View Full Version : Fao any hill walkers oot there...

29-08-2010, 10:04 PM
I've just walked the Aonach Eagach ridge and I've never been so petrified in my life! That's all, I wanted to share this as it's such a MASSIVE achievement :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
01-09-2010, 08:35 PM
I've just walked the Aonach Eagach ridge and I've never been so petrified in my life! That's all, I wanted to share this as it's such a MASSIVE achievement :greengrin

Well done Wembley67 - its a bit of brown-trouser walk isnt it. Now onto Skye...

Jay
01-09-2010, 08:44 PM
Well done you! I wondered how I managed to keep the high score at viva volley thingy :greengrin you've been getting all healthy on me!

bringbackbenny
04-09-2010, 06:22 PM

massive kudos, seen videos and pics - don't think I'll be attempting that without an experienced companion, were you solo?

04-09-2010, 09:13 PM
Well done.
Are you bagging the Munroes?

05-09-2010, 12:22 AM

Just looked it up on YouTube. :top marks for doing it - I got vertigo just watching it online!

05-09-2010, 01:47 PM
Well done Wembley67 - its a bit of brown-trouser walk isnt it. Now onto Skye...

I'm contemplating doing the In Pin at the end of October, trying to get an experienced rock climber with us as nae danger am I doing that without a very experienced rope technician!

massive kudos, seen videos and pics - don't think I'll be attempting that without an experienced companion, were you solo?

Would never do anything like that solo, safety and confidence are the major players for me when it comes down to it. Completely up to you but I wouldn't recommend doing it on your own.

Well done.
Are you bagging the Munroes?

I wasn't planning to but it really is growing on me, started just going up the pentlands to keep away from the pub now I'm jumping over bloody crevices with 1000ft drops :confused::confused::confused:

bringbackbenny
05-09-2010, 04:04 PM
I'm contemplating doing the In Pin at the end of October, trying to get an experienced rock climber with us as nae danger am I doing that without a very experienced rope technician!

Would never do anything like that solo, safety and confidence are the major players for me when it comes down to it. Completely up to you but I wouldn't recommend doing it on your own.

I wasn't planning to but it really is growing on me, started just going up the pentlands to keep away from the pub now I'm jumping over bloody crevices with 1000ft drops :confused::confused::confused:

re the InPIn there are a few guides who specialise in the Cullins and helping non rock climbers to summit. Walk Highlands has loads of anecdotes and recommondations.

Did you see the chap summiting the In Pin on the recent munro man doc on BBC4?

05-09-2010, 05:54 PM
re the InPIn there are a few guides who specialise in the Cullins and helping non rock climbers to summit. Walk Highlands has loads of anecdotes and recommondations.

Did you see the chap summiting the In Pin on the recent munro man doc on BBC4?

I didn't, I'll have a wee look on the iplayer thing and see if it's still kicking about. I know a lot of people leave this one until their last munro but the way I see it is get all the proper scary ones out the way then the rest will be a stroll :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
05-09-2010, 07:30 PM

I've just got back into it over the last five years after doing a lot when I was a laddie, just short of 150 at the minute.

The Munro Man on bbc gives me the screaming heebeie-geebies just to watch - the exposure on the In Pin is horrendous, and as I get older I'm finding my appreciation of the potential effect of 2000ft drops on my body becomes more acute.

06-09-2010, 07:55 AM
I've just got back into it over the last five years after doing a lot when I was a laddie, just short of 150 at the minute.

The Munro Man on bbc gives me the screaming heebeie-geebies just to watch - the exposure on the In Pin is horrendous, and as I get older I'm finding my appreciation of the potential effect of 2000ft drops on my body becomes more acute.

Thats a damn fine number, I'm absolutely no-where near that but my downfall is that I prefer doing it in the winter as it's a lot more challenging. The dodgy ones that involve ridge walking get done in the summer months though purely for safety reasons.

Sick Boy
06-09-2010, 09:14 PM

Me too. It was a great retreat at first but you get a bit bored of walking the same paths all the time so decided to step it up and start bagging Munros. Used to do lots of hill walking when I was younger and on DoE. Went up and did Meall a' Bhuiridh and Creise in Glencoe a couple of months ago. It was a nice ridge walk and a wee bit of scrambling to get to the top of the second summit. Wanted to do Ben Nevis this summer but ran out of time. Away travelling at the moment so I'll need to resume my quest on my return.

barcahibs
07-09-2010, 02:51 AM
Well done! Just googled that and you're a braver man than me!

Did Ben Nevis a couple of years ago and thats it for me. You are never getting me that high again without an airliner.

It was covered in mist when we got to the top so had a wee wander round the summit, only for the cloud to roll away and reveal the drop. My pal was trying to get me to come right to the edge to point out the adjacent ridge that he'd walked the last time he'd gone up, I had to go away and be sick.

Was a fun trip down in the sunshine with my eyes shut on the switchbacks!

Twa Cairpets
09-09-2010, 10:22 PM
Hi Wembley67

Came across this on the "Scottish Hills" website: Aonach Eagach Traverse (http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=8979)

I thought it might stir some memories...

OtterHibee
10-09-2010, 02:15 PM

Good on you! :applause:

It would take a a great deal of effort to coax me into doing that one. I adore hillwalking, but the thought of scrambling makes me feel uneasy.

I'm doing Beinn Na Lap this Sunday - ever so slightly unspectacular by comparison :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
18-10-2010, 09:47 AM
Chuffed with myself doing the round of Lochangar yesterday - 5 munros, 20 miles and deeply knacked today. Not much by way of visibility and pretty strong wind, but a great day out.

18-10-2010, 06:33 PM
Hi Wembley67

Came across this on the "Scottish Hills" website: Aonach Eagach Traverse (http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=8979)

Completely missed this! Some amazing photos there, it's really hard to actually gauge the height and width of some of the ridges. Half of me is saying I would LOVE to do it again but the other half of me is the sensible part :greengrin

I've fallen behind on the walking the last few months but with winter just round the corner.....the fun begins :thumbsup:

18-10-2010, 06:34 PM
Hi Wembley67

Chuffed with myself doing the round of Lochangar yesterday - 5 munros, 20 miles and deeply knacked today. Not much by way of visibility and pretty strong wind, but a great day out.

Pretty impressive TC, doing 5 munros in a day. Twenty miles isn't a huge distance either but spose if it's all hilly it would be a killer :cool2:

Twa Cairpets
18-10-2010, 07:46 PM
Pretty impressive TC, doing 5 munros in a day. Twenty miles isn't a huge distance either but spose if it's all hilly it would be a killer :cool2:

20 miles is plenty enough distance for me these days Wembley...:greengrin

Actually, if you're out to do a few in a day, these are pretty good ones as there isnt a huge drop in height between them (although you do end up quite high as lochangar is almost 3800ft). The benefit in doing them in cloud is that you are not depressed by the horizontal distance either.

barcahibs
20-10-2010, 11:44 PM
This might be a good thread to ask this...

Anyone out there wearing leather walking boots? I was on Mull a couple of years ago and got fed up having soaking wet feet so decided to invest in a pair of leather boots when I got home to replace the cheap walking boots I had.

I got a pair of Karrimor something or others from Blacks and paid about £80-90

They are by far the comfiest boots I've ever had and are totally waterproof which is great but they are starting to look really tatty. I've probably had them about 18 months.

I use Nikwax footwear cleaning gel and Nikwax conditioner for leather on them every month or so, this is what I was advised to do by the sales guy at Blacks but they are really badly scuffed and the leather now has loads of wee tears in it.

Is this normal or have I just got what I deserved for buying 'cheap' boots? Should I be using any other products on them? Polish? Wax?

To be honest I don't really mind the scuffs, shows they've been used, but I'm a bit concerned about the tears in the leather - they started the first time I wore them.

21-10-2010, 03:20 AM

Did you see the crashed WW2 plane wreck? It is between no 2 and 3 I think or it may be 1 and 2.it a long home since I did that walk so can't remember exactly.

21-10-2010, 11:46 AM
This might be a good thread to ask this...

Anyone out there wearing leather walking boots? I was on Mull a couple of years ago and got fed up having soaking wet feet so decided to invest in a pair of leather boots when I got home to replace the cheap walking boots I had.

I got a pair of Karrimor something or others from Blacks and paid about £80-90

They are by far the comfiest boots I've ever had and are totally waterproof which is great but they are starting to look really tatty. I've probably had them about 18 months.

I use Nikwax footwear cleaning gel and Nikwax conditioner for leather on them every month or so, this is what I was advised to do by the sales guy at Blacks but they are really badly scuffed and the leather now has loads of wee tears in it.

Is this normal or have I just got what I deserved for buying 'cheap' boots? Should I be using any other products on them? Polish? Wax?

To be honest I don't really mind the scuffs, shows they've been used, but I'm a bit concerned about the tears in the leather - they started the first time I wore them.

I've got a pair of Berghaus leather walking boots (can't mind the model) that I paid I think around £110 for and they have been through everything that can throw at them.

I've had them about 3 years, they have no damage whatsoever and I've not even treated them.

Infact here they are http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/product.php?product_id=4022

Great boots for durability but it comes down to the fit as well.

I think anything around the £100 will get you boots made to last. Anything else and you are getting into a more specialised field for actually climbing/crampons etc. All in my opinion of course :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
21-10-2010, 12:58 PM
Did you see the crashed WW2 plane wreck? It is between no 2 and 3 I think or it may be 1 and 2.it a long home since I did that walk so can't remember exactly.

The cloud was so low I missed them on the way down (between 3 and 4 clockwise), but when I got down to the bealach, the cloud lifted a bit and what looked like a substantial chunk of engine 100ft or so above. Didnt see the wings though, that was a bit further round.

Originally Posted by barcahibs
Boots...

Like Wembley67 suggests, you get what you pay for. I got a pair of Raichle (now sold under Mammut) about two years ago, and apart from probably now needing resoled, have been the best things I've bought. light, dry, comfy 3-season boots. Love 'em. Make sure you get Gortex or similar liner, and get advice from Tiso's fitters or the like (they are much better than the likes of TOG24, who tend to to be ess well trained, in my experience).

29-10-2010, 12:43 AM
i did it last summer - as a rock climber, it was more of an exciting walk than a massive challenge (you pansies :wink:)

one thing that was brutal though - the decent down the last peak. three hours of scree and crap paths - i lost the will to live many times over.

however, whoever put a pub at the bottom of said hill is an absolute genius and savior. :thumbsup:

barcahibs
12-11-2010, 02:44 AM
The cloud was so low I missed them on the way down (between 3 and 4 clockwise), but when I got down to the bealach, the cloud lifted a bit and what looked like a substantial chunk of engine 100ft or so above. Didnt see the wings though, that was a bit further round.

Like Wembley67 suggests, you get what you pay for. I got a pair of Raichle (now sold under Mammut) about two years ago, and apart from probably now needing resoled, have been the best things I've bought. light, dry, comfy 3-season boots. Love 'em. Make sure you get Gortex or similar liner, and get advice from Tiso's fitters or the like (they are much better than the likes of TOG24, who tend to to be ess well trained, in my experience).

I've got a pair of Berghaus leather walking boots (can't mind the model) that I paid I think around £110 for and they have been through everything that can throw at them.

I've had them about 3 years, they have no damage whatsoever and I've not even treated them.

Infact here they are http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/product.php?product_id=4022

Great boots for durability but it comes down to the fit as well.

I think anything around the £100 will get you boots made to last. Anything else and you are getting into a more specialised field for actually climbing/crampons etc. All in my opinion of course :greengrin

Cheers Guys, I thought £90 was a lot to spend on a pair of boots, I always was a skinflint :greengrin

I'm going to be spending a lot of time outdoors this winter so I got myself a cheap pair of trespass leather hiking boots. £30, but they're going to get ruined so I figured there was no point spending loads of money on them.

So far they're not nearly as comfortable as the Karrimor ones but I've worn them loads and theres not a scratch or a mark on the leather yet. By this stage of wearing the Karrimor ones were already scuffed to hell :grr:

I guess the lesson is don't buy Karrimor.

linlithgowhibbie
12-11-2010, 10:32 AM
Tell you what, I thought the 5 Sisters was tough till I looked at these photos!

Cant wait till next summer. Don't do winter walks/climbs:thumbsup:

24-11-2010, 12:28 PM
Well thats the winter walking well and truly started.

Check oot the Cairngorms :panic::panic::woohoo:

http://www.winterhighland.info/cams/cairngorm-mountain/

bringbackbenny
24-11-2010, 06:17 PM
Wee bit wild for me lol.

Looking forward to an Ochils visit on Friday, Ben Cluech always good for keeping fitness up.

OtterHibee
24-11-2010, 06:53 PM
Well thats the winter walking well and truly started.

Check oot the Cairngorms :panic::panic::woohoo:

http://www.winterhighland.info/cams/cairngorm-mountain/

:agree: :thumbsup: :greengrin

I managed to fit in a couple of excursions in the Cairngorms over the weekend. The weather on Friday was stunning - perfect walking conditions and excellent visibility, but still enough snow to make it that bit more enticing.

I suspect that will be my last in the hills for a while though. Now back in Fife and probably won't be back home in Aviemore until the new year :boo hoo:

son of haggart
03-12-2010, 07:31 PM
Used to o a lot of this when I was living in scotland

still miss it teribly and the fact that my half english daughter is named schiehallion tells you a lot!

She was 9 this year and in the summer (when she was 8) my father in law (who's near 70, me (54 and fat) and Halli and her 9 year old brother climbed Schiehallion - first munro I've done for about 15 years.

I loved it apart from the effect on my arthritic knees ont he way down - the kids ran most of the way down thelast half of the mountain

Sgurr Nan Gillean on Skye was bad enough for me - I did it on my own on a windy day and I freely admit to getting down on my hands and knees for a scary bit near the top.

I used to love Skye and vividly remember sitting on top of the one next to the InPin wastching a solo climber get to the top, wave to me and dangle his legs over the edge as he sat down, then bent over the edge to crack a boiled egg on the sheer face - :bitchy:

21-09-2013, 06:49 AM
Well that's the winter season coming fast, still loving it....off to the Tarmigan ridge today, sorry but it beats any entertainment on show on a football park these days! I'll be checking in though when reception allows for score updares :pfgwa

21-09-2013, 09:25 AM
Well that's the winter season coming fast, still loving it....off to the Tarmigan ridge today, sorry but it beats any entertainment on show on a football park these days! I'll be checking in though when reception allows for score updares :pfgwa

I've just started walking again, trying to lose the beer belly!

Had a few warm ups in the Pentlands then went up Ben Lomond a couple of weeks back when it was pishing down.

Ben Vorlich, Ben Vane and Ben Macdui are on my to do list in the next few weeks.

22-09-2013, 01:37 AM
I've just started walking again, trying to lose the beer belly!

Had a few warm ups in the Pentlands then went up Ben Lomond a couple of weeks back when it was pishing down.

Ben Vorlich, Ben Vane and Ben Macdui are on my to do list in the next few weeks.

My issue with the beer belly is I may lose 3k calories but when I come back down I celebrate by getting pissed!! Ben Lomond is a good hill but as you probably found out it was rather busy due to it's locality!

22-09-2013, 10:51 AM
My issue with the beer belly is I may lose 3k calories but when I come back down I celebrate by getting pissed!! Ben Lomond is a good hill but as you probably found out it was rather busy due to it's locality!

Yeah done Ben Lomond before and as lovely as it is it can seem like Princes Street on a busy Saturday at times. Really just went there to get back in the swing of things.

How was Tarmigan?

22-09-2013, 11:08 AM

Yeah done Ben Lomond before and as lovely as it is it can seem like Princes Street on a busy Saturday at times. Really just went there to get back in the swing of things.

How was Tarmigan?

Ptarmigan! :grr:

22-09-2013, 11:22 AM
Ptarmigan! :grr:

Apologies...it's actually the Tarmachan ridge :wink:

22-09-2013, 11:24 AM

How was Tarmigan?

Ridge was cracking, couldn't see more than 20ft in all directions due to the clag...good time to hone the map reading skills though! Going to go back and do it in the winter as it will be amazing on a clear day with snow underfoot, thoroughly recommend it :agree:

ps it's a very easy ascent to the munro at the start, the worse part is the 157,000 tops you have to do on the way back!

22-09-2013, 11:28 AM
Apologies...it's actually the Tarmachan ridge :wink:

There is a Ptarmigan ridge as well though, isn't there?

Or am I losing my mind?

22-09-2013, 11:40 AM

Or am I losing my mind?

I 'think' there is..appears that the Ptarmigan takes in Ben Lomond and the Tarmachan takes in part of the Lawers range, quite confusing I thought, doesn't take much mind you.

22-09-2013, 03:43 PM

Or am I losing my mind?

There's the ptarmigan bowl and traverse within Cairngorm ski area.

Twa Cairpets
22-09-2013, 08:42 PM
I 'think' there is..appears that the Ptarmigan takes in Ben Lomond and the Tarmachan takes in part of the Lawers range, quite confusing I thought, doesn't take much mind you.

Yes
The Ptarmigan is a better route up Ben Lomond rather than the tourist path. Tarmachan is Gaelic for Ptarmigan. The Tarmachan ridge is just along from Ben Lawers and is the Munro Meall nan Tarmachan plus a few tops.

Hows the count going Wembley? I've slowed up a bit over the last two years due to injury and football commitments (only 8 new ones in 12/13), so I'm up at 186, so down into double figures to complete.

Couple of years ago I got into deep Glen Affric to do Sgurr nan Ceathreamhnan and Mullach nan Dheiragain using the remote YH. Brilliant in snow and a quite astonishing feeling of isolation out on MnD.

22-09-2013, 09:29 PM
After my canal walk im looking to get back into some hills from next week.