View Full Version : BBC Open All Mikes

broonie27
21-09-2010, 08:31 PM
Is anyone listening to this gash. It's totally embarrassing - it's like listening to a bunch of gadgies watching final score at the pub. Their patter is cringe-worthy.

And don't get me started on Alan Preston - how a ned like that got a job that involves talking beggars belief. His blatant bias towards hearts is quite incredible. Can you imagine a commentator covering a English game for BBC 5 Live showing such an obvious allegiance. It says more about BBC Scotland than it does Preston.

21-09-2010, 08:33 PM
Is anyone listening to this gash. It's totally embarrassing - it's like listening to a bunch of gadgies watching final score the pub. Their patter is cringe-worthy.

And don't get me started on Alan Preston - how a ned like that got a job that involves talking beggars belief. His blatant bias towards hearts is quite incredible. Can you imagine a commentator covering a English game for BBC 5 Live showing such an obvious allegiance. It says more about BBC Scotland than it does Preston.

I can't believe he is actually screaming his heid off. Plum ! :bitchy:

21-09-2010, 08:33 PM
Is anyone listening to this gash. It's totally embarrassing - it's like listening to a bunch of gadgies watching final score the pub. Their patter is cringe-worthy.

Yogi's cousin you know! seriously the boys a complete clown

21-09-2010, 08:36 PM
hate open all mikes, and that's all we get this season (unless the uglies are playing)

21-09-2010, 08:38 PM
Cringeworthy but I admit I laughed when the email was read out, asking "Will you be covering the extra time or is there shinty on?"

Am also pashing masel at Preston's reaction to Falkirk's winner :greengrin

broonie27
21-09-2010, 08:38 PM
Oh ma sides - Falkirk have just scored and Preston is gutted. That has just made my week :thumbsup:

21-09-2010, 08:42 PM
Yogi's cousin you know! seriously the boys a complete clown

Which one?

21-09-2010, 08:44 PM
Which one?

21-09-2010, 08:44 PM
I love open all mikes, massively unique and entertaining IMHO

Arch Stanton
21-09-2010, 08:48 PM
Oh ma sides - Falkirk have just scored and Preston is gutted. That has just made my week :thumbsup:

You'll be tuning in next week too then?

21-09-2010, 08:50 PM
hate open all mikes, and that's all we get this season (unless the uglies are playing)

I think it's pish as well - can't stand listening to it. As you say they've binned the live commentary on a Saturday (barring the one game) for this pish. Believe it or not they claim they had a lot of support for the show and that's why they stopped real commentary.

21-09-2010, 08:51 PM
I love open all mikes, massively unique and entertaining IMHO

Unique as in a poor mans Soccer Saturday?

21-09-2010, 08:55 PM
"Hearts fans on the pitch they are charging down to celebtrate 2 - 2"

"Hearts fans on the pitch they are charging down to celebtrate 2 - 3"

:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:

4 - 3 :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin::bye:

broonie27
21-09-2010, 08:56 PM

I think it's pish as well - can't stand listening to it. As you say they've binned the live commentary on a Saturday (barring the one game) for this pish. Believe it or not they claim they had a lot of support for the show and that's why they stopped real commentary.

I live in New Zealand now so I don't tune in on Saturdays any more - are you telling me they have dropped ALL live commentaries apart from old firm games?

21-09-2010, 08:59 PM
I live in New Zealand now so I don't tune in on Saturdays any more - are you telling me they have dropped ALL live commentaries apart from old firm games?

No. They commentate on one game at 3pm - the game of the day presumably. I'd imagine this includes one of the ugly sisters 9 times out of 10.

broonie27
21-09-2010, 09:01 PM
No. They commentate on one game at 3pm - the game of the day presumably. I'd imagine this includes one of the ugly sisters 9 times out of 10.

So no more live games on-line then?

I presume BBC lost the rights to broadcast the other games, they couldn't have taken this decision by choice?

21-09-2010, 09:03 PM
So no more live games on-line then?

I presume BBC lost the rights to broadcast the other games, they couldn't have taken this decision by choice?

I think commentary games are online, but on the radio you get one game and on the other frequencies the never hasbeens shouting over the top of eachother when Aberdeen and Dundee United win a corner.

TheBall'sRound
21-09-2010, 09:20 PM
Is anyone listening to this gash. It's totally embarrassing - it's like listening to a bunch of gadgies watching final score at the pub. Their patter is cringe-worthy.

Funnily enough, Alan Smith and Ian Wright are doing the Spurs game. The most biased 'experts' on telly!

New Corrie
21-09-2010, 09:40 PM
It is so embarrassing, I just hate the thought of visitors to our country tuning into it by mistake. It is like a bunch of jakey chavs in the pub watching the results coming through. BBC Scotland is just a drop in centre for failed coaches who specialise in speaking like Jakes, thank goodness for 5 live.

21-09-2010, 09:43 PM
I missed the Scottish action tonight to listen to Five Live and Talk Sport.

I don't care for the commentaries or presenters on either of those stations that much, but BBC Scotland has dumbed down to such an embarassing extent I can no longer stand it. If I want to listen to a bunch of second-rate cretins bantering in the pub..........I'll go to the pub.

Can there be a connection somehow between the dire standards in our game and the same situation in our media?

21-09-2010, 09:45 PM
Cringeworthy but I admit I laughed when the email was read out, asking "Will you be covering the extra time or is there shinty on?"

Am also pashing masel at Preston's reaction to Falkirk's winner :greengrin

:agree: yeah enjoyed that one :greengrin

broonie27
21-09-2010, 10:55 PM
Funnily enough, Alan Smith and Ian Wright are doing the Spurs game. The most biased 'experts' on telly!

Quite true.

21-09-2010, 11:02 PM
Alan Preston's reaction at the Falkirk winner was epic. To be fair (why the hell should I tho'?) he had reacted enthusiastically to all the previous goals, especially the Jambo ones but when Falkirk scored from the corner, all you could hear above the crowd noise was his pathetic squeak, "Aw, it's a goal, Falkirk have won the match." :greengrin

21-09-2010, 11:09 PM
[QUOTE=broonie27;2583375]Is anyone listening to this gash. It's totally embarrassing - it's like listening to a bunch of gadgies watching final score at the pub. Their patter is cringe-worthy.

And don't get me started on Alan Preston - could not really describe him as a gadgie,as gadgies are a wee bit clever/wide or whatever. Preston is a fud,and I'd rather liten tae an argument between a drunk man and a green wheelie bin,mair entertaining,that's for sure.

22-09-2010, 05:13 AM
I think commentary games are online, but on the radio you get one game and on the other frequencies the never hasbeens shouting over the top of eachother when Aberdeen and Dundee United win a corner.

that's right, it means I can't get on with work in the garden and listen to the Hibs game at the same time. If I want to listen to a match rather than that Nish I have to go online. Match commentary is on 810 medium wave, and the reception is poor here.

22-09-2010, 06:53 AM
I must be the only person that actually doesn't hate Open All Mikes.

If Hibs aren't playing, I don't particularly want full commentry on another game that I'm not really interested in. Open All Mikes kept me up to date with everything all night, fine with me.

22-09-2010, 07:01 AM

If Hibs aren't playing, I don't particularly want full commentry on another game that I'm not really interested in. Open All Mikes kept me up to date with everything all night, fine with me.
:agree: It isn't all bad.

22-09-2010, 07:17 AM

No - you're not alone. I like the idea, and would rather listen to updates than to a full commentary of St Johstone v Aberdeen etc....But, like others, I cannae be doing with the '(not very bright or insightful) blokes in a pub' approach. More measured, more detail, less hysteria, and it would do me fine.

And zero Alan Preston. Then I'd be happy.

22-09-2010, 07:34 AM
It's a very good idea, but full of complete idiots doing it.

They think they're all witty and smart, and I suppose I admit when hibs are playing and doing bad it is compounded to make it a seriously bad **** time listening....

Five live is a zillion times better it's unreal.
Why can't we have professionals like that, who also make the games interesting/exciting??

And that Sandra Brown, jeez, she gives me a heart attack when she comes on screaming when there's a goal. Almost as squeeky as Preston.

Love the idea, but hate the show.

22-09-2010, 08:33 AM
Unique as in a poor mans Soccer Saturday?

Thats what i think of it as well, the annoying thing is that the BBC can be brilliant at covering sport their F1 Coverage is second to none, but when budget cant be arsed programmes come on its nothing short of a disaster :agree:

22-09-2010, 09:13 AM

No, you're not alone.

I also prefer to listen to open all mikes when the Hibees are not in action.

22-09-2010, 11:53 AM

Well I must be the other one, I think its a great laugh & keeps me up to date with all the games.

22-09-2010, 12:55 PM
No, you're not alone.

Well I must be the other one, I think its a great laugh & keeps me up to date with all the games.

I think the "when Hibs aren't playing" of all of your statements is quite important. I think the show's even worse when you're listening for Allan Preston squawking in the background.

What irritates me most about it is that Richard Gordon's usually making a point about something (that's interesting) and as he's about to go on Jim Spence, Preston, Robbo or Chick Young shout and yelp in the background to interrupt him to let us know that a someone has just taken a by-kick for Inverness. When they go back to Richard Gordon he's lost the moment and moves on to something else.

22-09-2010, 06:01 PM
No, you're not alone.

But now there isn't a choice, well there is, listen to that drivel or not.

22-09-2010, 06:44 PM
on BBC red button, sport interactive page, you can have Midweek final score, i.e. BBCs Gillete Soccer Sat, but anyway you can click audio between Five Live and Radio Scotland.... What a difference between the 2.
Radio scotland makes me cringe. Really would like the five live quality for our coverage.

22-09-2010, 06:48 PM
For a nation of our size I think Radio Scotland's football coverage is more than adequate when compared to the size and resources of 5Live.

22-09-2010, 06:48 PM
For a nation of our size I think Radio Scotland's football coverage is more than adequate when compared to the size and resources of 5Live.

Good coverage but full of twonks.

(((Fergus)))
22-09-2010, 06:53 PM

Agree but open all mikes is just a mess of blether that gives you little idea of what's happening other than the scores.

22-09-2010, 06:56 PM
Yes!

(((Fergus)))
22-09-2010, 07:02 PM
**** me charlie mann's haircut WHO GIVES A FLYING ****!?

22-09-2010, 07:03 PM
Sportsound is terrible. Listening to it reminds me of rambling alcoholics in the hovel of Haddington, The Bay Horse.

And as for alan Preston's 'patter'? Deary me. Hearts fanny.

Aaron
22-09-2010, 08:34 PM
**** me charlie mann's haircut WHO GIVES A FLYING ****!?

They are on about Americans thinking Obama is a cactus now :yawn:

22-09-2010, 10:46 PM
Good coverage but full of twonks.

:agree: I quite like it, at least it isn't all Celtic and Rangers like other stations. And at least it is fully focused on Scotland. But for every decent guy like Richard Gordon, theres a Chick Young or Alan Preston. But even them two aren't as bad as the likes of Ian Wright (the most odious person if football) that you have to put up with on English stations.