View Full Version : Deep fried Mars bars
24-08-2010, 10:37 PM
Fact or fiction?
If fact, where sells them?
Calvin
24-08-2010, 10:48 PM
Cafe Piccante on Broughton Street and Picasso on London road are the places I've had them.
A lovely delicacy, but very sickly.
24-08-2010, 10:59 PM
I'm sure Arab mentioned to me at HT on Sunday when I was getting some scran that there was a chippy up her way selling them
LeithWalkHibby
25-08-2010, 12:05 AM
Bene's on the Canongate, opposite the Tolbooth Tavern.
25-08-2010, 07:27 AM
Used to live in Aberdeen and spent a lot of time in Stonehaven, where they were 'invented'. The Haven chip shop which claims to have been the first to serve it has a sign up to inform people of this claim to fame. So they definitely exist, i have absolutely no idea where you could buy one now as they are quite possibly one of he most sickly foods available and once was definitely enough.
25-08-2010, 07:47 AM
I've eaten one before. Rancid.
H18BYM
25-08-2010, 11:36 AM
Would you believe that a restaurant on Leicester Square in London has these on the menu - £5 a time!
25-08-2010, 11:42 AM
Pammy Cafe (Palmerston Cafe), Glasgow Road, Dumfries.
Last time I had one they were about £1.55, don't really like them that much but at the same time I've had worse.
hibby19
25-08-2010, 12:38 PM
The Bar-B-Que on Glasgow road does them I think. Well they did a few years ago anyway, used to get them on my school lunch :greengrin
I quite like them but by the end they are very sickly and potentially cement your mouth shut !
25-08-2010, 12:44 PM
"The Chippy"(it's changed its name now) on Rose Street sells them. I've never had one though.
25-08-2010, 12:44 PM
The Bar-B-Que on Glasgow road does them I think. Well they did a few years ago anyway, used to get them on my school lunch :greengrin
I quite like them but by the end they are very sickly and potentially cement your mouth shut !
Thats where I got them as well, on lunch from Forries. I had a deep fried lion bar from there as well, that was more enjoyable than the mars.
25-08-2010, 04:23 PM
I recall an article in the Sunday Post (I know, I know) around about 1983/84 reporting on this phenomenon, stating that it was a chippy in Portobello that was doing them.
The only place I've seen them on sale is at the chippy at the top of Broughton Street - and I think it was a tourist/hen night driven thing.
25-08-2010, 04:26 PM
I remember back in my school days (when everything was in black and white and that) getting a deep fried mars bar from the chippy next to Scotties - think the chippy is Giovanni's but it's maybe changed it's name from since then (it was a good 16 years ago or so).
No idea if they still sell them, but it was quite tasty IIRC.
25-08-2010, 04:44 PM
I remember back in my school days (when everything was in black and white and that) getting a deep fried mars bar from the chippy next to Scotties - think the chippy is Giovanni's but it's maybe changed it's name from since then (it was a good 16 years ago or so).
No idea if they still sell them, but it was quite tasty IIRC.
Might tie in with the Sunday Post saying it was in Portobello (which of course it is not). :agree:
25-08-2010, 07:59 PM
I'm sure Arab mentioned to me at HT on Sunday when I was getting some scran that there was a chippy up her way selling them
Noticed when I was in my local chinese in Scone last weekend (which doubles as a chippy) that they have started doing deep fried Mars bars. £1.20.
25-08-2010, 08:23 PM
Arab - Surely your local chinese is in coupar angus not scone?
25-08-2010, 08:55 PM
Arab - Surely your local chinese is in coupar angus not scone?
Nah, too near the chicken factory for my liking. You dinnae ken what they're putting in the chow mein!! :bitchy:
26-08-2010, 09:55 AM
I had half of one over here in 2008 :agree:
26-08-2010, 12:23 PM
I had half of one over here in 2008 :agree:
Who had the other half, Chris? :cool2:
Storar
26-08-2010, 12:31 PM
got one at the BBQ too, mingin
Teo10
26-08-2010, 01:28 PM
got one at the BBQ too, mingin
They are decent:agree:
Storar
26-08-2010, 01:39 PM
They are decent:agree:
nut
26-08-2010, 02:11 PM
Seen it advertised in the window at the chippy near Mather's on Broughton Street.
27-08-2010, 01:03 PM
Who had the other half, Chris? :cool2:
You are correct actually...stalker! :greengrin
:offski:
27-08-2010, 04:11 PM
You are correct actually...stalker! :greengrin
:offski:
TrickyNicky
28-08-2010, 11:01 AM
Bene's on the Canongate, opposite the Tolbooth Tavern.
My auld man always told me that Bene's was owned by Bene Ferenc - the Hungarian striker who scored in every one of Hungary's matches in 1966.
said that he fell in love with Edinburgh and opened a chippy.
Now, when your 7 year old - that's a great story !
31-08-2010, 09:44 AM
Seen it advertised in the window at the chippy near Mather's on Broughton Street.
£2!
31-08-2010, 12:46 PM
If a chippy uses the same pan to cook and confectionery then their chips will be ******, they turn your oil black. If you want the same effect withoot the grease and general mingingness, try puting a mars in the mirco for about a minute.
I think the one at the top o broughton st (Penne I think) uses a seperate pan for these as they do seem to get the tourist in wanting them. Any local chippy worth their salt (excuse pun) will not do this in their pans.
I work in a chippy and tbh we get about one request for these every couple of months. No a realy big demand for them in Niddrie anyways :greengrin