View Full Version : Greggs Stokes (Merged)
27-08-2010, 09:05 PM
They never said the entire project was fully funded up front. A sizable portion would have been ringfenced, however.
Yes a sizeable portion was ringfenced, then we received around 1million for fletcher because of the sell on fee and the board said that the new east would not effect spending on players. If we have to sell players then the east is effecting the spending on players.
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-boss-told-East-Stand.6095112.jp
LeithBoozy
27-08-2010, 09:15 PM
Option 1, we go the hearts route and threaten Stokes to sign an extention, to his contract or he trains with the u19's. Or option 2, seeing as we got him for sweeties we sell him for mega-bucks. Reduce our debt further, and reinvest lots of it in decent new players for the team.I think option 2 is the wise move. ??? :agree:
27-08-2010, 09:22 PM
Option 1, we go the hearts route and threaten Stokes to sign an extention, to his contract or he trains with the u19's. Or option 2, seeing as we got him for sweeties we sell him for mega-bucks. Reduce our debt further, and reinvest lots of it in decent new players for the team.I think option 2 is the wise move. ??? :agree:
Option 3: keep him for two seasons, scores 40+ goals, leaves for nothing. He couldn't afford to throw the toys out the pram and put in lacklustre performances over the 2 years as nobody would be interested in him at the end of the contract.
None of the options are particularly great
27-08-2010, 09:23 PM
Option 3: keep him for two seasons, scores 40+ goals, leaves for nothing. He couldn't afford to throw the toys out the pram and put in lacklustre performances over the 2 years as nobody would be interested in him at the end of the contract.
None of the options are particularly great
especially if you are just writing off the third year of his contract for bugger all :wink:
27-08-2010, 09:28 PM
especially if you are just writing off the third year of his contract for bugger all :wink:
Ah I thought he'd signed for 3 years so has 2 to go. No?
27-08-2010, 09:31 PM
the way you wrote it sounded like you were including last year as one of them, my mistake
27-08-2010, 09:31 PM
yeah he does
LeithBoozy
27-08-2010, 09:33 PM
Degenerated, this is doing my heid in mate. :boo hoo:
27-08-2010, 09:36 PM
Degenerated, this is doing my heid in mate. :boo hoo:
what is?
LeithBoozy
27-08-2010, 09:40 PM
All the differant options. ? :confused:
27-08-2010, 09:44 PM
Aye, sort it Degenerated.
27-08-2010, 09:45 PM
Aye, sort it Degenerated.
27-08-2010, 11:32 PM
option 4 we remind him we gave him a chance to play at a gr8 club and he shud stay put! If not just punt him! we survived without him before and we will without him!
28-08-2010, 03:48 AM
The longer this goes on the more it looks like the same crap Celtic have been dishing out to their fans all summer long...
'We are definitely in for James / Campbell / Bellamy / Given / Keane / Stokes, now be sure to keep buying those season tickets.'
So far this summer 99% of their transfer chat has amounted to sweet FA, hopefully that will continue!
28-08-2010, 06:16 AM
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
Wish i had mare time with this total pap. Celtc generous with a million for Stokes? What does that make monkey heid Elliot and injury prone Kylie worth ?..two bob each.
Theres fan dans and fan dans..your the king of fan dans.
Seriously the Jambo revolution oan here just gets cringeworthy after cringeworthy.
Next they will be telling us about a new 51 Million main stand.
:agree: LTYF
28-08-2010, 07:22 AM
If in Theory Stokes did go for 4m. Would RP trust Yogi enough to give him money to spend???
Enough to buy Craig Bryson anyway
28-08-2010, 07:35 AM
If Stokes stays, which seems fairly probable, it might be instructive to name and shame the closet-Jambo 'done deal' piss-and-wind merchants 'in the know' who delight in making mischief on this forum, and doom-laden sheep so easily conned by them.
28-08-2010, 07:38 AM
If Stokes stays, which seems fairly probable, it might be instructive to name and shame the closet-Jambo 'done deal' piss-and-wind merchants 'in the know' who delight in making mischief on this forum, and doom-laden sheep so easily conned by them.
Don't worry Bob the list has already been drawn up :wink:
28-08-2010, 07:49 AM
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
Wish i had mare time with this total pap. Celtc generous with a million for Stokes? What does that make monkey heid Elliot and injury prone Kylie worth ?..two bob each.
Theres fan dans and fan dans..your the king of fan dans.
Seriously the Jambo revolution oan here just gets cringeworthy after cringeworthy.
Next they will be telling us about a new 51 Million main stand.
Don't mock them Andy... I've heard a rumour that they are going to sign 2 world cup stars before the deadline...
:boo hoo: :cool2:
28-08-2010, 07:55 AM
Don't mock them Andy... I've heard a rumour that they are going to sign 2 world cup stars before the deadline...
it'll be 2 of those North Korean boys that went on the run
28-08-2010, 08:06 AM
Aye Bobby Charlton and Geoff Hurst are on their way to Gorgie as we speak to blend in with their old stand.
Don't shoot the messenger.
28-08-2010, 08:11 AM
At the end of the day if Celtic want stokes and the money is right for Hibs then it's a done deal and the same goes for Roirdan and Bamba players who attract attention on a regular basis
I wish someone would bid for Hogg :greengrin
28-08-2010, 08:13 AM
If there's no transfer news today and Stokes plays tomorrow can we assume that he will remain a Hibs player until at least the January transfer window?
Similarly if there's no transfer news today and Stokes doesn't play tomorrow can we assume that he will be away before the deadline?
I need answers. :greengrin
Yes a sizeable portion was ringfenced, then we received around 1million for fletcher because of the sell on fee and the board said that the new east would not effect spending on players. If we have to sell players then the east is effecting the spending on players.
There's a big difference between 'having to sell players' and deciding whether to accept an offer for a player which you believe more than equals his market value to the club.
If you turn such an offer down it might never be tabled again due to a major injury or the player's form regressing. For example, although we're not aware of an offer having been made for him at the time, Bamba was probably worth much more in the January 2010 transfer window than he is now following his non-appearance in the World Cup finals.
An interesting decision for the Board to make.
28-08-2010, 08:22 AM
If there's no transfer news today and Stokes plays tomorrow can we assume that he will remain a Hibs player until at least the January transfer window?
Similarly if there's no transfer news today and Stokes doesn't play tomorrow can we assume that he will be away before the deadline?
Doubt it.
It could also mean that Rod is still playing hard ball with the smelly ones.
If Stokes doesn't play tomorrow we'll have just two strikers in the squad. So I hope there would be transfer news today to remedy that.
However, the club announcing now the signing of another striker might weaken their negotiating stance with the hooped biscuit tin regarding Stokes.
All quite complex and intricate, isn't it?
Smiggy 7-0
28-08-2010, 08:28 AM
Still think ROD should tell the SMELLY UNCLEAN SOAP DODGING BARSTEWARDS TO GET TO F***
:blah:
28-08-2010, 08:35 AM
Still think ROD should tell the SMELLY UNCLEAN SOAP DODGING BARSTEWARDS TO GET TO F***
:blah:
With the offer they gave us, I think Rod already has!
28-08-2010, 08:38 AM
If Stokes doesn't play tomorrow we'll have just two strikers in the squad. So I hope there would be transfer news today to remedy that.
However, the club announcing now the signing of another striker might weaken their negotiating stance with the hooped biscuit tin regarding Stokes.
All quite complex and intricate, isn't it?
Think we'll hold on to Stokes until at least Christmas window and sign a new forward this weekend. One thing's for sure is he'll defo be leaving at some point, just a matter of how much and to who, same goes to Bamba. That's the way it's got to work, buy players who'll improve us but at the same time will increase their own value letting us progress to buying a better quality player and hopefully gradually improving.
28-08-2010, 08:38 AM
I expect a lot of players will be linked with Celtic over the next 60 or so hours. Lennon's jacket is already on a shaky peg thanks to Braga and Utrecht. If Uncle Wattie opens up a decent points lead by Christmas, (which he's capable of doing on early evidence) it could be P45 time.
28-08-2010, 08:41 AM
I expect a lot of players will be linked with Celtic over the next 60 or so hours. Lennon's jacket is already on a shaky peg thanks to Braga and Utrecht. If Uncle Wattie opens up a decent points lead by Christmas, (which he's capable of doing on early evidence) it could be P45 time.
At which point this message board will be going mental with worry as the smelly ones try and poach Yogi :greengrin
28-08-2010, 08:44 AM
Think we'll hold on to Stokes until at least Christmas window and sign a new forward this weekend. One thing's for sure is he'll defo be leaving at some point, just a matter of how much and to who, same goes to Bamba. That's the way it's got to work, buy players who'll improve us but at the same time will increase their own value letting us progress to buying a better quality player and hopefully gradually improving.
Well I would much prefer that Rod gives Yogi an open cheque book and we sign some quality players now and put them on EPL wages. After all that's what the Yams have done and they've since won the Champions League, World War 3, built a new stand complete with 5 star hotel and regulary play in front of 400,00 fans at Tynecastle. It's done them no harm and they're keeping up the sterling work with the signing of Kevin Kyle.
Rod sort it. :grr:
28-08-2010, 08:47 AM
At which point this message board will be going mental with worry as the smelly ones try and poach Yogi :greengrin
Or a Yogi-Lennon exchange. :wink:
28-08-2010, 08:50 AM
Say no more.
28-08-2010, 09:02 AM
The longer this goes on the more it looks like the same crap Celtic have been dishing out to their fans all summer long...
'We are definitely in for James / Campbell / Bellamy / Given / Keane / Stokes, now be sure to keep buying those season tickets.'So far this summer 99% of their transfer chat has amounted to sweet FA, hopefully that will continue!
The one thing that no-one has commented on here is the propensity for those utterly classless mingers from Glesca to conduct their transfer negotiations in public through the ever willing auspices of the ever craven Glesca meeja. Now I thought that there were rules against tapping up players contracted to other clubs, and this way of conducting business is surely a form of tapping, and I would think that a complaint to UEFA should be made (no point in complaining to the GFA) by the clubs of those players involved.
I live in hope, anyway.
28-08-2010, 09:49 AM
There's a big difference between having to sell and wanting to sell.
There's a big difference between 'having to sell players' and deciding whether to accept an offer for a player which you believe more than equals his market value to the club.
There's a big difference between having to sell and wanting to sell.
Snap! :greengrin
28-08-2010, 10:08 AM
Snap! :greengrin
I noticed it after I made my post :greengrin
28-08-2010, 01:51 PM
Radio Scotland saying that deal is stalling due to sell on clause with Sunderland. Petrie saying something along the lines of celtic wanting Pele for the price of a telly according to chick young!
28-08-2010, 02:00 PM
It's amazing the arrogance of the OF and their puppets in the media. Lennon described Stokes as 'an option' and the media seem to havee totally missed the point. That hibs do not HAVE to sell Stokes. It looks like we're doing the right thing though IMO we shouldn't sell to that vile institution of poison anyway.
28-08-2010, 02:07 PM
So is there a clause for release?, I think there isnt, anyone know for sure, if there isnt then price should be more than what they sold Fortune for and actually a fair bit more, Celtic cannot resonabily argue a reason for a value of less or same.
Hibs On Tour
28-08-2010, 02:29 PM
So is there a clause for release?, I think there isnt, anyone know for sure, if there isnt then price should be more than what they sold Fortune for and actually a fair bit more, Celtic cannot resonabily argue a reason for a value of less or same.
Far as I'm aware, its not just how good the player is that affects the value. Its how much of his contract is left and how much the player gets paid under that contract [as the selling club will have to pay that out to the leaving player in a lot of cases]. So a player like Fortune although clearly nowhere near as good a player as Stokes, could easily be valued higher if he is being sold without having asked for a move as he would have been on far more at Darkheid than Stokes will be on here. Think a lot of people forget that aspect when thinking about valuations and focus merely on what their player is worth to them in terms of ability etc...
Also sounds like if there is a release clause in the contract that this figure would have been worked out by RP to cover the eventuality of AS leaving and us having to pay any sell-on fee to Sunderland. It also says to me that Celtic haven't offered as much as that release clause [yet] and are chancing their mitt on this one so far. By coming out in the media about it before anything has been agreed I think it does amount to tapping up and something should be done. Its trying to get the player to request a transfer and make it more likely we'll sell at lower than the clause. If so, they're barking up the wrong tree with RP I think...
28-08-2010, 02:50 PM
I'm not to sure there is a clause any more. Would have thought if there was one it would have been well under £2 million and that Stokes agent would have had a word with celtic to let them know what it is. If there is one and it's over £2 million then once again you got to take your hat of to Rod.
28-08-2010, 03:21 PM
Wages etc dont come into play here. Normally if a player moves on and is under a certain age (24 I think) then the club he leaves is due compensation for developing the player and wages would be a factor in determining the players value.
In this case Stokes is under contract to Hibs and dosent appear to have a minimum release clause (hopefully!) so he is worth whatever Rod decides he wants or whatever Celtic are prepared to pay. If Celtic have punted a player, who they have deemed not good enough, for over £4m and want Stokes, who they deem to be good enough, then it would be logical to assume they should pay at least that.
Far as I'm aware, its not just how good the player is that affects the value. Its how much of his contract is left and how much the player gets paid under that contract [as the selling club will have to pay that out to the leaving player in a lot of cases]. So a player like Fortune although clearly nowhere near as good a player as Stokes, could easily be valued higher if he is being sold without having asked for a move as he would have been on far more at Darkheid than Stokes will be on here. Think a lot of people forget that aspect when thinking about valuations and focus merely on what their player is worth to them in terms of ability etc...
Also sounds like if there is a release clause in the contract that this figure would have been worked out by RP to cover the eventuality of AS leaving and us having to pay any sell-on fee to Sunderland. It also says to me that Celtic haven't offered as much as that release clause [yet] and are chancing their mitt on this one so far. By coming out in the media about it before anything has been agreed I think it does amount to tapping up and something should be done. Its trying to get the player to request a transfer and make it more likely we'll sell at lower than the clause. If so, they're barking up the wrong tree with RP I think...
hfcok
28-08-2010, 03:39 PM
It's amazing the arrogance of the OF and their puppets in the media. Lennon described Stokes as 'an option' and the media seem to havee totally missed the point. That hibs do not HAVE to sell Stokes. It looks like we're doing the right thing though IMO we shouldn't sell to that vile institution of poison anyway.
i know we shoudnt sell,but its been going on with them since 1888,and no sign of stopping.
28-08-2010, 04:57 PM
Nope, a player is worth what a buyer is willing to pay and a seller is willing to sell for.
28-08-2010, 05:14 PM
Nope, a player is worth what a buyer is willing to pay and a seller is willing to sell for.
Very true but the length of the contract remaining might have a big impact on what a team would be willing to bid and what a team would accept.
Obviously a player who has six months left on his contract would attract a lower fee that one with three years remaining. Why pay an inflated fee when you can pick them up for nothing on a pre-contract?
28-08-2010, 05:19 PM
I'm bored now. BBC said on Thursday it'd be done within 24 hours. 2 days later, nothings happening.
Celtc, if you want him bid properly or just **** off.
hibbybrian
28-08-2010, 05:24 PM
i know we shoudnt sell,but its been going on with them since 1888,and no sign of stopping.
Unfortunately in 1888 we didn't have a Rod Petrie so we got shafted :grr: :greengrin
28-08-2010, 05:33 PM
I've had the radio on all day and been no mention of it. May be they realized they cant **** with us anymore and have had to drop out.
boris the blade
28-08-2010, 05:42 PM
I wonder if Petrie will play hardball until Tuesday then go back begging to Celtic like he did rangers when Murray tired of his games when they wanted riordan
28-08-2010, 05:48 PM
I wonder if Petrie will play hardball until Tuesday then go back begging to Celtic like he did rangers when Murray tired of his games when they wanted riordan
Eh? :confused:
28-08-2010, 05:50 PM
You really don't like Petrie or Hibs for that matter do you Boris.
boris the blade
28-08-2010, 05:53 PM
Eh? :confused:
Rangers wanted deek and offered 600k Petrie said yes, then no and wanted 1m rangers said no. Petrie went back to rangers with an hour of the window left to accept the 600k and was told the deal was no longer on the table.
28-08-2010, 05:54 PM
Rangers wanted deek and offered 600k Petrie said yes, then no and wanted 1m rangers said no. Petrie went back to rangers with an hour of the window left to accept the 600k and was told the deal was no longer on the table.
28-08-2010, 05:57 PM
I can't recall that type of negotiation at all.
I simply thought Rangers bid, Hibs turned it down because it wasn't enough.
But if you can provide a link then I'll be more than happy to believe you.
28-08-2010, 06:00 PM
The amount of unsubstantiated rubbish on here lately is getting out of hand.
28-08-2010, 06:05 PM
I can exclusively reveal that about 75% of this entire thread is absolute b**s**t.
28-08-2010, 06:05 PM
Aye, right.
28-08-2010, 06:07 PM
Iron fist Petrie would never lower himself to such standards. And how anyone can shame the Dear Leader like that is beyond me:no way:
28-08-2010, 06:11 PM
You still got that 'C of the W' image, Mikey :wink:
28-08-2010, 06:16 PM
Very true but the length of the contract remaining might have a big impact on what a team would be willing to bid and what a team would accept.
Obviously a player who has six months left on his contract would attract a lower fee that one with three years remaining. Why pay an inflated fee when you can pick them up for nothing on a pre-contract?
Sure, these factors can be taken into consideration by a bidder when making an offer. Still, if Celtic want Stokes now they need to make an offer that is sufficiently attractive to Hibs.
However, we are a selling team and I have no doubt that Petrie is willing to talk turkey over Stokes and is working to wring out every penny out of Celtic he possibly can.
28-08-2010, 06:20 PM
You really couldn't make that sort of thing up could you? Hold on ........:bye:
28-08-2010, 06:24 PM
I can exclusively reveal that about 75% of this entire thread is absolute b**s**t.
Is that all? :faf:
Dalkeith
28-08-2010, 06:28 PM
What reaction will he get when he scores tomorrow
28-08-2010, 06:30 PM
TBH its probably nearer 95 - some right muppets on here. Some of them Hearts fans no doubt trying to stir it up.
I'll be going through this thread after Tuesday night :agree:
28-08-2010, 06:33 PM
Progression of the Football Fan
1870s to 1960 - Goes to game, pays money, goes home.
1960s - Emergence of the boot boys, go to game pay money, go home on Monday after court.
1970s - The expert fan starts to give coaching advice to manager, and has opinion on the way the team is run.
1980s - Fans start to question who owns their club and feel they have a bigger say.
1990s - Fans become financial experts and comment on the share price.
2000s - Fans start to have an opinion on how their club is funded, Sky deal etc.
2010 - Fans start to advise club on negotiating tactics in player sales.
What next?
28-08-2010, 06:35 PM
Is that all? :faf:
We'll see what The Tache comes back with - I might have to up it to 99%
28-08-2010, 06:37 PM
The same as he gets when he usually scores for Hibs - why should it be any different
28-08-2010, 06:37 PM
Progression of the Football Fan
1870s to 1960 - Goes to game, pays money, goes home.
1960s - Emergence of the boot boys, go to game pay money, go home on Monday after court.
1970s - The expert fan starts to give coaching advice to manager, and has opinion on the way the team is run.
1980s - Fans start to question who owns their club and feel they have a bigger say.
1990s - Fans become financial experts and comment on the share price.
2000s - Fans start to have an opinion on how their club is funded, Sky deal etc.
2010 - Fans start to advise club on negotiating tactics in player sales.
What next?
the boot boy expert fan gets the job of managing the club..
28-08-2010, 06:39 PM
Why would he not get a good reaction? :dunno:
28-08-2010, 06:44 PM
words fail me
http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/2390/lessedlau.gif
28-08-2010, 06:49 PM
words fail me
http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/2390/lessedlau.gif
Me too. Where do people get this rubbish from? :dunno:
28-08-2010, 06:53 PM
Me too. Where do people get this rubbish from? :dunno:
Football messageboards.
28-08-2010, 07:45 PM
sniff sniff :jamboak:
28-08-2010, 08:04 PM
How have you managed to get to 575 posts?
28-08-2010, 08:09 PM
Must have been hard for you to type Deek instead to "Rhatbhoy".
28-08-2010, 08:29 PM
Football messageboards.
:tee hee: I like that.
28-08-2010, 08:54 PM
Just heard from a very good source that Keane (or a representative) is curently at Darkheid thrashing out the final details of a permanent move. If this is true, Stokesy will be off their radar while Keane takes £45k p/w off them.:agree::greengrin:thumbsup:
I gotta feelin', that tonights gonna be a goodnight!!!
28-08-2010, 09:03 PM
Houchy - Keane in too - how the fugg did they manage to get rid of big Trannyass as well as Fortune?!? :wink:
Just heard from a very good source that Keane (or a representative) is curently at Darkheid thrashing out the final details of a permanent move. If this is true, Stokesy will be off their radar while Keane takes £45k p/w off them.:agree::greengrin:thumbsup:
I gotta feelin', that tonights gonna be a goodnight!!!
As James once informed me SHES (that big pussy Keano) a star!!!! NEXT....
28-08-2010, 09:13 PM
Houchy - Keane in too - how the fugg did they manage to get rid of big Trannyass as well as Fortune?!? :wink:
As James once informed me SHES (that big pussy Keano) a star!!!! NEXT....
I can only assume it's these painkillers that i'm on but WTF???:confused:
28-08-2010, 09:18 PM
i'm probably missing summit, but has Samaras gone as well?
28-08-2010, 09:37 PM
No I was kidding - and suggesting it is Fortune and Samaras oot and Stokes and Keane in. I was joking tho :greengrin
28-08-2010, 10:03 PM
No I was kidding - and suggesting it is Fortune and Samaras oot and Stokes and Keane in. I was joking tho :greengrin
knew it had to be, I was up too early this morning:boo hoo:
29-08-2010, 12:29 AM
The smellies fatal flaw was to sell Fortune before attempting to buy Stokes. £2.25M for a 29 year old who done virtually nowt...
Thought they would have know better about The Tache...
29-08-2010, 01:38 AM
The smellies fatal flaw was to sell Fortune before attempting to buy Stokes. £2.25M for a 29 year old who done virtually nowt...
Thought they would have know better about The Tache...
Plus £9.what million for McGeady... Aye ok then ya smelly tramps:bye:
29-08-2010, 05:31 AM
Just don't see Stokes and Celtic happening, at the moment. :wink:
29-08-2010, 07:14 AM
Just don't see Stokes and Celtic happening, at the moment. :wink:
By "at the moment" do you mean at 6.31am this morning or this transfer window? I agree with the wink though as it's likely to happen, particularly if he keeps scoring goals, and Celtic might bide their time and allow his contract to run down but thats risky a bit as if he does really well the english might come calling. One thing is for sure is that the tache is in control and will not be bullied, or be going back "begging" on Tuesday, wherever that p1sh came from.
29-08-2010, 07:21 AM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/scottish/scottish_sport/924622/John-Hughes-insists-player-power-wont-force-move-to-Parkhead.html
i wonder who the 2-3 other 'A' grade players he wants to bring in!!
29-08-2010, 07:45 AM
http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/scottish/scottish_sport/924622/John-Hughes-insists-player-power-wont-force-move-to-Parkhead.html
"I don't think we'll have any problems with Stokesy's commitment. I had to split him up in training this morning because he was going fisticuffs with another player."
Bit of an oxymoron there Yogi! Seems the rumours of problems with his team mates are true. :wink:
29-08-2010, 07:47 AM
TBH its probably nearer 95 - some right muppets on here. Some of them Hearts fans no doubt trying to stir it up.
I'll be going through this thread after Tuesday night :agree:
:agree: Wasn't sure about the reliability of any of this, and as there is not a lot from the Fishman, I decided to rely on Trevor the octopus, just like in the world cup.
I set up 4 different piles of fish entrails in the hope that I could solve this issue once and for all.
Trevor did what octopuses do, scoffed the lot in a random fashion - this won't stop the papers turning him into Mystic Meg and he wil probably win X Factor, but anyway heres the outcome in the hope that it helps close this one down.
Trevors views - Stokes? - He will leave sometime, might have stayed longer if a nice Lobster had been involved.
For watching Yams - this is not a real story so there is no need to instantly refer to the bid you have outstanding for a forecasting Giant Squid, however, apparently you already have Donald the predictive sea slug on board, he has been advising Vlad on all the financial and managerial stuff for some time.
29-08-2010, 08:10 AM
Some journeymen we've never heard of probably.
29-08-2010, 08:16 AM
"I don't think we'll have any problems with Stokesy's commitment. I had to split him up in training this morning because he was going fisticuffs with another player."
Bit of an oxymoron there Yogi! Seems the rumours of problems with his team mates are true. :wink:
Dear oh dear....... Stokes meant to be committed because he is going fisticuffs...... He really is unbelievable........Betting, bevvying, not training, in fighting....... Surprised any other club wants this influence in their dressing room:confused:
29-08-2010, 08:26 AM
Dear oh dear....... Stokes meant to be committed because he is going fisticuffs...... He really is unbelievable........Betting, bevvying, not training, in fighting....... Surprised any other club wants this influence in their dressing room:confused:
We're told that there are regular scraps at training. A wee bit of an over-reaction from you.
Some Hibs fans really don't like Stokes, huh? Do you still manage to cheer when he's sticking them in the back of the net for us?
29-08-2010, 08:30 AM
We're told that there are regular scraps at training. A wee bit of an over-reaction from you.
Some Hibs fans really don't like Stokes, huh? Do you still manage to cheer when he's sticking them in the back of the net for us?
So you are happy for him to miss training, then when he can bothered turning up, getting into fights???:confused:
29-08-2010, 08:33 AM
So you are happy for him to miss training, then when he can bothered turning up, getting into fights???:confused:
What is actual fact though?
Yogi has said he had a bit of fisticuffs in training, I haven't seen anything official about him missing training:confused:
29-08-2010, 08:33 AM
I let Hughes manage the squad and their misdemeanours (that includes Grof, McCormack, Riordan, Bamba, Benji and anyone else who has ever been a 'bad boy'). As long as he's doing the business on the park, I'm happy.
Have you ever called for Riordan to be sold in the last 7 years?
29-08-2010, 08:34 AM
If he's scoring 20 a season it doesn't bother me one bit. :agree:
29-08-2010, 08:34 AM
What is actual fact though?
Yogi has said he had a bit of fisticuffs in training, I haven't seen anything official about him missing training:confused:
I doubt it wil be made official.........
29-08-2010, 08:36 AM
I let Hughes manage the squad and their misdemeanours (that includes Grof, McCormack, Riordan, Bamba, Benji and anyone else who has ever been a 'bad boy'). As long as he's doing the business on the park, I'm happy.
And stuff the rest of the players who are putting the shifts in at training, great for team harmony that isnt it........
Not sure I get the riordan point?:confused:
29-08-2010, 08:37 AM
If he's scoring 20 a season it doesn't bother me one bit. :agree:
And what about the effect on the team squad? Do you think he's setting a good example to the young players? Don't you think he's undermining Yogi's authority? Do you think he cares a monkey's toss for the Club or the supporters?
29-08-2010, 08:38 AM
I haven't seen anything official about him missing training:confused:
That news pretty much stayed on the PM board.
29-08-2010, 08:40 AM
And what about the effect on the team squad? Do you think he's setting a good example to the young players? Don't you think he's undermining Yogi's authority? Do you think he cares a monkey's toss for the Club or the supporters?
I doubt he cares for the club or the supporters, I doubt he's setting a good example to young players (despite him being young himself), Yes he is undermining Yogi's authority but he's still scoring 20 goals despite this.
29-08-2010, 08:43 AM
Players go scrapping at EM every week, whats the point in having practice games if they are not gonna go through each other, have a go for playing the wrong pass or not picking up a run. They need to show commitment in training and the nature of the business means players will square up. You'd be surprised!! I dont have a problem with players squaring up, missing training and gamling is another thing though.
29-08-2010, 08:45 AM
I doubt he cares for the club or the supporters, I doubt he's setting a good example to young players (despite him being young himself), Yes he is undermining Yogi's authority but he's still scoring 20 goals despite this.
And he might be scoring 25 goals a season if he was behaving like a professional.
29-08-2010, 08:47 AM
And he might be scoring 25 goals a season if he was behaving like a professional.
He might, he might no.
Were you saying the same when Deek was getting into all this bother and all these rumours?
29-08-2010, 08:49 AM
He might, he might no.
Were you saying the same when Deek was getting into all this bother and all these rumours?
This ain't a Deeks v Stokes debate. I'm merely stating a fact.
29-08-2010, 08:51 AM
This ain't a Deeks v Stokes debate. I'm merely stating a fact.
Not really fact, unless you know for sure that he would score some extra goals if he behaved like a pro?
29-08-2010, 08:56 AM
Not really fact, unless you know for sure that he would score some extra goals if he behaved like a pro?
That goes without saying. There have been a few guys in the game who were blessed with great natural abilities but lacked a bit in the dedication and fitness stakes.
Stokes is not in that league however. And admittedly he's not alone.
29-08-2010, 09:00 AM
That goes without saying. There have been a few guys in the game who were blessed with great natural abilities but lacked a bit in the dedication and fitness stakes.
Stokes is not in that league however. And admittedly he's not alone.
Guys like Colin Nish for example. :agree:
29-08-2010, 09:03 AM
If Celtic can sell Fortune for £2.5m then surely Stokes must valued around £5m, no ?
The reason I'm saying this is because Fortune will give you (around) 6 goals a season and they sell him for £2.5m - Stokes will score (around) 20 - 30 goals a season and Celtic are wanting him for 850k ? (Not a chance) If we do sell Stokes for below £3m then I'd say it was quite a poor deal.
29-08-2010, 09:06 AM
If we do sell Stokes for below £3m then I'd say it was quite a poor deal.
:agree: Fletcher went for £3.5m (plus add-ons), around the same age as Stokes, both international players but scored less goals than Stokes (but is probably a better footballer).
Anyone that wants Stokes has got to match the £3.5m IMO.
Ernie Cobra
29-08-2010, 09:18 AM
Should you not spend more time thinking about how good the team was with stokes and how poor it will be without him? Leave the bitching to the Yams or to your next session doon the steamie!
Uber fan 3 weeks ago eastenders and corrie fan this week:rolleyes:
29-08-2010, 09:27 AM
:agree: Wasn't sure about the reliability of any of this, and as there is not a lot from the Fishman, I decided to rely on Trevor the octopus, just like in the world cup.
I set up 4 different piles of fish entrails in the hope that I could solve this issue once and for all.
Trevor did what octopuses do, scoffed the lot in a random fashion - this won't stop the papers turning him into Mystic Meg and he wil probably win X Factor, but anyway heres the outcome in the hope that it helps close this one down.
Trevors views - Stokes? - He will leave sometime, might have stayed longer if a nice Lobster had been involved.
For watching Yams - this is not a real story so there is no need to instantly refer to the bid you have outstanding for a forecasting Giant Squid, however, apparently you already have Donald the predictive sea slug on board, he has been advising Vlad on all the financial and managerial stuff for some time.
The Fishman of Easter Road is travelling on our bus today. Yogi gets his fish on a Friday so I'll get a decent update.
29-08-2010, 09:35 AM
Radio Scotland saying that deal is stalling due to sell on clause with Sunderland. Petrie saying something along the lines of celtic wanting Pele for the price of a telly according to chick young!
:faf::faf:
Not what Hibs are looking for (http://www.dailyexpress.co.uk/posts/view/196079/Hibs-want-2m-for-Stokes/) apparently.
29-08-2010, 09:48 AM
:agree: Fletcher went for £3.5m (plus add-ons), around the same age as Stokes, both international players but scored less goals than Stokes (but is probably a better footballer).
29-08-2010, 10:36 AM
I would suggest that £2m as far as Celtic are concerened is to low, I think if you were to point what they spend and recieve for other strikers, Stokes would be one of the cheaper purchases at £2m yet would be the only one to have proved themselves at 2 different clubs in SPL.
I would not be looking to sell any players to a rival and before we get into a side debate of wether they are rivals or not, I care not a jot if they are 2pts ahead or 100pts ahead, they are a team we play and therefore points are up for grabs they would then have our top scorer to score against us and we wouldnt have him to score for us.
I do not see why Celtic should be not only geting in a player whom is more than lkely going to work out based on what we have seen but also weaken a team that has damaged them, and all for less than they normally pay.
29-08-2010, 10:44 AM
the boot boy expert fan gets the job of managing the club..
He's giving it a right go though, he says he'll chop Stokes testicles off if he tries any funny stuff. Mind you at least we don't have the likes of Nade who refused to play for the club, while he was still on the pitch.
We've got that and a lot of other things to be thankful for. I'm sure Yogi will tell us what they are soon. Whether anyone has a clue what he's on about is another matter though....:rolleyes:
29-08-2010, 11:34 AM
Do you really think that's wise?!? :wink::greengrin
29-08-2010, 11:40 AM
Stokes has gone to Celtic. FACT. For £200,000. FACT. Anybody expecting to see Stokes in a Hibs jersey again will not actually be seeing Stokes but a replacement that looks like him, a cloned version. FACT.
29-08-2010, 11:41 AM
This is in danger of becoming bigger than the Calendar Signing thread.
I can't let that happen. And I won't let that happen.
29-08-2010, 11:43 AM
This is in danger of becoming bigger than the Calendar Signing thread.
I can't let that happen. And I won't let that happen.
Stop posting then - you're only making it worse! :greengrin
29-08-2010, 11:52 AM
Yogi stating we wont let Stokes engineer a move out of ER but then says its up to the board. He also wants to bring in two players to play with Stokes. I hate this transfer window p1sh.
29-08-2010, 12:07 PM
We are sitting in a pub round corner from old love street and stokes is sitting opposite me with his 5th pint in hand! Fact!
29-08-2010, 12:12 PM
We are sitting in a pub round corner from old love street and stokes is sitting opposite me with his 5th pint in hand! Fact!
Well at least he's no' a bottle mechant. :partyhibb
29-08-2010, 12:12 PM
Stop posting then - you're only making it worse! :greengrin
... has anyone else ever made something worse by trying to stop it happen?
29-08-2010, 12:16 PM
Started a thread on Stokes and space travel in the dug out. I believe that by consciously linking two phenomenon 'Stokes' and 'space travel' we can merge the two and will them into existence.
29-08-2010, 12:17 PM
I don't see what you me ........oh no. I've done it again! :greengrin
29-08-2010, 12:19 PM
Started a thread on Stokes and space travel in the dug out. I believe that by consciously linking two phenomenon 'Stokes' and 'space travel' we can merge the two and will them into existence.
I don't know why it's in the Dug-out Bob, as it's more football relevant than half the p15h spouted on this thread.
FACT.
29-08-2010, 12:20 PM
And stuff the rest of the players who are putting the shifts in at training, great for team harmony that isnt it........
Not sure I get the riordan point?:confused:
Which players are upset by his behaviour and how many people has the information passed through before you heard it? This is where I think this anti-Stokes stuff is coming from particular players who don't get on with Stokes (or their buddies) and there's an agenda behind everything that is 'leaked' from EM/ER.
Either way, they're big boys. They need to let Hughes manage the squad too. If they're not happy with how he does things, they can try and get rid of Hughes (we know how that worked out with Collins), leave the club or lump it.
My point about Riordan is that he has hardly been the model pro at all points of his Hibs career(s). I can guarantee that most of the folk who are outraged at Stokes' rumoured behaviour have defended Riordan in the past when he's been a 'bad boy'.
Having said all that, I'd rather have a squad full of Stokes', Riordans and Bambas then a squad full of 'model pros' like Hogg and Rankin. Any day.
29-08-2010, 12:22 PM
Stokes won't be in the squad for todays game. Just spotted him at Ladbrokes in Corstorphine with a grand and a half in his hand asking for a price for Csaba Laszlo to become the next permanent Aston Villa manager. He settled for putting the entire amount on Denneboom first goal against St Mirren today. Fact.
TrickyNicky
29-08-2010, 12:24 PM
I once thought I was quick of the mark only to find I was far too late.
Anyone else still trying to find themselves?
29-08-2010, 12:39 PM
Right ....... Tin hat on. I have just had a text from a Glaswegian 'who would know' that Stokes is in talks with Celtic. The deal is not done, but they said that Celtic has signed Jordan Lotties from Nancy a defender who can play midfield. That's all I know except the source is generally not prone to telling me nonsense. We'll see?
I also heard they were looking for a Nancy boy since McGreedy went to Moscow.
blairwallace
29-08-2010, 12:58 PM
I also heard they were looking for a Nancy boy since McGreedy went to Moscow.
mcgreedy?
the boy from everton we signed last year who no-one heard from since?
29-08-2010, 01:01 PM
I think the Celtic supporters are grudgingly content to take Stokes and think it's a done deal. They're not happy at forking out £800K for him.:rolleyes:
29-08-2010, 01:01 PM
From the way Hughes is talking, sounds like Stokes is off.
29-08-2010, 02:14 PM
In reply to blairwallace (since I can't quote from£ my phone!!!) Thomas mccready who we signed from everton got released in the summer
RoslinInstHibby
29-08-2010, 08:11 PM
Close to agreeing a fee according to sky sports....
RoslinInstHibby
29-08-2010, 08:18 PM
29-08-2010, 08:19 PM
RP has test here....if a deal for Stokes is indeed done then does he give Hughes funds to bring in some new players, or keep the funds back for a new manager in January on the assumption Yogi will not be here.
So what would you do.....give Hughes the funds and potentially see us strengthen the team, or give Hughes nothing, not strengthen the team and keep funds for a new manager in January. A difficult one!
29-08-2010, 08:22 PM
I wonder if there are any players that we can take as part of the deal from Celtic. Is there anyone not playing for them on a regular basis worth taking?
PS not Charlie Mulgrew thanks very much!
29-08-2010, 08:23 PM
I wonder if there are any players that we can take as part of the deal from Celtic. Is there anyone not playing for them on a regular basis worth taking?
Think Strachan took them all to Boro!
At The Edge
29-08-2010, 08:26 PM
RP has test here....if a deal for Stokes is indeed done then does he give Hughes funds to bring in some new players, or keep the funds back for a new manager in January on the assumption Yogi will not be here.
So what would you do.....give Hughes the funds and potentially see us strengthen the team, or give Hughes nothing, not strengthen the team and keep funds for a new manager in January. A difficult one!
That same thought has been going round my head all night, the risk if we take the January option is could we be so far gone by then that relegation is distinct possibility?
Any new manager coming in would then have to turn it around in the space of a few weeks.
My own thoughts are we have a decent squad right now, just not the manager,
29-08-2010, 08:26 PM
Broony? :wink:
29-08-2010, 08:29 PM
That same thought has been going round my head all night, the risk if we take the January option is could we be so far gone by then that relegation is distinct possibility?
Any new manager coming in would then have to turn it around in the space of a few weeks.
My own thoughts are we have a decent squad right now, just not the manager,
I guess if Hughes does turn it around then we could always make the funds available to him in January.
29-08-2010, 08:31 PM
I guess if Hughes does turn it around then we could always make the funds available to him in January.
We need to spend now regardless.