View Full Version : Fat Kids
25-09-2010, 01:11 AM
So many fat porky children waddling around these days. You have to blame the parents. A form of child abuse, I reckon.
25-09-2010, 12:06 PM
So many fat porky children waddling around these days. You have to blame the parents. A form of child abuse, I reckon.
Parents want shot! If they come anywhere near my kids, I swear.....etc.
I think it is a by product of kids being left at day care for up to 11 hours a day, and parents working their backsides off to pay for it. No time to let them out to play.
The other thing is the perceived fear of abduction that means kids aren't free to roam as when I was young. Instead parents want them at arms length.
On a more sinister note, useless parents are using processed food and confectionary as a form of control. The sort that let their kid sit in the supermarket trolley.
25-09-2010, 01:00 PM
I think it is a by product of kids being left at day care for up to 11 hours a day, and parents working their backsides off to pay for it. No time to let them out to play.
The other thing is the perceived fear of abduction that means kids aren't free to roam as when I was young. Instead parents want them at arms length.
On a more sinister note, useless parents are using processed food and confectionary as a form of control. The sort that let their kid sit in the supermarket trolley.
What about the lack of physical education in the school curriculum, that is surly a contributing factor, also the lack of competitive sport.
EH6 Hibby
25-09-2010, 02:03 PM
I don't think daycare is anything to do with it really, my son was at nursery 3 days a week all day and he's never had a bit of fat on him, he got plenty excersise when at nursery and now gets even more with football training twice a week and going to the park to play football umpteen times a week, he's only 6, so he's never been out to play on his own yet, but I always make sure he gets out to run around.
25-09-2010, 02:55 PM
and fat adults that moan about their weight....do something about it then, you're in control of your own body - only get one of these bad boys.
No time for fat moany people.
andyhibs
25-09-2010, 04:49 PM
im no moany:wink:
25-09-2010, 04:54 PM
and fat adults that moan about their weight....do something about it then, you're in control of your own body - only get one of these bad boys.
No time for fat moany people.
Agreed in most cases, but for those who are natural endomorphs, it can be extremely hard to lose weight.
25-09-2010, 05:03 PM
Agreed in most cases, but for those who are natural endomorphs, it can be extremely hard to lose weight.
Don't know what that means but are you saying that if they ate less and moved more they wouldn't have got fat or wouldn't lose weight?
Fat people do my head in, which is ironic as i'm no kate moss myself, however the amount of fat folk you see moaning about being fat that'll get a can of diet coke but get the lift down one flight of stairs is unbelievable.
Know that seemed to go off topic a bit there but IMO most fat kids are fat because they're parents are fat and because the parents can't go an hour without eating rubbish the kids see that as normal.
Nothing to do with amount of competitive sport or anything like that IMO.
Borders Hibby
26-09-2010, 04:32 AM
Not a good example when our first minister is an obese yam.:wink:
26-09-2010, 08:08 AM
What about the lack of physical education in the school curriculum, that is surly a contributing factor, also the lack of competitive sport.
It has to be a factor. :agree:
I don't think daycare is anything to do with it really, my son was at nursery 3 days a week all day and he's never had a bit of fat on him, he got plenty excersise when at nursery and now gets even more with football training twice a week and going to the park to play football umpteen times a week, he's only 6, so he's never been out to play on his own yet, but I always make sure he gets out to run around.
Fair enough, is it just ignorance about diet and laziness when it comes to preparing food? Or could it be the "cheapness" of processed foods, parents indulging and serving rubbish to the kids? :dunno:
26-09-2010, 08:50 PM
I was on the bus going home from work on Friday, 2 girls got on with about 5 bairns and sat in the seats next to me. The bairns must have aged between 6-11ish, anyway one of the girls asked them what they wanted from the chippy for their tea,one of the bairns replied that they wanted the same as the night before, she phoned it from the bus and they were all getting full fish/hamburger/sausage suppers and she ordered 2 big bottles of coke. The kids weren't fat, the mum was. If they are being fed chippies regulalrly then I don't hold out much hope for them not getting fat.
It's without doubt poor parenting, and I suppose it is a form of child abuse, though that label seems a bit extreme.
26-09-2010, 08:53 PM
Fair enough, is it just ignorance about diet and laziness when it comes to preparing food? Or could it be the "cheapness" of processed foods, parents indulging and serving rubbish to the kids? :dunno:
If you can't afford to look after a child properly then, in my opinion anyway, you shouldn't have them. Using the excuse of healthy foods being more expensive than the cheap processed stuff is pathetic.
26-09-2010, 09:04 PM
If you can't afford to look after a child properly then, in my opinion anyway, you shouldn't have them. Using the excuse of healthy foods being more expensive than the cheap processed stuff is pathetic.
I would question if processed foods are any cheaper anyway. So many things you can rustle up in practically the same time as convenience grub, such as stir fry, there's no need.
EH6 Hibby
27-09-2010, 08:35 AM
I think most of comes down to laziness, there are several factors such as Video Games, bad diet and lack of excersise, but they all come back to laziness imo. Allowing a child to sit and play video games means a parent doesn't have to entertain them and doesn't have to encourage them to excersise because the child is happy. The same with diet, it's not easy getting most kids to eat a healthy diet, it is easy however to feed them junk food because most kids will eat this without complaining whereas getting a child to eat vegetables can be a right pain, you really have to work at it. I personally make sure I have a treat for after dinner for my son, and if he eats his dinner he gets it, and if he doesn't he won't. Usually works fine.
Borders Hibby
27-09-2010, 09:41 AM
I think most of comes down to laziness, there are several factors such as Video Games, bad diet and lack of excersise, but they all come back to laziness imo. Allowing a child to sit and play video games means a parent doesn't have to entertain them and doesn't have to encourage them to excersise because the child is happy. The same with diet, it's not easy getting most kids to eat a healthy diet, it is easy however to feed them junk food because most kids will eat this without complaining whereas getting a child to eat vegetables can be a right pain, you really have to work at it. I personally make sure I have a treat for after dinner for my son, and if he eats his dinner he gets it, and if he doesn't he won't. Usually works fine.
Definately the laziness of the parents.:agree:
27-09-2010, 10:13 AM
Here's an area that I do believe in state intervention. If it was a problem with society at large, working parents or the restricted freedoms of kids nowadays, far more kids would be overweight.
As the OP said (although I've no idea if it was serious or not), letting your kids over-eat and not exert themselves ever is a form of child abuse. After a process (letters, meetings etc) to try and shock the parents into action, if nothing changed, I'd have the state feed them breakfast, lunch and dinner and make sure that the kids did enough running about to keep them fit. If the kids didn't lose weight and it was suspected that the parents were stuffing their faces with cakes, pies and sweets - take it even further.
Letting your kid be overweight (without trying to do anything about it) is likely to lead to a lifetime of obesity and might cause health problems later in life. Why would society let an adult do that to a kid?
Radical and hardline probably but hey ho.
The Mook
27-09-2010, 10:46 AM
video games seem to come up regularly as a blame/excuse for overweight kids or laziness.
When I were a nipper my mates and I regularly played C64 or Spectrum games (remember them? ) :cool2: sometimes for hours on end. The difference is we also played footie pretty much every night if we could and cycled/walked everywhere so led a very active lifestyle even allowing for the computer gaming.
I guess the danger comes when thats all the kids are doing - PS3 and messing around on Facebook instead of being out there playing sport.
I did read something about the reduction in kids playing football out on the street/local parks compared to years gone by but dont know if theres any hard evidence to back this up ?
27-09-2010, 11:14 AM
Probably a good thread on which to remind people that this scheme starts tonight:greengrin
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100907/get-fit-with-hibernian_2262950_2146764
:grr:Blame the parents:grr: (unless you're a parent yourself, in which case blame someone else).
27-09-2010, 11:37 AM
I did read something about the reduction in kids playing football out on the street/local parks compared to years gone by but dont know if theres any hard evidence to back this up ?
Yes, there is. In England at least 40% playing fields were lost between 1992-2005. Massive in such a short space of time, but the situation is probably even worse because theres a lot of anecdotal evidence that developers buy ex-playing field land from local authorities, and get round the regualtions by erecting a couple of goalposts on flattened pitches to make it look like its still a useable pitch, when in fact they're just sitting on the land waiting for the Council to grant a change of use to residential development.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2005/aug/01/schools.uk2
I dont have the stats for Scotland but I guess its probably the same if not worse.
The Mook
27-09-2010, 12:00 PM
Yes, there is. In England at least 40% playing fields were lost between 1992-2005. Massive in such a short space of time, but the situation is probably even worse because theres a lot of anecdotal evidence that developers buy ex-playing field land from local authorities, and get round the regualtions by erecting a couple of goalposts on flattened pitches to make it look like its still a useable pitch, when in fact they're just sitting on the land waiting for the Council to grant a change of use to residential development.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2005/aug/01/schools.uk2
I dont have the stats for Scotland but I guess its probably the same if not worse.
40% :bitchy: Thats an astonishing statistic and very sad
EH6 Hibby
27-09-2010, 01:31 PM
video games seem to come up regularly as a blame/excuse for overweight kids or laziness.
When I were a nipper my mates and I regularly played C64 or Spectrum games (remember them? ) :cool2: sometimes for hours on end. The difference is we also played footie pretty much every night if we could and cycled/walked everywhere so led a very active lifestyle even allowing for the computer gaming.
I guess the danger comes when thats all the kids are doing - PS3 and messing around on Facebook instead of being out there playing sport.
I completely agree that kids playing video games doesn't necessarily mean they will be overweight, I think the difference between my generation and the current generation is that we were used to being active before video games came along, where as now kids are brought up with it, I'm guilty of it myself in a way because my son is only 6 and he already has a DS and a Wii, I'm lucky though that given the choice he would choose playing football every time over staying in. Not all kids are the same though and there are some that are not so sporty, I think these kids are in danger of being overweight if they are not encouraged to excersise.
27-09-2010, 01:43 PM
These two kids couldn't even waddle, such a shame, a real horror story. :boo hoo:
http://edition.cnn.com/2010/CRIME/08/20/georgia.child.cruelty/index.html?iref=obinsite
Leicester Fan
27-09-2010, 02:43 PM
Child abuse is too strong a term. Child neglect is closer to the truth. It's no different from letting kids decide when they go bed, not tidying up after themselves, not being polite to others, not making them do as they're told etc.
That said I'm a parent and it's not always easy. Sometimes it's easier to stick them in front of the TV just to keep them quiet.
None of us are perfect, try not to be too judgemental.
27-09-2010, 03:25 PM
Why don't we give them fags .. that'll keep them thin.
It might lead to them killing some of their little fat chums earlier also.
27-09-2010, 04:03 PM
On a related note, i noticed that my local 4 in 1 now delivers at lunchtime.
deeks01
27-09-2010, 05:27 PM
if you want to blame lack of exercise then blame the councils for that!!! don't know about anywhere else but round here there is one place where you can have a kickabout for free and its full of neds most of the time who the kids are intimidated by. If they're not there then the broken bottles , litter and needles make it impossible for them to play safely. Of course they could pay to play 5-a-sides at the games hall... but say 5x a week that adds up to about 12-50 quid a week which i doubt can be afforded by most youngsters. Its always been the same as well , I mind when i was 11 (about 6 nd a half years ago) me and my mates were playing a good old fashioned game of hidey when some old guy called the cops on us. They drew up and basicaly told us to either go somewhere quiet and "get steamin like all the rest of your wee ****bag mates do" or "go home and play your nintendos". I'll remember that for the rest of my days as the next day i went out on the bevvy for the first time and the exact same coppers took me home to ma , raging , parents. :grrr: and the polis wonder why they're not well liked?
27-09-2010, 09:38 PM
Do what we did, just go on the pitches for nothing or find a decent bit of grass for a kickabout.
I've still no idea why the 'middle field' in Gilmerton was never turned into a football pitch.
28-09-2010, 02:36 AM
These two kids couldn't even waddle, such a shame, a real horror story. :boo hoo:
http://edition.cnn.com/2010/CRIME/08/20/georgia.child.cruelty/index.html?iref=obinsite
A horrible story. It's strange now that poverty and malnourishment results in obesity due to horrible snack/convenience and processed 'foods'.
I think the way forward is for governments to have minimum nutritional standards on products sold in order for them to be designated as food. Obviously so much of it is nothing of the kind.
28-09-2010, 07:45 AM
I genuinely think there is a solution but it must focus around education and a sugar/fat tax ..
It will be a long term project however as we continually have American-ised ourselves to the last 30-40 years.
I recall being on honeymoon 20 years ago, and taking a pic of two large-***** in Sea World. I'd never seen the like. Young couple too. Now they'd be the norm -eg normal sized, and in number also and not only in the US but here as well.
10-10-2010, 03:08 PM
It's so ironic that working for the NHS, many people in my building take the lift down stairs whilst complaining about how fat they are. What I don't see the point in is drinking "diet" everying but then have something really crappy for lunch - like a baguette containing 90% mayonaise for example.
I mean, when is that ever going to make a difference to your weight unless you drink 20 cans of coke a day and suddenly switch to diet. Even then your body over compensates it's sugar/fat intake the next time you eat as it was expecting to get X amount of energy from a can of fizzy juice, which because it was diet, didn't.
People that can't help being overwieght because of health issues are obviously different but lazyness and over indulgence in bad foods is generally the reason why people become fat in the first place.
Remember this story http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1297646/Britains-fattest-woman-Sharon-Mevsimler-dies-heart-attack-binge.html
Unbelievable.
10-10-2010, 05:54 PM
Has anybody ever seen a fat skeleton?
The Mook
10-10-2010, 06:16 PM
Has anybody ever seen a fat skeleton?
no but Ive been with a few 'big boned' lassies in my time, :confused: does this count?
11-10-2010, 09:18 AM
no but Ive been with a few 'big boned' lassies in my time, :confused: does this count?
If they are big boned, how come their skeletons aren't fat? :greengrin