

Sorry Doddie, he's already signed a pre-contract with ra-sellick....they snapped him up on the basis if he come to us and was any good, they had first dibs, as is the way with those bassas.

I think, we could do an Ebbsfleet and pick and run teh team, via the Internet :greengrin

It's almost what happens doon yamsville....save for their reliance on the auld Cannon fax...same rules apply :devil:

04-10-2010, 11:35 AM
I just hope the bookies are wrong, no way do I want tangoman at ER

:bitchy:

04-10-2010, 11:36 AM

At least he has recent experience of playing with a big two up front. :agree:

http://omg.yahoo.com/blogs/a-line/sesame-street-pulls-controversial-katy-perry-duet/624

04-10-2010, 11:45 AM
I wonder if Ryehill Avenue will make a re-appearance in the coming days.

Stuarty27
04-10-2010, 12:00 PM
Billy Reid is your man...

Get your dosh on him.

Proven track record at bringing young players thru and can work on a limited budget, exactly the combination Petrie wants

04-10-2010, 12:16 PM
No more ex hibs players PLEASE

04-10-2010, 12:18 PM
I just hope the bookies are wrong, no way do I want tangoman at ER

Why not?

04-10-2010, 12:44 PM
No more ex hibs players PLEASE

Not even Matty Jack as player/manager? :greengrin

04-10-2010, 12:47 PM
Why not?

Aberdeen's crowds dwindled from around 12,000 to around 9,000 under Calderwood. The football was DIRE.

Aberdeen fans would be delighted if we appointed Calderwood.

Please no.

blindsummit
04-10-2010, 12:48 PM

I think based on recent appearances on Sesame Street, that Katy Perry and Elmo would make a nice pairing. Well one of them would make a nice pair anyway :greengrin

04-10-2010, 12:56 PM

Get your dosh on him.

Proven track record at bringing young players thru and can work on a limited budget, exactly the combination Petrie wants

coolhibbie
04-10-2010, 01:31 PM
Mark Venus for me family still in Edinburgh :thumbsup:

Dr_Regal
04-10-2010, 01:56 PM
I wonder if Ryehill Avenue will make a re-appearance in the coming days.

What was his story again? I remember him the lst time we had a manager search.

woodythehibee
04-10-2010, 02:00 PM
What was his story again? I remember him the lst time we had a manager search.

Jim Gannon was supposedly a 'shoe-in' for the job.

04-10-2010, 02:03 PM
Mowbray - God no. Venus - An even worse idea and much worse than any of the bring in an ex player plans.

Henrik Larsson?? That's a bit out of left field isn't it? Is he coaching or something these days?

Wouldn't want him as he'd be continually linked to Celtic, but still find it an interesting suggestion to randomly appear on the list.

04-10-2010, 02:47 PM

Get your dosh on him.

doubt it, turned down the championship in the summer to commit to hamilton so i dont think he'd come to us.

04-10-2010, 02:51 PM
Venus - An even worse idea and much worse than any of the bring in an ex player plans.

Why do you say that?

04-10-2010, 02:54 PM
Still nobody quoting Darren Ferguson :wink:

04-10-2010, 02:55 PM
Why do you say that?

We've been moaning about a lack of experience, Yogi had 6 years as a manager, Venus has 0.

A sizable chunk of the support would be immediately on his back when the Mowbray era free flowing style fails to materialise.

Along with Tony they presided over Celtic's worst run in living memory, on a budget we can never dream of. He also seemed to have been marginalised at Celtic, almost replaced by Peter Grant?

Finally, he's never shown any interest in becoming a manager in his own right to my recollection.

04-10-2010, 02:57 PM
We've been moaning about a lack of experience, Yogi had 6 years as a manager, Venus has 0.

A sizable chunk of the support would be immediately on his back when the Mowbray era free flowing style fails to materialise.

Along with Tony they presided over Celtic's worst run in living memory, on a budget we can never dream of. He also seemed to have been marginalised at Celtic, almost replaced by Peter Grant?

Finally, he's never shown any interest in becoming a manager in his own right to my recollection.

Fair enough.

04-10-2010, 03:20 PM
Why not?

Simply don't fancy him TBH just don't think he would fit in at ER

04-10-2010, 03:26 PM
If we hang on for a fortnight then we could pick up Gordon Stachan without a fee.:rolleyes:

04-10-2010, 03:27 PM
I may pop a cheeky 20 quid on Fenlon.

04-10-2010, 03:42 PM
doubt it, turned down the championship in the summer to commit to hamilton so i dont think he'd come to us.

And I'd hope he doesn't come to us.

confused
04-10-2010, 03:51 PM
I reckon Paul Ince will want to talk to them ,

KiddA
04-10-2010, 03:55 PM
McBookies have set these:

Odds on the next permanent Hibs manager: Jimmy Calderwood (4/1), Derek Adams (5/1), Michael O’Neill (6/1), Gus MacPherson (7/1), Tony Mowbray (8/1), Mark Venus (10/1), Alan Pardew, Pat Fenlon (both 14/1), Stuart McCall, Paul Ince (both 16/1), Iain Dowie, Henrik Larsson (both 18/1), Mike Newell (20/1), Csaba Laszlo (25/1).

liking the cheeky add of csaba at the end there :thumbsup:

Mogga or Adams for me!

Calderwood please no :bitchy:

04-10-2010, 03:58 PM
If we hang on for a fortnight then we could pick up Gordon Stachan without a fee.:rolleyes:

You just never know!

As a Hibs man, he always said he would like to become Hibs Manager one day.

04-10-2010, 04:10 PM
McBookie:

Jimmy Calderwood 4/1
Derek Adams 5/1
Michael O'Neill 6/1
Gus McPherson 7/1
Tony Mowbray 8/1
Mark Venus 10/1
Alan Pardew 14/1
Pat Fenlon 14/1
Paul Ince 16/1
Stuart McCall 16/1
Henrick Larsson 18/1
Ian Dowie 18/1
Mike Newell 20/1
Csaba Laszlo 25/1

That's horrendous!! Out of that lot M O'N is only one I didn't shudder at. I think most of those over 10/1 are only listed as an Ed De Graaf! Surprised there's no Butcher or Reid quoted there.

JDanielR1875
04-10-2010, 04:12 PM
i would like derek adams but i dont think he will come to the club...Calderwood would do me just fine. Hated the guy when he was at Aberdeen but i think its time to have a proven manager at our club.

04-10-2010, 04:12 PM
I may pop a cheeky 20 quid on Fenlon.

Funny that was the one at decent odds that was jumping out at me also.

04-10-2010, 04:18 PM
mowbray or ince from that lot.

Please god not calderwood!

micksoo
04-10-2010, 04:21 PM
i would like derek adams but i dont think he will come to the club.

Why not?

04-10-2010, 04:21 PM
Anyone checked the clubstore for our next manager...stranger things have happened :cool2:

04-10-2010, 05:04 PM

Since Ince is mince and he makes me wince ..... no chince :bitchy:

orourke
04-10-2010, 05:17 PM

Get your dosh on him.

seems like the natural choice to me, did well with Clyde and has Hamilton playing good football and steady in the league on a very low budget !!!

SloopJB
04-10-2010, 05:23 PM
Why? is Paul Ince a gambler?

richard_pitts
04-10-2010, 05:29 PM
I have it on good authority that Calderwood is interested. I think he'd do a decent job and has the ability to bring young players on :wink:

04-10-2010, 06:21 PM
mowbray or ince from that lot.

Please god not calderwood!

Please god not Mowbray :bitchy:

04-10-2010, 06:29 PM

Get your dosh on him.

Not really enthusiastic about any of the runners on the card however, Billy Reid would be my pick of the bunch for the same reasons highlighted by yourself.

(Incidentally, I'm sure he played for Dunfy in the League Cup final we won in the early 90's)

05-10-2010, 01:40 AM
Can anyone remember if Mowbray was quoted at the bookies when he got the job?

05-10-2010, 02:09 AM
Mowbary wasn't mentioned in any press or bookies if memory serves me right

05-10-2010, 06:11 AM
I've put £20 on Michael O'Neil.

05-10-2010, 06:30 AM
Not really enthusiastic about any of the runners on the card however, Billy Reid would be my pick of the bunch for the same reasons highlighted by yourself.

(Incidentally, I'm sure he played for Dunfy in the League Cup final we won in the early 90's)

Billy Davies maybe, Reids playing career was spectacularly unremarkable (a bit like the bookies shortlist for our current vacancy...)

archiebald
05-10-2010, 08:48 AM
Pat Fenlon. CERT

05-10-2010, 08:54 AM
Think O'Neill will get it. Billy Reid??? Please not.

05-10-2010, 10:14 AM
Pat Fenlon. CERT

An entire footballing career in the Irish leagues both player and manager:confused:

Why a cert?

magnificent_seven
05-10-2010, 11:40 AM
http://www.victorchandler.com/vcbet/en-gb/coupon/show/3/126456098/2839/10976/3466063/1

Michael O'Neill 9/4
Jimmy Calderwood 11/4
Billy Reid 7/1
Derek McInnes 8/1
Gus McPherson 8/1
Pat Fenlon 8/1
Mark Venus 9/1
Tony Mowbray 9/1
Jim Gannon 10/1
Craig Brown 11/1
Derek Adams 12/1
Steve Clarke 12/1
Chris Coleman 12/1
Nevio Scala 12/1
Terry Butcher 14/1
Colin Calderwood 16/1
Henrik Larsson 16/1
Ian McParland 16/1
Eric Black 16/1
John Hartson 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Russell Latapy 20/1
Bruce Rioch 20/1
Phil Brown 20/1
Steve Nicol 20/1
Lawrie Sanchez 22/1
Csaba Laszlo 33/1

12/1 for Adams is cracking odds.

05-10-2010, 11:42 AM
http://www.victorchandler.com/vcbet/en-gb/coupon/show/3/126456098/2839/10976/3466063/1

Michael O'Neill 9/4
Jimmy Calderwood 11/4
Billy Reid 7/1
Derek McInnes 8/1
Gus McPherson 8/1
Pat Fenlon 8/1
Mark Venus 9/1
Tony Mowbray 9/1
Jim Gannon 10/1
Craig Brown 11/1
Derek Adams 12/1
Steve Clarke 12/1
Chris Coleman 12/1
Nevio Scala 12/1
Terry Butcher 14/1
Colin Calderwood 16/1
Henrik Larsson 16/1
Ian McParland 16/1
Eric Black 16/1
John Hartson 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Russell Latapy 20/1
Bruce Rioch 20/1
Phil Brown 20/1
Steve Nicol 20/1
Lawrie Sanchez 22/1
Csaba Laszlo 33/1

Short odds on a two-horse race?

HibeeB
05-10-2010, 11:42 AM

Only if he gets the job :wink:

alanhall69
05-10-2010, 11:48 AM
Nevio Scala

05-10-2010, 11:59 AM

Michael O'Neill 9/4 Maybe but he is an ex hibbie and compo could be a issue.
Jimmy Calderwood 11/4 No chance and No way.
Billy Reid 7/1 Won't come. Had chance to go down south and said no.
Derek McInnes 8/1 We wont pay the comp required to get him
Gus McPherson 8/1 EH? I'm sure we can do better than that.
Pat Fenlon 8/1 Don't know enough about the guy.
Mark Venus 9/1 Short list.
Tony Mowbray 9/1 Still on 20k a week a celtic. Wont happen.
Jim Gannon 10/1 I doubt I'd be back.
Craig Brown 11/1 Won't leave Motherwell.
Derek Adams 12/1 Maybe. Again comp could be a problem.
Steve Clarke 12/1 Short list
Chris Coleman 12/1 Bomed big time in spain. Not sure.
Nevio Scala 12/1 Ha Ha, Nough said
Terry Butcher 14/1 Surprise here but I'd put him on short list.
Colin Calderwood 16/1 Short List
Henrik Larsson 16/1 EH? Who's having a laugh now.
Ian McParland 16/1 See above.
Eric Black 16/1 Def on short list but can't see it.
John Hartson 20/1 Wish him well but no again.
Stuart McCall 20/1 Yes please. Short list
Russell Latapy 20/1 Ha Ha, Can you imagine.
Bruce Rioch 20/1 Can't see it.
Phil Brown 20/1 We couldn't afford the wages.
Steve Nicol 20/1 Don't know, maybes
Lawrie Sanchez 22/1 Won't happen.
Csaba Laszlo 33/1 Ha ha,nice but he just took a job.

Just though I'd share my thought's.

magpie1892
05-10-2010, 12:00 PM
Not going to be Calderwood, I hear.

Manxhibs
05-10-2010, 12:04 PM
If I was betting man, I'd put my money on Derek Adams. The guys I would love tp see get the job are; Steve Clarke, Nevio Scala or Bruce Rioch. All very unlikely but we can dream, Petrie might surprise us.

05-10-2010, 12:24 PM
O'Neil has not had an approach but would be very interested. He still has a house and a flat in Edinburgh.

05-10-2010, 12:31 PM
Still no John Toshack :grr:

Are yehs awe Welshist? :greengrin

05-10-2010, 12:33 PM
Adams record isn't too hot in league games. No idea why he would be considered.

05-10-2010, 12:35 PM
Ruud Gullit :greengrin

05-10-2010, 12:37 PM

Maybe he'd win us the Scottish Cup. :wink:

05-10-2010, 12:39 PM
Joe Kinnear :wink:

sunshine1875
05-10-2010, 12:40 PM
Why is Billy Stark not included?

05-10-2010, 12:43 PM

Or Stuart Baxter? :wink:

I made this point yesterday. I don't want a manager on the basis of one cup run.

Jim Magilton not been mentioned yet?

05-10-2010, 12:45 PM

Why would he be? Has he done anything above the run-of-the-mill in football management?

05-10-2010, 12:46 PM
Jurgen Klinsman?

aberhibsfc
05-10-2010, 12:55 PM
Jurgen Klinsman?

Maybe Jurgen Klinsmann would be better.

05-10-2010, 12:56 PM
Jurgen Klinsman?

Mare like Jurgen Doon.

Purehibee_MYB
05-10-2010, 12:58 PM

Sauce?

05-10-2010, 01:03 PM
Sauce?

Tango and chutney :greengrin

sparkiehibs
05-10-2010, 01:04 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Nevio-Scala-quick-to-throw.6565156.jp

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevio_Scala

sparkiehibs
05-10-2010, 01:08 PM
About Steve Nicol

http://www.revolutionsoccer.net/team/index.cfm?ac=coachbio&bio=31959

darwenhibby
05-10-2010, 01:32 PM
Steve Archibald anyone:dunno:

Septimus
05-10-2010, 01:42 PM
I think that we should let Gareth Evans have a go for a few weeks. He must know his way round the club and will have the interests of the talented youngsters in mind. Let him select an assistant from the playing staff. He knows who the trouble makers are if such they be and has nothing to lose gby leavi9ng them out of the team.

05-10-2010, 01:45 PM
I think that we should let Gareth Evans have a go for a few weeks. He must know his way round the club and will have the interests of the talented youngsters in mind. Let him select an assistant from the playing staff. He knows who the trouble makers are if such they be and has nothing to lose gby leavi9ng them out of the team.

Ad love Evans to get the job :agree:

big-mo
05-10-2010, 01:47 PM

Strong rumours going about the club that it could be tangoman, I have already emailed the club voicing my opposition to him being appointed, if any of you also disagree with him being made manager, I would urge you also to let the club know.

05-10-2010, 01:48 PM
Strong rumours going about the club that it could be tangoman, I have already emailed the club voicing my opposition to him being appointed, if any of you also disagree with him being made manager, I would urge you also to let the club know.

Petrie wont hire JC, You seen the price of sunbeds for 7 minutes?

05-10-2010, 02:19 PM
Get yer cash on Steve Clarke:wink:

hibee4life1983
05-10-2010, 03:14 PM
Surely the board realises the importance of the next manager, weve been down the ex players route and it backfired, paying pennys doesnt help. I know exactly how much mixu was on,9k after tax per month, not including bonuses. it might have been upped since then.
For me the board has to push the boat out now, a recognised expeirenced manager is needed, badly.
I wouldnt be surprised if they go for the cheapest option. Which unfortunatly would be tanfastic.

M11BMO
05-10-2010, 04:43 PM
Get yer cash on Steve Clarke:wink:

Has Mr Mourinho as a close contact. Loan deals for Madrid fringe players!? :hmmm:

Kaiser_Sauzee
05-10-2010, 04:59 PM
Clarke or Mowbray for sure. Probably Clarke.

05-10-2010, 05:06 PM
Shamrock Rovers V Bohemians tomigt in a virtual league decider.
O Neill V Fenlon. Winner if the league gets the Hibs job.
We'll see whoreally wants it. It's a great incentive. Isn't it?

Hibs On Tour
05-10-2010, 05:13 PM
There's not one person in that list that stands out and excites me. Perhaps thats the level we're at I suppose but I happen to feel that we sell ourselves short sometimes.

Best behind the scenes set-up in Scotland bar none. Chance to take on the OF. Half-decent squad with one of the great Scottish talents of recent years [DR] along with other quality players [e.g. LM, SB]. How about pushing the boat out and paying big bucks for a top manager to come in - someone experienced at a level at least equivalent to our own and proven at both getting results and getting the best out of players who perhaps didn't get to the heights their talents should have had them at. If they're good at nurturing youth all the better.

A good manager is worth 5 good players in my book...

If it has to be someone on that list, I'd take Stevie Clarke but I'd far prefer someone who has managed before instead of someone learning their trade. Perhaps someone in as manager with SC assisting? GE to keep bringing the youth through?

leithsansiro
05-10-2010, 05:19 PM
Oh, Shabby Laslo would be good, wouldn't it? Can you imagine the laughter if he pit one over the Hearts?:agree:

05-10-2010, 05:24 PM
Steve Clarke looks good to me

Musselbound
05-10-2010, 05:29 PM

:agree: Surprised anybody thinks 12-1 is good odds. Wouldn't even make a shortlist for me. Done quite well with Ross County but too similar a scenario to Yogi for me - taking an unfancied side to the Scottish Cup final being their biggest achievements. I would rather focus on league form which is more of an indicator of consistency.

05-10-2010, 05:48 PM

Dont know if he has the required badges but he would be someone the players would play for and from his time at hibs would take no nonsense from the players.Totally professional and with the right guy beside him could be a success.

WeAreHibs
05-10-2010, 06:01 PM
Petrie wont hire JC, You seen the price of sunbeds for 7 minutes?

He's only interested because of the Sunshine on Leith:wink:

IFONLY
05-10-2010, 06:04 PM

IMO he is part of the problem

magpie1892
05-10-2010, 06:23 PM
Sauce?

Fellow **** journalists x3. One at the Press Association, one at the Daily Record and one at TSPL.

05-10-2010, 06:29 PM
IMO he is part of the problem

And how in the name of all things green do you come to that conclusion?

Love the Green
05-10-2010, 06:35 PM

hibsitis
05-10-2010, 06:48 PM
I disagree that compensation could be an issue. Given recent appointments, lack of success and knock-ons to income, this is a far bigger deal than worrying about cash to get the right man and RP will know that. His credibility is also at stake.

I would be extremely surprised if the next manager is not someone currently in employment and requiring a buyout.

05-10-2010, 06:54 PM
Shamrock Rovers V Bohemians tomigt in a virtual league decider.
O Neill V Fenlon. Winner if the league gets the Hibs job.
We'll see whoreally wants it. It's a great incentive. Isn't it?

1-0 Fenlon

06-10-2010, 03:30 PM
Interesting odds at Victor Chandler now.

On Monday Steve Clarke was 12/1 now 9/4, somebody know something??

Or wishful thinking by us Hibbies??

06-10-2010, 03:45 PM
Interesting odds at Victor Chandler now.

On Monday Steve Clarke was 12/1 now 9/4, somebody know something??

Or wishful thinking by us Hibbies??

I wouldnt think so, that'll just be where the money (from Hibs fans who are hoping) is been on so far.

07-10-2010, 12:02 AM
thought I would check the odds before I went to ma bed and found that paddypower had removed it? then I checked Victor Chandler and William Hills and its nowhere to be seen? it is late and I am tired so maybe its staring me in the face. here are the links to the football specials pages

http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials

http://www.victorchandler.com/vcbet/en-gb/sports/vc_index/3

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/y/5/sp/Football.html

a couple of quotes from the bookies

William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly said: "Steve Clarke has been a big mover and has been backed in from 8-1 to 6-4 while Jimmy Calderwood has gone the other way, out to 6-1. Michael O'Neill is the short price favourite at the moment and it appears that he may well get the job."

Hamilton manager Reid admitted yesterday that turning down the chance to succeed Hughes at Easter Road would be much tougher than it was to reject a move to the Championship with Swansea City during the summer.

07-10-2010, 12:42 AM
Am I the only one that thinks it unlikely that O'Neill would take the job till after the end of the Irish season? In which case I can't see him being here for interviews and we'd no doubt have heard something had Hibs approached Shamrock for permission to talk etc.

Bohemian_Hibee
07-10-2010, 06:16 AM
Am I the only one that thinks it unlikely that O'Neill would take the job till after the end of the Irish season? In which case I can't see him being here for interviews and we'd no doubt have heard something had Hibs approached Shamrock for permission to talk etc.

Good point. O'Neill could have won the league on Tuesday night if they'd won (well, 8pts ahead with 3 games to go), but their hoofball style of football was found wanting and it now looks like the league here could go down to the last day of the season (Oct 29th), so can't see him going anywhere before then. As far as I know O'Neill is under contract so there could be compensation issues...

Interesting to see our manager Fenlon also getting mentioned. Dundee United wanted him back in February this year, but Bohs held firm when a compensation package was being discussed. Compo now not an issue. Not sure if he's the man for Hibs, but I reckon he would be by far the best choice of those two.

07-10-2010, 07:01 AM
thought I would check the odds before I went to ma bed and found that paddypower had removed it? then I checked Victor Chandler and William Hills and its nowhere to be seen? it is late and I am tired so maybe its staring me in the face. here are the links to the football specials pages

http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials

http://www.victorchandler.com/vcbet/en-gb/sports/vc_index/3

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/y/5/sp/Football.html

a couple of quotes from the bookies

William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly said: "Steve Clarke has been a big mover and has been backed in from 8-1 to 6-4 while Jimmy Calderwood has gone the other way, out to 6-1. Michael O'Neill is the short price favourite at the moment and it appears that he may well get the job."

Hamilton manager Reid admitted yesterday that turning down the chance to succeed Hughes at Easter Road would be much tougher than it was to reject a move to the Championship with Swansea City during the summer.

Just had a check with all the bookies and no one is offering odds any more, has it been decided and how do they know these things.

07-10-2010, 07:01 AM
Paul Hart now being linked according to record

northgreen24
07-10-2010, 07:09 AM
please not another hibby why do we feel the need to do this all the time.

it hasent worked so try something else.

less preasure IMO opinon

07-10-2010, 07:26 AM
Jim Jeffries is 100/1. :grr:

07-10-2010, 08:09 AM
its back on paddypower now with steve clark as 11/8 favourite. biggest mover seems to be adams who is now 20/1

07-10-2010, 11:47 AM
its back on paddypower now with steve clark as 11/8 favourite. biggest mover seems to be adams who is now 20/1

Drifter?

alex74
07-10-2010, 12:32 PM
:top marksif its not steve clark 2nd choice would be derek mcinnes what do u think

Niffy
07-10-2010, 12:36 PM
Ossi Ardilles is hunting out a job I hear ... ??

07-10-2010, 12:51 PM

Clarke now 10/11 fav, obviously being backed.

07-10-2010, 02:09 PM
i went to the wee live chat bit on 365 and the guy said if wanted to ken the odds on Clarke getting the job i was to phone him :confused:

E.T. is a Hibee
07-10-2010, 10:04 PM
please not another hibby why do we feel the need to do this all the time.

it hasent worked so try something else.

less preasure IMO opinon

Not only that IMO he aint good enough why do people think he would do well, the league he manages in is awful! We need Steve Clarke to accept the job!

07-10-2010, 10:05 PM
i went to the wee live chat bit on 365 and the guy said if wanted to ken the odds on Clarke getting the job i was to phone him :confused:

Watch out Andy, the bookie could be grooming you - next thing you know you'll have a photo of his tadger landing in your inbox.

Wait a minute, that's not bookies, that's Yams. My bad.:greengrin

07-10-2010, 10:14 PM

I had to request the Steve Clarke odds on paddy power....quoted me 25/1 on tuesday....stupidly never backed it....so guaranteed appointment :agree:

northgreen24
07-10-2010, 10:32 PM
I have nothing against MO but what has he done to warrent being the fav at the bookies:confused::confused:

managed brechin city woooohooo and now in the Irish league with only a couple of teams that contend the title. Unless we are saying that the Irish league is comparable to the scottish premier he has never managed at our level.

I know SC has zero lead manger experience however everything else makes him a fantastic candidate i.e top 1st team coach, assistant, trainier and knowledge gained at one of the best club in europe.

however i did think good things when we signe maka but how wrong was I:greengrin

07-10-2010, 10:47 PM
I have nothing against MO but what has he done to warrent being the fav at the bookies:confused::confused:

managed brechin city woooohooo and now in the Irish league with only a couple of teams that contend the title. Unless we are saying that the Irish league is comparable to the scottish premier he has never managed at our level.

I know SC has zero lead manger experience however everything else makes him a fantastic candidate i.e top 1st team coach, assistant, trainier and knowledge gained at one of the best club in europe.

however i did think good things when we signe maka but how wrong was I:greengrin

he is not the favourite on paddy power mate, Clarke is at 10/11 tho just noticed like last night the betting has been taken down.

http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials/manager-specials

08-10-2010, 07:02 AM
There is nothing on Paddy Power or McBookie at the moment, Hills still have prices up which are

11/8 Clarke
7/4 O'Neill
5/2 Hart
5/1 Rapolder
7/1 Calderwood
10/1 Evans & Mowbary

08-10-2010, 07:39 AM
Manager prices get taken down at night-time fairly regularly

I don't really bet now but sometimes the best way to do it on managers is trading on betfair

08-10-2010, 10:15 AM
Odds back on Paddy Power still have Clarke at 10/11 fav with O'Neill at 15/8.

There is a new name in there at 10/1, Anthony Hudson, currently coaching in the USA with Real Maryland, he is only 29 and is the son of former England player Alan Hudson.

Another name to add to the long list. :confused:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Hudson_(soccer)

08-10-2010, 10:35 AM
Odds back on Paddy Power still have Clarke at 10/11 fav with O'Neill at 15/8.

There is a new name in there at 10/1, Anthony Hudson, currently coaching in the USA with Real Maryland, he is only 29 and is the son of former England player Alan Hudson.

Another name to add to the long list. :confused:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Hudson_(soccer)

I don't see anything happening with this guy, I certainly wouldnt want a 29 year old manager.

sunshine1875
08-10-2010, 10:56 AM
Updated with some new entries. Many of the latest Hibs.net names not yet quoted by McBookie.:hmmm:

McBookie:

Steve Clarke ---- now 11/10
Michael O'Neill 6/1 now 2/1
Paul Hart ---- now 4/1
Jimmy Calderwood 4/1 now 7/1
Pat Fenlon 14/1 now 8/1
Billy Reid ---- now 10/1
Derek Adams 5/1 now 10/1
Tony Mowbray 8/1 now 10/1
Derek McInnes ---- now 12/1
Gus McPherson 7/1 now 12/1
Mark Venus 10/1 now 12/1
Alan Pardew 14/1 now 20/1
Paul Ince 16/1 now 20/1
Henrick Larsson 18/1 now 22/1
Gordon Strachan ---- now 25/1
Ian Dowie 18/1 now 25/1
Mike Newell 20/1 now 25/1
Stuart McCall 16/1 now 25/1
Csaba Laszlo 25/1 now 33/1

Comiston Hibee
08-10-2010, 04:59 PM
11/8 Steve Clarke :thumbsup::agree:
7/4 Michael O'Neill
5/2 Paul Hart
5/1 Uwe Rapolder
7/1 Jimmy Calderwood
10/1 Gareth Evans
10/1 Tony Mowbray
10/1 Pat Fenlon
12/1 Eddie May
14/1 Derek Adams
14/1 Gus McPherson
14/1 Mark Venus
14/1 Billy Reid
14/1 John McGlynn
14/1 Phil Brown
16/1 Derek McInnes
16/1 Craig Brown
16/1 Bobby Williamson
18/1 Jim Gannon
20/1 Alan Pardew
25/1 Chris Coleman
25/1 Gordon Strachan

08-10-2010, 05:00 PM
Evans 10/1 :hmmm:

08-10-2010, 05:04 PM
I only see Clarke, ONeill, Hart and Reid as serious contenders personally.

08-10-2010, 05:06 PM
So the bookies haven't got a clue either? Make up names, and if mugs are daft enough to back them based on sentiment, more fool them, er....

08-10-2010, 05:44 PM
Who's Pat Fenlon? is he the Bohemians manager? 10/1 with Paddy Power seems quite short for someone not widely touted.

HELMIE-HIBEE
08-10-2010, 05:58 PM
No Kevin MacDonald mentioned? Has apparently thrown his hat in.
(scottish;successfull at Aston Villa;good with youth; contacts south of border.)
Could be worth a flutter :hmmm:

Green_one
08-10-2010, 06:49 PM
7/4 Michael O'Neill
5/2 Paul Hart
5/1 Uwe Rapolder
7/1 Jimmy Calderwood
10/1 Gareth Evans
10/1 Tony Mowbray
10/1 Pat Fenlon
12/1 Eddie May
14/1 Derek Adams
14/1 Gus McPherson
14/1 Mark Venus
14/1 Billy Reid
14/1 John McGlynn
14/1 Phil Brown
16/1 Derek McInnes
16/1 Craig Brown
16/1 Bobby Williamson
18/1 Jim Gannon
20/1 Alan Pardew
25/1 Chris Coleman
25/1 Gordon Strachan

If this is a real list its simply insane

Bobby Williamson - he is about as likely to get a job with Hibs as I am (16-1:bitchy:)

Gordon Strachan - firstly he would have to be sacked by Boro, then be in a position to join Hibs and want to and us want him - that is 25-1 ??? more like 1025-1

Eddie May - somewhere in the 'Hibs to win the cup this year' possibility - none

How about Herman Goering - 30-1 ??? Lets not knock him back just because he is dead.

08-10-2010, 10:29 PM
12/1 eddie may :grr: would rather have yogi than him:confused:

sundo1875
09-10-2010, 04:39 PM
who is uwe rapolder popped out of no where

09-10-2010, 04:50 PM
how is uwe rapolder popped out of no where

He alerted the Daily Record to say he was interested.

09-10-2010, 04:54 PM
12/1 eddie may :grr: would rather have yogi than him:confused:

dont think he is on the list anymore, but seriously why the **** was he ever on it?

09-10-2010, 04:55 PM
He alerted the Daily Record to say he was interested.

That alone should rule him out.

11-10-2010, 02:23 PM
Blobby Williamson 16/1 :hilarious

Ave got as much chance as him of getting the job, Who thinks of these odds?:bitchy:

11-10-2010, 02:31 PM

Ave got as much chance as him of getting the job, Who thinks of these odds?:bitchy:

Press and analysts who presumed we'd hire either an ex player or an SPL journeyman!

11-10-2010, 02:34 PM
Still get 4/9 on Clarke at Hills, if this is a done deal, as many seem to think it is, that would be a helluva bet. :greengrin

11-10-2010, 02:43 PM
no mention of paul le guen???? According to glasgow evening times hibs have failed to get him and he was our no1 target.......mind boggling

11-10-2010, 03:17 PM
no mention of paul le guen???? According to glasgow evening times hibs have failed to get him and he was our no1 target.......mind boggling

don't believe it maself, heres the link

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/editor-s-picks/hibs-miss-out-on-shock-le-guen-bid-1.1060824

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 03:35 PM
Looks like Rodders is doing a great job keeping his mouth closed until all the I's are dotted and T's are crossed!

Never seen soooo many managers names getting banded about for the one job. :thumbsup:

Musselbound
11-10-2010, 04:18 PM

I know. It's ridiculous. As if Hibs fans would be living in the past enough to want to recruit one of our ex-managers.:wink:

GB6
11-10-2010, 10:52 PM
can't get prices on hills or paddy power :hmmm:

11-10-2010, 10:57 PM
can't get prices on hills or paddy power :hmmm:

The book will be closed overnight in case someone lumps on and no-one is there to adjust the odds.

Nothing sinister.

hibsdaft
11-10-2010, 11:01 PM
If this is a real list its simply insane

Bobby Williamson - he is about as likely to get a job with Hibs as I am (16-1:bitchy:)

Gordon Strachan - firstly he would have to be sacked by Boro, then be in a position to join Hibs and want to and us want him - that is 25-1 ??? more like 1025-1

Eddie May - somewhere in the 'Hibs to win the cup this year' possibility - none

How about Herman Goering - 30-1 ??? Lets not knock him back just because he is dead.

:greengrin:greengrin

11-10-2010, 11:17 PM
7/4 Michael O'Neill
5/2 Paul Hart
5/1 Uwe Rapolder
7/1 Jimmy Calderwood
10/1 Gareth Evans
10/1 Tony Mowbray
10/1 Pat Fenlon
12/1 Eddie May
14/1 Derek Adams
14/1 Gus McPherson
14/1 Mark Venus
14/1 Billy Reid
14/1 John McGlynn
14/1 Phil Brown
16/1 Derek McInnes
16/1 Craig Brown
16/1 Bobby Williamson
18/1 Jim Gannon
20/1 Alan Pardew
25/1 Chris Coleman
25/1 Gordon Strachan

it's because of the above I reckon RP and the board will leave choosing a new manager for a few weeks yet. I really think they will give Gareth an opportunity to see where he can take the team. Silly. silly season is upon us again and it is worse than ridiculous!

12-10-2010, 12:01 AM
No Kevin MacDonald mentioned? Has apparently thrown his hat in.
(scottish;successfull at Aston Villa;good with youth; contacts south of border.)
Could be worth a flutter :hmmm:
He would be my choice ahead of any of the others, but somehow I can't see it happening. Pity though, good coach.

12-10-2010, 12:38 AM
it's because of the above I reckon RP and the board will leave choosing a new manager for a few weeks yet. I really think they will give Gareth an opportunity to see where he can take the team. Silly. silly season is upon us again and it is worse than ridiculous!

Considering he's as big a part of the previous failed regime as any other, not for me thanks.

Besides, after all the talk of some truly top drawer candidates, giving Evans the job would be brutally underwhelming.

12-10-2010, 08:14 AM
Considering he's as big a part of the previous failed regime as any other, not for me thanks.

Besides, after all the talk of some truly top drawer candidates, giving Evans the job would be brutally underwhelming.

have to agree, but I hope he is kept on by the next manager whoever that is!

12-10-2010, 09:40 AM
Clarke still available at 4/9 but for the first time Billy Stark has been quoted at 6/1, maybe it will be Stark for the main man. :dunno:

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/e/1494765/sp/Next-Hibernian-Manager.html

12-10-2010, 09:45 AM
have to agree, but I hope he is kept on by the next manager whoever that is!

I don't really know much about Hibs outwith the first 11. Was it GE that was in charge of all conquering under 19 team?

helsbels
12-10-2010, 09:48 AM
I don't really know much about Hibs outwith the first 11. Was it GE that was in charge of all conquering under 19 team?

No that was Alistair Stevenson & James McDonaugh, Gareth Evans took the reserves when it was up and running & now her looks after the players on the edge of the 1st team like Booth, Moyes, Flynn etc and helps with the 1st team as well.

12-10-2010, 12:06 PM
Maybe this is a long shot, but on the William Hill website it says "Next Hibernian Manager"......is it not usually " Next PERMANENT .... manager" ?

I'd say that 20/1 for Gareth Evans to be the next manager would be a decent bet.

Let's beat the bookies on a technicality :greengrin

johncrobertson@
12-10-2010, 04:27 PM
Skybet now giving 1/6 on Stevie Clark with Brito at 9/2 - Michael O'Neill now drifting out to 9/1

12-10-2010, 06:42 PM
I don't see how anyone could want him. It's a nonsense :agree:

Pretty much aye, I don't see how if people are complaining about appointing inexperienced ex players, then suggest Evans!

Happy enough for him to remain as a coach, but if there are issues with indiscipline, people refusing to train etc then surely as a coach he's as involved as Yogi and Rice were in that?

mcfly
17-10-2010, 11:24 AM
sky bet now offering clarke at 4/6 and pat fenlon at 2/1

appears a 2 horse race.

still prefer clarke, with his contacts - sure he'd pick up a few loan deals in jan

17-10-2010, 03:50 PM
sky bet now offering clarke at 4/6 and pat fenlon at 2/1

appears a 2 horse race.

still prefer clarke, with his contacts - sure he'd pick up a few loan deals in jan

CLARKE NO LONGER THE FAVOURITE, ITS CALDERWOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

COLIN CALDERWOOD

http://www.skybet.com/betting/football/manager-specials/t10002896.html

17-10-2010, 04:01 PM
CLARKE NO LONGER THE FAVOURITE, ITS CALDERWOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

COLIN CALDERWOOD

http://www.skybet.com/betting/football/manager-specials/t10002896.html

Currently assistant manager at Newcastle, they must know something for him to be made fav and knock Clarke out to 11/4. :hmmm:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Calderwood

17-10-2010, 04:03 PM
Currently assistant manager at Newcastle, they must know something for him to be made fav and knock Clarke out to 11/4. :hmmm:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Calderwood

i'm no saying/predictin Clarke won't get it, but I said to my uncle last night, the Clarke thing just seems to be a snowballed rumour!

17-10-2010, 04:29 PM
betting changed again, clarke back as favourite 6/4 Calderwood 2/1 Fenlon 4/1

17-10-2010, 06:02 PM
Jeez, now the betting is gone again! i'm getting fed up of this:grr:

17-10-2010, 06:11 PM
The betting has never meant a thing. Hibs don't give a thing away so it's just reaction to covering money put down.

SON OF PADDY
17-10-2010, 06:52 PM
The betting has never meant a thing. Hibs don't give a thing away so it's just reaction to covering money put down.

I Truely believe that Rod and the board will get the RIGHT man this time !!! :wink:

17-10-2010, 07:13 PM
I Truely believe that Rod and the board will get the RIGHT man this time !!! :wink:

What makes you so confident this time?

alex74
17-10-2010, 07:27 PM
What makes you so confident this time?Me a think fenlon goin to get the job that could have been him in the stand yesterday giving someone information to give to Gareth Evens half way thru the first half its got to be the new man it wasnt Clark or Stark as we would heard by now if they were at the game what do you think:agree:

17-10-2010, 07:32 PM
Me a think fenlon goin to get the job that could have been him in the stand yesterday giving someone information to give to Gareth Evens half way thru the first half its got to be the new man it wasnt Clark or Stark as we would heard by now if they were at the game what do you think:agree:

I think it's an utterly ridiculous suggestion that Fenlon was in the crowd giving instructions to GE and AS :greengrin: :agree:

17-10-2010, 07:33 PM

But the players know who the next boss is (apparently) :rolleyes:

alex74
17-10-2010, 07:35 PM
I think it's an utterly ridiculous suggestion that Fenlon was in the crowd giving instructions to GE and AS :greengrin: :agree:Hows that

SON OF PADDY
17-10-2010, 07:44 PM
W8hat makes you so confident this time?

IMHO " WE CAN'T KEEP F##KING ABOUT WITH MANAGERS " simples ? :grr:

Graham Law
18-10-2010, 04:12 AM

No they don't..

18-10-2010, 08:58 AM

If Clarke had met the players, they would all have placed bets on him. And they would have advised their mates and family to do the same.

The recent fluctuations in the betting suggest that this hasn't happened.

Its still all speculation.

Mikeystewart
18-10-2010, 09:05 AM

Get your dosh on him.

I'm sure I have heard that somewhere before :wink: