View Full Version : Yams Up Popes The Bigots

15-09-2010, 07:55 PM
There is a bit of disaffection regarding the impending Papal visit but I have to say, being in possesion of more things to concern myself with, that there appears to be a disproportionate amount of vitriol emanating from the Asbestos Hilton.
While I agree it is an expense that is uneccessary, my knickers remain thoroughly untwisted.
Maybe I am indeed viewing this from a skewed perspective but why do the dafties over-by feel so much bitterness towards this guy? I am completely irreligious and remain spectacularly unmoved (although, I will, no doubt, indulge in some mumping and moaning when I attempt to traverse the town tomorrow).
'Huns without the busfare' has never been more appropriate.

15-09-2010, 08:00 PM
I, for one, am shocked at this.

15-09-2010, 08:02 PM
To be honest, I have no interest in the Pope, hate the fact that the tax payers are footing the bill for this visit and will cause no end of misery for quite a lot of commuters tomorrow...

15-09-2010, 08:03 PM
There is a bit of disaffection regarding the impending Papal visit but I have to say, being in possesion of more things to concern myself with, that there appears to be a disproportionate amount of vitriol emanating from the Asbestos Hilton.
While I agree it is an expense that is uneccessary, my knickers remain thoroughly untwisted.
Maybe I am indeed viewing this from a skewed perspective but why do the dafties over-by feel so much bitterness towards this guy? I am completely irreligious and remain spectacularly unmoved (although, I will, no doubt, indulge in some mumping and moaning when I attempt to traverse the town tomorrow).
'Huns without the busfare' has never been more appropriate.

Whilst I am non plussed, I think the cost of such an exercise is outrageous and the money could have and should have been put to a better use

15-09-2010, 08:04 PM
I see the police are manning all 58 bridges along the motorway to Glasgow to "discourage well-wishers" ! yeah, right...

15-09-2010, 08:05 PM
Being a catholic should i say a few hail Mary's, as i did not even know he was even in the country tomorrow?

EH6 Hibby
15-09-2010, 08:09 PM
I noticed that Lord Fatty Foulkes is one of the 50 public figures that have objected to the visit. :hmmm:

15-09-2010, 08:09 PM
He should be going to Glasgow, it's the only place where a sizeable number have an opinion in him either way.

Well, Glasgow and Gorgie it seems.

15-09-2010, 08:10 PM
No interest in any religion, but not getting stressed about it either.

15-09-2010, 08:20 PM
Non-plussed covers it for me.
The problem I have is the level of some of the vile comments coming from our illustrious blazer wearing, Rover driving, pillars of the community types over the road.
I was under the impression that the fine institution located in the middle of EH11 was one which espoused wholesome values!
Its not as if they're banging the doors down in their local Prysbeterian church every Sunday to claim a good seat...

hibees707070
15-09-2010, 08:21 PM
It's a disgrace! Really hope there are major protests tomorrow. Horrible human being!

15-09-2010, 08:24 PM
I hope he drives past gorgie and gets the driver to stop in gorgie so he can have a wee slash on the tynie gates. :greengrin

No fussed about his visit and could do without it but it's not something I have gave much thought to, to be honest.

15-09-2010, 08:24 PM
It's a disgrace! Really hope there are major protests tomorrow. Horrible human being!

Which hearts fan in particular are you referring to, I can't tell from the description:wink:

15-09-2010, 08:25 PM
To be honest, I have no interest in the Pope, hate the fact that the tax payers are footing the bill for this visit and will cause no end of misery for quite a lot of commuters tomorrow...

Completely agree :agree:

hibees707070
15-09-2010, 08:27 PM
The ****bag that is the pope! For once I'm with the mini Huns on this one!

15-09-2010, 08:28 PM
He should be going to Glasgow, it's the only place where a sizeable number have an opinion in him either way.

Well, Glasgow and Gorgie it seems.while I am not a practising catholic,I have to say that there is a sizeable number of people,in the East of Scotland and Edinburgh who are.also there are a good few on here that are,and I myself respect the Catholic faith,having been brought up with my Mother beeing strongly catholic.you can also moan about the G8 summit costs,security,road closures etc and the 500 pipers up the bloody Mound if you want,but the facts are that this is the very first OFFICIAL visit of A pope,to the UNITED KINGDOM EVER,and his visit is expected to be viewed on a global scale by at least ONE BILLION people Worldwide, in a wee capital in a wee country,where half of the people in a country likesay the USA,huvnae even heard o'.that puts it in perspective,imho,so welcome Pope Benidict XV1 to Scotland,we are glad you've came , and hope you like what you see.

15-09-2010, 08:33 PM

woooooooooooooooooooooooosh:greengrin

15-09-2010, 08:34 PM
Pope comes here once in 30 odd years, folk go nuts about the cost. Queeny and her chums are here every year, sometimes a few times, costing more and causing the same disruption and using up valuable policing - nae complaints........it's a funny old world (and I am not even religious)

15-09-2010, 08:36 PM
I noticed that Lord Fatty Foulkes is one of the 50 public figures that have objected to the visit. :hmmm:

oh, i wonder why?......

15-09-2010, 08:37 PM
while I am not a practising catholic,I have to say that there is a sizeable number of people,in the East of Scotland and Edinburgh who are.also there are a good few on here that are,and I myself respect the Catholic faith,having been brought up with my Mother beeing strongly catholic.you can also moan about the G8 summit costs,security,road closures etc and the 500 pipers up the bloody Mound if you want,but the facts are that this is the very first OFFICIAL visit of A pope,to the UNITED KINGDOM EVER,and his visit is expected to be viewed on a global scale by at least ONE BILLION people Worldwide, in a wee capital in a wee country,where half of the people in a country likesay the USA,huvnae even heard o'.that puts it in perspective,imho,so welcome Pope Benidict XV1 to Scotland,we are glad you've came , and hope you like what you see.

I don't care either way. I'll be in work all day, so his visit has zip all impact on my day and I'm not complaining.

My post wasn't entirely serious and I'm not going to say the pope isn't welcome in Edinburgh but my point is Glasgow is over run with "Kaffliks" and "Proddies" who've never stepped foot in a church in their lives and only define themselves as one or the other to simply hate the opposing team.

I just wished there wasn't so much fuss. I can guarantee most of the rabid "Catholics" in Edinburgh tomorrow are probably Weegies of the type who've never read a bible, and the most rabid frothing-at-the-mouth Huns in Edinburgh tomorrow will have had the same exposure to said holy book and come from the same stinkin' "G" postcode area.

Scotland can be so backwards at times it's scary.

15-09-2010, 08:37 PM

can we add the Queen to this? Auld coo.

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 08:38 PM
Pope comes here once in 30 odd years, folk go nuts about the cost. Queeny and her chums are here every year, sometimes a few times, costing more and causing the same disruption and using up valuable policing - nae complaints........it's a funny old world (and I am not even religious)

She is our queen, like it or not.

15-09-2010, 08:38 PM

The Queen doesn't seem to cause road closures from Ingliston all the way to Morningside when she comes up though.

But incidentally, as a loony leftie and a republican I can't stand her or her family either.

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 08:40 PM
while I am not a practising catholic,I have to say that there is a sizeable number of people,in the East of Scotland and Edinburgh who are.also there are a good few on here that are,and I myself respect the Catholic faith,having been brought up with my Mother beeing strongly catholic.you can also moan about the G8 summit costs,security,road closures etc and the 500 pipers up the bloody Mound if you want,but the facts are that this is the very first OFFICIAL visit of A pope,to the UNITED KINGDOM EVER,and his visit is expected to be viewed on a global scale by at least ONE BILLION people Worldwide, in a wee capital in a wee country,where half of the people in a country likesay the USA,huvnae even heard o'.that puts it in perspective,imho,so welcome Pope Benidict XV1 to Scotland,we are glad you've came , and hope you like what you see.

Have no problem with faith, but as a religious organisation i would rather he didnt come. He cannae even sell all his tickets in sectarian central along the M8.

hibees707070
15-09-2010, 08:42 PM
Hate the queen as well but at least she doesn't turn a blind eye to child abuse and spout rubbish like condoms increase your chance of aids. To make matters worse we are forking out millions to bring this evil individual over!

15-09-2010, 08:43 PM
The Queen doesn't seem to cause road closures from Ingliston all the way to Morningside when she comes up though.

But incidentally, as a loony leftie and a republican I can't stand her or her family either.

Fairs fair, she looks no bad in mint green but. :greengrin

I am also not a fan of the royals and maybe its because I'm a bit older, but I just can't be arsed getting all het up about something that has no impact on the real issues in my wee tawdry life.

15-09-2010, 08:43 PM

And I don't like it......, in fact I can't stand royalty and it's inequality and nonsense. But I still go to work, pay my tax, and get on with things. Not a big fan of the old Pontiff either. Just don't see why people moan about the Pope's visit when lil old Liz gets way more of our hard earned sheckels. That was my point. Yer CBE and garden party invite are in the post :greengrin

15-09-2010, 08:45 PM
should this post not be on Holy Ground forum :rolleyes:

15-09-2010, 08:47 PM
Anyone know if he's stopping off in Blackpool?

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 08:50 PM
And I don't like it......, in fact I can't stand royalty and it's inequality and nonsense. But I still go to work, pay my tax, and get on with things. Not a big fan of the old Pontiff either. Just don't see why people moan about the Pope's visit when lil old Liz gets way more of our hard earned sheckels. That was my point. Yer CBE and garden party invite are in the post :greengrin

Lets have a republic then. At least the queen brings some trade into the country. To call him a head of state is rediculous, we normally treat heads of state well to get some trade out of them, wont get much from the Vatican. He is also a vile individual who has some questionable practices. Can I take my fitba to the garden party?:wink:

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 08:51 PM
should this post not be on Holy Ground forum :rolleyes:

It is, without the Yam bit.

w.connectionfc
15-09-2010, 08:57 PM
Anyone know if he's stopping off in Blackpool?

Stopping off at the pleasure beach to have a ride on the Popsi max

15-09-2010, 09:02 PM
Lets have a republic then. At least the queen brings some trade into the country

What? Is she some sort of marketing director?

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 09:05 PM
What? Is she some sort of marketing director?

Think a lot of visitors like palaces and pomp. She is also the figurehead to our state, we have no choice. He is just no wise!

15-09-2010, 09:07 PM
I only realised he was actually landing tomorrow. Thank f*** I'm not trying to go about my daily business in Edinburgh tomorrow.

Good to see his senior aides are helping the trip start smoothly.......................................... ..:faf::faf:

15-09-2010, 09:11 PM
Think a lot of visitors like palaces and pomp. She is also the figurehead to our state, we have no choice. He is just no wise!

We'd still have the palaces if we didn't have a Queen surely? It's not as if tourists come to see the Queen herself.

I know American tourists can be daft, but when they visit Edinburgh Castle in their millions I suspect they don't go hoping to see knights, damsels in distress and court jesters. I'm sure a palace which tourists can have full access to would have just as many as a palace which is mostly cordened off.

The whole concept of a royal family just goes against everything I believe in. Equality being one of the biggest ones.

15-09-2010, 09:11 PM
Lets have a republic then. At least the queen brings some trade into the country. To call him a head of state is rediculous, we normally treat heads of state well to get some trade out of them, wont get much from the Vatican. He is also a vile individual who has some questionable practices. Can I take my fitba to the garden party?:wink:

Only if we can use her crown and his hat as goalposts ? Fair ?

Hibstrooper
15-09-2010, 09:16 PM
You say that at least the queen brings in revenue to the country however whilst you obviously have strong feelings on the pope despite what you think he actually brings hope and faith to millions upon millions.

I'm not going to see him tomorrow, I've been to one of his masses recently, I am however working from home tomorrow so I'm loving the fact he's coming ;-)

15-09-2010, 09:17 PM

I, and the Pope's the World's Pope, like it or not, and we're all people of the World:blah:

15-09-2010, 09:24 PM
personally i think its quality that one of the worlds most important figure is coming to our city, folk just moan for the sake of it.

15-09-2010, 09:49 PM
I don't care either way. I'll be in work all day, so his visit has zip all impact on my day and I'm not complaining.

My post wasn't entirely serious and I'm not going to say the pope isn't welcome in Edinburgh but my point is Glasgow is over run with "Kaffliks" and "Proddies" who've never stepped foot in a church in their lives and only define themselves as one or the other to simply hate the opposing team.

I just wished there wasn't so much fuss. I can guarantee most of the rabid "Catholics" in Edinburgh tomorrow are probably Weegies of the type who've never read a bible, and the most rabid frothing-at-the-mouth Huns in Edinburgh tomorrow will have had the same exposure to said holy book and come from the same stinkin' "G" postcode area.

Scotland can be so backwards at times it's scary.yeah,very scary

Hibby D
15-09-2010, 09:49 PM

Hate the queen as well but at least she doesn't turn a blind eye to child abuse and spout rubbish like condoms increase your chance of aids. To make matters worse we are forking out millions to bring this evil individual over!

Take it you're not a fan then? :rolleyes:

Like it or not he's the head of the catholic church, revered by millions across the world and as such he is rightly afforded the same treatment as heads of states and other visiting dignataries.

I'm finding some of your comments uncomfortable

15-09-2010, 09:53 PM
Take it you're not a fan then? :rolleyes:

Like it or not he's the head of the catholic church, revered by millions across the world and as such he is rightly afforded the same treatment as heads of states and other visiting dignataries.

I'm finding some of your comments uncomfortable:agree:more than uncomfortable. live and live,Scotland is a welcomining country afterall:yawn:

15-09-2010, 09:59 PM
We'd still have the palaces if we didn't have a Queen surely? It's not as if tourists come to see the Queen herself.

I know American tourists can be daft, but when they visit Edinburgh Castle in their millions I suspect they don't go hoping to see knights, damsels in distress and court jesters. I'm sure a palace which tourists can have full access to would have just as many as a palace which is mostly cordened off.

The whole concept of a royal family just goes against everything I believe in. Equality being one of the biggest ones.the Queen we allegedly have at the moment,didnae build the castle. it was put there,very handy to the waverley station, so the yanks could spot it as they come aff the train ya daftie.

15-09-2010, 10:07 PM
the Queen we allegedly have at the moment,didnae build the castle. it was put there,very handy to the waverley station, so the yanks could spot it as they come aff the train ya daftie.

Not if you believe some of the Yanks who come off the train, spot the castle and ask how they get there.

They seem genuinly miffed at the very thought of walking.

15-09-2010, 10:07 PM
The ****bag that is the pope! For once I'm with the mini Huns on this one!you need to expand a bit ,on this . ok,you obviously hate the Pope, how so? and what has he done to make you hate him? he's a scvumbag,and you are with the mini-huns,and by the tone/looks of your posts also with the major huns,but as i've said/asked, explain exactly why you are so enraged with a religion that you personally cannot identify with, why? yer talkin through yer erse mate,sorry to have to say

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 11:35 PM
I, and the Pope's the World's Pope, like it or not, and we're all people of the World:blah:

While the post of queen may be controversial, the way she does it is not. The post of pope is not controversial but the way he is doing it certainly is.

Borders Hibby
15-09-2010, 11:37 PM
you need to expand a bit ,on this . ok,you obviously hate the Pope, how so? and what has he done to make you hate him? he's a scvumbag,and you are with the mini-huns,and by the tone/looks of your posts also with the major huns,but as i've said/asked, explain exactly why you are so enraged with a religion that you personally cannot identify with, why? yer talkin through yer erse mate,sorry to have to say

He must be one of the vilest human beings to pose as a christian.

15-09-2010, 11:54 PM

Ok. It must be true then.

You must do a lot of travelling if you know all of the World's Christians and congratulations, you must know the Pope personally. Then again perhaps you are basing your assumptions on what it says in the Evening News or The Sun. Maybe I'm just being cynical and if so, I apoligise for that.

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 07:25 AM

You must do a lot of travelling if you know all of the World's Christians and congratulations, you must know the Pope personally. Then again perhaps you are basing your assumptions on what it says in the Evening News or The Sun. Maybe I'm just being cynical and if so, I apoligise for that.

Dont read the sun, wouldnt base my opinions on the evening news either. I was swayed by programmes on bbc4 and channel 4 looking at the present pope, his handling of recent scandals and ignorance of the aids problem in Africa. I am not anti catholic, faith is a beautiful thing but blind faith is just stupid. Catholics themselves are not happy with their present leader, if say I didnt like John Hughes I would still be a Hibby, just think the church needs huge change and this leader is still trying to live in the dark ages. He is not a man I want visiting my country in this role.

16-09-2010, 07:28 AM
I am taking my wee Auntie up to the Royal Mile, to see Pope Benedict this morning. She is very excited, hope anybody else that is going has a nice day! :greengrin

16-09-2010, 08:12 AM

Seriously? Please... you really should read your history. Pope Benny is a pussy cat compared to many..

khib70
16-09-2010, 08:17 AM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/celebrity/queen-to-have-lunch-with-insane-criminal-201009163093/
:faf::faf::faf::faf:

16-09-2010, 08:26 AM
personally i think its quality that one of the worlds most important figure is coming to our city, folk just moan for the sake of it.

Superb post :top marks

I'm in total agreement :agree:

If it wasn't this the resident moaners would be mumping their gums aboot something else..

Climate change, cheese tax or something else along those lines..

16-09-2010, 08:32 AM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/celebrity/queen-to-have-lunch-with-insane-criminal-201009163093/
:faf::faf::faf::faf:

16-09-2010, 09:00 AM
I've never understood how one of the largest and richest organisations in the world has managed to paint itself as some sort of persecuted minority. I also don't understand how anybody who objects to being told what to do by them is portrayed as a reactionary bigot.

I take it you know Ian Paisley personally then?

HarpyHibby
16-09-2010, 09:12 AM
The pope was invited by the queen, not the church. Maybe if more people realised this, then the hate and annoyance would be directed towards the true source of all the commotion.

16-09-2010, 09:15 AM
The pope was invited by the queen, not the church. Maybe if more people realised this, then the hate and annoyance would be directed towards the true source of all the commotion.

Which is worse, the person who is head of an organisation that is responsible for the abuse of children over decades, or the person who invites them for a visit? It's a toughie, I just don't know who to hate anymore.

16-09-2010, 12:29 PM
I've never understood how one of the largest and richest organisations in the world has managed to paint itself as some sort of persecuted minority. I also don't understand how anybody who objects to being told what to do by them is portrayed as a reactionary bigot.

If you don't agree with what the Church says just ignore it and don't get yer knickers in a twist.

(((Fergus)))
16-09-2010, 12:37 PM
Which is worse, the person who is head of an organisation that is responsible for the abuse of children over decades, or the person who invites them for a visit? It's a toughie, I just don't know who to hate anymore.

If the Queen is head of state in UK, does she have to take ultimate responsibility for the decades of child abuse in government-run institutions?

16-09-2010, 12:43 PM
If you don't agree with what the Church says just ignore it and don't get yer knickers in a twist.

Well the Church of Rome has been ignoring it for generations, so you might have a point.

If the Queen is head of state in UK, does she have to take ultimate responsibility for the decades of child abuse in government-run institutions?

In as much as the Queen has power to do something about it - yes. If she tried to cover it up like the Vatican has it would be immoral.

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 01:54 PM
Seriously? Please... you really should read your history. Pope Benny is a pussy cat compared to many..

More reason for him not to visit then.

New Corrie
16-09-2010, 02:57 PM
The whole concept of this visit is disgusting, the recent comments by high profile Catholics just add to the vulgarity of the visit. Mario Conti, when challenged about the child abuse retorted with....these kids were mostly delinquents anyway! Then we had the wanton racism yesterday with the, arriving at Heathrow you would think you were in a Third World country etc etc The Catholic Church is very good at discrimination (probably the least of their crimes) and a multitude of cover ups and measures that have ruined thousands of lifes, yet if someone has the audacity to challenge anything "Catholic" it gets met with the usual "your all hun bigots blah blah blah". If its bigotry, discrimination, racism, homophobia, child molestation, right wing Christian superiority that you want.....then look no further than the Catholic Church.

16-09-2010, 03:45 PM
The whole concept of this visit is disgusting, the recent comments by high profile Catholics just add to the vulgarity of the visit. Mario Conti, when challenged about the child abuse retorted with....these kids were mostly delinquents anyway! Then we had the wanton racism yesterday with the, arriving at Heathrow you would think you were in a Third World country etc etc The Catholic Church is very good at discrimination (probably the least of their crimes) and a multitude of cover ups and measures that have ruined thousands of lifes, yet if someone has the audacity to challenge anything "Catholic" it gets met with the usual "your all hun bigots blah blah blah". If its bigotry, discrimination, racism, homophobia, child molestation, right wing Christian superiority that you want.....then look no further than the Catholic Church.

Can you link to where this was said?

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 03:55 PM

Cant find that quote, but this article makes me angry.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2003/apr/12/religion.childprotection

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 03:58 PM

or this one.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/2008/05/25/abuse-victims-pain-as-law-lords-deny-them-justice-78057-20428434/

New Corrie
16-09-2010, 04:33 PM

Why? Do you not believe Conti was capable of saying this? or are you just suggesting that i've made it up? Does everything on here need to have a link attached to it?

16-09-2010, 04:36 PM
Why? Do you not believe Conti was capable of saying this? or are you just suggesting that i've made it up? Does everything on here need to have a link attached to it?

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRXfIuItBEnj1H8x4StGr0-N4YmMOhzOxbC_IdWfMMQwWtnqxw&t=1&usg=__lixEZSkJ9N0TlnRlauJaAKKAFm4=

16-09-2010, 06:35 PM

So you can't link to it? No, I don't believe he said it unless I read/hear it in something a little more reliable than Hibs.net.

New Corrie
16-09-2010, 06:46 PM
So you can't link to it?

No, it was on 5 live yesterday when Peter Allan was interviewing one of the many thousands of victims, a lady from Kilmarnock whose life had been ruined while she was meant to be getting looked after by Nuns in a Catholic run childrens home. She was hoping that the Pope might apologise for all the atrocities, but wasn't holding out much hope as Conti had refused to apologise and suggested that most of the victims were delinquents anyway.

Again, why the need for a link? do you think that this is all just made up and nothing bad has happened??? Maybe you think Conti is right:confused:

16-09-2010, 07:21 PM
No, it was on 5 live yesterday when Peter Allan was interviewing one of the many thousands of victims, a lady from Kilmarnock whose life had been ruined while she was meant to be getting looked after by Nuns in a Catholic run childrens home. She was hoping that the Pope might apologise for all the atrocities, but wasn't holding out much hope as Conti had refused to apologise and suggested that most of the victims were delinquents anyway.

Again, why the need for a link? do you think that this is all just made up and nothing bad has happened??? Maybe you think Conti is right:confused:

Hitler was Catholic, Idi Amin an African Muslim, Sadaam Hussein a Muslim, Mao Zedong a Maoist (funny that) and Stalin was Orthodox.

All the above ordered, presided over, denied, misrepresented, told lies over genocide, infanticide, famine, holocaust, ethnic cleansing, child abuse, forced abortion and misery and death. Every faith has blind faith hence the expression. Most have those that cannot accept the awful truths of this world and try to hide behind faith to excuse them and the actions of others. No one is saying that the child abuse didn't happen nor are they condoning it.

The Pope came to town.....he wore a scarf resembling a Hibs one. Folk cheered, the sun was out, he said a few kind words and then we all went home. Some folk liked it, some folk didn't. Some waved scarfs, some waved placards. Some moaned about tax payers money, some thought it was money well spent. We are all agreed that Hearts are sh*te. Goodnight and God Bless :greengrin

16-09-2010, 07:58 PM
Hitler was Catholic, Idi Amin an African Muslim, Sadaam Hussein a Muslim, Mao Zedong a Maoist (funny that) and Stalin was Orthodox.

All the above ordered, presided over, denied, misrepresented, told lies over genocide, infanticide, famine, holocaust, ethnic cleansing, child abuse, forced abortion and misery and death. Every faith has blind faith hence the expression. Most have those that cannot accept the awful truths of this world and try to hide behind faith to excuse them and the actions of others. No one is saying that the child abuse didn't happen nor are they condoning it.

The Pope came to town.....he wore a scarf resembling a Hibs one. Folk cheered, the sun was out, he said a few kind words and then we all went home. Some folk liked it, some folk didn't. Some waved scarfs, some waved placards. Some moaned about tax payers money, some thought it was money well spent. We are all agreed that Hearts are sh*te. Goodnight and God Bless :greengrin

Brilliant!

16-09-2010, 08:33 PM

Magic. Just what was needed. A bit of perspective applied. Can we all move on now please and leave all this hate to the ugly sisters:dunno:

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 08:53 PM
So you can't link to it? No, I don't believe he said it unless I read/hear it in something a little more reliable than Hibs.net.

He said that it was a house for delinquents who are now chasing a pot of gold ie compensation. I think you are blinkered, this is a thoroughly vile case of abuse and cover up, I am not anti catholic, I am anti child abuse!

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 08:56 PM

Which is the only one to be invited for a state visit to your nation?

16-09-2010, 09:30 PM
Which is the only one to be invited for a state visit to your nation?

In turn I could say the UK Government have traded with all those mentioned and hence sponsored/funded their evil deeds. What really is your point. The Pope didn't abuse children, however a minority priests did sadly. If Obama came to Edinburgh would you be happy/agree/be bothered. Some may argue his country have caused more unnecessary death and hardship than any other. Is he to blame ? What about Nelson Mandela - revered, respected, recognised all over the world as a right good guy - however there are some who say he was a terrorist and they have a case. Even he has stated that his ANC were a thoroughly bad lot at times (on record in SA legal commissions). Couldn't really give two hoots that the Pope is here on a state sponsored visit. Worse people than him have darkened our doors without so much as a whimper. Like I said yesterday to you - I depise the Queen and all that horrible disfunctional family stand for, however I put up with them, I don't stand with a placard when she comes to town, I just put up with the road closures and general pash that goes along with it and go to my work and keep my heid down. Doesn't mean I like seeing some of my money go to the civil list and keep her in luxury and hence sponsor her continual state residency :greengrin. The fact I need to lick the back of her heid when I send a letter still gives me the shivers :greengrin

Borders Hibby
16-09-2010, 09:58 PM
In turn I could say the UK Government have traded with all those mentioned and hence sponsored/funded their evil deeds. What really is your point. The Pope didn't abuse children, however a minority priests did sadly. If Obama came to Edinburgh would you be happy/agree/be bothered. Some may argue his country have caused more unnecessary death and hardship than any other. Is he to blame ? What about Nelson Mandela - revered, respected, recognised all over the world as a right good guy - however there are some who say he was a terrorist and they have a case. Even he has stated that his ANC were a thoroughly bad lot at times (on record in SA legal commissions). Couldn't really give two hoots that the Pope is here on a state sponsored visit. Worse people than him have darkened our doors without so much as a whimper. Like I said yesterday to you - I depise the Queen and all that horrible disfunctional family stand for, however I put up with them, I don't stand with a placard when she comes to town, I just put up with the road closures and general pash that goes along with it and go to my work and keep my heid down. Doesn't mean I like seeing some of my money go to the civil list and keep her in luxury and hence sponsor her continual state residency :greengrin. The fact I need to lick the back of her heid when I send a letter still gives me the shivers :greengrin

I like the arguements that its ok for the pope to come because others are worse. A few priests is an understatement, there has been systematic abuse that the pope has covered up both as a bishop and in his present job. I do not condone the ANC but I can see where there motivation came from, I just cant understand child abuse.

16-09-2010, 10:22 PM
I like the arguements that its ok for the pope to come because others are worse. A few priests is an understatement, there has been systematic abuse that the pope has covered up both as a bishop and in his present job. I do not condone the ANC but I can see where there motivation came from, I just cant understand child abuse.

No one in their right mind would condone or approve of any form of child abuse. But you go ahead and tar everyone and a whole faith with the same brush. The world is full of bad people, criminals, abusers and worse. I didn't say it is okay for the Pope to come. I said I didn't give two hoots ! If you care that much about it, grab a train ticket and a placard that says "nice hat, bad guy" and you may just catch him at his next gig. Folk have faith, and Catholics make up a large percentage of the population - deal with it. Catholisism does not mean child abuse, just as me walking down to the local Mosque and me having a blether with an Iman means I am fraternising with terrorists. There are millions of law abiding, loving, caring, faithful and genuinely nice Catholics, Protestants, Muslims, Buddhists and Sikhs !

Your views are blinkered IMHO but hey freedom of speech is a great thing - I am sure a few Catholics fought in the trenches for that too by the way (amongst the Protestants, Muslims, Presbyterians, Sikhs, Atheists)

Twa Cairpets
16-09-2010, 10:53 PM

You do know you can get self adhesive ones these days...

Good posts by the way

Borders Hibby
17-09-2010, 01:57 AM
No one in their right mind would condone or approve of any form of child abuse. But you go ahead and tar everyone and a whole faith with the same brush. The world is full of bad people, criminals, abusers and worse. I didn't say it is okay for the Pope to come. I said I didn't give two hoots ! If you care that much about it, grab a train ticket and a placard that says "nice hat, bad guy" and you may just catch him at his next gig. Folk have faith, and Catholics make up a large percentage of the population - deal with it. Catholisism does not mean child abuse, just as me walking down to the local Mosque and me having a blether with an Iman means I am fraternising with terrorists. There are millions of law abiding, loving, caring, faithful and genuinely nice Catholics, Protestants, Muslims, Buddhists and Sikhs !

Your views are blinkered IMHO but hey freedom of speech is a great thing - I am sure a few Catholics fought in the trenches for that too by the way (amongst the Protestants, Muslims, Presbyterians, Sikhs, Atheists)

I agree with you, each faith has its good and bads, I dont dislike catholisicm I just dislike this pope at this time.

17-09-2010, 06:48 AM

I know it's hard for you but don't talk utter pish. You don't know anything abut me or my background so I'd be a little bit more careful about what you suggest that folk might think.

He said that it was a house for delinquents who are now chasing a pot of gold ie compensation. I think you are blinkered, this is a thoroughly vile case of abuse and cover up, I am not anti catholic, I am anti child abuse!

Blinkered for wanting proof of something? Good one.

Borders Hibby
17-09-2010, 08:14 AM
I know it's hard for you but don't talk utter pish. You don't know anything abut me or my background so I'd be a little bit more careful about what you suggest that folk might think.

Blinkered for wanting proof of something? Good one.

I think that the standards of proof that you need to prove that thousands of children were systematically abused, and it was covered up may indicate that you are a bishop.

Twa Cairpets
17-09-2010, 08:47 AM

The reason why evidence is important is that any opportunity for the guilty to illustrate that some of the comments relating to the horror of the abuse is made up/exaggerated weakens the strength of any other, true claims.

If the position individuals such as Conti take are unpleasant, immoral or distasteful, then there should be no need to make stuff up about how bad they are - it should be quite possible to hoist them with their own petard.

The question posed at the end of your post "Maybe you think Conti is right?" is a classic Loaded Question logical fallacy. "Have you stopped beating your wife?"

Borders Hibby
17-09-2010, 08:52 AM
The reason why evidence is important is that any opportunity for the guilty to illustrate that some of the comments relating to the horror of the abuse is made up/exaggerated weakens the strength of any other, true claims.

If the position individuals such as Conti take are unpleasant, immoral or distasteful, then there should be no need to make stuff up about how bad they are - it should be quite possible to hoist them with their own petard.

The question posed at the end of your post "Maybe you think Conti is right?" is a classic Loaded Question logical fallacy. "Have you stopped beating your wife?"

Dont think there is any lack of evidence.

17-09-2010, 09:10 AM
I think that the standards of proof that you need to prove that thousands of children were systematically abused, and it was covered up may indicate that you are a bishop.

For ****'s sake.....

I wanted proof of what Conti was alleged to say. I was not disputing that wide-scale abuse has happened or asking for evidence of it.

Twa Cairpets
17-09-2010, 09:13 AM
Dont think there is any lack of evidence.

My point exactly, so why make stuff up that could potentially weaken the case? The minute that something can be shown to be fabricated immediately reduces the power of other evidence.

Borders Hibby
17-09-2010, 09:17 AM
My point exactly, so why make stuff up that could potentially weaken the case? The minute that something can be shown to be fabricated immediately reduces the power of other evidence.

Fair enough, I didnt attribute that quote to him, but he has said some strange things in the aftermath of the court case.

Borders Hibby
17-09-2010, 09:19 AM
For ****'s sake.....

I wanted proof of what Conti was alleged to say. I was not disputing that wide-scale abuse has happened or asking for evidence of it.

I posted 2 articles that seem to show what he said, the original posters quote did paraphrase him. Can we agree that this should not overshadow the abuse or the poor way the church has dealt with it.

20-09-2010, 12:55 AM

No, FR I don't know the self-ordaned Minister personally:flag:

Had a good laugh at one of IP's comments whilst on his ant-papal rant in Edinburgh on Thursday though. He said 'I will be keeping as far away as possible (from the Pope)':faf:

Irony or what:dunno:

20-09-2010, 12:48 PM
No, FR I don't know the self-ordaned Minister personally:flag:

Had a good laugh at one of IP's comments whilst on his ant-papal rant in Edinburgh on Thursday though. He said 'I will be keeping as far away as possible (from the Pope)':faf:

Irony or what:dunno:

Maybe he just happened to be in a shop on Princes Street, when he got a call from his mate, and.....:dunno: