View Full Version : Pope endears himself to the hibees

16-09-2010, 01:03 PM
Caught a glimpse on Lothian rd
I think you'll find if you look carefully
That's a hibs tartan scarf he's wearing
Sir Tom obv had an audience

What will the celtc fans make of this?!!!

16-09-2010, 01:07 PM
Has it been confirmed that He is in fact still alive and that wasn't a stuffed version being operated by remote control and a monotone voice chip?

16-09-2010, 01:09 PM
Caught a glimpse on Lothian rd
I think you'll find if you look carefully
That's a hibs tartan scarf he's wearing
Sir Tom obv had an audience

What will the celtc fans make of this?!!!

It was the St Ninians tartan apparently. Designed by an American specially for the Papal visit but obviously copied from our very own Hibees tartan!

16-09-2010, 01:16 PM
Sky news this morning were saying that STF had helped pay for the Pope's visit to the Capital.

16-09-2010, 01:19 PM
It did indeed look like hibs tartan.

Riordans Boots
16-09-2010, 01:23 PM
Looks like Hibs Scarf to me :thumbsup:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/The-Pope-visits-Scotland-Live.6534859.jp

It is the official St Ninians tartan - for the papal visit.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/uk/popes-visit-marked-by-colourful-parade-14950644.html

Couldny get any closer to the Hibs tartan :agree::thumbsup:

16-09-2010, 01:40 PM
Looks like Hibs Scarf to me :thumbsup:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/The-Pope-visits-Scotland-Live.6534859.jp

It is the official St Ninians tartan - for the papal visit.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/uk/popes-visit-marked-by-colourful-parade-14950644.html

Couldny get any closer to the Hibs tartan :agree::thumbsup:

Of course the Holly Father is a Hibby. Who else could he possibly support :greengrin

16-09-2010, 01:43 PM
Of course the Holly Father is a Hibby. Who else could he possibly support :greengrin

Doesn't he have to [un] officially support Juventus?

hibbymark
16-09-2010, 01:52 PM
I heard he supports Young boys of berne :wink:

16-09-2010, 01:54 PM
I heard he supports Young boys of berne

ouch

16-09-2010, 01:58 PM
ouch

That's what they said, too.

HenryMonk
16-09-2010, 02:02 PM
Doesn't he have to [un] officially support Juventus?

why?

would have thought it was Roma

16-09-2010, 02:02 PM

Quote from facebook page I read yesterday 'For once there will be a bigger sex beast in Edinburgh than me'. :faf:

16-09-2010, 02:15 PM

That's a wee bit below the belt. Well when it's still on that is.

HiBremian
16-09-2010, 02:17 PM

Quote from facebook page I read yesterday 'For once there will be a bigger sex beast in Edinburgh than me'. :faf:

Quote from Private Eye a few months back:

In the olden days, Young Boys wanted to enter the priesthood. Now it's the other way around.

Wilbur
16-09-2010, 02:21 PM
Am I missing something? Where's the pic of him wearing the scarf??:confused:

16-09-2010, 02:27 PM

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/columnists/alancochrane/8006501/Pope-Benedict-in-Britain-Edinburghs-respectable-welcome.html

President of the Morningside Hibs Supporters Bus.

Spudster
16-09-2010, 02:27 PM
http://i55.tinypic.com/abp0ck.jpg

16-09-2010, 02:41 PM
Quote from Private Eye a few months back:

In the olden days, Young Boys wanted to enter the priesthood. Now it's the other way around.

16-09-2010, 02:43 PM

Was that Allan McGregors facebook page?

16-09-2010, 03:23 PM
why?

would have thought it was Roma

Apparently, the Vatican and Juventus are the two great Italian institutions and it is meant to be mutual respect.

The Young Boys posting has kinds killed this thread though.

16-09-2010, 03:28 PM
http://i55.tinypic.com/abp0ck.jpg

:top marks :faf:

16-09-2010, 03:31 PM
Sky news this morning were saying that STF had helped pay for the Pope's visit to the Capital.

Hopefully in return for a miracle in the Scottish Cup:wink:

"Rudem Skacelun esta fachin refugeeum" as he said in Latin

16-09-2010, 03:40 PM

:thumbsup: :agree: :thumbsup:

blairwallace
16-09-2010, 04:34 PM
FROM http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/columnists/alancochrane/8006501/Pope-Benedict-in-Britain-Edinburghs-respectable-welcome.html

The Pope was greeted at Holyrood by Her Majesty and local dignitaries, with only Alex Salmond, the Scottish First Minister, looking slightly out of kilter from the rest of the welcoming party through his wearing of a tartan scarf. No, this did not signify, as one wag observed, that he was a Bay City Rollers’ Fan; the scarf was in the newly designed St Ninian's tartan, in honour of the man who brought Christianity to Scotland in the fifth century AD.

16-09-2010, 04:50 PM

you've been singing the song to yourself all day haven't you?:wink:

16-09-2010, 04:54 PM
Bless the cabbage :greengrin

16-09-2010, 04:58 PM

"fachin refugeeum et" :bitchy:

16-09-2010, 05:10 PM

:bitchy: nae evidence, it was all officially covered up

16-09-2010, 06:17 PM
Heard he's departing Edinburgh Airport at 22.00 in his personal plane, PRAYER FORCE ONE. :cool2:

16-09-2010, 06:39 PM
He was asked to comment on Hertski's latest signing:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/31474497

:cool2:

ski1875
16-09-2010, 06:51 PM
Few sad people on this thread mockin the religion and the leader !

16-09-2010, 06:54 PM

The God I believe in has a sense of humour, indeed invented it.

16-09-2010, 06:59 PM

I think people had the right spirit when they suggested that the Holy Father was wearing a Hibs scarf. Don't be too harsh.

Besides, if you didn't laugh about it, you'd cry.

East Lothian comedian Scott Glynn, had this take on it:

WOW LUCAS Ice cream must be reallllly good just seen the wee summer van getting a police escort along Princess Street on the news didni stop for anybody though...just waved .....He'll get his arse kicked the night when he gets back to Musselburgh

I can't see what harm other people laughing at the faith can do. After all, it's been around for 2000 years so should surely have a sense of humour by now.

16-09-2010, 07:09 PM

the religion?

no my religion pal!!!

If people want to celebrate him being here then fair play, if people want to demonstrate then fair play, if people want to laugh at him, then fair play.

Everyones different, maybe you need to learn that!

mcaitchi
16-09-2010, 07:14 PM
the religion?

no my religion pal!!!

If people want to celebrate him being here then fair play, if people want to demonstrate then fair play, if people want to laugh at him, then fair play.

Everyones different, maybe you need to learn that!

seriously got worried earlier, wife said something about a "papal" visit !!

i thought i was getting done for illegal activites on ebay - and "PAY-PAl" was coming for a visit !!

phew...

JDanielR1875
16-09-2010, 08:06 PM
he's a hibee god bless :thumbsup: the man has great taste in football teams haha

16-09-2010, 08:17 PM
I

I can't see what harm other people laughing at the faith can do. After all, it's been around for 2000 years so should surely have a sense of humour by now.

:agree: If you can't take it don't dish it out.

Laughed my ass off when I saw that Fatty Foulkes was one of the fuming 50 who had written to the Guardian complaining about the Papal visit. Is that the best the humanists can come up with :trumpet:

The Pope used to receive ST No1 from Barca every year. Not sure if this is still the case. Doubt this Pope knows anything about football. Hud on, he's not a Jambo is he.......

ski1875
16-09-2010, 08:26 PM
No a don't mind the humour sorry a never made it clear a was in reference to the young boys and the child abuse jokes not the hibs scarf thing. i too would like to think he was a hibby . and i know its not every1s religion but it is some peoples therefor it shouldnt be mocked in such ways !

renato
16-09-2010, 08:36 PM
Fatty must've been doubly upset when he clocked the tartan this morning then....

17-09-2010, 01:39 AM
No a don't mind the humour sorry a never made it clear a was in reference to the young boys and the child abuse jokes not the hibs scarf thing. i too would like to think he was a hibby . and i know its not every1s religion but it is some peoples therefor it shouldnt be mocked in such ways !

Take it you've never ventured on to Sickipedia then...

17-09-2010, 07:25 AM

Sorry but you are way out on that! The Catholic religion and more so the Vatican has opened itself up to mockery in many ways. Perhaps if it wasn't full of hypocrisy and contradiction then maybe it would not receive as much mockery. However, in the immortal words of Selma Hayek from the film Dogma "The problem with you catholics is you mourne your religion instead of celebrating it!"

And as a humanist myself but I did not write to complain because I can see the bigger picture. However, a wee bit of irony: I paid to inconvenience myself yesterday in relation to him coming here due to getting stuck on the m8 for an hour east bound while he was traveling to Glasgow. I certainly did not want to see him but as above being stuck...I saw him and his convoy!

I don't want him here simply because I don't recognise him as a legitimate Pope due to these facts:

Hitler Youth
Nazi Party Member
Child abuse - association due to covering up.

My old fella was catholic and I'll tell you this, he would be fuming right now, if still alive, due to the pontiff being everything he fought against during the war and...covering up the child abuse scandal.

This is my opinion and in no way reflects the views held by Hibs.net and its members!

17-09-2010, 08:09 AM
Well i'll be wearing my purple and yellow Pope Benedict scarf to ER tomorrow!

17-09-2010, 10:04 AM

The religion has given us all the ammo we need. It wouldnt be right if it wasnt mocked. Its only a worldwide network of paedofiles, who cover up for one another, isnt it?

17-09-2010, 10:28 AM
I don't want him here simply because I don't recognise him as a legitimate Pope due to these facts:

Hitler Youth
Nazi Party Member

You do realise it was compulsory in Hitler's Germany for all boys aged 14 to be in the Hitler Youth? It wasn't eactly optional under Nazi regime.

Not sure how he was a member of the Nazi Party exactly...

Sorry, regardless of people's take on figures, which I'm not getting in to, everyone deserves a fair press...

17-09-2010, 10:32 AM
You do realise it was compulsory in Hitler's Germany for all boys aged 14 to be in the Hitler Youth? It wasn't eactly optional under Nazi regime.

Because of this?

http://www.newsbiscuit.com/2010/09/16/pope-forgot-to-cancel-subscription-to-hitler-youth-in-1945/

17-09-2010, 10:39 AM
Because of this?

http://www.newsbiscuit.com/2010/09/16/pope-forgot-to-cancel-subscription-to-hitler-youth-in-1945/

Very funny :greengrin

17-09-2010, 10:42 AM
Well i'll be wearing my purple and yellow Pope Benedict scarf to ER tomorrow!

If you come anywhere near the Famous Five, I swear I'll do time!!:grr:

17-09-2010, 10:46 AM
Sorry, regardless of people's take on figures, which I'm not getting in to, everyone deserves a fair press...

That is just wrong, in so many ways. :bitchy:

Hibby D
17-09-2010, 10:56 AM
An opening post that I assume was meant to be a bit of lighthearted fun turns into yet another anti-Catholic, Pope bashing thread.

17-09-2010, 10:59 AM
That is just wrong, in so many ways. :bitchy:

Eh? Why's that then?

17-09-2010, 11:23 AM
Eh? Why's that then?

Poor attempt at humour. I was never a big fan of Carry On films.

17-09-2010, 11:24 AM

Why?

17-09-2010, 11:28 AM
woooooosh

17-09-2010, 11:33 AM
Why?

If you've got a few hours check out his posts on the Holy Ground board. It's obviously a subject close to FR's heart:greengrin

17-09-2010, 11:36 AM
If you've got a few hours check out his posts on the Holy Ground board. It's obviously a subject close to FR's heart:greengrin

That is cruel in so many ways. :greengrin

17-09-2010, 02:11 PM

LOL, aye right, whatever!

Why dont you slate our club owner, a hugely proud Catholic and someone who dipped into his own pocket for the Holy Father's trip...

Go on, I want hear you slate him too...

17-09-2010, 02:17 PM

Why dont you slate our club owner, a hugely proud Catholic and someone who dipped into his own pocket for the Holy Father's trip...

I hear it was 4 new 205 Dunlop radials for the popemobile and £15 off the next service, not to shabby. :rolleyes:

17-09-2010, 02:19 PM
I hear it was 4 new 205 Dunlop radials for the popemobile and £15 off the next service, not to shabby. :rolleyes:

Aye, they charged him for screenwash when it was already full though. Chancers. :grr:

17-09-2010, 06:34 PM

Quite right. He was in the Hitler Youth, because it was compulsory at that time. He never attended any of their meetings because he objected and disagreed with it, and his father was a very outspoken opponent of Nazism in relation to the Catholic faith. As far as his service in the German army is concerned, this was again compulsory regardless of whether you agreed with it or not. The vast majority of the German army were not Nazis, to group them with either the SS or the Gestapo is just wrong. But like you, I can't believe I'm discussing this on Hibs.net!!

17-09-2010, 07:42 PM

Sorry, a wee joke that's maybe getting out of hand here.

Short of a story I heard about his haemhorroids, there's not much I can do to slag Tom Farmer.

El Gubbz
17-09-2010, 10:59 PM
There is only one religion. Hibernian.

17-09-2010, 11:31 PM
Sorry but you are way out on that! The Catholic religion and more so the Vatican has opened itself up to mockery in many ways. Perhaps if it wasn't full of hypocrisy and contradiction then maybe it would not receive as much mockery. However, in the immortal words of Selma Hayek from the film Dogma "The problem with you catholics is you mourne your religion instead of celebrating it!"

And as a humanist myself but I did not write to complain because I can see the bigger picture. However, a wee bit of irony: I paid to inconvenience myself yesterday in relation to him coming here due to getting stuck on the m8 for an hour east bound while he was traveling to Glasgow. I certainly did not want to see him but as above being stuck...I saw him and his convoy!

Hitler Youth
Nazi Party Member

My old fella was catholic and I'll tell you this, he would be fuming right now, if still alive, due to the pontiff being everything he fought against during the war and...covering up the child abuse scandal.

This is my opinion and in no way reflects the views held by Hibs.net and its members!

You're a humanist and supposedly you see the bigger picture.

Therefore, maybe you should can it and keep your thoughts to yourself.

17-09-2010, 11:46 PM
The religion has given us all the ammo we need. It wouldnt be right if it wasnt mocked. Its only a worldwide network of paedofiles, who cover up for one another, isnt it?

WTF! I can't believe this hasn't been flagged!

How dare this guy speak about a relgion...especially this one which is basically what HFC was all about...like this.

Imbecile.

17-09-2010, 11:58 PM
You're a humanist and supposedly you see the bigger picture.

Therefore, maybe you should can it and keep your thoughts to yourself.

Really, what for? And; no i'll no can it, so **** you! I'll say what I see and its of no concern of yours unless you consider yourself to be inline with the Vatican fascist police.

Cheeky bar steward!

I'll ask you this: What is a humanist and humanism? However don't cut and paste from wikipedia or any related site because I'll know!

In your words please...explain and describe plus, relate the history of it. One thing you will find is that humanism is more than two thousand years older than Catholicism of which began in the 3rd century AD and out of 54 testaments, the religion chose 3 that fitted in with its mode of operations with in that time period!

18-09-2010, 12:14 AM
Really, what for? And; no i'll no can it, so **** you! I'll say what I see and its of no concern of yours unless you consider yourself to be inline with the Vatican fascist police.

Cheeky bar steward!

Because your comments are insulting to those of a certain faith.

You can choose to say what you see every day in so many ways but you don't because you have a certain level of respect.

Why didn't you show some, keep your thoughts to yourself and not risk insulting the many catholic readers of this board?

I'll not respond with "**** you" back because this board, and hibs is all about respect and tolerance for others and their ways of life...and their opinions.

If you "say it as you see it" then expect people to disagree with you.

Maybe you should think a bit more about how others will react.

18-09-2010, 12:17 AM
I'll ask you this: What is a humanist and humanism? However don't cut and paste from wikipedia or any related site because I'll know!

In your words please...explain and describe plus, relate the history of it. One thing you will find is that humanism is more than two thousand years older than Catholicism of which began in the 3rd century AD and out of 54 testaments, the religion chose 3 that fitted in with its mode of operations with in that time period!

irrelevant.

18-09-2010, 12:26 AM
irrelevant.

expected!

18-09-2010, 12:29 AM
Because your comments are insulting to those of a certain faith.

You can choose to say what you see every day in so many ways but you don't because you have a certain level of respect.

Why didn't you show some, keep your thoughts to yourself and not risk insulting the many catholic readers of this board?

I'll not respond with "**** you" back because this board, and hibs is all about respect and tolerance for others and their ways of life...and their opinions.

If you "say it as you see it" then expect people to disagree with you.

Maybe you should think a bit more about how others will react.

Don't give me that tolerance bollocks.. since when has the catholic faith tolerated any other? and who says I'm not catholic?

I'm not indoctrinated nor in fear of a god to which the catholic faith say I should be!

Be very careful in what you describe as tolerance and respect.

And again, I hope people would disagree with me but not say "can it and keep it to yourself" because that does not generate reasonable debate nor stimulate discussion on a public forum.

Also, you don't have to be a catholic to support Hibs and that in its self is inclusiveness!

18-09-2010, 12:39 AM
expected!

...Because that wasn't my issue.

My posts were all about respect for other faiths.

You believe in x....and they believe in y.

So why comment on other peoples beliefs? If you're that certain in your way of thinking then why does any other way bother you?

18-09-2010, 01:28 AM
...Because that wasn't my issue.

My posts were all about respect for other faiths.

You believe in x....and they believe in y.

So why comment on other peoples beliefs? If you're that certain in your way of thinking then why does any other way bother you?

hiya mate,

you are right, sorry for the expletives - uncalled for!

you are asking me questions you should ask of yourself. Seriously, right back at you. It is not disrespect it is to do with reality. Have you read In Gods Name? Do you know who Albino Luciani is?

18-09-2010, 02:01 AM
hiya mate,

you are right, sorry for the expletives - uncalled for!

you are asking me questions you should ask of yourself. Seriously, right back at you. It is not disrespect it is to do with reality. Have you read In Gods Name? Do you know who Albino Luciani is?

You just come accross as a patronising sweetie-wife now.

I don't know who you're talking about but I'll bet you'll take pleasure in telling me about it.

I'll tell you what mate...you can **** right off...and don't dare think you've insulted my intelligence because even when I'm half jaked your posts are still petty and pretty disectable to the average intellect.

You're an arrogant idiot who doesn't realise that you've upset a large proportion of this board with your comments regarding catholics. If you do then you just don't care.

You know some facts but you know **** all!

Talk away and blab away to your hearts content but you don't make any impact because you have no respect for others.

Jog on....and you're being ignored.

18-09-2010, 02:12 AM
You just come accross as a patronising sweetie-wife now.

I don't know who you're talking about but I'll bet you'll take pleasure in telling me about it.

I'll tell you what mate...you can **** right off...and don't dare think you've insulted my intelligence because even when I'm half jaked your posts are still petty and pretty disectable to the average intellect.

You're an arrogant idiot who doesn't realise that you've upset a large proportion of this board with your comments regarding catholics. If you do then you just don't care.

You know some facts but you know **** all!

Talk away and blab away to your hearts content but you don't make any impact because you have no respect for others.

Jog on....and you're being ignored.

OK, if that is how it is then fine.

However, you haven't half contradicted yourself eh and I take no pleasure in telling you.

For the 50% of this board I have offended I am sorry you feel offended but what you have read from me is exactly how I feel.

Again sorry for offending you all.

andy

18-09-2010, 06:34 AM
Farmer should have asked him to bless the new stand while he was in the area.

ionahibby
18-09-2010, 06:49 AM
At the end of the day the fact is hibs are club for all. That is any culture, faith,or religon can support the hibees ,so i don't understand why this has become a 3 page thread on religon! We hibs fans should not have to stoop as low as the rangers or celtic fans with the religous vile they come out with! :bitchy:

18-09-2010, 07:01 AM
I've moved this because it's moved way past the original topic.

I know this is an emotive subject for many, but please remember the forum rules. Admin have much better things to do with their time than be handing out warnings for people overstepping the mark.

Cheers :aok:

18-09-2010, 09:11 AM
How dissapointing yet unsurprising that a light hearted thread was hijacked by the usual panoply of atheist propagandaists , good old fashioned bigots and the plain ignorant.

The Popes visit has been a far greater success than expected and while im no fan of him im sure his visits given a lot of people a great deal of comfort and if it helps people get through their lives good for them.

As I write hes doing a gig at Westminster Cathedral after which hes being helicoptered to the Four in Hand (Kanos putting on a buffet) for a pre match swally then a seat in the new East.

As long as he doesnt sit right in front of me with his big pointy hat .... ill never see a thing :grr:

18-09-2010, 11:23 AM
How dissapointing yet unsurprising that a light hearted thread was hijacked by the usual panoply of atheist propagandaists , good old fashioned bigots and the plain ignorant.

The Popes visit has been a far greater success than expected and while im no fan of him im sure his visits given a lot of people a great deal of comfort and if it helps people get through their lives good for them.

As I write hes doing a gig at Westminster Cathedral after which hes being helicoptered to the Four in Hand (Kanos putting on a buffet) for a pre match swally then a seat in the new East.

As long as he doesnt sit right in front of me with his big pointy hat .... ill never see a thing :grr:

18-09-2010, 11:31 AM

This kind of thing makes me so angry :grr:

How come he gets a seat so easily when he's no even on the database??

24-09-2010, 11:26 PM
OK, if that is how it is then fine.

However, you haven't half contradicted yourself eh and I take no pleasure in telling you.

For the 50% of this board I have offended I am sorry you feel offended but what you have read from me is exactly how I feel.

Again sorry for offending you all.

andy

Apologies for my aggressive stance last week Andy.

I'd heard far too much anti-catholic abuse and it just got to me.

I responded with drink and anger as factors which was wrong. You should be entitled to your opinion and should beable to express it without people name-calling and being petty.

Again...apologies.

25-09-2010, 09:43 AM
Farmer should have asked him to bless the new stand while he was in the area.

Tom Farmer probably takes his faith more seriously, and has more dignity than to pander to the slack jawed supporters whose Catholicism stops at funerals and Orange Walks.

i'm talking about the kind who make sure they go to church at lunch time on Ash Wednesday, so they can make sure that their work mates have to ask what the mess on their forehead is. The type that know all about the Irish conflict, but don't know that Michael Collins was a Protestant.

Really, I mean people who would cause a fight in an empty room, and still manage to run away. Not people of faith, people seeking a crutch or an excuse for their own pathetic lack of personality.

He will also recognise that the club renounced sectarianism many years ago, and is for supporters of any creed or country of origin. He will respect the diversity of the support, unlike some of the plastic paddys who howl in anguish every time someone questions the actions of their leaders.

25-09-2010, 10:54 AM
Tom Farmer probably takes his faith more seriously, and has more dignity than to pander to the slack jawed supporters whose Catholicism stops at funerals and Orange Walks.

i'm talking about the kind who make sure they go to church at lunch time on Ash Wednesday, so they can make sure that their work mates have to ask what the mess on their forehead is. The type that know all about the Irish conflict, but don't know that Michael Collins was a Protestant.

Really, I mean people who would cause a fight in an empty room, and still manage to run away. Not people of faith, people seeking a crutch or an excuse for their own pathetic lack of personality.

He will also recognise that the club renounced sectarianism many years ago, and is for supporters of any creed or country of origin. He will respect the diversity of the support, unlike some of the plastic paddys who howl in anguish every time someone questions the actions of their leaders.

A lot of protestants were Irish Nationalists, and a significant number were members of the IRA.

25-09-2010, 11:05 AM
A lot of protestants were Irish Nationalists, and a significant number were members of the IRA.

There was a strong faction in the North who wanted to see a united Ireland.

Mind you there still is, the only problem is they want it united under British rule. :greengrin

25-09-2010, 11:29 AM
Jings!

I go off for a fortnight's well-earned holiday, and this is the sort of rubbish i come back to....

:bitchy:

25-09-2010, 11:45 AM
Jings!

I go off for a fortnight's well-earned holiday, and this is the sort of rubbish i come back to....

:bitchy:

You been moonlighting Doddie? :hmmm:

LiverpoolHibs
25-09-2010, 01:21 PM

Eh? He wasn't.

25-09-2010, 08:15 PM
Eh? He wasn't.

Bloody Wikipaedia, I knew I'd fall foul of it one day.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protestant_Irish_nationalists

Apologies to all, for being such a clown, it's clear from any other website I care to look up that he was RC.

Thanks, LH, nice to see you back in the Holy Ground. :thumbsup:

25-09-2010, 09:05 PM
You been moonlighting Doddie? :hmmm:

Hey - I'm a lot better looking than the wee guy in the ice cream van.

Besides - who wants to be around North Lanarkshire while Paparazzi's in town?

When JP#2 was over in 1982 we had "Our God reigns" blaring top volume out of loudspeakers outside the chapels 24/7 till he left.

Gangs of nuns with big wooden rulers going around smacking folks over the knuckles... ("Are you a Billy or a Dan? Say yer Hail Mary's ye dirty wee Proddie rascal ye...." WHAP!!!!)

Naw - I got out of town this time. :devil:

:taxi

tony higgins
25-09-2010, 10:09 PM
The type that know all about the Irish conflict, but don't know that Michael Collins was a Protestant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6bOCUOPN0w&feature=related

26-09-2010, 08:03 AM
Hey - I'm a lot better looking than the wee guy in the ice cream van.

Besides - who wants to be around North Lanarkshire while Paparazzi's in town?

When JP#2 was over in 1982 we had "Our God reigns" blaring top volume out of loudspeakers outside the chapels 24/7 till he left.

Gangs of nuns with big wooden rulers going around smacking folks over the knuckles... ("Are you a Billy or a Dan? Say yer Hail Mary's ye dirty wee Proddie rascal ye...." WHAP!!!!)

Naw - I got out of town this time. :devil:

:taxi

Where you live sounds a million miles away. It's hard to believe it's just along the motorway.

I was working when The Great Soprendo was doing his gigs, and watching them with interest on telly. I thought, "thank God I'm not in Glasgow, where every utterance would be scrutinised for offence".

I just dont get a set up where buildings can get a blessing, and where a human being kissing a baby can instil magic powers on the kid. I did think the whole thing was great show business though.

I felt pretty much the same as when I watched one of Billy Graham's concerts. The audience were doing no harm, and if it works for them - good luck to them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6bOCUOPN0w&feature=related

:agree: :hide:

26-09-2010, 08:45 AM
Where you live sounds a million miles away. It's hard to believe it's just along the motorway.

I was working when The Great Soprendo was doing his gigs, and watching them with interest on telly. I thought, "thank God I'm not in Glasgow, where every utterance would be scrutinised for offence".

I just dont get a set up where buildings can get a blessing, and where a human being kissing a baby can instil magic powers on the kid. I did think the whole thing was great show business though.

I felt pretty much the same as when I watched one of Billy Graham's concerts. The audience were doing no harm, and if it works for them - good luck to them.

:agree: :hide:

Trust me, FR, the Caldera IS a different planet. About 60% of the folks are comparatively sane. The other 40% are either Blue Bampots, Green Bampots, or militantly NON-Blue-or-Green Bampots.

I knew I had finally arrived home on Friday afternoon when we turned into the Caldera and saw two shaven-headed, sloping forehead, white shellsuit-clad neds in Celtic shirts weaving about the middle of the road clutching their green and orange bottles of happy juice.

I think they waved and shouted "Doddie's plastered" (which I wasn't) as the car went by. It sounded very like that, anyway. And they must have had arthritis, poor chaps - they could only straighten the middle fingers of their right hands.... :rolleyes:

26-09-2010, 09:35 AM
Trust me, FR, the Caldera IS a different planet. About 60% of the folks are comparatively sane. The other 40% are either Blue Bampots, Green Bampots, or militantly NON-Blue-or-Green Bampots.

I knew I had finally arrived home on Friday afternoon when we turned into the Caldera and saw two shaven-headed, sloping forehead, white shellsuit-clad neds in Celtic shirts weaving about the middle of the road clutching their green and orange bottles of happy juice.

I think they waved and shouted "Doddie's plastered" (which I wasn't) as the car went by. It sounded very like that, anyway. And they must have had arthritis, poor chaps - they could only straighten the middle fingers of their right hands.... :rolleyes:

Ach, you'll pick up their accents eventually. I'm sure the chaps were only trying to warn you of the problems with the French approach to Roma camps - Froggie Disaster!

26-09-2010, 01:39 PM
Ach, you'll pick up their accents eventually. I'm sure the chaps were only trying to warn you of the problems with the French approach to Roma camps - Froggie Disaster!

Aye, but FR - one of them was the Bishop of Motherwell.... :rolleyes:

26-09-2010, 07:25 PM
Aye, but FR - one of them was the Bishop of Motherwell.... :rolleyes:

Ah well, that would be an ecumenical matter.

27-09-2010, 12:12 PM
Ah well, that would be an ecumenical matter.

Indeed, FR...

... and while we're about it, I assure you that the money was only in a holding account - a temporary arrangement, that's all. :greengrin