View Full Version : The New Manager Mega Thread - Please Post Rumours In Here

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

08-10-2010, 09:04 AM
Ex Wales, Sunderland and Hull City respectively now all linked with the job.

How many manager vacancies have we got?

08-10-2010, 09:08 AM
Have these names been mentioned in this mornings papers or are they just linked by people on here?

08-10-2010, 09:09 AM
Ex Wales, Sunderland and Hull City respectively now all linked with the job.

How many manager vacancies have we got?

Depends who has been linking them?

A manager can get linked by the media but these days anyone can post on a fans site "linking" anyone they want with a job.

I'm not saying these names haven't been linked but I haven't seen or heard their names reported in the media.

08-10-2010, 09:10 AM
I'm salivating, in a heartbeat, wages would be the problem, please please please, get it sorted Petrie, not Hibs class etc.

08-10-2010, 09:13 AM
I don't know how true it is, but if it is i'm quite happy at the quality of people who are apparently interested. Hart/Clarke/MacDonald. These are football folk way above the standard we normally seem to attract, and I'd be happy with any of them.

08-10-2010, 09:16 AM
The Villa players seemed to want Lerner to give him the job full time. He's credited with bringing through a lot of the young lads there as well I'm sure I heard that anyway.

Sounds like a more than decent candidate to me.

That's just the usual kind of bollocks you get out of players when a caretaker is in charge. Its code for "don't bring in someone else who will probably bin me".

08-10-2010, 09:43 AM
He actually took two teams in to the Premiership (Bradford and Wigan) but would want far too much money, knowing what he was on at Wigan.

08-10-2010, 09:50 AM
I don't know how true it is, but if it is i'm quite happy at the quality of people who are apparently interested. Hart/Clarke/MacDonald. These are football folk way above the standard we normally seem to attract, and I'd be happy with any of them.

BH i am with you on this one...adding Phil Brown to Hart/clarke/hart and TBH all these guys have a vast experience in the EPL.

Would be happy with any of them o and I would add the guy McDonald to that group as well.

IFONLY
08-10-2010, 10:13 AM
I have been reliably informed that our new management team will be Willie McStay with Ian McParland as assistant. Source is a good friend who has heard directly from Willie McStay.

Thoughts?

If you really believe this why not pop along to your local bookies and put your mortgage on it or any other money you have. Never heard so much drivel in my life, although there might be mileage in McParland you never know.

TrickyNicky
08-10-2010, 10:14 AM
I'm salivating, in a heartbeat, wages would be the problem, please please please, get it sorted Petrie, not Hibs class etc.

They are good candidates in my opinion to be associated with Hibs - if it is true.

I know we speak of "wages being a problem" but I often wonder if wages are an issue with managers of the calibre that have been bandied about recently!

I'm most sure that football managers don't like to be idle.

They are junkies to the adrenalin of competition, half time, winning, bouncing back after a defeat and being seen to show how good they can be when up against it!

Who knows - we may get lucky!

08-10-2010, 10:27 AM
Sbragia would be amazing.

Spudster
08-10-2010, 10:32 AM
Have these names been mentioned in this mornings papers or are they just linked by people on here?

I'd imagine someone briefly mentioned or suggested the names on here, papers will have it as "in the running" the next morning.

Mac
08-10-2010, 10:33 AM
Sbragia would be amazing.

Seriously? ahead of Brown?

08-10-2010, 10:34 AM

Net rumour, I've heard from a scout at Mansfield that....or....I was talking to a youth player at Kaiserslauten and he said.....etc.

08-10-2010, 10:34 AM
Is he as much a promising youngster as young Paul was???:duck::duck:

As old Paul still is. Still got the potential. :greengrin

stu in nottingham
08-10-2010, 11:03 AM
Think Willie McStay and Ian McParland were team mates at Notts County for a couple of years in the late eighties.

08-10-2010, 11:28 AM
Seriously? ahead of Brown?

Brown and Calderwood for me.
We'd get value for money out of the sunlamp.

08-10-2010, 11:29 AM
There has been some media talk about this. Mc Stay has managed at Sligo Rovers (where he won domestic honours) and Ujpest Doza (Hungary). He has spent 15 years in between coaching Celtic reserves and youth teams. McParland has extensive coaching experience (Notts Forest, Ipswich) and managed Notts County for two years.

Not sure as to the link between the two?

DJ HIBBY
08-10-2010, 11:32 AM
Both McParland and Mcstay are friends. I do know they have both applied separately for the job.

Time will tell and may be wrong, just passing on information.

For what its worth i would prefer Steve Clarke.

stu in nottingham
08-10-2010, 11:42 AM
There has been some media talk about this. Mc Stay has managed at Sligo Rovers (where he won domestic honours) and Ujpest Doza (Hungary). He has spent 15 years in between coaching Celtic reserves and youth teams. McParland has extensive coaching experience (Notts Forest, Ipswich) and managed Notts County for two years.

Not sure as to the link between the two?

See post 270.

McParland also co-managed Forest with Franks Barlow for a time in 2006. Went on a near record run of six straight wins.

SurferRosa
08-10-2010, 11:48 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6432239,00.html

Says he is interested and has a proven track record of working with youngsters. Could be a good appointment
Williamson brought through Riordan,Brown,Thompson,O`Conner and Whittaker. If bringing on young players is the only criteria for the job, maybe we should ask him to give up on Uganda and come back.....!!!! :rolleyes: Paul Harts managerial record in England is abysmal and that should be the only consideration.

08-10-2010, 11:53 AM
Both McParland and Mcstay are friends. I do know they have both applied separately for the job.

Time will tell and may be wrong, just passing on information.

For what its worth i would prefer Steve Clarke.

Do you have a list of those who definitely have applied?

SurferRosa
08-10-2010, 12:19 PM
Update on Paul Hart in the Daily Record, backed by ex Falkirk goalie Scott Flinders who said despite being sacked by Barnsley for failing to lead a promotion charge from League One, the 57-year-old can be a success at Hibs according to Flinders.
He said: "As soon as he walked through the door at Barnsley he got the utmost respect of all the players.

"He's a really strict manager but a nice guy as well. He had an unlucky time at Barnsley but I really rate him."

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2010/10/08/paul-hart-backed-for-hibs-hotseat-by-ex-falkirk-keeper-scott-flinders-86908-22617901/
If he sez so it`s a done deal then.....wait a minute..who the **** is Scott Flinders?..!!!!!

PenCHibee
08-10-2010, 01:00 PM
I have been reliably informed that our new management team will be Willie McStay with Ian McParland as assistant. Source is a good friend who has heard directly from Willie McStay.

Thoughts?

Interesting to note that when McStay managed in Hungary, he was assisted by our very own Joe McBride....oh no, not another ex-player connection?!

coolhibbie
08-10-2010, 01:04 PM
as the thread states guys mo johnstone as new hibs manager how would u feel?
Has plenty of contacts in america and is looking for a job

08-10-2010, 01:07 PM
I'm sure we're the only team he's wanted to manage, Mrs Johnston.

08-10-2010, 01:09 PM
He used to spend a lot of time in Edinburgh when at Rangers, as he was not welcome in Glasgow.

Also was an ex Hearts player.

I'd say there are 2 chances none & no effin. :greengrin

wazoo1875
08-10-2010, 01:13 PM
I'm sure we're the only team he's wanted to manage, Mrs Johnston.

Saw the thread title and the opportunity to post these exact words.
If yer no fast yer last and aw that ! :grr:
He'd maybe not be too bad a shout, he's done well over in the states. But I think he'd be mental to uproot and come back home for our job.

Littlest Hobo
08-10-2010, 03:15 PM
mo johnstone

08-10-2010, 04:00 PM
Not had time to read through the whole of this thread, but just in case, the Evening News today is giving Kevin McDonald a mention as a possible choice.

08-10-2010, 04:03 PM
Not had time to read through the whole of this thread, but just in case, the Evening News today is giving Kevin McDonald a mention as a possible choice.

Saw this reported elsewhere. No danger we'll pay Villa the required compo for a reserve/youth team coach from the Premiership, so a non-starter unless he walks or is allowed to walk having been overlooked for the top job.

08-10-2010, 04:11 PM
Saw this reported elsewhere. No danger we'll pay Villa the required compo for a reserve/youth team coach from the Premiership, so a non-starter unless he walks or is allowed to walk having been overlooked for the top job.
My thoughts too, still he'd be quite a good choice if it were to happen. He seems to focus on young upcoming players. But as you say, money would be a big problem in this case.

HELMIE-HIBEE
08-10-2010, 06:50 PM
QUOTE=ekhibee;2601392]My thoughts too, still he'd be quite a good choice if it were to happen. He seems to focus on young upcoming players. But as you say, money would be a big problem in this case.[/QUOTE]
:agree: MacDonald for me, good record with youth; good knowledge of up and coming players from premiership- dont know if compensation would come into it though- will he not be an employee of club(salaried) and not on a contract like main managers?

homielang
08-10-2010, 06:55 PM
No way to Mo Johnstone. He is gash as a Manager and evaluator of talent. He was in charge of Toronto FC for 3 seasons and our support is the best in the MLS but the team is rubbish.

08-10-2010, 07:06 PM

The film director?

08-10-2010, 10:05 PM
Williamson brought through Riordan,Brown,Thompson,O`Conner and Whittaker. If bringing on young players is the only criteria for the job, maybe we should ask him to give up on Uganda and come back.....!!!! :rolleyes: Paul Harts managerial record in England is abysmal and that should be the only consideration.
think you will find that a certain frank sauzee gave deeks his debut:wink:

leithsansiro
08-10-2010, 10:38 PM
Still think that Stevie Nicol would be a good shout...

Don't know why, it just seems that any random manager seems to be getting touted.

09-10-2010, 09:02 AM
I've got a wee sneaky feeling that Billy Reid is one of the front runners and he could well end up as our new Ayatollah.

SurferRosa
09-10-2010, 05:03 PM
think you will find that a certain frank sauzee gave deeks his debut:wink:
Then i stand corrected. :agree:

JCHibby
09-10-2010, 06:11 PM
The boy who was number 2 to Martin O'Neill (I think), surprised his interest has not been noted. No source or anything but I have a sneaky feeling he could be in with a very good shout.:agree:

ForeverHibs93
09-10-2010, 06:15 PM
The boy who was number 2 to Martin O'Neill (I think), surprised his interest has not been noted. No source or anything but I have a sneaky feeling he could be in with a very good shout.:agree:
One of my mates mentioned this too me the other day, he had no evidence, so he might have been pulling my leg, not sure:grr:

09-10-2010, 06:27 PM
While Williamson certainly gave them their debut's he had little to do with their development. Lest we forget the Blobmeister tried to swap Riordan and Whittaker to ICT in return for Bobby Mann. An eye for a bargain displayed by Blobby.

alex74
09-10-2010, 06:38 PM
After the disgraceful way the board and the players treated him last time, i'd expect him to give us the finger.

He won't be back at Hibs. And who can blame him.lets just keep the good memories of jc as a legend on the field and bringing the cis cup home.

09-10-2010, 07:02 PM
How much influence does the manager even have over the Youth Teams? As far as I can tell only once they graduate from the under 19s.

So I don't think all the credit for Deeks, Brown, O'Connor and the rest should be laid solely at any managers door, there's the managers that gave them their debut's sure, but it's the coaches that worked with them for years prior to that that deserve the majority of that credit if you ask me.

jakki
09-10-2010, 11:11 PM
Not a rumour, but what about Paul Dickov? He has the lowest budget in the 1st division and has brought up Oldham to 5th. I've no bias but he learnt his football off my gable end.:thumbsup:

If he DID get the job, I would remind him off what he called me every time I complained and would expect compo tickets every game. Yes Paul Dickov for the job and I'll change my user name to what he used to called me .... Mrs Mangell

alex74
09-10-2010, 11:31 PM
Not a rumour, but what about Paul Dickov? He has the lowest budget in the 1st division and has brought up Oldham to 5th. I've no bias but he learnt his football off my gable end.:thumbsup:

If he DID get the job, I would remind him off what he called me every time I complained and would expect compo tickets every game. Yes Paul Dickov for the job and I'll change my user name to what he used to called me .... Mrs Mangell
:thumbsup:no for me

sixtwo
10-10-2010, 12:03 AM
you decide

personally, i want a manager who can take our team kickin and screamin into the top six.
Preferably the same man will have us playing football that we all want to see.

my first choice would be tony mowbray.

not only would i come back to easter road, every one (or both)of my pals would all return. he is a legend. I love him. i still attend now but i would renew a st for me,my son and nephew.

Second choice. Steve clarke. The boy knows how to play football. He'd motivate the players we have and he'd grab this league by the baws and batter them wi hibs! the old firm do not intimidate him and the new firm are a mere anoyance!

third choice
john collins

the man is a legend. he beleives hibs are every bit as good as we think we are. he makes average players £4m players and he delivers success(league cup in one year, take a bow ). If he could bury the hatchet wi rod we'll have a decent season, or two or three.

all in all i know **** all, I'll back whoever we get but i think i have proposed some good men.

Who do you think we should get?????

O'neill

calderwood

any other?

10-10-2010, 12:48 AM
your first 3 choices all look good to me,Mowbray..........I liked,but some on here don't because of his huddle at ER, but you could look at it this way, his first game as Manager wi' Celtic,and he was their first captain to start it,possibly thought ..right boys,this is how we go,win win win.(which did not go to plan) JC,liked him a lot,won us a cup,but Jesus...........how the hell did he not get us into the 2nd cup final? and his striker selection for the dunfy replay was puzzling,the young laddie he picked was way out of his depth. your 2nd choice,seems to have the credentials,but I ken f/ck all about him,other than working at a high level with a top English mob,that rules him out I think. we dont do top level,do we?

anon1
10-10-2010, 01:09 AM

The term 'boy' and big John Robertson don't fit particularly well!

John Robertson - Football Legend. :agree:

sixtwo
10-10-2010, 01:46 AM
Seriously coulnd't care what he done or didn't do at celtic. I knew he'd end up there, and i knew he had a fondness for them but that is in the past. for arguments sake, i knew that yogi was a cetic fan when many others beleived he was a hibby but it;s all in the past

tony mowbray is a gentleman. he knows how the game should be played, he knows how we demand it should be played. it could be argued that the happiest an most succesfull time in mr mowbrays life, was learning his trade in leith!

Come home tony. Finish the job you started. Come home to easter road and become a real legend!

apolgies for spelling and gramatical errrs, there is no other excuse than the fact i am steaming. It doesn8t make me less off a man, so my missus says!

Musselbound
10-10-2010, 02:02 AM
Brown and Calderwood for me.
We'd get value for money out of the sunlamp.

Also it would mean the old JC training tops could be dug out and given to Calderwood. Money saved and a few more quid that could be put towards new players.:agree:

E10 Rifle
10-10-2010, 07:07 AM

How exactly does he have the lowest budget in League One? Plenty of teams in that Division have far less to work with than he does.

Too early for him just now anyway, when we sack our manager in 18 months time I'd look at him

10-10-2010, 07:39 AM
Also it would mean the old JC training tops could be dug out and given to Calderwood. Money saved and a few more quid that could be put towards new players.:agree:

Can't believe that Calderwood would ever fit into Collins tops. :faf:

jakki
10-10-2010, 07:52 AM
How exactly does he have the lowest budget in League One? Plenty of teams in that Division have far less to work with than he does.

Too early for him just now anyway, when we sack our manager in 18 months time I'd look at him

It was said on the BBC sports lastnight.
Anyway it was said tongue in cheek. I'm just looking for compo tickets for me and my helper!:thumbsup:
PS Kenning Paul he'd have all the players playing, and if no, he'd kick all the balls!

E.T. is a Hibee
10-10-2010, 07:56 AM

Sounds wrong but John Robertson would be a good appointment. Thinking back ovder the years as a player he gave 100% and no one has a bad word to say about him to this day. Hearts absolutly shafted him as a manager which was out of order and yet the guy still remains loyal to them!

He would do a good job, sure of it!

10-10-2010, 08:16 AM
What are the Sunday papers saying about the candidates today?

10-10-2010, 08:25 AM
Sounds wrong but John Robertson would be a good appointment. Thinking back ovder the years as a player he gave 100% and no one has a bad word to say about him to this day. Hearts absolutly shafted him as a manager which was out of order and yet the guy still remains loyal to them!

Are they not referring to the other JR? The chain smoking Forest legend not the pie eating and heavy drinking Hertz washout....

10-10-2010, 08:29 AM

I suspect he was maybe referring to Kevin MacDonald - even though JR was/is MONs regular no 2.

jakki
10-10-2010, 08:31 AM
QEM you'r up early today. Long lie Sunday!!

and what's it's worth, Paul Dickov canny be worse than others sprouted. :thumbsup:

(hey Paul , thats 2 compo tickets for the Hearts game):greengrin

hibsrivals
10-10-2010, 09:16 AM
Hiya lads once again we find our team looking for a new manager and it already been said that Hibs are showing interest in another ex player.

I am yet again a bit worried that the board are having thoughts about O'neil.

I am not sure what your thoughts are but I think we should be looking at the wider market as in abroad and spend a we bit cash to get someone in.

Look what has happened over the past few years with ex players.

Whats your thoughts on this...?

10-10-2010, 09:26 AM
Hiya lads once again we find our team looking for a new manager and it already been said that Hibs are showing interest in another ex player.

I am yet again a bit worried that the board are having thoughts about O'neil.

I am not sure what your thoughts are but I think we should be looking at the wider market as in abroad and spend a we bit cash to get someone in.

Look what has happened over the past few years with ex players.

Whats your thoughts on this...?

I think Hearts have already been down the spending cash route, and it hasn't worked for them.

10-10-2010, 03:48 PM
Good article in todays Herald (although it does state the obvious) saying that the appointment of a Hibernian manager who stays for the long-term is overdue, full article below.

WHO would want to be the next manager of Hibs?

Quite a lot of people, it seems. If reports are to be believed, the list of candidates to fill the vacancy at Easter Road is already stretching halfway around the block right now. Expensive, Premiership-style options like Steve Clarke, Phil Brown, Kevin MacDonald and Paul Hart are queuing up for consideration. There are savvy Scottish football operators in the running such as Billy Reid, Jimmy Calderwood, Derek McInnes, Gus MacPherson and Derek Adams. Some have a Hibs history and a strong emotional pull such as Tony Mowbray, Ian McParland and Gareth Evans. There is even the potential for an Irish invasion in the form of Michael O’Neill and Pat Fenlon.

And why not? On the face of it, the club has everything going for it. It has a fully-operational stadium which is as impressive and modern as any arena in the SPL, and a training ground to match. The post commands a decent salary and Edinburgh is a nice place to live. The club has a bountiful youth development programme to fall back on. The squad is not without talent – Liam Miller, David Wotherspoon and Derek Riordan spring to mind – and with 16 players out of contract this summer, there is a genuine chance to clear out the dead wood and make your own imprint upon the club.
If ever there is a man cut out to look at his bulging in-tray and sort out those with a realistic chance from the chancers, then Rod Petrie is the man. The Hibs chairman recently celebrated the 14th anniversary of his arrival at the club and the next occupant of the manager’s office will be the 10th permanent appointment over which he has presided. Petrie, who handed over “day -to-day running of the club” to chief executive Scott Lindsay in 2008, retains executive power and – as well as being one of football’s shrewdest negotiators – has always been thought to have a good eye for a manager.

The appointment of Alex McLeish back in February 1998 proved a great success, and he was widely thought to have produced a rabbit from the hat with the appointment of Tony Mowbray in April 2004. But even Petrie must have noticed the increasing regularity with which he has to go through this process these days.

A cursory glance at the tenures of the last three manager is sufficient to identify an alarming pattern. John Collins, Mixu Paatelainen and John Hughes have all failed to survive even 18 months at the club. Paul Kane, the former Hibs player, is wide of the mark when he accuses Petrie of “incompetence” in appointing recent managers but it is undeniable that all the early optimism of the three men’s reigns gave way to a morass where all parties – managers, players, fans, directors – got so fed up with a general failure to live up to expectations that things soon reached a point of no return.
In the current economic climate it is hard to criticise a club for selling players, but seeing Anthony Stokes depart for Celtic didn’t do Hughes too many favours. The former Falkirk manager guided Hibs to a fourth-place finish and a Europa League place last season with a 2009/10 campaign which started well then tailed off badly. Things might well have picked up after a poor start to this campaign, but after a sequence of one win in 10 games, Hughes was never going to get the chance to find out.

In any case, here we are again, and the protracted search for manager No 10. The ability to locate a cheapish manager capable of winning games in the suffocating, Old Firm-dominated SPL is an inexact science, especially with a squad of players as unpredictable as that which currently belongs to Hibs. The jobs done by Craig Brown at Motherwell and Billy Reid at Hamilton show that there are still miracle workers out there. All Petrie has to do now is find one. Oh, and make sure he isn’t back in precisely this position another 18 months down the line.

Hibs07p
10-10-2010, 04:03 PM
Very good article, the foundations are there for an ambitious untried high profile out of work no 2 wanting to be their own man. If we are going to be losing managers every 18 months, let it be for them being successful and not being sacked. Let us be known for giving the opportunity to high profile personnel wanting to take their first steps in management, people who don't need the money, but the opportunity to prove themselves. If they fail, get rid, if they succeed, cash in on their success, and appoint the next man trying to prove himself. Why not?

10-10-2010, 04:40 PM
What bugs me is the number of journalists (including one in the Mail today) and football people such as Mark McGhee giving Hibs flak for sacking Hughes after such a short time and so early in the season. I don't think that they appreciate that the problems went back a lot earlier than the start of this season.

Anyway I didn't hear too many journalists criticising Celtic for sacking Mowbray after his equally short reign.

10-10-2010, 04:42 PM
What are the Sunday papers saying about the candidates today?

Chris Doig, who is now playing in Oz with Central Coast Mariners reckons that Paul Hart, who has applied for the post, is the man for the job. "Hibs would be crazy not to appoint Hart." he says. He was very successful at Nottingham Forrest where he blooded a lot of future Premiership stars such as Jermaine Jenas, Michael Dawson and Andy Reid, earning the club around £13M. He was also successful at Leeds as youth coach bringing on players such as Jonathan Woodgate and Harry Kewell.

10-10-2010, 04:56 PM
Tony Mowbray would be the worst possible appointment.

He bombed at Celtic p1ssing away money at a level we could never dream of and seemed to not care less. When he was here he lucked into having the best crop of youngsters we've produced in living memory. While he picked up some quality players for us he also signed huddies of a level never equaled by any other manager and single handedly started our run of 'Hibs calamity keepers' by persisting with Zibby, the single worst keeper I've ever seen throughout his entire reign.

And finally, when the much vaunted Mowbray passing game of old doesn't reappear because we simply don't have those players we had back then, the fans will be screaming for blood and we'll be right back here again sooner rather than later.

It would be an even more stupidly emotional / sentimental appointment than another ex player.

TedSnedds
10-10-2010, 06:23 PM
No chance that JC will return, would you after being treated the way he was?! If the Board, Peatrie in particular obviously, had any respect for the supporters at all he would be bursting the bank to get someone at the club who would do a job in both the short and long term...but I don't think he will...it's so bad and, dare I say it, unprofessional to run any business in this way. If Clarke can be convinced to come on what would be a return to the game but on less money, that could work well in the short term...until a "better" job comes along... Long term we could be looking at O'Neil, but I don't want another great ex player coming in for the same abuse directed at JC, Mixu, Yogi or, to an extent, Franck:confused:

Ferryhibby
10-10-2010, 06:24 PM

He bombed at Celtic p1ssing away money at a level we could never dream of and seemed to not care less. When he was here he lucked into having the best crop of youngsters we've produced in living memory. While he picked up some quality players for us he also signed huddies of a level never equaled by any other manager and single handedly started our run of 'Hibs calamity keepers' by persisting with Zibby, the single worst keeper I've ever seen throughout his entire reign.

And finally, when the much vaunted Mowbray passing game of old doesn't reappear because we simply don't have those players we had back then, the fans will be screaming for blood and we'll be right back here again sooner rather than later.

It would be an even more stupidly emotional / sentimental appointment than another ex player.

:top marks Couldnt agree more

al bundy
10-10-2010, 06:37 PM

don't agree with this, i think mogga done a brilliant job and to have a chance of getting him again would be great

10-10-2010, 07:01 PM

What pills are you taking / stopped taking :bye:

10-10-2010, 07:26 PM

1. How do you work that out, he seemed not to care less?

2. Have you been polishing your crystal ball?

hibee4life1983
10-10-2010, 07:42 PM
Mowbray? No thanks, as said a few posts ago he fell into a great crop of young players and didnt have the funds available to bring in a new team of players so had to play them, he was just extremly lucky.

Some of the players he did bring to the club were amature at best, zibbi being the prime example.

No jc either, again he inherited a good crop of players and the guys he brought in were worse, clayton d being the example.

Just get steve clarke in and let him work with what we have, ive no doubt he would make a huge impact and get us playing good football. His record with young players is superb and he would have great contacts, get it done petrie!

10-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Mowbray? No thanks, as said a few posts ago he fell into a great crop of young players and didnt have the funds available to bring in a new team of players so had to play them, he was just extremly lucky.

Some of the players he did bring to the club were amature at best, zibbi being the prime example.

No jc either, again he inherited a good crop of players and the guys he brought in were worse, clayton d being the example.

Just get steve clarke in and let him work with what we have, ive no doubt he would make a huge impact and get us playing good football. His record with young players is superb and he would have great contacts, get it done petrie!

Is he a miracle worker like :greengrin

Im with you tho I wouldnt be too disapointed if he was given the job

10-10-2010, 07:53 PM
don't agree with this, i think mogga done a brilliant job and to have a chance of getting him again would be great

1. How do you work that out, he seemed not to care less?

2. Have you been polishing your crystal ball?

Mowbray did well with us, yes, but how much of that was him and how much was him being here at the same time we had 6 or 7 top players at the club for him to work with? In any case his teams were as often found being kicked off the park as they were passing their way through the opposition.

At West Brom he did alright, but with by far the best squad in the division, they failed to set the Premiership a light in any fashion, or perform as well as other promoted sides have managed.

His Celtic side were murder, easily the worst I can remember since McCann saved them from oblivion.

Yes, we played some nice stuff with a midfield of Boozy, Brown, Thomson, Sproule and co. Do either of you imagine Rankin, McBride and co would be at all capable of that?

His general attitude, he talked about not wanting to be in football that much longer etc.

I don't think you need a crystal ball to see that happening, our current side simply aren't good enough to play like Mowbray's side, but bringing him back will instantly have people expecting to see that sort of game, it won't happen, we don't have the players, the budget to buy capable players or a ready to go collection of top class youngsters to achieve that.

Personally I'll be amazed if Mowbray takes another job as a manager ever again, in any case the past is in the past, lets keep the good memories where they belong.

10-10-2010, 08:01 PM
get wee gordon strachan in :agree::flag::casper: c'mon home wee man :cool2:

or ian McParland :greengrin

oops, should have read the PM board first :sairhead:

alex74
10-10-2010, 08:24 PM
Is he a miracle worker like :greengrin

Im with you tho I wouldnt be too disapointed if he was given the jobat least we used to look forward to goin to er on a saturday the place was buzzing the best football i have seen at er in the past 30years a joy to watch maybe he inherited the young boys but he made them play the way the did,yes he made a few bad signings but what manager dosent but made alot of good signings jones murphy sproule bring back those days.

10-10-2010, 09:21 PM
No chance that JC will return, would you after being treated the way he was?! If the Board, Peatrie in particular obviously, had any respect for the supporters at all he would be bursting the bank to get someone at the club who would do a job in both the short and long term...but I don't think he will...it's so bad and, dare I say it, unprofessional to run any business in this way. If Clarke can be convinced to come on what would be a return to the game but on less money, that could work well in the short term...until a "better" job comes along... Long term we could be looking at O'Neil, but I don't want another great ex player coming in for the same abuse directed at JC, Mixu, Yogi or, to an extent, Franck:confused:

What a load of rubbish !
JC was a "personnel" managerial disaster.

This from my two lads at EM

If you wanted a one to one on a personal problem the answer usually was

JC
" ... if you need help ask your family : while your here just get on and do the job you are paid to do " ( or words to that effect )
Mixu
He would say " ...leave it with me " and would get someone else to have a chat "
Yogi
He would spend as long as it took if a young player had a personal problem. Always available even after work

JC is one of my favourite all time hibs players and lovely person to be in the company of but as a manager he just hasn't got the basic skills needed.
Witness his still not having been "head hunted" by any decent sides

11-10-2010, 07:02 AM
This morning's Times says Hibs have opened talks with Paul Le Guen about becoming head coach. Still apart on issues like personal remuneration and player budget. Also says that the back up if PLG doesn't accept is Brazilian Baltemar Brito, ex assistant to Mourinho at Porto and Chelsea.

ancienthibby
11-10-2010, 08:07 AM
This morning's Times says Hibs have opened talks with Paul Le Guen about becoming head coach. Still apart on issues like personal remuneration and player budget. Also says that the back up if PLG doesn't accept is Brazilian Baltemar Brito, ex assistant to Mourinho at Porto and Chelsea.

The Herald now saying that Le Goon is now Le Gone and the Brazilian is now the favourite!!

Take that, Stevie Clarke!!:greengrin

hibee bouncer
11-10-2010, 08:19 AM

Not like the board to let something slip and for the media to find out. I'd guess that these guys are paper talk and it's someone completely different.

11-10-2010, 08:22 AM
Not like the board to let something slip and for the media to find out. I'd guess that these guys are paper talk and it's someone completely different.

Hmmm - the Times article is written by Graham Spiers, who IIRC has links with Le Guen. So maybe something in it.

11-10-2010, 08:28 AM
Hmmm - the Times article is written by Graham Spiers, who IIRC has links with Le Guen. So maybe something in it.

The hibs board demands secrecy and discretion in these matters.

If Le Guen has told the press that he's being interviewed for the job, he won't get it.

11-10-2010, 08:29 AM
Spiers wrote the book about Le Guen's tenure at Rangers didn't he?

11-10-2010, 08:50 AM
The Herald now saying that Le Goon is now Le Gone and the Brazilian is now the favourite!!

Take that, Stevie Clarke!!:greengrin

Second favourite.

Brito is 3/1 with Skybet. Clarke is 1/3.

Clarke is better value with Chandlers at 4/6, but Brito isn't quoted.

11-10-2010, 09:00 AM
Just had a text from an old school mate, he apparently has a 'source' that has said Alan Shearer is in the frame. Anyone else heard that? My mate does talk rubbish sometimes.

11-10-2010, 09:03 AM
Just had a text from an old school mate, he apparently has a 'source' that has said Alan Shearer is in the frame. Anyone else heard that? My mate does talk rubbish sometimes.

11-10-2010, 09:04 AM

This thread is amazing. I am going to be raging when Jeemy Kalderwood is announced :greengrin

jaf
11-10-2010, 09:08 AM
Just had a text from a well-connected mate, he reckons Steve Clarke and Billy Stark are the new management duo.

Do Clarke and Stark have any previous together? Seemed like an odd due to me.

ancienthibby
11-10-2010, 09:10 AM
Just had a text from a well-connected mate, he reckons Steve Clarke and Billy Stark are the new management duo.

Both ex-St Mirren??

11-10-2010, 09:13 AM
Second favourite.

Brito is 3/1 with Skybet. Clarke is 1/3.

Clarke is better value with Chandlers at 4/6, but Brito isn't quoted.

anyone got a link to the Times or the Herald stories?

borstalboy
11-10-2010, 09:13 AM

I think he's been reading the private members forum :wink:

Auckland Hibs
11-10-2010, 09:15 AM

This thread is amazing. I am going to be raging when Jeemy Kalderwood is announced :greengrin

It is amazing - all these top names being linked then tango man steps in..... :grr:

11-10-2010, 09:18 AM
Ive just heard from a very unreliable source that Shaun Dennis and Tam court will be unveiled later today as the men to take us forward.

Only passing info on ,Dont shoot the messenger.

11-10-2010, 09:20 AM
Ive just heard from a very unreliable source that Shaun Dennis and Tam court will be unveiled later today as the men to take us forward.

11-10-2010, 09:21 AM

I hope thats Tam as gaffer and Shaun as no.2!

persevere1875
11-10-2010, 09:27 AM

Wouldnt worry mate, think I caught most of the bullets for the Paul Le Guen rumour, cant be that many left to fire :wink:

11-10-2010, 09:29 AM
Wouldnt worry mate, think I caught most of the bullets for the Paul Le Guen rumour, cant be that many left to fire :wink:

11-10-2010, 09:30 AM
Both ex-St Mirren??

Did Clarke & Stark (it has got a ring to it) both not play in the St Mirren team that helped Celtic win the league in 1986?

If so they have gone up in my estimation. :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 09:33 AM
Did Clarke & Stark (it has got a ring to it) both not play in the St Mirren team that helped Celtic win the league in 1986?

IF it is Clarke then the Jambos will be utterly delirious with him, Played in a St.mirren side that was hell bent on Celtc winning the title :cool2:

Nice one GIFRU THE JUMBOS :thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 09:41 AM
I cant see if its on it as i'm at work, so can someone check, cos my pal just text me saying britto is the new manager according to Bbc

11-10-2010, 09:42 AM

Weren't they on opposite sides at the time?

_hucks_
Nope, nothing there about it

I cant see if its on it as i'm at work, so can someone check, cos my pal just text me saying britto is the new manager according to Bbc

Put one of the tellys oan then in your shop :greengrin

11-10-2010, 09:46 AM
Weren't they on opposite sides at the time?

Nah Stark played for Aberdeen.

11-10-2010, 09:47 AM
He say's its on the gossip bit, also I cant put sky sports news on as its not on freeview anymore

11-10-2010, 09:47 AM

Who was second that year, and was it close? :dunno:

11-10-2010, 09:50 AM
He say's its on the gossip bit, also I cant put sky sports news on as its not on freeview anymore

Just checked, Nowt atall.

hibee62
11-10-2010, 09:50 AM
From the Scottish gossip column:

Hibernian have pulled away from a bold attempt to bring Paul Le Guen back to Scottish football as their manager and have moved to appoint Brazilian coach Baltemar Brito. (The Herald)

11-10-2010, 09:52 AM
Who was second that year, and was it close? :dunno:

Wasnt the Scottish cup final a week after it too? Who won that :dunno:

11-10-2010, 09:56 AM

Wasnt the Scottish cup final a week after it too? Who won that :dunno:

Remember it well as I went to the game with some Jambo work mates, beautiful sunny day in Glasgow, a good few beers before & after the game, oh I and Hearts got pumped 3-0 by the sheep, think Wattie Kidd also got sent off, if I remember correctly, was a good day. :thumbsup:

_hucks_
11-10-2010, 10:01 AM
The gossip column is just that - all the gossip from various papers around the country. I wouldn't read too much into it.

11-10-2010, 10:18 AM
Worked at Chelsea as well

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baltemar_Brito

stubru59
11-10-2010, 10:20 AM
Here it is: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9079251.stm

Purehibee_MYB
11-10-2010, 10:27 AM
So yesterday people were on here saying Steve Clarke will be appointed today...and now we have all this chat of Le Guen and Brito... Anyone have any idea which is closer to the truth?

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 10:34 AM
Baltemar Brito

So this guy was a coach at Chelsea under Morinho:confused:

Apperently he got sacked in July from his last club.:confused:

What makes him the best candidate for the job then?

Why has this come right out of left field :rolleyes:

Bit of a strange choice in my opinion and one that most fans will probably be dismayed by I'm sure.

He'll have my 100% backing, goes without saying, strange choice though if true:confused:

11-10-2010, 10:39 AM
Baltemar Brito

Bit of a strange choice in my opinion and one that most fans will probably be dismayed by I'm sure.

He'll have my 100% backing, goes without saying, strange choice though if true:confused:

If he was at Chelsea at that time maybe he'll be Clarke's assistant?

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 10:40 AM
If he was at Chelsea at that time maybe he'll be Clarke's assistant?

That would be fine by me :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 10:41 AM
Baltemar Brito

He got sacked after only 4 weeks in post, because the new President of the club wanted to bring in his own coach. Hardly Brito's fault, as that sort of thing happens quite often in Europe, when a newly elected club President exercises power.

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 10:54 AM
He got sacked after only 4 weeks in post, because the new President of the club wanted to bring in his own coach. Hardly Brito's fault, as that sort of thing happens quite often in Europe, when a newly elected club President exercises power.

Fair enough:agree:

This sounds like more of a Vlad appointment than a Petrie :rolleyes:

11-10-2010, 11:22 AM
Baltemar Brito

The guy has practically the same CV as Clarke (arguably better, as he worked at other clubs with Mourinho).

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 11:36 AM
The guy has practically the same CV as Clarke (arguably better, as he worked at other clubs with Mourinho).

Just don't think he's going to wet the appetite of a few who have given up the ghost of going along to Easter Road on a sat.

Were as Steve Clarke might get a few extra bums on seats in the short term.

I'm open minded though, as long as he does the business I don't give a flying **** who he is or were he's from.:greengrin

11-10-2010, 12:01 PM
Just don't think he's going to wet the appetite of a few who have given up the ghost of going along to Easter Road on a sat.

Were as Steve Clarke might get a few extra bums on seats in the short term.

I'm open minded though, as long as he does the business I don't give a flying **** who he is or were he's from.:greengrin

So a Scot and a Brazilian with similar CVs and the Scot would whet the appetite more!

Strange days!

Hibs Giant
11-10-2010, 12:30 PM
"Belenenses was the first club to compete in the UEFA Cup in a back-and-forth 3–3 draw with Hibernian (at the time one of Scotland's biggest teams) at the Estádio do Restelo in Belém."

from wikipedia

11-10-2010, 12:33 PM
The only non English speaking coach, I can think of as being a success in Scotland was Wim Janssen. I think the language barrier might be too big a risk in respect of the Brazillian.

Hibs Giant
11-10-2010, 12:35 PM
So at least 500k for Maka and Sproule on a moped, Zouma was signed by Mowbray. Not too shabby an amount i think for the 6 pack to waste.:boo hoo:

Sproule was signed by Mowbray for £5k

11-10-2010, 12:47 PM

Whats your point? :confused:

11-10-2010, 01:08 PM

I think the Sproule on a moped reference is to Alan O'Brien, who was indeed allegedly as fast as Sproule on a moped and did cost us something like £250k, as did Maka.

haagsehibby
11-10-2010, 02:25 PM
The only non English speaking coach, I can think of as being a success in Scotland was Wim Janssen. I think the language barrier might be too big a risk in respect of the Brazillian.

I would suggest that Wim Janssen speaks better English than many natives of the central belt of Scotland.

11-10-2010, 02:27 PM
I would suggest that Wim Janssen speaks better English than many natives of the central belt of Scotland.

There can be no doubting that. He also speaks better English than most of the guys managing football here, even if they do give it a right good go.

11-10-2010, 02:41 PM
Has anyone mentioned Alan Kernaghan?

Not had time to read through the whole thread – so apologies if this names been thrown in already!

11-10-2010, 03:41 PM
:top marks In a nutshell.

Had Collins had a better knowledge of the markets in which Hibs could pick from, he'd have gotten a much higher standard of player than he ultimately did.

Collins was a rookie manager who bought players any rookie manager would; the ones that other, much more seasoned pros tell you are going to be great.

It's the law of the jungle. He had a book of contacts and a cheque book and yes he bought some very, very poor players. However the Board gave Yogi and Mixu more IMHO.

gobragh1875
11-10-2010, 03:45 PM
Steve clarke it will be anounced tomorrow billy stark as number 2

11-10-2010, 03:47 PM
Steve clarke it will be anounced tomorrow

yeah just got a text saying the same...

who told you likes?

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 03:47 PM
Steve clarke it will be anounced tomorrow

:top marks:bye:

11-10-2010, 03:49 PM

11-10-2010, 03:50 PM
I have heard Gary Megson with Bob Malcolm his No 2. :dunno:

11-10-2010, 03:52 PM

you still on dial up/pigeon post

I have heard Gary Megson with Bob Malcolm his No 2. :dunno:

Bob Malcolm is defo a Number 2:agree:

Littlest Hobo
I just saw wee Gordon Strachan and Graham Mitchell leaving EM in a Merc.

The two gingers, oh ****! :devil:

green.and.white
11-10-2010, 03:53 PM
Nade as striker coach :agree:

gobragh1875
11-10-2010, 03:53 PM
It came from a very good source the guy that cleans the streets out side easter roads auntys best pals sister inlaws wee brother

11-10-2010, 03:55 PM
It came from a very good source the guy that cleans the streets out side easter roads auntys best pals sister inlaws wee brother

Ah but is he a fish man?

11-10-2010, 04:00 PM
Ah but is he a fish man?

Unless he delivers the linen I'm not listening...

11-10-2010, 04:02 PM
Ah but is he a fish man?

He could be a fish man....but is it the fish man?

11-10-2010, 04:02 PM
Hook line and sinker.

down the slope
11-10-2010, 04:03 PM
Ahm floundering with this one already !.

11-10-2010, 04:05 PM
Ah heard Blobby Williamson was spotted at Edinburgh Airport this morning:agree:

Be scared, be very very scared:greengrin

11-10-2010, 04:06 PM

Be hard not to spot him.

11-10-2010, 04:11 PM
He was a Blob on the radar...A very big Blob

bigstu
11-10-2010, 04:12 PM
zola seen buying shoe polish & a step ladder earlier, could he be getting his boots out the loft & becoming player assistant??

11-10-2010, 04:16 PM
Peter Andre getting back with big tits/no brains would be my bet

Kevin@green
11-10-2010, 04:20 PM
I just saw wee Gordon Strachan and Graham Mitchell leaving EM in a Merc.

The two gingers, oh ****! :devil:

I just saw Salman Rushdie and Amir Khan leaving the main stand :greengrin

Having spoken to Billys brother i dont think its him, however Clarke was interveiwed for the Killie job, his mother still lives in paisley and is very ill at the moment.
He is very keen to move back to scotland, :agree:

ivan03
11-10-2010, 04:24 PM

i already announced this news about 3 hours ago on the steve clark post mate!

Littlest Hobo
11-10-2010, 04:26 PM

:notworthy::notworthy::greengrin

11-10-2010, 04:26 PM
Jordi Cruyff is *still* on the no26 bus btw.

When will we get the hint and sign him up

Clarke :grr: get it sorted :grr:

hibbill2002
11-10-2010, 04:27 PM
Bob Malcolm is defo a Number 2:agree:
I dinnae think Forth 2 will let him go

Jordi Cruyff is *still* on the no26 bus btw.

When will we get the hint and sign him up

Clarke :grr: get it sorted :grr:

Was Reyes on it tae? Heard he was :confused:

I just saw Salman Rushdie and Amir Khan leaving the main stand :greengrin

Having spoken to Billys brother i dont think its him, however Clarke was interveiwed for the Killie job, his mother still lives in paisley and is very ill at the moment.
He is very keen to move back to scotland, :agree:

And they chose mixu over him? :greengrin

On a serious note this is blatently all pish and theres not even a chance of him coming to hibs.

11-10-2010, 04:28 PM

I really doubt if any announcement will be made until after this week's International games.

stu in nottingham
11-10-2010, 04:31 PM

Be hard not to spot him.

That was actually a Boeing 747.

11-10-2010, 04:35 PM
That was actually a Boeing 747.

11-10-2010, 04:37 PM
You know if after all this it turns out to be Jimmy ******in Calderwood the Tasche's tasch will adorn my wall! :grr:

11-10-2010, 05:37 PM
Its JIM JEFFRIES he just happened to be in the Hibs shop at the time, aye right Jimbo:wink:we believe you:agree:

11-10-2010, 05:45 PM

Aye, brilliant at keeping birds of the runway.............

loanheadhibby
11-10-2010, 07:17 PM
Not sure the relevance but seen Ricky Sbragia on the corner of George St/Hanover Street at 5ish tonight. Had his civvies on.

Possibly up to watch the u21's or possibly an interview? Ex prem league boss altho granted for only a few months?

11-10-2010, 07:23 PM
Not sure the relevance but seen Ricky Sbragia on the corner of George St/Hanover Street at 5ish tonight. Had his civvies on.

Poddibly up to watch the u21's or possibly an interview? Ex prem league boss altho granted for only a few months?

Given the insane quality of our supposed new Number 1 and 2, Sbragia being youth coach wouldn't surprise me now :greengrin

11-10-2010, 08:36 PM
I would still like to see Michael O'Neill get it, looking less likely though. I tried to find a Shamrock Rovers fans forum to see what they made of it but could not see one.

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 08:43 PM
Over and over, Ian Crocker was saying Billy Stark was rumored to be coming to ER as Clarkes asst :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 09:03 PM
i'd expect our new manager to be announced wednesday, more press coverage once the scotland game is done with

11-10-2010, 09:51 PM
Over and over, Ian Crocker was saying Billy Stark was rumored to be coming to ER as Clarkes asst :thumbsup:

That's because he is rumoured to be coming here. The press read hibs.net too.

It means nothing regardless how many times Ian Crocker says it.

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 09:54 PM
That's because he is rumoured to be coming here. The press read hibs.net too.

It means nothing regardless how many times Ian Crocker says it.Ooops!! Sorry 'bout that:boo hoo:

11-10-2010, 10:02 PM
i'd expect our new manager to be announced wednesday, more press coverage once the scotland game is done with

I'll be amazed if we hear anything before the weekend at the earliest.

Yogi only left 7 days ago.

The Hibs board said that they were going to take enough time to ensure they got the right man.

So, what have the board had to do in the last week?

1. Prepare for the AGM.
2. Ensure the vacancy is publicised as widely as possible whilst being discreet.
3. Allow time for applications and CV's to be submitted.
4. Consider the CV's of interested parties.
5. Create a short list.
6. Interview candidates.
7. Possible second interviews.
8. Negotiate terms, including salary, length of contract, compensation terms, budget for support staff, budget for players etc etc etc
9. Ask lawyers to prepare contract.
10. Pass to candidates lawyers to check and agree.
11. Arrange for candidate to sign contract.
12. Make announcement.

And the rest. And the day job.

If they've managed to do all that in a week, big respect.

11-10-2010, 10:06 PM

The Hibs board said that they were going to take enough time to ensure they got the right man.

1. Prepare for the AGM.
2. Ensure the vacancy is publicised as widely as possible whilst being discreet.
5. Create a short list.
6. Interview candidates.
8. Negotiate terms, including salary, length of contract, compensation terms, budget for support staff, budget for players etc etc etc
12. Make announcement.

Why would they have to be discreet? Not having a go, just not sure what you mean?

Purehibee_MYB
11-10-2010, 10:06 PM
You know if after all this it turns out to be Jimmy ******in Calderwood the Tasche's tasch will adorn my wall! :grr:

He's been interviewed by Sky Sports and said that he's not been contacted by Petrie... Thank GOD

11-10-2010, 10:18 PM
Why would they have to be discreet? Not having a go, just not sure what you mean?

Discrete was possibly the wrong word.

I meant without making a vulgar song and dance about it by advertising in the national press really.

Tastefully.

Someone will be along to offer a more appropriate adjective. :greengrin

11-10-2010, 10:22 PM
JC at the game tonight, just sayin :greengrin

11-10-2010, 10:25 PM
JC at the game tonight, just sayin :greengrin

Please tell me you meant John Collins not tangoman?!?

11-10-2010, 10:34 PM
He's been interviewed by Sky Sports and said that he's not been contacted by Petrie... Thank GOD

Spoke to Jimmy Calderwood on Saturday. At that point, he hadn't been contacted by Hibs and he sounded disappointed. He went onto say that hibs were a brilliant Club and I got the impression that he wouldn't think twice if he was approached.

11-10-2010, 10:43 PM
Please tell me you meant John Collins not tangoman?!?

ahhhh a mystery!

sorry pal, never even noticed that, collins :agree:

steviedonx
11-10-2010, 10:50 PM
Saw kenny dalglish at easter road tonight.

Just saying...

Hibs07p
12-10-2010, 05:56 AM

1. Prepare for the AGM.
5. Create a short list.
6. Interview candidates.
12. Make announcement.

Is that how it's done?
I thought every new manager is tapped up in advance, and hides in the club store changing rooms, waiting on the old manager to vacate the hot seat. :dunno:

12-10-2010, 06:05 AM

1. Prepare for the AGM.
5. Create a short list.
6. Interview candidates.
12. Make announcement.

They've been doing it so often recently they can probably do it in their sleep :greengrin simples!

EskbankHibby
12-10-2010, 06:59 AM

I meant without making a vulgar song and dance about it by advertising in the national press really.

Tastefully.

Un-jamboesque?

(Not really a word never mind an adjective but you get my point:greengrin)

12-10-2010, 08:16 AM
Spoke to Jimmy Calderwood on Saturday. At that point, he hadn't been contacted by Hibs and he sounded disappointed. He went onto say that hibs were a brilliant Club and I got the impression that he wouldn't think twice if he was approached.

course he wouldnae, but he spent years unable to win at Tynie and telling us how Aberdeen where a far bigger club than us and the Yams. **** him

12-10-2010, 08:36 AM
Hibees are going to go mental everywhere, I have it on excellent authority that our new manager is indeed Clark.

SANDY Clark.

Dick Campbell as assistant.

TedSnedds
12-10-2010, 08:38 AM

JC
" ... if you need help ask your family : while your here just get on and do the job you are paid to do " ( or words to that effect )

So what's your point, caller?! JC was trying to run the Club/Team in a professional manner - or was it as a Youth Club?! If my son had a personal problem, I'd want/expect him to come to me too... He tries to turn the Club in to a professional outfit, using the experience he's gained from living/playing abroad - and it get's thrown back in his face cos he ruffled a few feathers...?

All I was doing was replying to an earlier post saying that JC wouldn't come back because of the way he was treated - is that still a load of nonsense? Apologies if it is...

12-10-2010, 08:40 AM
Is that how it's done?
I thought every new manager is tapped up in advance, and hides in the club store changing rooms, waiting on the old manager to vacate the hot seat. :dunno:

They've been doing it so often recently they can probably do it in their sleep :greengrin simples!

Un-jamboesque?

(Not really a word never mind an adjective but you get my point:greengrin)

All good and valid points.

However, the statement at the AGM said, "We have the best part of two clear weeks over the international break to try and make progress. We do not see it as imperative to have a new management team in place for the Kilmarnock game - we want to take the time to make the right next appointment.

"Football being football, the telephones, emails and text messages have been red hot. There will be a lot of interest in one of the leading jobs in football management in Scotland.

That suggests we've still got a bit of a wait in front of us.

Exciting thogh, i'nt it? :greengrin

12-10-2010, 08:51 AM

1. Prepare for the AGM.
5. Create a short list.
6. Interview candidates.
12. Make announcement.

Wow - makes you wonder how most other clubs manage to do it quickly then!

SurferRosa
12-10-2010, 08:59 AM
I would still like to see Michael O'Neill get it, looking less likely though. I tried to find a Shamrock Rovers fans forum to see what they made of it but could not see one.
There was one , called Shamrock Rovers Ultras , until recently coz i was on it just before Yogi "left by mutual consent". It doesn`t appear to be going now though...not paid the bills i expect...!!

Dr Jimmy
12-10-2010, 09:05 AM
Hibees are going to go mental everywhere, I have it on excellent authority that our new manager is indeed Clark.

SANDY Clark.

Dick Campbell as assistant.

Even our board are not that far out of touch with the fans :bye:

12-10-2010, 09:06 AM

Thank goodness.

Dont want Claderwood or his King Billy assistant(s) anywhere near Hibernian. Cockroaches the lot of them.

He would have taken Hibs to a new level. But that level of tripe, dull football and would have been well below John Hughes' level :agree:

12-10-2010, 09:13 AM

JC

So what's your point, caller?! JC was trying to run the Club/Team in a professional manner - or was it as a Youth Club?! If my son had a personal problem, I'd want/expect him to come to me too... He tries to turn the Club in to a professional outfit, using the experience he's gained from living/playing abroad - and it get's thrown back in his face cos he ruffled a few feathers...?

All I was doing was replying to an earlier post saying that JC wouldn't come back because of the way he was treated - is that still a load of nonsense? Apologies if it is...

People spend most of their waking hours at work.

Some folk get on better with their employers and colleagues than with their parents and families.

Sometimes it's the family that's the problem.

I think it's imperative that a football manager dealing with young players is able to act as advisor, confident, mentor, counsellor and friend.

Older, battle hardened professionals may not need the same amount of support, but guys in their teens and early 20's definitely need someone they can turn to, imo.

12-10-2010, 09:23 AM

Some folk get on better with their employers and colleagues than with their parents and families.

I think it's imperative that a football manager dealing with young players is able to act as advisor, confident, mentor, counsellor and friend.

Older, battle hardened professionals may not need the same amount of support, but guys in their teens and early 20's definitely need someone they can turn to, imo.

If i went to my employer with a problem, especially a problem that could in theory affect my performance at work, and i was dismissed in such a manner i would have serious doubts over whether i wanted to continue working for said employer. I'm also sure that knowing your boss doesn't care about you as long as you 'do the job you're paid for' must be pretty demotivating, i'd imagine even more so for someone in their mid to late teens and early 20s.

12-10-2010, 09:31 AM

It's a bit ironic then that the players that reacted best to JC's methods were the young guys, Hogg, Mccann, Benji, Brown and Stevenson all improved under him and have gone backwards since he left, although to be fair Mccann has hardly played.

Absolutely no inside knowledge but i've got trouble believing all these stories about his poor man management, imo too many players improved under him for that to be the case

12-10-2010, 09:47 AM
Wow - makes you wonder how most other clubs manage to do it quickly then!

I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but I think most clubs take their time.

Because, as Hibs fans, we're not waiting for an announcement with baited breath when say, Lincoln become managerless, we don't appreciate the timescale involved.

Some clubs rush to appoint an interim manager, but that's not what we're doing. For example, Killie brought in Calderwood and Motherwell brought in Brown. I guess we could have done the same, but we want something different.

Some, high profile clubs will go behind the incumbent's back and secretly tap up a manager in advance but we haven't been as duplicitous.

Also, there is huge interest in the Hibs job so we should consider all the applicants properly. Many of the names will be unknown to the board, so an amount of research will be necessary.

I remember the clamour for Jim Gannon to be appointed last time on the back of one poster's fanciful and glowing posts. We all seem to be desperate for Steve Clarke this time, when none of us know if he has the right attributes - or if there is a better candidate out there.

Unlike us, the board are duty bound to find out.

There is no need for an unseemly rush. We have a 2 week break which allows us even more scope to take our time.

If Garteth Evans is in charge against Killie, so be it. We might win. He might be the man for the job.

12-10-2010, 09:48 AM
It's a bit ironic then that the players that reacted best to JC's methods were the young guys, Hogg, Mccann, Benji, Brown and Stevenson all improved under him and have gone backwards since he left, although to be fair Mccann has hardly played.

Absolutely no inside knowledge but i've got trouble believing all these stories about his poor man management, imo too many players improved under him for that to be the case

Kevin Thomson?

12-10-2010, 09:48 AM

Is he going for a job with them then :greengrin

12-10-2010, 10:05 AM
Kevin Thomson?

He might not have liked JC but could you really say he's gone from strength to strength since leaving hibs? He's shown the odd glimpse of what he's capable of but never consistantly

Purehibee_MYB
12-10-2010, 10:10 AM
When's this apparent news conference today?

12-10-2010, 10:10 AM
Caldera de la Cruz Nuz understands that Elmo will be named tomorrow, with Big Bird as his assistant.

Cookie Monster will be brought in to eat all the pies.

Word is that Bert and Ernie will be the first signings of the new era - they're out of contract and will be drafted in to shore up the defence. Negotiations are ongoing to bring in Grover as goalkeeping coach.
You read it here first! :notworthy:

12-10-2010, 10:11 AM
He might not have liked JC but could you really say he's gone from strength to strength since leaving hibs? He's shown the odd glimpse of what he's capable of but never consistantly

This is going off on a tangent. :greengrin

I think employers, including football managers, have a duty of care for their employees and offer them advice and support in areas of their private life, if it's requested.

WE often hear about clubs "standing by" a player who has got himself into trouble.

Presumably, JC would have said it's nothing to do with Hibernian Football Club.

Anyway, water under a bridge now.

Mac
12-10-2010, 10:13 AM

Tastefully.

:confused: yeah im sure every media outlet across the entire UK didnt have Yogis sacking as some sort of headline somewhere and therefor no one would guess we needed a new manager and would be open to applications and approaches :rotflmao:

Maybe Petrie should have just put it in the classifieds :wink:

12-10-2010, 10:16 AM
I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but I think most clubs take their time.

Because, as Hibs fans, we're not waiting for an announcement with baited breath when say, Lincoln become managerless, we don't appreciate the timescale involved.

Some clubs rush to appoint an interim manager, but that's not what we're doing. For example, Killie brought in Calderwood and Motherwell brought in Brown. I guess we could have done the same, but we want something different.

Some, high profile clubs will go behind the incumbent's back and secretly tap up a manager in advance but we haven't been as duplicitous.

Also, there is huge interest in the Hibs job so we should consider all the applicants properly. Many of the names will be unknown to the board, so an amount of research will be necessary.

I remember the clamour for Jim Gannon to be appointed last time on the back of one poster's fanciful and glowing posts. We all seem to be desperate for Steve Clarke this time, when none of us know if he has the right attributes - or if there is a better candidate out there.

There is no need for an unseemly rush. We have a 2 week break which allows us even more scope to take our time.

If Garteth Evans is in charge against Killie, so be it. We might win. He might be the man for the job.

We HAD a 2 week break. We now have 3 days before Killie. I think the break may have been a bad thing for us. If what we were hearing about the players not wanting to work hard at training etc then it will have been 2 weeks where the players may not have trained properly. IMO the board would have been looking for a while at possible replacement, not contacting them, but certainly looking.

I think the best scenario for hibs will be for them to appoint a manager before the Killie game but still let Evans be in charge. That way the new manager can sit in the stand and watc the players perform, which he should see 11 players on the pitch busting a gut.

12-10-2010, 10:17 AM

Sadly , as I am great fan of JC the player, the "stories" re his management skills are almost all correct .
This from players/staff at EM .
Remember regardless what job you are in you will always find that diffferent "workers" react differently to management styles.
Some will just get on with it , some will object , some even move on and footballers are no different.!

That's how life is :greengrin

12-10-2010, 10:25 AM
Sadly , as I am great fan of JC the player, the "stories" re his management skills are almost all correct .
This from players/staff at EM .
Remember regardless what job you are in you will always find that diffferent "workers" react differently to management styles.
Some will just get on with it , some will object , some even move on and footballers are no different.!

That's how life is :greengrin

But EM wasn't around when JC was in charge. :wink:

12-10-2010, 10:34 AM

I thought that clubs sacked a manager at international break to ensure they had time to get someone in before the break ended. I also thought noone would sack a manager without having looked into replacements.

To go into the Killie game with no manager would be ridiculous IMO.

12-10-2010, 10:35 AM
:confused: yeah im sure every media outlet across the entire UK didnt have Yogis sacking as some sort of headline somewhere and therefor no one would guess we needed a new manager and would be open to applications and approaches :rotflmao:

Maybe Petrie should have just put it in the classifieds :wink:

I wonder how Baltimore Brito or Nevio Scala found out about the vacancy.

Or any other European coaches who may be interested in the job.

I would think it extremely foolhardy, not to mention arrogant, if Hibs decided they didn't need to alert folk to the vacancy.

12-10-2010, 10:39 AM
I thought that clubs sacked a manager at international break to ensure they had time to get someone in before the break ended. I also thought noone would sack a manager without having looked into replacements.

To go into the Killie game with no manager would be ridiculous IMO.

I'm going by what was publicly stated at the AGM.

"We have the best part of two clear weeks over the international break to try and make progress. We do not see it as imperative to have a new management team in place for the Kilmarnock game - we want to take the time to make the right next appointment.

"Football being football, the telephones, emails and text messages have been red hot. There will be a lot of interest in one of the leading jobs in football management in Scotland."

Also, if Hibs had beaten St Johnstone, Yogi would still be in charge.

12-10-2010, 10:41 AM
We HAD a 2 week break. We now have 3 days before Killie. I think the break may have been a bad thing for us. If what we were hearing about the players not wanting to work hard at training etc then it will have been 2 weeks where the players may not have trained properly. IMO the board would have been looking for a while at possible replacement, not contacting them, but certainly looking.

I think the best scenario for hibs will be for them to appoint a manager before the Killie game but still let Evans be in charge. That way the new manager can sit in the stand and watc the players perform, which he should see 11 players on the pitch busting a gut.

The Killie game is pretty insignificant when looking at possiblythe next 3 to 5 years. We need to get the right person in and therefore the best scenario for Hibs is to appoint the best man for the job even if that takes a bit of time.

12-10-2010, 10:45 AM
We have only been without a manager for eight days, so I am not expecting an appointment before the match with Killie. It's far better the board take their time and hopefully get the best person for the job.

On the other hand, Steve Clarke is who I am hoping gets it and I also have a bet at 11/1 on him too. :greengrin

12-10-2010, 10:46 AM

That's what I think will happen although the announcement will come after the Killie game.

It's all just speculation. It could be this afternoon.

It could be Csaba Laszlo.

12-10-2010, 11:14 AM
The Killie game is pretty insignificant when looking at possiblythe next 3 to 5 years. We need to get the right person in and therefore the best scenario for Hibs is to appoint the best man for the job even if that takes a bit of time.

Dont know why people keep talking about 3 to 5 years. Hibs need instance success as they cant afford slumps. Hibs will have quickly gotten a list together of potential targets and already contacted any that they find may fit their bill. From there they would have shortened the list even further by looking at wage demands and possible budget demands.

The Killie game is significant IMO as any potential candidates will be watching that match. They will also know that 18 player are out of contract at the end of the season. if any potential candidate watches the Killie game and thinks that pretty much all of the 18 are not worth keeping they will then know they have to replace them all with very little budget.

With hibs performances at the moment, every game is important.

12-10-2010, 11:15 AM
That's what I think will happen although the announcement will come after the Killie game.

It's all just speculation. It could be this afternoon.

It could be Csaba Laszlo.

Dont even joke about that! I dont think I could cope with the interviews!

12-10-2010, 11:35 AM
Also, if Hibs had beaten St Johnstone, Yogi would still be in charge.

He probably would've been but they'd have still been thinking about sacking him. They didn't wake up on the Sunday after the St Johnstone game and realise that we'd been on a poor run, it must've been on their minds for a while. Facing an angry mob at the AGM might've made them act quicker though.

If the next manager does well we'll be back having this discussion again around next January/February. There's no 3-5 year plan! Unless they do some kind of succession planning this time?

12-10-2010, 11:37 AM
Dont even joke about that! I dont think I could cope with the interviews!

Could be a reason for the process drawing out to a week and a half though. He's still answering the "why did you apply for the job?" question.

12-10-2010, 12:04 PM
Could be a reason for the process drawing out to a week and a half though. He's still answering the "why did you apply for the job?" question.

hibee62
12-10-2010, 12:47 PM
Looks like there won't be a new manager, at least not taking charge, by Saturday:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20101012/kilmarnock-preview_2262950_2182012

12-10-2010, 01:09 PM
Just been told by a reliable source to lump on Steve Clark.....unfortunately he is now long odds on at 1/3 :grr:

Blast.

12-10-2010, 03:32 PM
You must be that the last hibbie to get this info. Most got at least evens

12-10-2010, 03:38 PM
You must be that the last hibbie to get this info. Most got at least evens

I know - just been a bit busy of late and out of the loop :grr: :boo hoo:

Manxhibs
12-10-2010, 03:39 PM
I got cheeky fiver at 12-1 last week on steve clarke, hopefully it will come off

Purehibee_MYB
12-10-2010, 03:42 PM
I got cheeky fiver at 12-1 last week on steve clarke, hopefully it will come off

Thanks to me

Manxhibs
12-10-2010, 03:46 PM
Thanks to me

In fairness it was me who mentioned clarke to you as a very good option first. :greengrin

Purehibee_MYB
12-10-2010, 03:50 PM
In fairness it was me who mentioned clarke to you as a very good option first. :greengrin

And me who said to place a bet on him

Mac
12-10-2010, 04:00 PM
I wonder how Baltimore Brito or Nevio Scala found out about the vacancy.

Or any other European coaches who may be interested in the job.

I would think it extremely foolhardy, not to mention arrogant, if Hibs decided they didn't need to alert folk to the vacancy.

from reading a few of your posts it is clear you have not the first iota how the whole thing works and how quickly a manager can be appointed or the millions of agents who are agents who are agents for people all over the world, you see peope will instantly put their clients, clients name in the hat without their knowledge, the reason, to let everyone know they are looking for work!!! not arrogant in the slightest, Hibs dont need to do a think apart from sift through the people they are intersted in or proactively approach someone should they have someone in mind!!!!

Manxhibs
12-10-2010, 04:02 PM
And me who said to place a bet on him

Thats by the by. GGTTH

12-10-2010, 04:49 PM
But EM wasn't around when JC was in charge. :wink:

As they say
"Not often you are right but this time you are definately wrong" :greengrin

From "Scotsman"
19 December 2007
By DAVID HARDIE
THE day generations of Hibs stars dreamed of finally arrived today as the Easter Road club officially opened its £4.2million state-of-the-art training centre.
And immediately boss John Collins claimed there wasn't a football manager in the world who wouldn't be proud to have the East Mains Training Centre, built on more than 50 acres of land near Ormiston, at their disposal.

As often seems to happen with your goodself you need to do a bit more research before commiting to print !!:wink:

:bye:

12-10-2010, 04:52 PM
As they say

From "Scotsman"
19 December 2007
By DAVID HARDIE
THE day generations of Hibs stars dreamed of finally arrived today as the Easter Road club officially opened its £4.2million state-of-the-art training centre.
And immediately boss John Collins claimed there wasn't a football manager in the world who wouldn't be proud to have the East Mains Training Centre, built on more than 50 acres of land near Ormiston, at their disposal.

As often seems to happen with your goodself you need to do a bit more research before commiting to print !!:wink:

Pretty sure Collins departed the very next day after EM was opened.

12-10-2010, 04:56 PM
from reading a few of your posts it is clear you have not the first iota how the whole thing works and how quickly a manager can be appointed or the millions of agents who are agents who are agents for people all over the world, you see peope will instantly put their clients, clients name in the hat without their knowledge, the reason, to let everyone know they are looking for work!!! not arrogant in the slightest, Hibs dont need to do a think apart from sift through the people they are intersted in or proactively approach someone should they have someone in mind!!!!

Right.

In that case, we should have heard by now.

I wonder what the hold up is.

12-10-2010, 05:03 PM
As they say

From "Scotsman"
19 December 2007
By DAVID HARDIE

Collins definitely quit a day or so after EM's was opened.

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 05:22 PM
I liked John Collins whilst he was in charge however. Hibs should look away from old players and other spl managers. It seems like thief is a circulation of managers in Scottish football

Mixu- hibs then killie
Butcher- Motherwell then ict
Jeffries- hearts-killie then hearts
Yogi Falkirk then hibs

Fair enough they have had stints elsewhere they always fall back too same managers.

Might be me talking cack but seems like that too me

12-10-2010, 05:28 PM
Collins definitely quit a day or so after EM's was opened.

I'm certain it was the next day.

12-10-2010, 05:32 PM
I'm certain it was the next day.

Thats what i said .

12-10-2010, 05:41 PM
Thats what i said .

But the point being was JC was around, even if it was just a day or two :wink:

jonny
12-10-2010, 05:50 PM
I liked John Collins whilst he was in charge however. Hibs should look away from old players and other spl managers. It seems like thief is a circulation of managers in Scottish football

Mixu- hibs then killie
Butcher- Motherwell then ict
Jeffries- hearts-killie then hearts
Yogi Falkirk then hibs

Fair enough they have had stints elsewhere they always fall back too same managers.

Might be me talking cack but seems like that too me

There is a bit of a manager merry-go-round in Scotland with some managers. McGhee, Mowbray, McLeish (although now in England) and Calderwood are just another few names you could throw into that mix.
I agree that we need a bit fresh blood and thankfully it seems like we're going to get it this time.

12-10-2010, 05:51 PM

Collins was around when it was opened allright :agree: Thiers a big **** of picture of him cheesing somewhere outside EM'S:agree:

He just never hung around.

darrenmcintosh2
12-10-2010, 05:57 PM
There is a bit of a manager merry-go-round in Scotland with some managers. McGhee, Mowbray, McLeish (although now in England) and Calderwood are just another few names you could throw into that mix.
I agree that we need a bit fresh blood and thankfully it seems like we're going to get it this time.

That's what a was looking for manager merry-go-round. It's a bit annoying cause their was the talk of Billy Reids name thrown into the mix. Not heard many more rumors what's the rumors being thrown around now

12-10-2010, 06:08 PM
That's what a was looking for manager merry-go-round. It's a bit annoying cause their was the talk of Billy Reids name thrown into the mix. Not heard many more rumors what's the rumors being thrown around now

Here you go. Click here for all the latest rumours. (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?194048-The-New-Manager-Mega-Thread-Please-Post-Rumours-In-Here)

12-10-2010, 07:04 PM
Pretty sure Collins departed the very next day after EM was opened.

Yes he resigned 20/12/2007 .
Therefore he WAS at EM, albeit for only one day :wink:

That doesn';t detract from his lack of man management skills towards my two you rellies who were part of his squad beit at EM or Wardie Playing Fields :greengrin

"Fact are facts" like them or not !!! :agree:

12-10-2010, 07:31 PM
and this from a chap that gave me good info ,just before the Mowbray departure, the next manager is ....................................Paul Le Guene if that's how you spell it. not read the previous 17 pages but i'm entitled to throw mine in the hat:wink:

Mac
12-10-2010, 09:07 PM
Right.

In that case, we should have heard by now.

I wonder what the hold up is.

oh dear!!!

i think youll find i said it could be done if Hibs had their man, clearly they havent and therefor, again as i said, will be going through the amount of applications.

There is also speculation that one maybe involved with the scotland u21's so clearly there could be no approach until today at the earliest, i also said it could be done quickly if need be IF they had identified their man!!!

Now if you would like any further explanation please feel free to ask away and for a small agents fee ill explain as your not really grasping it.

12-10-2010, 09:14 PM
oh dear!!!

i think youll find i said it could be done if Hibs had their man, clearly they havent and therefor, again as i said, will be going through the amount of applications.

There is also speculation that one maybe involved with the scotland u21's so clearly there could be no approach until today at the earliest, i also said it could be done quickly if need be IF they had identified their man!!!

Now if you would like any further explanation please feel free to ask away and for a small agents fee ill explain as your not really grasping it.

Your assuming it's not already done and dusted and they are just waiting to make the announcement.

Simply put, unless you have a contact at the club, none of us know squat.

12-10-2010, 09:35 PM
I'm almost certain that it'll be somebody wearing a suit and a daft, slightly embarrassed smile while holding a scarf with HIBERNIAN emblazoned on it over his head.

I would have massive respect for the first manager who just refused to do this muppet media pose.

12-10-2010, 09:42 PM
oh dear!!!

Have I said or done something to upset you?

I'm really not sure why you've taken such exception to my suggestion that Hibs will take their time to appoint a new manager.

I may not have got the process exactly right, but my point that it is more complicated than some would believe, is valid.

Particularly as you seem to agree with me.

12-10-2010, 09:44 PM

East Mains had been being used months before the "official" opening with STF, RP and JC all singing it's praises.

13-10-2010, 06:56 AM
Guy at work has come in and said that Dave Penney http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Penney has been named by Forth One as the man to take over at Hibs - did anyone else hear this?

13-10-2010, 07:00 AM
Guy at work has come in and said that Dave Penney http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Penney has been named by Forth One as the man to take over at Hibs - did anyone else hear this?

I'ts in the Daily Weegie as well today

13-10-2010, 07:04 AM

Daily Record just says he has been interviewed and is in the frame.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2010/10/13/dave-penney-in-frame-for-hibs-hotseat-after-easter-road-talks-86908-22630471/

13-10-2010, 07:05 AM

Must be true then. :wink:

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2010/10/13/dave-penney-in-frame-for-hibs-hotseat-after-easter-road-talks-86908-22630471/

13-10-2010, 07:05 AM
Not a name that captures the imagination! After being linked with the likes of clarke i'd be pretty dissapointed if we end up with someone that left oldham due to falling crowds, although in fairness i know nothing about the circumstances surrounding that