View Full Version : Third Lanark petition

partickthistle
27-09-2010, 12:53 PM
Hi Hibs fans,
Im sure a number of you will have heard of the Grand Old Glasgow Team Third Lanark. As many of you may be aware they have been resurrected. They are hoping to purchase their old ground abck Cathkin Park and and as my Grandfather played for Thirds I said I would help them any way I could.

They have set up a petiton, please sign to back them:
http://www.petitionbuzz.com/petitions/3rdlanarkcathkinpark

No time wasters please.

All the best to Hibernian F.C. and all their fans and supporters

Sherlock Jones
27-09-2010, 12:59 PM
Signed. Good luck :aok:

partickthistle
27-09-2010, 01:01 PM
Signed. Good luck :aok:
Thanks a lot mate:thumbsup:

stu in nottingham
27-09-2010, 01:03 PM
Signed.

Good luck, it would be great to see the Hi-H back again.

27-09-2010, 01:03 PM
The link is blocked at work. What is the petition for?

Sherlock Jones
27-09-2010, 01:06 PM
The link is blocked at work. What is the petition for?

From the petition page:

The THIRD LANARK ATHLETIC CLUB are back ! We are preparing our proposal to hand in to Glasgow City Council for the long term lease of our old home ground, the atmospheric and magical Cathkin Park. This was out ground from 1903 - 1967 and was formerly the 2nd Hampden Park when Queens Park opened it in 1884. Please sign our petition if you would like to see our 95 year old 'new' football club return to our spiritual home and to play senior football again. We plan to rebuild the old players pavilion building exactly as it was and erect a new main stand in keeping with the original destroyed by fire in the late 1970s. We are already restoring the crumbling terracing and repainting the pitch wall and this old ground is slowly coming back to life. We need the public's support !! Thank you for your time.

27-09-2010, 01:07 PM
That's interesting news, any chance you could fill in some of the details? e.g. The petition says they're going to be a 'senior' club and I wondered what league they were planning to play in, how they planned to pay for the updating of the stadium, etc.

I used to live round the corner from Cathkin and would be very interested to see how this pans out.

stu in nottingham
27-09-2010, 01:12 PM
There aren't as many forlorn or poignant sights in sport as a broken-down disused football ground. It's always somebody's team and the memories and history of it that lies there in the undergrowth. It makes you feel grateful for what you have.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/felibrilu/3345335446/in/set-72157615005763601/

Good luck, Third Lanark.

Groathillgrump
27-09-2010, 01:23 PM
Signed and good luck! :thumbsup:

Dr_Regal
27-09-2010, 01:26 PM
Good News

My grandfather played for third lanark for years.
Bob Ross(Curly) is his name. Pretty sure Alan Hansens dad was there at the same time.\

Thanks for posting this

partickthistle
27-09-2010, 01:28 PM
Scotland Today are doing a feature on Third Lanark old and new tonight on STV at 6pm.

Thanks again Hibs fans

New Corrie
27-09-2010, 01:35 PM
That would be great, good luck, up the Hi Hi!!

27-09-2010, 01:37 PM
hopefully third lanark will take hertz place in scottish football:agree:

27-09-2010, 01:56 PM
Signed. Even linked it to my facebook account to help.

partickthistle
27-09-2010, 01:59 PM
Thanks mate, much appreciated :thumbsup:

Darth Hibbie
27-09-2010, 02:16 PM
Signed and facebooked. Good luck.

crewetollhibee
27-09-2010, 02:20 PM
Me tae anaw !! Good luck to the Hi-Hi's.

27-09-2010, 02:25 PM
Hi Hibs fans,
Im sure a number of you will have heard of the Grand Old Glasgow Team Third Lanark. As many of you may be aware they have been resurrected. They are hoping to purchase their old ground abck Cathkin Park and and as my Grandfather played for Thirds I said I would help them any way I could.

No time wasters please.

Signed it
Played at "Cathkin Park" two or three times back in the early 1950's
Good luck to all involved :thumbsup:

phoenixfire
27-09-2010, 02:29 PM
Signed, best wishes:thumbsup:

esjorto
27-09-2010, 02:32 PM
A pleasure and honour to sign!

Fond memories of the Hilley, Harley, Gray years.

27-09-2010, 02:33 PM
Signed

Good Luck

27-09-2010, 02:34 PM
Aken am probably being thick here but what does hi-hi mean ??:confused:

Noticed a few folk putting that doon.

stu in nottingham
27-09-2010, 02:40 PM
Aken am probably being thick here but what does hi-hi mean ??:confused:

Noticed a few folk putting that doon.

It was after a chant that the Thirds' fans had, Andy.

27-09-2010, 02:41 PM
It was after a chant that the Thirds' fans had, Andy.

Ahhh ok, Cheers Stu:aok:

hibeenicol
27-09-2010, 02:49 PM
Signed good luck getting the park back:thumbsup:

27-09-2010, 02:51 PM
A lovely romantic idea but with the intention of playing senior football again, assuming it is meant as a team in the SFL, it is a non starter IMO. Scottish football has far too many senior teams playing as it is and we need to be getting rid of a few of the deadwoods in the lower divisions rather than adding to them. For the first few years, Third Lanark would probably be well supported then there would be a natural drop in attendances and we would have another team to finance in what is an already struggling set up.

I hope they can reform but just not as an SFL team, sorry to be a kill joy folks.

vahibbie
27-09-2010, 03:28 PM
Signed, good luck.

Are they looking for a manager by any chance:wink:

27-09-2010, 03:31 PM
Signed, all the best.

partickthistle
27-09-2010, 03:37 PM
A lovely romantic idea but with the intention of playing senior football again, assuming it is meant as a team in the SFL, it is a non starter IMO. Scottish football has far too many senior teams playing as it is and we need to be getting rid of a few of the deadwoods in the lower divisions rather than adding to them. For the first few years, Third Lanark would probably be well supported then there would be a natural drop in attendances and we would have another team to finance in what is an already struggling set up.

I hope they can reform but just not as an SFL team, sorry to be a kill joy folks.
Most likely be a Junior team but who knows for the future.
They are curretnyly running various youth teams boy and girls in addition to a Senior Amateur team. Helps maybe give some of the youth in the south side of Glasgow an alternative to the Old Firm.

Great to hear the kids shout mon the HiHi and shout about Third Lanark, probably been at least 45 years since that last happened.

helsbels
27-09-2010, 03:49 PM
Signed and Good Luck

My Dad played for them so it would be good to see them up and running again.

Riordans Boots
27-09-2010, 03:59 PM
Signed :aok:

All the very best :thumbsup:

27-09-2010, 04:14 PM
Done!

Hope it all works out! I used to play pool with an old Third Lanark goalie...apparently he was the smallest Scottish goalkeeper. He was known as Auld Jocky in the Captain Cabin.

27-09-2010, 04:18 PM
Signed, good luck :thumbsup:

27-09-2010, 04:24 PM
Signed. Even linked it to my facebook account to help:thumbsup:

Bobo
27-09-2010, 04:33 PM
Done, good luck to all involved.

Dr_Regal
27-09-2010, 05:25 PM
Most likely be a Junior team but who knows for the future.
They are curretnyly running various youth teams boy and girls in addition to a Senior Amateur team. Helps maybe give some of the youth in the south side of Glasgow an alternative to the Old Firm.

Great to hear the kids shout mon the HiHi and shout about Third Lanark, probably been at least 45 years since that last happened.

Is that Neil Miles in your Avatar, former third lanark and ipswich player?

27-09-2010, 05:37 PM
Done!

Hope it all works out! I used to play pool with an old Third Lanark goalie...apparently he was the smallest Scottish goalkeeper. He was known as Auld Jocky in the Captain Cabin.

Wee Jocky Robertson, was only about the same size as me, 5'5". :agree:
A nice auld guy who passed away a few years ago if I remember right.

Edit: found these about him. http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/aberdeen/jocky-robertson-former-goalkeeper-for-third-lanark-1.88683

http://news.scotsman.com/obituaries/Jocky-Robertson.2519140.jp

27-09-2010, 05:41 PM
Signed & Facebooked. Arrabest.

27-09-2010, 05:43 PM
Signed and facebooked. The very best of luck to a club with a proud history.

Septimus
27-09-2010, 05:53 PM
Jimmy Brownlie was the gatekeeper at the Caledon Shipyard when I was an apprentice there. Mason, and inside forward, was one of my boyhood heroes.

Good to see the old name resurrected.

James.
27-09-2010, 05:56 PM
Signed :thumbsup:

Was born near to Cathkin Park - sound like a great club back in the day! Did they not give us a bit of a doing not long before they went out of business?

27-09-2010, 06:00 PM

I'll have some of your happy juice from your half empty glass.

Good luck to all involved. I hope they can pull it off.

27-09-2010, 06:04 PM
Hi Hibs fans,

No time wasters please.

Signed and good luck.

27-09-2010, 06:06 PM
Hopefully this will turn out to be a good news story - Scottish football could do with one just now :greengrin

Good luck with it :agree:

27-09-2010, 06:09 PM
Signed, great story which I will follow with interest, good luck with it.

scotty1875
27-09-2010, 06:13 PM
Signed - good luck

A historic club with a proud history.

PiemanP
27-09-2010, 06:25 PM
why did they go out of business in the first place?

27-09-2010, 06:29 PM
Signed and Facebooked Hope it all works and The Hi Hi 's will return.

27-09-2010, 06:30 PM

Thats what i want tae ken.

blairwallace
27-09-2010, 06:32 PM
signed it:thumbsup:
i love reading about this team and the history!
horrible to see how wonderful the ground looked when the club was alive before and what mess it looks today!
third lanark, my second scottish team :greengrin:greengrin

Sherlock Jones
27-09-2010, 06:34 PM

Third Lanark Wiki page...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_Lanark_A.C.

27-09-2010, 06:41 PM

The suspicions were that the club owner reckoned he could make a killing by selling Cathkin Park for housing, so deliberately let the club run down and finally went bust over quite a paltry sum.

They weren't exactly football giants but they had a decent stadium (with a recently rebuilt main stand) and a reasonable sized support. With someone else in charge, they would most likely have still been around today.

Is it just me or is this all starting to sound familiar? :dunno: :wink:

hibbiedon
27-09-2010, 06:45 PM
Signed & on facebook, all the best

blairwallace
27-09-2010, 06:54 PM
The suspicions were that the club owner reckoned he could make a killing by selling Cathkin Park for housing, so deliberately let the club run down and finally went bust over quite a paltry sum.

They weren't exactly football giants but they had a decent stadium (with a recently rebuilt main stand) and a reasonable sized support. With someone else in charge, they would most likely have still been around today.

Is it just me or is this all starting to sound familiar? :dunno: :wink:

rangers? :rolleyes:

hibb1
27-09-2010, 07:04 PM
Signed And good luck

27-09-2010, 07:05 PM
No chance. They won the Cup more recently than us :grr:

Only kidding. Good luck with this.

SurferRosa
27-09-2010, 07:07 PM
Signed and on Fb , good luck... :Awright!:

27-09-2010, 07:08 PM

Edit: found these about him. http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/aberdeen/jocky-robertson-former-goalkeeper-for-third-lanark-1.88683

Auld Jocky Robertson!! Ta for that and the great link. :thumbsup:

27-09-2010, 07:21 PM
signed and good luck:thumbsup:

27-09-2010, 07:30 PM

Signed and good luck.

I was at the 8-4 game mentioned in the first article. I seem to remember it was a foggy night and the game was in danger of not being finished. Ronnie Simpson's 2 penalty saves were two of many he made while a Hibs player.

Jocky Robertson was a hero of mine. As a short goalkeeper myself, it gave me tremendous encouragement that one of the best keepers in the top flight in Scotland was an inch shorter than me. :wink:

Wilbur
27-09-2010, 07:38 PM
Signed, good luck. Lets hope they don't end up re-forming and knocking us out the cups though!

1875godsgift
27-09-2010, 07:49 PM
Signed, good luck. Lets hope they don't end up re-forming and knocking us out the cups though!
Oh i'm sure they will, everyone else has!

Signed and good luck!

27-09-2010, 09:06 PM
Signed

27-09-2010, 09:22 PM
Signed, pusbooked and tweeted.

Aubenas
27-09-2010, 09:31 PM
Signed, f booked and tweeted. Best of luck!

Sweep
27-09-2010, 09:45 PM

I did as well. :top marks