View Full Version : Poll: What song should we adopt

28-08-2010, 11:09 AM
Right, there have been a number of suggestions.

The idea is to find a song that the crowd can sing, like an anthem along the lines of Dundee Utd with "Love is in The Air". Remember it doesn't need to be adapted with 'Hibs' words, but sung as it was written. Yes, we have Sunshine on Leith, but it isn't the easiest song to sing, so here goes.

1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8aL1EeRIRU&ob=av2n

2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ujmb3jQAJE&ob=av3n

3 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIZFq3VDeUY

4 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLPiYZrwAzU

5 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbNP5yqg7hc

6 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzpWKAGvGdA

7 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtIKTW85e5Q

8 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFSfdL5lPoY

9 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRD51qEJ8t4

10 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwnoNVOj1Fs

11 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-sH5oHSQaU

12 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjxY7xmhJ6o

13 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3ueYxrA-Zs

14 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jRMxYGACvA

mglancy23
28-08-2010, 11:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=777kGx7-qLw

probably just the chorus

TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 11:26 AM
Right, there have been a number of suggestions.

The idea is to find a song that the crowd can sing, like an anthem along the lines of Dundee Utd with "Love is in The Air". Remember it doesn't need to be adapted with 'Hibs' words, but sung as it was written. Yes, we have Sunshine on Leith, but it isn't the easiest song to sing, so here goes.

1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8aL1EeRIRU&ob=av2n

2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ujmb3jQAJE&ob=av3n

3 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIZFq3VDeUY

4 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLPiYZrwAzU

5 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbNP5yqg7hc

6 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzpWKAGvGdA

7 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtIKTW85e5Q

8 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFSfdL5lPoY

9 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRD51qEJ8t4

10 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwnoNVOj1Fs

11 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-sH5oHSQaU

12 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjxY7xmhJ6o

HibsOnTour isnae going to be happy !!!

There was no " Aint no stoppin us now " on the list.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0tsKCB4lc&feature=related

28-08-2010, 11:26 AM
I don't think we should adopt any, I'm happy to stick with the songs we have just now, don't need a new one. That's my opinion anyway.

28-08-2010, 12:00 PM
we could sing 'go west' (village people/petshop boys) to the players, coz that's where half of them end up anyway :greengrin

ginger_rice
28-08-2010, 12:05 PM
In the mid 70's we used to do "sailing" it was pretty good, anyone remember the game at Motherwell in '76 brilliant support :thumbsup::thumbsup:

28-08-2010, 12:27 PM
If we are to cement our wee team status, I'd go for Sweet Caroline. Surely these things grow organically though, and the fact that we don't have a song like this should be all we have to know?

28-08-2010, 12:27 PM
HibsOnTour isnae going to be happy !!!

There was no " Aint no stoppin us now " on the list.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0tsKCB4lc&feature=related
:greengrin Given the possibility that the development and funding of infrastructure will shortly be complete, the lyrics are not entirely irrelevant either.

Ain't No Stoppin Us Now!
We're on the move!
Ain't No Stoppin Us Now!
We've got the groove!

There's been so many things thats held us down.
But now it looks like things are finally comin' around.
I know we've got, a long long way to go,
and where we'll end up, I don't know.
But we won't let nothin' hold us back,
we're putting our selves together,
we're polishing up our act!
If you felt we've been held down before,
I know you'll refuse to be held down anymore!

Don't you let nothing, nothing,
Stand in your way!
I want ya'll to listen, listen,
to every word I say, every word I say!

Ain't No Stoppin Us Now!
We're on the move!
Ain't No Stoppin Us Now!
We've got the groove!

CraigK
28-08-2010, 01:09 PM
El Capitan, great song, but i am a massive Idlewild fan. Would love to hear this played at ER.

hibbiedon
28-08-2010, 01:19 PM
we could sing 'go west' (village people/petshop boys) to the players, coz that's where half of them end up anyway :greengrin

:top marks:top marks

Hibs On Tour
28-08-2010, 01:38 PM
*******s! What kind of yammish ploy is this? Best song, best lyrics and ffs surely we can pull off the best dances to this bad-boy and it gets left off the list and replaced with some right utter tripe! Damn right ah'm no happy! PETRIE!

28-08-2010, 01:49 PM
there are about five immense songs in that list to choose one is like asking me to well... pick between five ikmmense songs

28-08-2010, 01:54 PM
personally i think i cant help falling in love with you sums up how we feel and react to hibernian-unfortunate some may say, i look on it as good fortune

Hibs On Tour
28-08-2010, 02:06 PM
There. Fixed.

Any takers for Ain't No Stopping Us Now, register their votes on this bad-boy!

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?191203-POLL-What-Song-Should-We-Adopt-2-the-one-with-the-winner-actually-in-the-list!

Bobo
28-08-2010, 06:01 PM
I remember this getting played, at Easter Road, for weeks on end in 1978.

Jimmy Webb must have been on some trip when he wrote the lyrics :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaZim6ybvdA

Sloppy
28-08-2010, 07:01 PM
sunderland use cant help falling in love with you and must say it sounds ****ing phenominal

28-08-2010, 07:08 PM
I remember this getting played, at Easter Road, for weeks on end in 1978.

Jimmy Webb must have been on some trip when he wrote the lyrics :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xaZim6ybvdA

This one featured regular (and sung by the fans) in the late 60's. All we have to do is sign someone with the surname Quinn.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liIQLIx2Onw

28-08-2010, 07:14 PM
We already have one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9G2lqY3Nuk0

A good Boca Juniors number-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8VGQTtENSs&p=672397823411ECD0&playnext=1&index=1

as heard here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JjtzC8ojK7o

28-08-2010, 07:16 PM
A late contender. :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96kwILL35ig

Oh ho ho, its my dick :faf:

Zondervan
28-08-2010, 07:21 PM
We already have one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9G2lqY3Nuk0

Darren - that is why I am always at the front of the queue when you are dishing out homosexual favours. :thumbsup:

"With your love like shining, we should bring back paate.....lainen"

28-08-2010, 07:24 PM
Dundee Utd fans sing "Can't Help Falling In Love" with their own lyrics so that counts that one out.

Zondervan
28-08-2010, 07:29 PM
Dundee Utd fans sing "Can't Help Falling In Love" with their own lyrics so that counts that one out.

Let's bring in The Mode:

People are people
So why should it be
Frankfurt Darren
Is a ****in' Christmas Tree!

28-08-2010, 07:36 PM
Darren - that is why I am always at the front of the queue when you are dishing out homosexual favours. :thumbsup:

Amen

28-08-2010, 07:38 PM
What a load of pish. Why would we want to randomly adopt a song??

vein
28-08-2010, 07:40 PM
Let's bring in The Mode:

People are people
So why should it be
Frankfurt Darren
Is a ****in' Christmas Tree!

How about Rhinestone Cowboy ?? :wink:

Worked in Tobago anyway and a much better option than its B side of Angels :agree:

tbfhibs
28-08-2010, 07:51 PM
Don,t know if someone has already suggested this H.A.P.P.Y Radio, Edwin Starr. Change happy to Hibby and get Disco Dave to do the rest.

28-08-2010, 08:04 PM
There's as much pish on here as there is on the Stokes thread.

I thought the music was decent last Sunday. Get decent tracks on before the game, not bollocks like I will survive.

28-08-2010, 08:06 PM
What a load of pish. Why would we want to randomly adopt a song??

I've had a look on Youtube but can't find it. Can you post a link.

Cheers.

29-08-2010, 08:11 AM
can we please stop posting other options, there were plenty on the original thread. vote for one of the options if you want, or start your own poll.

This is to see if we can find a song we could sing instead of the songs played over the tannoy.

Hibee_Rab
29-08-2010, 01:50 PM
I like sunshine on leith it feels unique to us. If anything we should sing another proclaimers song, misery to happiness todays a good one.

Also at the maribor match was there an edit of prodigy when it said 'we are hibernain' instead of 'we are the prodigy' because that sounded class.

blairwallace
29-08-2010, 02:43 PM
teenage kicks by undertones :thumbsup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oskM5XD_Yc4

29-08-2010, 02:55 PM
Where's the option of 'we're ***** and we know we are'?

29-08-2010, 05:04 PM
How about

Yogi Yogi GTF

29-08-2010, 05:18 PM
"So You Win Again" by Hot Chocolate.

Hibby K
29-08-2010, 05:49 PM
After today's performance it should be 'Down Down' by Status Quo!

resident_Arab
29-08-2010, 07:52 PM

Aye that ones been sung for the 20 years i have been going.

Like someone above said, better when its organic

Love is in the Air & Beautiful Sunday came about for us at games randomly in 1995 & 1996, we sort of stole Beautiful Sunday from Stirling after a cup tie but then everyone is guilty of stealing a song at somepoint.

We added another from nowhere last season with the Put your hands up, which started with 2 utd fans in Egypt and ended up 6months later with 28000 doing it at Hampden.

Sunshine on Leith is your anthem though, its a great one but its also slow and hard to sing just spontaniously during a game but you will probably find one when you arent trying.

blairwallace
29-08-2010, 08:10 PM

Love is in the Air & Beautiful Sunday came about for us at games randomly in 1995 & 1996, we sort of stole Beautiful Sunday from Stirling after a cup tie but then everyone is guilty of stealing a song at somepoint.

We added another from nowhere last season with the Put your hands up, which started with 2 utd fans in Egypt and ended up 6months later with 2800 doing it at Hampden.

Sunshine on Leith is your anthem though, its a great one but its also slow and hard to sing just spontaniously during a game but you will probabaly find one when you arent trying.

thats great :wink:

29-08-2010, 08:30 PM
Suspicious Minds - the original and best from Elvis none of that fine young cannibals nonesense tho'! Surely in with a shout if not then a surefire for the hibs.net anthem

resident_Arab
29-08-2010, 09:09 PM
thats great :wink:

Not really :agree:

29-08-2010, 09:21 PM
What about Under Pressure especially for Yogi!

31-08-2010, 05:15 AM

We added another from nowhere last season with the Put your hands up, which started with 2 utd fans in Egypt and ended up 6months later with 28000 doing it at Hampden.

Sunshine on Leith is your anthem though, its a great one but its also slow and hard to sing just spontaniously during a game but you will probably find one when you arent trying.

Thanks for that info. I also agree with what you say about Sunshine on Leith, it only gets sung if it is played over the tannoy. Thre's no chance of a new song unless there is a group of pals together that can sing it together and hope that others join in.

01-09-2010, 05:12 AM
we have a winner

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htobTBlCvUU&feature=related :greengrin

down the slope
01-09-2010, 06:34 AM
Just watch the game, if the team are doing well you will not need a song or if you do away and enter the x factor, i thought this was a football forum ?.

04-09-2010, 08:04 AM
and the problem of course is this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_C8dyjVZUZY)

you ar more likely to have this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDYxgDO5bCI) or be told this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFacWGBJ_cs&feature=related) while we want this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWmkS2sR88k) we end up with this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1A_uSEjTIQ)

If anybody knows the answer....:confused:

04-09-2010, 08:12 AM
How about Somewhere Over The Rainbow - seems pretty representative.
Or that old Pink Floyd Favourite "Another Brick In the Wall" just trips of the tongue and we are doing very well on the bricks and mortar front apparently :wink:

04-09-2010, 08:15 AM
Just watch the game, if the team are doing well you will not need a song or if you do away and enter the x factor, i thought this was a football forum ?.

:agree:but if the football's going as it seems to be for some, surely we may as well have our own eurovision as a sideline:wink:

TrickyNicky
04-09-2010, 08:26 AM

I agree,shut up, watch the game, concentrate and wear an Alan Hansen mask.

3-5-2 or 4-4-2 ?
Yogi, Collins or Mowbray ?
East or FF - who sings the best?
Booing or clapping yer dug?
Walk up prices or ST?
Sack the board or name your child Rumplestiltskin Petrie ?
Stokes owes us his life or KT'S mum can't afford a stamp?