Tartan Army in full voice for anthem

Lets hope Fletcher takes club for into game....and Brown doesnt :wink:

Fresh air swipe for good goal scoring chance

03-09-2010, 06:30 PM
never even touched the ball..seen pens given for less

03-09-2010, 06:33 PM
thats an odd spot...all the Liths wearing Yellow boots....sponsorship deal I presume:rolleyes:

Can we not have Tartan ones :greengrin

03-09-2010, 06:33 PM
Good save from the beast

03-09-2010, 06:37 PM
Good save from the beast
teh ref has given soft fouls often but missed Wier being halved to give the chance...need to take chances we are making

03-09-2010, 06:38 PM
is it getting played on a public park?

03-09-2010, 06:38 PM
Ukio Bankos advertising track side...hope they were asked to pay up front :agree:

03-09-2010, 06:39 PM

Nope, it's in one of those tremendous stadiums that Romanov has built back home :agree:

03-09-2010, 06:40 PM
Free kicks galore for Scotland.....where is Deek when we need him ?!?!? :wink:

03-09-2010, 06:40 PM
Nope, it's in one of those tremendous stadiums that Romanov has built back home :agree:

theres a wee place like that at bathgate sports centre, but this one has advertising boards and a clock

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-09-2010, 06:42 PM
anyone know where i could watch the game on line??
coz im on poland i cant even get commenrty

03-09-2010, 06:43 PM
anyone know where i could watch the game on line??
coz im on poland i cant even get commenrty

http://www.freelivesportstv.com/soccer/2010/09/02/watch-lithuania-v-scotland-online-free-live-streaming-video-uefa-euro-2012-qualifying-friday-september-3-2010-1915-bst/

03-09-2010, 06:43 PM

It might be green but is pretty bumpy..rubbish with the track around

03-09-2010, 06:45 PM
great strike by Robson...we really need to convert one as we are well on top

Calvin
03-09-2010, 06:46 PM
Free kicks galore for Scotland.....where is Deek when we need him ?!?!? :wink:

Just what I was thinking!

We're actually playing pretty well, but still haven't really had a clear cut chance - the danger of playing only one up top I think.

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-09-2010, 06:48 PM
http://www.freelivesportstv.com/soccer/2010/09/02/watch-lithuania-v-scotland-online-free-live-streaming-video-uefa-euro-2012-qualifying-friday-september-3-2010-1915-bst/

you are a legend mate, thank you very much!

hibeeleicester
03-09-2010, 06:49 PM
NAISMITH IS PISH :grr:

How does riordan not get in the team and that twat does.

03-09-2010, 06:50 PM
you are a legend mate, thank you very much!

No probs bud.

03-09-2010, 06:54 PM

Naismith plays for Rangers, that's why.

03-09-2010, 06:57 PM
Mikolooneytunes diving again :rolleyes:

03-09-2010, 07:01 PM
We are making this team look very poor.....but stil 0-0

khib70
03-09-2010, 07:04 PM
Pretty good overall. We've been the better side, and avoided going behind. Time to move on and step it up a bit, though

03-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Pretty good overall. We've been the better side, and avoided going behind. Time to move on and step it up a bit, though

Nowt up front at all though - apart from a couple of Robson efforts from range, we've done nothing to trouble them.

03-09-2010, 07:09 PM
Nowt up front at all though - apart from a couple of Robson efforts from range, we've done nothing to trouble them.

Agreed - Miller needs a partner up front. Boyd should come on IMHO. :agree:

03-09-2010, 07:17 PM
Andorra0-2RussiaFT

<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3263110>Armenia0-1Rep of Ireland
FT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264775>Belgium0-0Germany
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3280174>England1-0Bulgaria
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264777>Estonia1-0Italy thats a score line
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264778>Faroe Islands0-3Serbia
FT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264769>France0-0Belarus
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3263113>Greece0-1Georgia
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3282524>Iceland0-0Norway
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264776>Kazakhstan0-3Turkey
FT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3263115>Latvia0-2Croatia
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264780>Liechtenstein0-1Spain
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3250263>Lithuania0-0Scotland
HT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264772>Luxembourg0-3Bosnia-H
HT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264764>Moldova2-0Finland
FT
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3263116>Montenegro1-0Wales
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3282523>Portugal v Cyprus
20:45
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264771>Romania0-0Albania
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264765>San Marino0-1Netherlands
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3263112>Slovakia0-0FYR Macedonia
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3256432>Slovenia0-0Northern Ireland
L
<LI id=liveScoresSummary_match_3264762>Sweden1-0Hungary

03-09-2010, 07:17 PM

aye and def faddy will take a player or two out the game.get them on potter, this mob are pash :agree:

03-09-2010, 07:18 PM

No No..McFadden for Naismith after 60/65

03-09-2010, 07:19 PM
Arrrggghhh let Fletch take a free kick

HibeeDave
03-09-2010, 07:19 PM
another Riordan type freekick wasted

03-09-2010, 07:20 PM
another Riordan type freekick wasted

:agree: or McFadden

03-09-2010, 07:21 PM
great chance...why did miller not finish like that last week:rolleyes:

03-09-2010, 07:25 PM
refs not getting everything right..but he is taking no crap either

03-09-2010, 07:27 PM

It's to do with the colour of his club jersey and the allegiance of the manager sadly.

03-09-2010, 07:31 PM
:grr: how many chances are we going to pass up

EasterRoad4Ever
03-09-2010, 07:32 PM
great chance...why did miller not finish like that last week:rolleyes:

Simply because beating Hibs means more to him than scoring for his country. These guys are all me, me, me and no better than below average at their jobs. If they weren't playing football they's be drawing the dole. S'pose it avoids us honest taxpayers having to pay their Sky TV, fags and bottles of cider :cool2:

03-09-2010, 07:34 PM
John Robertson has described the Scotland performance as "terrific". Am I watching a different game ? We have looked OK, but not "terrific" surely ?!?!?

We are playing Lithuania FFS ! :grr:

03-09-2010, 07:35 PM
Is Hartley on the bench? Would have him on for Robson now

03-09-2010, 07:35 PM
Maybe I'm living in the past, but is anyone else saddened by the way that the commentators/pundits are delighted by the way the match is going?

It's Lithuania FFS! :grr:

03-09-2010, 07:36 PM
What game is fatty Robertson watching? He is talking like we are playing like Brazil! It's dull football and poor quality stuff. Deek would have had 2 by now.

03-09-2010, 07:37 PM
John Robertson has described the Scotland performance as "terrific". Am I watching a different game ? We have looked OK, but not "terrific" surely ?!?!?

We are playing well..the lack of atmosphere makes it seem more dull. Also These are the kind of matches where we have often had brown breeks...very relaxed tonight...just need the gosl to prevent the sucker punch

03-09-2010, 07:37 PM
Maybe I'm living in the past, but is anyone else saddened by the way that the commentators/pundits are delighted by the way the match is going?

Great minds think alike - see my post 1 minute before yours ! :agree:

03-09-2010, 07:38 PM

Compared to some of the more recent performances, it is terrific :cool2:

03-09-2010, 07:38 PM
Is Miko allowed 10 fouls before a yellow :grr::grr:

03-09-2010, 07:40 PM
Mcfadden about to come one.

03-09-2010, 07:41 PM
Faddy for Robson, positive move

03-09-2010, 07:41 PM
This is like watching Hibs (so frustrating!)

Come on Scotland FFS. :grr:

03-09-2010, 07:43 PM

I'd be satisfied with what I'm watching if it was a Division One match. This is international standard? And Deeks can't get a game? Jeez-oh.

03-09-2010, 07:46 PM
Right. Can't handle that tube robbo anymore. I'm switching off.

03-09-2010, 07:46 PM
I'd be satisfied with what I'm watching if it was a Division One match. This is international standard? And Deeks can't get a game? Jeez-oh.

Agreed - two dreadful teams.....dire stuff.

Is John Robertson being paid his pal Levein to talk up the Scottish performance?!?!?

03-09-2010, 07:47 PM

Is John Robertson being paid his pal Levein to talk up the Scottish performance?!?!?

What are you talking about? Great performance so far and we're just needing that lucky break up front.

Now, where's that cheque from cough Levein cough.

03-09-2010, 07:48 PM
James Morrison about to come on for Scotland - is he not a singer ?!? :cool2:

03-09-2010, 07:49 PM

It would certainly be a Wonderful World if he scored:agree:(we'll struggle if the thread goes down that route:greengrin)

03-09-2010, 07:50 PM

I actually had to look him up, and my first reaction was exactly that.

03-09-2010, 07:50 PM

Not at all. Everyone really has been absolutely fantastic. :agree:

Silversand
03-09-2010, 07:51 PM
Frustrating game so far.

Not sure why Dorrans isn't on yet.

03-09-2010, 07:51 PM
who said its like watching Hibs :grr::grr::grr::grr: trying to walk the ball into the net.....blooter the bugger

03-09-2010, 07:52 PM
who said its like watching Hibs :grr::grr::grr::grr: trying to walk the ball into the net.....blooter the bugger

Me !

03-09-2010, 07:52 PM
Not at all. Everyone really has been absolutely fantastic. :agree:

:agree: so much more shape than recent years

03-09-2010, 07:54 PM
Dorrans for Naysmith now...can't do much more

03-09-2010, 08:01 PM
10 mins to go, we are the better team. Think we are going to find out about Levein now.

03-09-2010, 08:02 PM
10 mins to go

In my day a match used to last 90 minutes.

hibeeleicester
BERRA :grr:

There must be a lot of injury time. :agree:

03-09-2010, 08:05 PM
Even as a big Scotland fan if we don't win this we are friar tucked. Any less than full points against Lithuania and Liechtenstein means we are pretty much out.

03-09-2010, 08:06 PM
better team by miles and still no win :rolleyes:

Don't see what else Craig could do

03-09-2010, 08:06 PM
Scottish football is cr&p.

Dreadful stuff.

03-09-2010, 08:08 PM

Shake off the West Coast shackles for a start.

Not play one up front against Lithuania.

03-09-2010, 08:08 PM
Rubbish from us, there goalie had nothing to do besides a long range effort from Robson.

03-09-2010, 08:09 PM
I'm sure Deeks could have put away at least one of those free kicks! :grr:

Much better performance and a really entertaining match. Naismith and Miller were outstanding and should maybe share the bottle of bubbly.

ForeverHibs93

exactly my thoughts:agree:, its not Brazil. We should be going to attack these teams.

hibbytam
03-09-2010, 08:10 PM

And not make that one Kenny ****ing Miller.

03-09-2010, 08:13 PM

Not having Stevie Naigoals in the starting XI would be a step forward

calamitus
03-09-2010, 08:13 PM

Totally - I reckon we'd have won by 2 if Riordan had been playing. I thought it was a really good performance by Scotland tonight - great passing and movement, and if Miller had been playing the way he played against us a couple of weeks ago, we'd have probably scored one even without Deeks.

03-09-2010, 08:14 PM
Why did he persist with only 1 upfront :grr: I think we had to win that match IMO to give us a chance in this group.

Glorious failure again. No chance of qualification now if we can't beat that rubbish. Headless chicken, Miller, covered a lot of useless ground but was utterly ineffective. His missed header from where he was in front of goal was unforgivable. Naismith also squandered two great chances. Hutton for me was the only one who looked class.

hibeeleicester
Mcgregor
Hutton Mcmanus Berra Wallace
Mcfadden Flecther Brown Dorrans
Riordan
Fletcher

JUST DO IT.

03-09-2010, 08:16 PM
That is us out already I'm afraid unless we miraculously take three points off of Spain or manage a home and away against the Czech's. Piss poor from Levein in what was a must win game. We should've had a cavalry charge at the end.

sundo1875
03-09-2010, 08:17 PM
Just realized Boyd was on the bench He should hve been playon

NiallGR
03-09-2010, 08:19 PM
I am generally suprised by the amount of positive posts relating to our performance. To go to a country such as Lithuania, play 1 up front and not make their keeper make any real saves is shocking. We can all be happy at a solid defensive display and i would be delighted if it was against quality opposition............but the Hearts Next Picks are not. Lets not forget they also had the best chances in the game!

Craig Levein has never changed his style since his days with Cowden, typical hearts mentality, dont get beat and anything else is a bonus. For me, it is not good enough against teams like tonight. We must go to win the game!

Much better performance and a really entertaining match. Naismith and Miller were outstanding and should maybe share the bottle of bubbly.

PeeKay
Usual whinging p!sh from Harry Potter. It was all the referee's fault that Scotland were unable to put the ball in the net.

03-09-2010, 08:22 PM
What's this "front foot" that seems to have been invented tonight?

03-09-2010, 08:23 PM
Miller played well for me, had a hard task on his hands. Had Steven Fletcher been playing in behind him, in the second half particularly, we would have won.

Clearly we were the superior side, but we were criminally pedestrian.

03-09-2010, 08:25 PM
Headless chicken, Miller, covered a lot of useless ground but was utterly ineffective.

We could have played John Rankin up front on his own for the same effort and probably more end result.

03-09-2010, 08:26 PM
What's this "front foot" that seems to have been invented tonight?

Is he related to Broad?

03-09-2010, 08:26 PM
There must be a lot of injury time. :agree:

Phannys :greengrin

They didnae have Sky+ in my day......

03-09-2010, 08:27 PM
I am generally suprised by the amount of positive posts relating to our performance. To go to a country such as Lithuania, play 1 up front and not make their keeper make any real saves is shocking. We can all be happy at a solid defensive display and i would be delighted if it was against quality opposition............but the Hearts Next Picks are not. Lets not forget they also had the best chances in the game!

Craig Levein has never changed his style since his days with Cowden, typical hearts mentality, dont get beat and anything else is a bonus. For me, it is not good enough against teams like tonight. We must go to win the game!

I agree with everything you say.

TheEastTerrace
03-09-2010, 08:28 PM
You know what, a draw against Lithuania doesn't surprise me in the slightest because, quite frankly, that is Scotland's level these days. I cannot believe that people are praising any performance where we set ourselves out 4-1-4-1 with Kenny 'pinball' Miller up *****ing front and get a 0-0 over in Lithuania. We drew with a bunch of ex JAMBOS!!!. That's it for us as far as qualification goes. :agree:

03-09-2010, 08:34 PM
Phannys :greengrin

They didnae have Sky+ in my day......

6-1. :thumbsup: Great goal from Latapy. :notworthy:

03-09-2010, 08:38 PM

Agree:thumbsup:
Second half Miller had absoluely no support and became totally detached from the midfield
On the odd occasion the ball was played up, there were three defenders around him and the nearest Scot was 15/20 yards away.
John Robertson ( I believe it was) slavered on about "Solid at the back , hardworking and industious in midfield " - what about in the final third of the park ?
Sweet FA :bitchy:
Again we get a manager , this time CL, blaming a referee for the what was really a "failure"
by his players

This post says it all for me
moff1875

You know what, a draw against Lithuania doesn't surprise me in the slightest because, quite frankly, that is Scotland's level these days. I cannot believe that people are praising any performance where we set ourselves out 4-1-4-1 with Kenny 'pinball' Miller up *****ing front and get a 0-0 over in Lithuania. We drew with a bunch of ex JAMBOS!!!. That's it for us as far as qualification goes

03-09-2010, 08:40 PM
6-1. :thumbsup: Great goal from Latapy. :notworthy:

Thats on DVD, no Sky+ :greengrin

"Russel Latapy.... twisting, turning, a lovely one two, that... was.... absolutely wonderful... 6 of the best for Hibs..... They've been just.... stunning"

crash
03-09-2010, 08:46 PM
Lithuania were pretty poor, very physical,never known a game in which Scotland
had so many free kicks, which amounted to nothing. If Riordan had been playing we would have won that match,hell mend you Levein:bitchy:

03-09-2010, 08:46 PM
We are making this team look very poor.....but stil 0-0

We are playing well..the lack of atmosphere makes it seem more dull. Also These are the kind of matches where we have often had brown breeks...very relaxed tonight...just need the gosl to prevent the sucker punch

:agree: so much more shape than recent years

Sorry, DTS but were you watching the game without the use of those goggles in yer avatar?

Playing well? - Played well enough to make qualification look impossible already.

Shape? - Tidy enough at the back although the Liths were not a threat in attack. Ragged in midfield. Robson, Naismith, Fletcher very disappointing. Brown never disappointed, just delivered **** all. Predictably.
One man up front in a game we had to win. Dearie me.

Better by miles? It was 0-0 man. And never looked like being anything else.

What else Craig could do? Resign. He is a fud. Fact.

03-09-2010, 08:50 PM
You know what, a draw against Lithuania doesn't surprise me in the slightest because, quite frankly, that is Scotland's level these days. I cannot believe that people are praising any performance where we set ourselves out 4-1-4-1 with Kenny 'pinball' Miller up *****ing front and get a 0-0 over in Lithuania. We drew with a bunch of ex JAMBOS!!!. That's it for us as far as qualification goes. :agree:

Post of the day.
Probably been done elsewhere but is anyone drawing comparisons with what Northern Ireland have just done in Maribor of all places?

03-09-2010, 08:51 PM
Sorry, DTS but were you watching the game without the use of those goggles in yer avatar?

Playing well? - Played well enough to make qualification look impossible already.

Shape? - Tidy enough at the back although the Liths were not a threat in attack. Ragged in midfield. Robson, Naismith, Fletcher very disappointing. Brown never disappointed, just delivered **** all. Predictably.

Lithuania - we've played them umpteen times but tonight they were miles poorer than before. They were there for the taking but Levein completely bottled it. He had to bring on Boyd after an hour. Bottled it. Then has the cheek to complain about them breaking the game up when he made a living out of doing that at hearts. Fud alright.

chorley_fm
03-09-2010, 08:55 PM
dissapointing (as usual)

03-09-2010, 08:59 PM
If we'd have been playing away to the Czech republic or Spain tonight then you couldn't argue with the formation and tactics, but it was Lithuania we were playing ffs.

Had a bet on 0-0 so pleased from the point of view of winning some cash but from a Scotland point of view, a big missed opportunity.

03-09-2010, 09:33 PM
Already we're really up against it in terms of trying to get that second spot. By looking at the number of points that the runners up had in the last European Championships qualification campaign, we will probably need about 16 or 17 points to get second place. To achieve that number of points, we'll need to beat Lithuania at home, Liechtenstein home and away and we'll probably have to take six points from the Czech Republic as well. I'm assuming that we'll take no points from our two matches against Spain.

If we had got a win tonight, four points against the Czech Republic might have been enough but I don't think that will be the case now.

03-09-2010, 09:52 PM
Lithuania were pretty poor, very physical,never known a game in which Scotland
had so many free kicks, which amounted to nothing. If Riordan had been playing we would have won that match,hell mend you Levein:bitchy:

But according to co-commentator, John Robertson, "...Robson can be pleased with his performance tonight...". :confused:

We wasted a number of our free-kicks and corners and that's the main reason Robson was on the park. Can't afford that luxury at international level.

03-09-2010, 10:10 PM
However biased toward Hibs this sounds, I really can't fathom out why Mr 'I want the best players to play for Scotland' Levein doesn't even seem to consider Riordan, but driving back home I had the radio on and Dickhead Cameron didn't even mention Riordan despite the constant blabbing about how he didn't agree with the team choice. And I'm sorry but John Robertson, to me, is an annoying wee scrote who never missed an opportunity to mention Hearts during the tv commentary. I just don't believe he was ever a Hibs fan even if plenty of his relatives were. In fact, this game was really just like a training game at Riccarton, Scotland v Hearts 2nd II, with the manager, assistant manager, and whatever Kenny Black is, all with strong Hearts connections. I can honestly say I have never been less enthusiatic about the state of the Scottish national team.

I though it was poor. The usual defensive crap from Potter and as most of us here thought Naismith in place of Riordan was diablolical but unsurprising. He seems to have his friends within the media though and no doubt this latest serving of crap will be well received.

I'm sure he could've but he wasn't playing was he ??

Why are so many posts concentrating on a player who isn't even in the full squad ??

03-09-2010, 10:13 PM
However biased toward Hibs this sounds, I really can't fathom out why Mr 'I want the best players to play for Scotland' Levein doesn't even seem to consider Riordan, but driving back home I had the radio on and Dickhead Cameron didn't even mention Riordan despite the constant blabbing about how he didn't agree with the team choice. And I'm sorry but John Robertson, to me, is an annoying wee scrote who never missed an opportunity to mention Hearts during the tv commentary. I just don't believe he was ever a Hibs fan even if plenty of his relatives were. In fact, this game was really just like a training game at Riccarton, Scotland v Hearts 2nd II, with the manager, assistant manager, and whatever Kenny Black is, all with strong Hearts connections. I can honestly say I have never been less enthusiatic about the state of the Scottish national team.

Haven't you thought it might have something to do with his work-rate and maybe even his attitude on the park sometimes ???

03-09-2010, 10:20 PM

Didn't you see MIko 1v1 with McGregor in the first half , or in the 2nd half when the forward rounded McGregor and for nothing more than a poor touch would've probably put them 1-0 up ?????

They had 2 great chances so they were a real threat in attack............

03-09-2010, 10:26 PM

Well why would he mention a player who wasn't even in the squad ???

03-09-2010, 10:33 PM
Scotland were okay in their hurried, clumsy way tonight. They matched Lith physically except up front where they missed big Fletcher. Lith's goalie was first class.

It was B-list stuff most of the time though. Sometimes when the ball was bouncing around it could have been a game in a public park. I doubt Spain will be too concerned!

hibeeleicester
03-09-2010, 10:40 PM
Haven't you thought it might have something to do with his work-rate and maybe even his attitude on the park sometimes ???

Attitude on the park, yeah he has a moan but that shows dedication to the cause, most of the scotland squad dont seem to have that.

03-09-2010, 10:42 PM
Attitude on the park, yeah he has a moan but that shows dedication to the cause, most of the scotland squad dont seem to have that.

That will get you nowhere when you are playing International football away from home will it ???

Deek is a luxury player who Scotland aren't good enough to have............

hibeeleicester
03-09-2010, 10:44 PM
That will get you nowhere when you are playing International football away from home will it ???

Naismith and miller were useless, robson wasnt much better. Deek WOULD of scored tonight.

03-09-2010, 10:47 PM
Naismith and miller were useless, robson wasnt much better. Deek WOULD of scored tonight.

You must've watched a differant game from the one I was watching...

03-09-2010, 10:49 PM

As opposed to David Weir who goes about grabbing other players by the throat and Allan McGregor who goes around feigning headbutts to try and get fellow players sent off? Personally I don't think it has anything to do with Riordan's on-field attitude whatsoever.

It is absolutely ridiculous that Derek Riordan can't get into that current Scotland squad.

03-09-2010, 11:00 PM
As opposed to David Weir who goes about grabbing other players by the throat and Allan McGregor who goes around feigning headbutts to try and get fellow players sent off? Personally I don't think it has anything to do with Riordan's on-field attitude whatsoever.

It is absolutely ridiculous that Derek Riordan can't get into that current Scotland squad.

What Weir and McGregor do has nothing to do with Riordan... They play for Scotland because they play for the best team.. Who else who was available for tonight would take there place ??

Nothing to do with his on-field attitude ???How many times do you see Weir and McGregor throwing a tantrum because they don't get the ball in a match???

hibeeleicester
03-09-2010, 11:03 PM
What Weir and McGregor do has nothing to do with Riordan... They play for Scotland because they play for the best team.. Who else who was available for tonight would take there place ??

Nothing to do with his on-field attitude ???How many times do you see Weir and McGregor throwing a tantrum because they don't get the ball in a match???

Because they dont want it cos they know they are pish. :greengrin

With a few better players round him eg. D. Fletcher , then deek would benefit and would complain less.

Frogga
03-09-2010, 11:03 PM
Think Lithuania played us at our own game tonight, hitting us hard and 'disrupting' our play with no-nonsense football.

Seems a bit rich of us to moan at them for this style of play when we've been doing it for years now.

It was an OK performance. It was one of those where if we'd nicked a goal we'd have been quite pleased I reckon. Anyway, onwards and upwards.

03-09-2010, 11:20 PM

I totally agree with that...apart from the Deek bit.

Robson was useless, Miller looked fat and unfit and as for Naismith...does he even get a game for Rangers? The only players with a good mark from me were Fletcher and Hutton who had zero intelligent movement ahead of them.

All the efforts we had on target were right down the throat of the keeper and Deek might have put one of them away but what would he have added to the team tonight? Tonight wasn't a night for someone like Derek whos head does go down and is disinterested when things dont go his way.

Our problem is that we have no link up between the midfield and the striker(s). Someone who doesn't just have powder-puff tricks like McFadyen but a real driving force. I don't know what's happened to Brown since he left us but he hasn't come on at all. Think Gerrard or Lampard in their club roles when they are allowed to play behind the strikers....that's what is missing.

Hartley should have held and Fletcher should have been told to perform that role. He's the best we have by a country mile and could easily adapt his abilities to perform that role. We need at least two people in the centre of midfield either bossing things or not letting the opposition play. Spain or the Czechs will run all over us if we don't get the middle sorted.

is Arteta Scottish nowadays?

hibeeleicester
03-09-2010, 11:23 PM

Robson was useless, Miller looked fat and unfit and as for Naismith...does he even get a game for Rangers? The only players with a good mark from me were Fletcher and Hutton who had zero intelligent movement ahead of them.

All the efforts we had on target were right down the throat of the keeper and Deek might have put one of them away but what would he have added to the team tonight? Tonight wasn't a night for someone like Derek whos head does go down and is disinterested when things dont go his way.

Our problem is that we have no link up between the midfield and the striker(s). Someone who doesn't just have powder-puff tricks like McFadyen but a real driving force. I don't know what's happened to Brown since he left us but he hasn't come on at all. Think Gerrard or Lampard in their club roles when they are allowed to play behind the strikers....that's what is missing.

Hartley should have held and Fletcher should have been told to perform that role. He's the best we have by a country mile and could easily adapt his abilities to perform that role. We need at least two people in the centre of midfield either bossing things or not letting the opposition play. Spain or the Czechs will run all over us if we don't get the middle sorted.

That one when naismith got the ball caught up in his feet, if it was deek... first time BANG goal. :wink:

vahibbie
03-09-2010, 11:36 PM
I'm sure he could've but he wasn't playing was he ??

Why are so many posts concentrating on a player who isn't even in the full squad ??

I think it's because most of said posters believe he should be.
Just a guess mind you:wink:

04-09-2010, 12:02 AM
have to say that i thought scotland.....i mean rangers celtic select were absolutely pish poor. No cutting edge whatsoever, a typical levien team all defensive and no strikeforce......pish full stip, horrendous just complete keek......rank ....infact if i could even see what i was wwriting i would continue but as im doing this on my nokia smart pgone and can only see so much of the text with the rest being guesswork i...i have to say **** levien he is a yam duffbag and i hate him and hope he fails miserably along with the old firm selct............goodnight and gobless

Musselbound
04-09-2010, 12:34 AM

Think Dorrans but why the hell did he not get a game? We were crying out for a player like that. Robson and Brown should've lasted an hour maximum. How players like that and Naismith started ahead of him is beyond me as Dorrans does actually have a bit of dig as well.

Although I wasn't initially happy to see his name on the teamsheet, I thought Lee McCulloch did a good job in the holding role. Whatever else we lacked I don't think that was a problem.

04-09-2010, 05:35 AM

So lets carry on playing 11 donkeys who run about:agree:

04-09-2010, 06:28 AM
Post of the day.
Probably been done elsewhere but is anyone drawing comparisons with what Northern Ireland have just done in Maribor of all places?

Judging by the BBC match report, NI took a battering and just nicked a goal on the counter in the second half.

Scotland were the better team and probably would have won if a) Robson's supposed good delivery from set pieces had been present or b) if Levein had been more positive in his subs.

patlowe
04-09-2010, 07:24 AM
Deek would have buried those chances that fell to Naismith in the second half,no questions asked. That is the difference at this level, having that little bit of class when it matters. We need match-winners in the side,enough of this "he's in the team because he works hard" nonsense. Anyone can work hard, very few can finish like Deek.

04-09-2010, 09:34 AM
One up front against the mighty Lithuania, that tells you everything you need to know.:bitchy:

04-09-2010, 01:31 PM
Judging by the BBC match report, NI took a battering and just nicked a goal on the counter in the second half.

Scotland were the better team and probably would have won if a) Robson's supposed good delivery from set pieces had been present or b) if Levein had been more positive in his subs.

They won against opposition superior to Lithuania who are evidently, quite rank.
We never come close regardless of the ifs and buts.

I know which I prefer.

04-09-2010, 01:37 PM
Didn't you see MIko 1v1 with McGregor in the first half , or in the 2nd half when the forward rounded McGregor and for nothing more than a poor touch would've probably put them 1-0 up ?????

They had 2 great chances so they were a real threat in attack............

So we were crap at the back as well? That what you're saying?
They had nothing up front and a decent side would have taken both those chances and made a number more besides.

A real threat my erchie.

04-09-2010, 01:45 PM

Attitude on the park seems to keep Scott Brown his place.
Don't think he would have got his booking if he hadn't been spraffing at the ref like a baby earlier and he walked a tightrope thereafter.

Attitude?
Alan Hutton? (Face on him like a skelpederse)

Attitude?
Allan McGregor? (Banned for life remember?)

Attitude?
David Weir, Lee McCulloch, Kris Boyd (all retired)?

All this bollox about Naismith missing his chance while he adjusted his feet (not to mention his passback to the keeper on his 'good' foot). **** that.
Problem eliminated if it's Deek who can hit the ball beautifully with either foot and whose 'workrate' has been exceptional recently, I think.

Scotland are finished.

04-09-2010, 05:40 PM
Attitude on the park seems to keep Scott Brown his place.
Don't think he would have got his booking if he hadn't been spraffing at the ref like a baby earlier and he walked a tightrope thereafter.

Attitude?
Alan Hutton? (Face on him like a skelpederse)

Attitude?
Allan McGregor? (Banned for life remember?)

Attitude?
David Weir, Lee McCulloch, Kris Boyd (all retired)?

All this bollox about Naismith missing his chance while he adjusted his feet (not to mention his passback to the keeper on his 'good' foot). **** that.
Problem eliminated if it's Deek who can hit the ball beautifully with either foot and whose 'workrate' has been exceptional recently, I think.

Scotland are finished.

Didn't Potter babble on about mixing up the set up for the better (or something like that)?

What does he do...allows players who turned their back on Scotland to return and starts going back down the 'Scottish Grannies' route.

If Scotland were playing in my back garden, i'd shut the curtains

05-09-2010, 11:48 AM
Another point, what's happend to Scott Brown?

Gordon Strapon has killed the boy's career, and Mowbray carried on where Strapon left off. He looked destined to great things when he was with us, now he's a shadow of the player he was.

Maybe Blobby was right, he was responsible for the golden generation?

05-09-2010, 11:53 AM
Scotland are finished.

apparently not as this morning, read a story that Levein thinks he may have to revamp the team to bring in his 'flair' players :faf:

05-09-2010, 12:02 PM
apparently not as this morning, read a story that Levein thinks he may have to revamp the team to bring in his 'flair' players :faf:

Whats funny about that, Kirk Clubfoot will make a huge difference to the way we attack, his swashbuckling style will have us group leaders within 3 games.