View Full Version : Punches thrown in Hibs dressing room / Yogi post match interview (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

23-09-2010, 09:37 AM
We can have ambition to be a CL side, doesn't make any difference to the facts though does it?

Man city have traditionally been pish but should they just accept and enjoy being in the EPL as thats as good as they've ever had?

Whats happened in the past is irrelevant for where we should be now and where we want to be in the next 5-10 years.

23-09-2010, 09:40 AM
We should look beyond the results and at the team performance and ask ourselves will this team set up improve. I think it lacks creativity in the middle and an out and out forward because Derek has been used in midfield for such a long time he isn't seen by many as an out and out forward. If Zemama returns fit and Duffy does good up front I think it could improve. Mixu is getting some good performances out of Kilmarnock so maybe Yogi can turn it around too. We and the club should know for sure by December whether or not it's going to work out because hopefully Zemama and Duffy will be available for selection then.

23-09-2010, 09:43 AM
We should look beyond the results and at the team performance and ask ourselves will this team set up improve. I think it lacks creativity in the middle and an out and out forward because Derek has been used in midfield for such a long time he isn't seen by many as an out and out forward. If Zemama returns fit and Duffy does good up front I think it could improve. Mixu is getting some good performances out of Kilmarnock so maybe Yogi can turn it around too. We and the club should know for sure by December whether or not it's going to work out because hopefully Zemama and Duffy will be available for selection then.

What about the fact we've kept something like two clean sheets in thirty games? There's no excuses Yogi's got for that and organising them is something he is responsible for.

erskine-hibby
23-09-2010, 09:44 AM

By December we could easily be in a relegation battle, we need to address this NOW!

23-09-2010, 09:47 AM
Man city have traditionally been pish but should they just accept and enjoy being in the EPL as thats as good as they've ever had?

Whats happened in the past is irrelevant for where we should be now and where we want to be in the next 5-10 years.

Okay, get Hibs £1.1 BILLION worth of investment to change the position in football that they've always occupied and I'll agree with you.

Poor choice of example.

23-09-2010, 09:47 AM
By December we could easily be in a relegation battle, we need to address this NOW!

:agree: We have dropped Hogg, played Galbraith. We have swapped Brown for Smith and gone 4-4-2. In fact the manager has done everything the fans have demanded. Would a new man make much difference?:dunno:

23-09-2010, 09:51 AM
Okay, get Hibs £1.1 BILLION worth of investment to change the position in football that they've always occupied and I'll agree with you.

Poor choice of example.

Are we having to compete with the same teams they are?

We're spending more than the majority of teams we're competing with and have a better facilities than them as well, our performances should reflect that, regardless of whats happened in the past.

23-09-2010, 09:53 AM
:agree: We have dropped Hogg, played Galbraith. We have swapped Brown for Smith and gone 4-4-2. In fact the manager has done everything the fans have demanded. Would a new man make much difference?:dunno:

Think thats the point, it's not about the players we've got at the club, it's that they're not organised and don't appear to be motivated, both of which is Yogis job to sort out.

erskine-hibby
23-09-2010, 09:53 AM

IMHO yes.

We cannot continue on this trend and as we have no real options to strengthen the squad any more, the only option is to bring someone else in who can get the players playing as a team. I cannot help but think that, as others have said, Yogi has lost the dressing room (see last nights after match debacle).
Something must change or I fear the worst.

Twa Cairpets
23-09-2010, 09:54 AM

Which would suggest the issue is either that the squad isnt good enough (which, by SPL standards anyway, I think it is), or the manager cant get the players to do what he wants them to do. God help us all if they are actually doing what he is instructing them to do.

Arch Stanton
23-09-2010, 09:55 AM
Yoi sound like a fool. What a well educated comment. We finished forth last season so as far as I am concerned those losses were last year and are now irrelevant, I dont see you going on about our 12 game run at the start of the season, why is that - because that would involve being positive aye?

So far this season we are three points off third, despite not playing well. Get a grip we are a mile away from being in the horrific situation you make out that we are in. :grr:

This argument that 'last season is over' is totally spurious and annoys me. Facts, unlike dairy products, do not have a 'Use By' date. This is real life for pity's sake, not Groundhog Day - you can't just make up a rule that says everything that transpired before May should be forgot and never brought tae mind.

And yes, even the pre-January results could be meaningful but you are scraping suggesting that they are since that's when our current run of bad results started.

Arch Stanton
23-09-2010, 09:57 AM
70s - Hibs Averaged a top 5 finish
80s - Hibs Averaged a top 7 finish
90s - Hibs Averaged a top 6 finish - just.
00s - Hibs Averaged a top 6 finish

2 of those seasons we weren't even good enough to be in the top league at all.

We're not a top 4 side by any stretch of the imagination.

What about Dundee United - are they?

Twa Cairpets
23-09-2010, 10:01 AM
This argument that 'last season is over' is totally spurious and annoys me. Facts, unlike dairy products, do not have a 'Use By' date. This is real life for pity's sake, not Groundhog Day - you can't just make up a rule that says everything that transpired before May should be forgot and never brought tae mind.

And yes, even the pre-January results could be meaningful but you are scraping suggesting that they are since that's when our current run of bad results started.

Since the start of February last year, teams we've beaten in the 25 competitive games played are:

Motherwell (twice), Montrose, Killie, Falkirk and Dundee Utd reserves.

Be still my beating heart with the excitement for the future that illustrious list engenders in my soul .

23-09-2010, 10:07 AM

The key word is could but going by the evidence so far there is more chance of that happening than being top six. There is no guarantee that a change in manager would change our situation though. Who would want to come to Hibs if the board is only going to sanction players who can't get other clubs; their 3rd, 4th or 5th choices? It could be seen as a poisoned chalice of a job from what I can see.

erskine-hibby
23-09-2010, 10:13 AM
The key word is could but going by the evidence so far there is more chance of that happening than being top six. There is no guarantee that a change in manager would change our situation though. Who would want to come to Hibs if the board is only going to sanction players who can't get other clubs; their 3rd, 4th or 5th choices? It could be seen as a poisoned chalice of a job from what I can see.

The key words are "could easily", sure, there is nothing to say that Yogi can't turn it around, but there is absolutely nothing that says that he will. So do we just bury our heads in the sand, like our jambo friends, or do we bite the bullet and at least try to sort it??

23-09-2010, 10:18 AM

We're not a top 4 side by any stretch of the imagination.

The club have stated that their targets are qualifying for Europe and a fair run in the cups every season. That means a top 4 finish is the target. Hughes was successful in the first but has failed in the second.

However, there is no denying that our form in the last twenty-odd games is pure relegation form. Not possibly relegated, definitely relegated. There have been no signs in the last 7 months that Hughes has the answers and is able to improve that form.

23-09-2010, 10:19 AM
Think thats the point, it's not about the players we've got at the club, it's that they're not organised and don't appear to be motivated, both of which is Yogis job to sort out.

Or very fit for that matter !

Banff
23-09-2010, 10:49 AM
...according to Radio Scotland - and I'm presuming it is the Hibs dressing room. They're waiting to hear from Yogi...

Well the club were quick enough to ban the fighters in Maribor......... Oops i forgot we supporters arent fitba guys!

23-09-2010, 10:51 AM
Any news on what actually happened in the dressing room, players involved etc?

23-09-2010, 10:54 AM
The key words are "could easily", sure, there is nothing to say that Yogi can't turn it around, but there is absolutely nothing that says that he will. So do we just bury our heads in the sand, like our jambo friends, or do we bite the bullet and at least try to sort it??

Well if you trust the board to appoint someone who can turn things around with the current players plus anything they are willing to make available then that is your solution. I respect your thoughts on the matter. I don't trust the board to make an appointment that would change things and would stick with the devil I know for a wee while longer. We have beaten Motherwell away so we have something in our locker. I am as disappointed, hurt and even embarassed as much as the next Hibs fan I just don't want us to rush in to anything at this time. We are not looking good but time is still on our side. My point is that I don't trust the board to make a replacement manager produce any better results than Yogi can. It's just my opinion and I accept I could be just as much wrong as I am right. The issue for me is Hibs think small and a replacement manager won't solve that. We might get someone a bit more polished but that would only cover the real issue.

erskine-hibby
23-09-2010, 11:03 AM
Well if you trust the board to appoint someone who can turn things around with the current players plus anything they are willing to make available then that is your solution. I respect your thoughts on the matter. I don't trust the board to make an appointment that would change things and would stick with the devil I know for a wee while longer. We have beaten Motherwell away so we have something in our locker. I am as disappointed, hurt and even embarassed as much as the next Hibs fan I just don't want us to rush in to anything at this time. We are not looking good but time is still on our side. My point is that I don't trust the board to make a replacement manager produce any better results than Yogi can. It's just my opinion and I accept I could be just as much wrong as I am right. The issue for me is Hibs think small and a replacement manager won't solve that. We might get someone a bit more polished but that would only cover the real issue.

But I don't and have said on many occasion, only to be attacked from all sides.

I just don't feel that sticking with the status quo is an option.

Arch Stanton
23-09-2010, 11:12 AM
I don't trust the board to make an appointment that would change things and would stick with the devil I know for a wee while longer. We have beaten Motherwell away so we have something in our locker. I am as disappointed, hurt and even embarassed as much as the next Hibs fan I just don't want us to rush in to anything at this time. We are not looking good but time is still on our side. My point is that I don't trust the board to make a replacement manager produce any better results than Yogi can. It's just my opinion and I accept I could be just as much wrong as I am right. The issue for me is Hibs think small and a replacement manager won't solve that. We might get someone a bit more polished but that would only cover the real issue.

You are maybe happy to stay with the devil you know but if Hughes stays then I'll be heading to the docs to get my antidepressant dosage upped.

While I agree the board have been rubbish at picking managers I can't see how they could possibly pick a worse one than the current incumbent - I doubt if any exist to be honest.

legends of 73
23-09-2010, 11:17 AM
I agree with Yogi. We played well and we are unlucky not to go through. Everyone over-reacting as per usual. Yogi you have my backing.

your either taking the pish or you really need to come off the drugs

TrickyNicky
23-09-2010, 11:17 AM

Shoot me down by all means but is the theory of looking at this present debacle as some golden opportunity to completely alter the culture at Hibs too far fetched?

It couldn't be much worse - we are 2 points off bottom and 3 off 3rd ! ( by that I mean we are atrocious and still in with a shout of third and relegation )
The SPL is in desperate need of change.
Why must it be the OF to lead this - they are not even that good and who can see them improving?

Do the board appoint some form of footballing headhunter and his team to find us a reputable manager from Spain, Germany, Portugal?
Is a non-Scottish/English manager with similar qualities to those on our ultimate wish list.....within reason fraught with too much danger ?

We are in a vicious cycle at the moment and there's part of me that wonders if re-building on the platform in the style of the present successful footballing nations is the way to go!

hibhib7
23-09-2010, 11:23 AM

We're not a top 4 side by any stretch of the imagination.The fact that we averaged about 6th means sometimes we were worse, sometimes we were better. To say that a team with Hibs support, which is better than most teams who finish above us, should not be expected to finish between 3rd to 5th in the league is bollocks. Unfortunately we have had too many years of underachieving, and that even includes the great Turnbull's Tornadoes. The fans are just screaming out for a manager who can meet the fans expectations, which aren't too high - winning most of your home games would be a start.

23-09-2010, 11:27 AM
The fact that we averaged about 6th means sometimes we were worse, sometimes we were better. To say that a team with Hibs support, which is better than most teams who finish above us, should not be expected to finish between 3rd to 5th in the league is bollocks. Unfortunately we have had too many years of underachieving, and that even includes the great Turnbull's Tornadoes. The fans are just screaming out for a manager who can meet the fans expectations, which aren't too high - winning most of your home games would be a start.

I think it would take more than just a manager to reach our expectations. It needs to go higher than that. Look at Dundee Utd, a smaller club as far as fan base goes but their board have been 100% football. They have a Scottish Cup and 3rd place to show for their vision and that wasn't just down to Craig Levin.

23-09-2010, 11:33 AM
[QUOTE=TrickyNicky;2585784]Shoot me down by all means but is the theory of looking at this present debacle as some golden opportunity to completely alter the culture at Hibs too far fetched?

It couldn't be much worse - we are 2 points off bottom and 3 off 3rd ! ( by that I mean we are atrocious and still in with a shout of third and relegation )
Why must it be the OF to lead this - they are not even that good and who can see them improving?

Do the board appoint some form of footballing headhunter and his team to find us a reputable manager from Spain, Germany, Portugal?
Is a non-Scottish/English manager with similar qualities to those on our ultimate wish list.....within reason fraught with too much danger ?

QUOTE]

You are thinking along the right lines. Yes there needs to be change and radical change at our club not just at management level but higher. That doesn't necessarily mean a change in personell in the directorship but does mean a change in outlook. Thinking out side the box get funding from more sources to help change the way forward and take some good ideas like yours forward perhaps.

AL-Qaholik
23-09-2010, 11:42 AM
Just heard the interview (was at Barenaked Ladies concert last night - much better use of £25!) and whether or not there were punches thrown in the dressing room, after hearing that utterly pathetic, patronising, self-aggrandising, arrogant, flippant delusional drivel, I'm ready to throw a few of my own!! :grr::grr:

I'm actually starting to genuinely despise this utter disgrace of a 'manager'!!

I REALLY wanted him to succeed (though I wasnt actually convinced he was the right choice at the time) but he has just absolutely lost the plot! (not to mention the fans and the dressing room).

For once, put your opinion of yourself to one side and listen to other people's opinions (there's literally THOUSANDS of them by this point) who know you are totally out of your depth and in serious danger of deeply damaging the club you (claim to) love so much.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE JUST WALK!!!
Dont make us suffer week after week of your repetitive, infuriating nonsense until the board finally get their finger out and dump you!

Do what is best for yourself (these performances and, especially, the post-match interviews cannot be doing your future career aspirations any good whatsoever) and for this club and just LEAVE NOW!!!!!!

Pretty please...?

OK. Rant over. For now.

TrickyNicky
23-09-2010, 11:49 AM
[QUOTE=TrickyNicky;2585784]Shoot me down by all means but is the theory of looking at this present debacle as some golden opportunity to completely alter the culture at Hibs too far fetched?

QUOTE]

You are thinking along the right lines. Yes there needs to be change and radical change at our club not just at management level but higher. That doesn't necessarily mean a change in personell in the directorship but does mean a change in outlook. Thinking out side the box get funding from more sources to help change the way forward and take some good ideas like yours forward perhaps.

With a Spanish or German manager for example, are we then able to utilise a whole new network of scouts, agents, fundamentals, footballing mantras to our benefit.

Long term, we are so close ( obviously ) to the EPL - for scouts down south to see who we have in the shop window in the section of "young continental flair".

Can we use the tag of " a selling club " to our advantage and still reap some rewards on the park?

23-09-2010, 12:21 PM
[QUOTE=ahibby;2585798]

With a Spanish or German manager for example, are we then able to utilise a whole new network of scouts, agents, fundamentals, footballing mantras to our benefit.

Long term, we are so close ( obviously ) to the EPL - for scouts down south to see who we have in the shop window in the section of "young continental flair".

Can we use the tag of " a selling club " to our advantage and still reap some rewards on the park?

With respect, were these approaches not shown to fail at Hearts and Dundee?

TrickyNicky
23-09-2010, 12:28 PM
[QUOTE=TrickyNicky;2585814]

With respect, were these approaches not shown to fail at Hearts and Dundee?

With respect not all continentals will be cut of the same stone as The Mad Man's jesters and The Bonetti's surely?

There has been many home-grown failings too.

supersauzee
23-09-2010, 12:28 PM
right so last night didnt go tell well, I was expecting it! the season so far isnt going well at all so Hughes has got to stand up and be counted and make some vast changes! he has brought a few players in, etc but what he needs to do is change his system.

Instead of playing the same players week in week out who clearly arent doing the business then change it, bring yougsters in, change formation!! it cant be that hard Yogi but as some of his personal friends have told me "he is too thick to be a good manager and should stick to his trade of a painter and decorator"!

But honestly he has to try something new, new formations, tactics, youngsters, we cant possibly do any worse! IF HE DOESNT, then unfortuntely I cant see us being far off getting relegated or Yogi may get sacked soon!! You can see how everything other team in the SPL have a work ethic about them, a spirit, dig and fight but the games I have been to so far Hibs have now of that!! they look lost!

I am very sad about the whole situation at the moment and then this fighting thing to come out is making it even worse!! C'mon Yogi make some drastic changes or fan power will have you like Mixu!!

23-09-2010, 12:31 PM
My point is we hounded out Mixu and now we are doing the same to Yogi rather than showing some loyalty. And regardless of Kilmarnocks position I understand they pay well in comparison to the like of us.

There is no point in keeping someone who is clearly not up to the job though, our run of managerial changes in the last ten years is terrible. However we need to find the right man, I don't know who that is but I do not think it is Yogi.

23-09-2010, 12:33 PM
Yoi are wrong. The losses aren't irrelevant if you are looking at the manager's ability. They are only irrelevant in terms of this seasons competition.

ps It's "fourth".

No you are wrong. We qualified for Europe didnt we aye - the manager had the ability then didnt he? So keep your runs and stats chat.

Can't really believe you're trying to defend this to be honest. We've won only a handful of games in the last however many games, how the **** can you try and defend the run we're on. We may be 3 points off 3rd, but we're 3 times closer to the bottom of the ****ing table!!

Neither can I, defending my team and manager against our own "supporters".

23-09-2010, 12:37 PM
[QUOTE=Albion Hibs;2585859]No you are wrong. We qualified for Europe didnt we aye - the manager had the ability then didnt he? So keep your runs and stats chat.

If there had been one more game last season we probably wouldn't have qualified for Europe. Would he still have been a good manager?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
23-09-2010, 12:49 PM
I hate all this 'im in the know' innuendo, so if nobody is prepared to names names i will...

I have heard that Bamba hit Nish post-match

Dunno if its true, normally i would dismiss this but it seems to fit with the media stories we have all now heard.

For what its worth, i dont find it surpirsing that our only player of the last few weeks, and one of the few who actually tries, Bamba, would stick one on a lazy waste-of-space who doesnt apply himself at all (and the most frustrating hting, is that when he did apply himself, last two games of last season, he scored 5 goals and looked a different player).

Liek i say dunno if its true, but its clear somebody has hit somebody

23-09-2010, 12:50 PM
And once again for you, Hibs are one point away from sitting at the bottom of the league.

So is 50% of the league, including the team that finished 3rd last year - engage brain.

I never thought that I would see this day - the day I completely agree with you, well almost! He has tried everything, not on the fans shout, but to get this team achieve results. I dont believe it would help, not in the slightest, but lets just do what the boo boys want, chuck him out, show no loyalty and then complain when someone leaves the club tha we dont want to, claiming they are not loyal! We finished fourth last year, the season is five games old. We had our best run in 30 whatever years at the start of last season, maybe this year we will leave it until after Xmas.

If you are a fan you will see because you will stick by and watch your team regardless.

You are spurious and annoy me. Last season is over and done with, we finished 4th, you should be happy with that, I know I was, what else did you want from last season? Where did you want to finish? What run did you want us to go on?

So far this season we have lost one to the OF, a given, lost in a place that we have not won in for circa 12 years, had two draws and a win away from home. We would all like better (albeit then you would not have a reason to crit the team and the manager so maybe you wouldnt) but that is it for just now. WE ARE HIBS DO YOU REALLY EXPECT TO WIN EVERY GAME!

AndersonGGTTH
23-09-2010, 12:52 PM
So is 50% of the league, including the team that finished 3rd last year - engage brain.

I never thought that I would see this day - the day I completely agree with you, well almost! He has tried everything, not on the fans shout, but to get this team achieve results. I dont believe it would help, not in the slightest, but lets just do what the boo boys want, chuck him out, show no loyalty and then complain when someone leaves the club tha we dont want to, claiming they are not loyal! We finished fourth last year, the season is five games old. We had our best run in 30 whatever years at the start of last season, maybe this year we will leave it until after Xmas.

If you are a fan you will see because you will stick by and watch your team regardless.

You are spurious and annoy me. Last season is over and done with, we finished 4th, you should be happy with that, I know I was, what else did you want from last season? Where did you want to finish? What run did you want us to go on?

So far this season we have lost one to the OF, a given, lost in a place that we have not won in for circa 12 years, had two draws and a win away from home. We would all like better (albeit then you would not have a reason to crit the team and the manager so maybe you wouldnt) but that is it for just now. WE ARE HIBS DO YOU REALLY EXPECT TO WIN EVERY GAME!

Yes:greengrin

23-09-2010, 12:53 PM
[QUOTE=Albion Hibs;2585859]No you are wrong. We qualified for Europe didnt we aye - the manager had the ability then didnt he? So keep your runs and stats chat.

If there had been one more game last season we probably wouldn't have qualified for Europe. Would he still have been a good manager?

What a stupid question. There was not another game, we won the "actual" last one so why would we not have won the "make-up" game you have invented to allow you to crit Hibs and Yogi even more.

So in summary we did finish fourth with enough points to do so, we did qualify for Europe, we did have a great start to the season and a bad end, and I do think we will come through this.

23-09-2010, 12:56 PM
I hate all this 'im in the know' innuendo, so if nobody is prepared to names names i will...

Dunno if its true, normally i would dismiss this but it seems to fit with the media stories we have all now heard.

For what its worth, i dont find it surpirsing that our only player of the last few weeks, and one of the few who actually tries, Bamba, would stick one on a lazy waste-of-space who doesnt apply himself at all (and the most frustrating hting, is that when he did apply himself, last two games of last season, he scored 5 goals and looked a different player).

BBC reporting that the Manager says no one threw any punches in the dressing room

23-09-2010, 12:57 PM

So basically, you know best, and anyone who disagrees with you is wrong? You could at least have the decency to end your posts with FACT. That is the normal protocol when someone makes an argument based on what they believe rather than any evidence.

23-09-2010, 01:00 PM
[QUOTE=Filled Rolls;2585863]

What a stupid question. There was not another game, we won the "actual" last one so why would we not have won the "make-up" game you have invented to allow you to crit Hibs and Yogi even more.

So in summary we did finish fourth with enough points to do so, we did qualify for Europe, we did have a great start to the season and a bad end, and I do think we will come through this.

Is it any more stupid than saying we are good now because we were good 12 months ago? By your logic we should have stuck with Duffy as he would have us in the Champions League by now. After all his start to 97-98 was even better than Yogi's?

Blind faith.

23-09-2010, 01:03 PM
So basically, you know best, and anyone who disagrees with you is wrong? You could at least have the decency to end your posts with FACT. That is the normal protocol when someone makes an argument based on what they believe rather than any evidence.

I cant work out whether or not you are being serious. You can keep your protocol as in my first post I was clear that I was stating my opinion, and as all my other post have come from me I would have thought it was evident it is my opinion. Many, including you, voiced your opinion on what I have stated I am simply coming back to your come backs.

However, for the avoidence of doubt...............IMO!!

23-09-2010, 01:04 PM

Who has motivated a Hibs team regularly since Mowbray got his children playing for him?

Are we having to compete with the same teams they are?

We're spending more than the majority of teams we're competing with and have a better facilities than them as well, our performances should reflect that, regardless of whats happened in the past.

It's logical but not factual. In your example there, we could just as well be spending more on worse and letting them take it easier at better facilities. Better facilities and spending money do not equal better performances/results.

Spending more than everyone else on players who are better than everyone else's and having facilities that are better than everyone else's to allow us to be better prepared, skilled, fit and motivated than everyone else, would reflect the money spent.

Who is saying that the money we spend on players is money well spent?

BBC reporting that the Manager says no one threw any punches in the dressing room

He'd hardly provide a blow by blow account now would he?

23-09-2010, 01:05 PM

Bill Clinton springs to mind ! :rolleyes:

23-09-2010, 01:08 PM
Bill Clinton springs to mind ! :rolleyes:

Aaahh did nad hev physicaul relations with thet men, Mr. Nish.

el capitano
23-09-2010, 01:09 PM

i have been waiting on a post like this regarding sol bamba, i was told the dressing room carry on was the other way about, not sure how reliable the info is tho.
bamba is the most over rated centre half iv seen for years, very dodgy and easily bullied. hogg gets dogs abuse , bamba doesnt. and your point regarding nish beein lazy tells me you dont go to games, and if you do you will have seen that for beein under enormous pressure he has played decent lately.
bamba has never cared about our club and i cant see him caring in the future either, he went off last night with a debatable injury, derek,weatherspoon,nish,hart and a few others all played with knocks/injuries because the club are under enormous pressure to win matches.

so how dont you find all this surprising when anyone can see the pressure everyone in the club is under at this time?

23-09-2010, 01:10 PM
We had a manager that had European ideas MR JC he wanted the hibs team to play a possession game patient build up, healthier lifestyle, different work ethic. Fair enough he signed some awful players and sometimes his tactical seemed you could right it on half a rizla but he had his "footballing vision". Scottish players don't want to behave like athletes!

23-09-2010, 01:12 PM
I cant work out whether or not you are being serious. You can keep your protocol as in my first post I was clear that I was stating my opinion, and as all my other post have come from me I would have thought it was evident it is my opinion. Many, including you, voiced your opinion on what I have stated I am simply coming back to your come backs.

However, for the avoidence of doubt...............IMO!!

Fair enough, I didn't read closely enough. Sorry for the misunderstanding.:thumbsup:

23-09-2010, 01:13 PM

Bamba is a very good player for us but please spare us his cannonisation - I remember distinctly one phase of last weeks game vs Accies - Bamba involved in a Hibs attack finds himself in the opposition box. The move breaks down and Hamilton break onto the attack- so what happens next???
Your fictional Bamba would have sprinted back up the park immediately to do all he could to disrupt the Hamilton attack and just to get back in position.
What happened in reality was that he stood about with his hands on his hips for a couple of seconds before ambling back to his own half at an "out for a sunday stroll" type pace. I was gobsmacked TBH but it was symptomatic of a lack of urgency through most of the team that day.
Nish on the other hand is oft criticised but can always usually be relied upon to put in a shift - he'll be back defending at every set piece and straight up the park to act as the focal point for most of out attacks.

So - to cut a long winded post down to a bite sized chunk - WTF are you on about :confused::confused::confused:

23-09-2010, 01:13 PM
i have been waiting on a post like this regarding sol bamba, i was told the dressing room carry on was the other way about, not sure how reliable the info is tho.
bamba is the most over rated centre half iv seen for years, very dodgy and easily bullied. hogg gets dogs abuse , bamba doesnt. and your point regarding nish beein lazy tells me you dont go to games, and if you do you will have seen that for beein under enormous pressure he has played decent lately.
bamba has never cared about our club and i cant see him caring in the future either, he went off last night with a debatable injury, derek,weatherspoon,nish,hart and a few others all played with knocks/injuries because the club are under enormous pressure to win matches.

so how do you find all this surprising when anyone can see the pressure everyone in the club is under at this time?

Apart from last night, Nish has been very poor this season. I have no idea where you get the idea that he has been decent from. Certainly not by watching him anyway.

23-09-2010, 01:24 PM
So last night, BBC Scotland reports there was a bust up in the dressing room and by all accounts, stewards and the polis had to wade in.

Yogi then talks about it in his interview (not quoting here or anything) to the effect that it shows that there's fight in the players and that they'll be in at training tomorrow and we go on from there. Now he's quoted as saying that there wasn't a rammy at all.

Which one is it? I dislike hibs being a laughing stock as much as I love it when the Yams are. This is just embarrassing.

el capitano
23-09-2010, 01:27 PM
Apart from last night, Nish has been very poor this season. I have no idea where you get the idea that he has been decent from. Certainly not by watching him anyway.

the last few games he has been decent, i dont expect great things from him. bamba i expect more than he has shown for a while now, if he done his job the way opposition centre halfs do against our forwards we would be better off. he gets bullied, loses silly fouls gives away cheap corners and leaves his marker far to easily.

all about opinions tho and the way things are going decent is nowhere near good enough, so fair play to you

23-09-2010, 01:33 PM
So last night, BBC Scotland reports there was a bust up in the dressing room and by all accounts, stewards and the polis had to wade in.

Yogi then talks about it in his interview (not quoting here or anything) to the effect that it shows that there's fight in the players and that they'll be in at training tomorrow and we go on from there. Now he's quoted as saying that there wasn't a rammy at all.

Which one is it? I dislike hibs being a laughing stock as much as I love it when the Yams are. This is just embarrassing.

Ach big deal - so there was a bit of fisticuffs - at least it shows that some of the guys in that dressing room were hurting and angry at losing!

23-09-2010, 01:34 PM
Who has motivated a Hibs team regularly since Mowbray got his children playing for him?

It's logical but not factual. In your example there, we could just as well be spending more on worse and letting them take it easier at better facilities. Better facilities and spending money do not equal better performances/results.

Spending more than everyone else on players who are better than everyone else's and having facilities that are better than everyone else's to allow us to be better prepared, skilled, fit and motivated than everyone else, would reflect the money spent.

Who is saying that the money we spend on players is money well spent?

He'd hardly provide a blow by blow account now would he?

I was merely repeating what the Beeb had reported.

We seem to have 'in the know' people on here providing details anyway:coffee:

23-09-2010, 01:36 PM

Ok, ok. I'm not keen on spilling the beans but here it is.

When the whistle went, the players were quick down the tunnel. Everyone was silent until they got into the dressing room when something was mumbled to Nish by Bamba and Nish challenged it. Bamba then squared up and called Nish lazy and Nish lurched for him, unfortunately slipping and falling on his erchie in the process. Bamba went right over the top of him and got booked after the final whistle for climbing.

Stewards came in and went straight for Dickoh and Bamba by passing an anonymous midfield. The full backs were too far up the room to get back in time.

When Hughes and Rice got back, they were shouting instructions to De Graff, despite the fact that he was lathering up his cheeks in the showers at the time. He was asked to throw the soap to McBride but missed from two yards out.

As the exchange got more and more heated, Miller went into hiding and Riordan tried sorting it all out from 25, 30 and 35 yards out. Nish finally got back up to retaliate and aimed a punch at Bamba but when he looked to his left, the linesman had his flag up for offside.

Bamba then pistol whipped Nish with his length and Yogi blamed Hanlon for not blocking it due to being out of position, however Hanlon had only been back in the dressing room for 12 minutes.

Rankin then needed a dump and climbed up above the water pipes before aiming a 'squiggler' at the bowl. It goes without saying that it missed it's target.

Trakys shouted to Hughes that he was bang out of order and should take a good look at himself, which he tried to do but couldn't get the mirror away from Miller who was making sure that his hair was spikey enough.

I really didn't want to tell you all this, but you've pushed me into it.

23-09-2010, 01:38 PM
Funnily enough that's exactly what I heard happened

23-09-2010, 01:38 PM
the last few games he has been decent, i dont expect great things from him. bamba i expect more than he has shown for a while now, if he done his job the way opposition centre halfs do against our forwards we would be better off. he gets bullied, loses silly fouls gives away cheap corners and leaves his marker far to easily.

all about opinions tho and the way things are going decent is nowhere near good enough, so fair play to you

Bamba would be a definite pick in my Hibs team based on the current squad but there's no doubt that he is overrated by many fans. He has done a lot better than I thought he would at Hibs but surely someone would have taken a chance on him in the summer if he was as good as some think. In the last year of his deal and Hibs would not have been difficult to deal with (Rodders is gutted no doubt that we never cashed in as he will be worth little in Jan)

Sven obviously wasnt a huge fan when he plays a midfielder at centre back during the world cup thats about Wee Hoggys size when he was previously first pick under their last coach.

Being big, strong and quick are great attributes but there's much more to being a defender and he has much to learn on the basics. As Yogi would say "fitba people ken this"

Dalkeith
23-09-2010, 01:41 PM

When the whistle went, the players were quick down the tunnel. Everyone was silent until they got into the dressing room when something was mumbled to Nish by Bamba and Nish challenged it. Bamba then squared up and called Nish lazy and Nish lurched for him, unfortunately slipping and falling on his erchie in the process. Bamba went right over the top of him and got booked after the final whistle for climbing.

Stewards came in and went straight for Dickoh and Bamba by passing an anonymous midfield. The full backs were too far up the room to get back in time.

When Hughes and Rice got back, they were shouting instructions to De Graff, despite the fact that he was lathering up his cheeks in the showers at the time. He was asked to throw the soap to McBride but missed from two yards out.

As the exchange got more and more heated, Miller went into hiding and Riordan tried sorting it all out from 25, 30 and 35 yards out. Nish finally got back up to retaliate and aimed a punch at Bamba but when he looked to his left, the linesman had his flag up for offside.

Bamba then pistol whipped Nish with his length and Yogi blamed Hanlon for not blocking it due to being out of position, however Hanlon had only been back in the dressing room for 12 minutes.

Rankin then needed a dump and climbed up above the water pipes before aiming a 'squiggler' at the bowl. It goes without saying that it missed it's target.

Trakys shouted to Hughes that he was bang out of order and should take a good look at himself, which he tried to do but couldn't get the mirror away from Miller who was making sure that his hair was spikey enough.

:top marks for cheering me up

23-09-2010, 01:41 PM

Was very close to pasting this onto an email to send to folk as had believed it all until Bamba got booked for climbing!!

23-09-2010, 01:49 PM

Nope - I thought he played pretty well against Hamilton as well - he no doubt did his usual Nishesque stuff like falling over in a passing breeze, but he also played his part in some nice attacking moves and scored a goal which should have stood.

Something I've noticed as a growing tendency in the Hibs support is that once it has been decided in certain circles that a player is sheight or "not hibs class", everything good that said player does will be ignored while he will be relentlessly piloried for perceived weaknesses in his game.
It strikes me that you've fallen prey to this infectious habit - next time you go to a game, just for once try looking deliberately for positive things in Nish's game - you've already taken stock of his weaknesses so give it a go and see what happens.

Disclaimer - the writer of this post in no way guarantees that nish'll have a good game just cos your looking for it. I know he can be pish, but sometimes he's very good as well - so there!

vahibbie
23-09-2010, 02:18 PM

:top marks Finally something that's actually funny tae laugh at.
Well done that man.:thumbsup:

23-09-2010, 02:48 PM

Are you at it?

No one is saying we should win every game....however we should be winning some of the ones that at present are not. No one really expects us to split to OF and win cups every year, but we are being out fought, out played and out run by much worse teams.

How you can look at that and accept it is beyond me ! :bye: FACT !

23-09-2010, 03:19 PM
Ach big deal - so there was a bit of fisticuffs - at least it shows that some of the guys in that dressing room were hurting and angry at losing!

So they publically embarrass the club... I can't agree with you, fighting amongst ourselves... it's shameful.

HibsMax
23-09-2010, 03:25 PM
Couple of thoughts.

3 points from 3rd is a meaningless stat when you consider a few things:
(a) only 15 points have been up for grabs so far. 3 points is 20% of that and 20% doesn't sound trivial to me.
(b) we're 1 point from the bottom so we're 3x closer to the bottom than we are to 3rd.

Last season aside, I still think it's a little early to be getting too anxious. I would say at least wait until we've played everyone else, then we will have a much truer measure of where we are.

Yogi's interviews are frustrating but what he says in front of the camera is not really that important. I seriously doubt that it matters what he says, people will still find issues with his comments. I also suspect there is enough blame to be spread around almost everyone and as they say, people in glass houses.....There is no denying there are different management styles and this applies to all walks of life. It's obvious that Yogi, in public, doesn't want to put his players down so he tries to take out all the positives, even when there are far more negatives.

But what worries me the most is that we have gone through quite a number of different managers and we still hit the same walls. I think this has a lot to do with the amount of $$$ being made available to spend on the team. I was one of the people who said a few years ago that it will take some time to slowly build the team and infrastructure. We have the training facility. We have the new stand. I don't have the numbers but I think we have a manageable debt (?). I personally was happy to suffer a few years to get the club headed in the right direction and I think we've done a good job of that. But now it's time to start investing in the actual team. We should be able to start attracting better players to the club AND retaining the talent we nurture ourselves. So I don't necessarily blame Yogi because I kinda think that most of the managers in our budget would have had similar issues. That's not to say that he is the answer, I'm just saying I don't think that he is the root cause. I think you can say that a manager is a failure if you give them cash, a decent amount, and they squander it.

So as I said before, I think there is enough blame to be spread around.

23-09-2010, 03:28 PM

He went back to a 4-5-1 last night.

23-09-2010, 03:32 PM
[QUOTE=HibsMax;2586018

But what worries me the most is that we have gone through quite a number of different managers and we still hit the same walls. I think this has a lot to do with the amount of $$$ being made available to spend on the team.[/QUOTE]

He has had considerable backing on that front being allowed to sign Stokes, Miller and to have four keepers on the books at the one time. 15-20 players in 3 transfer windows isnt bad and other managers would give their back teeth to get that backing and also our wage budget.

The board loosened the purse strings, the wages to turnover went up to 67% but they clearly got edgy late on in the transfer window by only sanctioning loans or short terms which I agree isn't of great benefit when we needed more quality.

23-09-2010, 03:33 PM
loving it :hilarious:hilarious

punks_jump_up
23-09-2010, 03:42 PM
Will anyone of these players get a letter from Hibs stating that there presence is no longer permitted at Hibs games in the future.
Seems to be more punches thrown here than in Maribor and most were quick to condemn those "allegedly" involved.
:agree::wink:

23-09-2010, 06:30 PM
Are you at it?

No one is saying we should win every game....however we should be winning some of the ones that at present are not. No one really expects us to split to OF and win cups every year, but we are being out fought, out played and out run by much worse teams.

How you can look at that and accept it is beyond me ! :bye: FACT !

Oh... you dont expect to win them all - which ones do you "expect" to win?

Exactly the problem, no team other than Rangers or Celtic should expect to win any given game.

What makes the teams we are playing worse?

FACT of the matter is our problem is our expectations are too high - to that end I agree with Yogi's comment last week.

23-09-2010, 06:30 PM

Presumably while the players, coaching team and support staff all stood in a circle chanting "pagger, pagger"?

23-09-2010, 06:38 PM
Oh... you dont expect to win them all - which ones do you "expect" to win?

Exactly the problem, no team other than Rangers or Celtic should expect to win any given game.

What makes the teams we are playing worse?

FACT of the matter is our problem is our expectations are too high - to that end I agree with Yogi's comment last week.
:troll:

Wind-up merchant.

Ernie Cobra
23-09-2010, 06:43 PM

To me it shows a complete lack of discipline and disregard for your team mates manager and fans.....but hey maybe thats just me

23-09-2010, 06:48 PM
To me it shows a complete lack of discipline and disregard for your team mates manager and fans.....but hey maybe thats just me

yer clearly no a fitba guy...:greengrin

23-09-2010, 06:51 PM
:troll:

Wind-up merchant.

Sorry, I will re-phrase. Good post, clearly a lot of thought has gone into that and glad to see you have so much football knowledge and wisdom to spare.

24-09-2010, 06:20 AM
An "In the know" friend said that kevin mcbride was also involved in the ruck, and that bamba and nish were scrapping.

Could all be pish though :wink:

24-09-2010, 07:01 PM
An "In the know" friend said that kevin mcbride was also involved in the ruck, and that bamba and nish were scrapping.

Could all be pish though :wink:

Is your good friend a Fish Man with a part-time job in Greggs? If not, I don't believe a word!