View Full Version : Stokes sold to Celtc (merged)
ancienthibby
30-08-2010, 06:19 PM
Is the Tache on holiday??? Has he left someone in charge who isn't up to the job??? :confused:
There must be some explanation as to why we've allowed our top marksman, the 2nd top scorer in the premier last season, to leave for a paltry £800k! After the good deals secured before letting Brown and Thomson, looks like we've turned the clock back with this one. Just the sort of price that will have Celtic coming back again and again
Been surfing those fairy-tale sites again??:bye:
Davy Mac
30-08-2010, 06:20 PM
Hibs are still selling.
Look at Gomez at DUtd, do you hear him complaining about wanting away, more money blah blah
FFS Hibs, this has got to stop at somepoint, so up steps Deek as the main goalscorer, fine - then what! he bags 20+ goals and we sell him in the next window.
The club have to stop this constant bleed as soon as a player reaches at certain standard or worth.
Perhaps with Stokes we need to balance the books a bit with the stand and all, I understand that but the excuses are starting to wear thin.
I'm sure there will be replacements waiting in the wing but by the time the plsayer has settled down it will be xmas and scrapping about thru another transition...........zzzzzz
30-08-2010, 06:26 PM
Been surfing those fairy-tale sites again??:bye:
No, a wee bit auld for fairy tales, how about you? :bye:
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 06:39 PM
Just about had enough. Been watching Hibs for over 40 years and year in year out we bend over and take it from all and sundry.
Old firm finished around 30 points ahead of Hibs AGAIN last year so we give the second top scorer in the league last year to Celtc for *REMOVED* ZERO AMBITION FOR HIBERNIAN from the board. Safe hands *REMOVED*, all that matters to them is profit & Loss accounts/balance sheet.
As for East Mains.... What the *REMOVED*goes on there? certainly not training with a ball/practising throw-ins/corners/getting fit etc etc etc Can anyone confirm EXACTLY how much time our precious "stars" spend there each day training i.e. NOT playing pool/darts etc?
Alledgedly, the old firm are the weakest they've been for years but Celtc take in 16 Million in transfers over the last few months and then call up the breeder team and offer*REMOVED*pence for the top scorer (That's fine sir how would you like to pay?) They could have bought our entire club for that cash.
Now clearer than ever why they offered an "exclusive 3 year deal" to renew season tickets... If you even consider renewing in the future when there are so many seats available in the shiny new (empty) stadium then you must be either well off or totally thick or both!
Rant Over.
No smiley faces on this occasion.*REMOVED*
30-08-2010, 06:45 PM
No need to insult Hibs supporters who wish to continue to support their team.
:top marks:top marks
30-08-2010, 06:47 PM
Safe hands *REMOVED*, all that matters to them is profit & Loss accounts/balance sheet.
If that's the case, why have they spent millions on East Mains and the East Stand?
It would have been a much better balance sheet without them.
30-08-2010, 06:56 PM
Just about had enough. Been watching Hibs for over 40 years and year in year out we bend over and take it from all and sundry.
Old firm finished around 30 points ahead of Hibs AGAIN last year so we give the second top scorer in the league last year to Celtc for *REMOVED* ZERO AMBITION FOR HIBERNIAN from the board. Safe hands *REMOVED*, all that matters to them is profit & Loss accounts/balance sheet.
As for East Mains.... What the *REMOVED*goes on there? certainly not training with a ball/practising throw-ins/corners/getting fit etc etc etc Can anyone confirm EXACTLY how much time our precious "stars" spend there each day training i.e. NOT playing pool/darts etc?
Alledgedly, the old firm are the weakest they've been for years but Celtc take in 16 Million in transfers over the last few months and then call up the breeder team and offer *REMOVED*pence for the top scorer (That's fine sir how would you like to pay?) They could have bought our entire club for that cash.
Now clearer than ever why they offered an "exclusive 3 year deal" to renew season tickets... If you even consider renewing in the future when there are so many seats available in the shiny new (empty) stadium then you must be either well off or totally thick or both!
Rant Over.
No smiley faces on this occasion.*REMOVED*
I don't regard myself as thick or well off, and certainly not both.
I will renew my season ticket for as long as I'm physically able to attend Easter Road, my choice.
However I don't see what gives you the right to call me or any other Hibs supporter thick just cos your having a strop.
30-08-2010, 06:57 PM
If that's the case, why have they spent millions on East Mains and the East Stand?
It would have been a much better balance sheet without them.
Don't let sheer logic get in the way of things!
30-08-2010, 06:58 PM
Not saying this is the case but is it possibly Hibs will have to pay some money to Sunderland, so rather than command a big fee, we've taking a smaller fee(less to pay to Sunderland) and maybe a player or two from Celtic, which is possibly why it's taking so long to complete, as they need to agree terms too ?
hibsdaft
30-08-2010, 07:03 PM
people forget what a coup it was to land Stokes in the first place. there was always going to be some weird clauses attached to that deal - Sunderland payed £2m for him, and he had a fair stretch (as i recall) on a very lucrative contract.
it sounds like we're paying the consequences now, but there was probably both a sell on fee and a get out clause. at the end of the day we got him to ER for a decent run and cashed in at the end of it, if not to his full, present value.
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 07:05 PM
Apologies. I never meant to insult fans who continue to support their team... It's my team too!!!
I'm just so frustrated at the way things appear to be developing. Just continue to renew if that's your bag and I'll support the club in my way. I simply implied that there is NO NEED to KEEP Renewing Season Tickets as the only way to protest in a meaningful manner is to select the games you want to see and not pay for every game in the hope that you won't feel cheated (as I Do at this time!)
Regarding "why would they buy East Mains and build new stands etc" It's the value of having TANGIBLE ASSETS on the balance sheet as opposed to player values only. Imagine your Rod/Tom Farmer and you think , what can we invest in between Real Estate or more players (hoping for the miracle of success).
30-08-2010, 07:20 PM
Regarding "why would they buy East Mains and build new stands etc" It's the value of having TANGIBLE ASSETS on the balance sheet as opposed to player values only. Imagine your Rod/Tom Farmer and you think , what can we invest in between Real Estate or more players (hoping for the miracle of success).
The only problem with that is that it's the land that's the asset.
It doesn't matter if it's a scabby old covered terracing on it or a brand new stand -the land would be worth the same. So if they were purely looking at the balance sheet there would be absolutely no benefit in building the new stand.
30-08-2010, 07:20 PM
Not saying this is the case but is it possibly Hibs will have to pay some money to Sunderland, so rather than command a big fee, we've taking a smaller fee(less to pay to Sunderland) and maybe a player or two from Celtic, which is possibly why it's taking so long to complete, as they need to agree terms too ?
The only player that I can see being part of any deal is Mark Wilson. A lot of their players (Hutchinson, Thompson and O'Dea) are out on loan at the moment, so if they were going to be included in the deal, they would need to be recalled first.
Even if we were getting Wilson, I would still want more than £800,000-£1 million for Stokes.
Deek01
30-08-2010, 08:03 PM
just heard stokes has just went into celtic park about 10 minutes ago...
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 08:25 PM
The only problem with that is that it's the land that's the asset.
It doesn't matter if it's a scabby old covered terracing on it or a brand new stand -the land would be worth the same. So if they were purely looking at the balance sheet there would be absolutely no benefit in building the new stand.
Sorry, but It matters IF you are thinking about selling an asset as a fully UEFA compliant stadium as opposed to any other football stadium on some development ground.
i don't think that the ground usage is in doubt but for a potential investor, the fact that the ground can/will attract future matches/concerts etc surely affects the value?
30-08-2010, 08:40 PM
y'know what? I really couldn't give a flying *REMOVED*any more!
Whats the point? nothing changes all our best players move on to the bigot brothers and oor Rod just loves to do business with them - well here's how it is for me...right now we have a ***** team and manager coupled with a board who have no ambition!
The worst of it though, is the effect the previous ten years have had on us! We have turned into a shower of whining, moaning, aggressive clowns who have become so downtrodden and accepting of this pish we bear every season watching our main players disappear along the M8! We have lost our quality brothers and sisters, that in itself is the saddest part because we are Hibs and little do those at the helm appreciate it!!!
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 08:47 PM
Whats the point? nothing changes all our best players move on to the bigot brothers and oor Rod just loves to do business with them - well here's how it is for me...right now we have a ***** team and manager coupled with a board who have no ambition!
The worst of it though, is the effect the previous ten years have had on us! We have turned into a shower of whining, moaning, aggressive clowns who have become so downtrodden and accepting of this pish we bear every season watching our main players disappear along the M8! We have lost our quality brothers and sisters, that in itself is the saddest part because we are Hibs and little do those at the helm appreciate it!!!
30-08-2010, 08:54 PM
Something strange about this, if true. 20 plus a season striker, 22 years old, on verge of full ROI cap, and with 2 years left on his contract, is sold by The Tache for 0.8-1.2 mill?
It defies belief. If he's gone for that price there must be other factors, like a strange contractual element claimed by other posters, or terrible discipline problems that make him a disaster area in terms of his impact on the dressing room and training ground.
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 09:01 PM
Something strange about this, if true. 20 plus a season striker, 22 years old, on verge of full ROI cap, and with 2 years left on his contract, is sold by The Tache for 0.8-1.2 mill?
It defies belief. If he's gone for that price there must be other factors, like a strange contractual element claimed by other posters, or terrible discipline problems that make him a disaster area in terms of his impact on the dressing room and training ground.
Or a quick Million for The Tache?
007 Mickey Weir
30-08-2010, 09:09 PM
Hibs get £1.2million with 20% sell on fee and Wilson. Plus Rasmussen on loan for season. No wages.
That might be an ok deal.
30-08-2010, 09:11 PM
i have been coming on this site for a wee while to read about the transfer comings and goings and my initial impressions on the place were that an awful lot of the posters were incredibly negative about all things hibs....tonight has confirmed my earlier feelings and other than a few notable exceptions i cant help thinking that the majority on here are way too critical of the board, management, and players of the club...i just hope that none of the players or indeed management log on here as it could adversely affect any confidence they have left at the moment such is the venom being thrown in their direction...as supporters of the club is it too much to ask that we support the club in troubled times?...after years of hard work those that run the club have finally got the infrastucture in place to move forward but we can only do that if we unite behind those that lead us...if yogi is the manager then we must support him...if rod petrie agrees to sell a player then we must trust him...if the team lose a game then we must get behind them...be a supporter!
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 09:14 PM
i have been coming on this site for a wee while to read about the transfer comings and goings and my initial impressions on the place were that an awful lot of the posters were incredibly negative about all things hibs....tonight has confirmed my earlier feelings and other than a few notable exceptions i cant help thinking that the majority on here are way too critical of the board, management, and players of the club...i just hope that none of the players or indeed management log on here as it could adversely affect any confidence they have left at the moment such is the venom being thrown in their direction...as supporters of the club is it too much to ask that we support the club in troubled times?...after years of hard work those that run the club have finally got the infrastucture in place to move forward but we can only do that if we unite behind those that lead us...if yogi is the manager then we must support him...if rod petrie agrees to sell a player then we must trust him...if the team lose a game then we must get behind them...be a supporter!
Hi rod. 2 Posts GTF
30-08-2010, 09:14 PM
Or a quick Million for The Tache?
What a yammish thing to say, thought we had left that pash long behind. Wait a minute you might be on to something, whatever happened to that money we got for the car park. :grr:
30-08-2010, 09:15 PM
Hibs get £1.2million with 20% sell on fee and Wilson. Plus Rasmussen on loan for season. No wages.
Don't want Wilson and I'm sure I herd Rasmussen is already away so that wont be it.
30-08-2010, 09:16 PM
as i said,i have only been coming on here for a wee while....no need for the computer gangster stuff
Rasmussen has been loaned out to Mainz.
HibbyDave
30-08-2010, 09:19 PM
as i said,i have only been coming on here for a wee while....no need for the computer gangster stuff
Sorry Mate but appealing for support to get behind the board, manager and team ?
30-08-2010, 09:21 PM
Sorry Mate but appealing for support to get behind the board, manager and team ?
Aye, what an outlandish idea. Much better that we find every angle possible to hammer them all.:rolleyes:
30-08-2010, 09:22 PM
Shocking attitude this will never do, fancy asking us to be supporters, can tell he is new to the board, he'll learn though. :rolleyes:
30-08-2010, 09:24 PM
Aye, what an outlandish idea. Much better that we find every angle possible to hammer them all.:rolleyes:
Another lesson Freddy if your not first yer last on here :greengrin
i have been coming on this site for a wee while to read about the transfer comings and goings and my initial impressions on the place were that an awful lot of the posters were incredibly negative about all things hibs....tonight has confirmed my earlier feelings and other than a few notable exceptions i cant help thinking that the majority on here are way too critical of the board, management, and players of the club...
FF, we have a potent mix on here of some undercover Yams who get their kicks stirring things up and a host of disenchanted Hibs supporters who can see no end in sight of the dismal run that began mid-February.
Most of the latter still probably turn up for the matches but feel that this is as good a place as any to let off some steam.
Just your standard football club message-board. (Except 'yakback', where they're all incredibly positive about their future when they actually have none.)
Banff
30-08-2010, 09:59 PM
Whats the point? nothing changes all our best players move on to the bigot brothers and oor Rod just loves to do business with them - well here's how it is for me...right now we have a*removed* team and manager coupled with a board who have no ambition!
SUPERB POST:agree:
30-08-2010, 10:06 PM
FF, we have a potent mix on here of some undercover Yams who get their kicks stirring things up and a host of disenchanted Hibs supporters who can see no end in sight of the dismal run that began mid-February.
Most of the latter still probably turn up for the matches but feel that this is as good a place as any to let off some steam.
Just your standard football club message-board. (Except 'yakback', where they're all incredibly positive about their future when they actually have none.)
fair enough..i know the drill from a couple of stints on the bounce..i just feel that a new season is a time for optimism and on a day in which we've made two new signings we should be looking at the positives...
Criswell
30-08-2010, 10:20 PM
Hey Freddie; following Hibs is a roller coaster ride, or in your case a helter skelter (maybe)
Davy Mac
30-08-2010, 10:29 PM
Serious question FF, you're my brothers age yeh, what business or institution would survive with a record like ours. Apart from Turnbulls' era, even briefer under McLeish & Mowbray it's been a pile of sheite.
If we marketed Hibs as entertainment we would be bust a long time ago.
How can I keep my boys interested in Hibs when they keep asking me why players never stay at Hibs and go to the manky mob.
I tell you what, you must have the patience of a saint or your one of these guys that go along a listen to the radio for other results - ken.
No offence likes.:greengrin
30-08-2010, 10:35 PM
Hi rod. 2 Posts GTF
Hi Dave, 344 posts GTF
Can we leave out the abuse, just because you don't agree with the unusual concept of getting behind the team you claim to support don't use this site to abuse others who may choose to do so.
30-08-2010, 10:58 PM
Hi Dave, 344 posts GTF
Can we leave out the abuse, just because you don't agree with the unusual concept of getting behind the team you claim to support don't use this site to abuse others who may choose to do so.
are you not scolding him for abuse here? :confused:
(sorry)
30-08-2010, 11:00 PM
are you not scolding him for abuse here? :confused:
(sorry)
merely giving him a taste of his own medecine as i did it.
31-08-2010, 03:06 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1307556/Clever-Bhoy-New-Celtic-signing-Anthony-Stokes-says-seize-second-chance.html
‘The deal is all done and I’m so happy to get it sorted as it has been dragging on for a couple of weeks.
‘I’m delighted to have been given a second chance to join Celtic as I nearly went there before I moved to Sunderland. But, at the time, I really wanted to get the chance to play in the English Premier League.
‘That didn’t work out but, after returning to Scotland, I’ve now managed to get a move to a massive club and one of the most recognisable in the world.
‘It’s all very well just playing football but I want to win trophies and compete for titles and now I will get the chance to do that at Celtic.’
Stokes admitted the speculation affected his performance in Hibs’ 1-0 weekend defeat at St Mirren and that he probably should not have played. But he also claimed Hibs manager John Hughes understood his decision to leave for Celtic.
‘My head was all over the place and I probably shouldn’t have played really, so I’m relieved it’s all sorted now,’ said Stokes.
‘John was superb for me when I played for him at Falkirk and he gave me the chance to come to Hibs and start again after Sunderland.
‘He knows how appealing it is for any Irish player to join Celtic and I’m also a massive fan.’
This means everything he was quoted as saying before the rangers game about loving it at hibs and dismissing the speculation was total lilian gish?:bitchy::bitchy:
31-08-2010, 03:18 AM
This means everything he was quoted as saying before the rangers game about loving it at hibs and dismissing the speculation was total lilian gish?:bitchy::bitchy:
Is that better or worse than total Colin Nish? :wink:
Hibhibhooray
31-08-2010, 03:33 AM
The OF script writer worked overtime on that statement same spraff different player
Gala Foxes
31-08-2010, 04:53 AM
matter of time til they start spinning out the "I have always wanted to play for sellick" pish. Shame there wasnt a midnight signing with the cameras at Parkhead along with 200 muppets and shell suit Sean saying its great news he will score 200 goals a season and we will have the league won by September.
31-08-2010, 04:57 AM
To be fair he is a Celtic supporter so he was always going to leave if it came down to which team and not wages.
Hope he does pish at Celtic and ends up playing lower league football in England. Bye Tony. :bye:
31-08-2010, 04:58 AM
‘He knows how appealing it is for any Irish player to join Celtic;'
That line really made me cringe.
The rest was obviously scripted for him. " I’ve now managed to get a move to a massive club and one of the most recognisable in the world". What a heap of crap.
And we can translate "Stokes admitted the speculation affected his performance in Hibs’ 1-0 weekend defeat at St Mirren and that he probably should not have played" to "Couldn't wait to cross the M8 so wasn't able to give two monkeys about my current team".
31-08-2010, 05:24 AM
‘He knows how appealing it is for any Irish player to join Celtic;'
That line really made me cringe.
The rest was obviously scripted for him. " I’ve now managed to get a move to a massive club and one of the most recognisable in the world". What a heap of crap.
And we can translate "Stokes admitted the speculation affected his performance in Hibs’ 1-0 weekend defeat at St Mirren and that he probably should not have played" to "Couldn't wait to cross the M8 so wasn't able to give two monkeys about my current team".
Or, "If you think for one minute I was going to go in for a 50/50 and risk get injured, you must think I'm daft".
Not AS's fault BTW, more the guy that played him.
31-08-2010, 05:48 AM
To be fair I have read a fuller interview on another site and he goes on to say how much he enjoyed being at Hibs and he appreciated both Hibs and Hughes. Found it emotional saying goodbye.
31-08-2010, 06:03 AM
From the Sun;
Stokes said: "The gaffer has been top class with me, I've always had a great relationship with him.
"He doesn't want to lose his best players, but at the same time he appreciates what Celtic are all about.
"He's been there before and knew I wanted to go.
"I sat down and talked it through with him and he knew my move was inevitable.
"It is going to be tough leaving though because I've loved working under him. I needed games when I was not playing at Sunderland and he gave me that chance at Hibs.
"From the minute I arrived at Easter Road I loved the feel of the place. I'm not sure what it was, but it just felt right to me.
Advertisement
"Despite this second chance, I will be genuinely sad to leave Hibs.
"The lads are great and it's a brilliant place to play your football.
"It was a strange day going in and almost saying my goodbyes to the players because I haven't actually signed yet.
"However, everyone knew that was it, so it was quite emotional."
Read more: http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3118031/Anthony-Stokes-moves-to-Celtic-at-last.html#ixzz0yA1BzX00
DCI Gene Hunt
31-08-2010, 06:40 AM
At least its over and done with.
Think we'll miss him, Yogi had better get this shambles sorted or we'll be stuck in the bottom 6.
Hope the bench at Smelltic Park is kept warm for you Stokesy; get used to it... :tsk tsk:
Gene
31-08-2010, 07:04 AM
Has he paid of his dues yet?
31-08-2010, 08:29 AM
Sorry to see him go, but I wish him nought but misery West.
Not in any spiteful manner, but because he's now playing for one of our rivals/competitors.
Never enjoy watching good players leave, but to see players leaving to join that cancerous shower of rats is particularly gauling.
I'm going to give Rangers their due - at least they've stopped buying players from opposition clubs to rot them on their bench - the players they've signed from other SPL clubs in the past 4-5 seasons have all pretty much established themselves as first team players. Stokes will be yet another Riordan, Killen, Zaluska, Wilson...
HibbyDave
31-08-2010, 08:44 AM
merely giving him a taste of his own medecine as i did it.
Thanks for that! :thumbsup: I assume that you will have received a warning from the admin team for abuse?
31-08-2010, 09:17 AM
It has been in the offing for weeks, and has been a badly kept secret..... I knew of this impending deal before pre season in Holland, so some serious porkies told by all concerned at club imo
31-08-2010, 09:38 AM
Has he paid of his dues yet?
Yes I wonder too and not just at ER !!!
I'm sure someone will write an "exclusive " in the next few weeks and we can expect " Will the real Mr Stokes please stand
up "
:bye::flag:
31-08-2010, 09:46 AM
Most Hibs fans are realistic about our club's position in the football pecking order, and that we are always vulnerable to offers being made for our players from elsewhere.
What worries me here is that, in the recent past, Hibs had been able to dictate the timing of such moves - with Steven Fletcher and Scott Brown, for example, they left at a time that suited Hibs.
This seems to have been forced on us, and I can't understand why. Stokes is only 22 and had two years left on his contract - Hibs could have just told him to be quiet and do his job.
Maybe we wanted rid? The signing of Darryl Duffy on loan as his replacement is not particularly inspiring though - we look short of quality up front.
31-08-2010, 09:50 AM
Most Hibs fans are realistic about our club's position in the football pecking order, and that we are always vulnerable to offers being made for our players from elsewhere.
What worries me here is that, in the recent past, Hibs had been able to dictate the timing of such moves - with Steven Fletcher and Scott Brown, for example, they left at a time that suited Hibs.
This seems to have been forced on us, and I can't understand why. Stokes is only 22 and had two years left on his contract - Hibs could have just told him to be quiet and do his job.
Maybe we wanted rid? The signing of Darryl Duffy on loan as his replacement is not particularly inspiring though - we look short of quality up front.
Perhaps the board are all well aware of his off-field issues and wanted shot of him for reasons other than money/finance?
31-08-2010, 10:05 AM
Perhaps the board are all well aware of his off-field issues and wanted shot of him for reasons other than money/finance?
Agree totally :thumbsup:
As I posted earlier there is more to this saga than we know .
Some journo will give us an "exclusive" in the near future :greengrin
31-08-2010, 10:07 AM
It has been in the offing for weeks, and has been a badly kept secret..... I knew of this impending deal before pre season in Holland, so some serious porkies told by all concerned at club imo
Clubs tell porkies all the time. If they came out and told us Stokes would be sold as soon as a team offered a certain price, there would be uproar. We all knew he was a short term signing if things went well. We all knew he's a celtic fan. We all knew Lennon wanted him, its hardly something thats come out of the blue. Even MI5 would have struggled to keep this quiet.
31-08-2010, 10:11 AM
The signing of Darryl Duffy on loan as his replacement is not particularly inspiring though - we look short of quality up front.
Nowhere else you can think off? Its looking grim! :boo hoo:
Moody Mulder
31-08-2010, 10:20 AM
The OF script writer worked overtime on that statement same spraff different player
agreed, that statement made my toes curl with embaressment for him
31-08-2010, 10:50 AM
‘He knows how appealing it is for any Irish player to join Celtic.'
That line makes me boak. :jamboak:
Thanks for that! :thumbsup: I assume that you will have received a warning from the admin team for abuse?Yip ..i reported the post ...:agree:
He has also been docked a bacon & egg doubler from his wages ...:greengrin
31-08-2010, 01:41 PM
So has he signed for that pile of s***e or what? Not herd anything. FFS talk about last minute. Hope that Yogi isn't looking to spend the money :bitchy:.
Wee Scottie Dug
31-08-2010, 02:02 PM
So has he signed for that pile of s***e or what? Not herd anything. FFS talk about last minute. Hope that Yogi isn't looking to spend the money :bitchy:.
Heard his medical didn't go well - apparantly his Wii fit age was 75!! :wink:
hibby67
31-08-2010, 02:17 PM
Heard his medical didn't go well - apparantly his Wii fit age was 75!! :wink:
31-08-2010, 02:29 PM
Signed a four year contract?
At The Edge
31-08-2010, 02:30 PM
up on the Celtic website now, press conference later today to parade him in a Hoop jersey
sparkiehibs
31-08-2010, 02:34 PM
On SSN
cjhibee1
31-08-2010, 02:48 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8954459.stm
31-08-2010, 02:49 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8954459.stm
Not on the official site yet. Do we keep our fingers crossed or just assume that Hibs will be last to tell us the news as per?
Same for the new signing(s) excluding Duffy.
31-08-2010, 02:56 PM
Sad to see him go but theres been a sense of inevitability about this for the last few weeks now. Best for all concerned that this has been concluded without getting too messy a la Kevin Thomson or Gary Caldwell.
Thanks for the goals Anthony and i hope your ****ing gash for Celtic.
Hibs On Tour
31-08-2010, 03:07 PM
On the unwashed's site, not on ours yet.
http://www.celticfc.net/news/stories/news_310810141249.aspx
31-08-2010, 03:08 PM
I sincerely hope his move is a complete disaster and that he hardly scores a goal for them.
31-08-2010, 04:02 PM
no doubt he'll feature regularly for ireland :rolleyes:
sauzee
31-08-2010, 04:11 PM
no doubt he'll feature regularly for ireland :rolleyes:
aye ! makes u sick wots the point,we'll never be anything other than a feeder club
31-08-2010, 04:16 PM
Who?
31-08-2010, 04:24 PM
Now that stokes is at Celtc i no longer give a toss about him.
31-08-2010, 04:29 PM
Mare chance of him missing Tic games, suits me!
Riordans Boots
31-08-2010, 04:38 PM
We knew he going to them - I got over that fact on Sunday :rolleyes::bye:
31-08-2010, 05:02 PM
It's the Scotland national team that operates on that basis.
No matter what TBFITW would like you to believe, the Ireland FA don't really give a flying one about ra sellick.
31-08-2010, 05:03 PM
Who gives a duck?
I cant wait to see what the red tops make of his extra circular activities that have been doing the rounds recently. There will be wee huns tracking him as I type looking for the next episode.
I dont think shootings outside his pub will be small news either now he's in the bigotbowl.
Between that and his recent alleged abuse of the club I'd say we were well shot of him.
SalfordHibs
31-08-2010, 05:43 PM
For all of you that didn't beleive me when i posted Celtic wanted Stokes :cool2:
31-08-2010, 05:44 PM
For all of you that didn't beleive me when i posted Celtic wanted Stokes :cool2:
Think it was pretty obvious :wink:
31-08-2010, 05:44 PM
aww your like my hero!!
31-08-2010, 05:47 PM
Just what we need - told you so posts from you.
Funny we've not heard from you in a while.
31-08-2010, 05:47 PM
:faf::faf: Well done you were right on the ball with this one.
31-08-2010, 05:48 PM
I think every man and his dog had Stokes down as joining Celtc before the ink had even dried on his Hibs contract.
31-08-2010, 05:50 PM
get a life :bye:
31-08-2010, 05:50 PM
I think every man and his dog had Stokes down as joining Celtc before the ink had even dried on his Hibs contract.
31-08-2010, 07:56 PM
Stokes is now a non-person though he can take his drinking and gambling problems with him. I know for a faxt he played hungover on more than one occasion. He was miles from a decent pro and whilst we'll miss his talent his attitude stank and I hope he'll cause Celtc problems in the dressing room.
blairwallace
31-08-2010, 08:26 PM
f*** the celtic
hope their new signing breaks his legs and can't play football, stokes i hope you realise what your doing and i hope the hibs get some humble pie in the coming years :wink::wink:
declan macmanus
31-08-2010, 08:33 PM
f*** the celtic
hope their new signing breaks his legs and can't play football, stokes i hope you realise what your doing and i hope the hibs get some humble pie in the coming years :wink::wink:
:bitchy:
Nae need...
31-08-2010, 08:34 PM
f*** the celtic
Oh dear. :yawn::bitchy:
He's gone, and I had no emotional connection with him as a fan in the first place.
Couldn't care less, and that's the 1st of the many recent transfers along the M8 I've been comfortably able to say that about on the transfer day itself.
31-08-2010, 08:34 PM
f*** the celtic
Geezus. :bitchy:
blairwallace
31-08-2010, 09:02 PM
:bitchy:
Nae need...
when you read what he's saying on how happy he is and "If it was up to me I would sign a contract for the rest of my career " it makes me boil :agree:
Brads Laing
31-08-2010, 09:09 PM
To be fair he is a Celtic supporter so he was always going to leave if it came down to which team and not wages.
Hope he does pish at Celtic and ends up playing lower league football in England. Bye Tony. :bye:
Nah, i want him to play crap at celtic then end up back at hibs
01-09-2010, 07:28 AM
He went to Celtic as we allowed it, just about every player probably except Deeks wou;d move there if we allowed them to talk to our players. I dunno if its just me but I am very very dissapointed at this sale and angry. We will be some team when we sell 20+ goal striker and we are not to bothered.
01-09-2010, 08:15 AM
when you read what he's saying on how happy he is and "If it was up to me I would sign a contract for the rest of my career " it makes me boil :agree:
In which case you need to get some interests outwith football, pronto.
01-09-2010, 08:22 AM
This is a first for me, i don't feel any anger or sadness towards Stokes. When he signed i thought what a good signing he was, but he never won me over and mad me a great fan of him. He never seemed a player who was happy, and to me he was just doing a job, he never seemed to me as if he was enjoying himself?
Yes we will probably miss his goals, but hopefully the team is stronger now and those goals will now be spread around the team.
01-09-2010, 08:29 AM
Stokes is now a non-person though he can take his drinking and gambling problems with him. I know for a faxt he played hungover on more than one occasion. ]He was miles from a decent pro[/U] and whilst we'll miss his talent his attitude stank and I hope he'll cause Celtc problems in the dressing room.
Right on the button ::agree:thumbsup:
There was also evidence of this when he was at Sunderland
As I've posted before there were a number of issues relating to this guy both within/outwith the club.
Unpaid bils, monies due , dtinking etc.
To post specifics could I believe cause problems for "Hib's Net" but am sure some Journo from one of thr "upmarket quality " rabloids will have a story to tell wthin the next few weeks If not the first time he puts a foot wrong in Weegieland he will get the "treatment" :wink:
I am sure there are a few barstaff in George St who will be happy to talk !!!:greengrin
Let's now move on but at the same time remember the undoubted talent he displayed while at ER
:bye:
01-09-2010, 09:02 AM
This is a first for me, i don't feel any anger or sadness towards Stokes. When he signed i thought what a good signing he was, but he never won me over and mad me a great fan of him. He never seemed a player who was happy, and to me he was just doing a job, he never seemed to me as if he was enjoying himself?
Yes we will probably miss his goals, but hopefully the team is stronger now and those goals will now be spread around the team.
:agree: I feel exactly the same.
01-09-2010, 10:07 AM
Disagree BH although you hit nail on head with missing his goals which is key in any match. I am not saying he was a world beater but IMO and maybe yours or others Hibs havent played great stuff for a long time would you agree? Yes we have had our matches but in general we havent been great for a season, IMO we finished 4th as we nicked some points as we had Stokes, absolutley vital to have that if you aint playin great.
Now we do not have him and I do not see why we will suddenly play any better to win matches through great play as a pose to nicking a dour goal and taking 3pts. Perhaps moving Deeks will work but then we need to replace his contribution from midfield. The new players could work but the deal lengths are a worry if they do. All in all I think it was folly to sell stokes for the reported fee and to Celtic, we will see him score against us of that I am sure.
I have seen no sign that we are doing enough in our play now to be able to gain as many points without the services of Stokes.
01-09-2010, 11:40 AM
I felt that we should be getting more than 1.3 mil for a player who scored 23 goals last season.
The fact that it's to one of the OF is even more insulting.
01-09-2010, 12:03 PM
Are we sure that Stokes has been sold? Still no mention on the official site and I take everything with a pinch of salt until it's on there.
01-09-2010, 12:05 PM
Are we sure that Stokes has been sold? Still no mention on the official site and I take everything with a pinch of salt until it's on there.
There is 1 sentence on the official site to say we have lost 1 player in the window..................Transfer review page.......
It is ....
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100901/transfer-review_2262950_2141415
... half way down.
01-09-2010, 12:08 PM
There is 1 sentence on the official site to say we have lost 1 player in the window..................Transfer review page.......
My mistake - cheers. At least I know it's true now!
01-09-2010, 12:11 PM
My mistake - cheers. At least I know it's true now!
Have you not seen the photos in the papers of Stokes parading his new strip?:wink:
tony higgins
01-09-2010, 12:16 PM
f*** the celtic
hope their new signing breaks his legs and can't play football, stokes i hope you realise what your doing :wink::wink:
Not until we,ve cashed the cheque.