View Full Version : We Need A Fully-Fledged Disco Song/Ballad...

26-08-2010, 11:57 AM
...that we can rally around.

Always felt our songbook lacked this. Dundee United have 'Love Is In The Air' which I feel gave them the edge over us in the race for 3rd place last season, to say nothing of the Scottish Cup.

Any suggestions?

26-08-2010, 12:01 PM

Always felt our songbook lacked this. Dundee United have 'Love Is In The Air' which I feel gave them the edge over us in the race for 3rd place last season, to say nothing of the Scottish Cup.

Any suggestions?

Well Bob, now that you mention it, here's mine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlJGrIyt-X8

the lyrics 'more more more... how do you like it'' could be subbed with 'goals goals goals...Edinburgh Hibees...'

26-08-2010, 12:11 PM
When the going get's tough by Billy Ocean

Or has someone got that already?

The Tubs
26-08-2010, 12:12 PM
Absoutely barry idea. It would take a brave man to start this one on the terrace:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_O0vRdk2D4

We're young, we're hibees and we're em...

26-08-2010, 12:22 PM

Any suggestions?

Oi!!!! pinching my idea (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?190452-Please-hibs!!&p=2550712&viewfull=1#post2550712) :greengrin

26-08-2010, 12:23 PM
Well Bob, now that you mention it, here's mine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlJGrIyt-X8

the lyrics 'more more more... how do you like it'' could be subbed with 'goals goals goals...Edinburgh Hibees...'

.....at which end though? :greengrin

26-08-2010, 12:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8aL1EeRIRU&ob=av2n

There can be only one.

26-08-2010, 12:33 PM
Every time this is brought up I will mention Run Around Sue and will continue to mention it until either I die :grr: or preferably when its sung! :greengrin

A chirpy wee tune that with a bit of work could include the names of players and manager. A chorus / backing thingy that lends itself perfectly to

Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs, oooooooooooooooooooooooooo Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs, Hibs, Glory, Glory to the Hibs.

26-08-2010, 12:36 PM
Gotta be the Donna Summers Classic - I Feel Love - for me - always loved it....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8TBmeK9Abg

Could insert all sorts of lyrics....

oooooooo - The Hibees The Hibees the Hibees

oooooooooooo - Petries Tache Petries Tache Petries Tache

oooooooooo - f*** the Hertz f*** the Hertz f*** the Hertz

oooooooo seven nil seven nil seven neil seven nil

I feel looooooo-ooooo-oooove etc

It just rolls off the tongue - it's a natch :thumbsup:

26-08-2010, 12:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8aL1EeRIRU&ob=av2n

There can be only one.

or maybe not?:wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2sMuVPMkkk

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 12:42 PM
I quite like the idea of Benny and The Jets by Sir Elton John.

Don't know what it has to do with Hibs but I like the idea of the new East Stand singing " Benny ", repeating this from each stand in an anti - clockwise manner until the whole ground sings Benny and The Hibs " .

I hope we find a " Benny " before the window closes !

26-08-2010, 12:44 PM
Maybe we should get back to our roots

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFNDI--IylU :greengrin

26-08-2010, 12:44 PM
In times of defeat, how about?

Don't blame it on Rankin
Don't blame it on the Captain
Don't blame it on the Tactics
Blame it on Big Nishy

Whoooooooooooooooooo

He just can't, he just can't, he just can't control his feet

Or if we did require a ballad, I'd save that for pumping the Yams and then roll out Bonnie Tyler's 'Total Eclipse of The Hearts'

26-08-2010, 12:45 PM
Maybe we should get back to our roots

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFNDI--IylU :greengrin

Or as I said before

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FytMNBUR2CQ

:notworthy:

26-08-2010, 12:45 PM
This one would go down well, especially if its a european year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbNP5yqg7hc

26-08-2010, 12:47 PM
Or if we did require a ballad, I'd save that for pumping the Yams and then roll out Bonnie Tyler's 'Total Eclipse of The Hearts'

That could be a winner

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ujmb3jQAJE&ob=av3n

26-08-2010, 12:47 PM
What about one for Stokesy(if the stories are to be believed):

"I haven't stopped drinking yet"

26-08-2010, 12:53 PM
For those in the East:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyD5tAGBP9U

26-08-2010, 12:55 PM
I posted this on another thread for songs for the Derby
cannae put a link in Im at work

Dario G - Ring of Fire (verano remix) on youtube

you can just make out Johnny Cash Ring of fire,listen to the whole song fairly bouncing.

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 12:56 PM
" Owner of a lonely heart " by Yes ( it's almost creepy )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2384ayqnAho&feature=related

26-08-2010, 12:59 PM
This would be great for the East.

We dont need to learn any words, just la la along and do the actions.

6,400 folk all doing this would be amazing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeswZaReE0I

Dr Jimmy
26-08-2010, 01:06 PM
Ballroom blitz by Sweet (I think), but only when we are ahead by a few!

"and the man at the back said everyone attack and it turned into a Hibs Goal Blitz.....Hibs Goal Blitz, "

Do I need to get my coat?..................:offski:

Also for the Derby when they start to sing their 1902 song, to the smae tune we sing

Fat Jim knew
He said he didn't
But we know Fat Jim knew!

26-08-2010, 01:07 PM
(Training ground)
Every now and then
I get a little bit jealous
Of the big new main stand at your ground
(Turning Brown)
Every now and then
I get a little bit tired
of listening to the sound of the believers
(Malofeef)
Every now and then
I get a little bit nervous
that Kevin Kyle's best years have gone by
(Worth a Pound)
Every now and then
I get a little bit smug
and then I see the look in your eyes
(Turnaround fat thighs)
Every now and then you fall apart
(Questonable meat pies)
Every now and then you fall apart

And I need a laugh tonight
And so I know we're off to Gorgie
If only for a decent fight
Before you go running off to your mummies
And we know you're as soft as ........
'Coz we've never been wrong

etc

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2010, 01:10 PM
If it weren't for all the phillistines who won't know it, this would surely be do-able!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkGHZcB4xAg&feature=related

Lyrics reworked:

I will never see my team upon the floor
Remember the good times gonna get some more
It's a perfect love and I'll defend it
Cause I believe that's what Rod intended

[1] We got a lead too good to throw away

[2] It's not over between you and me
It's not over don't want to be free

3 What has been joined by Rod by Rod
Let no team put asunder
Still trying to finish [2]... :wink:

Of course, if you can't be arsed actually changing lyrics, this is surely the winner!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0tsKCB4lc&feature=related

Where's the doing a wee spin while cutting a rug on the dancefloor smiley when you need it? :greengrin

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 01:15 PM
If it weren't for all the phillistines who won't know it, this would surely be do-able!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkGHZcB4xAg&feature=related

Lyrics reworked:

I will never see my team upon the floor
Remember the good times gonna get some more
It's a perfect love and I'll defend it
Cause I believe that's what Rod intended

[1] We got a lead too good to throw away

[2] It's not over between you and me
It's not over don't want to be free

3 What has been joined by Rod by Rod
Let no team put asunder
Still trying to finish [2]... :wink:

Of course, if you can't be arsed actually changing lyrics, this is surely the winner!

Where's the doing a wee spin while cutting a rug on the dancefloor smiley when you need it? :greengrin

Aint No Stoppin Us Now is Pure Effin Genius man !!

The wife and me are gein it big licks on the dancefloor right now to this ! ( it's no actually a dancefloor it's a spare room ).

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 01:18 PM
The ground would be bouncin if a rendition of " Can't take my eyes off of you ", Deer Hunter bar scene style was sung every half an hour !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HWEBE0F1FQ

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2010, 01:19 PM
Aint No Stoppin Us Now is Pure Effin Genius man !!

The wife and me are gein it big licks on the dancefloor right now to this ! ( it's no actually a dancefloor it's a spare room ).

Just picture the whole East giving it a bit of sashay-ing around to this then letting out a heartfelt 'hhuuuggghhh' in unison to scare the opposing team's players! Vintage!

Supraninja
26-08-2010, 01:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7mPqycQ0tQ

^ this song is best song

GEE GEE GEE GEE

26-08-2010, 01:24 PM
Yambusters!

If there's something strange
in your South Stand
Who you gonna call? - Yambusters!
If there's something weird
and it don't smell good

I ain't afraid of no boak

If you're seeing things
Walking with two heads
Who can you call? - Yambusters!
An invisible plan
For getting out of debt
Oh, who can you call? - Yambusters!

I ain't afraid of no scrote

If you're all alone
And Nade calls at your home
Just call - Yambusters!

I ain't afraid of no joke
I hear it likes the boys
Can't afford to buy Stokes
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

If you've had a dose
of a skanky bird in a demolition pose
You'd better call - Yambusters!

(instrumental)

Let me tell you something
YamBustin' makes me feel good

I ain't afraid of no Jumbo
I ain't afraid of no ****bo

Don't get caught alone, bending down, oh no
Yambusters!
When it comes through your door
Punch it to the floor
I think you better call - Yambusters!
Ow!

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 01:25 PM
Just picture the whole East giving it a bit of sashay-ing around to this then letting out a heartfelt 'hhuuuggghhh' in unison to scare the opposing team's players! Vintage!

Maybe Rod could find some money in the kitty to put giant velvet curtains on The East that open when the players come out the tunnel.

Are a few disco balls too much ???

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 01:27 PM

^ this song is best song

GEE GEE GEE GEE

mmmmmm!

We may have to take a vote on this one.

Dr Jimmy
26-08-2010, 01:34 PM
The ground would be bouncin if a rendition of " Can't take my eyes off of you ", Deer Hunter bar scene style was sung every half an hour !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HWEBE0F1FQ

Perfect........As long as everyone bounces to the .....deh deh deh deh deh deh dita......part.
That would be mental....!

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2010, 01:35 PM
Maybe Rod could find some money in the kitty to put giant velvet curtains on The East that open when the players come out the tunnel.

Are a few disco balls too much ???

I'm led to believe that the underfoot support structure in the new East lights up ala the dancefloor in Saturday Night Fever to enhance just such an effect! Of course this also leads us onto the whole East grabbing its crotch and singing Billie Jean [with different words of course] at every opportunity!

Best. Thread. Ever. :greengrin

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2010, 01:39 PM
Think this one is definitely a go-er. Just came across this old pic of Rod cutting a rug back in the disco heyday! Tachetastic!

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/.a/6a00d83451c3cb69e20120a66fb7fc970b-400wi

Disc O'Dave
26-08-2010, 01:41 PM
Not sure I like the idea of Disco....

If it's Disco you are after, my top pick would be "Dance Yourself Dizzy" by Liquid Gold...could be turned into "Goan Yersel Nishy"

"le Freak, c'est Chic" could be renamed "he's Deek, pure cheek""

Obviously the T-shirt has already nicked it but "Native Leith Walker" by Odyssey would be groovy.

If we can move the glitter ball aisde for a moment, I remain convinced to this day that Freddie Mercury signs "Hibs are Kinda Magic" and merely substituted "Hibs" for "It's" in the title to fool less cultured individuals.

26-08-2010, 02:52 PM

Any suggestions?

Feels like I'm in love (Hibees Hibees)! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9-HkQGvut8) :thumbsup:

26-08-2010, 03:11 PM
A must for when we play the Yams. :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBtj2ShktAU&feature=related

26-08-2010, 03:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RW25wKq0zGI&feature=related

26-08-2010, 03:18 PM
By the way if you were born after 1970 and you are confused by the posts on this thread........

Ask your mum or dad :devil:

Chuckie
26-08-2010, 03:21 PM
Disco is very gay.

How about this ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiMaOmDtaYI&feature=related

18/03/07
26-08-2010, 04:49 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im0igZyrrIs&feature=related
Should have played this last Sunday for the weegies:agree:

26-08-2010, 05:01 PM
I'll be surprised if no one has suggested Train in Vain by the Clash before now. Likewise Sunday Girl by Blondie.

26-08-2010, 05:46 PM
Was listening to Snow Patrol "Chasing Cars" on the way home from work, I think that might sound good sung en-mass by 6000 folk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNZV2C5bpmA

that chorus :thumbsup:

26-08-2010, 06:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK2tWVj6lXw&ob=av2n

26-08-2010, 06:19 PM
struggle to top this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_sY2rjxq6M

...WentToMowAnSPL
26-08-2010, 06:24 PM
I quite like the idea of Benny and The Jets by Sir Elton John.

Don't know what it has to do with Hibs but I like the idea of the new East Stand singing " Benny ", repeating this from each stand in an anti - clockwise manner until the whole ground sings Benny and The Hibs " .

I hope we find a " Benny " before the window closes !

if we are winning it could be 'Hibbies and our pets " ?

26-08-2010, 06:26 PM
if we are winning it could be 'Hibbies and our pets " ?

There will only ever be one Benny:

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44408000/jpg/_44408419_ally_brazil_hibs_220sns.jpg

Disc O'Dave
26-08-2010, 06:37 PM
Anyone would think this was an amazing bit of subtle marketing for the opening night of "Disco Inferno" at Sportsters on Saturday.

Not that it will EVER be a patch on the early 90's at The Venue......

suavegav
26-08-2010, 07:56 PM

Any suggestions?

Starship number " We built this city " on rock and roll

But change it to " We built this city" round Easter Road.

26-08-2010, 08:12 PM
For this to be a goer, the younger ones might need lessons on how to move to the heady disco beat. Lesson here..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTLPfthz9Hw

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 09:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RW25wKq0zGI&feature=related

Imagine if the Hibs really did have a squad like this . We would probably be the most succesful club on the planet.

I think it's worth a letter to the club.

LEaston87
26-08-2010, 09:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQLWF_ItzYs :agree:

26-08-2010, 10:17 PM
Scenario: 3 - 0 victory ovet the Gorgie Tramps, DJ plays http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBjsdEWvn3I

Scenario: 0 - 3 defeat to the OF hordes, DJ plays http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECQeLQURNuw

HibeePaj
26-08-2010, 10:36 PM
iv got it !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIj-6fr2SlI

Paget

Loopz
26-08-2010, 10:36 PM
Kelly marie is my favourite so far, and listening to 1 person singing snow patrol is bad enough so that's not a goer. Sadly I feel this would be more appropriate but what a song, it would bring a smile to my face no matter what the score>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3Aa4aO_HEk&feature=fvst

26-08-2010, 10:49 PM
Well said Loopz :thumbsup:

Got to be Kelly Marie! :agree:

booshsutton
27-08-2010, 12:32 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kySw1V9Xb8

Gimme hope Zemmama
hope Zemmama
Gimme Hope Zemmama
and go on a run
Gimme hope Zemmama
hope Zemmama
hope you score against the huns

I'll get my coat?

booshsutton
27-08-2010, 12:38 AM
How about a bit of Lionel and the Commodores....pure funk....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5EmnQp3V48

He's a brick house
Soleymane Bamba
and he's going to mow you down
He's a brick house
he's the one, you better run
so you better get out our town

superbam
27-08-2010, 12:41 AM
Keni Burke is hibs class

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ieevQ9RrDc

booshsutton
27-08-2010, 12:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OJsYwLs7yE

Very superstitious,
We got Calgary Hibs,
Very superstitious,
And he gets first dibs,
To start all the match threads,
Every Saturday
Then the hibs are winning,
if not blame Petrie (petray)

Right it's bed time....

Hibs On Tour
27-08-2010, 09:42 AM
Know I'm biased but still no seen anything to touch or come close to this baby!

Sure one of our resident wordsmiths could rejig the lyrics appropriately where needed!

[PS we need a disco ball smiley admins!]

Disc O'Dave
27-08-2010, 01:45 PM
Sorry, can't resist it (apologies to Gloria Gaynor)

At first I was afraid, I was petrified
Kept thinking we could never live without Stokes in our side
But I thought “all those boozy nights, and the bets that went so wrong”
And I grew strong, and I learned how to get along......

So don’t come back, you’ve lost your place,
We heard you missed a lot of training, and were often out your face,
Your gambling’s left you in hock, so you need to find a fee
But dinnae thing for just one moment Rodders will be letting go for free

We will not die, we will survive
As long as Rod is still the guv, we know we’ll stay alive
If Celtic sign this little spiv, let’s show how much a toss we’ll give
And we’ll survive, we will survive, hey hey...

Hibs On Tour
27-08-2010, 03:15 PM

Sterling work sir! :applause:

Chuckie
27-08-2010, 03:18 PM

27-08-2010, 04:26 PM
Personally think J Cash's Ring Of Fire

And

We No Speak Americano would look immense in the east

hibbybrian
27-08-2010, 04:32 PM
Jackson 5 - Blame It On The Boogie (Scapegoat) :greengrin

Don't blame it on the Goalie
Don't blame it on the Defence
Don't blame it on the Midfield
Blame it on ... Big Nishy/John Rankin/Hoggy/Big Yogi/the Tactics ...........

27-08-2010, 06:32 PM
I know I reworked Queen "Kind of Magic" but I think we should just be looking to adopt a song that is sung as it was written, "You'll Never Walk Alone" isn't mucked about by Liverpool after all.

Killie - Paper Roses
Dundee Utd - Love is in the air
Falkirk - Amarillo
West Ham Utd - I'm forever Blowing Bubbles

You get the idea, so far I think Bonnie Tyler "Total Eclipse of the Heart" should be played on the tannoy, and the singers should learn the words.

27-08-2010, 07:57 PM
Can't Help Falling In Love With You - Elvis Presley.

One of my memories of the East is some inebriated gentleman standing at the back singing this word for word each game. Brilliant!

27-08-2010, 08:19 PM
The hook's great but no idea what the rest of the words are.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFIqxnSo-gQ

Also, "The Green Green Grass of Home"?

fiolex1
27-08-2010, 08:26 PM
Hibs,hibs,
Bumba Hady hady, Hibs, hibs
Bumba Hady hady, Hibs .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLn6pUOd5CE

27-08-2010, 09:55 PM
Kelly marie is my favourite so far, and listening to 1 person singing snow patrol is bad enough so that's not a goer. Sadly I feel this would be more appropriate but what a song, it would bring a smile to my face no matter what the score>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3Aa4aO_HEk&feature=fvst

If we're going for literal then this I fear is the one.

Here are some other suggestions though:

Mrs One Day Soon suggests Walking on Sunshine which has some merit.

Theme to the Great Escape after Wallet Mercenary's failed attempt at a drive-by club homicide (I know Rankers use this but b6lls to that)

Donna Summer: You Can't Hurry Love - a disco diva and this song says it all about Hibs and THAT cup

Feel The Need - Detroit Emeralds, speaks for itself

H. A. P. P. Y. Radio - Edwin Starr, easily adapted to a chorus of H.I.B.B.Y

Kung Fu Fighting - Carl Douglas, just because its mental

SvenNeil
27-08-2010, 10:09 PM
Not an anthem so to speak, more like entrance music for when the teams come out: U2 - where the streets have no name

27-08-2010, 11:00 PM
I know I reworked Queen "Kind of Magic" but I think we should just be looking to adopt a song that is sung as it was written, "You'll Never Walk Alone" isn't mucked about by Liverpool after all.

Killie - Paper Roses
Dundee Utd - Love is in the air
Falkirk - Amarillo
West Ham Utd - I'm forever Blowing Bubbles

You get the idea, so far I think Bonnie Tyler "Total Eclipse of the Heart" should be played on the tannoy, and the singers should learn the words.

There must be some song that's catchy and loosely connected to our love for, or experiences of supporting the club.

Something like "I can't help falling in love with you"....but that's also been adopted by Dundee United. The first time I heard them sing that was when they went 2-1 up in the semi and I've never heard 5000 fans make such a noise in my life...I had to admit that sounded quite good.

If, on the other hand we're talking about adopting a song and altering the lyrics why are we looking backwards? Why not something modern and contemporary? Songs by chicory tip and other such bands were made into football songs in the seventies and still live on today. If we're going to change the words to a certain song there are plenty songs written in the past decade with catchy choruses that can be utilised and will be remembered for decades.

Choruses for "champaign supernova" or "sex on fire"( just two examples right off the top of my head) are just as catchy as "give piece a chance" or that chicory tip song. It's all about having the balls as a group to make up some words and belt them out.

edit: Even champaign supernova untouched would sound amazing!

woody47
27-08-2010, 11:23 PM
I know it's cheesey but after watching the fans bouncing in the club before the Blackpool game how about:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8py1wRTli8

Edinburgh band and one of them is a definite Hibee :thumbsup:

:duck:

28-08-2010, 12:25 AM

There must be some song that's catchy and loosely connected to our love for, or experiences of supporting the club.

Something like "I can't help falling in love with you"....but that's also been adopted by Dundee United. The first time I heard them sing that was when they went 2-1 up in the semi and I've never heard 5000 fans make such a noise in my life...I had to admit that sounded quite good.

If, on the other hand we're talking about adopting a song and altering the lyrics why are we looking backwards? Why not something modern and contemporary? Songs by chicory tip and other such bands were made into football songs in the seventies and still live on today. If we're going to change the words to a certain song there are plenty songs written in the past decade with catchy choruses that can be utilised and will be remembered for decades.

Choruses for "champaign supernova" or "sex on fire"( just two examples right off the top of my head) are just as catchy as "give piece a chance" or that chicory tip song. It's all about having the balls as a group to make up some words and belt them out.

edit: Even champaign supernova untouched would sound amazing!

With all the talent we've sold in the past few years maybe we should sing "Don't Look Back In Anger" :cool2:

28-08-2010, 12:25 AM
This is the first time I've looked at this thread - you're all bams! :thumbsup:

Anyway, somebody metioned funk?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfAJLGFWxYo

- with "we are the Hi-Bees at 2:20, etc.

Or maybe,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myvRlJOxbJ0

Den Hegarty in the Matty Jack role anyone?

headshrinker
28-08-2010, 02:53 AM
THE GREEN GREEN GRASS OF HOME

The holy ground’s had a change as I take my seat again,

and there to meet me eleven Hibees and the gaffer

Down the slope I look and there’s the history, proud to be an Edinburgh Hibby.

It’s good to touch the green green grass of home.

Yes we’ll all stand together, punch the sky, shouting HIBS FOR EVER

It’s good to touch the green green grass of home.

28-08-2010, 04:02 AM
Kwalitee Mr Shrinker :thumbsup:

Supraninja
28-08-2010, 04:13 AM
Seriously though.

GEE GEE GEE GEE

TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 08:18 AM
Know I'm biased but still no seen anything to touch or come close to this baby!

Sure one of our resident wordsmiths could rejig the lyrics appropriately where needed!

[PS we need a disco ball smiley admins!]

Will you no stop puttin this song up - I nearly pulled my groin when I went from a double drop knee into a half shimmay lay -back.

TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 08:36 AM
This is the first time I've looked at this thread - you're all bams! :thumbsup:

Anyway, somebody metioned funk?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfAJLGFWxYo

- with "we are the Hi-Bees at 2:20, etc.

Or maybe,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myvRlJOxbJ0

Den Hegarty in the Matty Jack role anyone?

I think my Mum and Dad played The Average White Bands - " feel no fret " 2 times a day for 2 years !

This one is my all time favourite funk number:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuUy2ShGLyo

We should maybe just have a 90 minute non-stop megamix !!

TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 08:44 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3XIlEUO-VE

Replacing the chorus with " Hibby Hibby aye aye ay ay ay "!

28-08-2010, 09:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew7Zkkucos8 :thumbsup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5q3yWHbGpc :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMwbG4pSHFc&feature=fvst :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFUTuVr_M_I :wink:

:bye:

28-08-2010, 09:23 AM
found these while looking for some more tunes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_l2d4YPZNE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fojsI3XADM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQIwbvCdK-s :hmmm:

28-08-2010, 09:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2w-_Vtttrfc :notworthy:

Maybe we could sing it like this :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kzc50qxg8o

I think sombody needs to do a poll, I've never done one

28-08-2010, 09:41 AM
With the imminent departure of Stokes to Sellick.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wc-AQJ2MYo

:devil:

TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 09:44 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2w-_Vtttrfc :notworthy:

Maybe we could sing it like this :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kzc50qxg8o

I think sombody needs to do a poll, I've never done one

Do it, do it, do it, do it, do it, do it !

28-08-2010, 10:17 AM
I know it's cheesey but after watching the fans bouncing in the club before the Blackpool game how about:

Aye, and the rest of them are Jambos. I knew the Longmuirs when I stayed in Edinburgh.

28-08-2010, 10:21 AM

They were yams!

This has to be up for serious consideration - change baby to Hibs type stuff and when they players are stroking it about ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUb9jTdLUu0

woody47
28-08-2010, 04:55 PM
They were yams!

This has to be up for serious consideration - change baby to Hibs type stuff and when they players are stroking it about ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUb9jTdLUu0

I can guarantee you that one was definately a Hibee. Actually know him very very well :wink:

28-08-2010, 05:02 PM
Is that you - the real Woody? RGN?
I was told by my pal at the time who was at school with Les Mcwhateverhisnamewas that they/you were all Hertz fans.

28-08-2010, 05:28 PM
disco is all wrong for football :agree:

what we really need is something a bit more lively

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpqvy4KERt0&feature=related

mcaitchi
28-08-2010, 05:51 PM
What about the song from dexys midnight runners

CMON EILLEN - Chage with words CMON HIBEES

and The "Too ra oo ra ay" chorus would have us singing !!

ok iv got my coat on :bye:

Tha Cabbage Kid
28-08-2010, 06:44 PM
i like que sera sera ('whatever will be, will be')

Tha Cabbage Kid
28-08-2010, 06:46 PM
i also like '***** the police' by NWA

squire
28-08-2010, 07:53 PM
I have to say i totally agree with this idea. A slow ballad/song with great lyrics that doesnt have to be specifically Hibs related but sounds amazing with a few thousands gee'in it lalldy :thumbsup: I really hope this takes off

Cant Help falling in love sounds amazing but Dundee United have that so its out. But my wee short list would be: I'll stand by you, Cant take my eyes off you, Sit down, Sweet Caroline, Poetry in Motion, total eclipse of the heart.

Man United sing "take me home United Road" to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oN86d0CdgHQ this which i always thought would be good if we did "take me home Easter Road, to the place i belong, down to Leith to see the Hibees, take me home Easter Road" or something like that.

Time to vote on the other thread!