View Full Version : Question George Best, Des Bremner and Franck

20-09-2010, 06:59 PM
Am I right in thinking that these guys are the only three European Cup winners who have worn our green and white?

crash
20-09-2010, 07:05 PM
Am I right in thinking that these guys are the only three European Cup winners who have worn our green and white?
Nope, I'll give you Ronnie Simpson and Bertie Auld for starters.

BryanV
20-09-2010, 07:05 PM
Ronnie Simpson

weststandhibby
20-09-2010, 07:06 PM
ronnie simpson

20-09-2010, 07:12 PM
Ronnie Simpson

20-09-2010, 07:13 PM
Right enough. How stupid am I?
Was having a debate re European cup winners with a Yam associate. He could only offer Jankauskas (who, IIRC, sat on Porto's bench during the 2003 CL final)

20-09-2010, 07:16 PM
Kenny Dalglish put in a fine performance in a testimonial in which K Wright scored 3 IIRC. Despite only straying about 20yds either side of halfway he was immense!

20-09-2010, 07:20 PM
Kenny Dalglish put in a fine performance in a testimonial in which K Wright scored 3 IIRC. Despite only straying about 20yds either side of halfway he was immense!

Yeh, I mind of that game. I'm minded to think it was against Blackburn and Shearer was subject to a rousing repition of "What a wast of money" :greengrin

20-09-2010, 07:25 PM
Don't know if anyone has mentioned this yet, but Ronnie Simpson:agree:

20-09-2010, 07:29 PM
Yeh, I mind of that game. I'm minded to think it was against Blackburn and Shearer was subject to a rousing repition of "What a wast of money" :greengrin

Sure it was Villa.

Blackburn was a pre season friendly.

20-09-2010, 07:30 PM
Was having a debate re European cup winners with a Yam associate. He could only offer Jankauskas (who, IIRC, sat on Porto's bench during the 2003 CL final)

Did they no win it in 2008 as planned then :confused: there must be dozens of them floating about wi medals.........

20-09-2010, 07:30 PM

He could have had Willie Wallace.

20-09-2010, 07:33 PM
I believe that, although Joe McBride didn't play in the 1967 final for Celtic, he has since been awarded a medal.

20-09-2010, 07:36 PM
Sure it was Villa.

20-09-2010, 07:36 PM
archibald:dunno:

Siralbertkidd
20-09-2010, 07:47 PM
Peter Cormack?

JoeTortolanoFanClub
20-09-2010, 08:00 PM
Surely Michael Stewart has won it with Hearts by now ? :greengrin

20-09-2010, 08:14 PM
Sure it was Villa.

dalglish played in a 4-2 victory over villa in sneddons testimonal (dalglish famously ordered a fish supper from the chippie on easter rd. as his post match scran).

shearer made his blackburn debut at easter rd in a pre season friendly.

a teaser for those that like to be teased...who did shearer make his newcastle debut against?

20-09-2010, 08:30 PM
Peter Cormack?

Nope. He did win the UEFA Cup (twice?) with Liverpool.

20-09-2010, 08:31 PM
dalglish played in a 4-2 victory over villa in sneddons testimonal (dalglish famously ordered a fish supper from the chippie on easter rd. as his post match scran).

shearer made his blackburn debut at easter rd in a pre season friendly.

a teaser for those that like to be teased...who did shearer make his newcastle debut against?

It was a white pudding supper actually :greengrin

Mind you he may also have ordered a fish :wink:

20-09-2010, 08:34 PM
It was a white pudding supper actually :greengrin

Mind you he may also have ordered a fish :wink:

And American Cream Soda - he couldnae get it dann saff apparently

el capitano
20-09-2010, 10:49 PM
ray wilkins maybe, not sure

stu in nottingham
20-09-2010, 11:00 PM

Peter Cormack won the UEFA Cup with Liverpool in 1973. 'Pool won it again in 1976 with him in the squad that season but I think Peter missed the final through injury.

Great player.

hibsdaft
20-09-2010, 11:07 PM
Konte.

21-09-2010, 06:38 AM
My yam mate always tells me sauces team got stripped of the title for some reason.
Is this true or just a yam lie?

21-09-2010, 06:48 AM
My yam mate always tells me sauces team got stripped of the title for some reason.
Is this true or just a yam lie?

They got stripped of the French league title but not of the Champions League.

GreenPJ
21-09-2010, 08:37 AM
ray wilkins maybe, not sure

Not sure if he won the European cup or not sure he actually played in a Hibs jersey :devil:

Siralbertkidd
21-09-2010, 08:41 AM

Only once, missed second final through injury.

Just wasnt sure which Cups were included in the op's question.

khib70
21-09-2010, 08:48 AM
Not sure if he won the European cup or not sure he actually played in a Hibs jersey :devil:
He didn't, on the first point, and he sort of did on the second:greengrin

21-09-2010, 08:59 AM

Thailand in a pre season tour. He never scored until they played Lincoln pre season. It was a penalty I think.

21-09-2010, 06:46 PM
Thailand in a pre season tour. He never scored until they played Lincoln pre season. It was a penalty I think.

i thought i was being smart as i was at the lincoln match...shows what i know as i didn't have a clue that he'd played for newcastle prior to that evening!!

for the record,shearer scored with a penalty after albert had opened the scoring in a 2-0 victory on the friday evening prior to the charity shield match on the sunday...i think...

Joe Baker II
22-09-2010, 02:24 PM
Ray "Hun-applauder" Wilkins I think may never even have played in the European Cup as a player at all, let alone won it!

He possibly did play the Steau quarter final tie notorious for the Souness tackle and post-match BBC interview with Archie McPherson ("people are laughing at us now but we'll have the last laugh) and he may have played in their first round exit to Bayern in 1989-90. I have feeling he did not play in these games though, possibly someone can confirm.

Archibald was in Barcelona team that lost 1986 final on penalties (think they missed every penalty!)

Billy McNeill managed Hibs for 1 game in 1997-8 - going off at tangent I know.

22-09-2010, 02:30 PM
i thought i was being smart as i was at the lincoln match...shows what i know as i didn't have a clue that he'd played for newcastle prior to that evening!!

for the record,shearer scored with a penalty after albert had opened the scoring in a 2-0 victory on the friday evening prior to the charity shield match on the sunday...i think...

Close, Shearer made it 1-0 big Phillipe made it 2-0. I think 3 of shearers first 5 newcastle goals were penalties, certainly 2 of this first three were.