View Full Version : Forgotten Hibs Players

Skanko79
06-09-2010, 12:11 PM
Was havin a wee blether with my mate the other day about ex hibs players that really werent that good/came from nowhere/went nowhere. there were a few in the first division season of 98/99.

names we mentioned were Peter Guggi??? remember him?? and big Alex Marinkov.

who has been your fave player to have came fi nowhere?

wonder where these guys are now?

06-09-2010, 12:17 PM
Can't remember any.

Skanko79
06-09-2010, 12:19 PM
Can't remember any.

thats hilarious mate. bet your gutted the festivals finished and your out of a job with that quick witted humour.

06-09-2010, 12:26 PM
that's hilarious mate. Bet you're gutted the festival's finished and you're out of a job with that quick witted humour.

Fixed that for you, with my quick witted humour.

06-09-2010, 12:29 PM
Kevin McDonald??????????

Thorsten Schmugge?

Was havin a wee blether with my mate the other day about ex hibs players that really werent that good/came from nowhere/went nowhere. there were a few in the first division season of 98/99.

Both retired.

06-09-2010, 12:31 PM
Fabrice Henry and Lillian Martin.

Skanko79
Fixed that for you, with my quick witted humour.

An expert in grammar as well as humour. Bet that's got you far in life........

Kan't Komplane.

Skanko79
Both retired.

where did marinkov come from? i know he was french but was it the english lower leagues or a club in france?

Skanko79
06-09-2010, 12:32 PM
Kan't Komplane.

kool. :wink:

06-09-2010, 12:34 PM
where did marinkov come from? i know he was french but was it the english lower leagues or a club in france?

Scarborough IIRC.

06-09-2010, 12:34 PM
Kan't Komplane.

Where did we sign him from :wink:

06-09-2010, 12:36 PM
Jules Rippa.

06-09-2010, 12:37 PM
Where did we sign him from :wink:

Kardiff Kity :wink:

06-09-2010, 12:48 PM
(Can't quote on my phone!) In reply to blackpoolhibs- kevin mcdonald aka geordie is now at alloa, he moved there in june after 3 years at airdrie

06-09-2010, 12:49 PM
(Can't quote on my phone!) In reply to blackpoolhibs- kevin mcdonald aka geordie is now at alloa, he moved there in june after 3 years at airdrie

Thanks. :top marks

Twa Cairpets
06-09-2010, 12:51 PM
Kevin Nicol
Lillian Martin
Graeme Donald

06-09-2010, 12:52 PM
Jordi Cruyff?

Godsahibby
06-09-2010, 12:55 PM
Who was the player we had on trial in the mid 90's, played 1 game for us, a derby at Tiny. I'm sure he was from Finland?

06-09-2010, 12:57 PM
The (Best) Forgotten XI

Mike Franks

Callum Milne
Joe McLaughlin
Graeme Love
Jamie McQuilken

Lee Bailey
Davie Farrell
David Elliot
Brian Grant

Mark McGraw
Allan Smart

06-09-2010, 12:58 PM
Who was the player we had on trial in the mid 90's, played 1 game for us, a derby at Tiny. I'm sure he was from Finland?

See HibbyAndy's post (#15)

06-09-2010, 01:01 PM
Jules Rippa.

Seem to recall he had his own website. Only Jocky Scott would play a trialist in an Edinburgh Derby :greengrin

Perspective
06-09-2010, 01:34 PM
French 'wonderkid' Hakim Sar-Temsoury.

Remember him posing in the new top alongside Sauzee and that he was sent off in the reserves for headbutting a Rangers player (think they showed it on HibsTV).

Anyone able to fill in the gaps?

06-09-2010, 01:42 PM
Humphrey Rudge. Where did he go after his MOM in the derby?

06-09-2010, 01:47 PM
Lyndow Andrews

james62
06-09-2010, 01:51 PM
Klaus Dietrich

supershotmo
06-09-2010, 02:02 PM
Anthony Stokes :bye:

06-09-2010, 02:05 PM
Marc libbra

The Mook
06-09-2010, 02:07 PM

Great name. Bring back The Humph

Banff
06-09-2010, 02:08 PM
Barry Lavety!!! Although he's no really forgotten, he has his own appreciation society!!!

06-09-2010, 02:08 PM
Earl Jean

If trialists are allowed then Ronan Larrieu and Gus Uhlenbeek

06-09-2010, 02:17 PM
Paul Lovering - a surname and a half! :thumbsup:

scott_hfc1875
06-09-2010, 02:25 PM

now a scout for sunderland or another prem team

06-09-2010, 02:36 PM

JOE WARD - 1979 - shudder at the memory £80,000 IIRC from Aston Villa (a lot at the time) worth o pish - never scored.

Carrick Hibs
06-09-2010, 02:45 PM
Oumar Konde, Abdel Zarabi, Janos Matyus, Derek Anderson

all ****ing sh*te!

Twa Cairpets
06-09-2010, 02:47 PM
Seem to recall he had his own website. Only Jocky Scott would play a trialist in an Edinburgh Derby :greengrin

Thats cos big Juha Riipa wis teckle. Wi' a side order ae braw.

06-09-2010, 03:11 PM

all ****ing sh*te!

Matyus was decent, we were on here looking for him to get an extended deal I remember.

A Hungarian International at the time as well I seem to recall.

I'll throw Tom Smith, Derek Collins and Barry Prenderville in for consideration from the modern era.

06-09-2010, 03:14 PM

i thought lovering was class..... never really understood why we got rid so quickly.

the boy had some engine on him

RoslinInstHibby
06-09-2010, 03:16 PM
i thought lovering was class..... never really understood why we got rid so quickly.

the boy had some engine on him

Martin McIntosh

Ray Wilkins :cool2:

Kyle A
Lyndon Andrews

Should stay forgotten really

06-09-2010, 03:18 PM
Lyndon Andrews

I'll see your Lyndon Andrews and raise you a Justin Skinner and a Paul Holsgrove.

06-09-2010, 03:20 PM
paul tosh
lee power
michael renwick

The tank Hurtardo

06-09-2010, 03:20 PM
Matyus was decent, we were on here looking for him to get an extended deal I remember.

A Hungarian International at the time as well I seem to recall.

I'll throw Tom Smith, Derek Collins and Barry Prenderville in for consideration from the modern era.

Was Smith not just establishing himself as a decent player in the McLeish 6-2 team when he was forced to retire due to injury?

06-09-2010, 03:21 PM
I'll see your Lyndon Andrews and raise you a Justin Skinner and a Paul Holsgrove.

I'll see your Skinner and Holsgrove and raise you Zarabi and Marty Mcfly.

ski1875
06-09-2010, 03:21 PM
pornstar lehmen

Kyle A
06-09-2010, 03:22 PM

Thats like 2 aces in the whole there, I fold

06-09-2010, 03:24 PM
I'll see your Skinner and Holsgrove and raise you Zarabi and Marty Mcfly.

I'll call. I've got a Fabrice Henry and an Earl Jean.

06-09-2010, 03:24 PM

He now works for spud u like, juggling hot potatoes.

06-09-2010, 03:28 PM
jamie mcquilken

derek collins

:bitchy:

06-09-2010, 03:29 PM
I'll call. I've got a Fabrice Henry and an Earl Jean.

Ave goat Zambernardi and Yantorno :cool2:

06-09-2010, 03:30 PM
Gary Penderville RB if IIRC.

Lillian Martin

the keeper Franks.

O and there will be many many more

David Elliott.

Joe McLaughlin

tom smith
derek collins

06-09-2010, 03:31 PM

all ****ing sh*te!

Disagree there. Matyus was a quality player imo.

06-09-2010, 03:32 PM
Ave goat Zambernardi and Yantorno :cool2:

From up my sleeve I produce a Jason Gardiner and a Kevin McKee.

*Gathers in the chips*

06-09-2010, 03:33 PM

Lillian Martin

the keeper Franks.

O and there will be many many more

David Elliott.

Joe McLaughlin

tom smith
derek collins

It was Barry, Not the worst player ive seen at ER, Ill throw in Hakim Sar :cool2:

06-09-2010, 03:34 PM

I always remember that screamer he scored. :greengrin

06-09-2010, 03:34 PM
From up my sleeve I produce a Jason Gardiner and a Kevin McKee.

*Gathers in the chips*

Cheeky :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

06-09-2010, 03:35 PM
It was Barry, Not the worst player ive seen at ER, Ill throw in Hakim Sar :cool2:

Did he not like the 5 finger discount in shops or was that someone else??? sure it was him though.

06-09-2010, 03:35 PM
Lyndon Andrews

Played a key role in the 6-2 game though after Matty Jack went off injured and he had another great derby at Tynecastle where Latapy ripped them apart and did everything bar score that day.

06-09-2010, 03:37 PM
Played a key role in the 6-2 game though after Matty Jack went off injured and he had another great derby at Tynecastle where Latapy ripped them apart and did everything bar score that day.

Niemi Petric and Simpson made ther debuts that night for the pinksters as the Hibees ripped them an utter new hole.

Latapy pished all over them that night.

Violater
06-09-2010, 03:39 PM
Paco Luna

06-09-2010, 03:46 PM
Willie Temperley & Stevie Brown.

Stuart Turnbull & Willie Murray.

Chuckie
06-09-2010, 03:48 PM
Derek Townsley - Free kick specialist.

06-09-2010, 03:50 PM
Peter Welsh - The Ultimate Sitting Midfielder.

Chuckie
06-09-2010, 03:50 PM
Toni Rougier

06-09-2010, 03:53 PM
Toni Rougier

A liked big Roogy :agree:

Ill raise you HKT :cool2:

06-09-2010, 03:58 PM
scott bannerman:bitchy:

06-09-2010, 03:59 PM
Scott Bannerman

06-09-2010, 04:01 PM
Scott Bannerman.

06-09-2010, 04:01 PM
scott bannerman:bitchy:
Beat me.

So what about Greg Miller

06-09-2010, 04:05 PM
Beat me.

So what about Greg Miller

What about Graeme Miller.

06-09-2010, 04:06 PM
What about Graeme Miller.
Both Pish. :thumbsup:

06-09-2010, 04:08 PM
Both Pish. :thumbsup:

You kin say that again :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Davie Fellinger :dunno:

06-09-2010, 04:08 PM
Willie Temperley & Stevie Brown.

Stuart Turnbull & Willie Murray.

I'm sure i saw him score the winner at Parkheid once or am a hallucinatin' again?

06-09-2010, 04:09 PM
I'm sure i saw him score the winner at Parkheid once or am a hallucinatin' again?

That was Gareth Evans in a 3-2 win :agree:

06-09-2010, 04:11 PM
That was Gareth Evans in a 3-2 win :agree:

Nah definitely WT in 1-0 win 1978 or 1979 mibby. But then again i've been meltin plastic pegs and the fumes like ye ken...:greengrin

06-09-2010, 04:13 PM
Billy Findlay

06-09-2010, 04:16 PM
Nah definitely WT in 1-0 win 1978 or 1979 mibby. But then again i've been meltin plastic pegs and the fumes like ye ken...:greengrin

Youve probably dreamt that 1-0 win at Darkheid :greengrin

06-09-2010, 04:17 PM
Ave goat yin.....................................

Graham Love :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Now he was fe cking pish :greengrin

Hanny
06-09-2010, 04:25 PM
Alan Reid and Allan Dempsie ring vague bells...

Aside from the dross previously noted two forgotten names I now recall are Mark Dempsie and Jonathan Baillie both had to retire young due to injury IIRC.

Did Baillie not mark Larrson out the game when we beat Celtic in the league cup at ER?

06-09-2010, 04:32 PM
Alan Reid and Allan Dempsie ring vague bells...

Aside from the dross previously noted two forgotten names I now recall are Mark Dempsie and Jonathan Baillie both had to retire young due to injury IIRC.

Did Baillie not mark Larrson out the game when we beat Celtic in the league cup at ER?

Was outstanding that night :agree:

Gregor
06-09-2010, 05:00 PM

Prenderville as well, not Penderville. Joined us on loan from Cov (I think suggested by Strachan who was manager for City at the time) for a bit. I mind his goal too - a scorcher!

http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=6456

capi
06-09-2010, 05:24 PM

you're right. 16th September 1978.:agree:

capi
06-09-2010, 05:26 PM
James K Brown

06-09-2010, 05:27 PM
James K Brown

Wot a **** tube he was! :bitchy:

06-09-2010, 05:28 PM
Billy Findlay

Another one of mogadon Millers great singings, he wiz murder!

06-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Paco Luna

Loved the Paco felly like, had style, grace and pace, how can anyone forget him against AEK

capi
06-09-2010, 05:31 PM
Duncan Lambie.

This thread makes me realise I've seen some dross in a Hibs shirt

06-09-2010, 05:32 PM
Loved the Paco felly like, had style, grace and pace, how can anyone forget him against AEK
Especially him missing that header. :boo hoo:

06-09-2010, 05:34 PM
Another one of mogadon Millers great singings, he wiz murder!

Along with Davie Farrell - 2 F words in one team. :grr:

06-09-2010, 05:36 PM
Lindsay Muir
Derek Rodeir
Gary Murray
John Brogan
Willie Murray
Bobby Flavell
Bobby Torrance
Stuart Turnbull
Dave Fellinger
Brian Majoribanks (sp)....one for the auld yins I think

Mair tae follae

06-09-2010, 05:36 PM
Along with Davie Farrell - 2 F words in one team. :grr:
Add David Fellinger and that makes 3

06-09-2010, 05:38 PM
Brian something. Scored a derby goal. Did a lot of "unseen work" so maybe he was meant to be forgotten. An undercover midfielder, if you will.

Framie
06-09-2010, 05:44 PM
stuart mcafferty :notworthy:

Framie
06-09-2010, 05:45 PM
Brian something. Scored a derby goal. Did a lot of "unseen work" so maybe he was meant to be forgotten. An undercover midfielder, if you will.

brian grant ex aberdeen mibbe?

06-09-2010, 05:46 PM

Think he's being a bite wide :greengrin

Im guessing its Brian Hamilton, But to my knowledge never scored in a Derby :cool2:

howdenthehibby
06-09-2010, 05:47 PM
Paul Tosh

06-09-2010, 05:48 PM
Andy Dow

06-09-2010, 05:48 PM
James K Brown

The worst player ever bar none!

Paul Hilland
Stevie Raynes
Bobby Torrance
Gerry O'Brien
Terry Wilson
Ian Hendry
Bobby Robertson
Ian Black
Lawrie Tierney

06-09-2010, 05:50 PM
Lindsay Muir
Bobby Flavell

Looked very decent in his debut....for about 15 minutes :wink:

Framie
06-09-2010, 05:53 PM
Think he's being a bite wide :greengrin

Im guessing its Brian Hamilton, But to my knowledge never scored in a Derby :cool2:

naw no wide promise:greengrin petric and niemi made their debuts for hearts in 1999 tho no in the 6 - 2 game .

Brian Grant did alot of unseen work tho as for brian hamilton he missed a pen against hearts thats for sure its been a long time.

06-09-2010, 05:54 PM

See? Brian was working in such deep cover while tending to our midfield "engine room" nobody can even remember him from the clues I've given.

I've won this thread, what do I get?

Framie
06-09-2010, 05:57 PM
See? Brian was working in such deep cover while tending to our midfield "engine room" nobody can even remember him from the clues I've given.

I've won this thread, what do I get?

a night of unseen fun with brian:cool2:

06-09-2010, 05:57 PM
wherever did agathe and zitelli end up?

06-09-2010, 05:58 PM
a night of unseen fun with brian:cool2:

I'm sure it'll be a night to remember.

Framie
06-09-2010, 06:01 PM

I'm sure it'll be a night to remember.

who was it then brian grant or hamilton or all three:party:

06-09-2010, 06:02 PM
who was it then brian grant or hamilton or all three:party:

None of the above. If you've all forgotten Brian, then I've won.

06-09-2010, 06:02 PM
naw no wide promise:greengrin petric and niemi made their debuts for hearts in 1999 tho no in the 6 - 2 game .

Brian Grant did alot of unseen work tho as for brian hamilton he missed a pen against hearts thats for sure its been a long time.

Aken that :greengrin Along with Fitzroy Simpson :agree:

A wiz there that night we blew them away :agree:

06-09-2010, 06:03 PM
None of the above. If you've all forgotten Brian, then I've won.

Dinnae say Brian Welsh either.

06-09-2010, 06:06 PM
Dinnae say Brian Welsh either.

I can't believe everyone here's forgotten the Midfield Maestro with the mostest. Or leastest, anyway.

No, not Brian Welsh.

06-09-2010, 06:07 PM
Bryan Gunn :dunno:

PerthHibby
06-09-2010, 06:09 PM
Mark Caughey :grr:

06-09-2010, 06:11 PM
I can't believe everyone here's forgotten the Midfield Maestro with the mostest. Or leastest, anyway.

No, not Brian Welsh.

Alan Obrien :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Bjarni Larusson and Klaus Dietrich. Not forgetting Ally Scott, Graham Fyfe, Lee Power, Rab Shannon, Freddie Dacquin... Sadly the list is potentially endless.

Andy Dow

He sold himself to the sheep and performed very well against us a few times and scored a raker at ER iirc, ended up at Dundee I think, was an excellent player for us but went to the sheep for more money

Framie
06-09-2010, 06:12 PM
Aken that :greengrin Along with Fitzroy Simpson :agree:

A wiz there that night we blew them away :agree:

Kickback's Hobo Muppet Award Winner 2007 (and maybe other years, too)

Originally Posted by tamig
Niemi Petric and Simpson made ther debuts that night for the pinksters as the Hibees ripped them an utter new hole.

100 odd posts in and no mention yet of Thomas Sowumni :bitchy:

Alan Obrien :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Absolutely correct except totally wrong - his first name was Brian. :wink:

Same era, though.

He sold himself to the sheep and performed very well against us a few times and scored a raker at ER iirc, ended up at Dundee I think, was an excellent player for us but went to the sheep for more money

Scored the winner against us in the SC at Hampden semi final :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

06-09-2010, 06:14 PM
Bjarni Larusson and Klaus Dietrich. Not forgetting Ally Scott, Graham Fyfe, Lee Power, Rab Shannon, Freddie Dacquin... Sadly the list is potentially endless.

Ahh Scott and Fyfe didn't we end up wi they 2 hun bassas for Craig Paterson plus cash?, how ****** were they two especially Fyfe who had some kind of nickname at greyskull, zico or something like that, useless the pair o them :bitchy:

06-09-2010, 06:15 PM
Kickback's Hobo Muppet Award Winner 2007 (and maybe other years, too)

Originally Posted by tamig

Trust me i was at that Millenium derby..Hence why i posted hearts 3 new players :cool2:

Scored the winner against us in the SC at Hampden semi final :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

Aye that's right Andy, as said a decent player

Absolutely correct except totally wrong - his first name was Brian. :wink:

Same era, though.

So a win :greengrin

06-09-2010, 06:17 PM
Especially him missing that header. :boo hoo:

Well I would never slag him about that, he just missed the target by an inch and if he had scored at that time they were out (and that would have shut that hun bassa Rob Mclean up who said in the first game that we had no chance) then Paco would have been a ER legend :agree:

06-09-2010, 06:21 PM
Mixture of the old, and the even older here. Willie Temperley, Sven Mathieson, Isaac Refvik, Joe Ward, Bobby Hutchison, Mike Conroy, Andy Walker, Willie Irvine (the prison officer), Mark Cowan, Greg Miller,
Graeme Miller, Emilio Bottiglieri, Pat McGlinchey, Pat Carroll, Ian Cameron, Scott Bannerman.

I think I'll stop there. It's getting depressing now.

06-09-2010, 06:23 PM
Mixture of the old, and the even older here. Willie Temperley, Sven Mathieson, Isaac Refvik, Joe Ward, Bobby Hutchison, Mike Conroy, Andy Walker, Willie Irvine (the prison officer), Mark Cowan, Greg Miller,
Graeme Miller, Emilio Bottiglieri, Pat McGlinchey, Pat Carroll, Ian Cameron, Scott Bannerman.

McGlinchey? You mean McGinlay?.. PMG Was a tremendous player for Hibs..Not had a box to box goalscorer like him for years.

06-09-2010, 06:24 PM
Bobby Hutchinson
Willie Temperley
Mark Fulton (a polisman now :rolleyes:)
Jim Mackay (we signed him from Brora Rangers and he scored a peach at darkhied and we had our purple strips on that night when we beat them 3-2 I think it was, I met him up at Brora when Hibs played them in 1980 and he was gobsmacked we remembered him, IIRC Hibs didn't offer him a contract, he was a big powerful laddie and could have done a good job for us)

heidtheba
06-09-2010, 06:25 PM

LMAO - I was gonna say him too but never 'saw' the surname that way...can't blame anyone with that surname making it out as love er ing

06-09-2010, 06:26 PM
Ahh Scott and Fyfe didn't we end up wi they 2 hun bassas for Craig Paterson plus cash?, how ****** were they two especially Fyfe who had some kind of nickname at greyskull, zico or something like that, useless the pair o them :bitchy:

i think it was iain munro that we gave away in return for scott and fyfe...

others from that era that shone briefly..

lyndsay muir(hopeless)
pat carrol(actually no bad)
willie murray(winner at parkhead)
bobby hutchison(had his own song)
derek spalding(blackley replacement that flitted to south africa or something)

06-09-2010, 06:26 PM
What ever happened to LuaLuas cousin that we signed?

He was meant to be the next big thing, never to be heard of again.

heidtheba
06-09-2010, 06:27 PM
Emilio Bottiglieri, who was that other reserve (around '96) - Scott Bannerman? Was he not related to John Robertson?

And I'm not even going to start on most of Duffy's "signings".

06-09-2010, 06:28 PM
Roland Edge - the man even the forgotten players forgot about

Definatley had me up on my seat :agree:

06-09-2010, 06:28 PM
Emilio Bottiglieri, who was that other reserve (around '96) - Scott Bannerman? Was he not related to John Robertson?

And I'm not even going to start on most of Duffy's "signings".

Nephew.

andyhibs
06-09-2010, 06:29 PM
surprised no one has mentioned the one and only benny brazil he was the ultimate pish

06-09-2010, 06:30 PM
Jarko Wiss :greengrin

06-09-2010, 06:31 PM
Michael Renwick and Rab Shannon, full backs in any dream team.

06-09-2010, 06:31 PM
surprised no one has mentioned the one and only benny brazil he was the ultimate pish

survived about 6 hibs managers and scored a hat trick against celtic....but your right,he was pish in a gangly 'how does he get a game?' sort of way..

06-09-2010, 06:32 PM
Billy Mclaren (hard as nails when we were in the 1st division in 1980)
Kevin Mckee
Joe McLaughlan
Colin (bomber) Harris
Graham Harvey

06-09-2010, 06:33 PM
Ave got anar yin......................... He played ONE game.........:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:....... .........

EAMONN BANNON :faf: :faf: :faf:

:hilarious :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hibstrooper
Frederic Arpinon

:rockin:

heidtheba
Chris Jackson...I remember his goal at Tynie and keeping either Gascoigne or Laudrup in his back pocket at an ER game.

Didn't we get some Ray Wilson character...remember him clapping the 'gers support at a game at ER...not wise. Still I think he had a pretty decent footballing pedigree before stepping up to us...

Tony Rougier...boy did he fail to lie up to expectations...

Andy Dow - not one who was forgotten but I never 'took' to him at all

06-09-2010, 06:40 PM
Pat McCurdy - scored i think in the 8 -1 win over Killie ?
Freddy Arpinon- gobbed on a player at Dens Park
Jim Brown - played a while for Hearts.
Ricky Hill - don't think he ever actually played for us. From Jamaica I mind the headline in the Daily Record cos he thought it was too baltic here " Brrricky Hill "
Sven Mathieson

06-09-2010, 06:42 PM
Yvan Tomatula
Morten Hyldgaard
Freddie Daqcuin
Alex Marinkov
Barry Prenderville
Scott Bannerman
Michael Franks
Keegan Ayres

06-09-2010, 06:47 PM
The mystery man Elias Wagner

Framie
06-09-2010, 06:47 PM
Trust me i was at that Millenium derby..Hence why i posted hearts 3 new players :cool2:

ok i trust ya but you replied to a post about the 6 - 2 game hence the reason i said they joined in 1999 check your posts if you dont trust me:confused:

06-09-2010, 06:50 PM
ok i trust ya but you replied to a post about the 6 - 2 game hence the reason i said they joined in 1999 check your posts if you dont trust me:confused:

Here's the post pal .....Played a key role in the 6-2 game though after Matty Jack went off injured and he had another great derby at Tynecastle where Latapy ripped them apart and did everything bar score that day.

THATS the part i was referring to :agree:

Im a statician, I know my facts :wink:

06-09-2010, 06:51 PM
Scott Brunton.

Game. Set. Match.

Framie
06-09-2010, 06:54 PM
Here's the post pal .....Played a key role in the 6-2 game though after Matty Jack went off injured and he had another great derby at Tynecastle where Latapy ripped them apart and did everything bar score that day.

THATS the part i was referring to :agree:

Im a statician, I know my facts :wink:

a ha hence the confusion STATS the part:cool2:

TheEastTerrace
06-09-2010, 06:54 PM
Brian Kerr! Merde

down the slope
06-09-2010, 06:56 PM
The one and only Jim Blair, bet that's got a few of you !,

06-09-2010, 06:57 PM
a ha hence the confusion STATS the part:cool2:

06-09-2010, 06:58 PM
About 6'4" of utter pish signed from St Mirren. :greengrin

06-09-2010, 06:59 PM
Brian Kerr! Merde

Finally!

06-09-2010, 07:02 PM

A hundred grand we paid for him IIRC, what a waste o space!

Framie
06-09-2010, 07:03 PM
Finally!
never heard of him look forward to your prize it will be over as quick as his career was with us 2 mins if i recall right:top marks

06-09-2010, 07:03 PM
Most of the players mentioned on this thread, crop up with regularity as "forgotten" players on here. Ironic really. What they were in fact was just mediocre. I would be quicker naming the players I can remember and half of them I never saw play, such as the Famous Five, Bobby Combe, Tommy Younger etc. Joe Baker I did catch in his second spell but it is strange how the fifties dominates the Hibs psyche - if that's the right word.

Banff
06-09-2010, 07:22 PM
Kevin McAllister and the one and only Jimmy Boco!!

panshibby
06-09-2010, 07:31 PM
How about Robin Rae. Goalkeeper from early to mid 80's

down the slope
06-09-2010, 07:36 PM
John Hazel, a favourite of Neds who got a fair number of games when he should not have.

GreenOnions
06-09-2010, 07:37 PM
David Elliott - key member of Jim Duffy's gravity eleven of lower league signings. Come to think of it - some of the teams Duffy put together would make a good post on this thread :bitchy:

06-09-2010, 07:39 PM
Shaun Dennis

since90plustwo
06-09-2010, 07:41 PM
roland edge
craig roscastle
craig james (he was very good, socred in the 4-4 at tynie if i can remember rightly)
Darren Anderson! best keeper we had for a while?

06-09-2010, 07:42 PM
roland edge
craig roscastle
craig james (he was very good, socred in the 4-4 at tynie if i can remember rightly)
Darren Anderson! best keeper we had for a while?

Daniel Anderson mate.

06-09-2010, 07:44 PM
Kevin McAllister

Whit?

since90plustwo
06-09-2010, 07:44 PM
Daniel Anderson mate.

thats what i meant, got a pal called darren anderson

06-09-2010, 07:45 PM
Wot a **** tube he was! :bitchy:

Was he the tattie picker from Pencaitland?

magnificent_seven
06-09-2010, 07:47 PM
Frederic Arpinon

:rockin:

Wouldn't say he was particularly forgotten, loved him when he was at Hibs. I remember him scoring an absolute beauty up at Tannadice about 8 years ago.

On another note, how about Billy Findlay, Craig James and Lillian Martin?

All BAD players! Probably with the exception of Martin who got binned after one game IIRC?

Green Mikey
06-09-2010, 07:52 PM
Morten Hyldegaard:rolleyes:

Borders Hibby
06-09-2010, 07:54 PM
Dave Beaumont, cost £100,000 and got a winners medal in 1991 without playing!

06-09-2010, 07:54 PM
Lindsay Muir
Derek Rodeir
Gary Murray
John Brogan
Willie Murray
Bobby Flavell
Bobby Torrance
Stuart Turnbull
Dave Fellinger
Brian Majoribanks (sp)....one for the auld yins I think

Mair tae follae

Deceased now I think?

Wee Isaac was different class on his unforgettable debut v Morton in the LC QF.
PaulMcGlinchley maybe?

Wouldn't say he was particularly forgotten, loved him when he was at Hibs. I remember him scoring an absolute beauty up at Tannadice about 8 years ago.

On another note, how about Billy Findlay, Craig James and Lillian Martin?

All BAD players! Probably with the exception of Martin who got binned after one game IIRC?

And I seem to recall him getting a beauty at Tynie......

06-09-2010, 07:56 PM
Shaun Dennis

Starred in the 3-0 Millennium Derby did he not?

06-09-2010, 07:57 PM

Nope.

06-09-2010, 07:57 PM
Mike Wilson
Alex McGhee
Rab Kilgour
Jim Farmer

06-09-2010, 08:06 PM
Shaun Dennis

Nope.

Sure you were at this game????

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/features/Hibee-history-Day-the-tables.6462773.jp?articlepage=2

06-09-2010, 08:08 PM
Sure you were at this game????

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/features/Hibee-history-Day-the-tables.6462773.jp?articlepage=2

I beg your pardon i was thinking of Rab Shannon for some reason :agree:

06-09-2010, 08:18 PM
Paul Dalgleish
Joe McBride Jnr

06-09-2010, 08:20 PM
The official site used to have an excellent section with all the post-war players and the number of appearances they made. Can't find it on the new site :confused:

06-09-2010, 08:20 PM
How about Robin Rae. Goalkeeper from early to mid 80's

Ha! a well known bam from Mussie, in trouble just about every weekend when he was at Hibs

06-09-2010, 08:22 PM
Deceased now I think?

have edited this post, there was another Bobby Flavell who was born in 1921 who played for us, the guy I'm on about was actually English born in Berwick and played for us 1981-82 then on to Motherwell then Dundee Utd and finished his career at Berwick in 1985

06-09-2010, 08:24 PM
Ha! a well known bam from Mussie, in trouble just about every weekend when he was at Hibs

Only remember one appearance and he was outstanding at Ibrox.
Remember him goading the Huns with a wee bit of time-wasting keepie-uppie!

06-09-2010, 08:24 PM
The official site used to have an excellent section with all the post-war players and the number of appearances they made. Can't find it on the new site :confused:

This new independant site is top knotch.

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/

06-09-2010, 08:26 PM
George Best.

06-09-2010, 08:26 PM
Really? that is sad :boo hoo: a decent wee guy who never let the team down, had a great shot as well

RIP Boab

In saying that I can find nowt online about that so I hope I'm very very wrong

HibeeMcGinn1
06-09-2010, 08:27 PM
Yvan Tomatula
Morten Hyldgaard
Freddie Daqcuin
Alex Marinkov
Barry Prenderville
Scott Bannerman
Michael Franks
Keegan Ayres

Wasnt he a bit of a thief? Have it in my head that he stole from big Konte?
may have just made that up though.

06-09-2010, 08:29 PM

have edited that post mate, see above

06-09-2010, 08:29 PM
James K Brown

AKA Jumbo. Came fi Wallyford, total big heid. Signed fi Aston Villa IIRC thought he wiz the greatest thing since slice bread. Jeezo, wiz a nightmare.

06-09-2010, 08:31 PM
AKA Jumbo. Came fi Wallyford, total big heid. Signed fi Aston Villa IIRC thought he wiz the greatest thing since slice bread. Jeezo, wiz a nightmare.

I remember him in a dreadful game at East Stirling where he was **** mince and got the pelters from the fans that day, well deserved I may add...

Help murder polis! :bitchy:

06-09-2010, 08:32 PM

No. You are right. He was my favourite player from that era, and remember reading about him dying. Sweden springs to mind.

06-09-2010, 08:32 PM
John Connoly who scored a right few goals for us when he came from Newcastle Utd

John Brogan, a natural born goalscorer we got from St Johnstone, Willie Ormond signed him and I remember him scoring a peach at ER, he wouldn't sign full time as he had a family business to run as well, had he gone full time he would have scored a barrowload for us

06-09-2010, 08:35 PM

I remember being at an away match (at Muirton Park IIRC) and Robin Rae was standing just along from me on the terracing and for 90% of the match wore a cheapo plastic mask.

I don't know if he thought he'd be less conspicious or something? :crazy:

06-09-2010, 08:36 PM
have edited that post mate, see above

Thanks my friend, but we were definitely thinking about the same Bobby Flavell! 1921 being a tad before my time.
Seriously glad to be wrong though and Bobby, sorry if you're reading this man!
:embarrass

06-09-2010, 08:37 PM
No. You are right. He was my favourite player from that era, and remember reading about him dying. Sweden springs to mind.

Aw Jeez, now I'm all over the place.
And you're right Sweden does come to mind.

06-09-2010, 08:38 PM

Hardly a bam. Robin like most young guys liked a beer and a laugh but there was no nastiness wi Robin. Good keeper and yes he did wind the Huns up scratching a cross in the track behind his goals just fur the erses in the Broomloan Upper. Got caught on our Musselburgh bus by Maude (RIP Mrs M) when he 'was injured' at Tannadice and she was gonna throw us oot the Supporters Association. Trouble was they wouldnae let us in the Association to start with. Never let anyone forget it though. Nah Robin no a bam more hyperactive and playful.:greengrin:greengrin

06-09-2010, 08:39 PM
I remember him in a dreadful game at East Stirling where he was **** mince and got the pelters from the fans that day, well deserved I may add...

Help murder polis! :bitchy:

I remember that game, my one and only visit to Firs Park.
A draw and a disbelieving one at that!

06-09-2010, 08:43 PM
Amadou Konte

06-09-2010, 08:48 PM
Amadou Konte

Eh, Legend..Scored the goal that got us intae Europe.

FACT.

Sloppy
06-09-2010, 08:51 PM
freddie arpinon

06-09-2010, 08:53 PM
[QUOTE=Hamilton Handling;2569747]I remember that game, my one and only visit to Firs Park.
A draw and a disbelieving one at that![/QUO

A 1 all draw and we were lucky that day, think they caused us some problems in the return game at ER as well, still got the programme! :greengrin :agree:

HibeeMcGinn1
06-09-2010, 08:53 PM
Eh, Legend..Scored the goal that got us intae Europe.

FACT.

Gary Caldwell scored a free-kick that day aswell.
Close to getting the 3 points right at the end, big Garry O had a great chance.

06-09-2010, 08:57 PM
Gary Caldwell scored a free-kick that day aswell.
Close to getting the 3 points right at the end, big Garry O had a great chance.

Think Garry O missed a penalty that game tae :boo hoo::boo hoo:

Forthview
06-09-2010, 09:39 PM
Gordon Hunter, John Hughes, Willie Miller - 3 big tough guys totally without ability.
Hogg is a younger version of his boss.
For Colin Nish read Big Willie Jamieson, both as above.

06-09-2010, 09:47 PM
Wasnt he a bit of a thief? Have it in my head that he stole from big Konte?
may have just made that up though.
Don't know mate. He signed from Walsend Boys Club and he was Lua-Lua's nephew. Big things were expected of him but he disapeared without a trace!

Antonio Murray
Alan Reid
Kevin Nicol
Damon Gray
Earl Jean

delbert
06-09-2010, 09:48 PM
Remember as a young 'lad' listening and then watching later at night on Sportscene Hibs beating Rangers 3-2 on a gluepot pitch at Easter Road one Wednesday night, and Jim Blair got a couple that night, did next to nothing else for us mind you. Couple of names, Kenny Davidson from Nitten and also Milorad Nizetic, goalie who played 2 games for us, we were keen on him, he looked ok, but he broke his hand against Leicester City in a friendly and we never signed him. 2 names jump out this thread for me as about the worst I ever saw, Duncan Lambie, the worst winger I have ever seen, remember a cup tie against Ayr at Easter Road we won 2-0 and he scored in front of over 15,000, mainly because George Best was meant to play that day, but was drying out somewhere, in came Duncan and saved the day, he was utter murder, but was probably Cruyff compared to the one and only Jas. K. Brown, he must have stowed away in the kit hamper one day and mugged someone for their strip, quite simply the worst player to have donned a Hibs strip...ever....I mean ever.....I do not have the words to describe this guy, he was to football what Hitler was to race relations !! Oh and by the way, we got Fyfe and Scott from the Huns for Iain Munro, not Craig Paterson, still one of the worst pieces of business Eddie Turnbull ever did, even though Ally Scott scored two against Rangers one night in a 3-0 Drybrough Cup win, happy days indeed.

06-09-2010, 09:53 PM
Don't know mate. He signed from Walsend Boys Club and he was Lua-Lua's nephew. Big things were expected of him but he disapeared without a trace!

Antonio Murray = back at Histon
Alan Reid = Free Agent
Kevin Nicol = FK Moss
Damon Gray = Ostersunds
Earl Jean = San Juan Jabloteh (incidently, Jean scored 45 goals in 48 games the season after he left us)

06-09-2010, 10:03 PM
Johnny Graham (bought from Falkirk IIRC)

Little Miss Perfect
06-09-2010, 10:04 PM
Tony Caig :bitchy:

actually i've never forgotten him..he was rank rotten

06-09-2010, 10:06 PM
Tony Caig :bitchy:
How the hell did that guy get a contract at Newcastle? :bitchy:

HibeeMcGinn1
06-09-2010, 10:10 PM
Jonathon Bailie

Fat Stu
06-09-2010, 10:10 PM
suprised no-ones mentioned chris reid or jason gardiner, both understudies to goram and budgie.

06-09-2010, 10:12 PM
Jonathon Bailie

Retired and got some type of journo job at The Sun...I think

HibeeMcGinn1
06-09-2010, 10:14 PM
Retired and got some type of journo job at The Sun...I think

Cheers for that. Knew he retired but didn't know what he was upto now. He looked like a cracking player when I seen him play for the reserves.

HibeeMcGinn1
06-09-2010, 10:26 PM
Kevin McAllister and the one and only Jimmy Boco!!

Spoke to the man himself on Facebook the other day, he runs a charity with Patrick Viera and Luma. www.diambars.org .... He was asking me if I was proud of the new stand and how big yogi was getting on. An absolute gentleman.

07-09-2010, 01:40 AM
Andy Walker...although i conveniently forget he played for us as i can't stand listening to his "in-depth analysis".:grr:

Thorsten Schmugge...I always remember him playing as it was a big deal for Hibs to have someone from outside the UK playing for them. Back in Lexo's days was just the best of British at that point, i'm sure he played about the time Millers reign was struggling a bit 96 or 97.

07-09-2010, 01:43 AM
In no particular order...

Sam Morrow
Chic Charnley
Jamie McCluskey
Ross Campbell
Ulrik Laursen

1875godsgift
07-09-2010, 02:19 AM
In no particular order...

Sam Morrow
Chic Charnley
Jamie McCluskey
Ross Campbell
Ulrik Laursen
Now did i see him score a goal from the halfway line on his first game for us, or am i having a senior moment?!

07-09-2010, 04:18 AM
Heroes (My opinion) Keith, Keith, Keith - Murdo - McGinlay - Archibald - Micky Weir - Sauzee - Latapy - Sproule -
Ke

07-09-2010, 05:55 AM
The poor guy who made his debut at Berwick and had his leg broken in the first couple of minutes.

Some of the names on here being touted as rubbish are incredible.

Crunchie!!!! A bloody joy to watch.
John Hazel, first goal against yams at tynie in a cup game (Nijinsky got the 2nd)is still one of my all time favourite goals.
Pat Carrol, not brilliant but hell of a tricky wee player. Was never going to make it though being ex Tullibody Hearts.
Jim Blair, i actually quite liked as well.

Lots more, but not going to trawl through them all again.

07-09-2010, 06:24 AM
Great thread this :thumbsup:

Keep it up lads!

down the slope
07-09-2010, 07:26 AM
Anyone remember Pat Hughes, he played wing half(remember them) in the early sixties, utter Lillian Gish . i have had to watch some gash in my time and to think i have been called a yam for some of my views on here !.

07-09-2010, 07:51 AM
Derek Rodier.

31 games played and not a goal scored.

For many Hibbies that name conjures memories of watching poor teams at the start of the 80s.

Twa Cairpets
07-09-2010, 07:57 AM
Ave goat yin.....................................

Graham Love :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Now he was fe cking pish :greengrin

I saw him play a couple of weeks ago - now player manager of Bathgate Thistle in the Juniors. Slightly embarassingly, when he came on as a sub, his players called him "Gaffer".

07-09-2010, 07:59 AM
Derek Rodier.

31 games played and not a goal scored.

For many Hibbies that name conjures memories of watching poor teams at the start of the 80s.

Absolutely! plenty of heart but couldn't score in a brothel wi a 50 pound note!, as you say dire days in the early 80s :embarrass

07-09-2010, 08:06 AM
Roy Barry :agree:

I remember him putting Deans up in the air with a double somersault when we pumped the smellies 4-1 at ER, we could have done with him in the early 70s as nobody thought of doing that when he was scoring hat tricks for fun against us

07-09-2010, 08:12 AM
suprised no-ones mentioned chris reid or jason gardiner, both understudies to goram and budgie.

Except they have! :greengrin

07-09-2010, 08:20 AM
Graeme Donald
Davie Felenger (spl)
Calum Milne
Mark McGraw (Polisman in Porto)

07-09-2010, 08:26 AM
Stuart Beedie
Ron Nombere
Billy Kirkwood
Iffy Pastabaic
Shana Hadji
Judith Chalmers

07-09-2010, 08:37 AM
Willie miller only scored once for us - in fact once in his career - was it against st mirren?

07-09-2010, 08:44 AM
Willie miller only scored once for us - in fact once in his career - was it against st mirren?

I remember him scoring a stormer against Pat Bonner at ER which was chalked off for scoring a goal against Celtic without SFA permission.

HibeePaj
07-09-2010, 08:46 AM
Emilio Bottiglieri

07-09-2010, 12:28 PM
The poor guy who made his debut at Berwick and had his leg broken in the first couple of minutes.

Some of the names on here being touted as rubbish are incredible.

Crunchie!!!! A bloody joy to watch.
John Hazel, first goal against yams at tynie in a cup game (Nijinsky got the 2nd)is still one of my all time favourite goals.
Pat Carrol, not brilliant but hell of a tricky wee player. Was never going to make it though being ex Tullibody Hearts.
Jim Blair, i actually quite liked as well.

Lots more, but not going to trawl through them all again.

Steady on.
I mentioned John Hazel, but when were any of the names mentioned being touted as rubbish?
Forgotten is in the title thread - and when the Tornadoes are mentioned the name John Hazel never is.
Who said he was rubbish?

HibeesLA
07-09-2010, 12:45 PM
Ray Wilkins

JackRegan
07-09-2010, 12:58 PM
A Tim writes...

stuart beedie
Andy Watson

07-09-2010, 01:13 PM
Loving this thread :thumbsup:

Graham Mitchell
Alen Orman
Daniel Anderson
Darren Jackson
Stevie Crawford

07-09-2010, 01:18 PM
Here's a run down on where our ex-players, since our season in the first division 98/99, are now. There are some players that I couldn't find any info on;

Anthony Stokes-Celtic.
Abdessalam Benjelloun-Still a free agent as far as I'm aware.
Patrick Cregg-Still a free agent as far as I'm aware.
Alan Gow-Motherwell.
Yves Makalambay-On trial with Swansea.
Darren McCormack-Ross County.
David Van Zanten-St Mirren.
Ross Campbell-Dumbarton.
Martin Canning-Hamilton.
Ross Chisholm-I believe he's a free agent after being released by Darlington at the end of last season.
Jordan Cropley-Not sure.
Steven Fletcher-Wolves.
David Grof-Notts County.
Jonatan Johansson-TPS.
Rob Jones-Scunthorpe.
Joe Keenan-Adelaide Utd.
Brian Kerr-Dundee.
Andy McNeil-Raith Rovers.
Filipe Morais-I believe he's a free agent after leaving St Johnstone last season.
Alan O'Brien-Swindon.
Steve Pinau-Arles Avignon.
Denes Rosa-Ferencvaros.
Dean Shiels-Doncaster.
Fabian Yantorno-Hartlepool.
Mickael Antoine Curier-Dundee.
Guillaume Beuzelin-Free agent after he failed a medical with Kilmarnock.
Clayton Donaldson-Crewe Alexandra.
Thierry Gathuessi-Free agent.
Damon Gray-Ostersunds.
Torben Joneleit-Genk.
Sean Lynch-St Mirren.
David Murphy-Birmingham.
Patrick Noubissie-Kettering.
Abderraouf Zarabi-Nimes.
Keegan Ayre-Vancouver Whitecaps.
Scott Brown-Celtic.
Simon Brown-Cambridge.
Paul Dalglish-Head coach of Tampa Bay Rowdies.
Stephen Glass-Free agent after being released by Dunfermline. Was a trialist with St Mirren but they did not offer him a contract.
Chris Killen-Shenzhen Ruby FC.
Oumar Konde-Think he's a free agent now after leaving FC Zurich.
Amadou Konte-Bitonto.
Zbigniew Malkowski-Korona Kielce.
Shelton Martis-Doncaster.
Dermot McCaffrey-Dungannon Swifts.
Jamie McCluskey-Free agent after leaving Wrexham. Was a trialist with Morton but did not sign a contract.
Kevin McDonald-Alloa Athletic.
Sam Morrow-Tranmere Rovers.
Jay Shields-Arbroath.
Thomas Sowunmi-Diosgyori VTK.
Ivan Sproule-Bristol City.
Michael Stewart-Genclerbirligi.
Kevin Thomson-Middlesbrough.
Steven Whittaker-Rangers.
Gary Caldwell-Wigan Athletic.
Gary Smith-Retired three years ago, aged 36.
Antonio Murray-Histon.
Garry O'Connor-Birmingham.
Humphrey Rudge-Retired three years ago, aged 30.
Alan Reid-Released by Greenock Morton at the end of last season.
Alistair Brown-Stenhousemuir.
Grant Brebner-Melbourne Victory.
Stephen Dobbie-Swansea.
Tom McManus-Falkirk.
Colin Murdock-Retired a year ago, aged 34 whilst at Accrington Stanley. Now a sports lawyer.
Kevin Nicol-Moss.
Craig Rocastle-Kansas City Wizards.
Mathias Doumbe-MK Dons.
Roland Edge-Player-coach at Folkestone Invicta.
Morten Hyldgaard-Retired last year aged 31.
Jarkko Wiss-Retired three years ago, aged 35.
Tony Caig-Carlisle Utd.
Nick Colgan-Grimsby Town.
Craig James-Harrogate.
Janos Matyus-Retired last year, aged 35 whilst playing for FC Tatabanya.
Mixu Paatelainen-Manager of Kilmarnock.
Craig Brewster-Player-assistant manager of Ross County.
Ulises De La Cruz-LDU Quito.
Eduardo Hurtado-Club Sport Patria.

07-09-2010, 01:19 PM
.... when all these folks remember them?????

Now see Whatisname that played in that game against What'dyecallthem in nineteen canteen (cannae mind the year) - he was a half-back, or maybe an inside-forward, or maybe he was the goalie - you know the guy I mean - Thingummyjig - YOU know....

.... Now HE's what I'd REALLY call a Forgotten Hibee.

That's if he ever actually played for the team at all.... :devil:

07-09-2010, 01:29 PM
Here's a run down on where our ex-players, since our season in the first division 98/99, are now. There are some players that I couldn't find any info on;

Anthony Stokes-Celtic.
Abdessalam Benjelloun-Still a free agent as far as I'm aware.
Patrick Cregg-Still a free agent as far as I'm aware.
Alan Gow-Motherwell.
Yves Makalambay-On trial with Swansea.
Darren McCormack-Ross County.
David Van Zanten-St Mirren.
Ross Campbell-Dumbarton.
Martin Canning-Hamilton.
Ross Chisholm-I believe he's a free agent after being released by Darlington at the end of last season.
Jordan Cropley-Not sure.
Steven Fletcher-Wolves.
David Grof-Notts County.
Jonatan Johansson-TPS.
Rob Jones-Scunthorpe.
Joe Keenan-Adelaide Utd.
Brian Kerr-Dundee.
Andy McNeil-Raith Rovers.
Filipe Morais-I believe he's a free agent after leaving St Johnstone last season.
Alan O'Brien-Swindon.
Steve Pinau-Arles Avignon.
Denes Rosa-Ferencvaros.
Dean Shiels-Doncaster.
Fabian Yantorno-Hartlepool.
Mickael Antoine Curier-Dundee.
Guillaume Beuzelin-Free agent after he failed a medical with Kilmarnock.
Clayton Donaldson-Crewe Alexandra.
Thierry Gathuessi-Free agent.
Damon Gray-Ostersunds.
Torben Joneleit-Genk.
Sean Lynch-St Mirren.
David Murphy-Birmingham.
Patrick Noubissie-Kettering.
Abderraouf Zarabi-Nimes.
Keegan Ayre-Vancouver Whitecaps.
Scott Brown-Celtic.
Simon Brown-Cambridge.
Paul Dalglish-Head coach of Tampa Bay Rowdies.
Stephen Glass-Free agent after being released by Dunfermline. Was a trialist with St Mirren but they did not offer him a contract.
Chris Killen-Shenzhen Ruby FC.
Oumar Konde-Think he's a free agent now after leaving FC Zurich.
Amadou Konte-Bitonto.
Zbigniew Malkowski-Korona Kielce.
Shelton Martis-Doncaster.
Dermot McCaffrey-Dungannon Swifts.
Jamie McCluskey-Free agent after leaving Wrexham. Was a trialist with Morton but did not sign a contract.
Kevin McDonald-Alloa Athletic.
Sam Morrow-Tranmere Rovers.
Jay Shields-Arbroath.
Thomas Sowunmi-Diosgyori VTK.
Ivan Sproule-Bristol City.
Michael Stewart-Genclerbirligi.
Kevin Thomson-Middlesbrough.
Steven Whittaker-Rangers.
Gary Caldwell-Wigan Athletic.
Gary Smith-Retired three years ago, aged 36.
Antonio Murray-Histon.
Garry O'Connor-Birmingham.
Humphrey Rudge-Retired three years ago, aged 30.
Alan Reid-Released by Greenock Morton at the end of last season.
Alistair Brown-Stenhousemuir.
Grant Brebner-Melbourne Victory.
Stephen Dobbie-Swansea.
Tom McManus-Falkirk.
Colin Murdock-Retired a year ago, aged 34 whilst at Accrington Stanley. Now a sports lawyer.
Kevin Nicol-Moss.
Craig Rocastle-Kansas City Wizards.
Mathias Doumbe-MK Dons.
Roland Edge-Player-coach at Folkestone Invicta.
Morten Hyldgaard-Retired last year aged 31.
Jarkko Wiss-Retired three years ago, aged 35.
Tony Caig-Carlisle Utd.
Nick Colgan-Grimsby Town.
Craig James-Harrogate.
Janos Matyus-Retired last year, aged 35 whilst playing for FC Tatabanya.
Mixu Paatelainen-Manager of Kilmarnock.
Craig Brewster-Player-assistant manager of Ross County.
Ulises De La Cruz-LDU Quito.
Eduardo Hurtado-Club Sport Patria.

Thats some list of players the ones in bold in particular for me :greengrin

Skanko79
07-09-2010, 03:32 PM
Now did i see him score a goal from the halfway line on his first game for us, or am i having a senior moment?!

aye im sure he did mate, think it was against alloa in the cup if my memory serves me well.

pat mcginley done it from about the same distance the week after against killie tae :thumbsup:

07-09-2010, 04:02 PM

I remember he chipped the keeper away to Clyde in a 2-0 win many moons ago.

07-09-2010, 04:56 PM
Steady on.
I mentioned John Hazel, but when were any of the names mentioned being touted as rubbish?
Forgotten is in the title thread - and when the Tornadoes are mentioned the name John Hazel never is.
Who said he was rubbish?

OK you necver said he was rubbish, just forgotten. I disagree as I remember him well. Hamilton Handling, now there IS a forgotten player.:greengrin

07-09-2010, 05:05 PM
OK you necver said he was rubbish, just forgotten. I disagree as I remember him well. Hamilton Handling, now there IS a forgotten player.:greengrin

I haven't forgotten him either but he seldom gets a mention. Is that not the point of the thread? There would be no names, no thread to discuss if we'd all forgotten completely all these players.

Do we need a different thread for rubbish players that we have also forgotten or maybe hate to remember?

I was enjoying this one as well...................

And the 'poor guy' at Berwick was Ian Hendry.
I hadn't forgotten him either.

What I have forgotten is whether Bobby Flavell remains on this mortal coil or not.

07-09-2010, 06:15 PM
has willie irvine been mentioned? he was a pretty prolific striker was he not

07-09-2010, 06:18 PM
Malcolm Bogie
Mark McGraw
Barry Lavety

All three had so much potential but just never made it :boo hoo:

07-09-2010, 06:23 PM
Malcolm Bogie
Mark McGraw
Barry Lavety

All three had so much potential but just never made it :boo hoo:

Bogie wasnt a good pick

Mcgraw was to much of a cowboy

Lavety was often boggin

07-09-2010, 06:30 PM
has willie irvine been mentioned? he was a pretty prolific striker was he not

There's been two WI I think, the one in the 80s scored loads for us and was an excellent goal poacher can't remember the other one tho I think he either came from or went to Dundee?

07-09-2010, 06:41 PM
2 names jump out this thread for me as about the worst I ever saw, Duncan Lambie, the worst winger I have ever seen, remember a cup tie against Ayr at Easter Road we won 2-0 and he scored in front of over 15,000, mainly because George Best was meant to play that day, but was drying out somewhere, in came Duncan and saved the day, he was utter murder, but was probably Cruyff compared to the one and only Jas. K. Brown, he must have stowed away in the kit hamper one day and mugged someone for their strip, quite simply the worst player to have donned a Hibs strip...ever....I mean ever.....I do not have the words to describe this guy, he was to football what Hitler was to race relations !! .

When some younger fans talk about this player and that being the worst they've ever seen in a Hibs jersey they would be truly amazed at how bad "Jazzer" Brown was. I remember standing on the North Enclosure one day watching this joker doing the worst impersonation of a left midfielder you could ever imagine. He couldnae run, pass, cross, shoot, tackle, head the ball....you name it.

I can remember us beating Dunfermline in the old 1st division and John Connolly (previously mentioned silky veteran ex-Everton left winger) getting the biggest cheer of the day for taking the ball off Brown and running past him down the left wing.

Oh aye...
Gordon Byrne
Derek McWilliams
Paul McGovern....

07-09-2010, 07:28 PM
Bogie wasnt a good pick

Mcgraw was to much of a cowboy

Lavety was often boggin

I wrote "All three had so much potential but just never made it"
We are talking about their ability nothing to do with their character :rolleyes:

If you want to go down that road 75% of rhose who have worn the green and white in the past fifty odd years fill those descriptions :greengrin

I played against MB when he ended up playing amateur - a one off and a wasted talent if ever there was one = "have ball will travel etc "
MM The guy had it all if he could have applied himself.
BL - Likewise

Career story's rhat are repeated over and over again unfortunately :greengrin

CapitalHibs
07-09-2010, 07:57 PM
4 with Jambo connections:

Gordon Marshall (snr)
Chris Shevlane
Roy Barry
Ralph Callaghan

HibeeMcGinn1
07-09-2010, 08:40 PM
aye im sure he did mate, think it was against alloa in the cup if my memory serves me well.

pat mcginley done it from about the same distance the week after against killie tae :thumbsup:

correcto. was my first game, was in the terrace with my papa.