View Full Version : Police Harrassment of ICT Fans In South Stand

11-09-2010, 05:23 PM
It was utterly pathetic and reminded me of the weedgie police at Parkhead and Ibrox. Justifying their overtime by inappropriate and ridiculous intimidating strongarm tactics and trying to stare down a group of young kids for the crime of standing in a completely empty stand and singing to support their team.

They traveled far and paid a lot of money and seemed to be enjoying their day out till the police did their level best to bully them into sitting quietly on their hands. I look forward to our officers behaving in the same way when the south is stuffed with Yams or Huns.

No wonder attendances are falling when fans are treated in that sort of manner. I wonder how many of the ICT fans will be keen to return to Edinburgh after that experience.

The first law of good public order management should be commonsense, a quality utterly absent by the uptight fascists of L & B P D on that performance today. Hibs and ICT officials should have a word.

11-09-2010, 05:26 PM
It was utterly pathetic and reminded me of the weedgie police at Parkhead and Ibrox. Justifying their overtime by inappropriate and ridiculous intimidating strongarm tactics and trying to stare down a group of young kids for the crime of standing in a completely empty stand and singing to support their team.

They traveled far and paid a lot of money and seemed to be enjoying their day out till the police did their level best to bully them into sitting quietly on their hands. I look forward to our officers behaving in the same way when the south is stuffed with Yams or Huns.

No wonder attendances are falling when fans are treated in that sort of manner. I wonder how many of the ICT fans will be keen to return to Edinburgh after that experience.

The first law of good public order management should be commonsense, a quality utterly absent by the uptight fascists of L & B P D on that performance today. Hibs and ICT officials should have a word.

:top marks Agreed Robert - was going to start a post along the same lines.

Pathetic stuff - so what if they were standing up for Christ Sake ?!?!? :grr:

11-09-2010, 05:29 PM
We were looking over from the East and were embarrassed that about 10 policemen spent the whole of the match staring at 70/80 ICT fans, whilst dozens more could be seen in the control-room above them.
What a waste of money!

11-09-2010, 05:30 PM
We were looking over from the East and were embarrassed that about 10 policemen spent the whole of the match staring at 70/80 ICT fans, whilst dozens more could be seen in the control-room above them.
What a waste of money!

11-09-2010, 05:31 PM
Wonder if they will 'Police' un similar style when bigger supports visit... Of course not. Felt sorry for their support. Pathetic stuff from L&B's finest.

DBHibs
11-09-2010, 05:32 PM
Noticed the police and stewards moaning at the ICT fans cos they were (totally understandably) standing up to watch their team take their penalty.

One fan ran down the stairs and hugged one of the bemused stewards after they scored!

As far as I could see the away support were doing absolutely nowt wrong at all and there was no need for any heavy handedness towards them.

11-09-2010, 05:33 PM
A visible waste of our council tax money. A joke. Paying tax for that nonsense? Where was the threat to public order there? They should get of the gravy train and try nicking some villains for a change. Muppets.

11-09-2010, 05:34 PM
I was raging about it at the game and will be emailing the club over it.

It all started when two young guys were banging on the wall and lip of the upper tier beside the security box. A extremely fat official was having a fit inside it and was banging on the window at the two young lads. Next two stewards came and escorted the two lads out. That was after 5-10 mins. This continued with a few more young lads getting flung out. Then an older fan complained and was arrested.

Is this all to do with the guy who came to Hibs from the Yams?

They are killing the game. The treatment of the Caley fans was an absolute joke. These same stewards/police never go near the Old Firm with bigotry.

They were treated like we get at Parkhead. Shame on Hibs and Rock Steady

11-09-2010, 05:37 PM
A visible waste of our council tax money. A joke. Paying tax for that nonsense? Where was the threat to public order there? They should get of the gravy train and try nicking some villains for a change. Muppets.

Unfortunately the Club will be paying for all the police hours worked in and around the stadium to-day

11-09-2010, 05:47 PM

It all started when two young guys were banging on the wall and lip of the upper tier beside the security box. A extremely fat official was having a fit inside it and was banging on the window at the two young lads. Next two stewards came and escorted the two lads out. That was after 5-10 mins. This continued with a few more young lads getting flung out. Then an older fan complained and was arrested.

They are killing the game. The treatment of the Caley fans was an absolute joke. These same stewards/police never go near the Old Firm with bigotry.

Good for you mate - please refer them to the views expressed on this thread. :agree:

11-09-2010, 05:49 PM

What a bunch of Dildos. They spent most of the game harassing those fans for nothing yet it took an eternity to get attention to the guy who was ill at the front of the East Stand.

Let's see how the police/stewards behave when the OF are next in town.

11-09-2010, 06:01 PM
Just thought I'd let you all know, I've E-Mailed the club about this. For those interested, here's the contents of my E-Mail.

SUBJECT: Treatment of visiting fans at today's game

"Dear Sir / Madam,
I am a Season Ticket holder in the East Stand, therefore a Hibs supporter, but would like to draw your attention to the over the top treatment of some of our guests from Inverness. Can you please tell me why there was a permanent fixture of around twenty policemen and stewards staring out around 20-30 visiting supporters? As far as I could see, the only crime they were committing was to stand up in the two back rows, therefore blocking the view of no one, whilst actually bringing some atmosphere to the game by singing most of the match.

Is this what it's come to at Easter Road, that a small group of fans that are causing no bother to anyone, are treated in such an over hand, despicable manner? Can you also please tell me if those stewards will apply the same rigorous tactics to the visiting hordes of Celtic and Rangers fans? Or will they sit on their hands and let 3,900 people in the South Stand stand up for most of the game and sing totally deplorable, bigoted songs of both a Sectarian and terrorist glorifying nature, as they usually do?

If you think this is the insane drivel of just one fan then please think again. This was commented on by many around me, as well as people I spoke to after the match."

11-09-2010, 06:04 PM
Just thought I'd let you all know, I've E-Mailed the club about this. For those interested, here's the contents of my E-Mail.

"Dear Sir / Madam,
I am a Season Ticket holder in the East Stand, therefore a Hibs supporter, but would like to draw your attention to the over the top treatment of some of our guests from Inverness. Can you please tell me why there was a permanent fixture of around twenty policemen and stewards staring out around 20-30 visiting supporters? As far as I could see, the only crime they were committing was to stand up in the two back rows, therefore blocking the view of no one, whilst actually bringing some atmosphere to the game by singing most of the match.

Is this what it's come to at Easter Road, that a small group of fans that are causing no bother to anyone, are treated in such an over hand, despicable manner? Can you also please tell me if those stewards will apply the same rigorous tactics to the visiting hordes of Celtic and Rangers fans? Or will they sit on their hands and let 3,900 people in the South Stand stand up for most of the game and sing totally deplorable, bigoted songs of both a Sectarian and terrorist glorifying nature, as they usually do?

If you think this is the insane drivel of just one fan then please think again. This was commented on by many around me, as well as people I spoke to after the match."

Well done sir. You should E Mail them back with a link to this thread. :agree:

11-09-2010, 06:04 PM
Outrageous.

You pay through the nose and get treated like animals.

11-09-2010, 06:09 PM
The young lads will have paid a a few quid to follow their team and paid to get in. It was totally over the top. Hibs appear intent of driving footie fans away. A sensible approach should be taken. They claim its Health and Safety but how can it be safe for police and stewards to stand yet fans cant. Also if its dangerous why are fans allowed to stand at half time. Additionally the PA system does not work at the back of the east so no real safety issues can be heard.

11-09-2010, 06:11 PM
Although I'm in the West Upper and a bit away from where it all went on, I too thought it looked completely over the top.

If anyone from an ICT forum is passing by then they should link to this thread so that they at least know we Hibs fans are in no way supportive of the pathetic stewarding \ policing shown today.

Skanko79
11-09-2010, 06:13 PM
To be honest if i really could be bothered emailing Hibs my email would be more along the lines of the performance on the park not what was going on of it.

Really dont see at all where emailing the club is going to get you with this.

Capt Mainwaring
11-09-2010, 06:19 PM

Totally agree -way over the top from the Police and Stewards, but it's not a Hibs issue - it's shame on Lothian & Borders police and Rock Steady security. For any ICT fans looking in - all I can say is that the homes fans are are embarrased by this as your away fans will be annoyed.

11-09-2010, 07:05 PM

:top marks A disgrace that fans singing in support of their team are harassed for standing up.

The Huns meanwhile were up to their usual party pieces with "No Pope of Rome" getting an airing :rolleyes: No mention of any arrests during the ESPN coverage. I wonder if George 'snout in the trough' Peat will have anything to say about that :bitchy:

11-09-2010, 07:07 PM
It was utterly shameful from the police/stewards in the away end. As others have said, they are bullies and cowards who are quite prepared to engage in a confrontation they know they can win, but when faced by larger crowds from Old Firm/Hearts, they are not so keen to wade in so just keep out the way and let them do as they please.

It is little wonder that nobody respects the police these days, and when you see the way they treat football supporters like some sort of underclass, that respect won`t be returning any time soon.

Conrad Gray
11-09-2010, 07:22 PM
As others have said, they are bullies and cowards who are quite prepared to engage in a confrontation they know they can win, but when faced by larger crowds from Old Firm/Hearts, they are not so keen to wade in so just keep out the way and let them do as they please.

Are you saying that they should take on confrontations that they can't win and cause bigger problems?

I would love to see the police lift any Old Firm fan that spouts their bigoted pish at our ground, but believe that would probably take upwards of 1000 cops and start a riot. Would be you happy to see a repeat of Manchester in Edinburgh with your family/friends nearby??

11-09-2010, 07:32 PM
you call that o.t.t.?...i attended the game today with my 5 year old son and his pal...upon approaching the east stand i was made to empty the kids backpacks by a steward with a p.c. watching over proceedings...my kids rucksack was deemed non threatening as it contained 2 cartons of ribena,a few biscuits,some fruit and a waterproof jacket...his pal,who was attending his first game,wasn't so lucky.As his dad had prepared his backpack it contained the wee guys favourite water bottle as well as the expected snacks. I was told he couldn't take the offending article in as there was a chance that it could be used as a projectile...when i asked what my options it was made clear that i wasn't getting in with the water and that was the end of the matter....as it was too late to return to the car i had no alternative other than to bin it although my sons pals baffled expression as i did so left me feeling like a bit of an twat...when i told the p.c. that this was his first game and he thought it was **** already he answered,''wait till he gets inside''....incidentaly,he loved the game.

11-09-2010, 07:33 PM
It was the same treatment dished out to hibees in the east stand. I was in row gg in the singing section when some wee jobsworth steward came marching up and acted in a rather frankly aggressive manner. Told the 20 or so guys at the back of the stand to " sit doon or yer getting flung oot" when most of them said no he started getting more annoyed which got even worse when loads more other folk began to stand up too.

He came back later with a policeman later on and had words with a few guys who were most vocal in their protestations about sitting down. Honestly the guy acted like a pure clown

11-09-2010, 07:36 PM
It is little wonder that nobody respects the police these days, and when you see the way they treat football supporters like some sort of underclass, that respect won`t be returning any time soon.

It was different in the East. The police were quite apologetic about making folk sit down, and kept stressing it was Hibs' directives.

11-09-2010, 08:09 PM
If their only 'crime' was to be standing up and singing songs in support of their team then the treatment that they received was both over the top and disgraceful.

I obviously don't know for certain that that was all they did 'wrong' today as I was a long way from them but it did seem like it from where I was.

There must have been around 10 Inverness fans chucked out today and that section was surrounded by Police and stewards for almost the entire match. The stewards first went up to speak to them after about two or three minutes.

Like I have said in the past, when you get a group like that today where they all want to stand and sing, I fail to see what harm they can be doing to themselves or others around them and I just think they should be left alone.

The only time the Police or Stewards should be brought in to deal with incidents like this is when another fan, who wishes to sit down but can't see when they do so because of those standing in front of them, reports it to a steward/police officer. I think it's selfish to stand up in front of people who wish to sit down. However, that was not the case today when all of the people in that group wanted to stand up and therefore, in my opinion, they weren't doing anything to justify the way in which they were treated.

I am normally someone who sticks up for the Police but on this occasion, certainly from what I saw at least, I think they should be embarrassed at how they reacted today to what seemed like a fairly minor 'problem' in the grand scheme of 'problems'. You can't really blame the stewards because they are like robots, they are programmed to do certain things from the people in charge of security at Easter Road and they just follow out those orders to the letter of the law.

I think the point that someone made earlier about Rangers and Celtic fans not getting that kind of treatment from the authorities, despite the fact that they also stand and sing for 90 minutes, is quite valid. Three or four times a season, we have to sit and listen to them singing about glorifying terrorism and other such filth and the Police and stewards simply don't want to know. However, today it was just 'little old Inverness' with just a couple of hundred fans down to watch them and an even smaller number who wished to stand and sing. The fact of the matter is, they are an easy target for the 'healthy and safety' mafia to harrass and intimidate.

11-09-2010, 08:38 PM
I'm all for the stewards and police 'upping their game' if done consistently, which means tackling the OF bigots, but to surround the group of ICT fans for no obvious reason did seem a OTT. I didn't see much wrong from directly across in the upper FF but I have to say I didn't think the couple of 'HIV Capital' chants from part of the group were very clever.

Hibbie_Cameron
11-09-2010, 10:52 PM
It was a complete joke. Travelling all that way down at great expense to be treated like that was terrible.

What were they doing? Nothing more than supporting the team and enjoying themselves yet about a dozen cops for a group of maybe 30 fans. One fan got turfed out for celebrating the equaliser

Same venue a few weeks before and Glasgow Rangers are in town. Every fan standing, some in the front row of the top tier leaning over the edge, waving banners and of course the chorus of bigoted "party" songs. Whats done about it................Nothing!!

The police and stewards today were breaking the health and safety rules more than any fan. They were blocking the staircase and overcrowding an area whilst achieving very little

11-09-2010, 11:02 PM
All those standing where at the back of the stand and weren't obstructing anybody's views. Probably just a few lads who'd travelled down a fair distance, had a few beers and having guid day out. Total over-reaction from the polis. :bitchy:

hfc1875x
12-09-2010, 02:37 AM

I agree mate, double standards spring to mind, but he majority of pigs these day have a ego.

12-09-2010, 06:18 AM
Are you saying that they should take on confrontations that they can't win and cause bigger problems?

I would love to see the police lift any Old Firm fan that spouts their bigoted pish at our ground, but believe that would probably take upwards of 1000 cops and start a riot. Would be you happy to see a repeat of Manchester in Edinburgh with your family/friends nearby??

I know what you are saying and it is a sad fact that, in football terms , there is a rule for them and a rule for us,but that performance was embarassing .
The last time I saw such ridiculous treatment of away fans was against mighty Gretna.
Also, thank goodness the Caly fans were there yesterday or the atmosphere would have been even worse.

12-09-2010, 06:49 AM

It's taking on a problem that didn't exist in the first place that gets up folks noses. If they are going to target a group of young guys for the heinous crime of getting behind their team then yes, they should take action against the Old Firm cretins who are genuinely out of order.

12-09-2010, 07:03 AM
Thought the stewards/police in that stand were a disgrace the way they treated they lads for daring tae get up and support their team. Will the police be wading in next time the sVmmy OF fans come calling, nah, wiil they **** bunch of ******s :agree:

12-09-2010, 07:37 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCXHbCYvzjI

Gala Foxes
12-09-2010, 07:47 AM
pity the stewards don't direct a bit of their time to some of the muppets in our stands that are the reason more parents don't bring kids to the games.

franks
12-09-2010, 08:48 AM
Noticed the antics of police and stewards at this game from a distance and have to agree seemed a bit OTT.

12-09-2010, 09:57 AM

If the police are unable or too scared to take action at the time all they have to to is video them, study footage to identify, kick the culprits doors in whilst they're sleeping and give them all jail sentences. Maybe a bit OTT but no moreso than what they did yesterday.

Hibby D
12-09-2010, 10:18 AM

"Dear Sir / Madam,

Well written :top marks

They used a hammer to crack a nut yesterday and it was way ott :agree:

As has been pointed out it's more the double standards - and a complete lack of balls!

That's brilliant :greengrin

12-09-2010, 10:28 AM
If you add to this all the problems folk were having for pay at the gate then Hibs arent really helping themselves get fans in through the turnstiles are they?

thats quite funny, mibbe we could start singing this at ER next home game?

12-09-2010, 10:34 AM
The actions yesterday of the police/stewards in the south was nothing short of embarrassing. The sort of thing we used to get all the time at Ibrox and Parkhead.

I wonder if that was a group of 50 Aberdeen casuals would G4S be throwing people out left right and centre like that? Or if they will act like that when 3900 reeking huns and tims are at ER the next time? No chance.

We were up the back of the East and the 2 polis and G4S Supervisor came up to get us sitting. All were very apologetic but very adament this was down to Hibs. I asked how this time last year we could stand on this side of the ground to which one officer replied 'Dunno mate, we're just doing what we have been told'.

If this is how Hibs are going to start treating the paying customer they can **** right off. In this day and age were people are getting fed up of football fullstop and what it has become, this day and age where fans seem to be giving it up in droves, this day and age with expensive tickets and daft kick off times, Hibs are *** stupid to go down this route.

I wonder if it is this Hertz **** we now have as head of Security. Trying to make his mark, mind Hearts havin similar problems regarding stewarding/standing and what ever.

What is the email address for Hibs? The more complaints they get the better.

http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/8152/ictf.jpg

12-09-2010, 10:53 AM
The actions yesterday of the police/stewards in the south was nothing short of embarrassing. The sort of thing we used to get all the time at Ibrox and Parkhead.

I wonder if that was a group of 50 Aberdeen casuals would G4S be throwing people out left right and centre like that? Or if they will act like that when 3900 reeking huns and tims are at ER the next time? No chance.

We were up the back of the East and the 2 polis and G4S Supervisor came up to get us sitting. All were very apologetic but very adament this was down to Hibs. I asked how this time last year we could stand on this side of the ground to which one officer replied 'Dunno mate, we're just doing what we have been told'.

If this is how Hibs are going to start treating the paying customer they can **** right off. In this day and age were people are getting fed up of football fullstop and what it has become, this day and age where fans seem to be giving it up in droves, this day and age with expensive tickets and daft kick off times, Hibs are *** stupid to go down this route.

I wonder if it is this Hertz **** we now have as head of Security. Trying to make his mark, mind Hearts havin similar problems regarding stewarding/standing and what ever.

Fantastic post, can't really add to that :top marks

12-09-2010, 11:11 AM

Taffy
12-09-2010, 03:29 PM
Noticed the police and stewards moaning at the ICT fans cos they were (totally understandably) standing up to watch their team take their penalty.

One fan ran down the stairs and hugged one of the bemused stewards after they scored!

As far as I could see the away support were doing absolutely nowt wrong at all and there was no need for any heavy handedness towards them.

I was the said fan hugging the steward. When we scored i was trying to get down the front to celebrate with Rooney when faced with this lump of a steward who looked ready to rugby tackle me to the ground so hugging him seemed like the only option, i'm sure he enjoyed it anyway.

Anyway as a Caley fan it's refreshing to read all your comments. I to have emailed Hibs but yet to get any word back from them, i don't know if i will? The stewarding at Hibs in the past has been brilliant but yesterday is the type of situation that makes you think twice as a fan about handing over your money and traveling long ways to watch your team. The point i made in my email was that the way we were treated is the same way Hibees are victimised when playing away to the Old Filth.

Interesting when one steward was asked would you treat Old Firm, Hearts and Aberdeen fans the same way her response was "No because there's too many of them".

Disgraceful jobsworths.

12-09-2010, 03:32 PM

Nail on head but his correct title is Stadium Manager. Expect it to get a lot worse and for there to be further bans.

lEXO
12-09-2010, 03:37 PM
It,s turning into a sit down shut up mentality towards football fans.I thought the small band of caley fans that made the journey yesterday backed their team superbly.Given the garbage we have to listen to when the bigot brothers come to town, it is disgraceful that these fans were hassled when the real action should be taken against the bigots.
I blame Hibs as much as the stewards and cops.

discman
12-09-2010, 03:49 PM

Immediately thought of this,great post maybe we should use it; though on a personal level would have arrersted them all!! the crime? for totally out singing us! lol
maybe we could learn from them :)

12-09-2010, 04:56 PM
I was the said fan hugging the steward. When we scored i was trying to get down the front to celebrate with Rooney when faced with this lump of a steward who looked ready to rugby tackle me to the ground so hugging him seemed like the only option, i'm sure he enjoyed it anyway.

Anyway as a Caley fan it's refreshing to read all your comments. I to have emailed Hibs but yet to get any word back from them, i don't know if i will? The stewarding at Hibs in the past has been brilliant but yesterday is the type of situation that makes you think twice as a fan about handing over your money and traveling long ways to watch your team. The point i made in my email was that the way we were treated is the same way Hibees are victimised when playing away to the Old Filth.

Interesting when one steward was asked would you treat Old Firm, Hearts and Aberdeen fans the same way her response was "No because there's too many of them".

Disgraceful jobsworths.

Great to see ICT fans acknowledge that we as Hibs fans, largely from the Lothians, in no way endorse this kind of nonsense from the those idiots whom we pay for. The club should be ashamed if they are giving those rip-off merchants any encouragement at all.

12-09-2010, 06:05 PM
Nail on head but his correct title is Stadium Manager. Expect it to get a lot worse and for there to be further bans.

Not seen the many well known faces at ER this season, Hibs cracking down looks like it.

12-09-2010, 06:11 PM
One ICT fan on Pie and Bovril saying he had a great day out, was impressed by the stadium and the Hibs fans but won't be back because of the heavy handed stewarding.

Well done, Stewards. Way to turn away paying fans.

12-09-2010, 06:25 PM
Football is becoming as sterile as Howard Hughes' toilet.
What a drag! :yawn:

Taffy
12-09-2010, 08:18 PM
Just wondering if anyone who emailed Hibs has been given a response yet?

12-09-2010, 08:48 PM
Cant add much apart from to agree with the vast majority of posts on here.

From my seat in the East it looked like total overkill regarding the treatment of the ICT fans. Looked like there were as many police and stewards as there was them.

:bitchy:

12-09-2010, 09:38 PM
Just wondering if anyone who emailed Hibs has been given a response yet?

as its sunday today i dont expect anyone was working who could have replied, give it until tomorrow lunch time for a response

The Baldmans Comb
12-09-2010, 10:10 PM
Just in case anyone from Hibs is pointed in this direction then I'd like to agree that the Inveness fans were perfectly well behaved, loud and enthusiastic and gave excellent backing to their team whereas the actions of the stewards and police towards them was a complete embarrassment.:grr:

13-09-2010, 08:27 AM

13-09-2010, 09:04 AM
Whats the email address for Hibs you'd send a complaint to?

John_the_angus_hibby
13-09-2010, 09:21 AM
I was pretty angered by the treatment. This was my first game of the season and it was not a pleasant experience for a number of reasons :wink:

I decided to put digits to keyboard....

Dear Mr Lindsay,

I am making a complaint regarding the levels of security and it's heavy handed application during this weekends ICT game. I am a Hibs fan (continuous season ticket holder up until 2 seasons ago, two tickets books...but that is another matter) and attended the game on Saturday.

The steward's and police's treatment of the ICT fans were a continuous topic during and after the game. It is a sad state of affairs that have an enthusiastic group of fans treated as if they are criminals. I spoke to a friend yesterday who travelled down as part of the ICT support. He explained to me that it will be the last time he does so to Easter Road. This chap is not a criminal or 'casual'; but your treatment of his and his friends have lost future profitable revenue for Hibernian Football Club.

I strongly suggest you examine current policies and how these policies are deployed on match day. You may not realize the consequence of innocently proposed policies suggested in a management environment. But the way they are being executed is deplorable.

One of the most annoying factors is that we Hibs fans (the ones that pay to attend, buy the merchandise, etc remember) know for a fact that these match day tactics would not be applied to Rangers and Celtic support even though the behavior and atmosphere of bigotry can be cut with a knife during those games.

I would like a response as I know for a fact 1) the tactics applied on Saturday were not warranted and 2) the tactics are not applied with equanimity to other clubs and worse of all 3) it helps to make Easter Road a sterile environment.

To be honest I have to come up with more reasons to invest my time in attending every season, please do not add to the counter arguments.

Kindest Regards

I will post any reply, I would interested in other replies also.

John_the_angus_hibby
13-09-2010, 09:22 AM
Whats the email address for Hibs you'd send a complaint to?

board@hibernianfc.co.uk

13-09-2010, 09:23 AM
I was pretty angered by the treatment. This was my first game of the season and it was not a pleasant experience for a number of reasons :wink:

I decided to put digits to keyboard....

Dear Mr Lindsay,

I am making a complaint regarding the levels of security and it's heavy handed application during this weekends ICT game. I am a Hibs fan (continuous season ticket holder up until 2 seasons ago, two tickets books...but that is another matter) and attended the game on Saturday.

The steward's and police's treatment of the ICT fans were a continuous topic during and after the game. It is a sad state of affairs that have an enthusiastic group of fans treated as if they are criminals. I spoke to a friend yesterday who travelled down as part of the ICT support. He explained to me that it will be the last time he does so to Easter Road. This chap is not a criminal or 'casual'; but your treatment of his and his friends have lost future profitable revenue for Hibernian Football Club.

I strongly suggest you examine current policies and how these policies are deployed on match day. You may not realize the consequence of innocently proposed policies suggested in a management environment. But the way they are being executed is deplorable.

One of the most annoying factors is that we Hibs fans (the ones that pay to attend, buy the merchandise, etc remember) know for a fact that these match day tactics would not be applied to Rangers and Celtic support even though the behavior and atmosphere of bigotry can be cut with a knife during those games.

I would like a response as I know for a fact 1) the tactics applied on Saturday were not warranted and 2) the tactics are not applied with equanimity to other clubs and worse of all 3) it helps to make Easter Road a sterile environment.

To be honest I have to come up with more reasons to invest my time in attending every season, please do not add to the counter arguments.

Kindest Regards

I will post any reply, I would interested in other replies also.

What email address did you send it to?

13-09-2010, 10:07 AM
When you have George Peat lambasting Scotland fans for jeering a national anthem, but saying nothing about the sectarian bile coming out of the Tims and Huns at a stadium near you every Saturday - which is actually illegal - then the cowardly actions of the police and stewards on Saturday is really not surprising.

The next time one of the Old Firm visit Easter Road we should be watching what exactly goes on very, very closely and then shout as loudly as possible about the likely results.

13-09-2010, 10:08 AM
Just another example of attempts to sanitise football - to it's detriment.

From where I was, the ICT fans were doing what they have every right to do.......cheer on their team and make as much noise as possible as a minority away from home....

of course, L&B 's finest were visible and active because there were very few fans..........I doubt very much if you would have seen such a presence if either of the uglies were in town. They always bottle policing of those matches, don't they. :agree:

TheEastTerrace
13-09-2010, 12:06 PM
:grr:Reading this thread makes me extremely angry and the club should be completely embarrassed by this ridiculously over-zealous approach to 'policing' fans. The ICT fans have invested good time and money in travelling, only to be afforded the sort of welcome reserved for a group of prison inmates. Shocking.

Football in this country is dying, fans becoming increasingly apathetic to all elements of the game, yet the clubs are determined to continue to sanitise the supporters with this pathetic approach.

As those have rightfully expressed, this zero tolerance approach seems to largely disappear when Rangers, Celtic, Hearts come to the ground. Cowards, effin COWARDS!! :grr:

I hate to say it people, but we must start fighting back by voting with our feet and enforce change. We are the lifeblood of Scottish football, yet we are treated with suspicion, contempt and as third rate citizens. It cannot go on.

As a case point, I watched the NFL last night and the Seattle Seahawks game. Man, the franchise actively encourage the crowd to be noisy, feverent, encouraging, and most importantly, make it a fortress for their team. Shame the parochial dimwits in charge of our national sport are too short-sighted to see the light.

Rant over...

13-09-2010, 12:13 PM
Has anyone had a response of Hibs yet?

13-09-2010, 12:23 PM
A second fan on Pie and Bovril saying he won't be back. It's not as if Scottish football is so stinking rich we can afford to treat fans like this ffs.

13-09-2010, 12:29 PM
you call that o.t.t.?...i attended the game today with my 5 year old son and his pal...upon approaching the east stand i was made to empty the kids backpacks by a steward with a p.c. watching over proceedings...my kids rucksack was deemed non threatening as it contained 2 cartons of ribena,a few biscuits,some fruit and a waterproof jacket...his pal,who was attending his first game,wasn't so lucky.As his dad had prepared his backpack it contained the wee guys favourite water bottle as well as the expected snacks. I was told he couldn't take the offending article in as there was a chance that it could be used as a projectile...when i asked what my options it was made clear that i wasn't getting in with the water and that was the end of the matter....as it was too late to return to the car i had no alternative other than to bin it although my sons pals baffled expression as i did so left me feeling like a bit of an twat...when i told the p.c. that this was his first game and he thought it was **** already he answered,''wait till he gets inside''....incidentaly,he loved the game.

Unbelievable! It's that sort of **** that would have happilly taken a job as a guard in a Nazi death camp - "following orders" would be his excuse.

13-09-2010, 12:33 PM
Whilst I agree with some who have posted, my thoughts are that it is not the police at fault at games but the stewards. I have Hibs supporting mates in the police who 1) love policing the football because it is the cabbage and 2) enjoy the banter with fans on either side. One of them even says that people forget the emotions in football, the mindset of most fans remembering terracing, and that in all honesty they don't see a problem with fans standing unless someone complains to them about restricted views etc. They also get told beforehand that it is the stewards that are there to monitor the game. The police are there to either assist or deal with disorder. Really not into this council tax jibe either. It is like any profession, you get good and bad, but I have always found them decent and good to have a bit of a laugh with at games. Tough job, not many would do it are my thoughts. Hibs though have to have a word with the stewarding company as it is them I see causing the most rifts, arguments and hassle with fans. Many look so disinterested it's untrue and probably have no interest in football. It's also easy to say on a online forum that the police should be wading in to the great unwashed at home games and arresting them for singing certain songs etc.........true it should go punished, but I don't particularly want to see mass fighting in the stands, nor police officers off the streets dealing with 100 arrests for chanting. Pick out the ring-leaders yes, and report to the Fiscal's, the clubs and SFA. But let's have a wee bit common sense at times eh. Better having cops make sure we all get home safe before, during and after the game, than having none out on the street and them inside dealing with mass arrests at the fitba. Only my observations.

13-09-2010, 01:00 PM
Whilst I agree with some who have posted, my thoughts are that it is not the police at fault at games but the stewards. I have Hibs supporting mates in the police who 1) love policing the football because it is the cabbage and 2) enjoy the banter with fans on either side. One of them even says that people forget the emotions in football, the mindset of most fans remembering terracing, and that in all honesty they don't see a problem with fans standing unless someone complains to them about restricted views etc. They also get told beforehand that it is the stewards that are there to monitor the game. The police are there to either assist or deal with disorder. Really not into this council tax jibe either. It is like any profession, you get good and bad, but I have always found them decent and good to have a bit of a laugh with at games. Tough job, not many would do it are my thoughts. Hibs though have to have a word with the stewarding company as it is them I see causing the most rifts, arguments and hassle with fans. Many look so disinterested it's untrue and probably have no interest in football. It's also easy to say on a online forum that the police should be wading in to the great unwashed at home games and arresting them for singing certain songs etc.........true it should go punished, but I don't particularly want to see mass fighting in the stands, nor police officers off the streets dealing with 100 arrests for chanting. Pick out the ring-leaders yes, and report to the Fiscal's, the clubs and SFA. But let's have a wee bit common sense at times eh. Better having cops make sure we all get home safe before, during and after the game, than having none out on the street and them inside dealing with mass arrests at the fitba. Only my observations.

It's the stewards, clubs and matchday commander that are the problems.

A friend of a friend is a policeman. Know him fairly well, good lad. Mind him in the Roseburn stand about 3-4 seasons ago with a few other officers getting supporters to sit. I bumped into him a few weeks later in a boozer, a few pints later we were telling eachother stories about the fitba and whatever, then I raised the point why was he getting fans to sit down at the mentioned game. Mind him telling me he couldn't care what the fans were doing, but the match commander in the police control room radioed down gave a few orders. Also mind a copper at Ibrox telling me something very similar. Both times I was jokingly told by the officers 'the last thing I want to do is pester drunk fitba fans to sit down'.

The problems lie with the clubs. Neil Doncaster last week said he was open-minded about the return of some standing sections in the SPL. Why hasn't Hibs, Hearts, OF, Aberdeen etc publicly supported the idea when all clubs know their is demand for it.

13-09-2010, 01:13 PM
It's the stewards, clubs and matchday commander that are the problems.

A friend of a friend is a policeman. Know him fairly well, good lad. Mind him in the Roseburn stand about 3-4 seasons ago with a few other officers getting supporters to sit. I bumped into him a few weeks later in a boozer, a few pints later we were telling eachother stories about the fitba and whatever, then I raised the point why was he getting fans to sit down at the mentioned game. Mind him telling me he couldn't care what the fans were doing, but the match commander in the police control room radioed down gave a few orders. Also mind a copper at Ibrox telling me something very similar. Both times I was jokingly told by the officers 'the last thing I want to do is pester drunk fitba fans to sit down'.

The problems lie with the clubs. Neil Doncaster last week said he was open-minded about the return of some standing sections in the SPL. Why hasn't Hibs, Hearts, OF, Aberdeen etc publicly supported the idea when all clubs know their is demand for it.

Yep, would agree with that. I suppose with any job, the higher an individual goes the more detached from the "real world" they become (talking about match commanders etc). In the East the police are cool, they allow a bit of leeway when standing etc (or they did). They also had a laugh and chatted about stuff if there were bits in the game that were dull. The stewards looked brain dead. My mate also said that the pressure of the job, as in policing normally where they work, meant that policing football gave a bit of respite sometimes from running about daft at their respective stations. It's like you say they get told what to do and I suppose like many jobs if you don't carry that out you get your nuts chewed. Terracing would be fantastic now we live in a far more modern and secure footballing world. There will always be good, bad or indifferent policing. Just as there will be good/bad/indifferent plumbers, brickies, bank managers, doctors, MP's, etc etc etc. Good post though mate :agree:

13-09-2010, 02:30 PM
Unbelievable! It's that sort of **** that would have happilly taken a job as a guard in a Nazi death camp - "following orders" would be his excuse.

Do you honestly think there is any comparison?

13-09-2010, 08:04 PM
Has anyone had a response from Hibs yet? My email was opened at 1532 but no response.

13-09-2010, 08:20 PM

Difficult to tell if that was out of the pages of Viz or the Daily Mail....either way it's awfy funny.....

You were being funny though, eh?

Lmc2105
14-09-2010, 12:22 PM
http://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/Article.aspx/1916693?UserKey=

I got a call from this paper yesterday not sure how they got my number but i gave a response and it is good to see the paper taking a bit of interest on the matter and also looking for an explantion into the Police action on saturday

They were made aware of this thread by the Cally fans and asked for a responce

not sure why they picked me by hey

Just thought i would let you all read this :agree:

14-09-2010, 01:14 PM

I got a call from this paper yesterday not sure how they got my number but i gave a response and it is good to see the paper taking a bit of interest on the matter and also looking for an explantion into the Police action on saturday

Well done, I wonder how these actions sit with Neil Doncastor's initiative to get more fans into the SPL and make the experience better. Be interesting to hear his views on it.

14-09-2010, 01:20 PM
Interesting to read this thread.

I was at the Velodrome in Marseille on Sunday night. OM v Monaco. 50,000 attendance included about 50 Monaco supporters who were, admittedly, fenced in, but they received no hassle at all, were able to stand, sing, shout, wave flags etc etc.

Both ends at the Velodrome are populated by the official Marseille supporters clubs, all with their own variation of the Marseille colours, with their flags and they bounced for 90 minutes! They were on their feet throughout the match. Put the Hibees Bounce right in the shade. Awesome.

I never saw a policeman in the ground and I was able to buy a beer and take it back to my seat at half time.

Different world.

Thigh ar la
14-09-2010, 01:51 PM
Yeah I was at Marseille a couple of years back against Porto in the Champions League. As you say, it was a different world and almost like going back 10 years or more..
People singing outside the ground which rarely happens now and a great atmosphere in the ground even though they didnt play that well.
I think that this is an issue that really has to be confronted at some stage as it appears like the officialdom have well and truly got a grip on football big time! These people (police included) are paid for by us ultimatel and we should have a say in how they operate surely?

14-09-2010, 01:52 PM
Interesting to read this thread.

I was at the Velodrome in Marseille on Sunday night. OM v Monaco. 50,000 attendance included about 50 Monaco supporters who were, admittedly, fenced in, but they received no hassle at all, were able to stand, sing, shout, wave flags etc etc.

Both ends at the Velodrome are populated by the official Marseille supporters clubs, all with their own variation of the Marseille colours, with their flags and they bounced for 90 minutes! They were on their feet throughout the match. Put the Hibees Bounce right in the shade. Awesome.

I never saw a policeman in the ground and I was able to buy a beer and take it back to my seat at half time.

Different world.

Not a good place to go as an away fan though - the fences around the away section have holes of an adequate size to allow AA batteries to come flying through, and visiting fans are basically left vulnerable to attacks on the way to and from the ground with no protection whatsoever; got mates who have been to Marseille watching both Bolton and England.

14-09-2010, 04:07 PM
Still nothing from Hibs. I think its shocking they can't respond to supporters complaints

14-09-2010, 04:22 PM
No reply to my E-Mail yet either. That could be seen as a good thing, though, as it's possible the club are looking into this.

14-09-2010, 04:27 PM
Still nothing from Hibs. I think its shocking they can't respond to supporters complaints

I suspect they will have to think VERY carefully how they answer this given the fuss on here, the ICT forum and their local rag.

They will also have to consider their answer in how it will affect all the other discrepancies re OF getting away with standing / vile songs etc. as well as how they have treated their own support, not so much against ICT but at der hun. Just as well none of them were smoking :faf:

I’m glad I’m not writing it :greengrin

14-09-2010, 04:55 PM
Quote: Lothian and Borders police said that they issued one fixed penalty notice during the match, and that there was no arrest. A spokeswoman for the force said: “We believe that our police response was proportionate to the circumstances.”

There you go, that's alright then.
Just recite page 202 of the manual and you're off the hook. :3wise smi

14-09-2010, 07:25 PM
Yeah I was at Marseille a couple of years back against Porto in the Champions League. As you say, it was a different world and almost like going back 10 years or more..
People singing outside the ground which rarely happens now and a great atmosphere in the ground even though they didnt play that well.
I think that this is an issue that really has to be confronted at some stage as it appears like the officialdom have well and truly got a grip on football big time! These people (police included) are paid for by us ultimatel and we should have a say in how they operate surely?

Thing is this is exactly how Maggie Thatcher/establishment wanted it to be when the Taylor report was published. The report was used to sanitise football by making all seater stadia, whereby making it easier for crowds to be controlled and managed. By controlled and managed I mean in an Orwellian manner and not just in stopping disturbances. Look at how many threads appear about lack of atmosphere etc etc. All down IMO to all seaters and the control exerted over the crowds by police.
Also the fact that the singers/shouters have been spread all over the stadium means that you do actually feel a bit embarrassed sometimes when you are one or two out of a few hundred in your area singing. There will never be the same atmosphere generated in a seated stadium than one with terracing. And before anyone jumps in with stuff like AEK at ER, that was a one off and kind off proves the point due to the fact that we all remember it.

14-09-2010, 08:05 PM
Thing is this is exactly how Maggie Thatcher/establishment wanted it to be when the Taylor report was published. The report was used to sanitise football by making all seater stadia, whereby making it easier for crowds to be controlled and managed. By controlled and managed I mean in an Orwellian manner and not just in stopping disturbances. Look at how many threads appear about lack of atmosphere etc etc. All down IMO to all seaters and the control exerted over the crowds by police.
Also the fact that the singers/shouters have been spread all over the stadium means that you do actually feel a bit embarrassed sometimes when you are one or two out of a few hundred in your area singing. There will never be the same atmosphere generated in a seated stadium than one with terracing. And before anyone jumps in with stuff like AEK at ER, that was a one off and kind off proves the point due to the fact that we all remember it.

I'll back any argument that blames that cow thatcher:agree:

mcaitchi
14-09-2010, 08:36 PM

Yes, ole maggie and the " Social Cleansing " - altho it Has now passed up above the Miners / Working Class smoker and drinker Level !!

It now affects " Middle Class " - who cant afford to run the mortgage and the mazda sports car and the season ticket !! - never mind drink and smoke ???

or maybe its just in general - ticket bloody prices :grr: and boring atmospheres ??

14-09-2010, 09:00 PM
gotta say, after lookin at the CaleyJag photos in this forum, i cant see any trouble makers amongst their fans. Never known there to be any either at ER.

14-09-2010, 09:33 PM

Shoot her in the face and kick her body up and down the Royal Mile till it falls to bits.

Then get tough.

14-09-2010, 09:44 PM

"Dear Sir / Madam,

An excellent e-mail, I so hope you get a response of some kind, though sadly it's probably unlikely. I would only have added on a bit at the end to suggest that the boys in blue are a bit too selective when it comes to harrassing opposing fans. They were more than patient when a hundred or so Hearts fans were allowed to stay after a derby game at ER and basically sing and throw gestures for at least 20 minutes. Not to mention the cost of fumigating that corner of the stand.

14-09-2010, 09:49 PM
The caley fans were easy targets for the police, they wouldnt dare do that at a Cat A game against the the old firm or Hearts, the way games are policed are ruining matchdays for folk - there is only 1 result when that happens, less fans at the games

mcaitchi
14-09-2010, 09:56 PM
Let`s have another poll - no i dont ask for polls much !! lol :yawn:

How Heavy Handed did Everyone think the Stewarding / Police Were ??

1 - 5 ratio ?? - maybe ??

Maybe these forums could invite supporter teams to vote on issues like this and other things - and only registered club database fans / season ticket holder can vote ??

If we all KNEW it was fans on the hibernian database - like fans that have bought tickets for the home games on a few occasions etc - voting on pies and bovril and the state of the bogs with all them smokers etc = maybe then they would listen !!

just an idea to weed out all the jambos etc on the smoking polls and the likes !!!!!

14-09-2010, 10:17 PM

President :greengrin

That gets me everytime :thumbsup:

15-09-2010, 12:34 PM
Any replies yet?

15-09-2010, 06:24 PM
Any replies yet?

I sent an email off about this very subject months ago. I got an automated reply warning me not to let anyone see it,:bitchy: telling me they had received it. Then nothing. :bitchy:

The club know they are in the wrong, everyone should be treated the same but are not. They even contributed to bringing huns into our end, yet will ban anyone if they are found doing the same. :grr:

Joe Baker II
16-09-2010, 03:53 PM
It was different in the East. The police were quite apologetic about making folk sit down, and kept stressing it was Hibs' directives.

Interesting slant here for those who keep trying to defend Petrie by saying Hibs are dictated to by police re crowd control etc.

And more reason why I no longer attend ER sadly.

16-09-2010, 06:32 PM
Dear Hibs

This is my 49th letter complaining about the stewarding at Easter Road. So far you have not gotten back to me. Please answer soon as I am running out of stamps.

Des. P. Rate

19-09-2010, 10:45 PM
Has anyone had a reply yet?

John_the_angus_hibby
20-09-2010, 11:48 AM

No. Pretty poor performance from Hibs actually.:rolleyes:

Joe Baker II
20-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Issue is that plenty of Hibs fans keep saying they will not go to Parkhead (and other grounds but that is the one most frequently cited) because of the police and stewards - albeit in my experience it is not the ground where I have experienced most problems. But it was a concern at the time that Hibs Board ignored the complaints of supporters about issues that did arise.

But interesting how many will not go to ER now the same type of issues are arising at Hibs with police/stewards harassing easy targets with the apparent support of the Hibs Board and officials.

20-09-2010, 05:34 PM
Issue is that plenty of Hibs fans keep saying they will not go to Parkhead (and other grounds but that is the one most frequently cited) because of the police and stewards - albeit in my experience it is not the ground where I have experienced most problems. But it was a concern at the time that Hibs Board ignored the complaints of supporters about issues that did arise.

Come back to us when you've experienced sitting in the Hibs end there:greengrin:offski:

20-09-2010, 06:54 PM
This thread makes me angry and proud at the same time, angry at the Police and stewards (and at Hibs for not responding) but proud of all the Hibs fans who have taken a stance and written in.
Well done chaps.

Joe Baker II
22-09-2010, 02:34 PM
Come back to us when you've experienced sitting in the Hibs end there:greengrin:offski:

I have seen unsatisfactory stewarding at Parkhead but point was I have seen much worse at other grounds. Could expand but do not want to divert from this thread which should be about the appalling behaviour of Hibernian FC/police/stewards. As Joe Breezy says well done to those Hibs fans who have written in.

22-09-2010, 02:46 PM

22-09-2010, 03:01 PM
[QUOTE=Joe Baker II;2578155

And more reason why I no longer attend ER sadly.[/QUOTE]

And sadly for me as well, when the FF was built I reluctantly bought a season for the upper tier and it turned out to be the biggest mistake and waste of money ever, I had three (count em!) older women sitting behind me who hummed and hawed every time I tried to support my team or make a point, TBH my choice of language was colourful to say the least but there was defo no "C" word.

My first game was against the arabs and Bowman the yam bassa nearly crippled wee crunchie and I went mental :grr:, 60 seconds later some knobend steward comes over and tells me to sit down and stop shouting...EH? I said, aye right pal now eff off!, the next thing is pc plod with the braid hat on tells me anymore and I was out and they would be "watching me". It turns out these 3 fuds behind me had complained :bitchy:

Next home game against the huns was just as bad and was told right away to "sit on yer erse" or I would be out the door :bitchy: to which I turned round in a fit of rage and asked the 3 amigos if they're hoose was clean :cool2:.

Following week I received a letter telling me if I was involved in any more abuse I would be barred from ER for the remainder of the season with no chance of a refund :fuming: so I never went back.

It's obvious that little has changed at ER and TBH I've always thought that fellow Hibbies are treated like small children since these stands have been built, I was very tempted to go back to the new east but in hindsight I think I made the right decision not to go back.....oh dear

Joe Baker II
23-09-2010, 11:22 AM
And sadly for me as well, when the FF was built I reluctantly bought a season for the upper tier and it turned out to be the biggest mistake and waste of money ever, I had three (count em!) older women sitting behind me who hummed and hawed every time I tried to support my team or make a point, TBH my choice of language was colourful to say the least but there was defo no "C" word.

My first game was against the arabs and Bowman the yam bassa nearly crippled wee crunchie and I went mental :grr:, 60 seconds later some knobend steward comes over and tells me to sit down and stop shouting...EH? I said, aye right pal now eff off!, the next thing is pc plod with the braid hat on tells me anymore and I was out and they would be "watching me". It turns out these 3 fuds behind me had complained :bitchy:

Next home game against the huns was just as bad and was told right away to "sit on yer erse" or I would be out the door :bitchy: to which I turned round in a fit of rage and asked the 3 amigos if they're hoose was clean :cool2:.

Following week I received a letter telling me if I was involved in any more abuse I would be barred from ER for the remainder of the season with no chance of a refund :fuming: so I never went back.

It's obvious that little has changed at ER and TBH I've always thought that fellow Hibbies are treated like small children since these stands have been built, I was very tempted to go back to the new east but in hindsight I think I made the right decision not to go back.....oh dear

I agree with you but incidents you are talking about sound mid 1990s - would add caveat that you never got this hassle in the East Stand in the last 15 years which was one of the better places to watch football in Scotland for most of that period. Although I am reluctant to give Hibs any credit for this as developments since March this year have confirmed many peoples suspicion that this came about more by accident than design of the Hibs Board. And on almost every other issue one got impression that Board always treated supporters with contempt, I tolerated to an extent because East Stand was always good to go to but no longer being so tolerant.

To be honest seems people now getting harassment for much less than what you describe yourself doing in FF stand in 1990s.

23-09-2010, 02:31 PM
Still nothing from Hibs. I will be emailing again. I would have thought at the very least a reply in the present circumstances

23-09-2010, 02:50 PM
Still nothing from Hibs. I will be emailing again. I would have thought at the very least a reply in the present circumstances

Phone them, the numbers are on the official site

24-09-2010, 02:54 PM
Have emailed again. The club are choosing to blank supporter because it suits.

Hibs are fastly becoming as much a joke of it as they are on it.

Ticket office= Nish-------- sometimes OK but generally poor
Catering= Hogg---- hot or cold always leaves you wanting more
Stewards= De Graff---lack basic ability to do their job
Boards obsession with profit over the team = Yogi--- try hard but miss the point--WINNING GAMES

24-09-2010, 03:03 PM

Hibs are fastly becoming as much a joke of it as they are on it.

Ticket office= Nish-------- sometimes OK but generally poor
Catering= Hogg---- hot or cold always leaves you wanting more
Stewards= De Graff---lack basic ability to do their job
Boards obsession with profit over the team = Yogi--- try hard but miss the point--WINNING GAMES

At least the new toilets in the East are not full of puddles of Jarkko Wiss like they used to be :greengrin

24-09-2010, 03:04 PM

Me neither.

I'm sure they won't comment on this now because they know they can't win, but don't care anyway.

24-09-2010, 03:09 PM
Me neither.

I'm sure they won't comment on this now because they know they can't win, but don't care anyway.

It is terrible way to treat their customers. The club needs to get its act together big time. The home support is begining to drop and away fans wont come because of the stewarding. Sad times at Hibs just now.

24-09-2010, 03:12 PM
It is terrible way to treat their customers. The club needs to get its act together big time. The home support is begining to drop and away fans wont come because of the stewarding. Sad times at Hibs just now.

To be fair to Hibs, they may be (I hope) waiting on a response from L&B and whoever the security/stewarding firm is (Rock Steady ??) so they can answer your e-mails in full rather than piecemeal fashion. Did they at least acknowledge you had sent the e-mail saying they would get back to you mate ?

hibbybrian
24-09-2010, 03:15 PM

Me neither.

Maybe you should PM the guy who posts the Evening News fans questions and get him to make the next question about Hibs responding to the fans emails :greengrin

24-09-2010, 03:16 PM
To be fair to Hibs, they may be (I hope) waiting on a response from L&B and whoever the security/stewarding firm is (Rock Steady ??) so they can answer your e-mails in full rather than piecemeal fashion. Did they at least acknowledge you had sent the e-mail saying they would get back to you mate ?

nothing at all. But my email was opened at 1532 on the 14.09.10

24-09-2010, 03:29 PM
nothing at all. But my email was opened at 1532 on the 14.09.10

That is indeed very poor if they haven't even acknowledged it. They are usually spot on in getting back to you with at the very least a "we'll get back to you" response. Keep the pressure on :agree:

24-09-2010, 03:32 PM
That is indeed very poor if they haven't even acknowledged it. They are usually spot on in getting back to you with at the very least a "we'll get back to you" response. Keep the pressure on :agree:

Its not about pressure it just decent business protocol to listen and act on customers complaints. But It would help if more fans complain.

24-09-2010, 04:37 PM
St. Mirren to allow singing fans to stand.

http://www.saintmirren.tv/articles/20100921/saints-singing-section_2233570_2161218

24-09-2010, 04:38 PM

I doubt it, i sent an email to them on the 13th of March. Not heard a peep.

24-09-2010, 04:42 PM

http://www.saintmirren.tv/articles/20100921/saints-singing-section_2233570_2161218Well spotted ..who thinks this is gonna open a whole new can o worms ..?...:agree:

24-09-2010, 04:43 PM

http://www.saintmirren.tv/articles/20100921/saints-singing-section_2233570_2161218

Brilliant, so Celtic's excuse for years about losing their safety certificate is a load of pish and the same goes for the same lame excuse that is used by hibs

24-09-2010, 04:44 PM
Short of telling us to off, how much clearer can the club make it they don't give a stuff? Get over it, or don't go back is the message I am getting.

24-09-2010, 04:44 PM
Received a call from Hibs (don't want to name names) in the last 10 minutes. Apologised for not replying to my earlier email. They will respond in full on Monday. :thumbsup:

K.Marx
24-09-2010, 04:49 PM

hopefully the rest of the SPL will follow suit :top marks

24-09-2010, 05:53 PM
I doubt it, i sent an email to them on the 13th of March. Not heard a peep.

Are you psychic? How did you know that this was going to happen 6 months in advance?!

24-09-2010, 05:59 PM
Are you psychic? How did you know that this was going to happen 6 months in advance?!

27-09-2010, 03:39 PM
Here is the response I got from Fife Hyland. It does not marry up to what I saw but at least he took time to respond------

Thanks for your email and patience. As per my voicemail I had not received your original email so apologies for the delay in response. Also, I have responded to all emails regarding the ICT game so if you do know of anyone else awaiting a response pls tell them to email me directly.

I am also sorry you did not have a good experience at the ICT game.

By way of explanation I discussed the issues you raised with the Stadium Security team and the Police and outline the same below.

While the vast majority of Inverness CT Supporters were not a problem, a small group was intent in being un-cooperative throughout the match. The group who congregated in front of the Control Room were in good humour until kick-off when they were asked to take their seats as they were standing in front of the Control Room windows blocking the view of the Stadium.

Regrettably, this group appeared to be focused on confrontation and every time stewards withdrew they stood up again, again blocking the view from the Control Room. Because of this the Police and Stewards had no alternative to stay present on the Seating Deck next to the Inverness Supporters as the view from the Control Room must be kept clear. As you will have seen, there was plenty of unallocated seating available in the lower deck of the South Stand available for supporters to use.

Prior to the first person being asked to move he was approached 3 times to co-operate but refused. This led him being asked to leave which he did without protest. Unfortunately, others saw fit to continue confronting the Stewards and refusing to co-operate. Again at least 3 warnings were issued before anybody was asked to leave.

In the second half an "under age" youth was found to be under the influence of alcohol and was removed and a family member contacted. A further person was removed for repeated making foul gestures and one further person whose actions resulted in an Anti-Social Behaviour Order Fixed Penalty being issued by the Police.

It is a shame that these issues have distracted from what was an exciting game. I can assure you the stewarding is geared to ensure the safety and security of all supporters being able to watch the game safely. If you have any specific issues with stewards in the future, please take their number and let me know and I can address with them directly.

As to the PA system - the Club will invest in a new entertainment system as and when financially viable. It will cost well over six figures to install a new system and although required, there are more pressing priorities at present. To be fair, the PA was operating at a minimal volume at the ICT game and this was addressed at the Hamilton game.

Feedback like yours is welcome as it helps us address perceptions and take action to improve the experience of watching Hibernian, so thanks again for writing in.

Regards

Fife

Fife Hyland | Commercial & Communications Director

The Hibernian Football Club Limited

Easter Road Stadium, 12 Albion Place, Edinburgh EH7 5QG

Phone +44 (0) 131 661 2159

Fax +44 (0) 131 659 6488

27-09-2010, 03:48 PM
Here is the response I got from Fife Hyland. It does not marry up to what I saw but at least he took time to respond------

Thanks for your email and patience. As per my voicemail I had not received your original email so apologies for the delay in response. Also, I have responded to all emails regarding the ICT game so if you do know of anyone else awaiting a response pls tell them to email me directly.

By way of explanation I discussed the issues you raised with the Stadium Security team and the Police and outline the same below.

While the vast majority of Inverness CT Supporters were not a problem, a small group was intent in being un-cooperative throughout the match. The group who congregated in front of the Control Room were in good humour until kick-off when they were asked to take their seats as they were standing in front of the Control Room windows blocking the view of the Stadium.

Regrettably, this group appeared to be focused on confrontation and every time stewards withdrew they stood up again, again blocking the view from the Control Room. Because of this the Police and Stewards had no alternative to stay present on the Seating Deck next to the Inverness Supporters as the view from the Control Room must be kept clear. As you will have seen, there was plenty of unallocated seating available in the lower deck of the South Stand available for supporters to use.

Prior to the first person being asked to move he was approached 3 times to co-operate but refused. This led him being asked to leave which he did without protest. Unfortunately, others saw fit to continue confronting the Stewards and refusing to co-operate. Again at least 3 warnings were issued before anybody was asked to leave.

In the second half an "under age" youth was found to be under the influence of alcohol and was removed and a family member contacted. A further person was removed for repeated making foul gestures and one further person whose actions resulted in an Anti-Social Behaviour Order Fixed Penalty being issued by the Police.

It is a shame that these issues have distracted from what was an exciting game. I can assure you the stewarding is geared to ensure the safety and security of all supporters being able to watch the game safely. If you have any specific issues with stewards in the future, please take their number and let me know and I can address with them directly.

As to the PA system - the Club will invest in a new entertainment system as and when financially viable. It will cost well over six figures to install a new system and although required, there are more pressing priorities at present. To be fair, the PA was operating at a minimal volume at the ICT game and this was addressed at the Hamilton game.

Feedback like yours is welcome as it helps us address perceptions and take action to improve the experience of watching Hibernian, so thanks again for writing in.

Regards

Fife

Fife Hyland | Commercial & Communications Director

The Hibernian Football Club Limited

Easter Road Stadium, 12 Albion Place, Edinburgh EH7 5QG

Phone +44 (0) 131 661 2159

Fax +44 (0) 131 659 6488

While its good to get a response, and his reasons seem valid. The club took the easy way out in this game. When they do the same when we play the bigots or Hearts, maybe i will take them serious. Until such times they imho are looking for problems that are not there.

27-09-2010, 03:49 PM
Seems like a pretty fair response from Hibs on this issue.

Frogga
27-09-2010, 03:55 PM
The guy has my respect for responding to people personally like this and taking the time to act on their suggestions/complaints. We might not always agree with him but I doubt there are many other board members in football who would commit so much time and effort to individual fans.

27-09-2010, 05:30 PM
I agree the I'm impressed that Fife Hyland took the time to call then follow it up in email. Total respect for him on that front. However the security team are kidding no one we all seen what went on. Do you think this no nonsense approach will continue with other clubs?

27-09-2010, 05:32 PM
I agree the I'm impressed that Fife Hyland took the time to call then follow it up in email. Total respect for him on that front. However the security team are kidding no one we all seen what went on. Do you think this no nonsense approach will continue with other clubs?

In a word - no.

27-09-2010, 05:55 PM
Firstly I'll echo what others have said, it's good that Fife has taken the time to reply to everyone who's contacted the club (even though that's his job :wink:). Hibs have undoubtedly made great strides forward in this over the last few years.

Having said that, it does sound like it's come about directly because some police in the control room had to stand up to see out of the window. I genuinely can't see how it's that big an issue, because it must happen to them at least six out of the nineteen home games we have when the South Stand is full of OF or Hertz fans. If it was that big an issue then surely they would (a) enforce the sitting down rule at every game or (b) move the control room elsewhere so that they could see out of the window.

It sounds like the Police and/or the club are trying to backtrack and justify what was a very over the top reaction to a situation that should have been left alone.

BTW, if the young lad was indeed under the influence of alcohol, then why did the Police and stewards not do their job in the first place and refuse him entry under the stadium rules that they seem so keen everyone follows? :cool2:

27-09-2010, 06:25 PM
Maybe change the title to

ICT Fans Harassment of Police In South Stand :faf:

27-09-2010, 06:30 PM
The response from Fife is clearly a load of rubbish - he makes reference to the game being exciting!!

Jesting aside fair play to him for taking the time to investigate and respond.

27-09-2010, 09:25 PM
Having said that, it does sound like it's come about directly because some police in the control room had to stand up to see out of the window. I genuinely can't see how it's that big an issue, because it must happen to them at least six out of the nineteen home games we have when the South Stand is full of OF or Hertz fans. If it was that big an issue then surely they would (a) enforce the sitting down rule at every game or (b) move the control room elsewhere so that they could see out of the window.

Why can they not just tape off the first few rows of seats right in front of the window? What a load of pish. The window's elevated and it would take a load of 7 or 8 foot tall chaps to block anyone's view from there.

27-09-2010, 09:37 PM
Think it`s only fair to wait till the visit of Hearts and a full (maybe..) stand and see if fans are asked to sit and not block the police room view.

Does seem a valid explanation, but will appear hollow should fans of other clubs be permitted to stand in that area of the ground.

Still looked completely over the top though, and for the reasons given, the police/stewards presence in relation to the seriousness of the "problem" was overly robust.

27-09-2010, 11:23 PM
If it's such a big deal that fans of teams like Inverness are blocking the view then why not just open the upper tier of the South stand for them instead of the lower?

28-09-2010, 09:35 AM
If it's such a big deal that fans of teams like Inverness are blocking the view then why not just open the upper tier of the South stand for them instead of the lower?

Its an excuse, they ignore it at least 6-8 times a season.

28-09-2010, 09:38 AM
did hibs allocate these seats to the fans?

normally the away support sit at the west side of the south stand if they are not going to fill it??

28-09-2010, 11:08 AM
I echo the sentiments of others in this, that at least Fyfe Hyland has replied and given the clubs view. It sounds like the guy that was chucked out was taking the P*ss, if he was warned three times first.

However, let's just see if they continue this same high-handed behaviour for our friends from the west. You've set the standard, now live up to it.

Over to you Hibs.

28-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Why can they not just tape off the first few rows of seats right in front of the window? What a load of pish. The window's elevated and it would take a load of 7 or 8 foot tall chaps to block anyone's view from there.

Either tape it off, or remove the seats. My seat in the FF lower (when I had a season ticket was right beside a window, and it was the last seat, with no seats in front of the window. Simples!!

Joe Baker II
29-09-2010, 03:13 PM
Either tape it off, or remove the seats. My seat in the FF lower (when I had a season ticket was right beside a window, and it was the last seat, with no seats in front of the window. Simples!!

Could they really not have asked fans to move from in front of control room - cannot really complain about fans being unco-operative if they cannot show some common sense themselves (if stewards did ask them to move is not mentioned in FH's comments).

Btw know when OF/Hearts played in past they have been more fussy about standing in fromt of control room than elsewhere, not commenting on rights or wrongs on this but not just smaller supported clubs fans affected.

Joe Baker II
29-09-2010, 03:15 PM
Brilliant, so Celtic's excuse for years about losing their safety certificate is a load of pish and the same goes for the same lame excuse that is used by hibs

Good to see some common sense from St Mirren albeit with some caveats, one ground I will actually make effort to attend when Hibs play this season.

blairwallace
29-09-2010, 04:46 PM

Regards

Fife

sounds more like celtic or rangers :grr::bye:

29-09-2010, 04:59 PM

Funny, they made a big deal at St Mirren about getting everyone at the back row and the 'singing section' which had gathered to sit down a few weeks ago. They were never away from us.

Joe Baker II
30-09-2010, 10:30 AM
Funny, they made a big deal at St Mirren about getting everyone at the back row and the 'singing section' which had gathered to sit down a few weeks ago. They were never away from us.

Yes there were a few caveats in St Mirren's statement, will maybe hold off
giving them my money!