View Full Version : Greggs Michael O'Neill

hibee bouncer
26-09-2010, 09:12 AM
In the Daily Express that we're lining him up as a replacement for Yogi. Is it not about time that if we do appoint a new manager, it's not someone who's been affiliated with Hibs?

26-09-2010, 09:17 AM
TBH if he is good enough, then he deserves a chance. I don't care if he used to play for us or not. My only concern is whether he is good enough and that goes for any other candidate.

shagpile
26-09-2010, 09:18 AM
In the Daily Express that we're lining him up as a replacement for Yogi. Is it not about time that if we do appoint a new manager, it's not someone who's been affiliated with Hibs?

It really doesn't matter if he's been affiliated to Hibs, hearts, Albion Rovers or Threave Rovers. It's his ability to do the job that matters.

26-09-2010, 09:25 AM
I don't like him, in fact i wont support his appointment should it happen.

26-09-2010, 09:38 AM
There's already been a thread on him becoming the new manager and the majority of it, if not all of it, was covering the rights and wrongs of appointing an ex-player, from memory i don't think anyone actually spoke about what sort of a job he's doing over there.

Does anyone know what he's actually been like as a manager so far?

FWIW though, i think there's nothing in this story, just a paper putting two and two together.

26-09-2010, 10:00 AM
Does anyone know what he's actually been like as a manager so far?

He took Brechin to the play-offs when he was there.

He's been at Shamrock Rovers a couple of seasons now - in the first season they finished second (their highest placing for donkeys IIRC) and qualified for the Europa League.

They currently sit six points clear at the top of the league after 31 games, with five fixtures to go. They got knocked out Europe by Juventus 3-0 on aggregate, after beating an Israeli team in the previous round, and are in the semi-final of the domestic cup competition having lost 2-1 in the semi-final of their other cup.

All in all, his record looks pretty good.

At The Edge
26-09-2010, 10:08 AM
I think its lazy journalism, they know that a section of Hibs fans have been giving the team/Yogi a hard time, they then have a wee look at the forums, see that O'neill is mentioned by the Hibs fans on the forums as a person they would llike to see as next Hibs boss and run with it.

Not saying that he wouldn't be a good Hibs manager, just that the Daily Express are adding fuel to the fire, I'm pretty sure that the Daily Express haven't got this news from the Tache.

All IMO of course :wink:

down the slope
26-09-2010, 10:08 AM
Link is here http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/201856/Down-and-almost-out
Sounds like it's speculation.

26-09-2010, 10:11 AM
As Bingo said its already been covered in here in great detail. I would suspect its nothing more than speculation taken from here, justified by we are currently underperforming, the odds on Yogi being replaced have crashed and always appoint ex-players.

If the papers didn’t print ***** they'd print nothing at all.

26-09-2010, 11:02 AM
Can't remember if i'm getting him mixed up with someone else or not but was he not training to be an accountant or a lawyer or something when he was a player at hibs or am i getting him mixed up with someone else?

Know on the face of it being an intelligent guy might not make that much difference in terms of managing a football team, i'm sure there's been plenty thick succesfull managers throughout the years, i just think that might be something that appeals to Petrie.

26-09-2010, 11:04 AM
Never good enough for Hibs, and have you heard his accent?

Walter
26-09-2010, 11:08 AM
I don't care who we employ name-wise of affility-wise. But what we need is a manager who has a track record of doing better every season he manages.

26-09-2010, 11:20 AM
If and it is a huge if Micheal O'Neil is to come to to Hibs then clearly that won't happen until Shamrock Rovers have won the league. The Irish League has 5 weeks to go and he is not going to resign the day after winning the league, so Yogi has some time yet.

If it all happened sooner and Micheal O'Neil left Shamrock Rovers before the end of their season could he be trusted as Hibernian Manager? Not by me.

I like the thought of Michael O'Neil and I have met him and he seems like a really sound guy, but it would again be a huge risk for us on a young up coming manager. I think if Yogi goes we need to be looking for an older experienced head.

26-09-2010, 11:31 AM
I'm sure he still stays in Edinburgh.

Flies home after their game and returns for start of training.

He was at a local laddie to sign and I'm sure it was something like play Friday nights, fly home and go back for training restarting on the Tuesday.

26-09-2010, 11:34 AM
The Daily Express is still trying to tell anyone who will listen that Prince Philip got Lady Di killed.

gillythehibby
26-09-2010, 11:54 AM

Absolute Hee Haw. Just filling a column. Hibs do not let out this information. They generally go about their business in a very professional manner. The Tache would be havin none of it. Yogi needs until xmas at least. BTW, lets get off his *** back.

26-09-2010, 12:01 PM
The Daily Express is still trying to tell anyone who will listen that Prince Philip got Lady Di killed.

The b4st4rd !

Ye cannae trust them Greeks.

Twiglet
26-09-2010, 12:02 PM
Maybe they've just been reading here...

26-09-2010, 12:24 PM
Best 2 footed player since Riordan.

26-09-2010, 01:04 PM
Can't remember if i'm getting him mixed up with someone else or not but was he not training to be an accountant or a lawyer or something when he was a player at hibs or am i getting him mixed up with someone else?

Know on the face of it being an intelligent guy might not make that much difference in terms of managing a football team, i'm sure there's been plenty thick succesfull managers throughout the years, i just think that might be something that appeals to Petrie.

The ideal person for Rod. A manager and an accountant rolled into one :greengrin

26-09-2010, 01:12 PM

He was pre-Riordan...:greengrin

And most footballers have two feet:agree:

Apart from that, agree totally!

stubru59
26-09-2010, 01:17 PM
He's not the one.

26-09-2010, 01:18 PM

If Yogi goes then personally I wouldn't want another ex-Hibs player to take charge. Maybe an English manager who speaks properly would be our best choice. Couldn't care less if he can manage just so long as he is articulate in his interviews. :wink:

26-09-2010, 01:34 PM
He took Brechin to the play-offs when he was there.

He's been at Shamrock Rovers a couple of seasons now - in the first season they finished second (their highest placing for donkeys IIRC) and qualified for the Europa League.

They currently sit six points clear at the top of the league after 31 games, with five fixtures to go. They got knocked out Europe by Juventus 3-0 on aggregate, after beating an Israeli team in the previous round, and are in the semi-final of the domestic cup competition having lost 2-1 in the semi-final of their other cup.

All in all, his record looks pretty good.

If he has that sort of record, Rovers will want to hold onto him. So we probably would have to part with compensation to get him.

He was a highly intelligent player, sometimes so much so that he was three or four moves ahead of his team-mates - I remember one game when he laid the ball off to Steven Tweed, made the run for the return, only to see ST blooter the ball blindly into the opposition goalmouth where nobody in a green shirt was...

Cue a tirade from O'Neill at Tweed. Raging, he was. :devil:

I also seem to remember a totally sublime volley into the top corner first-time from a pass by Kevin Harper - against Falkirk, I think?

I hate speculating about a position like the manager's while there's a guy already/still occupying it. However, if we ARE going to make a change, Mikey O'Neill might be a good appointee - PROVIDED the board understand that they HAVE to get the right guy this time, and that they HAVE to support him unequivocally both in terms of finance and in terms of him being the boss - no more dressing-room rebellion antics, in other words.

What I'm finding incredibly annoying right now is that on the surface the board have done everything we could expect them to do. The books are balanced, the training-ground's up and running, the stadium's complete and looks a real picture. We've even managed to sign a fair number of players with more than decent pedigrees, though it might be said that some of them are (let's say) under-performing right now? (For whatever reasons.)

We should be poised for lift-off - not struggling along like a ruptured duck, with all the flapping around, splashing and quacking, and no positive results observable WHATSOEVER.

So in spite of my reservations about this sort of speculation, I rather hope that this ISN'T speculation, that the board ARE making a move, and that if Mikey does come in as boss he makes a much better fist of it than his immediate predecessors.

Heaven knows, something has to be done, and soon. :agree:

26-09-2010, 02:22 PM

:greengrin - what aboot his website??? :grr:

If and it is a huge if Micheal O'Neil is to come to to Hibs then clearly that won't happen until Shamrock Rovers have won the league. The Irish League has 5 weeks to go and he is not going to resign the day after winning the league, so Yogi has some time yet.

If it all happened sooner and Micheal O'Neil left Shamrock Rovers before the end of their season could he be trusted as Hibernian Manager? Not by me.

I like the thought of Michael O'Neil and I have met him and he seems like a really sound guy, but it would again be a huge risk for us on a young up coming manager. I think if Yogi goes we need to be looking for an older experienced head.

5 weeks ties in with the end of October which will be the 'watershed' for Yogi I think

The ideal person for Rod. A manager and an accountant rolled into one :greengrin

26-09-2010, 02:27 PM
I'm sure he still stays in Edinburgh.

Flies home after their game and returns for start of training.

He was at a local laddie to sign and I'm sure it was something like play Friday nights, fly home and go back for training restarting on the Tuesday.

That is true scoopy (are you referring to Craig Sives ??)

On a seperate point that was the same Craig Sives that Hearts medical team told would never play football again. O'Neill sent him for specialist assessment prior to signing and after a short trial their medical team were incredulous at both their (Hearts) diagnosis and their treatement of his back problem (all alleged of course :wink::greengrin)

26-09-2010, 02:29 PM
I also seem to remember a totally sublime volley into the top corner first-time from a pass by Kevin Harper - against Falkirk, I think?

Motherwell. One of the best goals I've ever had the privilege of seeing in the flesh :agree:

26-09-2010, 02:58 PM
Motherwell. One of the best goals I've ever had the privilege of seeing in the flesh :agree:

Ah yes. Ta. I agree - I have BIG BIG trouble thinking of any goal scored by anyone as good as that one.

26-09-2010, 03:02 PM

me too...hoddle-esque ability.

26-09-2010, 03:07 PM
Ah yes. Ta. I agree - I have BIG BIG trouble thinking of any goal scored by anyone as good as that one

me too...hoddle-esque ability.

IIRC it started from a Motherwell corner. Hibs broke quickly, Harper played a long ball across from the right hand side and O'Neill met it full on the volley from the left edge of the box without even breaking stride. It went like a missile into the top corner.

If an OF player had done it, we'd still be seeing replays to this day :agree:

26-09-2010, 03:18 PM

You mean like Bobby Williamson? Or Alex Miller or Jocky Scott? Hibs affiliation is irrelevant, it's proper managerial qualities we require. M O'N was a lovely footballer, is passionate, intelligent & articulate & is doing wonders in Ireland. Can't imagine why
we would be interested in him!! :wink:
FWIW I agree with others, this is Express making a story up but it may develop legs especially given Irish close season is fairly imminent.

26-09-2010, 03:30 PM

I hope not.

26-09-2010, 04:00 PM
We still have a manager if people hadn't noticed
However if push comes to shove is there one good reason why the board should appoint yet ANOTHER ex Hibs player as manager ?.
Only one - Ned Turnbull - has been even moderately succesful
Let's , for once, have some ambition :confused:

:bitchy::yawn:

26-09-2010, 04:15 PM
Sorry but he was definitely left footed and was nowhere near the catagory of being classed as two-footed.But he's intelligent,a bit moody and was living in Edinburgh when I last saw him:agree:

Remember him scoring a goal against Raith i think at ER which was exactly the same as Riordan yesterday.

Excellent two footed player.

26-09-2010, 04:16 PM
However if push comes to shove is there one good reason why the board should appoint yet ANOTHER ex Hibs player as manager ?.

Yes, him being a good manager.

I agree, we shouldn't apoint someone just because they've links to the club, however that shouldn't rule them out of the job.

Sorry but he was definitely left footed and was nowhere near the catagory of being classed as two-footed.But he's intelligent,a bit moody and was living in Edinburgh when I last saw him:agree:

Could use his right foot but no way could he be classed as a 'two footed' player, definately just a left fitter.

hibbybrian
26-09-2010, 04:21 PM

I agree with your sentiments :top marks

however, although it was a while back, ex-player Hugh Shaw was certainly the most successful manager we have had :greengrin

26-09-2010, 04:23 PM
You're a novice mate.Not on the same planet as Riordan in terms of being two footed!

Who said he was on the same planet as Riordan? You did.

I merely pointed out he scored an exact replica of Riordans goal yesterday.

hibby67
26-09-2010, 04:31 PM
we still have a manager if people hadn't noticed
however if push comes to shove is there one good reason why the board should appoint yet another ex hibs player as manager ?.
Only one - ned turnbull - has been even moderately succesful
let's , for once, have some ambition :confused:

you say lets have some ambition who would you suggest we can relistically get?

26-09-2010, 04:31 PM

I'd be shocked if Hibs appointed him. There are loads of guys with better records. The fact he played for Hibs if anything counts AGAINST him this time because he left under a cloud after pushing for a move for near on a year and losing form during that time.

Frankly, there are plenty of good Scottish managers (without Celtic/Irish links) that I would prefer us to appoint.

26-09-2010, 04:34 PM

Ambition? Why should the appointment of any ex-Hibs player (as long as he has the qualities needed for the job) be seen as less than ambitious?

Fact: any manager with experience of a successful spell in the English Premier League or Championship will be able to command terms way above what we can afford. So where do we look?

As I posted elsewhere, Hibs have completed the training-ground requested by Tony Mowbray. The stadium is now complete - one of the best grounds in Scotland right now. The books are balanced. So we should be looking for lift-off this season - not the chaos and confusion apparent in the way the team's being run right now.

I've been on holiday - got back on Friday. What I've been hearing since I got back has been far from reassuring regarding the way John Hughes is conducting himself. I can only conclude that if he hasn't lost the entire dressing-room, he's certainly lost the respect and loyalty of a fair number of key players, most worryingly players who I would have thought would be the most committed and loyal in the squad.

Sources? Two senior referees, a couple of former players, and a couple of other individuals who do know what they're talking about. No names, no pack drill.

Hughes seemed to cope fine at Falkirk - maybe the step up has been too much for him. Or maybe he was being carried along by Russel Latapy, Brian Rice and his other assistants.

Oddly enough, I reckon he's assembled a reasonable squad in the past 15 months. A squad capable of much better than he seems able to get from them. But mystifying team selections, tactical incompetence, a bullying manner in public and private, and a clear tendency to play favourites (and I could go on and on) suggest to me that the team will only deteriorate under Hughes' direction.

He needs to go, and he needs to go this week. Now. When Kilmarnock FC have to send their security personnel into our dressing-room to stop a violent post-match dispute between Hibs players, and the manager tries to say that nothing happened, there's something seriously wrong. And I have it on the very best of authority that that IS what happened after the CIS defeat last week.

If I were the board, I would release Hughes today, and appoint Brian Rice and Gareth Evans as interim first-team coaches. They couldn't possibly do any worse than Hughes is doing right now.

26-09-2010, 04:35 PM
You mean like Bobby Williamson? Or Alex Miller or Jocky Scott? Hibs affiliation is irrelevant, it's proper managerial qualities we require. M O'N was a lovely footballer, is passionate, intelligent & articulate & is doing wonders in Ireland. Can't imagine why
we would be interested in him!! :wink:
FWIW I agree with others, this is Express making a story up but it may develop legs especially given Irish close season is fairly imminent.

Or Mowbray or McLeish - our two most successful managers in the last thirty years.

Personally, I just want good manager who is appointed because he can do the job, is intelligent, and has a bit of class about him so that he knows how to handle the fans and media without alienating too many people.

26-09-2010, 04:37 PM
I did? You're going to have to explain that one to me:confused:

I ment 'Not on the same planet' :greengrin

26-09-2010, 05:01 PM
Ambition? Why should the appointment of any ex-Hibs player (as long as he has the qualities needed for the job) be seen as less than ambitious?

Fact: any manager with experience of a successful spell in the English Premier League or Championship will be able to command terms way above what we can afford. So where do we look?

As I posted elsewhere, Hibs have completed the training-ground requested by Tony Mowbray. The stadium is now complete - one of the best grounds in Scotland right now. The books are balanced. So we should be looking for lift-off this season - not the chaos and confusion apparent in the way the team's being run right now.

I've been on holiday - got back on Friday. What I've been hearing since I got back has been far from reassuring regarding the way John Hughes is conducting himself. I can only conclude that if he hasn't lost the entire dressing-room, he's certainly lost the respect and loyalty of a fair number of key players, most worryingly players who I would have thought would be the most committed and loyal in the squad.

Sources? Two senior referees, a couple of former players, and a couple of other individuals who do know what they're talking about. No names, no pack drill.

Hughes seemed to cope fine at Falkirk - maybe the step up has been too much for him. Or maybe he was being carried along by Russel Latapy, Brian Rice and his other assistants.

Oddly enough, I reckon he's assembled a reasonable squad in the past 15 months. A squad capable of much better than he seems able to get from them. But mystifying team selections, tactical incompetence, a bullying manner in public and private, and a clear tendency to play favourites (and I could go on and on) suggest to me that the team will only deteriorate under Hughes' direction.

He needs to go, and he needs to go this week. Now. When Kilmarnock FC have to send their security personnel into our dressing-room to stop a violent post-match dispute between Hibs players, and the manager tries to say that nothing happened, there's something seriously wrong. And I have it on the very best of authority that that IS what happened after the CIS defeat last week.

If I were the board, I would release Hughes today, and appoint Brian Rice and Gareth Evans as interim first-team coaches. They couldn't possibly do any worse than Hughes is doing right now.

Good post Doddie, but the bit in bold, a manager may command a higher fee if hes been in engerlunds 2ns league, but if they aint earning at the minute, Hibernian can offer a lot more than the dole.

Sometimes managers would rather work than be idle (some have even made a fortune out of the game and the money isn't the deciding factor)

26-09-2010, 05:11 PM
Good post Doddie, but the bit in bold, a manager may command a higher fee if hes been in engerlunds 2ns league, but if they aint earning at the minute, Hibernian can offer a lot more than the dole.

Sometimes managers would rather work than be idle (some have even made a fortune out of the game and the money isn't the deciding factor)

correct, Hibs back to the Championship may be easier than the dole to the championship

26-09-2010, 05:22 PM

That's true. And since these are pretty cut-throat leagues, a good manager may come available on short notice.

Since a huge amount hinges on our next selection (we simply can't afford to get it wrong this time round) it might be that giving the team to Rice and Evans in the interim might be the short-term answer to present difficulties.

From what I've been hearing NEITHER of them are in any way happy with what's been going on, and neither are currently exactly enamoured of Hughes.

Crazyhorse
26-09-2010, 05:47 PM
Ah yes. Ta. I agree - I have BIG BIG trouble thinking of any goal scored by anyone as good as that one.

I agree with that. I seem to remember it was O'Neill who started the move and then finished it with the best goal I have ever seen at Easter Road. Being fom the same part of the world as Michael I have kept an eye on his career and he seems to have done very well in management so far. I think we will have to suffer Hughes' ineptitude for some time yet though.

26-09-2010, 06:41 PM
Given our turnover of players in the last ten years it might prove difficult getting someone who HASN'T played for us. Personllay I dont give a flying one if we end up with a sash wearing flute playing chinese englishman who supported the yams as a kid. If they're good enough get them in.

If Yogi goes then personally I wouldn't want another ex-Hibs player to take charge. Maybe an English manager who speaks properly would be our best choice. Couldn't care less if he can manage just so long as he is articulate in his interviews. :wink:

26-09-2010, 06:52 PM
That's true. And since these are pretty cut-throat leagues, a good manager may come available on short notice.

Since a huge amount hinges on our next selection (we simply can't afford to get it wrong this time round) it might be that giving the team to Rice and Evans in the interim might be the short-term answer to present difficulties.

From what I've been hearing NEITHER of them are in any way happy with what's been going on, and neither are currently exactly enamoured of Hughes.
Surprised that's the case for Rice. Usually No. 2's are very loyal to their Manager, particularly when they have moved with them from one club to another.

Rice strikes me as a quiet individual and if there is any frustration on his part it might be due to Yogi not heeding his advice / input.

26-09-2010, 07:16 PM

VERY disconcerting Doddie

26-09-2010, 07:20 PM
VERY disconcerting Doddie

If true...:agree:

26-09-2010, 07:33 PM

I doubt very much that anyone is being lined up at this stage - I would think that O'Neil would definately be in the frame if it did come up though. Whether he used to play for the Hibees or not is an irrelevence and should neither make him a favourite or preclude him from consideration.

26-09-2010, 07:36 PM
I don't care who we employ name-wise of affility-wise. But what we need is a manager who has a track record of doing better every season he manages.

Modest aspirations there.

26-09-2010, 07:44 PM
That is true scoopy (are you referring to Craig Sives ??)

On a seperate point that was the same Craig Sives that Hearts medical team told would never play football again. O'Neill sent him for specialist assessment prior to signing and after a short trial their medical team were incredulous at both their (Hearts) diagnosis and their treatement of his back problem (all alleged of course :wink::greengrin)

No, it was Darren Smith I was referring to.

He was leaving Brechin where he played for MON and was swithering between Raith and Shamrock, he decided on Raith as he has a good job outside football and opted to stay part time.

Ironically he is now with Alloa as Raith were wanting him full time.

26-09-2010, 07:55 PM

Fantastic goal. But........was that the game where thon baldy, lanky Motherwell player got sent off for telling the linesman he was too fat to keep up with play? And was that the move that provoked him into suggesting the linesman was a porker?

Ernie Cobra
26-09-2010, 08:14 PM
I'd be shocked if Hibs appointed him. There are loads of guys with better records. The fact he played for Hibs if anything counts AGAINST him this time because he left under a cloud after pushing for a move for near on a year and losing form during that time.

Frankly, there are plenty of good Scottish managers (without Celtic/Irish links) that I would prefer us to appoint.

Areyou at the windup? Cetlic/Irish manager links???...... I heard John Hughes likes Pizza but he'snever been to Milan:bye:

26-09-2010, 08:35 PM
Fantastic goal. But........was that the game where thon baldy, lanky Motherwell player got sent off for telling the linesman he was too fat to keep up with play? And was that the move that provoked him into suggesting the linesman was a porker?

Different game - the game where O' Neill scored the volley was a 2-2 draw in the league.

The game in which Baldy Brian Martin got sent off was a scottish cup tie around the same time which we won 2-0. Kevin Harper scored a goal from long range shooting doon the slope I'm sure.

26-09-2010, 08:43 PM
Different game - the game where O' Neill scored the volley was a 2-2 draw in the league.

The game in which Baldy Brian Martin got sent off was a scottish cup tie around the same time which we won 2-0. Kevin Harper scored a goal from long range shooting doon the slope I'm sure.

Thank you!:thumbsup: It was going to keep me awake tonight trying to remember his name.

26-09-2010, 08:50 PM
Thank you!:thumbsup: It was going to keep me awake tonight trying to remember his name.

26-09-2010, 09:18 PM
IIRC it started from a Motherwell corner. Hibs broke quickly, Harper played a long ball across from the right hand side and O'Neill met it full on the volley from the left edge of the box without even breaking stride. It went like a missile into the top corner.

If an OF player had done it, we'd still be seeing replays to this day :agree:

And didnt Baldy Brian Martin get sent off at the same time for trying to half Kevin Harper as he scampered down the wing??

26-09-2010, 10:11 PM
If true...:agree:

Fair enough, matty; all I can say is that at lunchtime today I would have reserved judgement, but after checking in with a couple of friends and a phone call from a colleague, all of whom know what they're talking about....

My gut feeling would normally be that to keep changing managers must be counter-productive. Hearing what I'm hearing now, from decent sources, I'm seriously concerned about the apparent situation in the dressing-room.

I MAY be entirely wrong here, matty. I hope I am. BUT - I really am becoming alarmed. I don't think Hughes has the capacity to turn things round; he seems to be falling out with player after player, and with his coaching staff colleagues. Time will tell, though, I guess.

26-09-2010, 10:17 PM
Fair enough, matty; all I can say is that at lunchtime today I would have reserved judgement, but after checking in with a couple of friends and a phone call from a colleague, all of whom know what they're talking about....

My gut feeling would normally be that to keep changing managers must be counter-productive. Hearing what I'm hearing now, from decent sources, I'm seriously concerned about the apparent situation in the dressing-room.

I MAY be entirely wrong here, matty. I hope I am. BUT - I really am becoming alarmed. I don't think Hughes has the capacity to turn things round; he seems to be falling out with player after player, and with his coaching staff colleagues. Time will tell, though, I guess.

Apologies Doddie, I wasn't trying to imply that you'd made it up - I know you'd only post if you were confident that it was true.

I think I'm guilty of getting frustrated at a lot of stories being posted recently that get taken as fact despite there not being much in the way of evidence to back it up (again, not aimed at you!).

Perspective
26-09-2010, 10:27 PM

Surely, even if you didn't rate John Collins, you'd class a Cup-winning manager as moderately successful?

I think Michael O'Neill could be a goer. I have reservations but he ticks a lot of the boxes.

For now, at least, John Hughes is manager of the team we all support. We can at least get behind him while he's in the job.

27-09-2010, 01:37 AM
I'd back O'Neil if he came in, just as I back Yogi now. Yes, I think he'll probably fail, but all this abuse and personal stuff and bickering between posters is just nonsense. If isn't succesful he will be sacked. That's football. All the stuff that accompanies it is just hot air.

1875 NO 1
27-09-2010, 09:13 AM
It really doesn't matter if he's been affiliated to Hibs, hearts, Albion Rovers or Threave Rovers. It's his ability to do the job that matters.
spot on.

Perhaps too big a jump for him but Barca manger is young and had no experience. Perhaps Craig Brown with O'Neill with a view to him taking over.

27-09-2010, 09:20 AM
I'd back O'Neil if he came in, just as I back Yogi now. Yes, I think he'll probably fail, but all this abuse and personal stuff and bickering between posters is just nonsense. If isn't succesful he will be sacked. That's football. All the stuff that accompanies it is just hot air.

1875 NO 1
27-09-2010, 09:22 AM

Crunchie played it out to Harper, 1st time cross O'neill was about 12 yards out and a left peg volley. Class.

Oh to have Crunchie and O'Neill playing today.

27-09-2010, 09:26 AM

Yeah but thats because you only like one of every two managers we get in:greengrin

27-09-2010, 09:27 AM

I had the priviledge of being on the way back from the pie stall behind the East when that one was scored. Bugger!

On a side note he was Alloa branch's player of the year and at the dance he was an absolute gent. He went around every table that night and completely worked the room.

If we did have to get a new manager, I would have no complaints with this appointment.

aberhibsfc
27-09-2010, 09:56 AM

The only criteria should be ability.

I've heard positive things about O'Neill's management performance from those in the know but I have no first hand knowledge, nor have I been following his managerial career.

I would rather Hughes turns it around, if that's not to be then we'll deal with it at the time.

My only worry if there was truth in this story that the Hibs board are being blinkered trying to do this on the cheap. If Hughes was to leave, it would be more sensible to track potential candidates but I would be leaving the door open to see what interest this position generated.

I was disappointed to hear on the Radio the other night of a Hibby's response from the Board regards Stokes sale. Not having to but wanting to, what possible reason would they want to.

I'm tired of selling of family silver then not using the funds to generate a better level of player coming to ER. We seem to be happy snapping up players from the bottom six clubs and nailing loan and 1 year deals.

It's about time the board ring fenced investment to the team rather than finding other ways to spend it. There surely can't be that much else to blow it on. If we can't nail decent seasoned pro's well why not ramp it up at the Academy and go after the best young talent available and bring them on.

I need something positive to latch onto.

27-09-2010, 11:06 AM

And he'd already proved himself at Aberdeen.

27-09-2010, 12:25 PM
I had the priviledge of being on the way back from the pie stall behind the East when that one was scored. Bugger!

On a side note he was Alloa branch's player of the year and at the dance he was an absolute gent. He went around every table that night and completely worked the room.

If we did have to get a new manager, I would have no complaints with this appointment.

We do, Spike, we seriously do.

Whether O'Neill would come in the light of recent past history, and how well he would perform would be a matter of conjecture until he'd been in post for a while. He certainly couldn't be as bad as the present incumbent, but Barney the purple dinosaur would be an improvement right now, IMHO.

27-09-2010, 01:24 PM
We do, Spike, we seriously do.

Whether O'Neill would come in the light of recent past history, and how well he would perform would be a matter of conjecture until he'd been in post for a while. He certainly couldn't be as bad as the present incumbent, but Barney the purple dinosaur would be an improvement right now, IMHO.

little bit off topic, but am I only person that finds barney the dinosaur a bit unsavoury?

Just something no right with him!!

27-09-2010, 01:34 PM
little bit off topic, but am I only person that finds barney the dinosaur a bit unsavoury?

Just something no right with him!!

It's not just you. He nearly ran me over with a bus. I took my wee lad to see him at AECC years ago. Front row. At one point he was driving a bus. Now I did notice that a tyre was detaching itself from one of the rear wheels but thought nothing of it. That's until I noticed that it was causing the bus to start veering off the stage. Towards me. I actually froze. All I could think was that my last moment on this earth would be spent watching a purple dinosaur careering towards me in a bus whilst singing ,'If all the raindrops where lemondrops and gumdrops.'' Thankfully somebody applied the brakes at the last minute. I still have nightmares. Barney you *******.:grr:

27-09-2010, 01:37 PM
:hijack:

It's not just you. He nearly ran me over with a bus. I took my wee lad to see him at AECC years ago. Front row. At one point he was driving a bus. Now I did notice that a tyre was detaching itself from one of the rear wheels but thought nothing of it. That's until I noticed that it was causing the bus to start veering off the stage. Towards me. I actually froze. All I could think was that my last moment on this earth would be spent watching a purple dinosaur careering towards me in a bus whilst singing ,'If all the raindrops where lemondrops and gumdrops.'' Thankfully somebody applied the brakes at the last minute. I still have nightmares. Barney you *******.:grr:

27-09-2010, 01:58 PM
:hijack:

Apologies. I have given myself a warning.

27-09-2010, 06:38 PM
would be another bad move IMO ....what about Terry Butcher?

27-09-2010, 06:41 PM
would be another bad move IMO ....what about Terry Butcher?

:agree: Perhaps with Bob Malcolm as his No 2.

27-09-2010, 06:45 PM

27-09-2010, 09:53 PM
[QUOTE=Doddie;2589604]We do, Spike, we seriously do.

QUOTE]

Cmon then Doddie....spill what you have been told....

27-09-2010, 10:26 PM

I'm still thinking Bob could do a job for us in mid-field BH.:agree:

27-09-2010, 11:08 PM
I'm still thinking Bob could do a job for us in mid-field BH.:agree:

It looks like we may have missed out on him as a player, but i'm all for getting him in as assistant manager, maybe even as the main man. It has to happen one day.

28-09-2010, 09:53 AM
It looks like we may have missed out on him as a player, but i'm all for getting him in as assistant manager, maybe even as the main man. It has to happen one day.

You know, FR - right now I can actually see that appointment as a move for the better? :cool2:

28-09-2010, 09:59 AM
You know, FR - right now I can actually see that appointment as a move for the better? :cool2:

You could be right HH. :wink:

28-09-2010, 03:52 PM
You could be right HH. :wink:

Just a thought. There's another M O'Neill who's not working just now....

What about him? :cool2:

28-09-2010, 03:58 PM
Just a thought. There's another M O'Neill who's not working just now....

What about him? :cool2:

In a shot, we might come up a little short in wages though. :wink:

28-09-2010, 04:01 PM
In a shot, we might come up a little short in wages though. :wink:

Aye, right enough.

Love to see it though - top man, Martin.

Littlest Hobo
28-09-2010, 04:14 PM
Would that be considered a step up for Mike O'neil if he were to come to Hibs:confused::rolleyes::wink:

28-09-2010, 04:18 PM
Would that be considered a step up for Mike O'neil if he were to come to Hibs:confused::rolleyes::wink:

Probably not, as things stand.

JohnScott
28-09-2010, 04:22 PM
No offence guys but threads like these are what give net forums a bad name :wink:. Surely we should debate who takes over when Yogi leaves no?

Your all talking pish anyway! Go for another young manager? Yer nuts! If he's a diddy we have to sack him. If he's a success he's off within two years! We need to follow Motherwell and go for an older guy with NO Hibs connection. If he's mince, we show him the nearest bus stop. If he's relatively successful we've less chance of losing him. Do you want stability or continue this pathetic managerial rollercoaster. Think about it. When the time comes I'll be on here with my choice of manager.

28-09-2010, 05:23 PM
If true prob waiting till irish season finishing .... Twigg prob arriving as well :wink: