View Full Version : Forgotten Hibs Players

Pages : 1 [2]

08-09-2010, 10:13 AM
Not read the full thread, but have Dirk Lehmann or Scott Bannerman been mentioned yet?

08-09-2010, 10:29 AM
Derek Anderson for a lovely sunny day in Ayr if I remember, had a nightmare I think and that was his lot.

Ian Cameron also.

08-09-2010, 10:35 AM
4 with Jambo connections:

Gordon Marshall (snr)
Chris Shevlane
Roy Barry
Ralph Callaghan

Jim Brown, too.

But he's not forgotten. I remember him. :wink:

Pedant alert - Ralph was spelled "Callachan", IIRC.

hibby al
09-09-2010, 06:50 AM
joe ward
bobby torrance
steve brown

HibeePaj
09-09-2010, 07:31 AM
BIG TONY ROUGIER !

just checked on wikipedia; he is now a player/coach at FC SOUTH END in trinidad.

09-09-2010, 08:29 AM
Was havin a wee blether with my mate the other day about ex hibs players that really werent that good/came from nowhere/went nowhere. there were a few in the first division season of 98/99.

names we mentioned were Peter Guggi??? remember him?? and big Alex Marinkov.

who has been your fave player to have came fi nowhere?

wonder where these guys are now?
pretty sure that marinkov made his debut along beside a certain mr sauzee[at brockville] think we won 2 1

09-09-2010, 01:02 PM
BIG TONY ROUGIER !

just checked on wikipedia; he is now a player/coach at FC SOUTH END in trinidad.

He was one of the guys I looked forward to watching. He was mercurial and tricky like M O'Neill. Sadly, it was a luxury to have them both in the team at the one time!

Twa Cairpets
09-09-2010, 01:09 PM

Oh aye...
Gordon Byrne
Derek McWilliams
Paul McGovern....

Ex Dunfermline player? Did he play for us? Really? Or is it another one?

esjorto
09-09-2010, 02:10 PM
From further back, here are some good to very, very good players.

Archie Buchanan
Tommy Younger
Jock Govan
Davie Shaw
John Paterson (father of Craig)
Davie Gibson
John Grant
Jackie Plenderleith
John Baxter
Sammy Baird
Jim Easton
Ronnie Simpson
Tommy Preston
Johnny McLeod
Joe Davies
Eric Stevenson
Willie Hamilton
Neil Martin
Jim Scott
Peter Cormack

....many many bad players but they are maybe best fotgotten!

GraniteCityHibs
09-09-2010, 02:23 PM
Jim Brown, too.

But he's not forgotten. I remember him. :wink:

Pedant alert - Ralph was spelled "Callachan", IIRC.

That must be the gaelic spelling of Ralph then aye?:greengrin

09-09-2010, 07:26 PM
Ex Dunfermline player? Did he play for us? Really? Or is it another one?

Same guy - played 1 game, thrown in as a 17 year old at hunbrox by Bertie.

09-09-2010, 07:33 PM
There's been two WI I think, the one in the 80s scored loads for us and was an excellent goal poacher can't remember the other one tho I think he either came from or went to Dundee?

Aye. The 2nd Willie Irvine was one of the 5 signings made with the Durie money in 86. Never really made it for us though but I think he scored a barrowload for Stirling where we got him from. Just a level too far for him.

09-09-2010, 07:34 PM
Same guy - played 1 game, thrown in as a 17 year old at hunbrox by Bertie.

Indeed and I think he had his best spell at Falkirk where he always seemed to do well down the wing against us iirc.

09-09-2010, 07:36 PM
pretty sure that marinkov made his debut along beside a certain mr sauzee[at brockville] think we won 2 1

He did and I think he was an uder rated CH. Did a good job for us in the 2nd half of 1st division season.

09-09-2010, 07:48 PM
Oot aw the names been banded about oan here ma yin was the best.

Eamonn Bannon played one game when he had a right bald heid and was aboot 48 :hilarious

09-09-2010, 08:07 PM
Can't recall seeing Steven Pinau or Gregor Szamotulski in this thread....could be wrong though.

Also:
Dennis Nelson
Willie Paterson
Alec Pringle

09-09-2010, 08:12 PM
Johnny Leith tae.

Leith_Hibee
09-09-2010, 08:50 PM
I played against Graeme Love last season, he was player / manager of Bathgate Thistle in the Junior ranks.

What ever happened to Derick Rodier?! (For the aulder guys!)

09-09-2010, 09:27 PM
chic charnley, lee power and paul tosh

09-09-2010, 09:51 PM
Patrick Noubisse
Janos Matyus
Mark & Allan Dempsie

Frogga
09-09-2010, 09:53 PM
Franck Sauzee... (Joking :wink:)

Janos Matyus
Sowumni
Allan Smart
Steven Pinau
Craig James
Tom Smith

Mark79
09-09-2010, 09:58 PM
Schmugge? (sp) was he not Alex miller era. Scored at pittodrie if I remember.

09-09-2010, 10:33 PM
Patrick Noubisse
Janos Matyus
Mark & Allan Dempsie

allan is back playing at elgin city, not sure what mark is doing these days. he retired fully from football in 2006 http://www.lennoxherald.co.uk/dunbartonshire-sport/dunbartonshire-football/dumbarton-fc/2006/12/07/mark-dempsie-admitted-that-his-retirement-from-football-at-just-26-will-probably-not-hit-home-until-next-season-writes-andy-galloway-78846-18226027/

09-09-2010, 10:38 PM
Janos Matyus is at FC Tatabanya

09-09-2010, 10:39 PM
Patrick Noubisse
Janos Matyus
Mark & Allan Dempsie

For Noubissie, check my mammoth list on page 12 of where a lot of our recent ex-players are now.

To save you the bother of going to check it out, Noubissie currently plays for Kettering Town.

10-09-2010, 11:25 PM
Justin Skinner been mentioned yet?

dunno why his name popped into my head at 25 past midnight but it did :greengrin

11-09-2010, 08:04 PM
Can't recall seeing Steven Pinau or Gregor Szamotulski in this thread....could be wrong though.

Also:
Dennis Nelson
Willie Paterson
Alec Pringle

Alex Pringle. Yeah, he was bad.

ClewsHibs
11-09-2010, 11:20 PM
Jonatan Johansson :greengrin

11-09-2010, 11:39 PM
Don't know if he's been mentioned yet, but the fantastically named (and coiffured) Yannick Zamernardi must get a mention.

Loved him, for some infantile reason.

NYHibby
14-09-2010, 07:44 PM
Keegan Ayre is coaching a youth team in Canada (http://www.cmfsc.ca/coachesbios.htm) after failing to make it with a team in a 4th tier American league.

14-09-2010, 08:00 PM
Graeme Love
Graeme Donald
Greg Miller
Ian Cameron
Brian Grant

mcaitchi
14-09-2010, 08:21 PM
surprised no one has mentioned the one and only benny brazil he was the ultimate pish

One of my first memories of easter road was the fans all signing

" Benny Brazil - The Elephant Man "

Kevin McAllister and the one and only Jimmy Boco!!

[/B]

Spoke to the man himself on Facebook the other day, he runs a charity with Patrick Viera and Luma. www.diambars.org (http://www.diambars.org) .... He was asking me if I was proud of the new stand and how big yogi was getting on. An absolute gentleman.

Have A Pannini - football sticker with the Name of "JIMMY BOCO" - Although it`s actually a picture of " ollie gotskalktsen" - spelling- ok please i dont know it ???

:confused: - dont think ollie has been forgotten tho - but at least we didnt sing " he`s fat he`s round and bounces on the ground - it`s alan rough " !! to a hibs legend like ollie ?????

What about a childhood legend for me - STEVIE COWAN, well was at least for one season lol

14-09-2010, 10:48 PM
i thought lovering was class..... never really understood why we got rid so quickly.

the boy had some engine on him

archiebald
15-09-2010, 11:14 AM
George McCluskey + Thomson Allan

15-09-2010, 12:06 PM
What about this guy?

Don't see him mentioned, top left.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/2866282/Ex-Hibs-player-Bobby-Smith-dies-of-cancer.html

Dougie Bell!

archiebald
15-09-2010, 12:24 PM
Laurie Dunn + Bobby Thomson + Stuart Beadie

15-09-2010, 12:49 PM
Bjarni Larusson
*****y McGibbon
Neil Orr

15-09-2010, 01:05 PM
One of my first memories of easter road was the fans all signing

" Benny Brazil - The Elephant Man "

I only really remember that song been used when Davie Dodds came to visit

E.T. is a Hibee
15-09-2010, 05:41 PM
Was havin a wee blether with my mate the other day about ex hibs players that really werent that good/came from nowhere/went nowhere. there were a few in the first division season of 98/99.

names we mentioned were Peter Guggi??? remember him?? and big Alex Marinkov.

who has been your fave player to have came fi nowhere?

wonder where these guys are now?

Ray "Razor" Wilkins.:cool2:

15-09-2010, 06:34 PM
Lillian Martin :cool2:

15-09-2010, 08:22 PM
As far as i could be bothered to look noones mentioned these two...

I'll raise you all colin nish and joe Keenan(sp?)